View Full Version : Advice for coping with more than one child

jasesmum
02-05-2007, 23:13
Hi all, was hoping I could get some good tips on how to keep up with everything once DH goes back to work.

I have a son who is 3 in June, who is very, very active, big for his age and to be honest he's not the best behaved! I have also got a new addition, a baby girl who is 2 weeks old today.

I wanted to know the best ways to keep up with everything like bathing baby, housework (hanging washing, scrubbing bathrooms, & so on), cooking etc etc, whilst giving adequate supervision and attention to a mischievious little boy!

Any advice will be appreciated!

punkbaby
03-05-2007, 07:07
There is no set advice really to me i just went with the flow...if i couldnt do the washing i couldnt do it! Blaze was nearly 2 when i had storm and he was at terror stage....he did enjoy hanging out the washing with me though so we made it a game for him...also if i was cleaning used to give him a spray bottle with water so he could help wipe the cupboards to keep him busy and occupied.
Cooking wise i used to prepare everything when i had a some spare time....usually about 2pm i would cut up vegies etc and put them in the pots ready to turn on.
Bathing baby get him to help...even if its just holding the towel ready or getting the nappy, holding clothes etc i found making it fun for him he thought it was a game and he felt important even though he was 2. If ever he wanted to help wash bubs i used to let him wash her toes and legs so he couldnt hurt her
you will learn little things that work for you as everyone is different, my main thing was keeping blaze occupied as he was always into something so having him help me made it easier! I also have an older child she was a good help but when she was at school i sure missed her :D

Good luck let things fall into place and just go with it after a few months after everything settles and bubs is in a routine as well you look back and wonder how you did it LOL

EDIT ohh should have prob said we dont always just clean LOL 4 mornings a week we walk to school and stop at the park on the way home which is always good as it wears them out, otherwise if we cant walk to come home do a few things and then take a morning tea down to the park otherwise our backyard is lots of fun so he would love wearing himself out there as well i thought you more so wanted tips on how to keep your house in place :D

mumski
03-05-2007, 07:54
I like to go out in the mornings and tire them out at playgroup, visiting friends or the beach etc. then get jobs done in the afternoon. Often they'll have a sleep but if not they're usually content with some quiet time as they've been active all morning, its also a great way to make sure that we spend time playing and not just cleaning. It can be incredibly frustrating and depressing being stuck at home recleaning the same mess day after day.

03-05-2007, 11:49
Give yourself some time, you're latest addition is only brand new, it takes a while to settle in to things and sleepless nights don't help it.

Go easy on yourself, its a big adjustment!

More important than cleaning when you do have a free minute is resting! Take care of yourself and eventually you will figure out what routine works for you and your family with outings/one on one time/housework etc

mumslilspunks
03-05-2007, 15:37
Firstly congratulations!
I have an 11 week old and a 2 year old and as everyone elese has said dont stress about the cleaning and everything elese. Your bubs is still very 'new' and you both are working each other out and also your son will need to adjust to this new person with his mummy. When they are both asleep or if you do get a spare 5 mins then chuck a load of washing on.
Even wait till hubby gets home and hand over a list of jobs to him.:D
Good luck :thumbsup:

mum2my4
03-05-2007, 15:40
My only advice don't stress too much about the housework as soon as it's done it needs doing again.

I find little bits and pieces often rather than everything all at once helps me get through it all.

kiah
03-05-2007, 15:57
Find a routine that works for both you and your fam.

1st and foremost u must take excellent care of your health so u have lots of energy and feel great.

Make sure u r prepared with healthy meals. Even have your lunch and snacks made 24 hrs in advance if u have to. I keep big bowls of salad int he fridge so i can constantly munch all day on the right foods.

Get out of the house a couple of times a week. Visit the library or attend a playgroup. Or everyday is even better, i try to, i luv it.

I had my son in kindy a couple days of week and when we moved to the coast we had a couple of days in family daycare so he was getting the social interaction with kids he needed.

For me having a weekly schedule, designated days for shopping, playgroup, library, park etc. have helped. Knowing your shopping lists, creating dinner menus. It all helps.

Write it down if u have to and keep experimenting. I have everything in my head now so i dont write it down but i use to have a timetable on the fridge.

This way i got everything i wanted done and still had heaps of time for myself to exercise,r ead, cook etc.

jasesmum
04-05-2007, 00:14
Thanks all for your advice and kind words. I guess I'm a bit of a stress head and was worried how things will go when DH is back at work. It probably didn't help that my son got an infection last Friday and it took 5 days to clear up....many Dr appointments and couple of trips to hospital. As the infection was "down stairs" it also meant the potty training we had started went out the window and there was much more mess, washing, and behaviour issues.

But the little man is much better now and today we had a good day behaviour wise and with potty usage so :fingerscrossed: things are looking brighter.

mumslilspunks:
As to giving DH a list...don't think this will work, he usually does long hours & things will need to be done before he gets home, then when he does get home he will most likely be too tired & grumpy to even look at the list!

As to bubs being "new" thats true and hopefullly we'll find our groove soon! I will take all your tips on board and see how we go....positive thinking!:)

Bumble
04-05-2007, 00:27
hello and congrats i have a 2 yr old and a 4mth old, my 2 yr old dd is also not the best behaved child in the world she has a bad case of only child and i get what i want when i want it sydrome:laughing: i aim to clean the main bits of the house by lunch eg kitchen bathroom lounge room then i either head out after nap time or just relax. Mess will be there tomoorow i think kids grow up so fast will they remember a sparkling house or a fun mum that played with them???

brookeme
08-05-2007, 22:11
Easier said than done, but dont worry about the house work, coming from me who still panics when there is a knock at the door. Like everyone else has said just worry about the kids, do what you can when you get time.
As kiah said try as hard as u can to find time to GET OUT and a little exercise too, my biggest mistake was to give all my energy to housework and everyone else but me! I am only just realizing the waste of time and not looking after myself. Good luck

mumx3littlies
08-05-2007, 22:21
We had a 3yr old, 14month old and a newborn and it was hard work trying to fit everything in! My advice wud just be to go with the flow, do things when you can and go to bed early so you get little bit of extra sleep. We used to do the washing wheneva we cud during the day and then hang it out at night when the kids were in bed. Also used the slow cooker alot for dinner or sometimes got takeaway so there was no cooking or dishes! Like Kiah said maybe packing snacks etc night before for your son to have wud help too. I sometimes pack lunchboxs with food in them for the kids during the day and they just go and eat from there when they get hungry! Saves hearing I'm hungry every 5mins and them wanting you to get food for them when you trying to feed, change baby etc. good luck - it does get easier:thumbsup: and congrats on your lil girl:D

IamHero
08-05-2007, 22:57
I have 4 under 6, & I firmly believe in rountine, I'm not a real go with the flow person, yes sometimes you have to be flexiable but I have had a fairly strict routine from day one with each of mine & I find it's the only way I get things done. We have meals at the same time veryday & naps at the same time. I always prepare meals & snacks ahead of time to avoid having grumpy, hungry kids.

With housework I have one set day when I do my big clean/ washing etc that way I don't feel like I'm always doing housework & I actually get to spend more time with the kids. I also believe in getting out & about, it can be tough to find time but even if it's only a walk around the block, it's amazing how much better both you & the kids are afterwards.

Also be organised especially when going out, have your bag always ready & not just for bub make sure to always bring snacks & a little toy for your little man even if you're only going to the shops. This has saved me numerous potential tantrums.

I find doing my grocery shop at night when DH is home, by myself I managed to get everything I needed which saved me making numerous trips during the week. when I take the kids I find I come home without half the list.

Sorry to ramble on. Best of luck.