View Full Version : educate me on water birth please!!
Im booked into a birthing centre which is my first shock as i loved my epidural last time :laughing: but i have the option of birthing in water. I have been watching the discovery home and health channel a lot and see heaps of water births so im thinking of this as my best option. I also know it can ease the possibility of tearing.
If there is anyone out there who has had a water birth can you let me know a little bit about your experiences? ie the pain, if you tore, did you need gas at all? did it make your labour faster? etc etc
This is so new to me im still in shock im booked in but im really excited:smiliedance:
hi hun,
I didn't quite get the water birth I was after though I did labour in water for quite some time....
I just downloaded a few water birth articles the other day, if you'd like to pm me your email address I can send them to you....
Best of luck,
Im booked into a birthing centre which is my first shock as i loved my epidural last time :laughing: but i have the option of birthing in water. I have been watching the discovery home and health channel a lot and see heaps of water births so im thinking of this as my best option. I also know it can ease the possibility of tearing.
If there is anyone out there who has had a water birth can you let me know a little bit about your experiences? ie the pain, if you tore, did you need gas at all? did it make your labour faster? etc etc
This is so new to me im still in shock im booked in but im really excited:smiliedance:
My water birth was unplanned, it was my pain relief option. I found it very comforting, and soothing. At one stage I realised I hadn't spoken to my husband for over an hour as I was just so focused and relaxed. I had LOTS of gas (it ran out at one stage! They had to change the bottle) it did make me a bit sick but it did help the contractions. Labour 6 hours. I did tear - but didn't know that I had until my midwife told me. The birth was fine I'd try it again. That was my experience and it worked for me. I know that my friend tried it and hated it, so it is really down to the individual and how the labour is going. i hope it all goes well for you. Goodluck :thumbsup:
doulacara
02-05-2007, 17:40
I had an unplanned waterbirth with my 2nd bub and loved it so much I did it again for the 3rd one. The first thing I did when I arrived at the birth centre was demand they fill the bath immediately! I found the warm water IMMENSELY relieving. When things started to get intense I used gas as well, but when I look back on it the gas mostly helped me to focus my breathing and would probably have been just as effective if I had been sucking in just air from that thing! If there was to be another one, I would plan a home water birth with no drugs at all.
I had a forceps 'extraction' with episiotomy the first time which was immensely painful to recover from. The 2nd and 3rd I had no tears at all despite being good size babies (around 8lbs) and very rapid labours (3 hours and 2 hrs).
A lot of people recommend that you should not get into the bath until you are at least 5cm, as it can slow labour down, but I think that if that does happen, you can get out and walk around to pick it up again.
Another added benefit is that in the tub you are quite cocooned from everything and everyone. It's like your own private space where you can just surrender to labourland.
I cannot imagine ever birthing on 'land' again! :D
for those who laboured in water did you labour au naturale? or with a swimming top on? or t shirt or something?
If I tear, when I get out will i be given pain relief for the stitching up of the tear? I know really naive questions :o
for those who laboured in water did you labour au naturale? or with a swimming top on? or t shirt or something?
Naked as they come here.... first thing I did when I got to the birth centre was strip off.....
Ashleigh<3
02-05-2007, 18:31
If I tear, when I get out will i be given pain relief for the stitching up of the tear? I know really naive questions :o
I had a bikini top on.
I was a bit shy in the water at first, I had my legs closed tight together as I was all embarrassed then the pain got so bad, whinging with your legs so tight hurts, so I had some oxygen and happy gas and I was nuts, Legs were spread by that point. :D
The water is amazing though.
People need to consider it more I think. There are so many positions you can try on land but in water, just as much. :thumbsup:
Just imagine pushing so hard on all fours, and having water sooth that ring of fire!
Reeeaaaalllly helps.
I always wanted a waterbirth and thankfully i got one!!
I had to have one internal, as you can't get into the water until 5-6cms dilated. while they were doing it i was lying on my back and had a contraction in that position and i thank the goddess i didn't have to spend the entire labour on my back! i probably spent 6 hours in the water. at one point i got out and a contraction hit me and it was so intense i jumped right back in the water!!! definately better!
i was starkers, but my partner and birth support who were both in the pool with me were clothed;)
I did it with no drugs, and no tearing. and while it still hurt, it was great! my midwives were amazing and never let me give up.
they kept trying to get me to use the water with different positions but i just wanted to squat. i wish i used the water a bit more, maybe it would have sped things up a bit. there is a book by janet balaskas about water births that might interest you.
my bub LOVES the water now, so i reckon it came from his birth.
MrsTwith3
02-05-2007, 19:29
Im another lucky one that had a totally natural waterbirth. I rang my midwife to let her know I was on my way and she started filling the tub straight away so it was ready when I walked through the door. I stripped off to nothing and jumped in and thats where i stayed till the end. My boy came out with his fist up against his head and I still didnt tear ( i had previously had a HUGE episiotomy). My boy loves his bath like nothing else.
Forgot to add I didnt have any drugs either.
I had a water birth after being induced and then having my waters broken. This brought on my contractions thick and fast. My waters were broken at 7.30pm and I was in the birth pool by 8.15pm. DS was born at 9pm.
I tore quite badly but I think that was due to earlier intervention ie induction, ARM. DS was hurried along and I reckon had he come in his own time there would of been a good chance of not tearing.
I had no gas during labour but I did have some gas before I got my stitches. I had a few local anisthetics to numb the area. They stung but at least I couldn't feel the stitches being done.
I had previously had an episiotomy with DD. I'd spent a few hours in the birth pool in labour with her. I rememeber the relief of the water was bliss. I ended up in the delivery suite for the birth. I had no drugs with her labour either.
I'm so glad I got to experience a water birth and totally reccomend you try it. :thumbsup:
melissa.r
03-05-2007, 10:37
I had a planned waterbirth at home with DD2. During labour my support team put up the pool and filled it. I instinctly knew when it was time to get in the water and it was a fantastic way to labour and birth my baby. I was induced with my first bubz and didn't birth in water and it wasn't until I had my second that I appreciated the gift of water. Not only is it a natural pain relief (also referred to as 'a midwifes pethadine) but I found the buoyency the best part. To change positions you can just float about easily and being weightless means that you don't need to concentrate on holding yourself up, particularly if you have been labouring for a long time and are tired. As the water is warm it is a natural way of stretching the perineum so that is why you are less likely to tear.
In terms of clothing, I wore no clothes. The thing about labouring in water is there is a natural sense of privacy as you are surrounded by water and encased by the pool, you are not standing around naked in the middle of a room with people you hardly know. Because of this you can feel more secure and relaxed therefore releasing adequate hormones to promote good established labour.
Also the transistion into the world for the is baby more gentle.
I read somewhere recently that only about 5%of Australian women have the option to labour and birth in water. I think this is so sad and if hospitals were really serious about providing an environment for women to birth naturally there would be a pool in every room...
allysophia
03-05-2007, 10:47
I had an unplanned water birth which SAVED me. The pain relief was immediate.
I did a natural, in thhe nude drug free labour! Best thing ever, I LOVED the water, it brought such great comfort and relief. My birth support were Nazis and only let me in after 7cm as a "reward" so it was all the more better!
What I did was (call me crazy, but it worked!) everytime a contraction hit I grabbed the cold water tap and shot a huge burst of cold water onto my belly. In deep focus I never even noticed the temp change in the water (it was freezing!) and it distracted me long enough to recover.
It was nice being in transition in the water also, I just floated on my back, so relieved that the contractions had stopped (I LOVED transition, pushing is the best thing EVER) basically no tearing, perfect birth and baby.
I owe it to the water... oh, and great support people, and birth plans, doulas, midwives... :p
pheebsnkids
13-05-2007, 21:32
I had a natural water birth with my 1st and highly recommend it! I arrived at the hospital at midnight and didnt get out until my girl was born 3 hours later!!
I had a tiny tiny tear so required 1 stitch.....Ava was 8 pound 9 so a nice size!
I did alot of research and reading but also had an amazing midwife, I had no internals as she knew frommy moans and groans where i was up too....and amazing experience! (my girl was born in Sydney and they have the BEST birthing centres!)
Ffrenchknickers
13-05-2007, 21:41
I have had 2 waterbirths and will do it that way everytime from now on! I loved them so much....with my first I had lots of intervention, hated the epidutral and the reconvery from it. Natural waterbirth made me appreciate the whole birth process so much more and that everything just works how it is supposed to.
I left a singlet on both times...bit shy to bear all lol....
I didnt use the gas and I didnt tear whereas I did with #1....the whole birth process was jsut so much smoother in the water and being left to just labour as God intended.
Deinfatley, highl recommend waterbirth!! Good luck!
spiraldancer
14-05-2007, 20:09
Just wondering where you can have a wb in brissie?:wizard:
Mother Duck
14-05-2007, 20:49
I had the most awesome birth experience at the Birth Centre in Bris - Waterbirth all the way!
There should be heaps of waterbirth stories in the bub hub archives if you do a search or two (including mine back in Sep 05)
And nude all the way for me, couldn't wait to get my gear off!
I laboured right up to pushing with both my babies but actually felt that i needed to be 'grounded' to actually birth them. Water with aromatherapy oils and massage made the pain seem so much less. Lots of ice to suck and cold face washers.
i laboured both times totally naked : at one point i think i left the bathroom and walked down the hallway to my room naked ( obviously in transition ) with the midwive trying to cover me up.
5 hour labour first time ( 3hours in the water ), 13 mins pushing. 7 pounds 10. ( squatting)
1.5 hour second labour ( 45 mins in the bath ) , 2 mins pushing. 9 pounds ( semi reclined to slow it down )
Me : 5ft3, size 6
Partner : 6ft 4.
did the water assist in not tearing for all of you water birthing mummas? Were you partners able to sit behind you in the bath or were they out of the bath and watching?
Ashleigh<3
29-05-2007, 14:53
did the water assist in not tearing for all of you water birthing mummas? Were you partners able to sit behind you in the bath or were they out of the bath and watching?
Of course!
The midwife asked DF if he wanted to get in but he said he was too scared! lol
He just sat behind me holding the gas above my head and rubbing my shoulders.
I had no tearing, I labored in the bath for almost four hours so that helped.
It was warm-cold. I like it that way because I was so hot whilst labouring, it was so comforting in the water. :)
how did the gas affect you Ash? I didnt try it last time as I was worried it would make me feel out of it. does it help with the pain or is it more beneficial for controlling your breathing?
Ashleigh<3
29-05-2007, 15:18
how did the gas affect you Ash? I didnt try it last time as I was worried it would make me feel out of it. does it help with the pain or is it more beneficial for controlling your breathing?
It helped me concentrate on my breathing.
I know weird because you feel extremely drunk!
I didn't feel sick at all, I didn't throw up from it.
I did have trouble breathing prior gas and I asked if I could have the happy gas mixed with oxygen, that helped so much!
It was like having horrid heartburn and then feeling it cool down.
how long after you stopped taking the gas did the effects of it wear off?
bonabbey
27-06-2007, 14:04
I had a water birth - which was always part of my birthing plan, but more for pain relief. did not think i would actually give birth in there.
It was the BEST thing I could have ever done.
The next babe i have will be a planned water birth from start to finish.
I did not have any tearing or stitches, and i went au naturale without any clothes that way when abbey came out we were skin to skin straight away - which was really nice.
I found it helped with pain, i didnt have anything and it was soothing, and relaxing.
ButterflyMama
28-06-2007, 20:15
Sorry to semi-hijack but..
To all those who had a waterbirth - was it at home, or at a birth centre?
Considering a waterbirth for my next..
Jessie
crystalb9377
25-07-2007, 13:46
I had a home water birth with my third baby. I found it quite relaxing but painful when i had contractions at 1 min apart as i couldnt have ne pain relief. I really liked the fact that i could jump in my own bed after i had baby an that i didnt tear after having him. My midwife was really great with it all. I recommend it to anyone who is willing to try it although everyones experience will be different!!:thumbsup:
prideNJoy
26-07-2007, 16:12
I had a water birth 11 days ago at a Birth Centre. If we decide on having another baby down the track i WILL be having another water birth even if it means having a homebirth and paying for it. Acupressure and water go very very well together. I needed no pain relief. :D
wow congrats meljellybean :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
Ashleigh<3
05-08-2007, 21:13
how long after you stopped taking the gas did the effects of it wear off?
Almost immediately.
Had to save myself from too many drunken outbursts so I can admire my bub out of water. Valentine
Now that I think of it. I probably could have controlled my reaction to the gas, it just helped me cope acting in such a drunken state of mind, I felt airy but it was a good airy.
I remember saying to someone else that it completely took away the pain, (mentally).
My Mind was on other things, being laughter and breathing). :p
Lipsmacker01
16-08-2007, 15:12
Hi! I didnt have a waterbirth with DD#1 but did seriously consider it. When I look back now, even if I was in the water, bubs turned her head which complicated things and I needed a vacuum extraction. Dont know if any of these procedures can be done under water. Tip: My hospital provided a good leaflet with lots of do's and dont's which might help you. It also lists all the benefits of a waterbirth too which Im sure you could also google. I ended up buying a rubber floor mat (compulsory) as they say you cant have one without it.