View Full Version : Cooking a whole chicken NOT IN THE OVEN!
Becteria
29-04-2007, 14:04
Hey all, in my placenta brained haze i have taken a chook out and defrosted it for dinner... without remembering that my oven power is switched off until the repair man returns on monday!
Does anyone have an idea of what i could do with it?
THANKS!
Bec
X
have you got a bbq? you could open it up, and totally flatten it, then chuck it on the grill
hmmm or else chicken soup, chuck it in a pot with a heap of vegies.
the_queen
29-04-2007, 14:15
Is your stovetop still working though?
I'd cut it up into pieces and make a chicken casserole, or curry or cacciatore or something. Have you got an electric frypan?
Or, do you have a slow cooker? If it was me (but please remember I'm very lazy :yes:) I'd have takeaway tonight, and put the chicken in the slowcooker for tomorrow night.
Phoenix's Mum
29-04-2007, 14:15
You can steam a whole chicken in a big pot, have you got a silver vegie steamer thing?
Steamed chicken is yummy!
Mister Noodle
29-04-2007, 14:22
This (http://www.foodtv.ca/recipes/recipedetails.aspx?dishid=6249) is yummy.
punkbaby
29-04-2007, 14:22
have you got one of those electric frypans with the lid? i cooked a roast in one the other week took a little longer but cooked fine and i threw all my vegies in too :)
:yes: I've done this too, worked great. I got the pan really hot, then browned the outside of the chicken a bit before turning the heat down and covering it. I also turned the chicken over a couple of times while it cooked.
Roseythorn
29-04-2007, 15:42
I always do my chooks in the electric frypan. Turn out perfect every time, even put the vegies in the pan. Saves on a lot of washing up.
Becteria
29-04-2007, 15:48
I dont have an electric frypan but i do have a slow cooker!
Nuds the flat chook sounds yum but i am bbqed out today (lunch today and yesterday!)
I think i am going to take queenies advice and stick it in the slow cooker for tomorrow, and have nothing tonight. Well, i had some warm mud cake and ice cream for a snack ha ha ha......
the chocolate in the house is nearly all gone THANKFULLY!
Mr Noodle that recipe sounds great I have saved it (need some ingredients and dont fancy taken 3 yo without her nap and newborn with festering belly button to the supermarket!)
Thanks guys you all rock.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Becteria
30-04-2007, 14:50
Ok the chicken has been in the slow cooker all day - no longer see any pink.
I added some onion, mushroms, basil, thyme, 2 tins of tomatoes and some water.
it smells BEAUTIFUL and looks so great!
I think by 7pm it will be perfect.
I am a slow cooker convert - whack it on while making brekkie and i dont have to think again!
oh that sounds nice, think I need to get me one of those slow cookers... have never had one before.
01-05-2007, 11:00
Thanks for the inspiration :thumbsup:
I defrosted a chicken overnight and bunged it in the slowcooker this morning. I rubbed it with garlic and oregano. It smells gorgeous!
Becteria
01-05-2007, 13:50
Miss Fussy (Maikyra ) even ate it! We had some yummy wholemeal spaghetti and grated parmesean with it, so yum. Best of all there was heaps left over and i just chucked them in takeaway containers in the fridge to replenish my stockpile of easy meals!
Yay for the slow cooker!
or if you have an electric fry pan you could just cook it in there... like baking it in the oven