View Full Version : Can anyone help me??

Littletyty
28-04-2007, 08:18
Hows everyone doing. Im new to the whole mummy thing and was curious in baby shows just wanted to find out info if they are really as ******** as i thought(seen many things on those creepy 5 year old looking 15 in american shows) i would like to enter my little fella but dont know what goes on and how to find out where they are etc....any info would be good

♥Will & Kai♥
28-04-2007, 08:57
Hi there and welcome to mummyhood! :smiliedance:
I have entered my ds1 in 3 baby shows now and ds2 in 1. In the first baby show I put ds1 in I was so excited, thought I may get a chance to meet some other mums (I didn't know many people with bubs), have a bit of fun and with a little luck get a trophy for little Will as a keepsake. Anyway when I got there, there were mums and bubs everywhere (it was in a local shopping centre). Most of the mums had a change of clothes for their bubs, a hair brush in their hands etc. I was freaking out and nearly pulled out. Anyway I entered my lil man dressed in the same outfit (hair everywhere as always :laughing: and what do you know he won a trophy for best smile. I was so proud! They are always a big day as all the judhging etc takes about two hours so after that big day I said I wouldn't do another. Then I received a phonecall from a friend telling me about a small baby show in a RSL where you have to book and only 20 bubs are excepted. So I decided to put him in again, just for fun, no change of clothes etc. And this time we even got on the news! He come second overall for his agegroup (to Max his gorgeous little mate who has amazing big blue eyes!). And after that with Will's 2 trophies we decided to retire!
Then after having ds2 I come across another show and decided to be fair to ds2 I should enter him and see if he can get a keepsake trophy too. He got a trophy and 2 ribbons and ds1(will) got 2 trophies as well (was in a local shopping center, was small and a bit of fun).

So all in all, the competitions are what you make them. If you fuss about changing clothes, brushing hair, yelling at you bub if they don't smile etc, then it all gets toomuch, but if you just go along have a little fun, have a chat with some other mums (I normally go with a friend) then it's kind of a fun day out!

Normally I find out about them in the local newspaper (The Sun - Gold Coast paper) or in the kids magazine you get at the kindy or sometimes they are advertised in the shopping center they are held in. Also the Gold Coast City council website sometimes advertises them.

So good luck and sorry bout how long this was (if you read this far! :laughing: )