View Full Version : Bub Hub Slow Cooker Cookbook Discussion/Recipe Feedback Thread
Pobblebonk
27-04-2007, 18:55
:wave: How are you?
Well... phew! I've just trawled through that whole 'Slow Cooker' thread and pinched the recipes to create a 'cookbook' thread so that you lovelies no longer need to spend hours trawling through it for some yummy scrummy slow cooker recipes! (It's all been done for you!)
Here's a spot where you can post feedback for any Bub Hub Slow Cooker Recipe feedback, or discuss tips for making yummo meals in your slow cooker (for instance, roasting tips, complete meal-in-a-pot, etc).
You. Are. Welcome.
*dashes off to lie down after a massive mass-quoting exercise* :sleeping:
:smiliedance: :smiliedance:
mummyof5
27-04-2007, 19:24
Pobblebonk, you are amazing!!!:yelclap:
Now i can finally print them all off for my MIL like I have been promising for yonks!!
Thank you!
crafty_gnome
27-04-2007, 19:52
Pobblebonk you are the best!!!! I bought a slow cooker yesterday and can't wait to try it tomorrow. Have just logged on to copy some of the recipes and was dreading having to go through them all.
If anyone is interested, Target has a 6L Ronson slow cooker for about $50 on special.
Now to decide what to cook first .... hhhhhhhmmmmmmmmmmmm
kirstenriley
27-04-2007, 20:35
legend!!!!!!!!!!!
27-04-2007, 21:45
Woohoo Pobbles, thankyou!! :hugs:
Retravision also have a sale on. I think it's a 6/6.5L Kambrook one for $60?
Pobblebonk
27-04-2007, 21:58
:laughing: You lot are funny. Thank you for the thank you's but I specifically put the 'You. Are. Welcome.' bit in my OP because I didn't want people to say thanks to me (oh, I hope people didn't think that that's what I expected, either, oh dear, Pobbles is confused now!). But I really do appreciate that fact that you appreciate what I did. Thanks, guys!
I did it for me, too! :laughing: (Pobbles showing her selfish streak :devil6:
I saw the Ronson one on sale that crafty_gnome is talking about - looked alright!
I have a Sunbeam 5L.
I love my slow cooker because I HATE cooking in the afternoon/evening, and because Mr Chicken goes to bed between 6-6:30pm, and I want him to eat with me at the table... So the idea of putting something together in the morning and then it being ready by dinner time is like heaven to me!
By the way, the rissoles I put in the other day, and I poured a bottle of bolognaise sauce on top (I'm a Raguletto girl) worked a TREAT. OMG they were so yum! And Mr Chicken LOVED it!
I've been meaning to try Draught's Spice Lamb Casserole for a while now, and tomorrow is the day! Will post my 'Recipe Review'! But from the past reviews, I'm sure I'm just going to agree that it's yummo.
Wish_Bear
28-04-2007, 07:18
I know you don't want THANKYOU'S but here's one anyway....THANKS!!! That slow cooker recipe book is great! Saves a lot of time for the rest of us!!! Legend!
charlen49
28-04-2007, 08:15
wow ur amazing.im going to get the slow cooker out this minute..now i have a great resource of recipes.......:yelclap:
Pobblebonk
28-04-2007, 17:36
Cheers Wish_Bear & charlen49.
Verdict RE: Draught's Spice Lamb Casserole. OMGGG yummy yum yum! Two thumbs up. Mr Chicken had a great time showing me what chewed up spice lamb casserole looks like, the devil.
And I really really want to try Nanny's Pumpkin & Apple Dessert. *drooling*
Aly all I can say is thank you hun. I've recently started using mine all the time, and today my sister got one so now we are going to try heaps of the recipes!!!
I tried the Chicken Parisianne last night. It was nice, but it tasted like beef strogenoff (sp?), only it was chicken! I don't know if that was something to do with my cooking, or just my taste buds! It was still good though!
:thumbsup: from me! I will be trying the lamb casserole on Tuesday, so I will write a review up then :)
I cooked a lasagne in the slow cooker the other night like a poster suggested and it was delicious. I won't be using the oven for that dish again.
I also tried a roast, lovely.
And lamb shanks, Yum.
It's the most used appliance in the house after the microwave.
Sheer Bliss
30-04-2007, 14:46
yay pobblebonk - great idea!! I am always looking for new ones. I broke the insert on ours a few days ago :gloomy: so will have to wait for the new one to arrive before i try any of them out.
jasminesmum
30-04-2007, 14:48
yay pobblebonk - great idea!! I am always looking for new ones. I broke the insert on ours a few days ago :gloomy: so will have to wait for the new one to arrive before i try any of them out.
I am always worried about this happening. If you don't mind me asking how much was a new insert?
I hope I can post this here & hopefully someone will post the receipes in the other section.
Does anyone have receipes for:
Cakes/desserts they could post?
Chicken/Corn Soup?
Any other basic receipes they have?
Pobblebonk
30-04-2007, 17:16
Hey Misty. Did you see the Pumpkin & Apple Dessert in the Cookbook? It was posted by Nanny. I can't WAIT to try it out! *drool*
01-05-2007, 13:43
I have my first roast chicken cooking in my slow cooker today. Its been in since 9am. I just went to flip it and it collapsed :o :laughing:
So I tried it and OMG! Best chicken ever! The flavour is so intense. I rubbed it with garlic, oregano, salt, pepper. I'm trying not to eat the whole thing before dinner now!
Pobblebonk
01-05-2007, 14:32
Yum cheezel that sounds so delish!
I've yet to try a roast in my slow cooker. I saw one of those roast lambs at the supermarket the other day that had spices already rubbed into it...
01-05-2007, 19:03
I bought a slow cooker today! Got a 5.5L Breville Meal Maker....are they good?
I also went down to my Post Office today, and there was a great little Slow Cooker cookbook for $6.95! Heaps of great recipes in there, desserts, breads, dips, cakes, everything! Go check your local one out! :yelclap:
I'll post some recipes from it later. :thumbsup:
jasminesmum
01-05-2007, 19:04
I bought a slow cooker today! Got a 5.5L Breville Meal Maker....are they good?
I also went down to my Post Office today, and there was a great little Slow Cooker cookbook for $6.95! Heaps of great recipes in there, desserts, breads, dips, cakes, everything! Go check your local one out! :yelclap:
I'll post some recipes from it later. :thumbsup:
Thats the same as mine. They are great.:thumbsup:
mmm... everytime I look in this thread I get hungry!! I am going to try the lamb recipe tomorrow.. I can't wait!
Hi all, the swiss steak in the recipe thread is to die for. The meat was so juicy and tender. Just did some rice to go with it and it was a hit..
Pobblebonk
02-05-2007, 06:54
Thank you for the recommendation, Kerry76! I might try that tomorrow.
*skips off to the cookbook to get the recipe*
Thank you for the recommendation, Kerry76! I might try that tomorrow.
*skips off to the cookbook to get the recipe*
The sauce turns into a nice thick sweet tomato sauce. it was great.
02-05-2007, 08:23
I did my chicken and it got a big :thumbsup: for me. I shredded the meat and mixed it into a simple rice salad (rice, steamed veg, chopped apple, shallots) for me and and the boy for dinner and it was delish.
javalava
02-05-2007, 12:35
I just added 2 of my recipes... there is another i have to dig up, its really nice so i cant not put it there lol. It will be there later on. Hope you enjoy them. :fingerscrossed:
~Chick79~
02-05-2007, 13:32
ljd_83 - With your Hawian Chicken recipe - The bottle of sauce is this any particular size?? Sounds really yummy so am going to add it to our family menu this week!
javalava
02-05-2007, 14:24
ljd_83 - With your Hawian Chicken recipe - The bottle of sauce is this any particular size?? Sounds really yummy so am going to add it to our family menu this week!
Oh sorry, i used one of the half size dolmio bottles, tomato, onion and garlic. If you dont want a rich taste dont add it. And if you want it too be sweeter add more pineapple. :thumbsup:
jasminesmum
06-05-2007, 11:22
Yesterday I made Grandmas creamy rice.
Thanks hypopup it was yum! My dd loved it too.:thumbsup:
PinkSuede
07-05-2007, 14:36
Anyone cooking a roast chicken might like to try this experiment I did the other night.
OK, instead of stuffing I mixed:
1.5 potatoes diced to 1.5cm cubes
3 mushrooms chopped
Half an onion very finely chopped
1 clove garlic
1 tbsp herbs (I had shallots, rosemary and thyme)
1 tbsp butter
Salt and pepper
I mixed this all together in a bowl and then stuffed it tightly into the chicken before tying up the legs. (Also I it's a good idea to thoroughly rinse and pat dry the cavity with a paper towel).
Into the slow cooker on a bed of roughly chopped onions and I cooked it for about 6 hours on high.
The mixture was cooked perfectly - the potatoes were garlicky and made a perfect base to serve the chicken on top of.
Yum!
Kirstie x
I just posted a recipe for Crock Pot Meatballs. OMG this is divine. I cooked it yesterday and the smell was fabulous. Anyone who loves a good old hearty spaghetti and meatballs should definately try it.
anymore recipes please!!!!! i have been cooking the recipes in here and they are great... The lasagna - oh wow. i did my own variation and used a tin of tomatoes with chilli and basil too. and made my white sauce with some cheese. Also done some of the casseroles. tonight is the sweet and sour meatballs. 2moro is curried chicken. I LOVE MY SLOW COOKER. thanks girls for the lovely recipes..... BUT I WANT MORE lol
charlen49
16-05-2007, 19:58
Hey ladies.....i noticed the crockpot threads a few weeks back...so got out the old pot(dusted it off).....and have started to use it again. Last week i cooked the beef casserole , very nice and how nice was it after a long day to have a warm meal all ready to go......abs fab!....tomorrow i am cooking the slow cooked chicken supreme stew...i will let u know my verdict...lol......anyhow happy cooking......charlie
mysonroger
24-05-2007, 21:42
is a slow cooker that good? i've just started thinking about it but would like to try before i buy. but i think that's impossible. should i just get one??
Yep - just get one!! They are great :D
Pobblebonk
25-05-2007, 06:55
mysonroger - once you get it, try some of the yummy recipes in the Cookbook thread, you'll wonder what you ever did without it!
For me, I can't really use my oven, because Mr Chicken likes to 'kiss' himself in the door reflection (yes, he is very vain!) so cooking in the Slow Cooker is simply the best!
IS there anymore new recipes anyone has?
Also does anyone have any soup receipes done in the slow cooker?
Ie Chicken/Corn, Pumpkin Etc Etc.
Or Any Warm Winter Weather Meals they could please post.
Sam
javalava
06-06-2007, 08:43
Just posted one for Simple Swiss Steak... hope you like.
~Emmylou~
06-06-2007, 09:26
I've got a couple more to post - Moroccan Beef, a nice roast lamb and a Minestrone...
Kids are being a bit high maintenance today though so I'll try to get to it today...but can't promise :banghead:
I was so inspired by the thread for slow cooker recipes and it came at the right time too because I was thinking about freezing meals for when dd comes in two weeks time.
So i pulled out the slow cooker and i now have 6 containers of Beautiful Beef Casserole in the freezer and a Chicken Casserole I cooked today that will be going into the freezer as well (it's driving the cat crazy as he keeps jumping up onto the bench because he can smell it while it's been cooling down lol)
and big thanks to Jasminesmum for the all day macaroni & cheese recipe I can smell it cooking now and if you didnt write not to open the lid until it's cooked then i probably would have eaten some of it by now lol
Have any of you thought about what you could do if you had two slow cookers? ha ha ha dinner and desert ha ha
~Emmylou~
11-06-2007, 12:57
I made the Curried Chicken that's on the first page of the cookbook last night.
It was great!
I was a bit skeptical since the ingredients were so basic but it tasted just like the one you had as a kid. Loved it...and easy and cheap too so we'll defintely do that one again.:thumbsup:
yeah - we loved that curried chicken too - I must have made it 5 times in the first month after Ella was born!
um, cookbook? can someone explain?
I cant be bothered reading this whole thread. sorry. I was coming in to ask what brand/size slow cooker is best...
any help appreciated :D
~Emmylou~
20-06-2007, 19:02
um, cookbook? can someone explain?
I cant be bothered reading this whole thread. sorry. I was coming in to ask what brand/size slow cooker is best...
any help appreciated :D
There's a sticky at the top - Bubhub slowcooker cookbook I think it's called.
It's got all our recipes in it :D
TeamAwesome
21-06-2007, 08:01
I have bought a small 1.2kg pre-marinated roast to put on for tonight but I'm just wondering when to put it on? I'd need it to be ready by 5pm for the kids dinner.
TIA for your help.
Natalie
Needs to go on NOW! The longer the much much better. Put it on high for an hour first.
TeamAwesome
21-06-2007, 09:34
Needs to go on NOW! The longer the much much better. Put it on high for an hour first.
collyspark
02-07-2007, 10:32
im making the burmese chicken - but with beef tonite!!
ill let you know how it goes!!
collyspark
03-07-2007, 14:45
It was YUM!! next time id put a bit more chilli in! mmmm yum!!
this thread is inspiring me to buy a slow cooker :laughing:
SuperMumma
28-08-2007, 09:51
Are the recipies for the clow cooker ok to do while your out for the day. I leave pretty early for work and would love to beable to have dinner ready when I get home but it means i can't check or do anything while it is cooking.
What about cooking a big bunch of veggies in it? Sort of like steaming or soemthing. I dont even have a slow cooker but I was talking to mum about it this morning and she has one I'm picking up on my way home!! I know nothing about it though so I'm sure I'll be back again for some advice!!!
SimplyMum
28-08-2007, 10:17
OK, so I don't have a slow cooker but would love one. I have 2 questions, what is the best brand and size for my DS and I? And also, can the slow cooker recepies be cooked without a slow cooker? Just in an oven or something?
Hope someone can help!!!!!!
I want to make a cottage pie in the slow cooker?
How long would you cook it for? Ie 4 hours in total etc
I have frozen peas to add when would you add them?
How long before would you add the pototo topping?
Hope to hear from someone that can help.
Misty I don't have an answer for your cottage pie, but did you have a look on the slow cooker recipes man I printed out 4 pages and then thought ok I think I have plenty now to cook with, there are tones and I mean tones of recipes you name it and pretty much would be there, thanks girls and cant wait tommorow night curried sausages in my slow cooker, I have the ronson 6litre and love it to death, now I'm more in love I have stacks more to cook happy days again thanks lady's for all your recipes....:wave::wave:
hi
i am making a stew and coated the meat with flour then ds started playing up and i forgot to brown it and just threw it all into the slow cooker and now it tastes flowery (sp?) i am just over half way with the cooking i think (the veg is still quite crunchy) is there a way to save this ????
hi
i am making a stew and coated the meat with flour then ds started playing up and i forgot to brown it and just threw it all into the slow cooker and now it tastes flowery (sp?) i am just over half way with the cooking i think (the veg is still quite crunchy) is there a way to save this ????
i never brown my meat, it never tastes floury? it should even out
Hope someone can help!!!!!!
I want to make a cottage pie in the slow cooker?
How long would you cook it for? Ie 4 hours in total etc
I have frozen peas to add when would you add them?
How long before would you add the pototo topping?
Hope to hear from someone that can help.
chuck it allllllll in together hun :thumbsup:
Are the recipies for the clow cooker ok to do while your out for the day. I leave pretty early for work and would love to beable to have dinner ready when I get home but it means i can't check or do anything while it is cooking.
What about cooking a big bunch of veggies in it? Sort of like steaming or soemthing. I dont even have a slow cooker but I was talking to mum about it this morning and she has one I'm picking up on my way home!! I know nothing about it though so I'm sure I'll be back again for some advice!!!
I frequently leave the slow cooker on all day. If I have a huge day out for cattlework which I know is exhausting. I'll often put a stew or a curry on just before I leave in the morning (7 to 8am!) and then come home to a cooked dinner at night.
Use the lowest setting. All I find necessary is to cut meat and veg into LARGER chunks so they will take longer to cook anyway. You will find that everything is REALLY well cooked. Meat will be fall off the bone tender etc.
Whole lumps of meat cooked as a pot roast are good for all day cooking. Even if they're frozen solid!
I sometimes put the biggest lump of frozen pork shoulder roast I can fit into my slow cooker and pour a jar of Kantong over it. Cook it on slow all day. It's delish!
08-02-2008, 13:17
Hi all :wave:
Last night I cooked the Chicken and Corn Risotto from the Bubhub cookbook.
It was a bit gluey though, I think it may have been my fault, I added a carrot, a zucchini and an onion.
Right now I have the Stuffed Capsicums cooking. Smells really really nice and I can't wait to eat them for dinner tonight!
Tomorrow night I am trying the pumpkin soup and the next night the potato bake.
I'm giving the slow cooker a good working out the with cool-ish weather we've been having lately!
Not sure if it's just me guys but I can't find a link or anything to these slow cooker recipes.
Aimée
the Link is here (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=87138) for you :thumbsup:
Lastcenturymum
26-03-2008, 22:32
Ohh awesome, I just got a slow cooker and was going to ask about a porridge recipe...I will go look. We used to do it when we were first married and I can't remember the quantities!!
I'm off :detective: :D
I'm currently making a 'medicine' chicken soup in it....:rolleyes:
Lastcenturymum
02-04-2008, 02:16
Thank you O&GMum for the 'stew' recipe, it was great last night, so easy as I had an appointment at 5 and it just looked after itself. I did mashed spuds rather than add them though.
Tomorrow night is the metballs! I'm just working my way through these!:D
Frangimimi
02-04-2008, 10:49
hi, we had the chicken curry one (i think its on the first or secong page) and it was delicous.A big thumbs up:thumbsup:
I love this section, thanks for all the recipes:yelclap:
Wow. I just read about the slow cooking thread in another thread and had to have a look. I'm soooo excited about finally having some new recipes to try out. Looks like it's going to take me all year to get through all the recipes. Well here goes...
Lastcenturymum
04-06-2008, 06:30
I will scan through the recipes tomorrow, but can't recall a pork one...
Anyone got a good one? (that doesn't have packet or tin ingredients i.e. can of soup)
I have two meaty pork chops, but will probably cut the meat off and into cubes, just need to get it on in the morning! I have apples, nuts and other vegies.
Mum used to do something in her electric pan and I wish I could remember it...had cored apple slices on it...any help would be great.
JJJ&D'sMum
05-06-2008, 11:59
WOOHOO thanks for the Slow Cooker recipe thread !
I used my slow cooker yesterday and made a really yummy dinner that everyone loved. Even DD (15 months old) loved it. Here it is.....
CC's Chicken Casserole
1 large can crushed tomatoes
1 can cream of chicken soup
1 can water
1/2 kilo of chicken pieces
5 small potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 onion, sliced
3 medium sized carrots, peeled and chopped
1/2 capsicum, roughly diced
3 large mushrooms, largely chopped
1/2 cup frozen peas
1/2 cup frozen corn kernels
Mix the tomatoes, soup and water then add everything else to the pot and give it a quick mix up. Cook on High for 6 hours and YUMMO!
CC
StrawberryTheMilkshake
06-07-2008, 11:13
My MIL has just converted me to using a slow cooker. She made a pea and ham soup and it was delish.
Im now cooking Morrocan Beef (but using lamb) for tomorrow nights dinner as we have some big days ahead. I bought the ingredients for Apricot Chicken and Chicken Supreme Stew. Cant wait!!! Will update you.
Does anyone ever get worried about the bacteria formation in the food taking so long to cook? Im a food safety supervisor at work and food that sits at between 5-60 degrees C for more than 8 hours can have more than 16 million bacteria in it.....
So what do you think? Thats the only thing that worries me but i think it heats up to a good temp doesnt it?
Im very excited and a converted slow cooker!!! Keep the recipes coming!!!
StrawberryTheMilkshake
06-07-2008, 11:23
Yum!!! :yes:
chicken and eggs mum
02-03-2009, 08:13
I made my very first meal in the slow cooker for dinner yesterday!!! mmmm.,...so easy, very delish and lots of leftovers for lunch today!! Plus I didnt have to lift a finger at dinner time... how easy is that, and why have i not thought about getting one before!!!
loving the recipies thread!! got heaps of ideas from it...
em
Chloe Bear
19-03-2009, 21:19
I just wanted to say a big thank you to everyone. What an awesome thread. I love my new slow cooker and have been turned off cooking since I got pregnant. But my slow cooker has changed that, as there is not fussing and not as many dishes. More time to spend with Bub and Hubby :) So again all you gals thanks a million
my*lil*munchkin
27-04-2009, 14:17
Great thread ladies! Has inspired to try my slow cooker again... :)
I got it as a wedding present almost 4 yrs ago and have used it a few times, but every time I use it, the meat is COMPLETELY overcooked, dry and hard!! I have no idea what I'm doing wrong, it seems as though there is not enough liquid in to start with. I even tried the McCormack packet mix and it was still terrible...
Can anyone please help me?? :hair: I would love to be able to put it on of a morning and come home at night to a lovely cooked dinner. I just get frustrated because I have to throw it out & it's a waste of money, not to mention I then have to find something else for dinner :no:
TIA :)
Great thread ladies! Has inspired to try my slow cooker again... :)
I got it as a wedding present almost 4 yrs ago and have used it a few times, but every time I use it, the meat is COMPLETELY overcooked, dry and hard!! I have no idea what I'm doing wrong, it seems as though there is not enough liquid in to start with. I even tried the McCormack packet mix and it was still terrible...
Can anyone please help me?? :hair: I would love to be able to put it on of a morning and come home at night to a lovely cooked dinner. I just get frustrated because I have to throw it out & it's a waste of money, not to mention I then have to find something else for dinner :no:
TIA :)
What cuts of meat are you using? The cheaper the cut of meat, the better. There needs to be quite a bit of fat in the meat for the slow cooker to break down and tenderize over time, so I've found I don't have much success with chicken breasts, for example.
You also shouldn't need much liquid if you've got vegies in there, otherwise it will be too watery.
Have you tried a silverside? That's pretty foolproof.
Or roast lamb? I just throw in the lamb leg with some rosemary and garlic bulbs (NO water or stock at all) put it on low and in 7 or 8 hours I have a lovely tender roast.
MumsieMel
10-06-2009, 14:28
QUESTION
When doing a roast what do you sit it on in the slow cooker?
I made the Roast Chicken on a bed of lemons, but the lemon was over powering,
And what about roats pork/lamb etc??
I have an oval 3.5ltr slow cooker.
TIA :D
I usually use root veg in the bottom under the roast. But sometimes I use nothing at all!
I have also heard of people using a small plate or scrunched up foil but I think that's unnecessary.
Also the best method of sucess with all day cooks is to choose cheap cuts with fat and connective tissue (gravy beef, ox tail, lamb necks, ribs, osso bucco) and leave them in fairly big chunks. Use a moist recipe like a goulash or curry so there is enough liquid.
That's the beauty of the slow cooker. Makes delicious use of the cheapest meats!
Meats like rump or chicken breast will end up VERY dry in an all day cook. No matter what the level of liquid.
Coffeebean
23-02-2010, 12:59
Great threads on Slow Cooking!
I am making this one today.....
Originally Posted by ~Emmylou~
Roast Chicken
You just need a chook, a pack of french onion soup mix (the generic one is fine), and 2 lemons
Pat the chook dry, rub the soup mix into the chicken all over to give it colour.
Stick one whole unpeeled lemon in it's bum (poke some holes in the lemon with a fork to let the aroma out). This is optional - still tastes great without it we just like it.
Cut the remaining lemon into quarters and place in bottom of SC. Place chooky on top and cook for about 6 hours on low.
I am curious to see how it goes as there is nothing really added.... just brilliant! :D
MunchiesMummy
26-02-2010, 11:37
Originally Posted by vicsta http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=299050#post299050)
Beef Stroganoff
500 gm - 1kilo of diced beef (I used oyster blade because I had some in the freezer)
1/4 cup tomato paste
1 1/2 cups beef stock
3 cloves garlic
potatoes
sweet potatoe
carrots
corn
1 onion
1 300ml tub of sour cream
mushrooms
coat beef in flour and brown in frypan
cook diced onion and garlic until opaque (you can put in raw but I prefer cooked)
layer vegies on bottom of Crock pot
them put beef, onion and garlic on top
pour over beef stock and tomato paste
cook for 6 - 8 hrs on low
add sour cream 20 mins before serving
serve with pasta and some green vegies if desired
The kids nearly licked the bowl, only the eldest picked out the mushrooms, they were nearly hidden but she found them :chef:
Oh my god I tried this one the other night - SO EASY and BEST STROG EVER!!!!! :thumbsup:
Used really cheap cut of meat - can remember what it was but OMG fell apart in my mouth - try this one ladies you will love it!
A quick question about browning the meat/softening onions etc in all these recipes... do you have to?! I'd love to just be able to use the one pot, seems like a bit of a waste of time to brown it, then have to chuck it in and recook it, seems like it'd be easier to just cook at night, once the meat's browned, you're really just finishing off with the rest right?! Anyway, does it affect the flavour/cooking time if you just bung it all in raw?
Can't wait to try some of the recipes cos I just bought a slow cooker yesterday! (I had a mccormacks chicken curry tonight, it was edible, but not fantastic I thought... Just a bit bland... The meat was deliciously tender though!)