View Full Version : What did you do at your baby shower?

Moorish
27-04-2007, 13:32
A friend is hosting a baby shower for me and I just want things to be relaxed & casual but I don't want everyone to sit around being bored stiff! :D

So what did everyone do at theirs?

Did you go all out with the games etc?
Was it a casual afternoon tea?
Or was it something in between?

Was it fun?

kiah
27-04-2007, 14:51
I didn't have a traditional bub shower. Here's what i did.

I had girls upstairs and boys downstairs. The invite was divided into two sides so both partners could come.

I think the boys side said "Beer, Backgammon and BBQ" and joked about "sharing fatherly advice" and my side was similar but all about a bub shower, beauty etc.

We had like a high tea for the ladies with champagne and heaps of cool games with awesome prizes.

The house was decorated in about 200 pink baloons. Everyone that came had to wear a speshy name tag that my friends made too. Very cute.

At the end we all came together downstairs for a huge bbq. We had heaps of lush food, prawns on skewers, gourmet salads, cheescakes etc. and drinks.

It went until 1 or 2 am. I think it started at 3 in the arvo.

kiah
27-04-2007, 14:52
One of the games was a multi choice 20 questions about me and hub. It was sooo funny. Person with most correct answers wins.

Eg.

What was Kiah wearing the day they met

a. bikini
b. towel
c. jeans and singlet

Then other questions were
- what size shoe
- is Kiah's middle name french, aboriginal or danish
- what footy team does hub play for

etc.

Other games were where u freeze a jelly baby in a plastic cup with water. Everyone gets given one when they arrive. Turn your cup upside doen, first persons water to break and get their baby out wins, they can force it out if they want.

Then there was this game name the baby just a bunch of flashcards my friend made up with a pic of an animal eg. cow on one side and baby animal answer on the other (calf) person with most at end gets prize.

Another one is have a bunch of letters u draw out from a hat and its the 1st person to think of something to do with babies or conception in assoc with the letter eg. letter d "doodle" heheheh.

We did sooooo many. It was hilarious.

kiah
27-04-2007, 14:54
Another thing i did for the table cloths is covered all the tables in white paper and stuck them down really well and Jayce drew pink pictures of me, him, daddy, bubby etc with pink textas and coloured them in with pink crayons.

He also did heaps for the walls. I have my fave one on my profile (pic of baby in my belly). Good idea if u want to involve your children.

*Sparkles*
27-04-2007, 15:07
We had some games with little prizes. It was quite informal and some of the time we sat around and chatted, there were about 10 of us. We also had afternoon tea which ended up being a huge spread. It was fun and I received lots of lovely gifts for bubs.

I have previously posted a thread with some game ideas. If you are interested I will find it and post the link here for you?

Moorish
27-04-2007, 16:11
Hels that'd be great! I'm slowly reading through all the baby shower threads to get some ideas too :thumbsup:

Kiah - what a gorgeous picture that Jayce drew! I had a look on your profile and found it. You should DEFINATELY frame that one . . . very precious indeed! :yes:

CharlisMummy
27-04-2007, 16:35
For my baby shower my sister in law bought a stack of plain white singlets and bodysuits and some bright fabric paints and had everyone decorate them. We had lots of laughs at everyones "artwork" and it was great fun for my neice and nephew and little cousins who did their handprints etc. very cute!

We also had a game where both mothers had to write 5 things that hubby and I did as babies/toddlers and the guests had to guess who had done what. This was really funny as we were both little terrors!

Also played shower gift bingo and match celebs to their baby names and guess the baby items in a pillow case.

For food we just had a spread of party pies, mini quiches, crackers and dip, cakes and lollies etc.

Had a great time and got HEAPS of cool pressies!
:party: :party:

*Sparkles*
27-04-2007, 17:49
Here is my thread for baby shower ideas, I hope you find it useful.

http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=54099&highlight=hels

Moorish
28-04-2007, 09:35
Thanks Hels :thumbsup:
Taking a look now.