View Full Version : Hey there Dads !!
IndigoRose
26-04-2007, 21:53
Nice to find a place where Dads who care can catchup.:yes:
It is a shame we're stuck right down here at the bottom of community forums though!..HELLOO hows the weather up there?:rolleyes:
Ive been away from the forums for a good part of the last 12 months and have recently resigned from a 21 year career in travel industry to start a new exciting and demanding career of Stay-At-Home-Dad.:eek:
Anyway im 40,my partner Kat is 37(today)and our litle Princess Indigo is 1 year old this weekend:smiliedance:
I look foward to dropping in more often these days,talk soon.
Steve.
tyler's mum
26-04-2007, 21:56
Welcome Steve ,Kat & Indigo:wave:
IndigoRose
28-04-2007, 16:32
Hey thanks for the welcome.:wave:
Regards,
Steve
Yes it is good for fathers to catch up and chat to other fathers.Im only new as i only joined yesterday.I have 7 children 3 are my step kids and the rest are mine to my wife.I have a small business that i run from home so i can spend more time with my kids.
IndigoRose
02-05-2007, 14:47
Hey Marz,
Wow,7 children....how do you do it?
Im a new Dad to an amazing little girl(1year old)and she keeps me way busy enough.
Congratulations and well done.
Hope you can make it to this forum now and again.It would be good to catch up.
Regards,Steve:)
Hey Steve,
Nice to meet you.I work from home.I am an accessorie installer and a vinyl sign writter.I was working for a big company in Cranbourne and my daughter dehydrated at the daycare,She was sent to Dandenong hospital at 10 am,so i asked my boss could i leave to be with her and he told me when i finished my installations.So by 4:30 i finished and then went to be by my daughter.Thats why i work for myself .My wife and Kids are my No 1.My wife suggested for me to come on and meet other dads. :thumbsup:
www.eastgippslandcaraudio.com.au (http://www.eastgippslandcaraudio.com.au)
IndigoRose
08-05-2007, 09:37
Hey Marz,
Sorry mate,i dont get to the forums as much as i'd like to.Im a stay at home Dad these days after many years in the travel industry but my little girl sure keeps me on my toes more so then my old career ever did.
Thats pretty poor treatment by your old employer,i wouldnt stand for that treatment either you've made the right decision mate.
Im gonna make an effort to get online more often, we Dads who care need to stick together.
Talk soon,
Steve
I am going to be a new dad in a few months time. I am useless at keeping up on forums, so don't expect me to be round too often.
Good idea marz to start your own business, make sure you have a good accountant too, that way you get taxes done well so you don't end up giving too much to the gov't.
Yeh that would be good steve.If your on msn im on that alot too east_gippsland_caraudio_communications@msn.com feel free to buzz me for a chat.We had to get a couple of computers here.Between the wife and the children.Welcome foobar to the dads chat.
Mario :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
IndigoRose
10-05-2007, 15:21
Hey Mario,Hey Foobar.
You blokes ROCK !!...Lets liven up this Dads Chat Forum and start by getting more Dads interested...?? mmmnn where to start?
ImogenGrace
10-05-2007, 20:08
Hi y'all,
My name is Guy and first time father and first time contibutor to postings. So bear with me... My wife Sarah and I, have a beautiful 3 month old daughter Imogen and let's just say all 3 of us are learning to adapt to this situation. Hope to chat more in future.
I have an Idea.......Tell me what you think.
What about if i make us all bumper stickers with the dads chat and website (free of charge of course) ? Might be a great way to promote the site.It took me months before i found this one.
Marz :thumbsup:
stewball1979
12-05-2007, 11:00
hey guys
i am another newby. DW told me that i needed to chat to some other dads, so i have decided to join and chat to you guys.
my name is stew, i have a 2 yr old son and 5 month old daughter. i am a student as well (Grad dip ed) so i will be around a little bit when time allows.
chat soon. my msn is sws_is@hotmail.com if you wanna add me
stew
IndigoRose
14-05-2007, 09:28
Hello Stew,
Welcome to Dads Chat,glad you found us.
Ive found lots of useful information and good advise here on this forum.Im a Dad of one beautiful little girl Indigo who turned 1 yr old just last week.
Hey Marz,
Mate that sticker idea is great.Im out and about in the car just about everyday and i recon that would really work.
Do you have any design ideas,colours,layout etc ?
Steve.
Hey Steve,
I could just about do anything on it.Do you have any ideas,And i think i might have to ask permission from the people that run it if it ok for us to do it but thats all cool.If we are going to put them on the back windows it should be white.I was thinking of something like "Real dads chat on Bub hub with the web address on it and maybe a pic of a baby or something??????????????
Tell me what ya think then i can design it and show ya in a pic before cutting them on the machine.
IndigoRose
15-05-2007, 08:22
Hey Marz,
Maybe you could design a sticker incorporating a childs handwriting and artwork.I'll get Indigos pencils and crayons out and see if we can come up with some ideas to help you.
Steve:smiliedance:
Hey Steve,
I could just about do anything on it.Do you have any ideas,And i think i might have to ask permission from the people that run it if it ok for us to do it but thats all cool.If we are going to put them on the back windows it should be white.I was thinking of something like "Real dads chat on Bub hub with the web address on it and maybe a pic of a baby or something??????????????
Tell me what ya think then i can design it and show ya in a pic before cutting them on the machine.
Supply this thread to an admin of bubhub to get the all clear:thumbsup:
This sounds like a great idea :yelclap:
Hi Dads
Just your friendly moderator popping in to say that I'll alert Hilary (bubhub administrator) to your great idea. That way she can pop in an answer directly.
If you can think of any other ways to promote the site to Dads I'm sure she'd love to hear them (some times we neglect you blokes shamefully :) ).
I'm here - I'm going to chat with my DH (who is a Dad too) and get his thoughts - will be back tomorrow!
Sounds great.Were ever i can help,im more than happy to do my part.
clarebear1983
16-05-2007, 09:58
sounds like a top idea marz, hopefully with permission we can get it off the ground in time for the parents expo that bubhub is always involved in. would be one way to advertise
(using dw log in atm)
IndigoRose
16-05-2007, 16:56
Nice one Marz,looks like your idea is getting some attention.Hopefully we'll get the go ahead and get this ball rolling.
Talk soon mate.
Steve
OK - this is a :thumbsup: from us.
Marz - I've sent you a pm
Sorry i haven't been on for days had a truck to do in Dandenong and just got home yesterday.Im glad you all like the idea. I will get to it shortly everyones ideas would be a bonus.
IndigoRose
22-05-2007, 08:07
Hey Marz,
Hope you're well.
My little girl and I are still throwing sticker design ideas around.I'll send some pictures soon.
Steve:wave:
Eviesdad
28-05-2007, 13:50
Hello, I am new to this website, my wife usues another site, but i could not find anywhere for dads, so i thought i would try this one, so hello
maverick
28-05-2007, 19:32
Hello, I am new to this website, my wife usues another site, but i could not find anywhere for dads, so i thought i would try this one, so hello
Hi Eviesdad,
Welcome to our little corner of the child rearing world. It is generally pretty quite on here but somehow I have still managed to rack up around 150 posts.
I like the area you live in, we had friends who used to live in Happy Valley and there are some nice wineries around your area.
Mav
IndigoRose
29-05-2007, 09:04
Hey Eviesdad,
Welcome to the Dads Chat forum.Slowly but surely we'll make more dads aware we are here.
Another member (Marz)is organising some bumper stickers to help spread the word.So if you have any suggestions post them here.
Talk soon.
Steve.
FarmerBlog
04-06-2007, 14:28
Hi Fellow Dad's,
Well after 15 months of nagging. I thought that I had better say hello to you all. So Hello :wave:
The bumper sticker sounds like a great idea :thumbsup:
Steven
IndigoRose
05-06-2007, 08:21
Hello Steven.:wave:
Welcome to the forum.Its pretty quiet here right now but hopefully we can make more dads aware.If you've got any suggestions or ideas about the sticker design post them here.
Have a great day mate talk soon.
Steve.
FarmerBlog
08-06-2007, 08:12
Thanks Steve,
how are you going with the sticker design??
I have put my wife onto as she loves playing with paintshop. So I will hopefully send you some designs over the weekend.
Steven
Im back now after weeks of installing aftermarket accessories into trucks .I have had a busy time and was back for my birthday.8th of june as i was sitting down i got the best birthday present ever. and that was for my 13 month daughter stood up and taken 3 to4 steps.Now we can work out what we are doing with these stickers.
Also welcome to all the new dads
IndigoRose
09-06-2007, 14:53
Hey Marz WELCOME BACK & HAPPY BIRTHDAY.
Mate thats fantastic,what a gift!!!
I look forward to seeing my little girl do that sometime soon.
Hey Steven,
How ya going mate,go the paintshop...create!create!
I've got a few ideas also will try sending later.
Steve
FarmerBlog
12-06-2007, 14:42
Hi Steve,
Sorry for the delay with this, but we are about to move so everything is ... well you know.
Anyway the ideas we have are:
BubHub Blokes are Babe Magnets
Babes dig BubHub Dudes
BubHub Dad and Proud of it
BubHub, Not just for Babes
If you like any of these or have a slogan let us know and we can workout a design.
Steven :thumbsup:
IndigoRose
12-06-2007, 21:32
Hey Steven.I know....moving home is such a huge job.Mate i love all those ideas.:yelclap: What do you think Marz?
clarebear1983
13-06-2007, 17:46
just a comment ideas are good but do we want to give off the idea that bubhub is somewhere to pick up snads (sensitive new age dads) or that we come on here to pick up.
i like these the best
BubHub Dad and Proud of it
BubHub, Not just for Babes
IndigoRose
14-06-2007, 08:27
I agree Clare those two are the better but i was thinking like a Dad with a baby when reading them. ..not like a Dad trying to pick-up a babe.:shame:
BubHub Blokes are Baby Magnets
Babies Dig BubHub Dudes
BubHub,Not just for Babies
BubHub Dad and Proud of it.
I never thought myself a SNAD,i'm just a Dad who actually wants to be involved in every part of his childs growth and development.:yes:
Steve.
clarebear1983
14-06-2007, 13:38
I get what you were thinking (by the way it wasnt me that posted lol DH used my login forgetting it was mine not his.............) its what other people will perceive it as. I like the way you have re-written them. Are you going to put a picture of a bub on the stickers????
Can we get stickers for parents as well, like: Family matters......check out bubhub
14-06-2007, 13:52
Hi Clare - Re the stickers, Dont forget that the BubHub make the Pink Pram Ribbons that say pretty much what you were after. :) Oh yes, and I do get what your hubby was saying, but like Steve I read Babe as Baby...I guess its a sign of the times though when people see Babe in BubHub as *wolf whistles* BABE! :( LOL
Hi Steve - I'm Stevens (sko) wifey....I was thinking (if you are still keen for me to do something) of a Blue sticker pretty similar to the BubHub stuff....once you guys decide on a *slogan* I'll dummy some prototypes up. :thumbsup:
Hi Steven - Guess what...I can stalk your posts too! HAHA! :D
IndigoRose
14-06-2007, 16:06
Hi Mischief,Steven and Clare.
By all means create,create,create show us what you can do.I think a very cute baby should definately appear on the stickers.The sooner we get these ideas down and out there the better.Its great to chat with you all and hear your ideas.Talk soon.
Steve:)
clarebear1983
14-06-2007, 21:18
Hi Mischief,Steven and Clare.
By all means create,create,create show us what you can do.I think a very cute baby should definately appear on the stickers.The sooner we get these ideas down and out there the better.Its great to chat with you all and hear your ideas.Talk soon.
Steve:)
Someone could do a cartoon baby (i dont know anyone good at drawing...Im just ok at coming up with ideas)...
Maybe we could open this up to the public and have a "bubhub daddy bumpersticker" competition so that more people will "get involved" this might interest other peoples husbands/partners/fiances to join up if they feel that they could contribute.
It could be judged by the moderators and the winners get their saying on the bumper stickers. You could then have several bumper stickers.
Or even have a design a bumpersticker competition.
Its just an idea to get everyone involved....................................probab ly a stupid one/
clarebear1983
14-06-2007, 21:21
Hi Clare - Re the stickers, Dont forget that the BubHub make the Pink Pram Ribbons that say pretty much what you were after. :) ! :( LOL
I have the ribbons but you cant put a ribbon on a car :D I want something I can use to advertise whereever I go that shows not just me, but DH is a bubhub fan..............Personally I would love to have a bubhub T-Shirt (in a range of colours because pink isnt for everyone)
wow with this idea of having dads stickers we could open up a whole new world of bubhub advertising!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I wish i could design bubhub nappies
IndigoRose
15-06-2007, 11:29
Hi Clare,
Ive just returned from my first ever playgroup with Indigo.It was fun and Indigo loved it.It was nice to see her playing with other little people her age.:yes:
Yes i was thinking a cartoon figure for the stickers,i do a bit of drawing so i might put pen to paper and try drawing a cartoon style bub.
I think thats a good idea to get everyones creative juices flowing,the more the merrier!:thumbsup:
Lets make it happen!!:smiliedance:
Talk soon.
Steve.
wifeservent
10-07-2007, 19:13
Hey guys... my wife raves about this forum all the time so i thought i would check it out !
Hope to talk to u all soon.
Wayne
FarmerBlog
11-07-2007, 20:05
Hi Wayne,
Welcome to the forum :)
IndigoRose
17-07-2007, 07:44
Hello Wayne....Welcome to the Dads Chat.:)
FarmerBlog
18-07-2007, 08:12
Hi IndigoRose,
Long time no chat..
Is the sticker still a goer or has it died for now??
IndigoRose
19-07-2007, 13:49
Hello Steven,
Yeh i havent been online that much lately.I find forums too addictive and need to walk away sometimes.As for the stickers,im not sure whats happening there as Marz(forum member)had the brainwave and the tools for the job but i havent heard or seen any posts from him for ages.I do know the stickers got the go ahead from Bub Hub admin but nothings happened since then:confused:
I just noted your question and I'll ask admin to see if we have any more recent news for you on the bumper stickers.
As you were ;)
ETA: We think Manz got a bit busy with his real life, and we are giving him some time to bring his great ideas to fruition.
baboon1990
22-07-2007, 18:59
hey i only just found the fathers section im not sure this is my oart lol im 16 and im an expctant father... young but im sure ill feel as excited as i hope you all were .. just here to say hi.. im new to this
IndigoRose
23-07-2007, 11:46
hey i only just found the fathers section im not sure this is my oart lol im 16 and im an expctant father... young but im sure ill feel as excited as i hope you all were .. just here to say hi.. im new to this
Hello baboon1990....glad you finally found us.Congratulations and welcome to Dads Chat and more importantly Fatherhood its an amazing and rewarding experience.:)
IndigoRose
23-07-2007, 11:51
I just noted your question and I'll ask admin to see if we have any more recent news for you on the bumper stickers.
As you were ;)
ETA: We think Manz got a bit busy with his real life, and we are giving him some time to bring his great ideas to fruition.
Hello xkwzit...thanks for the update.I thought that may have been the case.Lookin forward to seeing this happen.:)
Xistenze
24-07-2007, 10:57
Hey guys, on my wifes suggestion i have join the forum, as a stay at home dad i dont have much of a social life (not that i really did before) but it would be nice to chat to some other dads
IndigoRose
24-07-2007, 12:04
Hey guys, on my wifes suggestion i have join the forum, as a stay at home dad i dont have much of a social life (not that i really did before) but it would be nice to chat to some other dads
G'day mate,glad you found us.I'm also a stay-at-home Dad so i know exactly where you're coming from.Welcome to Dads Chat:)
Xistenze
24-07-2007, 20:30
thanks for the welcome steve:), encase anyone wants a quicker way to get to the dads chat without scrolling down for ages, you can subscribe to threads, goto the thread u want and at the top click thread tools, when u subscribe, u can goto the user control panel and then straight to the thread, some of u may already know that but i just though i should mention it
Hey guys,
Wife just convinced me to join, I have daughter she is 19 months and she is the most beautiful thing in the world. She is a machine...lol she never stops day or night. Between work and home there is no stopping. Starting your own businesses at home seems to be the best things these days if you understand the ins and outs of a small business. I'm on a fair bit so will keep a look out for new posts.
Xistenze
04-08-2007, 18:22
welcome to our little corner of the web, its great to talk to other dads :)