View Full Version : August 2006 mums & bubs #8

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

mum_I'm_hungry
26-04-2007, 18:48
Poor Em! That's no good. Hopefully the antibiotics will be the right ones this time. I know the first time I had pneumonia they absolutely pumped me full of this IV antibiotic in hospital which gave me the most shocking headaches. Later on, we found out it did absolutely no good. I guess you've just got to hit on the right one and go from there. :fingerscrossed: this is the right one.

Wondering how Scarlett and Jasper are getting on? Good, I hope.

Beany, Teddy is also fascinated with his crotch and does the grab at every opportunity as well. I guess we should only really worry if they also start wearing one white glove and talking about plastic surgery. :D

Mrs Potts
26-04-2007, 19:15
Alli you crack me up! :laughing: Funny though, Dough has the same obsession as Asher & Teddy :eek::laughing: Come to think of it, so does my 6 yr old.... it's a boy thing, get used to it!

Hi Noosa! Great to see you. :wave:

Munchkin - sorry about Em. Hope new a/b's fix her up quick smart. Poor poppet.

Beany
26-04-2007, 23:01
Midnight and he's asleep!

:eek:

*runs to bed*

shed
27-04-2007, 06:06
The interview went okay, I find out today if I got it.

My poor baby is so grumpy. He won't stop whingeing. All night. I am so tired, we both are.

amandaw
27-04-2007, 07:49
Good on you Shed!!! Hope you get the news you want from today's interview.

Beany and Alli - maybe not so much a boy thing ....Charlotte's hands have been wandering crotchward for the last week.....2nd the motion of wet nappy okay, dirty is :barf:

Erica - loved the photos - I would sooooooo love to do that!!!

Munchkin - lots of :hugs: coming your way...just for support...lucky for you she's such a happy chappy!

Tattoos of hands on back...that would be cute but owwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!! I think the teeth marks will be it for me too....Charlotte has taken to nipping clothing (poor bugger, I think there's MORE teeth on the way) and this morning she bit me hard...I yelled for the first time and her whole face just crumpled... such a sad, sad look with big fat tears :-(

I'm chucking a sickie today....Dh's cousin is getting married this afternoon, so it was a good excuse...actually well timed after parent teacher interviews last night, and with the hell week that will be next week due to our school musical (gee, I'm crossing every part of my boday that Charlotte doesn't become too whingy with the next teeth, FIL will be up next week, and I'm out 4 nights with musical, so if she's a rotter, DH has her pretty much all day and all night....I might be on some serious baby duty the week after!!!!)

Anyway - have a great day all - I certainly plan to!!

jessi
27-04-2007, 08:01
Tattoos of hands on back...that would be cute but owwwwwwwwwwwwww!!!!

They are actually on my front... Click here (http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o130/jess5ash/outline.jpg)

mum_I'm_hungry
27-04-2007, 08:02
Hey Amanda! :wave: Good to hear your news. Go the sickie! :smiliedance: Hope it's a good wedding. I love going to weddings, but all our friends have pretty much married themselves off now! Will have to wait for the christenings!

:fingerscrossed:, Shed.

Well, I am sitting here absolutely #$%%^&* myself laughing. Best laugh I've had in ages, actually. Dave brought home a photocopy of a birth plan that was posted up in the tea room. I'm all for knowing what you want and everything, but this baby is two pages long (and I'm talking teeny tiny printing here). I think the best line is 'I would like for neroli oil to be rubbed into my perineum as it is stretching, to help the area stay supple and moisturised'. Bless her cotton pickin socks (which she'd like placed on her feet during the third hour of labour, btw). This all goes on for two pages and then, in tiny letters, some doctor has written down the bottom, 'please clip my tubes'.

I think I'll always wonder how that birth went...

mum_I'm_hungry
27-04-2007, 08:25
OMG, Jessi. That must have hurt! Very cute, though. There's a tattoo place near us that looks really quality, if that's a good word for it. I think it's called True Love tattoo.

mumstar
27-04-2007, 09:41
hello all

well yesterday was a very ling day. My aunty had her funeral. It was a very lovely service at the church followed by some morning tes and then on to the burial. I prob cried for Australia yesterday but today i feel remerably calm. That could also be coz i know if i start again im gonna get one wicked headache from this hangover!

Well both the boys are in daycare today which will be really good as i can get some full on cleaning done. It has been giving me the absolute ****s around here not get stuff done but i have my motivation hat on today. I might even do some cooking or something. And im going out to but some wool and knitting needles today to start a new hobbie of mine!

Tonight me and the boys are going to babysit for my auntys boy who is 2 so that she can co out with my mum and celebrate her 40th birthday. We have a very busy weekend planned for her. I really hope the weather fines up!

Love to you all

MountainGirl
27-04-2007, 12:46
Hi all,.....

Mumstar:hugs: for yesterday
Munchkin:hugs: for Em,...hope you get to the bottom of this soon UTIs are so damn ouchy,..

Shed:fingerscrossed:
MMack and Mrs Potts - Happy anniversary
Jess - your tattoo is awesome! What a great idea for a tattoo! Clever girl,...

Everyone else:wave:

Us,..... Jaspers breathing is finally getting batter,..the vaporiser was a good investment,... Scarlett is good now too,.. I have lost a bunch of weight through worry and the damn bug,..... but we are all battling on,....

Jasper still not crawling,...but has top two teeth coming through.....bloody teeth,....

jessi
27-04-2007, 12:46
OMG, Jessi. That must have hurt! Very cute, though. There's a tattoo place near us that looks really quality, if that's a good word for it. I think it's called True Love tattoo.

Thanks... Not that painful though. They were Tattoos # 5 & 6 so, I suprisingly found it fine. (I got one on my foot at the same time- NOW that one hurt!) I was super scared the pain was going to be like dying, but in all seriousness- Id get my whole body tattooed over giving birth anytime!

I went to Creative Tattoo in Nundah... they are really good in there - pricewise and the guy has been tattooing since 1973 so I trusted him.

Im getting a back piece designed at the moment. Cant wait for that to be ready!!

I cant believe the response I have had to the handprints- EVERYONE who sees them stops me to talk to me about them and I have only had good feedback so far. :) Im really happy with them.

MountainGirl
27-04-2007, 12:49
Oh, and Alli,...that birth plan cracked me up,... I was naieve enough to discuss the idea of a birth plan with Stephen when preg with Scarlett and his response was "Let's just plan to get the baby out'! Too right!!!

MountainGirl
27-04-2007, 12:52
Where are the rest of your tatts Jess? And what are they of? I have one on my hipbone,....it is the same Dolphins that Sarah Ohare has on her arm,...I got them before she did though!!!!:D And I would like another one,..but no idea what or where,........ I am not game enough to get one on my arms or ankles etc,.....I don;t want to be a crusty old nana with tatts everywhere,...I may decide to be conservative by then!:rolleyes:

mum_I'm_hungry
27-04-2007, 12:57
Oh! Dolphins! I'm really cracking up now. I have this serious thing about dolphins. They're my big pet peeve! Some people hate tailgaters, others hate bin bags breaking, I hate... dolphins. I think there is seriously something wrong with me. Everyone else loves the little critters! :D If you'd like to hear the dolphin spiel, I can let it rip at any time...!!!

Hope your cleaning went well today Mumstar! I love that clean house, everything in its place feeling. I remember it from 2002 (before Ivy was born!).

MountainGirl
27-04-2007, 13:02
Gimme the spiel Alli!!!!! They are more like calligraphic S's ,..if that makes it any better!!!!

Beany
27-04-2007, 13:11
I used to LOVE dolphins ... you know, bought into all that stuff about them being all gentle and intelligent and stuff. And then I watched a documentary on them.

Seeing one with an erection pretty much cured me of that particular phase of dolphin obsession ... and then the show went on to show the way they actually behave ... gang rape, homosexual gang rape, bullying ...

Yeuck!

Now I've fallen back to the old love of elephants.

No tats for me ... I'm allergic to pain. Perhaps if they give me an epidural first ... :D

mum_I'm_hungry
27-04-2007, 13:31
:laughing: Beany. Another one to the dolphin hating fold... (insert evil laugh here...).

My poor father (a die-hard animal hater) just spent the day today in Malaysia or Vietnam or somewhere (who knows where my parents are at any given day of the week?) at a baby elephant orphanage and then, this evening, he's off to see some fireflies or something. The poor bugger. Must have been my mum's outing choices today! :laughing:

Okay. For all who are interested (and you may not be after the first few sentences...) I'm cut and pasting from a column I wrote a while ago about pet peeves, because... well, because I'm lazy and never write twice what you can write once and sell multiple times, I say. A couple of references might not quite make sense because of that inherent laziness! Anyway, here goes...

Which leads to my pet peeve. A small, grey one. Dolphins. Nasty little overrated creatures that they are. Why dolphins? Well, frankly, I just don't get the attraction. So, they're intelligent, can 'talk' and can do cute tricks. Big deal. Rats can do all of that and no-one cavorts with them in bikinis. The truth is (and I'll have you know that the dolphins have been covering this all up for decades) is that dolphins have been documented taking part in the following activities: pack rape, the prostitution of female dolphins, porpoise slaying and dolphin infanticide. They'd probably shoplift, too, if they had fingers and anywhere to stash the goods. Recently, I found out I have star backing on the dolphin thing. I almost stood up and cheered when I read an article at the hairdresser about Jessica Alba and her similar dolphin disgust. Apparently she had to request only female dolphins be allowed near her after several male dolphin 'incidents' during the filming of Flipper (she even went so far as to call them 'horny little b#$%#@$#').

Don't get me wrong. I'm no dolphin whinger. I'm doing something about the dolphin situation. I'm getting back at them in my own small way. Every week, at the supermarket, I make sure I buy the toilet paper (sorry, Dan!) embossed with a jolly seaside theme. Including tiny little dolphins. And next time I go to Seaworld, I'll make sure I stand right up next to the tank and tell them all about it.

Mrs Potts
27-04-2007, 14:02
LMAO at you dolphin haters! :laughing: Personally I can take 'em or leave 'em. I've never understood all the fuss. Give me a bear any day.

SJ - glad the kiddies are on the mend. Hope you all start to get some rest and are back to 100% soon.

missie_mack
27-04-2007, 14:25
Meh... never been all that into dolphins either. Sure I watched flipper as a kid but it doesnt mean I want to have them everywhere. So many dolphin fin-atics (ho ho ho...) that they have them everywhere cups plates doona covers... turned me off them. Im astounded about the dolphins trying to get it on with Jessica Alba. That ones a little astounding. They must be like the Jack Russell/ Mini Foxie of the sea. I don't know if I get that excited about anything. Maybe dragonflies and ladybeetles?? So very unlike me to like something so girlie but I do.

Righto off for another drive today. Adelaide! Never been there should be fun...

jessi
27-04-2007, 15:05
Where are the rest of your tatts Jess? And what are they of? I have one on my hipbone,....it is the same Dolphins that Sarah Ohare has on her arm,...I got them before she did though!!!!:D And I would like another one,..but no idea what or where,........ I am not game enough to get one on my arms or ankles etc,.....I don;t want to be a crusty old nana with tatts everywhere,...I may decide to be conservative by then!:rolleyes:

LOL... I always think about how im gonna be when im 65 with tatts all over me. Meh, by then, EVERYONES nannas will have tatts on them. LOL And besides, thats what Grandma clothes are for- they cover everything. :D

I have music notes on the back of my neck, a sun between my shoulder blades and a gecko climbing down my spine towards my butt.... also got 'Om mani padme hum' written in tibetan script on my foot.
For the back piece, I was thinking of getting the 3 along my spine made into like a totem poll type thing... but not sure. Id like to cover my whole back with a couple of Koi fish, water and flowers and just have the 3 just made part of that tattoo. Wouldnt min something on my ribs either... but we will see what happens!

Dolphins are funny creatures. I have shared a wave whilst out surfing one day with a couple of Dolphins and I must say that has been a highlight of my surfing days... It was a beautiful experience... however, yeah, I have heard some crazy things about them. I dont get some peoples obsessions with them either... weird.

Penguins are way cuter. :thumbsup:

mumstar
27-04-2007, 16:14

im a dolphin hater too... my mil and sil love dolphins and everything they own has dolphins on thus leading to my hating of dolphins!!!

As for the tats im getting one done soon its going to be 3 butterflies and some stars... i know what i want but it is a bity hard to describe so when i get it done i will just show ya. its also going to have troys, aidens and noahs names in the wings of the butterflies.

Now troy want a penguin tat. He saw a pic of a daddy penguin cradleing 2 little ones under his wings and he wants to get that to represent him cradling our boys!

MountainGirl
27-04-2007, 16:45
Alli,..where did you write that column first? Cause I have read it before! I remember thinking it was pretty funny then too!!! I am not pro or against Dolphins,...just liked the shape of the design! I am pretty pro the old Jersey Cow really,..but a funky tattoo it would not make!!!!:D

Jess,...your tatts sound unreal,.. you can get addicted though,.eh??? I had on dolphin (S Shaped thingo) done and then loved the process so much that I had to get another one! Now I want something else,.but can;t decide what I want to live with,..if I get anything it will be in henna colour not black,.....

mum_I'm_hungry
27-04-2007, 17:20
It was in The Courier-Mail, Jane. Column is now dead. RIP, column (don't go there -- I have column grief!). At least it wasn't personal -- they've cut all their freelancers. Sob.

Lol about the penguin tatts. Noosamum and I should get one of those. Our school uniforms were navy blue with little white collars and all the girls at our school used to get called penguins by the other schools!

Am going to have to get some serious tunnel vision and stick to the August mummies. There is someone out 'there' on the other threads who really, really annoys me (not a frequent poster at all). Have had to bite my tongue several times now and I'm not very good at doing that, so will stick here for a bit. Grrrrr. Kick. Punch. Cat fight! :banghead: :devil6: :D

Beany
27-04-2007, 17:37
Goodness, now I'm aching to know *who*!

mum_I'm_hungry
27-04-2007, 17:52
Have PMd you. Because I am a :devil6: :p :D

shed
27-04-2007, 18:00
I have no tats and have no opinion on dolphins.

I also have no job. last day today :thumbsup: and no news of the other one :thumbsdown:

So next week I will be a SAHM. Actually hoping to be a OAAM (Out And About Mum) lol.

My kid has gone feral. One slight movement and he's off on a whinge for five minutes at least. He just whinges all day, his teeth must be bothering him. He has a permanent frown. Poor little blighter. He is stuck to me like a limpet.

Right, I'm off to hunt down Alli's posts to see who is giving her the ships.

Mrs Potts
27-04-2007, 18:02
hehe I wanna know too!

Penguins can be vicious little so-and-so's though. A friend of mine grew up surfing around Newcastle and used to get attached by penguins all the time. Sounds so funny.

biscotti
27-04-2007, 18:03
Alli - someone is annoying me too and I don't even post on the same threads but just reading their posts gets me - wonder if it is the same person ??????

biscotti
27-04-2007, 18:04
:laughing: at the penguin tattoos though - my brother still refers to St A girls as penguins :rolleyes:

mum_I'm_hungry
27-04-2007, 18:26
Ah, noosamum. Good guess! I just try grinning to myself about how the mighty will fall after they produce offspring!!! Will PM you, Pottsy.

Beany
27-04-2007, 18:45
What a load of nosey blighters we are :laughing:

By the way, I got some perspective today. I went out in search of Brauer's "calm" which is meant to help babies go off to sleep ( :fingerscrossed: ). I was waiting for a lift as Asher sat in the stroller, wailing like I'd murdered his guppy in front of him, and was met with more wailing. Turned around. And there was a lady with a grumpy 5 year old and two under 2 ... Two sets of twins, that is.

Just remembering her is making my uterus shrivel and quiver with fear.

Mrs Potts
27-04-2007, 18:52
Thanks Alli... all very interesting! ;)

BTW, just re-read my earlier post and my surfing friend actually used to get attacked by the penguins, not attached D'oh!

Have been feeling queasy this arvo, might just have some toast for dinner...

mum_I'm_hungry
27-04-2007, 19:23
Goodness! That set the cat amongst the pigeons, didn't it? The August mummies are all a-flutter and a-twitter with excitement! Love it! :D

Beany, two sets of twins is just wrong (not to mention the older kid!). Was she carrying that uterus around in a little red caboose behind her? After two sets of twins it must have taken a battering!

wattle
27-04-2007, 20:17
Mrs P - hope you feel better soon.....is it the sort of queasyness we should know about????

Beany - hope the Brauers works.

Alli - at least you know that nobody here will make you do this :banghead: too often. Come and have a warm milo with us and don't worry about the others for a while.

Noos - how was your trip? (Or have I missed that post?)

Been flat out here - Steph has been :barf: for the last two days. She's having trouble keeping milk down, and refuses to eat. She's starting to look rather skinny too. :( Oh, and lots and lots of crying. Poor little thing I hope she picks up soon, I'm starting to get a bit worried about her. She's teething terribly too - wailing in pain, but can't keep any medicine down. Think I might use this one again. :(

*munchkin*
27-04-2007, 20:33
Aw, I wanna know who's annoying you too Alli!! I'm a curious little blighter.

I have given up going out into Big Bubhub world...well, I do every now and then, and then I read stuff that really pees me off, and so I retreat back to the warm haven of August mums :hugs: .

Today I went and saw my new niece, Kelly who was born last night. She was sooooo tiny, and cute in her widdle tiny wondersuit, with a little red face and having lots of dreams and making all those scrunchy little newborn faces while she slept. Aaaaawww...me want one. That is, until my SIL told me she had 2.5 hrs sleep last night. Hmmm...now I remember!! You truly forget just how tiny they were. And light! This is their third girl, so my bro has decided to build himself a shed :laughing: .

Mumstar...lots of these :hugs: for you. Can't say much more, so more of these :hugs: .

They must be like the Jack Russell/ Mini Foxie of the sea
Ha Ha!!! That's why I got a girl JRT! No humping of legs, only humping of other dogs.

!!!
Now troy want a penguin tat. He saw a pic of a daddy penguin cradleing 2 little ones under his wings and he wants to get that to represent him cradling our boys!
That's so cute! Such an interesting tattoo for a bloke...very sweet.

*munchkin*
27-04-2007, 20:35
Oh..and lots of :hugs: and get better soon vibes for Steph.

And Mrs P...feeling queasy??? :confused: :eek:

Noosamum...how are you going? Is the M/S under control? Do you have a bump???

Beany
27-04-2007, 22:25
And Mrs P...feeling queasy???

I thought much the same thing! Perhaps the animal antics for the anniversary went well past the zoo ... :p

Congratulations on the birth of Kelly! I was looking through pictures from the newborn days and actually getting all misty-eyed ... Aww so liddle ... wannanother!

*smack across head* *return to senses*

Wattle: poor little Steph :( Been to the docs yet? Hope she's better soon.

Asher actually went to sleep at 11:15pm :eek: I don't know if it was the Brauers stuff or just the exhaustion finally (FINALLY!) catching up with him.

MountainGirl
28-04-2007, 05:03
ok,..Alli,...I am a stickbeak too,......who is bugging you????? :detective: :D

MountainGirl
28-04-2007, 07:00
Just wondering Beany,.. when you say Asher is still up at 23:00,..do you mean that he has been up all evening? Or that he had dinner, went down then woke up and doesn;t want to go back to sleep??

Mrs Potts
28-04-2007, 07:14
Thanks for the laugh girls! The queasiness is definitely not due to what you're thinking! Apparently you need to have sex for that to happen. There's been none of that for quite some time... Although I have been thinking more and more about a third... Someone slap me now! :banghead:

Beany - hope you guys got some decent sleep. You must be so exhausted, poor thing. If I don't get my 9 hours a night I'm just useless. Moreso :o

Yeah Noos - how's that bump coming along? How many weeks now? I'm terrible at trying to keep up.

What's everyone up to for the weekend? Not much planned here. Dark and damp morning here - sounds like a good excuse for a jarmie day.

Hey Shed - how are you feeling now that you're officially unemployed again? Totally relieved I bet.

Mrs Potts
28-04-2007, 07:15
SJ - have pm'd you :D

biscotti
28-04-2007, 08:33
Ah, noosamum. Good guess! I just try grinning to myself about how the mighty will fall after they produce offspring!!!

Ahh yes, motherhood, the great leveller :D I think she'll find it doesn't matter how big your house is or how many bottles of wine in your cellar - :D

Gotta go - open house today blerk

shed
28-04-2007, 08:46
Hey Shed - how are you feeling now that you're officially unemployed again? Totally relieved I bet.

Yeah, relieved to be out of that place. It will be nice to have a week off. I had to reassure the daycare lady that we are still coming. I will have to drop him off there for a few hours next week so I don't use up all of our Absent days. We get 30 Absent days a year without affecting the rebate (which is hardly anything, but whatever).

I told her I would drop him off and make sure I am wearing my pink velour tracksuit and carrying my tennis racket!! LOL. I might actually go the gym. I feel a bit bad for taking him to daycare when I am not working...I'm sure I will get over it though :laughing:

I really miss him when I am not with him so its not going to be as easy as it sounds though. I like my little boy quite a lot!!

It will only be for a week or so though. I'm sure it will all be fine.

Baden just ate a bit of onion. He was in the kitchen and I heard him opening the pantry and I could hear him shuffling around. I finally got up to have a look and he was munching away on an onion.

He didn't seem overly fazed by it, but now he stinks. He's making me want a steak sandwich.

Oh, cancel that, there is a smell wafting about that is putting me off any food.

ew, what a stink!!!

back later.

jessi
28-04-2007, 08:53
Ah yes... I also have one person who's posts I cant stand. LOL - I wonder if its the same person we are all disliking??

Poor little Elsh has been SO sick lately. Ive tried everything and she is just still so ill. Super snotty nose... its green and it comes out of her nose in bubbles and slides down to her lip.... :barf: I never thought id have a kid who had snotty noses like this!!

She has also been keeping me awake ALL NIGHT. Waking between 10 and 15 times a night. Crying as soon as I put her down. Ive started sleeping sitting up with Elsha sitting it my lap. ERGH!

MIL stayed over the other night, and Elsh had a particularly hard night... I didnt get to sleep until 4am. About 3am, I had just given up- I had tried everything... and so I just put her in her cot and closed the door.
MIL came and knocked on our door and said "Do you want me to growl at her?" (Like THAT is going to make her calm down and sleep??) So in she went, and Elsh started screaming even more, so I bolted in there and she was ripping her clothes off "Shes HOT!... She needs her nappy changed!"
Umm... NO, she doesnt. I just changed her. And she cant be hot. Shes wearing a cotton suit!
And then, she had the nerve to ask me... wait for it...

"Have you been feeding her?"

Are you f*&%ing serious?! I was like "Ofcourse I have been feeding my child. What kind of mother do you think I am?!" and then she asked if I had given her any pain killers. OMG, do you want to make things any worse?! OFCOURSE I HAVE GIVEN HER PAIN KILLERS.

And then she proceeded to stand there and tell me not to take offence, that she was just trying to work out what was wrong with Elsha. I just turned to her and said rather coldly-

"Im her mother. I know whats wrong with her. I have tried everything. There is nothing more I can do for her."

and then I walked off. She was really offended and she left at about 4.30am in the morning. LOL

I cant believe she said that though- does she think im neglecting my child or something?!

And Nat said I should apologize to her for being such a b*tch to her. WHAT?! I dont think so!

lilbugalugs
28-04-2007, 09:36
Gosh I can so relate to all the sick bubbas!! My two have had everything this year...I think that it is because DD has started childcare this year for the first time...she only goes one day a week...Our Dr said that it is normal for a child in childcare to get one illness a month...Oh man I am tired, this week alone we have had both kids with a cold, DD developed an earache (she has never had one before) she was histerical, I mean really screaming...took us ages to get her calmed down enough to tell us what was going on!!! DS has had a cough so bad that he coughs up his milk, I mean projectile accross the room!! DS has also cut his two front teeth at the top, so all in all a long and slightly traumatic week. We were considering # 3 before this week and now I am not so sure!!

With teething does anyone elses baby dribble ridiculous amounts?? DD never did, but we call the DS the snail because werever he goes he leaves a little trail of dribble, I am constantly changing his shirts because he is just completely saturated!!

Mrs Potts your zoo adventure looked absolutley amazing, I would love to do that!!! Had to laugh about the nauseus thing...I instantly thought that you were pregnant also!!!

Finally DD is fully toilet trained (with the odd accident) she is sleeping through the night in just her knickers (wonderful) although I have made myself another job, she aften wakes in the night calling to me that she needs to wee, next step will be getting her to get out of bed herself to go...aaahhh the joys

Enough from me

biscotti
28-04-2007, 10:26
Noos - how was your trip? (Or have I missed that post?)

No you didn't miss it (the post) I just haven't caught up yet. We had a great holiday, I LOVE Melbourne, love love love it.....actually the week was a bit too good, seemed to have come back to normal life here with a bit of a thump and feeling a bit flat, more about that later....maybe.

Seeing my Obs this week after a bit of a ummmm disagreement with the GP yesterday (not my usual one who is hiking around Vietnam atm...come back Mick, come back). Gp wouldn't write me a referral for a nuchal, insisted I go straight for the amnio (which I don't want to do without more info which he couldn't give but then still wouldn't write me a ref for a nuchal, only for an amnio), not happy Jan.
Rang Obs who I wasn't supposed to be seeing until June but he is taking over my care from this week as I AM NOT HAPPY.

I have put on heaps of weight and yes have a bump (whoever asked) - maybe it's twins :laughing: :(

House on market is stressing me out - I hate it, keeping the house looking like nobody lives here when in fact it's a family of five plus one deranged cat. Must go, Open house this afternoon...who wants to buy a house in Noosa, close to beaches, coffee, restaurants?? Anyone???

Noosamum XX

MountainGirl
28-04-2007, 10:30
Thanks Mrs Potts...I feel special!!!!!

Jess - donna worry about your MIL,......you are doing well,...I wont even have mine in the house!!:D

jessi
28-04-2007, 10:45
who wants to buy a house in Noosa, close to beaches, coffee, restaurants?? Anyone???

Oooooh, I do! How much have you got on it Noosa?

MountainGirl
28-04-2007, 10:46
Allli - that person is bloody annoying!!!

Noos - Sure,..I will buy your house!

shed
28-04-2007, 10:57
jessi: with MIL's all bets are off and no apologies issued. Thats the rules. Especially when there is a baby involved. You owe her nothing.

I know who the annoying poster is as well. Will be interesting to follow her journey. Babies are the greatest equaliser.

Show us yer bump Noosa. What a stupid GP not referring you for a nuchal. Actually, now that I think about it I don't recall needing a referral. I had to pay for the bloody thing. Or maybe I did need a referral? Oh, blowed if I remember. What a stupid GP anyway, that is just ridiculous.

Baden is finally asleep. he is so clingy and whiney. I have given up trying to do anything else. This morning he sat on my knee while I went to the toilet! Oh well, maybe he will toilet train early if I show him what is supposed to happen, LOL

Beany
28-04-2007, 11:05
Jane: Asher usually has a nap from around 5:30pm until about 7. He then stays up ... no amount of coaxing, begging, pleading or bribing will get him back to sleep. It's usually a happy awake: no tired signs, no excessive whinging.

Last night, he went to sleep at just after 11pm and woke every 3-4 hours for a feed! It was fantastic! 3-4 hours I can handle - it was the 1-2 hours that was doing me in. So yes, he only woke up twice last night and once again at just before 9am. Brought him into bed with me and was lying around feeding him and ... HE WENT BACK TO SLEEP! He stayed asleep until 11am!

It was awesome! I couldn't go back to sleep (astoundingly enough, for the first time in forever, I had actually had enough!) but lying around next to him watching him laughing and blowing raspberries in his sleep was just lovely.

I don't know if it'll last or what caused this welcome change (I stopped giving him banana, gave him only a little taste of our dinner rather than sitting down and spoon feeding him a real amount of something, also tried some Brauer's "Calm" stuff) but lets hope it lasts.

Oh I went off hunting for some of that Weedla stuff you mentioned, Jane. The girl behind the counter at Healthy Life looked at me like I was growing a second head ... Perhaps I got the name wrong. Went to a chemist after that and just asked them for "something with chamomilla in it".

Off to the shops for some food and clothes! :wave:

Mrs Potts
28-04-2007, 11:06
LOL @ Baden toilet training early. Sorry he's a miserable boy. It's awful when they're like that and nothing you do cheers them up.

Noos - I'd love to buy your house too. One of my closest friends now lives near Coolum so would be nice to be near her. Unfortunately we're having enough trouble paying for the house we have now without having another...

lilbugalugs - good to see you! Yay for DDs TT'ing. Sending you continuing dry-sheet vibes :D

Better go feed the boy. Back soon.

jessi
28-04-2007, 15:25
Someone want to tell me who the annoying poster is.. I want to know if its the same person that im thinking of??

amandaw
28-04-2007, 19:24
oh, now I'm curious too!! :rolleyes: Now that I'm back at work I find that I have little time for 'out there' - in fact I struggle to get in here sometimes! I still find it amazing that a personality can come across so strongly without ever meeting face to face

Great to hear from you Lilbugalugs :yelclap: I think about you often ...would have loved to have been able to meet you at one of the Brissie meets sometimes....infact would love to catch up with Alli, Munchkin and LP again sometime soon - we're certainly a lot slacker than our Sydney counterparts! Charlotte is a HUGE dribbler...it is sooo disgusting when she really gets going - no wonder she loves her water top ups!!

Us - well sitting procrastinating...should be cleaning the house since FIL arrives from Sydney Monday, and school musical week from hell, but really can't be stuffed...I bet I'm still cleaning as I walk out the door on Monday morning :D

Went to Dh's cousins wedding at Sirromet winery last night - really enjoyed they night, great location, copious amounts of alcohol (with me as dd, so not flowing my way), but the food was a let down.....lots of stuff on the buffet (but a lot that I didn't eat...not a shellfish person in the slightest where as they are all obviously seafood lovers), but my biggest beef was desert.....(note for Shed when it's your turn)....they served the cake as desert, which I can deal with (despite the fact that desert is always my favourite course), but it didn't even warrant a plate...they just distributed the cake bags on the table....a bit of a poor show when it's the desert course as far as I'm concerned....how about some cream and coulis??? ** or just maybe I need to pull my head in since it wasn't my wedding :shame: ** Anyway - the happy couple were certainly 'happy' when they left (Sambucca shots, and the bridal waltz started by the ogg-a-chug-ga dancing baby theme from Ally McBeal would probably do that to you) so in the big scheme of things, that's all that matters!!!

mum_I'm_hungry
28-04-2007, 19:33
Oh, I'm sorry, but that DOES NOT count as dessert :shame:! I'm like you, Amanda. I read the menu backwards! If the cake is going to be dessert (which is fine) it has to be some kick-@$$ cake. We had cake for ours, but it was lunch and it was a kick-@$$ dark chocolate mud-cake from our fave French patisserie. And the slices were great wodges of things as well.

Am still dreaming about a restaurant dessert I had a while back -- turkish delight ice-cream with watermelon jam and persian fairy floss (yay Flossie!). That was goooood. May go back there for my b'day next week as have just found out Dave has the day off. I know what I'll be ordering! :fingerscrossed: he can do some shift changes, though. I got three tickets to see Grumpy Old Women for my b'day (for me, my mum and my aunt) and now he's working on the Sunday. :eek: Hope he can get out of it!

Have PMd you and Jessi with The Name.

Gawd, I feel like such a #$%^# now! She's just annoying, is all! :o

amandaw
28-04-2007, 20:00
YUMMMMMM where is this fabulous place???

Am about to Pm you back because i have to have a giggle, but don't want there to be any repercussions :D She's the same age as me, but I have NO doubt that we're worlds apart!!! Didn't see wher you butted heads but just have to giggle!

amandaw
28-04-2007, 20:08
Maybe we should make a list of all our MIA's and hope that they at least wave to us..... I know we've all been wondering about LP, but when I was just checking out my PM's realised that I haven't noticed Uniquey in a while :wave: I know there's lots of others too.....

mum_I'm_hungry
28-04-2007, 21:36
It was Kis Cucina in Graceville. Always love their food. It's our little local 'good' place (as in, we don't wear our thongs!). :D

shed
28-04-2007, 21:44
oh yeah, the wedding, that's right. My cousin's husband's parents asked me the other day, about when it was on. I wish I had kept my big trap shut now because I have lost interest in the whole thing.

But when I do have it then I promise I will have cake wodges as well, LOL. wodges.

I HAVE to have pavlova as the dessert as well anyway, because I am a bogan at heart and bogans have pav. Its in the manual.

Sydney mums, we have been slack lately. Maybe we should get together this week. I have missed you guys.

jessi
28-04-2007, 22:08
Thanks to SJ, Alli & Beany for your PMS regarding the annoying poster.

Not the same person as I am avoiding. LOL

But very much annoying. I actually never even noticed her until you guys pointed her out... and then I had a good old nosey at her profile... and began to dislike her almost instantly. LOL Does anyone notice that all her photos look like they are out of a magazine shoot??

Im sure she's lovely. I dont think id get along with her IRL though!

SO, Elsh had her first really serious accident today. I was playing with her, and she jumped off my legs to the ground and it looked like she jarred her leg... she was screaming and screaming, and I was cuddling her and trying to see if her leg was ok as she had it out straight and wasnt bending it... I was so engrossed in that, that I didnt notice the blood comming from her mouth!

:eek: :eek:

I was like "OMG!!" and went running with her to the bathroom... I started wiping her mouth, but there was so much blood! The poor little chicken. I felt so bad! It seemed that she had hit her gum/upper lip on the coffee table on the way down and split just inside her upper lip (where it joins the gum)... I am amazed I handled it so calmly actually! I just had visions of myself rushing her to the emergency room everytime anything happens to her. LOL

Shes ok now... Happy as larry and ASLEEP. THANK GOD.

Beany
28-04-2007, 23:41
Asher asleep at midnight :yelclap:

Perhaps there's something to this homeopathic tripe ( :laughing: ) after all! Or maybe it's a placebo effect. Either way, he's asleep so I couldn't care less!

Jess: well done for remaining so calm! I would have been all a-flutter, I'm sure!

Shed: if you want to go really bogan, do a homemade pav! :D With whipped cream out of a can! And fruit from a tin! Served on gold paper plates!

Oh I'm tempted to do the vow renewal thing just to have the kitschest one ever!

And yes, lets do a meet up!

MountainGirl
29-04-2007, 03:32
If we meet,..can we do it on tuesday???? Then Scarlett is at preschool!!!!!!!!!!:yes: :D :smiliedance:

*munchkin*
29-04-2007, 07:14
Is pavlova a bogan thing? Well, I'm a huge bogan then! My mum makes the BEST pavlova ever, and it's a family tradition to have it. Go the bogan :thumbsup:

Think Em is on the repair now - yesterday she ate like a horse, and slept THREE HOURS straight in the morning!!!!!!! I kept checking if she was alive! I baked 2 cakes, washed and blow dried my hair, put on the dishwasher, a load of washing, cleaned the patio... It was awesome!!

I too agree that motherhood is the greatest leveller of all (apart from trekking in the Himalayas for 3 weeks without a shower ). I never thought I'd stare so intently at someone's butt-hole (to check nothing more is coming out!), not bat an eyelid at being vomitted on, dribbled on, wee-ed on... essentially motherhood is losing all sense of personal dignity, isn't it!

but we call the DS the snail because werever he goes he leaves a little trail of dribble,
:laughing: The snail! Love it!

Noosamum - what's with your GP? How ridiculous!

Shed...who is that 10 year old in your avatar?
I too am struggling with the whole childcare thing. I have been going to the gym and leaving Em in the creche there. I just feel so guilty, and I don't get a good feeling about the minders there. I just don't like them for some reason. I've seen a little girl screaming hysterically, and they just put her in a pram and left her there. Fair enough, the mum obviously left her there, but I would want them to come and get me if my baby was that hysterical. Anyway...it just upset me, and I am in a quandry (sp?) as to what to do. I want to get fit, and feel good when I'm fit (and want Em to have a healthy fit mum), but I don't want to leave her there. Hmmm...sorry...:ecomcity:

A big hi to Amanda, Jessi, Sleeping Beany, SJ, Alli.

I think LP has dumped us for greener pastures :laughing:

shed
29-04-2007, 08:38
Yes, it would be homemade. If I had a 'bought' pav at my wedding then my aunty ("The Pav Maker" of the family) would never speak to me again.

Besides which, bought ones don't have the crumbly hardish outside, its all fluffy and not the same.

I mean, I would force it down, but it wouldn't be the same.:laughing:

My aunty is so proud of her title, seriously. When I was about 14 I got home from school and she had made a pav. I was just about to hoe into it and she goes "oh no no don't touch it, it didn't turn out right and I am making another one" and ripped the tray out of my hands and threw the whole pavlova in the bin!!

She made me wait an hour until the next one was cooked.

Actually, I don't know if Pav is just a bogan thing, but I think my attitude towards it might be a bit bogan i.e. its compulsory at any gathering where dessert is served. Its the only 'real' dessert, anything else is just an imitation or a stopgap.

One thing I WON'T be having is Trifle. Ugh. I hate trifle.

The annoying poster is started to make me think something just doesn't ring true. Its just not quite..."right".

Fascinating stuff.

Mrs Potts
29-04-2007, 09:01
Mmmm pavlova.... *insert drooling emoticon*

Our cake was dessert at our wedding, but it was a heavenly choc mudcake served with double cream and raspberry coulis - on real plates. Hope that meets everyone's approval ;)

I wanted to renew our vows when we were in the States 18 months ago - I desperately wanted to do the Elvis chapel thing in Vegas but Dough wouldn't be in it. Party pooper!

Sorry guys can't remember much else and Miss K has just woken. Oh that's right - Uniquey has been in Brissy I think. Not sure if she's back or not, I've been meaning to give her a call. Will let you know if I catch up with her.

jessi
29-04-2007, 09:10
LOL... good to hear im not a Bogan. I HATE Pav!!

biscotti
29-04-2007, 09:56
Oooooo I lurve a good pav. Sometimes (shhhhh *looks to the left, looks to the right*) I buy the little mini ones from Woolies (the ones baked instore and have cream and strawberries on them and they fo have the crisp outside) and I hide it in the fridge and then when no-one is around eat it all on my own -shhhhhhhh.

jessi - poor little Elsha OMG! And who are you avoiding...now I am curious!

Now stop posting you lot, just for an hour or two - I still haven't caught up yet and munchkin, maybe you are right, LP has left us :(

Noosamum XX

biscotti
29-04-2007, 10:11
Noos - Sure,..I will buy your house!

SOLD :thumbsup:

biscotti
29-04-2007, 10:14
Oooooh, I do! How much have you got on it Noosa?

Oh Jessi, I just sold it to Jane. :D

Mrs Potts
29-04-2007, 10:14
Just posting so that Noos has something else to read :D

Beany
29-04-2007, 10:45
Sleepy Beany is right ... very sleepy Beany ...

Woke up every 1-2 hours again last night.

So tired ...

Decided to forget this Brauers stuff and invest in a rubber mallet.

The sleep deprived brain is a funny thing. At 6am, I was awake and feeding grumpy pants and had this pressing need to remember the words to the title song of "Tiny Toon Adventures". Took me until the next feed (7:30am) to do it but I got there! And I was so proud of myself!

We're tiny, we're toony
We're all a little loony
And in this cartoony, we're invading your TV!

(and so forth)

Problem is, now that I've figured it out, I can't get the sodding thing out of my head.

I'm glad Em's feeling better!

Shed: Your aunt will chuck a fit with my pavlovas, then ... Cracks galore! And I just pile it onto the baking sheet, so it's an uneven mound. The whipped cream and the sticky berry mess I make exist to cover the sins :D

And yeah, Jess! We want to know who YOU are avoiding, now!

mum_I'm_hungry
29-04-2007, 10:50
Ooohhh, LOVE pav.. Oh, who am I kidding -- if it has sugar in it, I'm there. You know our bogan family dessert? Sara Lee chocolate Bavarian. We've been having it since I was a kid. Sad, huh? I think I'm the first generation to break free on go on a Nigella-like baking rampage. Can't cook anything with meat, but again, if it has sugar...

Munchkin, hear you on the gym creche. Ours sounds a little better than yours, but I don't really love leaving Teddy there. Ivy is fine as she can fend for herself with the bigger kids, but I try to time it so Teddy has his sleep there, so he doesn't need a whole lot of attention.

Better run, boy-o doesn't want his nap...

Beany
29-04-2007, 11:04
Bah you're all lightweights! You want to know bogan?

Fruit salad. Out of a can ... :o

I still get some on occasion and hide the tin at the back of the fridge to be eaten when Noodle isn't around to mock me.

mumstar
29-04-2007, 11:11
hi all

well i have had a very busy weekend.. babysitting on fri night, falling over on saturday day and busting my arm/ boob/ shoulder, dinner paty sat night and a bbq today...

the kids have been fantastic though, really well behaved and sleeping heaps! i went to kmart before i fell over yesterday (hehe) and took advantage of there sale. both the kiddies got some new pjs and slippers... nice and warm ones... Noahs slippers are so cool.. they are made by grobag, a good size and they have a little adjustable rope thinngy on the back so they wont fall off! Fantastic!!

oh can someone pm the nasty avioding person, im intregiued!

ok chat later

mumstar
29-04-2007, 11:12
oh btw im such a bogan! and proud of it!

Mrs Potts
29-04-2007, 11:37
Admits to having had fruit salad out of a tin too...

Can't stomach the Choc Bavarian though. I go for the slab of Sara Lee choc cake from the factory outlet :o

Mumstar - what happened? Are you OK? Hope whatever it is mends quickly!

Beany - hope you get a nap in today.

mum_I'm_hungry
29-04-2007, 11:43
Yikes, mumstar! How did you fall over? Hope you're feeling a bit better today...

Beany
29-04-2007, 12:41
Oh Mrs Potts, that Sara Lee chocolate pound cake and custard is lovely! Terribly trashy but lovely!

mum_I'm_hungry
29-04-2007, 13:39
I think my stomach must be pure bogan, because I love all those things!

Am currently having a cook up. There's just something about making your baby a big pot of red lentils and vegies that makes you feel like a good person. My baby will never eat Maccas! He won't want it after all that home-cooked legume goodness.

Yeah, right... :rolleyes:

*munchkin*
29-04-2007, 15:03
Alli...warning! I made Em a delicious lentil and vegetable dish...it was so yummy, I ate some myself. She loved it. But was gas-propelled WAY out of proportion for such a little person!! It lasted nearly 2 days!!!! So she's been off the lentils since then.

Oh...and I lurve Sara lee chocolate bavarian! But my stomach does not :(

I really think Bogan is wearing your uggies up to the shops, not eating Sara Lee!!

So much for getting excited that Em was better...she's back on the 20 min sleeps today, currently bashing herself against the wall whilst doing crawling practise in the cot. Best go rescue her...

Oh...and I drove to the gym that is further away from me, and it is so so much nicer than the one I've been going to. The creche is huge and the equipment all new. I'm going there for sure. Worth the extra driving time.

shed
29-04-2007, 15:27
LOL... good to hear im not a Bogan. I HATE Pav!!

Dont be ridiculous jessi. Nobody hates pav.

do they? :confused:

I have never met anybody that does. (Or maybe I just haven't noticed because I am always busy when pav is around).

I think I have a very healthy inner bogan. Although I am a kiwi and I was raised in the country, so sometimes the lines can blur. Beany and I had this conversation one day I think!

So, when is the meet? Tuesday? any suggestions of where? Its up to you really Beany because you need to be able to train or bus it there. Not Darling Harbour, the bloody parking is $25.

Baden is covered in a rash. I decided not to be so retentive regarding the cows milk thing so last night i gave him about three spoonsful (spoonfulls?) of icecream and I gave him weetbix with a bit of cows milk this morning. And now he has hivey things all over him :rolleyes: .

*munchkin*
29-04-2007, 16:58

Sadly my oldest sister does. :crying:

She is the black sheep of the family. :o

shed
29-04-2007, 17:02
I wish my sister did.

Growing up that would have been my idea of heaven!! more for meeeee!

*munchkin*
29-04-2007, 17:04
Shouldn't have mentioned Em's sleeping on here. After refusing to sleep all day, she has now been asleep since 4.30pm. I've been bashing around the house for ages, and she's out like the dead. Which means she'll wake up at some ridiculous hour of the night.

Sigh......BABIES! :rolleyes:

I think everyone should 'fess up to their inner bogan...we all have one. What's your secret bogan? Mine would have to be a secret yearning to go up to Coles in my bare feet. I used to do it when I was young, but now have some ridiculous pride thing about wearing shoes (well...thongs :laughing: ). That and my big baggy pyjama shirt which is 7 years old. Which I wear with bed socks. Hey...the benefits of single motherhood!

(actually...maybe that's why I AM a single mother...hmmmm :idea: )

*munchkin*
29-04-2007, 17:05
I wish my sister did.

Growing up that would have been my idea of heaven!! more for meeeee!

:laughing: Yes, it does have benefits. Same with my younger brother hating prawns. We all love him dearly for that :D

Beany
29-04-2007, 17:25
Ah you should have said, Shed, I'd have warned you off the cow's milk. Asher's awful diarrhea was due to my giving him Yopliat baby yoghurt ... Yucky yucky stinky stinky.

Talking of bogan desserts, I just had some very un-bogan ice cream. Lindt 70%.

Oh. My. God.

I think I'm going to set up a tent outside that cafe and live out the rest of my days eating just that ice cream. And perhaps a couple of their other things ... the chocolate cheesecake looked intoxicating ...

Tuesday sounds good to me! As we've only got crawlers, we don't need a park with play equipment or anything, do we? How about Hyde Park? There's a cafe there somewhere, I'm sure ... if not, there's masses of eateries around it in every which direction.

Do we need a park? Asher was most horrified with the notion of grass this afternoon. Noodle plonked him down and, with one hand on the ground and utterly unwilling to put the other hand down, he cried until he was picked up. I tried sitting him on the grass and nope, no go with that either - wanted a nice, normal lap to sit on thank you. None of this "nature" business. I guess he takes after his concrete jungle dwelling mummy :D

What was I doing? ... oh yes, meet up. Anywhere near a train station is good with me!

Incidentally, for the next Darling Harbour meet (there's one in May), park in Chinatown! It's much cheaper and only a short walk in.

*munchkin*
29-04-2007, 17:38
Talking of bogan desserts, I just had some very un-bogan ice cream. Lindt 70%.

Oh. My. God.

I think I'm going to set up a tent outside that cafe and live out the rest of my days eating just that ice cream.

Oh oh oh oooooooooooh!!!!!! Can I come live in your tent? YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!
*Drool*

MountainGirl
29-04-2007, 17:41
Hey Beany,.... I can pick you up if you like? I will have an extra carseat cause Squidg is at preschool,... I am good for wherever,...

Sorry for the no personals,.. hope everyone had a luverly weekend!

Oh,,and Pav,..mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm,....... ..my nanna used to do a pavalova roll filled with cream, strawbs and kiwi (does everone agree that pav has to have kiwi?:yes: ),...and it was to die for!!!!!!!

Beany
29-04-2007, 17:43
Inner bogan-ness ... Is it still inner if it's outer? :laughing:

Apart from the tinned fruit salad, I can get through rather a lot of those Jam Rollette things.

I'm also a big fan of ketchup. With chips, with sausages, hamburgers and (much to Noodle's disgust) in steak sandwiches. I'm also rather partial to fish fingers.

Hate smoked salmon. Love tinned tuna :o

MountainGirl
29-04-2007, 17:45
O and Noos,...... when can we move in? !!!!:)

Beany
29-04-2007, 18:12
Jane: depending on where the meet is, sure!

Don't want you to go out of your way or anything, though.

mum_I'm_hungry
29-04-2007, 18:49
Lindt 70% ice-cream? Are you serious? Yumbo! When Lindt's on sale at Woolies (goes down to $2 sometimes!) I go crazy and buy heaps of the 85%. I don't really love eating it, so it's great for cooking. I lerv making brownies with it and Nigella hotto chocco pots or whatever she calls them (basically dark chocolate, sugar, a thimbleful of flour and an egg and bung in the oven). OMG they are good.

Baaaaad day today with the kids. Teddy whingey (teeth? cold? who knows?), Ivy basically a pain in the @$$. In and out of the naughty corner and numerous threats. Not to mention the car-seat refusal. Gaaahhh! Dave is working 7pm to 7am yesterday and today and then sleeping all day and I know he has to, but boy does it ever give you the $#%$# to have your partner sleeping the day away in the house while the kids are acting up! I took them to two parks today to run them ragged!!! Some poor woman bled out at the hospital last night and they had to do a hysterectomy. Hope she's okay (baby is fine) :fingerscrossed:.

Mrs Potts
29-04-2007, 19:08
I think the Goddess' have been reading our thread. We went out to Hogs Breath for dinner (can't remember the last time we ate out, btw) and we'd barely got in the door when the neighbours called to offer us some pav! They'd had one after dinner and had leftovers so brought us a slab. Have I mentioned how much I love my neighbours?

SJ - I agree, pav's have to have kiwi... so I can take it off. Hate the stuff!

Ooooh Jam Rollettes! I get into them quite often too. Also love the other ones - you know, the chocolate and pink ones. Mmmm.... I'm also a fan of ketchup and tinned tuna (especially tuna patties). We do tinned salmon too - much prefer it to the fancy smoked kind.

And yes, bogan-ness is definitely going to the shops in bare feet, or uggs. *shudder* The furthest I'll go in my uggs is to the mail box. Or drive-thru, but that doesn't count right? :p

Also wondering if there's any room left in Beany's tent??

Alli - sorry you had a cr@p day. Cam's been a right blighter these days too. I'm hoping it's just school holiday boredom. Thank heavens he's back to school tomorrow.

And everyone - I need you to say a prayer for me: that my 'boo arrives this week. I'm sick of waiting!! Waaahhh!!

jessi
29-04-2007, 19:13

I do! Seriously! But yes, I am the black sheep of my family also...they all love their Pav, but I turn my nose up at it.

Im more of an Apple Pie with cream girl! (But am eating a nice big bowl of ice cream with that hard chocolate topping on it... mmm... I think theres more topping than ice cream though LOL)

Secret inner bogan... hmm... I really dont know hey. Im racking my brain... My car would be classed as a bogan car. BUT I only drive it because Nat blew the engine up in my beloved hippy van which is now sitting in the back yard. OMG- broken down cars in the back yard. LOL - BOGAN!!

mum_I'm_hungry
29-04-2007, 19:17
I'm not at all keen on the jam roll things, but that's probably because I used to get the little ones in my lunchbox now and again. Love tinned tuna, which used to freak my MIL out -- they only bought it to feed it to their cat. Can't bear the slippers at the shops thing and have always really hated people taking their kids to the shops in their jarmies. I always feel really embarrassed for them!

mumstar
29-04-2007, 19:25
i am so not a secret inner bogan... i live in bogan ville and it has just kind of taken over me since i arrived... barefoot down the shops and if im in a hurry i dont even bother taking the kids out of the pjs coz its only for 5 mins and no one will care! hehehe i love all the above mentioned foods with a obligatory alcholic drink and yes i have a bomb of a car 2 a little green snot machine!!! hehehe no im not really that bad but still it make life easier knowing i could be if i wanted to and no one would look twice!

i fell over looking at my block! there is a big limestone retaining wall at the back and i thought i could jump off it to get a better look... well my body is not as nimble as it used to be and i landed flat on my face and i have wrenched my arm back. hence the sore boob/arm/shoulder! hopefully another hot shower tonight and maybe a massage from troy and it should be feeling better... im such a kluztz!

as for the praying for the boo mrs potts u are in my thoughts hehehehe

mumstar
29-04-2007, 19:26
alli got your pm and just gonna check it out now!

mum_I'm_hungry
29-04-2007, 19:38
Have actually been feeling sorry for her today. Why you would want to put down everyone around you all the time is beyond me. I know it's probably so you feel better about yourself, but it seems a lonely little existence. :confused:

Munchkin, I am sorry. I have been trying not to ask, but I'm going to ask anyway...

what kind of cakes did you bake?

If there was a little piggie emoticon, I'd use it...

shed
29-04-2007, 19:48
OMG- broken down cars in the back yard. LOL - BOGAN!!

I can match your broken down car in the backyard and raise you one broken down car parked out the FRONT! :D

I have no idea what we are going to do with it.

Maybe park it out the back? What comes after that?

jessi
29-04-2007, 19:59
I can match your broken down car in the backyard and raise you one broken down car parked out the FRONT! :D

I have no idea what we are going to do with it.

Maybe park it out the back? What comes after that?

LOL... I'll RAISE you another broken down car out the back. We actually have 2! :laughing:

Cannot wait for the day that Nat buys me a car that is new and shiny. *Prays-please be soon!!*

After your car gets shifted out the back... the grass will grow high around the wheels and you will start using it for storage. *cough* We do that. :o

*munchkin*
29-04-2007, 20:03
When Lindt's on sale at Woolies (goes down to $2 sometimes!) I go crazy and buy heaps of the 85%. I don't really love eating it, so it's great for cooking.
So...when am I coming around to your place for dessert???? I never even thought of using if for cooking!! It'd never last that long around here :o

the neighbours called to offer us some pav! They'd had one after dinner and had leftovers so brought us a slab. Have I mentioned how much I love my neighbours?
O.M.G. They had leftovers...AND THEY DIDN'T EAT IT??? It's bogan tradition to fight over the leftovers. In my family you eat seconds even if you feel physically ill...just so you got there first.

And I have my fingers crossed your boo arrives soon. How torturous for you, poor Mrs P :D .

Munchkin, I am sorry. I have been trying not to ask, but I'm going to ask anyway...

what kind of cakes did you bake?

If there was a little piggie emoticon, I'd use it...
Oink oink right back at ya! It was a chocolate fudge cake, which was darn fantastic (and easy to make). And an almond carrot cake. Also good. At the last minute I decided to make scones...have decided I need to learn how (you know, so I can become a good housewife for...myself!!). I was never a baker before - pregnancy and hormones have turned me into a baker. My friend's all think it's hilarious...but weird. But they like eating the results.

The reason I baked was arvo tea with friends. Kind of a 'viewing' for my friend's baby. They live nearby, so she will be in the same year at the same school as Em. Isn't that nice? We've already agreed that Em can cheat off her at school if she protects their baby in the playground lol!

*munchkin*
29-04-2007, 20:05
LOL... I'll RAISE you another broken down car out the back. We actually have 2! :laughing:

Cannot wait for the day that Nat buys me a car that is new and shiny. *Prays-please be soon!!*

After your car gets shifted out the back... the grass will grow high around the wheels and you will start using it for storage. *cough* We do that. :o

Not long before Elsha starts playing in it :laughing:

littlepickle
29-04-2007, 21:00
Maybe we should make a list of all our MIA's and hope that they at least wave to us..... I know we've all been wondering about LP, but when I was just checking out my PM's realised that I haven't noticed Uniquey in a while I know there's lots of others too.....

:wave: Still here!!! Yes, I confess, I kidnapped Uniquey, she has been here in Brisbane but I am sure she will be back online soon!

I think LP has dumped us for greener pastures

NOOOOO! I havent!! Honest!! :D Sorry for my extended leave of absence (again) But no, no greener pastures or anything like that, just sidetracked temporarily: :D

Munchkin, what gym do you go to? I take E to the gym with me and leave her in the creche. I am quite hapy with the creche but find that the best time to take E is between 10.30 am and12 noon as this is the quieter time and there are less kids there. That way she seems to get more attention. E has only been upset once, and they came to get me straight away. I just go to the goodlife place

I have just finished catching up on the posts and I have to say, I didnt know pav was bogan, but that certainly makes me a big bogan as does the fact that I love vanilla icecream with tons of milo piled on top and party pies with loads of tomato sauce on top. I also love sara lee chocolate cake oooh so sticky and gooey and yummy!
When I was little I use to raid the pantry at night and mix drinking chocolate, coconut, oats, condenced milk and stuff, and make what we used to call "a mixture" still do it now occasionally:o wierd eh?
As for other bogan type things. I used to always go barefoot when I was little. Learned to drive barefoot and still insist on driving barefoot but I dont go out in public barefoot now unless we are at the beach or something like that. I cant say I have ever been out in my pjs or slipper though
Hey, guess what! I am off to Vanuatu for 10 days in October for my brothers wedding. Cant wait! I havent been there before but it does look nice in the brochures and it will be nice to have a bit of a family holiday. Have no idea who we are flying with though, I think it might be air vanuatu but my brother keeps teasing me and telling me that we are flying Elastic-bands-r-us eek! Only because I have this thing about no-name airlines. For some reason I have it in my head that they must be clapped out old bombs that are going to just fall out of the sky! Highly irrational I know

I hope all the August bubs are better now and free of all the horrible germs that have been going around lately

Oh alli, I have to ask, curiosity has got the better of me but who is the annoying person that has everyone all of a tizz??

Noosa, didnt know you were moving house! I hope all is going well with the impending move!
Jane, didnt you do that whilst pg? Moving house that is!

Wattle: Hope Steph is feeling better now. I noticed that E looked a bit skinnier after being sick but bounced back pretty quickly. Speaking of getting skinny. Has anyone else noticed that bubs legs have been getting skinnier/shaplier since they have been walking/standing?

Amandaw, would love a Brissy meet up!

Big hello to everyone!!!!

missie_mack
29-04-2007, 21:22
I didnt know pav was bogan, but that certainly makes me a big bogan as does the fact that I love vanilla icecream with tons of milo piled on top and party pies with loads of tomato sauce on top.

Nope I don't believe that Pav is bogan either. My DH doesn't eat pav (which is good news here too) actually he eats very few deserts as most involve some sort of fruit or fruit flavour- weird huh. I love the milo and ice cream thing. But it has to be in a mug. Now that makes it extra bogan-y :yes: . It was my fav while I was pregnant esp with reflux probably part of the reason I am still trying to lose so much pregnancy weight sob sob

Well again we are the drought breakers. It poured all weekend from the time we arrived to when we left. DH's aunt and uncle we visited while there even told us there hadn't been rain like that for at least 2 years. I really will have to contact Peter Beatty about organising some time in Queensland lol. Anyhow we had a lovely weekend. I sent DH over to the casino for a couple of hours last night (he loves a trip to the casino as a treat) Well he brought home enough money to pay for most of our accom and dinner bar maybe $30.

I was looking at pictures of my bubba the other day like Beany and it was very sad. I can't believe how small he was! Can't really believe I got married a year ago today- wow what a busy year my little family has had!

Shed- Hope all is ok and its just being 'over it' that has put the shrugs on the wedding. They are expensive and hard work.....

littlepickle
29-04-2007, 21:35
But it has to be in a mug. Now that makes it extra bogan-y :yes:.

Oh definitely! Has to be a mug! Hey, do you layer as well? As in, layer of milo, layer of icecream, layer of milo and so on finishing up with a big layer of milo on top:D

wattle
30-04-2007, 01:17
Hi Everyone :wave:

LP - great to see you back again.
MM - happy anniversary - wow what a busy first year!
Alli - sounds like a tedious day. The car seat refusal is a nuscience, we have that too. It's not easy putting a struggling squirming toddler in is it (esp when you also have a bub in a pram, shopping, handbag etc etc). Ds thinks it's hilarious to run away from me in carparks.....hmmm. Dilema - leave the toddler or leave the baby and run after the toddler?

Beany how's the brauers working?

Just a quick update - Steph is terribly sick. Last night was insane. She has been :barf: everthing for 4 days now. Things were not good last night so I had to call the dr to come to our home (my car is getting fixed :mad: ) and he said if she got worse she'd need to go to hospy and have a tube put into her stomache.:( I hope she picks up soon, she's so miserable.

mum_I'm_hungry
30-04-2007, 05:11
Poor Steph! She must feel terrible :hugs: to both you and her and :fingerscrossed: she's on the mend today. These babies are really testing out their immune systems at the moment.

Grrr. Even worse than the car seat refusal is the current car door obsession. Ivy feels some kind of compulsion to open every car door she sees. I'm waiting for an alarm to go off! In the gym carpark the other day, she walked up to a Porsche and, before I could grab her becasue I was carrying Teddy and three bags, she pulled the handle whilst chiming out, 'Not Yours!'. Yeah, no $%^& kid. That car is definitely not mine. Don't think the two kids, three bags, stroller etc. would fit in that baby! :laughing:

Well, off to do the brekkie...

mum_I'm_hungry
30-04-2007, 05:20
While no-one is screaming at me (give me five minutes...!). We should definitely do a Brissie meet. Now the kids are crawling about and harder to contain, I guess we should change our venue? I'd be more than happy to have people here (we're in Graceville), or how about a park? Teddy loves a crawl on a rug, so I'm guessing the other kids do, too.

Wednesdays are best for us, or weekends. Can also do Mondays and Tuesdays, but have Ivy on my hands then also... What about everyone else?

MountainGirl
30-04-2007, 07:18
Hey...is Big Jasper the only non-crawler!?!

Wattle :hugs: to you and Steph,..... hope she starts feeling better soon and that you can stay out of hospi,.....

jessi
30-04-2007, 08:09
While no-one is screaming at me (give me five minutes...!). We should definitely do a Brissie meet. Now the kids are crawling about and harder to contain, I guess we should change our venue? I'd be more than happy to have people here (we're in Graceville), or how about a park? Teddy loves a crawl on a rug, so I'm guessing the other kids do, too.

Wednesdays are best for us, or weekends. Can also do Mondays and Tuesdays, but have Ivy on my hands then also... What about everyone else?

OoOohh... a Brissy meet! Where is Graceville?? Im in Redcliffe- how close is that to you?

Elsha is still really sick too- Nat was wiping her nose this morning and he said that it must have been right down her throat, cos as he was wiping, this stringy bit kept comming and comming and she was gagging! :barf: GROSS!!

I must be pretty run down as I awoke to find I have ulcers in my mouth!! :no: Damn it!

jessi
30-04-2007, 08:11
Hey...is Big Jasper the only non-crawler!?!

WOW, Jasper isnt crawling still?? Elsh walks along beside me holding one of my hands!

biscotti
30-04-2007, 08:44
Oh definitely! Has to be a mug! Hey, do you layer as well? As in, layer of milo, layer of icecream, layer of milo and so on finishing up with a big layer of milo on top:D

I do this too :o but I have to have fresh passionfruit on top. Mmmmmm.

Oh these poor POOR sick bubbas :hugs: for the bubbas and their mamas.

C slept from 9 pm last night until 5 am and then again until 7 am :angel: - I feel like a new woman this morning!

Is C the only bub without teeth??????

LP - we are building on a block we own (now that our family seems to be growing at such a fast rate) but building doesn't start until July and will take 12mths so we have this house on the market in the meantime (well I sold it to Jane last night who hopefully is going to let us rent it back until the building is finished haha). Nice to see you back btw.

Ok - did anyone have an amnio last time around?? I don't think anyone did but am just chasing info. Might have to venture out into the bigger world of bubhub. Do you know what that tosser of a GP said to me when I questioned the miscarriage rate as I said I would be devasted if I had a miscarriage at 17/18 wks - "Oh you don't seem to have any trouble falling pregnant so if you miscarry after the amnio, well you'll just try again, you move on, you'll be right, you just move on".

Hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Off to Ob tomorrow thank goodness - I know him, I trust him so all will be good.

Brissie girls - when you decide on a date/time for your meet can someone PM me, just on the off chance I can come down too?

Noosamum XX

jessi
30-04-2007, 09:00
Is C the only bub without teeth??????

No No No... Elsh has no teeth. And doesnt show any signs of getting them any time soon either!

Mrs Potts
30-04-2007, 09:22
Jasper isn't the only non-crawler. Miss K certainly moves around a lot, but it's not crawling. Although she's now getting up on all fours and rocking so I think it's going to be fairly soon.

And no, Clio isn't the only bub without teeth either. None here. And since K's big bro didn't get his first until he was 14 months I'm not expecting them for sometime yet.

Is Miss K the only bub not sitting though? I have a feeling she might actually be able to, but she just won't. She'll sit for half a second then make herself roll over so she can be on the move. I'm finding this quite odd at 9 months (in 3 days) of age.... not to mention frustrating!

Noosa - I can't believe the GP said that to you! :eek: I would have slapped him! I haven't had an amnio though so can't help you unfortunately.

Hope the poor sick bub's get better quickly. It's so sad that they have to deal with this while they're so little. :no:

OK I have a girl who needs a bottle and a floor that needs a vac....

MountainGirl
30-04-2007, 09:23
Ah-Ha!!! Jasper has 4 teeth and 2 more on the way!!!! But is firmly rooted to the ground,....he has discovered that he can swivel his way across the floor though,.and was just trying to pull himself up on the bin:eek:

Graceville sounds like Graceland,..I can picture you in Graceland Alli!!!!!

No Amnio here Noos,....... Oh,..and cant believe what that blummin gp said,...bedside manners of a council worker!

biscotti
30-04-2007, 09:39
Is Miss K the only bub not sitting though? ..
Well C isn't strictly sitting either. The only time she sits is in the pram, but at home, she kneels (like in my avatar) but she never ever sits on her bottom. If I put her on her bottom, she leans forward until she is in the crawling position and then adjusts her legs so that they are under her and then she kneels - quite amusing really, .....odd but amusing!

And yes - that GP - never ever again (and he's a young gp, younger than me, with two kids) - ours comes back in July so nobody in my family can get sick until then :fingerscrossed: and I've convinced the Obs receptionist that I need to swap over to him now and not in June as was the case - so all is good now :thumbsup:

Noosamum XX

lottiesmum
30-04-2007, 11:15
i'm going to have to give up the day job if i'm going to keep up to speed here...

lets see....number 1 is HATE pavlova. could not eat it if threatened at gunpoint. while i'm at it i detest milo too....actually i'm more fond of a stinky cheese for desert....or dark valrhona chocolate...now we're talking...

DS has no teeth and no sign of them although with DD i remember feeding her breakfast one day and spying a tooth. it came from no where! so perhaps DS will be the same.

no crawling either...maybe the bigger fellas have a harder time pulling their tummies off the ground :laughing: he does wriggle backwards and loves to turn a 360 which also makes some progress. not pulling up onto things yet either...still have to baby proof the house. toddler proofings a bit different!

noosamum - that gp is a disgrace. what a dingbat.

Mrs P - i lusted after pink diamonds too...until i saw the six figure price tag! went for the white solitaire instead. but pink saphire sounds lovely....are they light or deep pink?

mum_I'm_hungry
30-04-2007, 11:29
Oi! My dad is a council worker! Well, okay, he heads up the brisbane city council works department for the southside of brissie, but he started out as a ganger (the guys you see on the side of the road). Hmmm. Now that I've said that, am thinking about his manners... :laughing: As for Graceland, I could go a fried peanut butter and banana and bacon sandwich right about now...

Teddy isn't 'proper' crawling. He's still commando crawling (though can really take off if he sees something he wants). He's doing the rocking on all fours as well. Still the one tooth, but the others are bursting to pop through as well. That's so weird about Elsha, Jessi! So hard to believe that Ivy didn't crawl till she was one and there's Elsha toddling about at eight months. Development is a weird thing.

Noosamum, that GP sounds TERRIBLE! What a thing to say! I'd definitely do the nuchal before I went for an amnio. I mean, why wouldn't you? It only makes sense. What else do they test for with the amnio? It's not just for Down's, is it? Hope you're feeling well and getting some rest (and eating for two again!). :p

Beany
30-04-2007, 12:00
Noosamum: :eek: at that GP! Kick him in the goolies and then tell him that he'll be right, he'll move on. Albeit in a bow-legged fashion.

Also, isn't the amnio reserved for after the nuchal translucency test? I thought it was to confirm or deny the diagnosis yielded from the NT test. It's seems a bit strange to go for it as the first port of call.

Welcome back LP! And what a great way to return: with tales of Milo and ice cream! I'm not actually fond of the Milo milk drink (yes yes, I know, it's blasphemous) but am rather intrigued with this ice cream sandwich idea. Just gotta buy some Milo!

Wattle: oh poor Steph :hugs: I hope she's feeling better soon.

The Brauer's stuff ... Oh who knows! I've used it three times. The first time was great - he went to bed much earlier and woke up much later with only 3 "feed me" calls in between. The second time, I was up every 1-2 hours. The third time, he woke up more than the first time but less than the second. I'll carry on using it, though frankly I think I'd achieve much the same results by getting him to lick the TV cabinet before bed each night.

(Skeptic? Me? :laughing: )

Sydney girls: Are we still on for this meet tomorrow?

mum_I'm_hungry
30-04-2007, 12:15
I think the amnio is also a (cough, cough) age thing, Beany. If you're over a certain (cough, cough) age (one that I'm almost at myself!) they like to do an amnio as a matter of course. I think that age might be 35 . Which is very YOUNG, I think!

Mrs Potts
30-04-2007, 12:20
Why do I have a visage of Asher licking the TV cabinet? LOL

Beany re the amnio before/instead of the nuchal screening: I know someone who (because of her age) opted to go straight for the CVS. I guess it's a personal thing.

Noosa - C kneeling sounds so cute!

How are bubs going with finger food? K still isn't eating much at all. She still only has dinner, once in a while she'll have something mid morning but usually she sleeps til she's due for her bottle so I don't bother. But I'm starting to think she prefers finger food. She doesn't hoover her mush, but give her a piece of meat to chew on, or a cooked carrot stick and she'll go nuts!

biscotti
30-04-2007, 12:21
Noosamum, that GP sounds TERRIBLE! What a thing to say! I'd definitely do the nuchal before I went for an amnio. I mean, why wouldn't you? It only makes sense.

Well that's what I think too but and that is what I wanted/intended to do ...BUT his esteemed medical opinion is that women of a uhhhh certain age should skip the nuchal and go straight for an amnio and that having the nuchal would be a waste of time since I'd be having an amnio anyway because of my age. He wouldn't write up the thing for the nuchal because he thought it was silly for me to do that as i'd be going for the amnio and pushed pushed pushed for me to have an amnio. He seemed a bit offended that I wasn't bowing down and accepting his opinion and told me to get a second opinion and that any Dr would tell me the same.

So I left - without a ref for the nuchal, came home, cried and then sweet talked my way into seeing my Ob this week.

*sigh*

And Beany - loved that idea - why can't I think fast on the spot ??!!!

biscotti
30-04-2007, 12:27
I think the amnio is also a (cough, cough) age thing, Beany. If you're over a certain (cough, cough) age (one that I'm almost at myself!) they like to do an amnio as a matter of course. I think that age might be 35 . Which is very YOUNG, I think!

:o

I didn't have an amnio last year (and I was 38, turning 39 later that year) and wasn't offered one - had the nuchal, it came back at 1:3500 or something so I mentioned briefly to my Ob and he said in a startled sort of way "why would you have one with those results" and we all moved on.

yes - it is an age thing - decrepit old thing that I am. Alli - you are still a youngun, actually you are all younguns lol. Well nearly most of you...(*not looking at Shed or Cathy*)... :D

shed
30-04-2007, 12:39
sorry, what? someone turned my hearing aid down.

um, amnio, nope, not here. Not offered or suggested either, that's what the nuchal is for. My friend had an amnio last year but only because she missed the window for the nuchal because she didn't realise she was pregnant.

The meet tomorrow...is there anywhere else but the city you can suggest? I like suburbs, its easier and cheaper to park and besides that Beany, you need to get out and see some more suburbs Beany, you little city chick.

Summer Hill was nice, is that too hard? Or is there somewhere near Marrickville that you like Jane? What about Leichhardt?

wattle
30-04-2007, 12:43
Ahem :p

Remember you're only as old as you feel.... *quickly tries to straighten the crows feet out* :D

lilbugalugs
30-04-2007, 12:51
Hi Brissie mums....I would be interested in a meet, now that DH is back at work and everything is back to normal again, presuming that everyone remains well!!....Wednesday we have playgroup, Thursday DD goes to kindy...but don't decide anything based on me!!

DS is most definately crawling and cruising...he pulls himself up on everything and pulls everything in reach down onto the floor...definatley not happy just to sit!!

DS hasn't eaten any solids since last wednesday...normally he eats a lot, both pureed and finger foods...I think the combination of the cold and his teeth (he cut another top one on Friday and judging by the dribble there is more on the way) He won't even consider it, he just crys and tries to get out of the highchair...hhhhmm not too worried yet, he is still drinking his milk...

My MIL makes the BEST pavlova (had one for my b'day cake this year) not even slightly bogany!!!

Beany
30-04-2007, 12:56
Wattle: that would make me 73.

missie_mack
30-04-2007, 13:25
Beany- Dermabraise dermabraise dermabraise! I left my dermabraise stuff in Wollongong when we first moved here and didn't think anything of it. I made sure I brought it back with me this time and it makes a visible difference..... I use the "Out out damn spot" mantra while I do it :laughing:

shed
30-04-2007, 15:00
So wheres this flippin meet then?

I haven't heard back from that other job, but I am starting to think I didn't get it, which is actually quite good. I have applied for another which is part time and I have an interview for that next Monday. I think I will only apply for part time jobs from now on.

I took bubby to the doctor this morning, to check out his rashy hivey thing. The confirmed that it was just a rashy hivey thing and probably was from cows milk and she gave me a lecture about giving him cows milk because "he's not ready".

I couldn't believe it, me the anti-cows-milk-crusader getting a lecture about giving my baby cows milk :p .

Beany
30-04-2007, 15:07
Summer Hill was nice and easy to get to. I don't think Marrickville station has a lift for prams. If it's accessible, that would be fine, too.

Do people living in the suburbs have teeth?

*jitters*

Fairyfloss
30-04-2007, 15:14
OMG, I missied this tread for a few days and you guys started a new tread, stop yapping, so I can catch up:D.

hope everyone is doing well. (I am not planning to read the post, that job needs a hero, and i am not:o )

I had to post something cause I am feelig like I am slowly driffting away and I am feeling so lost without my daily dose of bubhub. (would someone offer a to get their house painted so my Dh gets out of the house, and gives mem a chance to get on the computer).
ARRRGGG I am so busy, this is not fair, they should have included bubhubing in the duty statment:rolleyes:.
oh well better get going, got a few meetings beforfe the end of the day.

:hugs: to everyone

Mrs Potts
30-04-2007, 15:16
Aaah yes the amnio is generally age-related. Think I just scraped by in avoiding it with Miss K. Although my nuchal results were 1:1700 which my Ob said were better odds than when I had Cam at age 30.

I'm guessing if we go for number 3 I may not be so lucky as to avoid it :rolleyes:

And yes Beany - ppl who live in the suburbs do have teeth. You'll be pleasantly surprised to know that most of the time you can't see the scar from where the second head was removed either ;)

Shed - good luck with the job. Will :fingerscrossed: that you get the perfect gig.

Wattle - I've found if your pony tail is tight enough it helps pull out the crows feet too :D

Dammit, better end this post - I've run out of emoticons!

Mrs Potts
30-04-2007, 15:18
Good to see you as always Parisa! Hey I saw a car the other day with your number plate, that is your name on a number plate. You weren't moonlighting in Canberra were you? :)

biscotti
30-04-2007, 16:24
Shed - I've been meaning to say :yelclap: for quitting that job and leaving those two twits to it!

And good luck for the next interview!

Noosamum XX

MountainGirl
30-04-2007, 17:10
Ok guys,... lets do Summer Hill,..... how bout 11:00ish?

Beany
30-04-2007, 17:16
Sounds good :) What was the name of that cafe again?

MountainGirl
30-04-2007, 17:28
Cafe Envy,..... see you there!:yes:

wattle
30-04-2007, 19:08
Wattle - I've found if your pony tail is tight enough it helps pull out the crows feet too

Ha, yes must get the gaffa tape scrunchies out. I'll look like a 20 year old again.

Thanks everyone for your thoughts about Steph. She has been improving today and has kept a few feeds down (still plenty of whinging, but the odd smile was there too......ohhhhhhh :) )

Hmmm, didn't manage to eat pav today after all that chatting about it.....but I just found a nougat bar I stashed behind a picture frame last week. :laughing: The things you do to avoid sharing with toddlers....er, and husbands.

shed
30-04-2007, 19:26
Good to see you as always Parisa! Hey I saw a car the other day with your number plate, that is your name on a number plate. You weren't moonlighting in Canberra were you? :)

ooh ooh, me, pick me!! I've got one of those on me ute. If I had a ute.

Shed's ute (http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/197/img1960yn0.jpg)

I knew that photo would come in handy one day, LOL.

Sydney girlies, see you tomorrow at Cafe Envy then!! Yay!! I have missed our "Ladies Who Lunch" lunches!!

*munchkin*
30-04-2007, 19:41
Phew! You guys been yapping again today! I've only skimmed posts, so here goes...

Aherm *clears throat* Em is only just sitting up on her own, but gets distracted and topples over. She ain't crawling. Still rocking back and forth, back and forth, and moonwalking backwards. She's even started sleeping in the crawling position, bum high in the air, head collapsed onto the mattress. It's pretty cute.

LP! Welcome back! Glad you hadn't found any better chatterers than us (and boy can we chatter!). Vanuatu sounds heavenly!
I go to Fitness First at Carindale (and in the city when I'm at work...makes me feel all grown up). But went to check out the Mt Gravatt one and it looks awesome! Where is the one you go to? Carindale is undergoing a 'Million dollar' refurbishment, but I can't wait that long. The creche is tiny and pokey and it just doesn't feel right. I only joined becaues the city one is just round the corner from work so I can go during lunchtime.

Wattle...poor little Steph. I really hope she gets better, and stops worrying her mummy!

Brissie meet...yup, I'm up for it. Anywhere. I can still do cafes :p . See? Some benefits of non-crawling?? I work Mon, Tues, Wed, but don't worry about that...think it might be hard to suit everyone.

Em is back in top form today - she slept 4 hours for grandma (sigh...why not on my days off?!), and is eating me out of house and home again. She ate so much tonight she looked like she had Bali Belly.

mum_I'm_hungry
30-04-2007, 19:59
Munchkin, don't rush that girl. Because Ivy didn't crawl till she was one, I had 12 lovely months of going to the Babes in Arms movies!

We should do a Saturday or Sunday meet so the working mummies can come. Am going to throw a date out there -- May 26 or 27?

Noosamum, what about a king charles spaniel, or a cocker spaniel? They're both great with kids and are so sweet. I've always fancied a labrador, but no way are we getting a dog. Dogs become mummy's problem and mummy has enough trouble wrangling two kids and two crazy Devon Rex cats (especially with all that plastic bag action!). :o

cheekypossum
30-04-2007, 20:06
Evening ladies

I have just caught up and have written little notes but don't know what I mean by half of them....I was going to do personals but think I will skip it now hehe.

Bogan - well I am a Bogan for sure. I live in a Bogan town and live a Bogan lifestyle. Won't go into too much detail, you all might kick me out. Anyway, didn't you all see the Bogan people that live in this town when they had all the footage after the cyclone.

Teeth - Chloe still has no teeth. But in saying that I have spotted a white mark on her bottom gums today...so don't think her 1st tooth is far off.

Sleep - Still the same here. Took her to the Dr's today just to get her ears checked but all is good there. I had to go to the Dr's so made the appt at 1 as Chloe would have woken, eaten etc and the little mite decided to still be asleep at 12.45 so we did not get there until 2.

Weekend - well we had a nice week end at Airlie. We were more then happy with chloe in the car, we were dreading the car trip but she was so fantastic. If we could give her treats she would have had plenty. The place was beatiful...pity we were not staying there longer. They are getting married next year so we are looking at spending a week or 2 there.

Solids - Just wondering where everyone is at? Are you all starting finger food yet? What are you giving bubs?

Can someone PM me about that person....I feel left out :o

:hugs: to all the bubbas who are sick...hope they get better soon

:wave: Rach, littlebugalugs and lottiesmum, nice to see you back

Off to shower and wash up before the waking begins :rolleyes:

missie_mack
30-04-2007, 20:44
Noosamum, what about a king charles spaniel, or a cocker spaniel? They're both great with kids and are so sweet. I've always fancied a labrador, but no way are we getting a dog.

Ive had Spaniels my whole life. My last one was a Golden American Cocker. Oh how I loved that dog. I couldn't bring him to Mildura and he passed away just after we left. Oh how badly I missed him when we were home school holidays but he had a good innings living to be 16 years old. But ah back to the reason for posting! No yard? I would miss the cocker and for that matter Springer. When we lived up Noosa way as a kid they were always getting ticks and they were hard to find. They also need plenty of yard. My cocker use to run a track in the yard where he walked regularly (even though we walked him...) and they are just hard work in saying that I still will probably be looking at spaniels should the time come we are ready again lol. I like some of the new pedigree mutts like labradoodles and spoodles. But then again Shed would probably be the voice of authority on this topic.......

Uniquey
30-04-2007, 21:53
:wave: everyone,
Well we're back from a few weeks in the ol Brisvegas basking in the lovely warmth, ah bliss, only to come back to Canberra and pull out the winter woolies, brrrr. Yep, it's true, LP did kidnap me.... she forced me to have High Tea with lot's of scrumptious tasty morsels, fresh pots of tea, on Brambley Hedge porcelain if you may and it was soooo hard to take, I don't know how I handled it!:laughing: Was great to see our two girls 'play', it always amazes me when babies interact with each other. Although, Miss A was rather partial to pulling Miss E's beautiful curly locks:eek: Needless to say, LP can 'kidnap' me anytime I'm in town:yes:

I haven't had the time to sit and read all the personals I have missed, but I hope you're all happy Mums with happy, healthy bubs. Avalon is in full crawling mode, and here, there and everywhere. I'm going to go on the weekend and buy kidsafe locks for the cupboards and drawers etc. She is attempting to lift herself up to a standing position, but hasn't quite got the weight bearing thing happening yet.

I thought I would come home to a message on the machine to say 'you're Boo has arrived', but alas, no such thing... It's getting annoying, as I am sure I have spent some of the funds I have put away for it, ahem..
Anyway, just thought I'd pop in and say hello, and thanks for asking after me Amandaw, next time I'm up in Brisbane (June) we'll have to have a meet up all of us. I'm off to have a hot shower and put on some warm Pjs, I'm such a wimp in the cold!!

mum_I'm_hungry
01-05-2007, 01:48
Ooohhh, yes! Shed will know exactly what you should get, Noosa! She is the puppy master!

:wave: Uniquey. Didn't know that about spaniels needing so much yard, Missie. Maybe that's why a friend of mine's cocker spaniel used to be a little bit naughty (don't think he got walked much...).

Am doing the 3am bottle wench run and... yay! :smiliedance: Got an email from my US agent -- there is interest in my mummy book (Aussie interest). :fingerscrossed: it all happens.

Back to beddy-byes...:sleeping:

MountainGirl
01-05-2007, 02:00
ooooooohhhhh Alli,... I am the 3am bottle wench today too! Must have just missed you! Congrats on the book!!!!!! How exciting!!!:thumbsup: :smiliedance: :yelclap:

littlepickle
01-05-2007, 07:15
Yay swimming lesson day today! I love swimming day yippee!
Hope you Sydney mums have a great day and enjoy your meet! You social lot you!

Munchkin: I used to go to fitness first in the city and in Lutwyche. I loved the lutwyche one but it was always sooo busy! i changed to Goodlife now as it is (dare I say) more family friendly and just basically more friendly all round. I go to either goodlife in Chermside shopping centre or Goodlife carseldine. E loved her time in the creche there now, she has started to build a rapport with the carers and a few of the other babies. They always make such a fuss of her when I arrive. I do think that the creches are more geared to to the older pre-school aged kids though. Erk, speaking of the gym, I have a personal training session tomorrow, and I hate them, they make me work too hard!

Alli, I think a weekend meet would be great and can do either day suggested. How about Roma street parklands or the botanical gardens or something like that? We can take some blankets to sit/play on and a picnic? Just a thought. Mumma cafe is still good too as they have loads of high chairs and a playpen and toys etc.

Wattle: Glad to hear that Steph is on the mend, poor little possum, its so hard when they are sick, you just want to make them all better and feel quite helpless

Parisa: I know what you mean about drifting away, I almost drifted but thankfully got "saved":D

Noosa: How did the obs appointment go?

Tash: Bogan!! i dont believe a word of it! I've met you, and didnt detect any bogan at all :-) Having said that, I'm from Townsville, maybe I am a bogan too!!

Uniquey: Your on, I will definitely be kidknappping you again when you are next in Brisvegas! Today I will send on the teething ring that E "stole" off Avalon:D

Beany: Have you tried the milo and icecream thing yet? I cant say I have tried the passionfruit on top as noosa suggested, but I will definitely be giving that a go .. broadening my palette an all that

Righty ho, better go and feed my girl

Uniquey
01-05-2007, 09:02
Alli:wave: and such exciting news about your book, can't wait to hear the verdict!! P.s. mNow I'm out of the loop with the 'annoying poster', should I just pm someone on here and ask who it is, geez I'm nosey! Geez, I hope it's not me!

Rach Have fun at the swimming lesson, I'm thinking Miss A is going to need lessons soon too. We took her to some rock pools in Gosford on the way home and Scott dunked her feet in the water which didn't go down too well. Mind you, it was probably not the toasty warm she used to in her baths:o Good luck with the one on one training, you make me feel like such a slacker! Well.... I AM a slacker!!!Better get my bum into gear before I'm a bridesmaid in June.

Tash You are being silly, you are so not a Bogan, and even if you were, you'd be the classiest Bogan I've ever met!
In answer to your feeding question.... I have been reading in my books that you can start to introduce finger foods from 8 months onwards. They also mention starting a variety of meats, fish and eggs etc. As yet, Miss A is still on pureed everything, and she has 3 solid meals a day. Farex for breakfast and lunch and dinner are whatever I have cooked up for her.

Better go, I have a girl wanting a bottle, have a good day all:yes:

biscotti
01-05-2007, 09:24
Morning :wave:

HI Tash - Miss C loves her finger foods. She has strips of ham (off the bone), cheese, soft fruit, softly cooked strips of carrot, toast with hommus, cruskits with hommus, raisin bread strips, sandwiches with a scrape of vegemite, pasta, ripe avocado cubes, cooked corn kernals, and last night she had some tiny pieces of fillet off my plate.

I deleted the dog question :o - after a while I just thought OMG, what am I thinking, don't I have enough to do !!!! LOL But maybe they will wear me down and I'll post it again!

Had my Ob appt this morning - :yelclap: he was wonderful, said he was always happy to see his "frequent flyers", agreed that a nuchal was the first step and I left with all that I wanted including......

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b91/krossman/scanmay01002.jpg

Gotta go feed this girl, back later,
Noosamum XX

missie_mack
01-05-2007, 10:16
Ooh Noosa thats lovely! I am going to be the first to start the BH guessing game. I think it will be a boy!

Alli- Great news about the book! Most spaniels can be naughty lol but you were right about them being brilliant with kids..

Well I'm not sure if its BIM (being in Mildura) or the blahs but Im a bit bored with myself and I am off for a hair colour today. Seriously thinking of going dark but eh I could chicken out. Im a strawberry blonde colour naturally and just a bit lighter normally (and thats natural too :D ) Have a great meet Sydney ladies. I know how Tegan feels having no BH ppl near by now....

mumstar
01-05-2007, 10:28
i wrote a heaps long post just now and then i lost it and now noah is awake so i will come back and write it again later!

wattle
01-05-2007, 10:50
Oooooooh Noos, that's so exciting *squeals with delight*. That looks awfully like a little baby boy to me. :D

mumstar
01-05-2007, 12:12
well hrrmm what was i saying

noah still has no teeth, and he does this weird crawl its like a caterpillar man knees then arms etc...
he can pull himself up and walk along everything holding on...

he had his needles yesterday and it was so cute coz aiden was telling the nurse to stop coz she was making him cry... "stop your hurting my noah" he said!

also got aidens referal for the ent specialist so will make an appointment for that today!

i think that was all...
brb

Beany
01-05-2007, 18:16
Well I returned from the 'burbs in one piece and was surprised to find that most of the people there had teeth. Some of them even had THEIR OWN teeth :eek:

Twas great - good getting out and about even if Asher is a big sooky sook that got scared by a teeny tiny little girl (although teeny tiny Bella isn't all that teeny nor tiny anymore! My these kids grow fast! And the lungs on that girl! Yikes! :laughing: ). He's still pretty clingy due to teething but wasn't nearly as bad as he could have been. Shed's all skinny, Baden looks like a teenager, Jasper is a tranquil chap with the odd growl here and there and Bella's well on her way to a becoming an operatic prima donna.

Don't get a job, Shed. Have lunch with us every week instead! :D

shed
01-05-2007, 18:44
Tempting Beany, but theres always the sickie never fear, LOL!!

I went all the way across Sydney to see my nanna and she was out gallivanting about :mad:

Noosa, wise choice deleting the question. You would have to be a stark raving lunatic to even consider getting a dog at the moment. Seriously, don't do it!!

But if you do, then I agree with the suggestions given so far.

Why not get a kitty cat instead? The novelty of a new kitten will wear off for the kids in just the same time and then you will be left with an independent self-cleaning cat rather than a barking, digging, untrained dog!! :D

That's my advice anyway, do what you like with it.

Baden is going to daycare tomorrow and I am going to go to the gym. Actually, I miss him already, just thinking about it, but I have paid for the week of daycare so the miser in me feels like I should use at least two hours of it! Maybe i will go to the movies!! Its not school holidays is it?

mum_I'm_hungry
01-05-2007, 18:58
Even better, get a goldfish and then, after the requisite two weeks, you get to flush it down the toilet when it dies! :crying: ;) :D

missie_mack
01-05-2007, 19:01
Good idea Alli! Or a mexican walking fish??

Shed- No school holidays very safe

Beany
01-05-2007, 19:08
Even better, get a goldfish and then, after the requisite two weeks, you get to flush it down the toilet when it dies! :crying: ;) :D

You're supposed to wait until they die?!

Oh dear ...

mumstar
01-05-2007, 19:28
You're supposed to wait until they die?!

Oh dear ...

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

littlepickle
01-05-2007, 19:46
remember the days when you used to get goldfish as prizes at the show? Always used to die within 48 hours though :gloomy:
Whats a mexican walking fish :confused: and am I going to regret asking that, I have a sneaky feeling I am probably asking a silly question:D

Noosa, love the scan pick! Ooh I'm all clucky now look at the iddle diddle ickle head, how sweet! I am with the others and think you are having a little boy

Uniquey. I think Miss A will love the swimming lessons
Theres a link here (http://www.swimaustralia.org.au/noncms/dsp_Membersites.cfm?CAT_ID=9&CAT_PARENT=2&state=act&the_start=2) with a few ACT swim schools. I guess we have quite a while to go until the next summer season though. Hopefully your boo will be arriving soon:fingerscrossed:

Finger food: Wow, I feel pretty slack, I have to admit, we havent really touched on finger foods here. E is like miss A and eating pureed everything but no lumps. She just wont eat anything with a lumo in it and I am a bit scared about the whole finger food thing. I am paranoid that she is going to choke or something

missie_mack
01-05-2007, 20:38
LP- You might know a mexican walking fish as a Axolotyl (http://www.burkesbackyard.com.au/2002/archives/2002/roadtests/others/axolotls). They aren't officially a fish more like a frog but live under water. They are also related to the salamander. They are kinda like the dog of the aquarium world as they live for 8+ years some living to be 25.

littlepickle
01-05-2007, 20:44
I meant to tell you about my playpen fiasco today.. groan..
I decided to get a playpen for E so that I have somewhere safe to put her if I need to hang the washing out or cook tea etc, anyway, I bought one today. I'd better not mention the brand, but it was a well known brand multicoloured wooden playpen. Bought it come and spent about 2 hours assembling the thing (had to assemble the whole thing from scratch including each individual spindle) Finally, when it was all together I put E in it to see what she thought. She loved it! Then the bad part. A few minutes later, I noticed something in E's hand. She had managed to pull the metal logo badge off the side of the playpen and was about to put it in her mouth. The two pins that were holding the badge were sitting on the floor:eek: I also noticed that the paint was scraping off and was under her fingernails! I rang t-r-u and told them that I was bringing the playpen back and that I wanted a refund. I just cant believe it! What would have happened if I hadnt noticed the metal badge. E could have choked on it! Its not as if I bought it from anywhere dodgy either. Scary stuff!
Thankfully no harm done, but ooooooooh I am sooo angry!:mad:

littlepickle
01-05-2007, 20:45
LP- You might know a mexican walking fish as a Axolotyl (http://www.burkesbackyard.com.au/2002/archives/2002/roadtests/others/axolotls). They aren't officially a fish more like a frog but live under water. They are also related to the salamander. They are kinda like the dog of the aquarium world as they live for 8+ years some living to be 25.

they sound really cool! I want one!:D

cheekypossum
01-05-2007, 20:47
Tash: Bogan!! i dont believe a word of it! I've met you, and didnt detect any bogan at all :-) Having said that, I'm from Townsville, maybe I am a bogan too!!

I am thinking of taking Chloe to swimming lessons. But our pool closes over Winter so thinking of starting when the warmer season comes back in.

Good luck with the gym tomorrow...

Alli[/B
[B]Tash You are being silly, you are so not a Bogan, and even if you were, you'd be the classiest Bogan I've ever met!
In answer to your feeding question.... I have been reading in my books that you can start to introduce finger foods from 8 months onwards. They also mention starting a variety of meats, fish and eggs etc. As yet, Miss A is still on pureed everything, and she has 3 solid meals a day. Farex for breakfast and lunch and dinner are whatever I have cooked up for her.

Better :

:laughing: Classy Bogan.....I like it!!!

Yes well we have not ventured into finger food as yet....I am like Rachel and am a little scared of choking. Her food is a little lumpy, not a lot, just a little. Noosa has given some good ideas so thanks for that

Ellen - How did the hair colour turn out?

Alli - :fingerscrossed: Book works out

Noosa - awwww little bubba....I want one

Beany, Shed, Jane and Anne - glad to hear youa ll enjoyed your meet today

Hi Mumstar

Well we had our mothers group today....I just have so much fun....then I left Chloe with mum and I went do the groceries.....we were down to tissues in the toilet....we were desperate....I HATE SHOPPING.

oh and HAPPY ANNIVERSERY TO US :party: 3 years today.......nice roast for dinner and a candle on the table.....that is about it for us HAHAHA.

Anyway, my girl is up and gotta go, I am so tired I just wish she would go to sleep and stay asleep tonight.....

cheekypossum
01-05-2007, 20:50
I meant to tell you about my playpen fiasco today.. groan..
I decided to get a playpen for E so that I have somewhere safe to put her if I need to hang the washing out or cook tea etc, anyway, I bought one today. I'd better not mention the brand, but it was a well known brand multicoloured wooden playpen. Bought it come and spent about 2 hours assembling the thing (had to assemble the whole thing from scratch including each individual spindle) Finally, when it was all together I put E in it to see what she thought. She loved it! Then the bad part. A few minutes later, I noticed something in E's hand. She had managed to pull the metal logo badge off the side of the playpen and was about to put it in her mouth. The two pins that were holding the badge were sitting on the floor:eek: I also noticed that the paint was scraping off and was under her fingernails! I rang t-r-u and told them that I was bringing the playpen back and that I wanted a refund. I just cant believe it! What would have happened if I hadnt noticed the metal badge. E could have choked on it! Its not as if I bought it from anywhere dodgy either. Scary stuff!
Thankfully no harm done, but ooooooooh I am sooo angry!:mad:

:eek: :eek:

those fish look a little freaky!!!!!!!

jessi
02-05-2007, 06:04
Tash... You never say Hi to me in your posts... I think you cover everyone but me. In every post. :gloomy:

Talking about choking... Elsha ate a bobby pin yesterday! And then tried to eat something else and puched the bobbypin down her throat. She started gagging really bad and I was like OMG!! And started smacking her on the back.. then she started vomiting and vomiting... and then all of a sudden... this bobby pin came out of her mouth and clinked onto the ground amongst the vomit.:eek:

Also, when we went to wake her up yesterday morning (we woke at 8.50am and we were worried as to why she wasnt awake as her usual time is 6am!) and Nat went in and called to me to come look... her poor little nose had snotted so much that it had formed a big green crust over her whole nose and she was breathing through 2 small pin point holes... It was so hard, we actually had to take her in the shower and soften it up with warm water.

Ew... sick kiddies. Hate it!

Anyways, my rellies are here from NZ... so, lots of shopping in the city today! :smiliedance:

:fingerscrossed: that Elsh behaves!

MountainGirl
02-05-2007, 07:08
Jess,...get a vaporiser today,.. they are about $45 and de-congested Jasper almost instantly,... :thumbsup:

biscotti
02-05-2007, 07:46
Why not get a kitty cat instead? The novelty of a new kitten will wear off for the kids in just the same time and then you will be left with an independent self-cleaning cat rather than a barking, digging, untrained dog!!

Love the kitty idea......except, well..I fobbed them off with a kitten last year, just before Clio was born :laughing: And to their credit, they love the kitten and still do most of her care. DH thought last night that they might like a couple of chooks (they love the chooks at Grandad's farm). We don't live in the sort of neighbourhood though where chooks are common, pedigree dogs are a plenty, cute little fluffy lap dogs yes, highly bred cats absolutely, but no chooks - people might think this is a bit strange :o

Jess - the vapouriser is a great idea!! Def worth the $$ !

LP - OMG, that playpen, a serious injury and a lawsuit waiting to happen, that model should be taken off the market. That's terrible.

Missie_mack - show us your hair!!! I hate my hair at the moment, inspire me!

wattle - how is Steph this morning?

Tash - happy anniversary to you :party:

And a big wave to all the August mummies....oh and I agree, first thing I thought during the scan was BOY!!

Must go, buyers coming to look at the house this morning (their third inspection) so I must get on and clean up (again :rolleyes: ).

Noosamum XX

mum_I'm_hungry
02-05-2007, 08:04
Just running in and out, but wanted to let Munchkin know about a new book out -- The Australian Woman's Survival Guide by Mia Balwyn. The line they're using for it is... 'Because every Aussie woman worth her weight in vegemite should know how to deal with a sick possum'.

Or dead one! :laughing:

wattle
02-05-2007, 08:12
Morning everyone.

Just wondering about those vapourisers, did you buy them from a chemist? I looked a while back and the chemist said they start at around $100. :eek: So I didn't bother....perhaps I should check somewhere else? They're a great idea with winter coming up.

Noos - do you have a preference for boy or girl? You know as soon as you find out we're going to have a throusand name suggestions for you. :D I'm enjoying following your pregnancy but not having the symptoms. Having two pregnancies close together is tough work!

Jess - crikey that must have scared you half to death. Once they're mobile it's so hard to keep an eye on them every second. Glad she is ok.

Mrs Potts - how did the photos turn out? I'd love to see them.

Us.. Steph is STILL sick. My poor little baby. She is still :barf: every night and sometimes during the day. She is so skinny now that I might have to get a smaller sized nappy for her. Thank goodness I get my car back tomorrow (it's still being fixed after some bozo backed into me :rolleyes: ) and can take her to the doctor. But really there's not much they can do for a virus. *sigh* So I'm delerious with exhaustion, my toddler is soooooooo bored, so it's not making for much of a fun household at the moment.

mum_I'm_hungry
02-05-2007, 08:38
Poor sick babies. :hugs: for Steph and Elsha and all the other snotty-snotsters out there. Teddy has another bug too. I feel so stupid even writing that as his bugs seem never-ending. Stupid winter colds. He's a real spewer, which has thrown me a bit. Ivy wasn't much for the up-chucking, but this kid...

Ooohhh, yes. Noosa, that scan threw me a bit! So cute but so weird to be seeing scans again! I think it's a girl! Which probably means it's a boy, as I'm always wrong!!! :D

Right. Off to do the groceries.

biscotti
02-05-2007, 08:45
Noos - do you have a preference for boy or girl? You know as soon as you find out we're going to have a throusand name suggestions for you. I'm enjoying following your pregnancy but not having the symptoms. Having two pregnancies close together is tough work!

Without sounding too greedy, another little girl would be easy as we already have heaps and heaps of baby girl clothes and toys and I think two little girls growing up close together would be wonderful. But having said that, my DS is such a beautiful loving generous boy, that I'd quite like to order another like him :) . Really....I don't mind, I just feel so lucky to be able to have this last one. And yes :yes: this is the last one for me! (my Ob rolled his eyes when I said that yesterday and said "well I've heard that before" but truly, I think anymore after this would just be tempting fate.
And I would love name suggestions!!!!

And the vaporiser - I bought mine online from Pharmacy Direct and I think it was around $60 but I have seen the same one in the shops for around $90. I would not be without one so have a look online Cathy :)...(and Jessi too, but you probably need yours today)

Noosamum XX

PS Munchkin - how are things with your ex, you absolutely don't have to answer but I was just wondering about you :hugs: .

missie_mack
02-05-2007, 09:14
Vapouriser- Def worth the purchase :yes: my Mum still has the one she bought me 20 years ago lol The one we bought was a Taav Vaporaire comes with a 3 year warranty and I'm sure we only paid $30 or $40 dollars for it. I find using eucalptus in it tends to break down all the mucus in throats, noses and chests.

Hair- Umm yep Ive gone dark. Im not real sure on it at the mo but its here. My hubby thought someone who shouldn't be there was in the house when he got home last night. I'm lucky he didnt clobber me !!

LP- How very scary about the playpen!! :eek: I would've been furious

Tash- Happy Anniversary for yesterday :smiliedance: Hope you got a little spoilt

Wattle- Can't believe your little girl is still sick it's terrible when they are sick. Could she have something causing it like allergies to outside things you know like dust animals etc??

I have some bloke coming to check out our carpet this arvo. The previous tenants kids left red stains on our study carpet (which prob was their bedroom) Not really feeling like it though. Still in jarmies house looks like a bomb as I still haven't caught up on washing from coming back from the coast. I will start functioning soon Im sure....

Ds is driving me bonkers he is just so clingy if Im out of his sight he squarks like Im murdering him! Im just waiting for Docs to knock on the door :rolleyes:

missie_mack
02-05-2007, 09:17
OhI was looking at my wedding photos this morning and thinking with all these wedding anniversarys it would be nice to see some wedding photos... there should be a good range of periods Im sure noosa said she has been married forever which makes me think of big hair and puffy sleeves in taffeta lol :p

mum_I'm_hungry
02-05-2007, 09:22
Yeah, bring it on! Show us yer wedding pics! Here I am in my orange garb (much to my mummy's horror!). This is me and my bridesmaids on the citycat on the way to the ceremony/reception at Brett's Wharf in Brissie. :yelclap:

lottiesmum
02-05-2007, 12:10
wow - wedding pics - i have nothing digital!!!! and no flatbed scanner chez moi i'm afraid...

vapouriser - i have something called the Allersearch Hippo Delux which i paid about $50 for i seem to think? it has a 5 year guarantee. i use olbus oil in mine when the kids get colds.

DS slept through the night last night :yelclap: so i am feeling a million bucks. was getting night after night of 2-4 wakings. and well my conclusion is not enough solids...we'll see if he keeps it up before i'm sure though.

jealous of the Sydney gals lunching in Summer Hill....but Beany if you think THAT is the suburbs...:laughing: you city slicker!!

Beany
02-05-2007, 12:29
Lottiesmum: take a picture of the picture with your digital camera! :D

Beany
02-05-2007, 12:33
:laughing: I know I know. Look, I'm from London. Sydney seems like the countryside in comparison!

Noodle is mortified by my attitude. He grew up in suburban Canberra and keeps wanting to move out into the suburbs here. So I keep suggesting places to him in Ultimo and Pyrmont :D

When we went out to Blackheath on a long weekend break, I couldn't sleep at night because it was too quiet :o

cheekypossum
02-05-2007, 12:47
Tash... You never say Hi to me in your posts... I think you cover everyone but me. In every post. :gloomy:

s!

I only go from my last post, so if you have not written since my last post I would not say hi...........unless I have been MIA for a few days and then I just skip personals....I thought I had explained that to you before cause I remeber you got upset at me another time....Sorry Jess

missie_mack
02-05-2007, 14:27
Hey londoner show us your pics!! :wave:

I guess I better cough one up here is an article that appeared in DHs home town paper. Now don't forget I was pregnant when I got married ...

mumstar
02-05-2007, 16:06
Hello Everyone

Jess i have a few little tricks that work when trying to relieve a snotty nose baby

* Put some vicks baby balsalm on there feet just before bed and then put socks on them (i dont know how or y this works but its does, i heard about it on the radio)

* buy some medic spray or eyculuptus spray from the supermarket and spray in the air of her room just before bedtime

* prop up her cot matteress with a pillow underneath it. She will still be sleeping without a pillow around her but it will prop her up enough to help with the snottys

* a dose of demazin, dimatap or paedamins before sleep also helps.

Hope this will help a bit, and everything else is going ok!

Well i have had a very spoilt day today, this morning i had a eyebrow wax, facial and a full body massage and this afternoon i have had my hair cut and blow dryed!! i feel like a whole new peson and it only cost me $90 for the whole lot....

now i just have to go pick up my twosome from daycare and reality will kick in again!

Big hellos to everyone (i wont name you all coz i know i will miss someone!) all our MIA's i hope you come back soon
xoxoxox

MountainGirl
02-05-2007, 17:11
Wooooaahhhh Mumstar...how on earth did you get all that done for $90????!??!?!??!?! Bloody good value!!!

I also had a lovely day,.. Jasper and I went to babies galore to pick up our sunshade for the Boo then went to Paddington for Sushi and a big spendup at Mac makeup,..was really lovely,....... Scarlett went to Featherdale Park wildlife sanctuary with my parents for the day,.......koalas, kangaroos,.sheep etc,.etc,.etc,...she loved it!

No time now,..so hi everyone,..hope you all had a lovely day,..

jessi
02-05-2007, 18:15
OMG.

Elsh almost drowned tonight.

When im running her bath, she stands beside it and watches the water and giggles and makes shreiking noises at it etc... And I usually walk in and out a few times getting things for her bath...

Anyways, tonight, I walked out to get her towel and she was making her usual noises then all of a sudden, it went quiet and then I heard this muffled noise. I came running back into the bathroom and there she was, head under the water and legs up in the air- she had fallen over the edge of the bath while trying to reach in and touch the water!!

:eek: :eek: :( :crying:

My poor baby girl. I felt SO bad... I lifted her out and cuddled her so hard after making sure she was ok.

WORST MUM AWARD GOES TO ME!!!

She hasnt had the best day, poor chicken. Her great Nanna dropped her on her head by accident today... so she has a nice mark just above her eye... and still has a MEGA snotty nose.

In other news. I officially suck at dressing myself. I tried on numerous outfits today to try find something to wear on my girls night out next weekend and everythng I tried on looked HORRIBLE.

Seriously, I look so disgusting in everything I try on! WHY?!

Mrs Potts
02-05-2007, 19:02
Jessi - glad Elsha is OK. I'm so paranoid about the bath. DS is 6 and it's only in the last year that I've been comfortable leaving him to bath by himself. I still won't let him get in or out without supervision. I don't think about drowning though - I'm more concerned about slipping and having head/face split open on the side of the bath.

I've just caught up on 2 days of posts so I won't attempt personals.

Vaporisers - you should be able to get one for less than $50. We have 2 of the TAAV's. Love love love them!

Monique - glad you're home. Let's plan to catch up next week? And I have to say that I'm secretly pleased that you don't have your 'boo yet either :laughing:

Alli - good luck with the book!

Someone (Cathy?) mentioned our photos? I won't get the prints for another week or so, but will post them when I get them.

Sorry to all the important stuff I've missed. Hope the sickies are feeling better soon.

Beany
02-05-2007, 19:09
Monique - glad you're home. Let's plan to catch up next week? And I have to say that I'm secretly pleased that you don't have your 'boo yet either :laughing:

Because, you know, she would refuse to be seen with you if you had one of THOSE things ...

:p

(Ah Erica, you'll never live this one down :D )

Jess: Poor Elsha, she's been through the wars lately. I hope she's feeling better soon.

Missie: Gawd I HATED my "wedding". Everything about it. It still really annoys me ... I've hidden the pictures (they were awful too ... unsurprisingly) at the bottom of my wardrobe somewhere. Might look for them one day so Asher can "accidentally" destroy them.

Mrs Potts
02-05-2007, 19:12
Because, you know, she would refuse to be seen with you if you had one of THOSE things ...

:p

(Ah Erica, you'll never live this one down )

:p:laughing:

Yeah yeah yeah, whatever....
:rolleyes:

mum_I'm_hungry
02-05-2007, 19:47
Poor Elsha! That must have been quite the scare (for both of you). I'm paranoid about the bath, too. It only takes a second's distraction, really. Scary stuff.

Hey, where is everyone else's wedding pics. I feel like a loooooser!!! Hurry up or I'm changing back! :o

biscotti
02-05-2007, 19:51
Hey, where is everyone else's wedding pics. I feel like a loooooser!!! Hurry up or I'm changing back! :o

Well I'd show mine but I don't want to be responsible for anyone hurting themselves....you know, falling off their chairs from laughing too much or hitting their heads on the desk or whatever.....it was 1993 :o remember......:o

missie_mack
02-05-2007, 20:05
Come on Noosa and Beany .... don't be chickens!! I also seee all those ducking and weaving in the background :shame:

PS Noos was I right big teased hair tafeta and puffy sleeves?? Or was it babies breath??

biscotti
02-05-2007, 20:07
Or was it babies breath??

:o

ok..........tomorrow :yes:

Noosamum XX

*munchkin*
02-05-2007, 21:06
Just popped in to 'surf and lurk' quickly before beddie byes, but have to respond to some bits...

HOLY ****!!! Something just went ZAP BANG outside and all the lights dimmed for a sec, and a heap of bats squeeked! Hope no-one has pulled down a power line or such!

Anyway, where was I...
Bit of a poo...Em has to have another x-ray -some gamma scan or such where they inject radiation into her and watch its travels to her kidneys to check whether she has scarring there. If so, it's off to a urologist and...yeh, well..let's not go there.

Beany...get yourself down to Coober Pedy...yeeha! There you'll see a WHOLE TOWN with about 2 teeth to share between them :D (they have Toothy Time Share).

Jess...how scary...hope you're over the fright.

LP...have to check out that Goodlife place. And also the FF at Mt Gravatt, which looks extremely spiffy.
And a bogan? You? An Armani-clad bogan...hmmm...methinks not!

Just running in and out, but wanted to let Munchkin know about a new book out -- The Australian Woman's Survival Guide by Mia Balwyn. The line they're using for it is... 'Because every Aussie woman worth her weight in vegemite should know how to deal with a sick possum'.

Or dead one!
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: . Man, I could write a whole chapter for that book! I still have bits of possum fluff all over my backyard...

I read a bit of that 'Post Baby Conversation' in a bookshop today, and it looked really good. Even for Singletons! You SM's should definitely read it.

And I would love name suggestions!!!!

PS Munchkin - how are things with your ex, you absolutely don't have to answer but I was just wondering about you .
Hmmm...name suggestions...you know you are opening up a whole Pandora's box? How about Kool, Krush, Fresh or Fly? Or to put a QLD spin on it...Cane Toad or Cockroach?

WARNING>>> TEENY TINY SPIEL APPROACHING>>>>>
As for the ex...things are good. Really really good. I have typed and deleted much about him!! I had a big telling him 'what for' conversation (in a nice way - not angry) and I truly think he has finally seen the light. Told him to just sell his house in Alice (which he was going to keep for when he could persuade me to move back there...cough...splutter), and to just MOVE THE HELL TO COOBER PEDY!!!!!! At least DO IT after leaving his baby to go there (he is still in Alice tour guiding again). And I think he finally realises that he will not get a second chance with us. He gave that up, and he is just realising what he missed out on. SO...I finally feel able to talk to him as a friend, and actually feel quite fond of him again (in a friend's way). Which is good. I'm glad I'm strong though, and that he completely snuffed out any thought of ever being together again, cause it's hard when someone's dangling your dream life in front of you.
BOY, what a long, teeny, tiny spiel!!!!!!

Beany
02-05-2007, 21:18
Munchkin: You KNOW we all read that bit. You KNEW we would. Why did you feel the need to punish us poor blind old bats (with all our own teeth!) with the microscopic text?

I'm glad things with the ex are improving. Perhaps the the possum incident did it for him - what else would anyone need a man for?

Noos: Poo to the lot of 'em and fashions be damned! I think baby's breath is pretty! It was one of those ideas that I had as I grew up, this dream that someone would get me a big bunch of red roses and baby's breath. Pity I realised that I can't stand roses, huh? :laughing:

And my favourite flower is apparently funereal and people refuse to get them for me. Stupid traditions.

Uniquey
02-05-2007, 22:10
Beany What flower is your favourite, as apparently mine is a Funeral flower too! I too like babies breath, and so does my Persian Cat, she eats it whenever I get a bunch of flowers.

Wattle:hugs: For little Steph, and how cute is your new avatar of her hair!!

Jess What a terrible fright you must have had, and it's always hard to bring your adrenalin down when you've had a scare like that. :hugs:

Missie_Mack Beautiful wedding article! Unfortunately half the picture is missing though.

Alli Don't take your wedding pic down, make it bigger so we can see it properly. I always told my Mum I was going to wear 'orange hot pants' to my wedding, just to get a rise out of her. :laughing: I do like the fact you had an orange dress though as it is one of my favourite colours.
I will try and put my wedding pics up once I locate them.

Munchkin I was so happy to hear you're more at peace with the whole situation with your Ex. Getting to a 'friends' stage will no doubt make life a lot easier for you both.

Mumstar Great advice you gave regarding the snotty nose solutions. I LOVE the Eucalyptus spray, I go nuts with it, I love the smell. Glad to hear you had a well-deserved day of pampering too.

Tash A very belated 'Happy Anniversary' to you!!!

Noos Beautiful scan, made me all gooey. I can honestly say I have absolutely no idea what sex I think the baby will be, I'm not as adept as the other Mums! Did you think anymore about the pet situation? My neighbours here have a menagerie of animals and chickens too. The chickens wander around but they do have an enclosure which has a sign on it that reads' The Desperate Housewives' so funny. They arn't hicks-ville and actually are quite well to do, so maybe Chickens are in Vogue!

Erica You're on, we will catch up next week for sure.

Jane You're a girl after my own heart. I LOVE MAC cosmetics! My DH loves to buy me MAC lipsticks and I have heaps of gorgeous reds etc.

These personals have been all from memory, so sorry in advance if I have missed someone. HELLO to everyone!

missie_mack
02-05-2007, 22:30
Missie_Mack Beautiful wedding article! Unfortunately half the picture is missing though.

Ummm :o see what distractions babies can be.... all fixed now

Uniquey
02-05-2007, 22:56
Ummm :o see what distractions babies can be.... all fixed now

That's better... Just beautiful, you looked radiant and both of you so happy:yes:

Beany
02-05-2007, 22:58
White calla lilies ... soooo purdy!

As are your wedding pictures!

Beany
02-05-2007, 23:01
Ah good, it wasn't my computer stuffing up, then - Ellen, your pics are lovely too! Look at that protective hand he has on your tummy! Awwww!

Uniquey
02-05-2007, 23:05
White calla lilies ... soooo purdy!

As are your wedding pictures!

Yep, I love White Cala lillies too!

biscotti
03-05-2007, 09:59
Right.

ok.

Wedding pics.

Don't say you haven't been warned :no:

I can't work the scanner today so please excuse the flash on the pics.

And please take into consideration it was 1993 :o

These were taken at St Davids, Chelmer (oh, right down the road from you AlliJB :wave: ).

http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa296/noosamum/wedding005.jpg

http://i199.photobucket.com/albums/aa296/noosamum/wedding001.jpg

NB - lots of baby's breath for missie-mack hahaha

Only leaving these up for a short time :yes:

Noosamum XX

missie_mack
03-05-2007, 10:05
Ahh I see you and your husband both have mini me's in each of your older children :yes: They are lovely Noosa you look so cute and so very young!

biscotti
03-05-2007, 10:14
They are lovely Noosa you look so cute and so very young!

ahhh yes, I was a child bride :D

Actually, I was 25 I think......or 26?

missie_mack
03-05-2007, 11:05
Wow! You look like your 22 or something..... cow :p :D :laughing:

Mrs Potts
03-05-2007, 11:28
Great photos Monique and Noosa.

Alli, I agree you have to make yours bigger - can't see a thing in the av... Promise I'll dig one or two of mine out when I get a sec. Mine won't be much more glam than Noosa's though - it was only a few years later, after all.

Beany
03-05-2007, 11:30
In that first picture, the flash makes the little girl look like she's one of those apparitions ... you know, the kind they fake on things like John Edwards ( :p )

You look so happy, Noos! The photos were lovely! And it could have been worse ... imagine what it would have been like if you were an 80s bride :eek:

PS: from what I remember, Mr 9 looks like you!

mum_I'm_hungry
03-05-2007, 12:36
Love the wedding pics! Monique, you look so glam! And, yes, Noosamum, you look so young, much younger than 25. I couldn't see Ellen's for some reason :confused:

I'm a gumby who doesn't know how to do those link things, but I put some up here...

http://s162.photobucket.com/albums/t267/allijb/

missie_mack
03-05-2007, 13:28
Awww Alli you two are sooo cute too! The pic of just the two of you is adorable

shed
03-05-2007, 13:41
Noosa!! I am speechless, your photos are a classic. From what I remember of those years and the weddings I went to you would have been at the height of fashion, the HEIGHT!!!

Alli, you look like you are having so much fun. The last photo is so cute.

I have nothing to post in regard to weddings but I have to have a bit of a whinge. My cousin just brought her three kids around and her three year old wrecked two of Baden's toys and broke my handpainted treat plate that I use for puppy school. :mad: :mad:

I try not to be a cranky aunty and I try to be understanding because I know I will have a 3 year old boy soon. I try to find him things to do and I try not to tell him off constantly, but honestly, I am really ANNOYED. I actually told her it was time to take them home.

And without sounding like a pain, her baby is only nine weeks older than Baden and he is a bit of a ratbag already as well. He grabbed onto Baden's back and pinched him :mad:

She just lets them run riot, I know it must be exhausting to chase after them all the time, but sh!t, does my baby's stuff have to pay the price?

I am so annoyed. I painted that treat plate myself and baked it in the oven to set it. I have had it for years and its really cute, people always comment on it.

and now its in the bin, smashed.

I felt like smacking his backside. I said to him he could run around the house as long as he didn't wreck anything. I asked him not to touch the first toy he broke because I really didn't want him to break it because it is (was) a particular favourite of Baden's. I gave him toys that he WAS allowed to play with and I gave him a plate of chips.

blah blah blah blah blah blah blah, grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

He's not hyperactive, he is just naughty. I can only make so many excuses for that sort of destruction. She makes him apologise for things afterwards but by the end of it I just didn't want to hear it, I just wanted them to leave.

mumstar
03-05-2007, 14:13
well hello everyone!

all you wedding photos are fantastic... heres a slideshow of mine i prepared earlier!!!

Slideshow (http://www.slide.com/r/cmYIpNW57T_poSbqAAnanmfJOGBWmjI6?previous_view=lt_ embedded_url)

well i have been to playgroup today and i had an added extra... My friend is preggers and her little girl indi has stayed with us all day.. her and aiden have been fantastic... noah is asleep and i have even got my cleaning done!

my folks are coming up for dinner tonight so i will be doing up a chicken, spinach and fetta thing...yummy

jess that is quite a scare you had... make sure you dont leave her anymore.. one of my friends had her three year old drown last year and it is the worst thing that could ever happen... just be extra careful as elsh is to precious to lose!

littlepickle
03-05-2007, 14:55
Yep, I love White Cala lillies too!
I love lillies too! Cala and Starburst lillies. I asked dh to get me a bunch when E was born ... still waiting though!

Noos, love your photos, you look really young, I would have said around the 21 mark!

Monique, you look really gorgeous and glam in your wedding pics, but then you still look gorgeous and glam, so no change there!

Alli, I just love your wedding dress and the bridesmaids dresses too, were they skirts with seperate tops, they look great! I would have loved a coloured wedding dress! In fact I wanted to get married in a red gown on horseback on a windy hill.. didnt happen that way of course, no horse of course of course, no windy hill and an ivory vera wang dress in place of the desired red gown.
Love the orange flowers btw too!
Mumster - loving your pics too, another very young looking one, you look fab! Love the bodice on your dress..
Speaking of tha word "bodice" I dont think I ever used the word "bodice" until I started looking into wedding dresses! lol

I have got a little slide of my wedding here ;
http://s114.photobucket.com/albums/n275/littlepickle/?action=view&current=1169469893.pbw
The photos are not that clear as I havent got around to scanning the "proper" photos yet (almost 3 years later)

Uniquey
03-05-2007, 14:56
Thanks Alli, and you don't look half shabby yourself, now that I've viewed it bigger!

Uniquey
03-05-2007, 15:10
Noos If I had originally got married when DH proposed it would have been a 1993/4 wedding for me too! I love the church you married in and you looked lovely!

Mumstar Beautiful slideshow and again, another beautiful bride. Love the colours of the bridesmaids outfits.

Rach I was only just watching a Bio on Vera Wang would you believe. Her dresses are just sensational and you have definately done the dress justice! Vera would be proud. Booooootifull

Erica Yey, yey, yey for the very special arrival!!

biscotti
03-05-2007, 15:12
Noosa!! I am speechless, your photos are a classic. From what I remember of those years and the weddings I went to you would have been at the height of fashion, the HEIGHT!!!

Ahh thanks Shed - it was a bit of a "do", our wedding, was written up in the papers etc (Dad was well known at the time so our wedding got a bit of press, just here in Qld :o ) My dress was by Wendy Sullivan and it was the Wedding Dress of the Year at the fashion awards that year.

But *sigh*....Uniquey, LP, missie_mack, Alli and mumstar....you all look so very glam (and YOUNG) and very "today", god I'd love to get married again.

C'mon Beany....Mrs P, trot them out :D

Noosamum XX

biscotti
03-05-2007, 15:14
Noos If I had originally got married when DH proposed it would have been a 1993/4 wedding for me too! I love the church you married in and you looked lovely!

Well then you would have been a child bride :yes: :D

Uniquey - you are gorgeous btw :) You all are, no wonder we have such good looking babies on the August thread!!

Noosamum XX

And Shed, I am sorry about your plate, been there and know how you feel :(

missie_mack
03-05-2007, 15:17
god I'd love to get married again

Why don't you?? My Dh tells me he plans to ask me to marry him again every 10 years Valentine And everytime I ask him does that mean another engagement ring?? :laughing:

LP and Uniquey- Love both of your photos

biscotti
03-05-2007, 15:42
Why don't you??

Now there's a thought...:detective: hmmmmmm, love the idea of the rings btw :D

mumstar
03-05-2007, 16:28
troy and i disussed getting married agin on one of our anniversary as on my wedding day so much stuff went wrong... to name a few
i had gastro
the hall was double booked
there was a gas leak
the firemen had to come and turn the alarm off after the djs set it off witht there smoke machine!!!

worst wedding of the century... i didnt even get 1 champange on my wedding day but i did get a trip to the drs with my dress and vail on to get a needle in the bum to stop me throwing up... he asked me if i might be preggers haha i wish i told him but no i got AF that day as well!!!

MountainGirl
03-05-2007, 17:54
ok,..so all those photies are great!! I guess I will have to dig some out,....:o Our wedding was one of the best days of my life,......I had inch long platinum white hair! And solarium tan:o :eek: ,..god,... and I was SKINNY!!! Thems were the days,..... sigh,.....

amandaw
03-05-2007, 17:58
We should do a Saturday or Sunday meet so the working mummies can come. Am going to throw a date out there -- May 26 or 27?

Would love this!!! (otherwise it'll be a sickie for me!!!) I've have 3 11pm and one 2am (if we're lucky!!!!) nights at work this week with the musical, so it'll be about due!!

Am LOVING all the wedding shots - I love my photos (the best investment of our wedding!) but will just have to work out how to get them up :detective:
Uniquey - where was your reception? Looks very familiar...
Mumstar - that sounds awful!!!! My only panic moment was my bridesmaid coming back to the hairdressers with the 'veil' in 2 pieces....an edged piece of tulle and a comb!!!! Why on earth did I ever agree to let mum do my dress (it only got hemmed 12 hours in advance!!!)???? Needless to say thank god for Grandparents as my Grandmother got off the plane and got the ball rolling!

Anyway...got to run - sleep is beckoning (yes very sad I know, but all the late nights are catching up!)

Will get photos up soon I promise!

cheekypossum
03-05-2007, 18:27

Yes, i am ignoring you all :p ....no personals at the moment.....be back later on if I can

Alli or anyone I spose.....I got a terrible phone call today....I have to get my wisdom teeth out :eek: :o I am terrified at the thought...probably won't be able to get done for a few months anyway, but does anyone know how this affects me with breastfeeding....seeing as though Alli, your hubby is in the area, thought you would be a great person to ask.

That is about it...gotta go and clean up after dinner

missie_mack
03-05-2007, 19:04
are you having a general or local?? You can have either.... You probably don't want to know but wisdom teeth are nasty business! Most expensive diet ever. I wish I didnt wait as long as I did to have them done caused me tonnes of extra issues

biscotti
03-05-2007, 19:06
Also the pain relief after might be an issue - what has your dentist suggested you take?

I don't have any wisdom teeth (just don't have any) but have some other teeth issues at the moment so just hoping I can last my way through pregnancy.

Noosamum XX

biscotti
03-05-2007, 19:09
Am LOVING all the wedding shots - I love my photos (the best investment of our wedding!) but will just have to work out how to get them up :detective:
Uniquey - where was your reception? Looks very familiar...

Amanda - scan or just take a pic and then upload to photobucket and then post here - but you probably knew that already.

And in case anyone was wondering....:yes: Yes, I have forgotten how to do the brackets thingy :)

Mrs Potts
03-05-2007, 19:22
Promise I'll get a pic or two up tomorrow. The album is on top of the bookcase and I can't be bothered getting the step ladder out now.

I'm loving everybody else's pics though! Alli - gerberas! We had gerberas too. I had white ones, my bridesmaids had a multi-coloured bunch. It looked fab with their green dresses.

My big news - MY 'BOO ARRIVED TODAY!!! Woohoo! The topping didn't arrive though, so it's a nude 'boo for the time being. Why didn't anyone tell me I'd need an engineering degree to put the thing together though? It's all good now. I figured it out. Mostly. I think. Can't wait to get out and about with it tomorrow. Should probably take Miss K with me though hey? ;)

wattle
03-05-2007, 19:32
Howdy all.

Just a quickie to let you know that Steph is finally improving. Thank goodness.

Here's some wedding shots:
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/ousidechurch.jpg
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/D1000024.jpg
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/D10000321.jpg
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/D1000070.jpg

mum_I'm_hungry
03-05-2007, 20:01
What great news about Steph. Poor little lamb! She was definitely sick for way too long there... hope all the babies have a decent well stretch soon.

Just here quickly checking out the wedding pics. Gorgeous! Every once in a while I get the 'why didn't I have the big white dress?' pangs, but I tried some on and they just weren't me. Can't wait to see Jane's after that description!!! And OMG Rach, I think you got married at the same place as my arch nemesis! Tegan, the church you guys got married in looks lovely. Really modern...

Beany... we are waiting! :shame: :D

Yay for white gerberas and boos! Still working on the denim one. He he. Though am freaking out about money now as we got a letter yesterday saying our landlord is getting a valuation on the house next week. Gulp. We have the lease till January, but don't really want to move. :fingerscrossed: it's just so they can jack the rent up (which we expected) or that they sell to someone who wants to rent the house out.

Anyway, was just ducking in and out, but then saw your question, Tash. I had mine out about 18 months ago (three of them) under general. Gawd, I don't envy you at all, you poor thing. Just asked Dave about the anaesthetic and he said to make sure you tell them, but really it's fine. Just make sure you feed right before you go to theatre (or have the local) and then you'll have a good stretch of time where your milk is building up and the anaesthetic is getting more diluted. As for afterwards, digesic really worked for me and you can even take that when you're pregnant. :thumbsup:

cheekypossum
03-05-2007, 20:23
Hey

Jessi - how scary for you and Elsha...yeek, I just can't imagine how you felt

Jane - buying makeup....very envious

Noosa - I thought your wedding photos were beautiful...oh and chooks would be a wonderful pet to grow up with. My dad used to breed them and take them to chook show and all (yes, I am serious). So I was brought up with them, I even had one when it was little (as we used to take them away from the mums sometimes and keep them in my room), it used to follow me everywhere, I used to walk in the backyard pushing my doll in the pram and it used to just follow me everywhere...I named it Millie.....then it grew up and became a nasty rooster.....I remeber hiding in a cage one day and screaming for dad to come and get it.....he got his head chopped off :laughing: But seriously they are good pets

Shed - those naughty kids....next time hide EVERYTHING

Alli - Love you wedding dress.....such a vibrant colour

Wattle - glad to hear Steph is getting better.....Fantastic weddign photos

Ellen - Loved your wedding photos

lottiesmum - :smiliedance: for the sleep through

Beany - come on, you know you want to show us the photos

mumstar - Great wedding photos Tegan.

munchkin - Nice to hear that you are at Peace with your ex...it sounds like it is making your situation more relaxed....Poor Em, I hope she is OK

Monique - AWWWWW you beautiful lady....those photos are fantastic

Rach - Looks like you got married in a fairytale....so beautiful

amandaw - gee you sound so busy, hope you are getting enough rest

Thanks to Ellen, Noosa and Alli for the teeth advise....I am absolutely terrified....as long as I am asleep I dont care what they give me :D I thought I have been really lucky so far not to have had to bother with them, but alas, my luck has run out....why do with get the stupid things anyway????

Anyway, my munchkin is back awake....off to start the night duty....

Will try and pop on tomorrow with my wedding photos

cheekypossum
03-05-2007, 20:24
My big news - MY 'BOO ARRIVED TODAY!!! Woohoo! The topping didn't arrive though, so it's a nude 'boo for the time being. Why didn't anyone tell me I'd need an engineering degree to put the thing together though? It's all good now. I figured it out. Mostly. I think. Can't wait to get out and about with it tomorrow. Should probably take Miss K with me though hey?

:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Thought this deserved it's own post

Beany
03-05-2007, 20:28
Lousy day here.

I've got a sore throat and am coming down with something - don't know what. All I want to do is curl up in bed for a few weeks (!) but instead, I've been propping myself up in very uncomfortable positions so that I can't fall asleep. Vaguely nodded off twice and Asher bit my toe to wake me up. Which is better than some of the other things he could have done ... like, you know, burn the house down.

He's been getting braver about standing unaided today. He pulls himself upright and lets go for a few seconds at a time and then, instead of grabbing hold of something, he lowers himself to the floor. Good thigh muscles! Putting me to shame!

Had a look for the wedding pictures and I can't find them :eek: Well, part of me is :eek: and another part of me is :D

Did I mention I hated the wedding?

Bath is full. Off to flop in it for a while. Face down.

cheekypossum
03-05-2007, 20:55
Beany, hope you are enjoying your bath....don't fall asleep though in there :D

Ok here is an attempt to put my wedding photos up...I like Noosa have forgotten how to do the bracket thing

When someone has a chance, do you mind reminding me PLEASE

http://www.slide.com/r/QB6Jp6Q_uD_Y1a-rfeW7gXY59C2YdPpv?previous_view=mscd_embedded_url

cheekypossum
03-05-2007, 21:20
And just because I feel like sharing

http://www.slide.com/r/G_5UeHJ17T9xuv-SsYUglanEWaHt_g8d?previous_view=mscd_embedded_url

Beany
03-05-2007, 21:29
:laughing: check out Tash's husband grabbing her butt at every opportunity! And how old were you when you got married? 14? :eek:

Wattle: working at your own wedding, huh? LOVE the sax shot (re-checks that word 4 times for typo).

Alli: that's the first time I've seen gerberas being used as wedding flowers! It should happen more - they are such cheerful blooms.

My bath was cut short by a shorty wanting in on the action. Even though he'd already had his. Greedy guts. Had to let out the nice heat and sit in tepid water while he chewed on a duck and squealed. That's so much fun in a tiled bathroom with a mum who has a headache ...

Never mind, Noodle's taken pity on me and made spicy chicken soup for dinner. Dessert will soon follow: a true bogan dessert. Cake and custard yumyumyum!

cheekypossum
03-05-2007, 21:32
:laughing: :yes: we made jokes about the bum grabbing too.....he said it was because I don't have a waist....my bum was the only thing to hold on too :rolleyes:

wattle
04-05-2007, 03:01
how to do the brackets thingy

Click Post Reply

Click on the world icon with the chain.

A box will open up on your screen with 'Script prompt. Please enter the URL of your link'.

Type/paste in the link (eg photobucket address)

Click OK

The link will appear in your reply. Just type a word (any word you like) and it will go where the highlighted bit is, then press enter.

Hopefully that makes sense.

mum_I'm_hungry
04-05-2007, 07:48
He he. Thanks for that wattle, but my brain switched off after 'click post reply'. I'm definitely old now. Too old for new things. Speaking of which...

happybirthday to me. I'm 103.

Minus 70 years or so.

Mrs Potts
04-05-2007, 08:34
happybirthdayhappybirthday to Alli!
Sending you a cyber bunch of bright, happy gerberas! 103 huh? You don't look a day over 84.:laughing:
Hope you have an absolutely fabulous day and get spoiled rotten.

Beany - hope you're feeling better today and that you got some decent sleep last night.

Tash - great photos. Love the train track one.

No wisdom teeth here. Guess that means there's not much wisdom!

missie_mack
04-05-2007, 08:57
happybirthday :party: Happy Birthday Alli! Hope you get spoilt....

mumstar
04-05-2007, 09:10
HAPPY BIRTHDAY ALLI

HOPE YOU HAVE THE MOST FANTASTIC DAY EVER!

:party: :party: :party: :party:

wattle
happybirthday Alli. Pavlova for the big occaision? Watch out, you're catching up to Noos, Shed and I.:rolleyes:

mum_I'm_hungry
Thanks, kids! Off out for yum cha now and then having the parental figures over for Thai takeaway/Baskin & Robbins ice-cream cake tonight. Going to see Grumpy Old Women the stage show on Sunday with my mum and aunt and out for dinner after that as my b'day treat. Kids gave me some yummy body shop stuff and mum and dad showered me with Philosophy shower gels, which I luuuuurv. So, yes, quite spoilt. And full!

wattle
04-05-2007, 09:11
Far out mumstar......:eek: Thats wild.

mum_I'm_hungry
04-05-2007, 09:12
Ha ha! After all that pav talk, I seriously considered one, but then thought it wouldn't go with the Thai. Ice-cream goes with everything, however (even breakfast, I reckon!).

shed
04-05-2007, 09:26
Happy Birthday Alli!!!

Hope you have a luvverly day.

Uniquey
04-05-2007, 09:28
Alli happybirthday and HIP, HIP, HOORAY for a lovely day of Yum Cha.....very jealous!!!! Can you wheel a trolley down Canberra way for me please:D

Wattle
Wonderful news to hear Stephanie's better. I also have to say, what a sexy sax player! Beautiful Bride, beautiful photos!

Amandaw The photos were taken along the Brisbane River near the boardwalks at Newstead, New Farm etc. Our wedding reception was at Brisbane Riverside Hotel, formerly known as Powerhouse Boutique.

Tash Like Rach, you have olive skin to die for! Gorgeous against your white dress. I recognised all the places you were photographed too, again, another beautiful bride. Loved the piccies of Chloe, my word has she grown! The last time I saw her she was a dinky, little girl. I loved the Helmet head one and sleeping beauty.

Erica Where's my Boo, hoo hoo

Us: Well I have to say there are definate positives to living in a cold place. I have been cooking up a storm, big batch of potato, bacon and leek soup, pies, Thai green and red curries, lot's of vietnamese soups, ahh bliss for warming the belly. Lot's and lot's of cups of tea and coffee, something I have to watch. In Brisbane I drank copius amounts of water, but here I always reach for the kettle, not good for the ol kidneys.

mum_I'm_hungry
04-05-2007, 09:52
How are you liking it down there Monique? Apart from the cold, that is?! Boo to your no boo.

I'm having a nice morning here researching Laduree, a famous Parisian cafe where they have yummy macaroons and deciding whether my characters should purchase a Gulfstream III or IV. Looks like the Gulfstream III at this point. Sure all this info will be useful in my real life sometime soon... :laughing:

Right. Off to kick husband out of bed now. I want my yum cha!

Beany
04-05-2007, 09:59
Happy birfday Alli!

Ice cream cake, huh? *jealous*

amandaw
04-05-2007, 10:29
Our wedding reception was at Brisbane Riverside Hotel, formerly known as Powerhouse Boutique.

I remember that now....that's where our school formal was! We've got the boardwalk shots too....just in behind Customs House....will put on tomorrow

happybirthday ALLI...I'm coming to your place for Ice-cream cake YUMMMMM (My idea of icecream cake is to upend a 2L tub onto a plate and smoother with ice-magic, crushed peanuts and strawberries .....yum!!!!!!!!!!!) :D

biscotti
04-05-2007, 10:41
Amanda - aren't you supposed to be at school :shame: :D

Noosamum XX

biscotti
04-05-2007, 10:44
Happy Birthday
ALLI!! :party:

cheekypossum
04-05-2007, 10:53
HAPPY BIRTHDAY ALLI :party:

You sound like you are going to have such a great day :kiss:

Monique and Erica - thanks for the lovley comments about my photos.......Monique, your cooking sounds YUMMO...pity I am so far away :D

biscotti
04-05-2007, 10:53
Oh loved the last batch of wedding pics too - Cathy and Tash you are both gorgeous!! And Tash, Chloe is looking so much like a little girl now! Thanks for the chook info too! I think we might do the chooks, Noosa chooks, oh too funny but the kids have a special attachment to two chooks at their grandad's (Fluffy and PJ) and he said they could have them so we might just give them a go. I'm pretty sure we will be the only family where we live with backyard chooks!!!!

Beany - hope you are feeling better :yes:

Uniquey - I'm dropping in for some soup - yum!! That post had my mouth watering and so did Alli's - I've just eaten but now I'm starving again :rolleyes:

Shed - what happened in that last knit off - the one where you did that oh too cute puppy jumper?

Anyone seen mama anne about?? Waves to all our MIA mummies (and the newbies we seemed to have scared away also!).

Have a great day everyone,
Noosamum XX