View Full Version : Your breastfeeding experiences
I was just wondering about everyones breastfeeding experiences, and a few questions popped to mind.
Did you just KNOW you were going to breastfeed before your baby was born, or was it more of a 'give it a go' and see what happens kind of senario?
Was breastfeeding how you expected it would be? Easier/more difficult, more rewarding/less rewarding?
Do you think you had enough support in the early days to get things off to the best start?
If so, what was the best support?
If not, what support would you have liked?
What is/was your breastfeeding goal (if you had one) and did you achieve it? eg, 6months, one year, child led weaning....
If not, what problems/issues interfered with your goal?
Did you breastfeed your first baby?
If not, what made you decide to breastfeed this time?
Will you breastfeed again?
Terrible2+1cutie
02-01-2006, 06:58
I breastfed both my boys, Blaze i breastfed till he was 10 months old (I was 4 months pregnant with Bailey) when he weaned himself, Bailey i breastfed until he was 9 months old when he weaned himself. I love breastfeeding , i always knew i wanted to breastfeed for a number of factors the closeness you feel with your baby while breastfeeding and the longer you breastfeed the better it is for your baby. We plan on having 1 more kid and i plan on breastfeeding then too. I hope this helps. Also while breastfeeding Bailey i was doing weightwatchers and i lost weight fairly fast too.
Catherine
I breastfed my first 2 babies.. i dont ever remember giving it much thought. and i dont remember ever having any problems nor having any questions about it.
They were Bf till they were nearly 12 months old.
So it has been 7 years since my last bub.. i just had baby #3 and i just "assumed" i would b/f again with no troubles or questions asked.
However baby #3 is soooo different! i couldnt remember how to do anything, she had trouble attaching, my nipples were cracked/sore and bleeding.
i had soooo many questions this time round :confused:
I just thought it was weird how different babies could be.
We have it all worked out now.. pretty much. but thought it was weird.
SugarBlossom
02-01-2006, 09:59
I planned to b/f till 2 years when I was preg, and now that bubs is out I still want to or when hes ready to wean.
Had absolutly no dramas or probs in the beginning, or ever for that matter....and I know how lucky that is!! It just seemed like the easiest most natural thing in the whole preg/birth!
I love b/feeding and would not give it up for anything!
Will definatly b/f next baby
:D :D :D
alicesmum
02-01-2006, 10:07
Did you just KNOW you were going to breastfeed before your baby was born, or was it more of a 'give it a go' and see what happens kind of senario? I absolutely 100% planned and knew i was going to.
Was breastfeeding how you expected it would be? Easier/more difficult, more rewarding/less rewarding? A little harder at first than i expected, but not as tricky as some other mums have experienced.
Do you think you had enough support in the early days to get things off to the best start? Yes, and i had no real problems to speak of anyway. alice seemed to know exactly what to do. it was just about getting compfortable and tolerating those sore nipples for me, which was never going to stop me.
If so, what was the best support? My mum.
What is/was your breastfeeding goal (if you had one) and did you achieve it? eg, 6months, one year, child led weaning.... I had wanted to feed for 15-18 months, but she stopped at 11.5 months which made me sad! I sometimes still wish I could lie down with her and have a feed, but she looks at my boob these days like "what the hell is that?" :D
Will you breastfeed again? Absolutley and try for longer this time round.
- i just KNEW i was going to breastfeed, didn't even entertain the possibility of it being any different! the first few weeks were hard, but i'm really really glad we perservered through it, Andrew is 10 months now and we both still love it :)
- it was much more rewarding than i thought, i sort of thought it was just 'feeding' but now i know its so much more than that: comforting, fun, entertaining, bonding...i could go on and on. the older he gets the more fun it is, what with all the hair pulling and finger poking and funny looks!
- the midwifes at hospy were really supportive, and i really appreciated all the help with getting correct attachment etc. i found my mum to be the best support though, she suggested some different positions that ended up making it easier for us
- my original goal was 6 months, cos thats what my readings suggested was the bare minimum. now we are at 10 months and i seriously can't imagine stopping any time soon.
- i definitely intend to do it again with any future bubs :D
Nickster
02-01-2006, 10:55
Did you just KNOW you were going to breastfeed before your baby was born, or was it more of a 'give it a go' and see what happens kind of senario? I wanted to try, and really wanted it to be successful, and read a few books, but wasn't really sure what my personal experience would be.
Was breastfeeding how you expected it would be? Easier/more difficult, more rewarding/less rewarding? Very hard at first, especially being an anxious new mum (Is she getting enough? How often should she feed? etc - all those questions and more). I had a lot of soreness, but after seeing a private lactation consultant, and being a member of ABA, it all just got easier and easier. I'm so glad I put my baby's needs ahead of mine and persevered!Oh, and I never realised what a fantastic way it is to get your baby off to sleep!
Do you think you had enough support in the early days to get things off to the best start? I got a lot of conflicting advice from the middies at the hospital, but they were all very pro-BF at least!
If so, what was the best support?Apart from the medical profession, the best support I had was from my DH, and secondly from my Mum. They just kept reassuring me, and were fantastic for my confidence. The ABA helpline was also terrific.
What is/was your breastfeeding goal (if you had one) and did you achieve it? eg, 6months, one year, child led weaning....At first, I thought I'd only be able to stick it out for 6 months, but we are still breastfeeding, and will continue until Libby decides to wean - who knows when that will be?
Did you breastfeed your first baby?Libby is my first.
Will you breastfeed again?If I ever have another child, YES YES YES YES YES x 1,000,000!!!:D
I suppose I should answer my own questions!
Did you just KNOW you were going to breastfeed before your baby was born, or was it more of a 'give it a go' and see what happens kind of senario?
I knew, as I am blessed to have heaps of friends who breastfed, and it is just the norm for me.
After reading the 'Womanly art of breastfeeding while i was pregnant, I had a lot of confidance about how i was actually going to go about it, and knew i would persevere through pretty much anything.
Was breastfeeding how you expected it would be? Easier/more difficult, more rewarding/less rewarding?
It was a little harder to begin with than i expected, and the sore nipples with the skin stripped off multiple times was not much fun, but it all healed up after a few weeks, and became painless...bliss!
It was just SO much more rewarding than anything i could possibly have imagined, I think it is my absolute fav part of mothering.
Do you think you had enough support in the early days to get things off to the best start?
The only support i had was my midwife, she gave a couple of basic pointers, but luckily things just seemed to fall into place after those first difficult weeks.
My partner was also pretty good, he of course is all for breastfeeding, but I really think the oodles of reading i did during pregnancy helped immesurably.
I think I would have been wise to begin attending ABA while i was pregnant, but i didn't give it much thought, and i am glad i attend meetings even now.
What is/was your breastfeeding goal (if you had one) and did you achieve it? eg, 6months, one year, child led weaning....
My original goal was 2 years, and we are almost there, just 2 months to go now, but my goal now is child led weaning, so we will just wait and see how that progresses.
Yes
Absolutely!!:D
I wanted to breast feed before bub was born
It was more difficult than i expected. i went through low milk supply, breast refusal etc. at the beginning it was less rewarding because i had the baby blues and i was sitting on the couch for hrs but now its very rewarding :)
Do you think you had enough support in the early days to get things off to the best start? not really, i had heaps of ppl telling me to put him on the bottle all the time. i think if it wasnt for me reading these kind of forums i would have given up.
If so, what was the best support? the forums, my partner and ABA.
If not, what support would you have liked? the next baby i have if i have any problems i will be ringing a lactation consultant
mine was first 2months after breast refusal and having low milk supply, then it was 3months, then 4months and bub is now 4.5months and still breast feeding :) i had a goal for 2yrs, but my goal is now aslong as i can
If not, what problems/issues interfered with your goal? breast refusal, low milk supply.
Did you breastfeed your first baby? yes
Will you breastfeed again? definatly
Did you just KNOW you were going to breastfeed before your baby was born, or was it more of a 'give it a go' and see what happens kind of scenario?
I didn't realise it was optional LOL. I have boobs, they're designed to feed babies, so I'll feed my baby with my body just as I grew my baby with my body. The fear and misinformation about breastfeeding is so rife now that few women seem to believe that they can without massive problems and that's so sad! Have boobs, can feed!
It was much easier than I thought after all the women around me who "hoped" to bf. Of course I had initial difficulties with some things but it wasn't that big a deal considering that this was a relationship I expected to last quite a while and the only way to nourish my baby.
My milk didn't come in for a week owing to drugs and trauma so that was hard. My son was comp fed with a feedline attached to my breast for about 48 hours. I also caught an unbelievably bad ear infection in the hospital which made my face so swollen it dislocated my jaw! So I was well out of it for several days in that first week :(
DP, friend and neighbour who teed up the feedline, woke me up every few hours to feed my son and kept me going with food, drink and all that good stuff.
I don't think I lacked on that front :)
The goal was to bf :) I learnt about childled weaning after I started and thought it sounded in tune with all the research I'd done about how babies work and parenting.
I didn't know it was optional LOL. ;)
The big key is information, support and preparation! Too few of us have accurate information, enough support or do any preparation. Like birth, breastfeeding needs to be thought about and planned for.
02-01-2006, 13:08
I didnt really want to when i was pregnant, but knew it was best so thought i'd give it a go :o
It was so much harder at first than i could have ever expected, BUT i persevered, & now love every minute of it.
Midwives could have been a bit better & not so rough.
BUBHUB :D
Well, i said 6 weeks, that turned into a couple of months - now almost 8months on i'm aiming for child led weaning
Did you breastfeed your first baby?[QUOTE]
Doing it as we speak :)
[QUOTE]Will you breastfeed again?
IF i have another one then yep, surely will :D
RB
I was pretty adament I'd breastfeed, I would have been devestated if I had been unable to.
Breastfeeding always seemed so natural, incredibly easy (have NEVER experienced any pain or discomfort) and rewarding.
It came very naturally for me, lucky as I found all 'support' systems a complete flop.
:rolleyes:
I didn't need any, so don't really know.
My goal is a year but if it dosen't interfere with trying for baby #2 I'd continue breastfeeding till 18 months.
This is my first child.
:rolleyes:
Yes.
Foxymoron
02-01-2006, 14:13
I was under the impression that it was all a wonderful, easy thing, so it never occured to me not to bf. When I had such huge difficulty feeding when when I became Determined!
Nope, it was a shock and a huge learning curve for both my DD and I. I persisted through 12 weeks of painful feeds, nipple sheilds etc... Then one morning we had an easy feed, and DD popped off my boob briefly to flash me a grin.. that moment has always stayed with me, it was my reward for all the pain!
Hell no! My MCHN asked if I'd like to wean DD when she was 6 days old :eek: I hired my own LC and things got better from there.
If so, what was the best support? A private LC :)
I wish I'd had some info in those mothers bags about what problems you could have with feeding, I think my postnatal crash was due by and large to having no knowledge of what challenges BF may present!
My goal with DD back then was a year, which we made, though she was weaning at that stage.
If not, what problems/issues interfered with your goal? My DS was a whole different kettle of fish- his BF problems were more profound... In hindsight knowing all the developmental problems he has and his autism I'm not suprised that 5 months of attemped BF didn't work out... thank goodness for breast pumps!
Sure did :D
ROFL!!! I haven't STOPPED yet... DD number 3 was born with ease and breastfed with as much ease... She still hasn't weaned yet and I am 29 weeks preg with DS no.4. I think I have a few more years of BF in me yet.
and apologies to JanetF, whose formatting I have pinched - thanks
Did you just KNOW you were going to breastfeed before your baby was born, or was it more of a 'give it a go' and see what happens kind of scenario?
I just assumed that I would BF. I didn't buy bottles, a steriliser or anything like that.
It was much more difficult than I thought it would be. Janet, I love your positivity, but I am one of those who had TREMENDOUS trouble BF, and I think if I had known how hard it could be, I wouldn't have been so distressed by our difficulties with it. I knew it could take time, I knew it could be uncomfortable if your attachment wasn't right, but I was told if you have good attachment - no worries. That was not true for me.
DD1 had a tongue tie and receding chin, which made it incredibly difficult for her to attach. My nipples were also very flat, which also made for trouble. We expressed and bottle fed her EBM for the first 5 weeks (I think). During this time, her attachment did not improve, due to nipple confusion, and it wasn't until we tried nipple sheilds again that I could finally BF her. We weaned her off nipple shields, but it was about the 3.5 month mark before feeding was pain free. My pain was not due to poor attachment. DD1 had to "remodel" my nipples which involved huge cracks (only on one side - Thank God), but I felt better about it knowing that once the cracks healed over, my nipples were that much longer and easier to attach to. A private LC that I could trust and respect was worth her weight in gold, without her I would have given it all away.
But this isn't supposed to be a bad news story, I wanted to share to let ppl know that you can have the tremendous BF problems that I had and still exclusively BF your baby.
No, the hospital I was in was HOPELESS, every midwife had a different attachment technique. The private LC that my paed organised for me was GOLD. CHN were HOPELESS (they would contradict LC and paed).
What is/was your breastfeeding goal (if you had one) and did you achieve it? eg, 6months, one year, child led weaning
My goal was between 3 - 6 months. With both babies I got to 6.5 months before starting to replace BF with FF. I surprised myself :D .
Yep, she did most of the remodelling.
I also BF DD2, she felt the need to remodel the OTHER side (at least now I have a matching pair). If there were to be more babies - yes.
the_queen
02-01-2006, 15:32
Like others have said, I never thought about not breastfeeding. When I was 21 weeks pregnant, after a couple of ultrasounds, our baby was diagnosed with a cleft lip and palate, and I was told by male specialists that I should "not even bother trying" to breastfeed because I just wouldn't be able to. Some of them actually seemed surprised that I was so upset about not breastfeeding. But after speaking to the Breastfeeding Association, and the female midwives, I was determined to at least give it a go, and if it didn't work out, then I'd express.
Luckily for us, when Vally was born she had a cleft lip only, ie her palate was unaffected. Which meant that breastfeeding was very possible. We were in the hospital for a week after she was born, for the sole purpose of getting breastfeeding started. (In retrospect, I also liked having food brought to me and the dirty dishes taken away.. but that's another story :p ) I think because we had to really perservere, and because it was really tough to get started, it was definately more rewarding for me. I felt a sense of accomplishment, and also it was a bit "up yours" to all those male specialists who didn't think it mattered how the baby was fed.
DEFINATELY. Vallerie was born at the Lyell McEwen Hospital in Elizabeth S.A., and when I told the midwives that I wanted to breastfeed, there was never EVER any kind of discouragement from them. The ABA gave me pamphlets and "instruction booklets" about feeding a cleft-affected baby. The Child & Youth Health nurses helped me tremendously, and I was constantly praised for giving my baby the best start in life.
After Vallerie's first surgery at 14 weeks old, she didn't want to go back on the breast (fair enough considering the stitches inside and outside her top lip and nose:( ) but the nurses at the Women's and Children's Hospital in Adelaide were very supportive. I expressed pretty much constantly, we kept trying to get her to attach over and over again. We left the hospital still bottle-feeding her EBM. It was then I really leant on the C&YH nurses in Salisbury, the team who specifically dealt with breastfeeding problems. I saw one lady 4 days in a row to try to get Vally back on the boob, and she finally sent me to stay at Torrens House (kinda like a sleep school) where the midwives there were MAGNIFICENT and did everything possible to try to get her attached again. And on the last day of our stay, when I had a bit of a "mental health episode" they were very very kind and very very helpful and didn't make me feel like I'd failed at all.
In retrospect I would have liked more support from my husband. But he was supportive in his own way, he didn't discourage me, he didn't whine about wanting to feed the baby, he was there for me in his own "passive" way.
My initial goal was to breastfeed until her first surgery - to give her immune system a really good boost. I knew it would be hard after her mouth had changed shape, so anything after that was a bonus. She got quite a bit of EBM in the 2 weeks after her surgery, so I consider that an achievement.
The surgery, the stitches, etc etc. Also, with the post-operative care regime, the stares and comments from strangers, just being 22 yrs old and having all this stress and responsibility, my milk supply dwindled and I just couldn't express enough to give her :( :( I still cry about this sometimes.
Vallerie was my first baby.
I'm 22 weeks along in this pregnancy and so far the ultrasounds have shown no cleft (WOO HOO!) of course they can't see the palate, and if the palate is cleft then we'll have to re-evaluate my breastfeeding goals this time around. But, all being "normal", I am sooooo determined to breastfeed this time. Some will say that I'm doing it "more for myself than the baby" but I don't care what they think. It probably will bring "closure" to my grief, that I'm able to successfully and easily breastfeed Chomper. If I can do it. I don't want to get my hopes up too high, in case s/he does have a cleft palate. But, I can't see into the future, I just have to make plans for the "best case" and "worst case" scenario's. "Best case"? I'll breastfeed until s/he weans him/herself. "Worst case"? I'll express until s/he has surgery, and anything after that is a bonus.
Sorry, I probably sound a bit "sorry for myself" in parts..... Thanks for reading.
02-01-2006, 15:47
Just wanted to say to the_queen your story is beautiful, it brought tears to my eyes. Congrats on a wonderful job with Vallerie, goodluck with new bub :)
RB
DD1 had a tongue tie and receding chin, which made it incredibly difficult for her to attach. My nipples were also very flat, which also made for trouble.
These are those unknown variables we just have to work around aren't they? So many women have tongue tied babies who are never dx and so bf never gets together. In terms of flat nipples, well same here :) I don't think any nipple type is inherently problematic because if it were there'd be no gene for it because us flat nippled women's babies wouldn't have made it to pass them on. Evolution is clever like that! Interestingly, epidurals and the large amount of fluid you need to have in your system to cushion you against the likelihood of your BP bottoming out can make nipples much flatter and harder to latch onto. As well as drugging the baby of course.
A bit of consistency among those supposedly caring for us wouldn't go astray either!
I wonder where all you women got the idea bf was easy? The mainstream portrayal is of massive difficulties, bleeding nipples, you should buy formula for "just in case" when you're pregnant! All I ever heard was horror stories LOL.
Foxymoron
02-01-2006, 19:27
:) I never KNEW a woman who breastfed, not even in my own family! I didn't discover forums until after I had my first child, and I never went to a prenatal class :o
I was a total ignoramus!
bubbles28
02-01-2006, 20:23
I knew well before my bub was born that I was going to breastfeed(if I could). I had a family history of allergies so I wanted to do my best to prevent my son getting them.
It was quiet a bit harder than expected in the beginning. I had problems with cracked nipples and thrush. However my son attached right from the word go, so there was no problem in that way. To be honest it is not as rewarding as I thought it would be. I find it to be hard work as my DS fights it all the time as he prefers the bottle. I can't say I'm one of those mothers who enjoy BF, I really just stuck with it for the sake of my son.
The hospital nurses were great while I was in there, they showed my the correct attachment procedures, positions etc,. I had no support for when I got home, luckly by then I sort of had the idea.
Support from CHN
My inital goal was 12mths, however my DS started to slowly wean himself from 6mths. He is now almost 11mths and only on 1BF a day, and thats a struggle. But I guess I will make it to 12mths even if it is only 1 BF a day.
Self weaning due to the introductiond of a bottlebecause of weight loss issues.
Yep
Definately
Just wanted to pop my head in and say great thread, Ang! I'm really enjoying reading everyone's experiences! :)
The big key is information, support and preparation! Too few of us have accurate information, enough support or do any preparation. Like birth, breastfeeding needs to be thought about and planned for.
Hear Hear, Janet! I get so sick of hearing 'What if you just can't do it? All the research in the world isn't going to help you then!' Well, all of you have just proven that it certainly isn't going to hurt. ;)
Nickster
02-01-2006, 20:43
I wonder where all you women got the idea bf was easy? The mainstream portrayal is of massive difficulties, bleeding nipples, you should buy formula for "just in case" when you're pregnant! All I ever heard was horror stories LOL.
My mother breastfed me until I was 9 months old, and my brother until he was 6 months old (the dr. told her to wean him because it would be too "tiring" for her BF'ing with 2 children:rolleyes: ).
My grandmother breastfed my mother and my aunt. My MIL breastfed my DH and his brother.
I used to work as a nanny for one particular family, and the mum breastfed her 1 year old. In front of me. That was a real eye-opener. Totally awesome!
I just always assumed I would BF too. Like Janet, I didn't believe there was another option, and my mum really championed my decision. I'm not sure how she feels about me still breastfeeding Libby at 13 months, though, but I don't care!
I liked Janet's notion that breastfeeding is something you really need to prepare for. I was pretty caught up in the whole prospect of giving birth, and although I read about breastfeeding, I didn't focus too much on it - I wish in hindsight I had given myself more preparation.
But regardless of that, I think I'm doing pretty well!
Queenie, your tale is truly inspirational!:D
I think we're all doing great! :D
A few years ago the ABA helped the orangutans at Melb Zoo learn to bf. Born in captivity they'd never seen it so they didn't know what to do. I don't think most of us see very much breastfeeding going on either and that has to have an impact on us. I saw my mum bf and I'm sure that was good for me. My sis was weaned at 9 months for unknown reasons. Incidentally, an orangutan who had a c-sec recently had to have her baby taken away and adopted because she never recognised it as her own. How sad! :(
moonblossom
02-01-2006, 22:37
I never saw anyone breastfeed in my family, but it came very natural to me, but i'm about the only one :S My oldest sister didnt breastfeed her two girls because she had a di*khead of a husband who in no certain terms told her they were HIS...i mean WHAT THE...and my second sister just chose not too because she said only animals did that...LOL. What a difference from me. I cannot understand them at all. I am in a milky wonderland and enjoy it so much when I do. It is one of the most things i'm looking forward too when this LAST one is born, yes LAST lol
It was difficult to get into a routine with my first born because back then you listened to everything the midwives told you, and frankly they didnt do a good job because basically most baby's were bottle fed back then.
But I managed to keep going for six months and the next one born, I ignored everything and just did what came naturally to me. When my sisters were preparing bottles, my youngster was guzzling away LOL
Helping Orangutangs to BF - I think that's cool :D .
Oh and I don't have flat nipples anymore (I think I prefer them this way too :) ).
Hey JanetF, have you ever heard of ppl using nipple sheilds to try and correct flat nipples before birth? Is it worth doing? I had thought about it, but was told that if your nipples could come become erect, it wouldn't be a problem (but DDs reorganised them for me anyway :D ).
Goosie22
03-01-2006, 16:31
I was Determined to stick with it to 6 months as a starting goal. I read everything there was to read about Breastfeeding, went to ABA before baby was born. Went to privat LC classes. And armed myself with combacks for people who wanted to tell me to do the wrong thing.
It was tricky to start with but I stuck to my guns in the early days. I did find it a little boring but when they started to wake up it was good.
I am not the "support type" as my sister says I like to do everything myself and If it turns out to be difficult I just try harder(aries;) ).
I found the best support for me was information that what I was doing was the best thing for my babies. It didn't matter what difficulties showed up I could do it because that is what my Babies deserve.
I think the real support of your partner is very important and has been identifed in several government studies into the drop off around 6 weeks in Breastfeeding stats. Also for support people to understand your goals and help you stick to it and not cave in when the going gets a little harder.
Like I said I had 6 months as my initail goal but I was ultimately aiming higher. With my first I feed him to 3+ and he weaned himself. With number 2 he feed to 15 months and self weaned against my advice( so I pumped untill he wouldn't drink EBM which was about 16months)
No problems just that my goal and Number 2's goal were different by about 2 years:rolleyes: but I will get over it.;)
Kaileysmum
04-01-2006, 10:51
Hello, Just saw this thread, thought Id add my experiences, just want to add dd has been formular feed since day 5.
1. Did you just KNOW you were going to breastfeed before your baby was born, or was it more of a 'give it a go' and see what happens kind of senario?
Before she was born, I knew I wanted to bf, I thought it would be easy (boy was I wrong!!)
2. Was breastfeeding how you expected it would be? Easier/more difficult, more rewarding/less rewarding?
I thought it would be easy and rewarding. But I had the total opposite, it was hard and I hated it.
3. Do you think you had enough support in the early days to get things off to the best start?
I had a bit of support, but I dont think it helped as the midwifes just attached her for me all the time when I aked for help.
4. If not, what support would you have liked?
I would have liked to be show how to do it properly, as I have semi-flat nipples I needed more advise on that aswell.
5. What is/was your breastfeeding goal (if you had one) and did you achieve it? eg, 6months, one year, child led weaning....
I wanted to bf until 6 months, didnt happen at all.
6. If not, what problems/issues interfered with your goal?
Hated it, dd and me was to stressed, couldnt attach due to semi-flat nipples and engorement made my nipple flat, so she couldnt attach, then she'd scream cause she was hungry.
7. Did you breastfeed your first baby?
This is my first, bf until day 5.
8. Will you breastfeed again?
Yes, Im going to try again, going to get more help, and go to a LC
Thats my story with bf.
E
Hi E
Thanks so much for sharing. Isn't it sad that when we ask for help, no-one seems to suggest a LC. None of the midwifes at my hospital did and it was only at the urging of my VERY pro BF paed that I actually made a call.
I was a mess, I didn't think I could take my baby home (but I didn't want to stay in hospital). My OB actually told me I wasn't ready to go home (had a melt down with him). The LC was there within an hour, explained why I was having so many problems and what I needed to do, put together a plan for feeding DD1 EBM, kyboshed the requirement to buy a steriliser if we were feeding EBM (a mid wife had insisted we should) and made me feel so much better about my capability as a Mum. I left the hospital that afternoon, feeling so much better after my 1 hour appointment with her than all the talking to the midwives that I'd done over the 5 days I was in hospital. A good LC that you can relate to and believe in is GOLD :) .
Having said that, the fact that DH took 6 weeks off was also a critical factor. I don't think I could have kept up the trying to attach, feeding EBM and then expressing by myself for the 5 - 6 weeks it took to get her BF. I would try to attach her (and fail mostly), then he would feed her EBM while I expressed (even at 3 am in the morning - bless him). A support person is also GOLD when you are having attachment problems.
I don't want to divert too much but after reading Ewells story, can I just ask a quick question? As a mum-to-be who is VERY pro-BF (I tell people I plan to do it until she's 5yo and get very strange looks from people ;)) I'd like to know what you think is the best thing to do in preparation.
I am a member of the ABA and will start attending meetings in the new year. I have all the recommended books and hope to get some videos. Should I talk to a LC before the baby comes or is ABA enough? Should I have the name and number of a good LC on hand?
Though I don't know too many other mums in Sydney (except bubhubbers) and don't have family here, my husband is very supportive and a close relative (albeit in another state) is an ABA counsellor so I think I'm ok in the support dept.
Peaceangels
04-01-2006, 11:20
Just KNEW - after all it is what nature intended! I had heard a few horror stories (as you do), but was determined nonetheless to give it a go.
I expected it to be easy, but I was in for a surprise. I had cracked/bleeding nipples for 5weeks and found it difficult in the beginning, but I perservered and (was glad I did) as it was the most rewarding experience.
Yes, the midwives in hospital were fantastic and I went back to the hospital to see a lactation nurse a few weeks later which really helped answer all my questions.
Lactation nurse, DH, sis and my mum.
What is/was your breastfeeding goal (if you had one) and did you achieve it?
My goal with DS1 was 1year, but then I fell pg with DS2 when #1 was 6mths old and had shocking morning sickness so had to wean him at 8mths.
Yes I bf both.
Not planning any more bub's, but if I did have another one, then YES absolutely I would breastfeed again!
Hi Cosmic
I don't want to divert too much but after reading Ewells story, can I just ask a quick question? As a mum-to-be who is VERY pro-BF (I tell people I plan to do it until she's 5yo and get very strange looks from people ;)) I'd like to know what you think is the best thing to do in preparation.
Personally I would get the contact details for a good LC, because when you need her, you need her NOW. I don't think that you need to see her though, because you'll probably only need her if you're having difficulties and you won't know what those are until your baby arrives.
Apart from that you're doing well (better prepared than I was). The ABA is great for support and tips on a wide range of parenting issues and it would be great to get to know your local group before baby arrives, but IMO, if you are having technical difficulties, a LC is the only way to go. And you might both take to it like a duck to water, so I don't think that you need do anything else just yet.
Thanks X... I hope that duck to water thing happens for me! :)
Cosmic the preparation I did was seminars, watching videos, reading lots of books and making sure I had a handle on what seemed the basics to me - attachment and positioning. :)
rachdent
04-01-2006, 13:07
Hi gals
Well, I figured, since I'd asked so many of you to contribute stories and photos to my bf book, I should respond to this post:
Yes, I was always determined to breastfeed. I told everyone that I was going to breastfeed no matter what and I had so many people tell me, 'that's really great, but be prepared that you might not be able to and don't feel guilty about it.' However, to me, not succeeding at breastfeeding was just not an option.
I think all in all breastfeeding was as I expected. I had a few difficulties to start with - although I definately didn't expect the five bouts of mastitis I got - and mostly really enjoy my breastfeeding experiences. The looks I get from ds when he is bf are priceless. And I love it in the middle of the night when we feed and he stretches up to kiss me.
Yes, I was lucky. I had great midwives and the full support of my hubby and mum - they did all the housework, cooking, etc and gave me the chance to properly establish feeding. the best thing was no one ever suggested I try put him on formula - I think that knocks the confidence of many women.
I think I answered that above.
Initially I planned to breastfeed for about 18months, but now I know so much more about bf and I plan to let ds make the moves.
Thanks everyone for your answers, it was really interesting reading.
Was determined to bf for the first 6 weeks and then see what happened. Am now determined to feed til 12mths and then see what happens
Easier than I expected, altho there were some issues and definitely more rewarding
Yep. DH was great, his cousin was great (a midwife) and the midwives at the hospital were great
DH. MIL was the worst
What is/was your breastfeeding goal (if you had one) and did you achieve it? eg, 6months, one year, child led weaning.... [12mths atm
[/COLOR]If not, what problems/issues interfered with your goal?
this ismy first
yep, if i am blessed with another