View Full Version : April Chat
mamabearof3
24-04-2007, 15:35
Since we've been getting a chatty bunch though it might be good if we have a thread per month??
What do you think.
Go ahead.
Kangaskippy
24-04-2007, 16:32
sounds like a great idea.
24-04-2007, 16:45
Good idea :thumbsup:
I'm sitting here, just finished feeding bub, and she just blew a raspberry on my breast :laughing: Weird!!!
Anyhoo off to make dinner :wizard:
Does anyone know if the post office is open tomorrow?
charlen49
25-04-2007, 07:51
:no: it shouldnt be its Anzac Day
Morning Hunter Yummy Mummies.
I am awaiting some fluffy mail but I am guessing posties have the day off today too :thumbsup: Good on them, I couldnt think of a worse job..
I worked last night and finished @1030 but would have finished later but the chef helped me with table settings thank god otherwise it would have been a long night....
Valentine Cheers to the diggers and there familys. Happy ANZACS day to all.
Kangaskippy
25-04-2007, 14:02
Not much happening here...due to the weather...having a quiet one at home...
:wave: to all...
25-04-2007, 14:12
:eek: how cold is it... i havent had goose bumps for months:D ... it stopped raining long enough for zoes nappies to dry...thank god, i only had 3 left:eek: :eek:
25-04-2007, 14:44
BJ, last winter I had to invest in a heated towel rack to help dry the nappies! It's pretty good, energy efficient (better that a clothesdryer anyway), and it was only $40 :smiliedance:
Except I never have a nice warm towel because there's always damn nappies on the thing!
It is getting cold, might have to drag the gas heater out of the shed soon. Tonight preferably.... I don't like going in there tho because there's a rat in there :eek:
Kangaskippy
25-04-2007, 17:57
BJ, last winter I had to invest in a heated towel rack to help dry the nappies! It's pretty good, energy efficient (better that a clothesdryer anyway), and it was only $40
Except I never have a nice warm towel because there's always damn nappies on the thing!
What a great idea...!!! smart thinking.:thumbsup:
Hey Girls
I'm just waiting for a high chair to finish on ebay. We BADLY need one for Hannah but bidding is a nightmare on dialup! I keep getting my brother to do it for me but I think he's getting sick of me ringing him and asking him! lol Wish me luck, so hard to be the last bidder when your computer is as slow as a snail :thumbsdown:
Not much going on today. Matt took Bai and Liv to the dawn service in Cardiff this morning, and I stayed in my PJs until 1.30pm, when friends rang and said they were coming to visit, and were about 2 minutes away! :eek: Thankfully they got lost and had to ring, otherwise they would have seen me in my pjs and our messy house! Its amazing how quickly you can clean up when you know someone's five minutes away, lol .
x Kate
millymoo
26-04-2007, 09:57
Sounds like everyone felt the cold the last few days...even me the Pommie did too. My blood must be thinning already!
I find it really hard to dry towels here and they smell too very quickly.....winter is the worst, need a dryer really but trying to save.
H x
charlen49
26-04-2007, 12:11
i was freezing yesty ( not a lover of the cold...though bub is..like her father!).dp made a nice casserole last night 4 t which warmed the belly a bit last night.......and tonight im making soup
26-04-2007, 14:52
It has been getting chilly latey, so I went out today in a tracksuit thinking I'd be sung and warm - and it got hot didn't it :rolleyes:
Helen, that photo iin your avatar is just stunning! Have you got a larger version to show us :D
millymoo
26-04-2007, 15:56
Well funny enough it will upload to the avatar but not onto profile. I will try and do it thru photobucket but they are doing some site maintenance at mo.:banghead:
There are some great ones in my pack so thought I might change it every week!
H x
charlen49
26-04-2007, 21:15
Well funny enough it will upload to the avatar but not onto profile. I will try and do it thru photobucket but they are doing some site maintenance at mo.:banghead:
There are some great ones in my pack so thought I might change it every week!
H x
helen if it wont up load.its too large ..you will have to reduce its size....i have to do it for all my pics..:fingerscrossed: this helps
kailebsmummy
27-04-2007, 07:06
Happy 1st Bday Kaileb
charlen49
27-04-2007, 07:23
happybirthday Kaileb...hope you have a lovely day!
Sheer Bliss
27-04-2007, 08:07
happybirthday Kaileb!! Have a great day.:party:
I know what you mean about the cold - having to start getting up in the middle of the nigth for feeds when it is this cold is just mad!! And DH wants to 'do something' to get out of the house!! Think we might go to the indoor play thingy tomorow, time it for when Nick will be asleep!
DH got up this morning with Charli at 6:30, so i got to sleep until 7:30 - was so nice! But i'd better go and hop in the shower (i am so lazy - lol) so i can wake Nick at 9:30.
millymoo
27-04-2007, 08:26
happybirthday Kaileb xx
mummyof5
27-04-2007, 08:59
happybirthday Kaileb!
How freakin cold is it today then?? Feels like the middle of winter already, DH is coming home this afternoon (I love Friday's:D ), and his first job is to clean out the fireplace and start one burning (he does it much better than me, well that's my excuse anyway...), will be much toastier in here then!
Yay Kaileb. Happy b'day little man happybirthday
kailebsmummy
27-04-2007, 09:26
Speaking of cold, we have swimming lessons today:crying: . Lucky for him, he loves them but I hate going, so cold.
27-04-2007, 14:32
happybirthday Kaileb!!!:smiliedance:
I hated swimming lessons too. The chlorine is gross :barf: I survived it for a whole year before I'd had enough though!
Sheer Bliss
27-04-2007, 15:22
It's too darn wet & cold to dry the nappies too. :eek: But it's a good excuse to get the gas heater pumping to get them dry!!
Oh, and Nick was weighed today - 440g in 8 days! WOW! he is back above his birthweight now, so that's great.
mummyof5
27-04-2007, 19:26
Yay Nick!! Doing a great job there Tan. Well done.
mamabearof3
28-04-2007, 20:59
Congratulations Tanya, you are doing so well growing him so fast, he'll be big in no time flat at that rate. Hopefully the middle of the night feeds will shorten soon and then no longer doing them.
Zoe great idea for the heated towel rail. We are going to renovate our bathroom soon so I must try and make sure that is in the budget for one fixed to the wall. But a portable one is a good idea. Was that $40 new
Yay Nick :smiliedance: Chubby bubby may be heading your way Tan..
Its a clearer day today but a bit of a chill coming threw. James has been sick and been pooping about 12 times a day of late so nappies are definatly not drying in this weather.
Charlie has chicken pox which seem to be healing but we are all feeling a bit grose and it doesnt help I have had to work 4 days this week :( WHY CANT EVERYTHING BE FREE??!!!
Well I have to run.
I have :fingerscrossed: that I can make it on thursday. I am worried about fuel this week as it is a short week... Plus I owe Pheonixs mum money for nappies (only 20) but I cant let her down :no:
I hope to see you all soon...
Z, I still have no idea what or where it is that we are going on thursday. I know what it is called but yer I am having a blonde moment...lol
Hi Girls!
We just got back from a great weekend in Sydney. On Friday night I had my TAFE graduation ceremony thing. I finished my Cert IV Business Management (Human Resources) before Chrissy so got the certificate for that. My parents came up from Melbourne for it too, so it was good to spend the weekend with them, and without the kids!
No interruptions all weekend- we could sit in a restaurant long after eating, having endless coffees, without any whinging kids wanting to go home, or go to the toilet, or go somewhere more fun, or wanting another drink, or ice cream, etc etc etc! It was SO nice! We have to do it more often I think! lol :thumbsup: We weren't with my parents all the time thankfully, we managed to get some time to ourselves too! Valentine :laughing:
Holchajam- sounds like you have a sicky house right now. I hope everyone gets better soon...
Tanya- its great to hear Nick's picking up and putting on the pounds! Hannah took about 6 weeks to get above her birthweight so I know the relief you'd feel from getting him to that point. Yey to Nick!
Happy Birthday to Kaileb for the other day! I hope he had a great day!
x Kate
charlen49
30-04-2007, 06:30
Nice to see u back Kate and congrats on ur graduation. Sounds like you had anice weekend without the kiddies!
Holchajam...hope the sick kiddies are feeling better soon!
millymoo
30-04-2007, 09:05
Hi Kate
:party: Congrats on such a great achievement. Are you coming on Thurs? Be good to see you again.
Tanya are you coming on Thurs....perhaps a bit of a way. Glad you are all doing well.
Milly full of cold and hope she gets better for Thurs. Think she will.
Want to type more but DD1 and DD2 back from 2 weeks with their dad...he has gone back to UK now and they are:crying: lots!!
BBl I hope
XXXXXXXX
charlen49
30-04-2007, 09:42
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: 4 u and ur daughters Helen(sml and big ones!)
millymoo
30-04-2007, 15:23
Thanks...they have had lots of hugs but slowly returning to old selves! Won`t take long but good to be 5 again...getting too quiet with 3!
Congrats Kate or your graduation :smiliedance:
Lots of hugs Helen for all the girls. I bet it is tough.
I double "are you coming Tanya". It would be so good to meet little nick. I promise we wont spead germs...lol
Take care all
30-04-2007, 16:51
Congrats on your graduation Kate :smiliedance:
*sigh* no motivation to cook anything for dinner! I wish we had some pies in the freezer or something :banghead:
Getting chilly now isn't it!
What did everyone do today?
I made some nappies for my SIL - those of you who met her at the park last week will know her, Leighsa. She's such a lazy Bubhubber. Must tell her she has to post in this thread!
millymoo - she is a photographer next time you need photos :D
Gosh I love that one you have in your avatar right now, there's something about it.....it's just eyecatching!
I was at my nan and pops all day today. I was helping them clear out before they move again :thumbsdown: I got lots of good stuff though. Lots of material and sewing stuff :thumbsup:
mummyof5
30-04-2007, 18:49
Gotta love freebies from the relo's hey Rian.:yes:
My day was full of excitment, I stayed home and did chores after getting up at 4.30 am to see hubby off on his way back to work...and to make my week, he is at sea 'till Saturday, so no hope of me getting out to Denman:crying: .
On a brighter note, Jock managed to get his own socks on correctly this morning!! We all got so excited, that we cheered.
What else, planted some more vege's, weeded, washed, baked biccies. Domestic stuff..
On a brighter note, Jock managed to get his own socks on correctly this morning!! We all got so excited, that we cheered.
UMMM might sound silly, but do you get socks wrong? lol
01-05-2007, 05:15
he is at sea 'till Saturday, so no hope of me getting out to Denman:crying: .
oh well always next year:D
im thinking i might take my kids for a few hours then drop them off so i can get seriously trashed, and perhaps get into a drunken argument with a stranger:D .. oh wait thats what i do all the time:laughing: ...
01-05-2007, 08:07
Last time I went out before bub was born, actually before I was pg, got so trashed, this chick wasn't watching where she was going, stood on my toe with her stilletto heel :eek: , then was really rude about it, and me being me decided it would be fun to start something :rolleyes: , well it turned out she was the owner of the clubs girlfriend! Whoops :o Haven't been back there since........ (mainly just cause I've been b/f so haven't goine out!)
Windy here today and I AM BORED. Nothing to do ALL DAY. *sigh*
Good morning girls!
I'm having a quiet day today. I just have to be at school at 2 this arvo. Bailey's been elected as a school coucillor :smiliedance: The whole class votes and she won! So I'm very proud of her. She gets her badge etc at an assembly this afternoon. Its great that after only one term at the school that the others have accepted her so well.
The downside is its making Liv feeling even worse. She hates school and is finding it hard to settle in still. She really misses her old school in Melbourne, so I think that's blocking her from really putting in any effort with friendships etc. So she plays on her own a lot and whinges every morning that she hates school. Its really sad to see her like that. I don't know what else to do to help her. We keep inviting school friends over and she doesn't mind that, but didn't want anyone over during the holidays. We've also kept her previous friendships open, and I even sat down with her last night so she could write letters to her Melbourne friends. I've been telling her its ok to miss her old friends, and that her new ones aren't to replace the old friends, but she's still not convinced and is holding back on getting close to anyone in her class. Any ideas, anyone? :confused:
Hmm, this has turned into a bit of a vent! Sorry about that!
UMMM might sound silly, but do you get socks wrong? lolI suppose you can get them upside down so the ankle bit is on top :confused:
Phineas- that's so funny! I would have got cranky about the toe squashing thing too though. :rolleyes:
Hi to everyone else!
x Kate
mummyof5
01-05-2007, 09:18
UMMM might sound silly, but do you get socks wrong? lol
You'd be surprised, really. They are wiggle socks, so have pics on them, and usually he gets them all skewif and yells loudly, while trying to untangle his toes!! Will only wear about 4 pairs in his drawer though, which are all wiggle and Bob, so can't just give him plain ones and be done with it:banghead: .
Kate that is a bummer about Liv having a hard time adjusting to the new school. Matilda had some issues like that, took her longer to open up to having friends when we first came back to Sydney, but it will eventually happen, :fingerscrossed: it is sooner than later.
:yelclap: for Bailey too!
charlen49
01-05-2007, 09:54
:hugs: 4 ur dd kate...it is hard when they are older( i have seen it from the teacher side when new older kids come to a new school)..what u a re doing is great and she will eventually blend to her new school..how long has it been since you mooved back to nsw???
oh....i just had a quck breeze over ur blog( i will have a better look when i have the time u know how it is)...its very impressive..i thought ur picks were digi scrap..what program do u use?.i use photoshop....i love doing didgi scrap when i have the time and inclination..havent done any for a while...i have a link on my zoints profile if u want to have a look..i like it because ther is no cleaning up!;)
congrats on ur daughter getting elected by her class by the way. My eldestdd( to everyones surprise..is right into public speaking and last year got to zone level for it..she is loving debating this year and i think she may have a talent for it..anyhow she has been asked to speak at the local highschool near her school in education week..im very proud of her......i certainly didnt have the guts at her age to get up and speak in front of a hall full of people that for sure
mamabearof3
01-05-2007, 12:49
Had our worst night for ages with AJ last night. Up about 6 times and today she has been very cranky.
I walked Mr A to school today and she went to sleep on the way home. It didn't take as long to get there and back as I thought it would. I wondered which house was yours Bec as I went down your street.
Oh I wish I was coming Thursday, I wish I had my car too, but it will be 2-3 weeks. I'm doing a Tupperware thing though so some yummy food for lunch and some friends so I'm not totally housebound. I do hope my car i back before Mother's Day so I can head to Sydney to see my mum and grandmothers.
It's all about me today sorry.
Charlen- congrats to your daughter on her public speaking! I used to hate public speaking!
Yep, I made those signature things just on Photoshop. I had a trial of Photoshop Elements but it ran out and I couldn't be bothered paying for it. :rolleyes: I find Photoshop is enough anyway. I'm like you, hate the mess of actual scrapping! I've got a sometimes dodgy hand too that just doesn't like fiddly things like cutting, glueing, picking small pieces of paper up, so the digital scrapping works much better for me! I've still got SO much to learn, mine are fairly basic still.
Oh, and they've been at that school since the first week of March, so not quite the full term. Just today and yesterday she's been playing with different friends to before, so maybe she's starting to find her place and the right friends for her, rather than the ones who took her in at the start. I hope so anyway :fingerscrossed:
Mamabear- I hope AJ sleeps better for you tonight!
x Kate
millymoo
01-05-2007, 15:59
Kate I hope things settle soon. We had a few teething problems when the girls came from the UK. They got teased about the way they spoke etc...more in the public school than the high school.
But time has meant they now have some very good friends but still keep in touch with their old ones at home. You sound like you are doing a great job helping her...the keeping in touch and the friends over. I have found girls find it tough too. Fran is nearly 16 and still falls out with people and one day they are best mates and then hates them for a week.
Taylor well done. Rosie sings in public and I don`t know how she can, and Fran is a bit of a speaker too.I just clap with pride and wish I could have had the guts to do it all. She could be one to whatch if she is at state level.DD1 and 2 say Taylor must be awesome to get to that level. Rosies eyes nearly popped out!
Does anyone know how many are coming Thurs...zoe?
H x
charlen49
01-05-2007, 18:57
Thx helen and kate..not quite state yet but on her way!I hope she keeps at it
hmm should this be now May chat? since the month has changed???
kids can be cruel sometimes! glad to hear that ur dd's are doing so well Helen.......must make you very proad..especially being in a new country and all?
millymoo
01-05-2007, 19:19
Sorry Zone level!! This system is all so new to me love!
charlen49
01-05-2007, 19:33
Sorry Zone level!! This system is all so new to me love!
your forgiven helen..hehe;) i have to who else would be my friend on here??:gloomy: :D
Sheer Bliss
01-05-2007, 19:44
Wow - it's been busy on here today!!
Congrats on your graduation Kate!
My sister had her baby this morning!! She had GD so was induced, and little Piper Lilly arrived just before 10am. She was only 6lb 10oz - so quite small for a GD baby - but her insulin level was only 1 (should be around 5ish i think) so she is on a drip for 24hrs in the special care nursery to try & fix that up. My sis was too tired for visitors tonight, so we will probably go in sometime tomorrow to see her & bubs.
Congrats Kate or your graduation :smiliedance:
Lots of hugs Helen for all the girls. I bet it is tough.
I double "are you coming Tanya". It would be so good to meet little nick. I promise we wont spead germs...lol
Take care all
YUP! I am coming now! I thought sis might have been back in Singo in hospy, so was going to be visiting with her on Wed/Thu - but since bubs is in special care, she is staying in Maitland for a few days, so it's only a 2min drive to visit. So Nick & I will be there on Thurs - If i can find the place, i think i know where it is. Charli is in daycare, so it should be an easy first outing on our own!
Wow - it's been busy on here today!!
Congrats on your graduation Kate!
My sister had her baby this morning!! She had GD so was induced, and little Piper Lilly arrived just before 10am. She was only 6lb 10oz - so quite small for a GD baby - but her insulin level was only 1 (should be around 5ish i think) so she is on a drip for 24hrs in the special care nursery to try & fix that up. My sis was too tired for visitors tonight, so we will probably go in sometime tomorrow to see her & bubs.
YUP! I am coming now! I thought sis might have been back in Singo in hospy, so was going to be visiting with her on Wed/Thu - but since bubs is in special care, she is staying in Maitland for a few days, so it's only a 2min drive to visit. So Nick & I will be there on Thurs - If i can find the place, i think i know where it is. Charli is in daycare, so it should be an easy first outing on our own!
Oh ya thats awesome. I cant wait......
01-05-2007, 21:02
Yay to meet little Nicholas :smiliedance: he must be such a tiny little thing!!
Helen, not sure how many of us are going! I know I am for sure :D
millymoo
02-05-2007, 06:05
Yes how exiting! Little Nicholas will steal the limelight for sure!
02-05-2007, 14:35
May chat here! http://bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=1409104#post1409104
JEMGIRLS
27-04-2008, 14:47
My little angel turned 1 on Anzac Day. Just wonering if anyone was from Perth on this thread. Yes it is getting cold. It's a pain getting up to breasfeed.... It's very snuggly though.
Maria
JEMGIRLS
01-05-2008, 14:08
Hi Amy
I have had three girls and the best high chair for me has been the Ikea one. It is only about $30 and it is light and very easy to clean. My husband often hoses it down. I highly recommend it.
Maria