View Full Version : Sunshine Coast

bloomingbellies
09-08-2004, 12:45
First to post! Anyone from The Sunshine Coast?

kalebsmum
01-09-2004, 10:03
:) Hi im from the beauitful sunshine coast, all i need 2 say is how lucky r we 2 b able 2 bring our children up on this gorgeous part of the coast. . . .

Kat
09-09-2004, 00:22

I am on the Sunshine Coast too. So far I'm not so sure about the whole 'lucky' to be here thing. (I grew up here so have been here a while). I think I got used to the different level of care / services in Brisbane and have had so many issues in my pregnancy that I've found the 'laid back' sunshine coast a bit isolating. Not to mention most of my friends are in Brissie still. :(

Kat

kalebsmum
09-09-2004, 10:04
hi kat, i guess i can understand where your coming from as i'm from Newcastle where i spent 27yrs then i moved to Toowoomba for 3yrs and have just resently moved to the coast 4 work, me and my husband just love it. But i would never want 2 live back in Newcastle or Toowoomba so i can c how u being here is a real drag. Good luck with everything and i hope all goes well :)

Kat
09-09-2004, 16:08

I had to smile - I definately wanted to move back here I was very excited until a few major things changed in my life and suddenly the coast didn't seem like such a haven.

I still love being able to look out our backyard and see the beautiful creek (now that it has rained and we have some water!) and I still enjoy being near the beach when we can get there.

What I've missed the most, especially since getting pregnant is the social contact with others (I can't say I've had the time and energy to go meet new people) - I was spoilt in Brisbane with a wonderful next door neighbour / best mate in a package as well as other friends less than 20 mins away.

And the level of service I have found - the whole pregnancy has been a rollercoaster of concerns that were often fobbed off by doctors but I hopefully have the right GP and Ob. behind me now who believe in being on the safe side and on giving me the information I need to look after myself properly.
Problems like bleeding early on and a couple of other things were not investigated as much as I would have liked, and I spent a great deal of time being told 'not to worry' when all I wanted was some basic information to assist me to not worry! Its not neccessarily the location, but perhaps the fact I've been gone for so long and that I'm starting out fresh, whereas in Brisbane I had the contacts to be able to find a good Ob. and already had a great GP too.

Kat

kalebsmum
10-09-2004, 14:40
Yes i agree with the (I guess u could call it the LAID back approach) that the sunshine coast has.... As i went 4 my first hospital check up at 22 weeks and i got a trainee doc ( not thats theres anything wrong with that) but this is my first child so when she started to ask me if the baby should b lying this way and that she wasn't sure how fast his heart beat should b i must say that i started 2 get a little worried :confused: So i'm looking forward 2 my 36 week visit 2 c how she's going :rolleyes: hopefully she has seen a few women who have already had children so they might b able 2 answer any questions she may have lol. We r expecting our little man on the 16th of novemeber :cool: So my fingers r crossed that the trainee doc has sorted herself out by then...

Kat
11-09-2004, 16:02
Hi Caleb's Mum

We are due to have our baby on the 17th November!

I am booked into Selangor so we might be just up the road from each other!

Yes the sunshine coast has a LAID back approach a lot of the time. Even with the private obstetricians !!! The mind boggles but its true.

We've recently changed GP and Ob & seem to now have ones that suit our way of understandnig things a bit better and it has made a lot of difference to how we feel about the pregnancy.

In all honesty I am just floating along wishing I could bend properly, wishing I had the stamina / bendiness to get into our gardening (heavy work to make new beds) and that I didn't have to continue medication for one thing and watch my glucose for the diabetes! It was all so much easier before being pregnant!!!!! :eek:

The weather is beautiful today - we went for a really relaxing walk - just the right temperature - not too hot and lovely sunshine. Do you get out into the sunshine much? I would love to get a bikini and warm my belly but haven't had much luck with clothes & haven't even thought about togs! Also the skin condition I developed is trigggered off with heat so warming belly is probably asking for trouble ! :p

Do you only get hospital check ups at 22weeks at 36 weeks? That sounds few and far between, but if you have your GP and they are good then you don't need anyone else as long as all is going well. We've had so many things going on that I've felt like a test dummy. Still have 9 weeks to go so who knows what I can manage to develop between now and then!

Take care, hope you are enjoying the weather!

Kat

kalebsmum
13-09-2004, 15:22
Hi kat

Oooh how i would luv 2 put a pair of bikini's on and go 4 a swim :( But i don't think i would b doing the public any favours :eek: so instead my DH and i went fishing last week which is the first time i've ever been as i've never been interested in it b4 but it's the only thing i can do outdoors that dasn't make me tired..
Yes i'm in a share care program where i visit my GP every fortnight and only have 2 go 2 the hospital if she's worried about anything, which i find works gr8 4 me and my DH.

I'm at the moment pulling my hair out as we brought our house in April knowing we needed 2 finish the bathroom that the owners b4 us had started 2 renovate and sure enough we havn't touched it :mad: which is driving me CRAZY as my DH promised it would b done b4 Kaleb comes along, but his job has him working 6 days a week at the moment and i know i will sound like a ***** if i keep nagging him whats a girl supose 2 do :cool:
Good luck with everything and we may just bump into each other 1 day, I don't know about u but i'm getting nervous... And i think it's because i've had it really easy so far (i don't mean 2 rub that in) so i've got myself believing that labour is going 2 b extra tough on me....

kalebsmums to be .....

Kat
13-09-2004, 21:41
Hi Calebsmum,

Ah I so understand the 'renovation' nightmare. We had a slightly different problem as our roof was leaking and to cut a long story short it took 8 months to get fixed. So now the roof is fixed and doesn't leak, we still have the internal stuff to fix, including the bathroom and painting a great proportion of the house with anti-mould paint (as the leaking really soaked through the plasterboard)

I had to laugh at your 'public' concerns re the bikini - I won't be doing anyone else any favours, and will be trying to steer clear of populated beaches *lol* the belly isn't a pretty sight at all !!!! :p

I think as far as labour goes, that talking to midwives has been a terrific help to me. Also I think the other thing that has helped me is knowing what my rights are - if I'm comfy (say in the shower) then no-one is going to move me outta there just because its more convenient for them (there would have to be a good baby-health reason) and also knowing that if I'm not feeling comfortable with the carer that is with me, then I have the right to choose to ask for someone else. I didn't know any of this until a few weeks ago, and its made all the difference to me to know that i am going to be able to be 'in control' - its been a learning experience as well to 'trust' that my body knows what its doing better than I can understand !!!! :D

Thats just how I've looked at it. I'm not at all concerned by you saying you've had a good pregnancy - I think more power to you and hopefully you'll sail through labour as well. Its all about statisitics and family history really :) with a dose of luck tossed in.

The other thing that really helped me get a handle on the birth thing was watching videos of Mum's giving birth - we've seen 3 little short ones, but they've all been different and they were really helpful to understand the way it looks and is (for those 3 people anyway!).

Have you started ante-natal classes? They were wonderful and really took away my fears, but still gave me more info on all the interventions and options we have if interventions are neccessary!

Talk to you soon

Kat

Tys_mummy
04-10-2004, 13:34
Just wanted to say hi and hopefully be able to get to know you! I'm 20yo and have been married almost a year DH 19 and Ty is 3months (dob 28/06/04) I think we are truly blessed to be living in such a wonderful environment to raise our children... I'm a SAHM and couldnt think of a better job! I love being a mum. We are just about to move from a granny flat udner our in-laws into our own place, DH was doing shift work and wanted me to be able to have support and security while I was pregnant and when i first had bub.
Enough babbling, I hope to get to know you and maybe make a friend or two.
Natalie

kalebsmum
08-10-2004, 07:49
Hi guys i''m back, I've been working alot and when i havn't been working i've been resting my poor swollen feet :( I don't know how much more i can take of this heat but i did go out and buy myself a cossy :p which i did promise the community i wouldn't do but it's just to hot, Anyway i have this theory that i'm educating the teenages out there hopefully when they get an eye full of me that will stick in there mines so that everytime they think it might be ok to have unsafe sex they get a very nasty image of me crusien the beach in my togs :D

Anyway not long to go now (6 weeks) :o We have started ante-antel classes which are going ok there is about 12 of us in the group and 10 of us are all having boys.... Look out the sunshine coast in 21yrs we will have our own football team..

got to go now i've been sitting down to long got to go and put my big feet up

kalebsmum

Kat
24-10-2004, 10:02
Hi again Calebsmum & Natalie,

Good on you for grabbing a cossie - I actually got a normal bikini in elephant size from Target just a couple of days ago - so far it hasn't been unleashed on the public - but yesterday in the heat it got well and truly christened under the hose in the backyard. All I can say is 'thank goodness, FINALLY!"

I had to laugh at your idea of educating teenagers. I think you're right - my belly would certainly put people off the concept of pregnancy - I am very envious of all those who have 'pretty' preggie tummies - tanned and smooth - because of my skin PUPPP (allergy to the baby in a sense - a rare pregnancy condition) I have the most revolting stretch marks / rash :(

We have only got 3 weeks to go. Its funny it seems like so much longer. There don't seem to be any signs of bub coming early, so I think it'll b at least those 3 weeks.

My feet are stupidly swollen too - last night was one of the worst - little pudgy stumpy toes that stuck out at odd angles coz they were so swollen :(

Exercise helps - I found that keeping up my evening walks helps get the circulation going again and eases the swelling.

Today my hubbie is setting up our portable airconditioners so hopefully in an hour or so the house will be cool and restful! (thats the plan anyway)

Hope the ante-natal classes are going well

cheerio

Kat

Tren
30-10-2005, 15:35
Could someone help me please? I was looking for the name and (hopefully phone no or email address) of the big baby shop going towards Caloundra. Could anyone help me please? or else have they seen an "
twin adventure buggy in any other shops?

Tren

ElizaDee
30-10-2005, 19:56
Tren sorry the only big shop I can think of at the moment is the one in Maroochydore ( I think) but I can't really remember its name. :(

Where abouts on the sunshine coast is everyone from???

Tren
30-10-2005, 20:05
Thanks for getting back to me. I used to live in Maroochydore, and now live in the middle of QLD in a real small town and miss the beach, shops, food sooooo much............ :(

I really want this twin AB pram but don't know where to get one from in QLD to save on courier fees than from down south...... I do know though there used to be a really big shop on this big highway but cant' remembner the name of it.

ARRRGGGGGGHHHHHH

Does anyone know a girl called Min who lives in Maleny who would be about 38 now? The last I knew she had a girl about 10 now and a young boy. I don't know her married name either?! A stab in the dark but someone might know of her.

Tren
(wishing a was in Sunshine Coast so badly)

justtwogirls22
30-10-2005, 20:36
there is kawana bubs on nicklin way on the way to caloundra from kawana - try a search on yellow pages that might jog your memory

sydneybubhub
31-10-2005, 09:06
Hello Tren,

This may be of great use to you. The Bub Hub actually has a page in the Shops Directory that lists all the nursery furniture (inlcuding prams etc) stores for you. Here is the link to the QLD page > http://www.bubhub.com.au/shopsgeneralnurseryqld.shtml There are similiar pages for each state, and the listings include the phone number, address plus a link to their website, if they have one.

Happy shopping! :)

Jaileth
13-11-2005, 12:28

Hey all - wondering if any one else is from up this way?

Tren
13-11-2005, 12:43
thanks for your help everyone. ordered off nz eventually!

kateqld
17-11-2005, 10:09
I live in Buderim Meadows - I had my first baby Matthew in April this year. He's just about the crawling stage and can roll really well, so we had to get a playpen to keep him out of trouble. I'm 35 and married - stay at home mum for now but doing a few days work over Christmas/New Year at my old workplace. I hope everyone's bubs are well and I'd love to keep chatting!!
Kate

babypisces
19-10-2006, 09:53

I live in Caloundra and due my first baby on the 16th of March, I am birthing at Selangor and orignally from the UK I have found although things are laid back, the service here is far more patient freindly and open. I know this as my best friend in the UK is one week ahead of me and we compare care and options. I also saw and Obs in Brisbane for a while and there wasn't really any difference.

I am hoping (pain being the major bug bear:D ) to have a water birth at Selangor.

Tren the shop is Kawana Bubs I am a frequent visitor there as thats were I got all my stuff from. :kiss:

I love living here, however I work in Brisbane and love it as I do get cabin fever staying on the coast to long. But it's great to come back to at the end of the day.

Hello to one and all xx

Tren
20-10-2006, 13:52
Thanks Baby Pisces,

It sounds like you've found my favourite shop. I still haven't got there again yet (oever a year now!). Have you seen in there a baby hammock at all? I am wanting to get one and have seen a AMBY one on the internet but don't like it. If you have seen one on your visits do you reckon that they looked ok?

I am having my fifth in June so it's time to start buying again!:thumbsup:

Thanks for your reply.

Tren

babypisces
21-10-2006, 09:54
Hi Tren,

I was going for the baby hammock too, but when I found out it was $160.00 just for the hammock and the stand was extra on top, I have gone for a child rocker seat instead and thought I can just stick that outside. I have been pretty pratical though and got one that will convert into a toddler seat.

C:hugs:

aim13
27-01-2007, 21:04
Hi Kaleb's Mum,
I'm also from Newcastle but am now living on the Sunshine coast. Where about's in newcastle are you from?.

sunnygirls
27-01-2007, 21:55
First to post! Anyone from The Sunshine Coast?

I'm in Buderim if you want to meet at Gloria Jeans for a coffee one way - PM me!

Sunny

motherlylove
31-01-2007, 22:30
im in caloundra

finkleberry
11-09-2008, 19:28
Hi everyone. I moved over to the sunshine coast from Perth last year. I was so glad that my partner convinced me to move over here, where he grew up. I think it's just the sweetest place to raise kids. I've had a hard time making friends though. I don't have a car and I work from home and I am just so lonely. My BFF passed away last year and I just haven't been able to fill that void. And no friends here is giving me cabin fever.
I'm 18weeks preg with #2 and I've opted for a home water birth. The reason for this is because I had bad time in the hospital with my first. They didn't let me have any rights at all. Mostly because they were understaffed and packed out and they wanted me off the labor ward as soon as possible. When I found out that this hospital here was booked out too and I couldn't get in for anti natal check up it sort of confirmed my decision.
What I would really like to know is do you think anti natal classes are beneficial for the husbands? Because this is my partners first child and he is totally clueless. I think he needs a class to learn about labor and birth and babies etc.
After the baby's born I'm so gonna join a mum's group or something. I need to gossip bad! :detective:

Jordys girl
27-09-2008, 19:01
Hi there....i too am new to the area. I am in Sunshine Beach next to Noosa. What suburb in sunny coast are you in??

Perhaps we could meet at a local park or something?? I have 2 boys aged 2 and 4 and am due with my 3rd child in March 21st. I am having bubs at Selangor.

I have only joined this site today so am still getting used to the lingo and all that.

There is nothing worse than cabin fever though. My husband has just started his own business in Noosaville so he leaves at 6am and doesnt return until 8-9 pm so i am left with the kiddies and quite lonely also.

I hope to be in touch with you soon.

Kristy