View Full Version : Teething signs
Mrs Little
30-12-2005, 21:20
I have been reading through most of the teething threads....but i am still curious about something.
When babies start to teeth i know they become irritable...but does it stop them from feeding ( even on a bottle) because they are in so much pain?
Is it easy to detect teeth coming through when you look in babies mouth?
Mrs Little & Son.
It can interfere with feeding, but all bubs are different. Generally if they are hungry, they are still going to eat, even if they are in a bit (or a lot) of pain.
I actually found with Andrew that he wanted to feed MORE when he started teething...I think feeding was comforting for him. But that was breastfeeding - I'm not sure if its different with a bottle feeder ,maybe one of the other girls can help you there...
It is fairly easy to see when the teeth start to break through - you see a clearish ridge in the gum for a while until it comes through more and starts to look whiter. It takes a while for it to come out fully as well.
But its REALLY hard to even get a look in bubs mouth for teeth most of the time. Andrew has 2 teeth now and he wont' let me look in anymore, I think he has another 1 coming, but he won't let me look for more than half a second!
Generally its easy to poke a finger in and feel around, than to look!
Hope that helps :)
LilShenanigans
30-12-2005, 21:53
I found out sometimes it's not always safe to poke the finger into a mouth...:rolleyes:
Although, I did find out my dear little brother had 4 front teeth..
For us the big sign of teething was a really horrible acidic smelling poo and usually a nappy rash. I found that the feeding depended on which teeth were coming through. The worse teeth were the molars, and canines. They seemed to be the most painful and my kids did go off their food for a bit.
We are now having teeth falling out and adult ones coming through which seem to be just as painful. It never ends:rolleyes:
I found out sometimes it's not always safe to poke the finger into a mouth...:rolleyes:
Although, I did find out my dear little brother had 4 front teeth..
Lol, Andrew likes to give open mouthed kisses at the moment - and likes to bite me in the process - ouchies!!
Feeling sorry for his future girlfriends :D
03-01-2006, 01:44
My bubs detests anything near his mouth when teething so this last month or so has been fun not :rolleyes:
My bubs has been teething since birth on & off he gets the little ridges with some white showing through, often they only stay for a few hours then sometimes a few days it all varies. When you see proper little white lines you know its almost time for them to cut through the gum. He finally cut not only his second bottom front tooth but also his top right front tooth & is now trying the left.
So it hasnt been fun trying to get him to have dymadon or brauers when its bad let alone have a bottle or solids. Same pretty much with trying to look in his mouth as he didnt even like me wiping his face as he was in pain. You just have to bare with them & soothe them as much as possible but then maybe your bubs will be one of the lucky ones who doesnt get any pain.
2littleprincesses
03-01-2006, 13:33
I have found that if you apply Bonjela about 20min before a feed, be it bottle or solids it helps numb the gums enough so that a bottle or spoon is allowed in.
Both my little girls learnt what the bonjela was for so I was allowed to stick the finger in there to apply it.
Mum2Lucas
03-01-2006, 15:10
It shouldnt really stop him from eating but y son lucas started teething when he was 8 weeks and even while eating from his bottle he would whimper a little bit. and then there is everything else that comes with teething too.
PJ has been teething on and off since he was 4 months. About a week before his two bottom teeth finally came through he wouldn't eat solids only bottles, he was very grumpy had a bit of a temp and pulled at his right ear.
Once the first tooth came through he ate for half a day then got grumpy again and the second tooth came through the following morning and he's been back on his food like a champ.:)
jasminesmum
03-01-2006, 15:45
Hi Sarah
Guess what.Jasmine has another tooth.Up the top.
She has been really cranky over the weekend and not interested in bottles but still eating food.
I had a look yesterday and they didnt look far off.
This morning one is through and the other one is not far off.
Pretty good hey.Here I was complaining 3 wks ago when she had none.
Hows P.J.Any signs of him getting more?
Mrs Little
03-01-2006, 16:03
hi girls
just wondering... when babies are teething i know they are unsettled. Are the also unsettled at sleep times? or is it just with feeding?
mrs little & son
He's a bit cranky today, but I'm not sure if that's the cold or not. But he was dribbling yesterday. We had a look, but they didn't look very close! Does this mean she'll have 4 teeth tomorrow? ;)
jasminesmum
03-01-2006, 16:14
Yah!!!
4 teeth soon.Actually I don't know if thats good or not.It probably means lots of split lips and biting everything.:eek:
Mrs Little, Jasmine has been really cranky for a while now.She got 2 teeth 1 week before Chrissy and another 1 last night.
She dribbles heaps more than usual and the dribble seems to be thicker I think.
Shes not too bad at night although she does tend to wake earlier and be pretty unsettled.This morning she woke at 4.20 and moaned and rolled around for an hour.She wasn't properly awake.But her teeth must of been hurting her.Poor pet.
Before she got her first 2 teeth she wouldn't eat much of anything.But this time she seems to want to eat food and not bottles.maybe because these ones are at the top and the bottle aggravates them more.
Anyway sorry to rant.
Hope this helps.
Michelle:)
04-01-2006, 01:19
I would find bubs would have broken sleep more so when the teeth were cutting through otherwise he was just cranky in being put down for day naps but then he fights them when he wants regularily so its no different IYKWIM.
I would find he would accidently bite himself as he wasnt used to having sharp things in his mouth so he would have bite marks on his fingers or even his lips with blood on sheets etc made me feel so sorry for him.
Again all you can do is offer comfort, cuddles & when its really bad some panadol/ dymadon or even brauers. Ive found since he started cutting his teeth the bonjella doesnt work anymore even though he opens his mouth on queue to get it hehehe.
Mum2Lucas
04-01-2006, 07:03
hi girls
just wondering... when babies are teething i know they are unsettled. Are the also unsettled at sleep times? or is it just with feeding?
mrs little & son
Lucas While he's teething is extremely wrestless during the night and now doesnt sleep through anymore because his teeth hurt so much...