View Full Version : Maybe Baby
30-12-2005, 18:43
Has anyone used the maybe baby before?
Hey there
We bought a maybe baby a couple of months ago, when to our shock we failed to conceive in my first cycle off the pill! For some reason, we thought it would be so easy, and were devastated when it became apparent it hadn't happened!!! I have been using it every day, and found it really did look different in the microscope bit at ovulation. I have a friend who used it, and she now has a 6 month old baby!!!
DIANNEKB
30-12-2005, 19:33
Hi Kristy,
My advice to you on maybe baby is save your money.. it's a waste of money... I didnt have trouble concieving but bought it with the intention of working out when I ovulate..
It told me I ovulated on every other day of the month but the one I actually ovulate on ... it was so wrong... I went and bought ovulation tests of the net from www.lullabyconceptions.com they are cheap and they work... I bought them and found out I ovulated dead on mid month and the month I used these and had sex those days I became pregnant straight away.
Hope this helps.
Di..:D
I have my own microscope and used that, beter quality than the maybe baby and I 'fern' randomly through my cycle (thanks to depo provera:mad: ) so its no use to me
Well now I'm beginning to wonder if its been working for me!!!!! Altough in the two cycles I've had it, both times I have had the ferning pattern fro 2-3 days, each time followed by af after 12-14 days...which sounds reasonable I think......
melfunction
30-12-2005, 20:15
I had good intentions of using one and bought it the day before I found I was pregnant :o
Hi - I used it and found it great.
I also used the ovulation kits - which got very expensive because they never showed up that I ovulated at all - and I went to the extreme of trying one everyday for one month!!!
I will say though that you need to wash/clean the mircoscope well as there were days when I thought just running it under some warm water would do the trick only to see the same spit pattern.........I then washed it again and gave it a gentle wipe with a cloth and presto - ferns!
Anyway - good luck:)
30-12-2005, 20:53
I used it and it worked a treat for me. I definately recommend it. I was having troubles conceiving and as soon as I figured out how to use the Maybe Baby we conceived. :D
It can give false readings though due to the following:
After/before and after giving birth and whilst breast feeding
For a period of time whilst discontinuing the oral contraception
During the use of T-copper coils
With illness and intake of substances modifying the mucous structure
During the intake of expectorant products
After consumption of alcohol, tobacco, toothpaste and mouthwash.
We always clean the microscope, then check with the light to make sure it is all clean, then do the saliva bit once we know it's all good!! My dh calls it the spit test, every morning he's practically sticking his finger in my mouth to collect spit to test with before I'm awake!!!!! It was so exciting the first time the fern pattern showed up. Also make sure you do it before you get up, or eat or even drink water, I have found if you test later in the day (I am so impatient, have to keep testing, testing, all the time just to see), you can get fern patterns when you actually aren't ovulating. So follow the instructions exactly, and hopefully it does the trick!!
31-12-2005, 12:32
Thanks guys!
Had a look on ebay and they have a few different brands there much cheaper then the maybe baby.... anyone know much about these ones? I will find a link and post it up...
31-12-2005, 13:26
Have you tried perhaps the Trading Post for the Maybe Baby, I picked up one in their for only $25!
31-12-2005, 13:32
I will try looking there too, thankyou!
Do you think they are just as reliable buying them second hand?
31-12-2005, 13:39
Yeah I do think they are just as reliable.;)
31-12-2005, 13:41
Where in Bris are you Oscarsmum? I'm in bris too....
31-12-2005, 13:52
Everton Hills and you?
31-12-2005, 13:54
South side, Forest Lake ;)
31-12-2005, 14:03
It suprises me how many people from Brissie actually are on Bub Hub!
Kristy, I used the Maybe Baby too and it worked a treat for me... after a few teething problems. :rolleyes: I also wasted my money on ovulation kits that showed I never ovulated. Other people will tell you the exact opposite, so it is a really individual thing.
One thing I found - and a few others on bubhub did too - is that I never got ferns first thing in the morning. Don't know why - it just never worked. So I had to use it during the day, but waiting 2 hours after eating or drinking ANYTHING, which can be hard. I found about 10.30 in the morning best for me. I was ready to chuck it out the window until I discovered it worked better during the day - after that it was fine. I think it can definitely give random ferns throughout the month, when you have bursts of oestrogen, or something... so I combined it with temperatures and checked my CM as well just to be sure.
31-12-2005, 14:40
How do you chart your temp and mucous etc?
You just buy a digital thermometer from the chemist - the fertility ones are more accurate and some go to 2 decimal places. The key is to take your temp at exactly the same time every morning, since your body temp changes hour to hour and even 30 minutes can make about .1degree of difference.
You can chart for free at www.fertilityfriend.com or you can pay a small amount and upgrade your membership if you are TTC and want all the extra bits of info but the basic (free) membership is great for starters.
So you wake up, and before you get up, eat, drink, anything you just stick the thermometer under your tongue and wait for it to beep (about one minute) and you record the temp on the chart each day. Quite often right before ovulation you will get a dip in temp, and once ovulation occurs, the progesterone in your body significantly increases your body temp so you will see a sharp rise (about half a degree). The idea is to have BD'd BEFORE you see the temp go up since the temp rise indicates that ovulation has happened.
The fertility friend website has heaps of great info on what to look for in cervical mucus too. And you can just record everything on the chart so it's all in one handy spot. Pretty soon you see really clear patterns of what your body is doing - and that will tell you better than any maybe baby or OPK what is going on!! :)
I agree that fertility friend is a MUST if you are ttc, its a fantastic site that helps you figure out exactly what your body is doing, after 2-3 cycles you should be able to predict what your body is upto, if you aren't having luck ttc then fertility friend can often tell you if you have a problem with ovulation, saving you time because instead of trying for 6 months-over a year before finding out there's a problem, you find out at the start and can do something about it!
01-01-2006, 15:26
I have heard of some women having DIGITAL hpt's. Does anyone here have them? Are they expensive?
Reading this thread with much interest - I am of the slap-dash just BD whenever and cross your fingers we get pregnant variety... :rolleyes:
Where can you buy Maybe Baby? Chemist, supermarket? How much can I expect to fork out, and do I only need to buy it once, or is it something you have to keep on buying? Totally clueless here...:)
02-01-2006, 11:01
They are $80.00 at my chemist and you can use them over and over, not like the once off ones. I figured it is going to take a few months to fall so the Maybe Baby will work out cheaper anyways and I can always sell it on Ebay afterwards! Ebay have some too and different brands aswell. Check out the site: www.maybebaby.com.au
I am getting one this Thursday and some Elevit/Blackmores vitamins too, not sure which to get yet tho ;)
Hi Olivia andBella;s Mum,.... I bought Maybe Baby,.and could never get the darned thing to work! I didn't get pebbles or ferns or anything! We jsut BD'd every day for a month (well at least 20days anyway!!!) and that worked better,. Consequently I have a MB that is hardly used, just sitting in my cupboard,..do you want it?
02-01-2006, 11:16
Hi Jane
I would love it :D
Email me so we can work out some kind of payment: chocoluva_83@hotmail.com
I think my AF is coming today so need it within next few days/end of week so I can start tracking.... I sound sooo desperate hey :rolleyes: