View Full Version : Goodbye Shona
I never realised how soon the day would be when I wrote this. And I write it with total devastation, and lots of tears.
Some of you may already know Shonas story. I need to write my feelings to try and come to terms with this. At the moment I just feel gutted.
WEll this afternoon it all happened. My mum rang in tears. Shona had been picking up and going well but when my parents got home today she had gone down hill badly. She was having trouble walking and she looked so very sad. She looked drained, and went back to the puppy dog look. We new that this was time. We sat with her for a few hours until the vet came. He confirmed what we probably already knew but didnt want to hear.:crying:
At 4.25pm today she was put to her rest at only 5 years of age. We were all with her and said our goodbyes. Even my dad cried and I have never seen that before. She was so special. Her poor little mate candy didnt know until later what had happened. Shona has gone to be cremated on her own and will be brought home hopefully tomorrow. We will have a special little family get together for her.
I cant get rid of that sick feeling in my tummy, and the huge lump in my throat and I cant stop crying. We are all going to miss her so much. She was my mums little baby, so I am crying for her too. I know she is didnt suffer and is in a better place but its just so hard to know I will not have her run and greet me at the door anymore.
We love you little shony pony, you will forever be in our hearts.:crying:
:angel: RIP Shona:angel:
Thanks for reading, I better go before I fill the keyboard with tears and it doesnt work anymore.
GraceUnhearing
19-04-2007, 20:42
:hugs: to you sweet!
RIP Shona
:angel:
MammyMammy
19-04-2007, 21:24
Hi Bailey's Mummy
Poor Shona. Its so ridiculous isnt it - they make their way right into the little corners of our hearts and we cannot beleive how much we love them....especially when they are gone.
We said goodbye to our boy Sasha 8 weeks ago and I'm still lost for words about it, and we got him cremated on his own too, which was at the time important, but now so much more - its great relief to have him "with us" ...it takes so much time and so many reflections. I hope you can get thru next few days especially xxxx
My heart goes out to you and family - if you want to chat about Shona PM me
Hugs to you and your family hun :hugs:
It never ceases to amaze me the strength of the love we feel for our pets that just creeps up on us without us really knowing. I guess we never really love them more than the moment when they are gone. :(
RIP Shona :( :kiss:
rynosmum
19-04-2007, 21:53
I'm so sorry for your loss.
We lost our little doggy last September and it is so very hard.:crying:
She is so very lucky to have been in a family who loved her so much and you are also so lucky to have been able to share her life with her.:hugs:
19-04-2007, 22:23
I am so sorry to hear about Shona :(. At least she is in peace now (i know that doesn't really help you much at the moment :o), i'm sure she knew just how much you all loved and cherished her! :hugs:
I still think back to when i lost my poor little baby Bandit (i ran over him accidentally :crying:), it was nearly 2.5 yrs ago, and i can still cry for him.
RIP little Shona.
:hugs: So sorry hun! :hugs: With a great name like Shona, I'm sure she was an adorable dog. I had to put down my beautiful Lilith cat at only 6 years of age and know how hard it is.
Hope this helps http://www.indigo.org/rainbowbridge_ver2.html
wannabemum
20-04-2007, 16:25
Hun just wanted to send some big :hugs: , special pets become part of the family and it is a tragic and heart wrenching event when they are taken away. I bet she loved every minute of time she was on earth and with your family though.....
:hugs:sorry for your loss:hugs:
Our lil girl heidi (white boxer) passed away on christmas eve 2000 and we still miss her loads,we also had her cremated and for christmas the following year we bought a statue of a boxer with a hollow belly heidi now lives in there and goes under the christmas tree every year.
:angel: shona
Thank you so much for all the lovely posts. I want to especially thank Lilith for the rainbow bridge attachment- im in tears, it was so beautiful. I also want to thank amberlea for the lovely poem, it made me cry but made me happy too. Also Trinitylee thanks for the PM hun.
And again to everyone who has cared and posted thoughts to us, it really means alot.
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
Today has been hard, so hard. Candy our other dog is really sad today. It hurts to watch her looking for her little mate.
The best thing that happened today tho was that the man rang from the pet crematorium. He is amazing. He gave us a sense of calm. We know where she is and what is happening. I think its so hard when you dont know where your pet is, she is in the best care.
www.petseternalpeace.com.au
This is where she is. They guarantee us they do 100% individual cremations and the shona that left the house is the same one thats coming back. They let us choose and urn. They let us have a plaque with our own special message. He touched our hearts when he asked if we wanted a piece of her hair. He is bringing her home on Tuesday. To him we truly are thankful:hugs:
We love her so much and just speaking to him today made us know she is keeping her dignity there.
I cant wait til she is home and I really feel like it will be easier to cope then. Knowing she is there with us.
fabulouscazza
21-04-2007, 12:35
I am so very sorry to hear of your loss. I cant help but cry as i read this thread, makes me think of my fur baby Boston.....
The Cremation place sounds great, what a lovely idea...
once again, Im so sorry for your loss...... :hugs:
mumslilspunks
21-04-2007, 20:03
Im so sorry for your loss :hugs: :hugs: Its hard when a pet leaves us! I too had a dog a few months ago who was put down. :gloomy:
:hugs: For your loss. It sounds like Shona was a much loved part of the family. We lost our Sam after a 6 week battle with lymphatic cancer on Monday. I haven't cried so much in a very long time. I think the hardest part is seeing my 18 month daughter still race to the back door in the mornings to find her Sam. We also had Sam cremated and he will also be home with us soon.
Shona will be with you in your memories. :hugs:
Thanks again ladies for your kind thoughts. Means alot to us. Counting down the days til tuesday and shona is home where she belongs.
Fabulouscazza-Im so sorry to hear of you losing your fur baby, boston will be running around with our shona i just know it. :hugs:
mumslilspunks-Yes its horrible, its like losing a part of the family. Im so sorry to hear you had a loss in your family a few months back. Is it true what they say, that time heals?
Bingo-Oh hunni, im so so sorry. Poor little sam, it sounds like he was as much loved as shona. Can I ask, where you had sams cremation done. The company who have shona are a lovely family set up because they lost thier dog four years ago and had no where to take her. I bet your little sam, shona and all the others whos little mates are at the rainbow bridge are happily bouncing around together.
Thanks again for your caring thoughts.:kiss: :hugs:
We had Sam cremated at a family run buisness in Bendigo as they give you a 100% guarrantee which was important for us. They sound like the same set up as you guys have used which is nice. We are in the process of setting up a garden so we can put sam there. Somewhere close to where he used to sit and guard over us.
I cleared up his bed, bowl and coat and toys a couple of days ago and was in tears again. But I reckon your right, he's up there running riot with all the other doggies having a ball up there. :angel:
babylover111
22-04-2007, 22:06
RIP Shona :angel: I'm so sorry for your loss :(
mum2littleman
22-04-2007, 22:07
oo leanne im so sorry huni, sending u and everyone in the family hugs.:hugs: :hugs:
it can be so hard losing a pet there not just an animal but a member of the family. shona rest in peace
Today is an emotional day but also a good day.
Shona is being brought home today, not physically obviously but in spirit.
Her ashes are being brought home. It kinda feels like we can move on when she gets home because we know she is with us everyday.
We miss her so much but I feel this will help having her with us. I know were gonna cry when she is brought in the door and we meet the family that have had her since her passing but in the same sense it feels calming a bit too. Does this make sense?
:angel: RIP Shona- youll be home soon gorgeous girl xox
iluvmeboyz
24-04-2007, 11:56
sending you some :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:
R.I.P Shona
~rambox~
24-04-2007, 12:00
I am so sorry babe i only just read this thread :kiss: :hugs:
It is very comforting having them back home with you i can see Rambo from where I am currently sitting. And I am sure him and shona are playing like little puppies at the rainbow bridge :kiss:
Thanks heaps mum of boyz!:hugs:
Bec- Im glad to know your Rambo is up there probably welcoming and looking after our shona. Thanks heaps for letting me know how comforting it is to have them close by. :hugs: to you, I bet your rambo was a very special member of your family xox
~rambox~
24-04-2007, 12:10
They become just like our kids dont they :yes:
Just keep an open mind as Rambo has visited me already i know it may sound strange but i know it was him i could smell him :hugs:
Bec- my mind is open to anything, true! I really believe these things happen. I really hope that shona does let us know she is around. Spesh my mum, shona really was her baby. Thanks babe for your kind words xox
~rambox~
24-04-2007, 12:17
Any time Hun thats what friends are for :hugs:
Baileysmum, our Sam came home today too! The cremation people dropped him off with a bunch of everlasting flowers and a bunch of poems. When I read them I just cried and cried. But like you said its good to have him home near us. Talking about having an open mind, when I brought Maddi home from creche today she ran to the gate and started calling for Sam. She hasn't done that for a few days now so it was like she could tell Sam was home.
Bingo,
Welcome home Sam!
Thats lovely, sam and shona home on the same day. It really does feel nice that they are home doesnt it.:hugs:
Im amazed your little girl ran in looking for sam, isnt it crazy how they can sense things. Its so hard for them to comprehend what has happened.
Shona was brought home yesterday afternoon. It was emotional but relief too that she was back. The urn is lovely and in a little gold bag is her fur. They also gave us a lovely card and a white rose.
Candy our other dog could smell the fur, it was sad, i think she thought shona was actually there.:crying:
The man who brought her home was so lovely and very compassionate. We are so thankful to him and his wife for thier service.
Here are some pics of Shonas Urn and the flowers. It doesnt look eery or scary, just very nice! Have a look if you like!
Shonas flowers:
http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p211/Lea060383/IMG_0008.jpg
Shonas Urn and Plaque:
http://i129.photobucket.com/albums/p211/Lea060383/IMG_0006.jpg
jess_live_die
25-04-2007, 12:25
i just wanted to say sorry for you and your families loss and BIG :hugs: :hugs: