View Full Version : Baby Movements

nicoleE
19-04-2007, 10:41 AM
I thought there might be a bit of talk on this subject in the coming weeks so thought Id start a specific thread about it...

And I have a question! :D

- For those who have felt them... did you know it was the baby or did you notice certain feelings and not think much of it and then after a while when they continued figured it must have been the baby all along?
I wanted it to be this big moment of me yelling out to DH "I felt the baby move!!"... but Im now thinking that its just not going to be a big exciting moment! :rolleyes:
I have felt the odd 'bubble bursting/popping' type feeling, no flutters/butterflies though. I am 15 weeks today and this is my first pregnancy. I know it can take a while to start to feel things but how do you know what is gas/normal feelings/imagination and what is baby? :detective:

Pebbles
19-04-2007, 07:02 PM
In my experience most of the time the feeling is like a popping feeling. I have had quite a few 'movement' feelings today and sometimes it is hard to tell if it is baby or gas but I can tell the difference now. :yes:

mel79
19-04-2007, 07:06 PM
Thats great that you got to feel bubs moving again Pebbles - sounded like you were getting a bit worried there....Must be so cool! My midwife reckons she felt mine move today when she was using the doppler so she thinks i should be able to feel it soon too!

NicoleE - Great idea - my 1st time too - and i feel kind of like you do - i thought that when i first felt it move i would know for sure that it was bubs - but not so simple! have had some suspect bubbly feelings but nothing definite....i was watching an SBS doco last night & the lady on it said her first movements felt like she had a little snake inside her!!

luckie_me
19-04-2007, 07:15 PM
I've felt movements for a few weeks now, about the same time as it was with my first!!:D :D

robinson
19-04-2007, 08:24 PM
I felt bubs for the first time on Tuesday night,, to me its like little flutters.. I didnt feel DD until I was about 17.5 weeks and i'm 15ish weeks now. With both this one and DD i sort of new it was bubs.. to me it was like something i've never felt before..

Grizabella
19-04-2007, 11:51 PM
I felt Brion at 15 weeks, I only knew it was him because I fewlt it with my hand too, gas doesn't do that.

I felt the baby this time at about 10/11 weeks (I forget exactly) the main reason I knew what ti was is because it is the same feeling I had with Brion.

For me it feels kinds squirmy almost. Bubbles of gas just feel exactly like that, whereas baby movement feel like lava lamp bubbles IYKWIM.

Feral
20-04-2007, 06:42 AM
I've been getting a few feelings that I think are just wind etc, it is really hard to tell, I am nearly 16 weeks, but this morning I felt what I could describe as a feeling like the baby was pushing its feet against my lower abdomen, like kicking I guess, it was on the right hand side, I felt it a little with my hand, it sort of felt like push, push, push then a pause then the same, it had a different sensation than usual digestion, wind movement, so I dont know??? Im waiting for something definate.

Grizabella
20-04-2007, 10:20 AM
That sounds pretty definate Feral! You wouldnt feel gas outside with your hand! YAY for you!!!!!:smiliedance:

Pebbles
20-04-2007, 05:06 PM
Today I have been having feelings like the baby is stretching or something. It is hard to describe but it is such a weird feeling!

mumma bear
23-04-2007, 07:37 PM
With DD i didn't feel her until about 23 weeks which is quite late and considering her size i thought i would have felt her a whole lot earlier. With DS it was much earlier about 17 weeks. Still waiting for #3. The main thing is that the movement will be consistent, a few times a day. Rarely do you feel bubs today and not again till Friday. Just if you are trying to work out if its gas or not.

I would describe it was popping or a little like butterflies.

punkbaby
23-04-2007, 07:40 PM
I havent felt much movement either :( but then again with my last i didnt know i had a baby in there till 24 weeks lol
I can feel the baby now though if i put some slight pressure on my stomach and a light flutter, but i am not too sure if its bubs yet :)

K1W1
23-04-2007, 07:46 PM
i've been feeling sherbie for a good week or so now, feels like lots of bubbles and tickling

mel79
26-04-2007, 05:14 PM

I'm a bit unsure about this whole movements thing - theres been once or twice where i've felt something that i was pretty sure was bubs - but i don't know if it was, cos i was reading something the other day that said that once you feel the first movements you will keep feeling them on a regular basis. So that must mean i didnt really feel it yeah?
I know bubs is still ok cos i heard heartbeat today on doppler so not worried just impatient! :D

AnD05
26-04-2007, 06:44 PM
Mel Im right there with ya! A few times - more so only in the last couple of days - I've thought oh that feels weird but weren't regular. I can't wait to know it's definately my baby moving!!!

Grizabella
26-04-2007, 06:58 PM
nah you can go periods where you don't feel/notice it.

That happened to me last week and a bit. But just when I was starting to worry, I felt Lumpy again today!

Pebbles
26-04-2007, 07:13 PM
Thats good to hear Jude. Coz I was feeling Button for awhile and then the last couple of days - nothing! Its distressing. :confused:

nicoleE
27-04-2007, 07:13 AM
I have not felt anything lately either, nothing that I was sure of anyway.
I know its early though particularly to be feeling your 1st so Im not too worried. The times I felt Cashie (at least I think I did) before were either laying on my tummy (which is getting a little uncomfortable to do now anyway) or when it was pushed up against my desk at work. (**typed as I nuzzle my way in closer to my desk to squash my tummy a bit :p **)

Pebbles
27-04-2007, 08:36 AM
Nicole - That makes alot of sense coz the main times I was feeling Button was when my seatbelt is on when I am driving.

abeckaj
27-04-2007, 02:36 PM
Even I with two babies in there have days where i don't feel a thing and then when i'm getting really panicked i feel them again. I got quite a hard poke on each side the other night though when i was in the bath!

Pebbles
27-04-2007, 02:52 PM
Abeck - Oh how exciting! I cant wait until I get hard pokes. I havent felt Button all day today again and it is distressing me alot. But I am trying to think positive.

robinson
27-04-2007, 08:25 PM
I just felt bubs move again and i had my hand on me belly and i felt it inside and outside..

K1W1
27-04-2007, 08:32 PM
I just felt bubs move again and i had my hand on me belly and i felt it inside and outside..

:smiliedance: that feeling is so cool ay :smiliedance:

Grizabella
27-04-2007, 08:32 PM
I have found out why I am not feeling Lumpy too strongly compared to Brion at this stage. I have an anterior placenta, which is muffling it.

Nic - I do the desk nuzzling too! LOL That's when I first felt Lumpy, cos I sneezed which squished my tummy into the desk even further. Lumpy was not impressed! ROFL

K1W1
27-04-2007, 10:18 PM
Jude I had a anterior placenta with DS3, I felt alot of movements with him till I got to about 12wks, and then I would hardly feel much till about 17/18wks, from then on I felt a bit more as he had gotten alot stronger with his kicks

i've got a posterior placenta with this babe and have been feeling heaps of movement lately

Pebbles
28-04-2007, 09:25 AM
Man sounds like I need to find out if my placenta is anterior or posterior or whatever! :D

Grizabella
28-04-2007, 01:06 PM
Tammy - have you got your U/S report? The one that comes in with the scan prints (like xrays) Cos mine was in there. Mind you I had to take mine to give to my antenatal. Your ob should have yours.

Jo - I was feeling Lumpy heaps until just recently - which adds up with what you are saying, cos I am 16 weeks tomorrow.

punkbaby
28-04-2007, 01:11 PM
i am still waiting for my big movement, i felt one flutter...dont know if that was baby or wind i just feel frumpy at the moment :) when i feel bubs move i will actually feel pregnant and get excited

I will have to check my u/s report its in my car ready to take to my next obs appointment to find out if there is any reason why i am not feeling much :)

zenifa
28-04-2007, 01:32 PM
I've been feeling my baby move on/off for the last four weeks and I'm 16 weeks plus days today. I didn't feel DD until 16 weeks, so its definitely earlier this time, and also I know what to look out for. It can range from flutters to pops and even the odd poke (especially at night depending on my sleeping position).

Most often I can only feel from the inside, but occasionally the outside which is exciting. I can't wait for the more regular movements, so that DH and DD can feel the baby too (DH and I still remember that fondly with my last pregnancy, its great when he can share what's happening inside my body too!!).

My u/s scan report says the placenta is anterior, so I'm not sure if that is affecting how much I can feel bubs or not.

Pebbles
28-04-2007, 05:51 PM
My Ob has my u/s scan report. Maybe I will ring on Mon and get the receptionist to take a look and tell me! :D

lotsababies
29-04-2007, 01:38 PM
I have felt my baby moving since I was 10 weeks pregnant. I did the greatest thing and went to Kmart and bought a sound monitor kind of like a doppler, but enables you to hear your babys kicks, and there very loud!
You put the device around your tummy and with 2 sets of headphonesone for u and one for hubby, I heard the baby kicking. You're meant to hear the heart beat too but my baby is still too small for me to hear it. I am now 14 weeks pregnant and use the monitor every night. it's great!

michblb
05-05-2007, 07:25 AM

Wow everyone feels movements at such different times. I've felt bub moving since my 12 week ultrasound. The sonogrohper had trouble positioning bub so I saw and felt him/her move alot. Otherwise I wouldn't have realised what it was.

If you really want to feel the bub move go to a sports game. I went to an AFL match which was so loud bub was moving the whole time. Am sure it heard the racket and is an Essendon supporter too!

Mich

K1W1
05-05-2007, 09:38 PM
Hey guys, I felt bubs on the outside today, was the cutest wee poke that I got, bubs was moving quite a bit this arvo so I thought I might see if I could feel it on the outside, so I put my hand there and I got a couple of pokes, was so cool, hopefully it will happen again before we head to NZ so DH can feel too :yes:

michblb
06-05-2007, 07:26 AM
That's so exciting Gizmo. It was a wave hello from the inside!
Mich

nicoleE
22-05-2007, 11:02 AM
Funny.... I started this thread because I wasnt sure what i was feeling and if I should be feeling them yet etc, etc and now Im about to post about how much I am feeling them! :rolleyes:

Im wondering if anyone else is feeling movements, little kicks, pokes and prods (even a churning feeling like bubs is doing a summersault!) all the time!?? :confused:

Not as in 24hrs a day but on and off all day every day? I can seem to tell when she is asleap as I dont feel anything then all of a sudden i will start feeling them again and it will go on intermitently for a while then nothing for a while, then start again, etc, etc.
They are quite hard and are definately getting harder over the last few days although Im not sure if you can feel them from the outside yet, I put my hand there but its hard to feel if there is any kind of movement from the outside or not using my own hand...

I didnt think i would be feeling this much so soon.. i do know my placenta is more towards the back of me IYKWIM so it isnt in the way at all.

Is anyone else feeling this? Hard to know if its normal since this is my first pregnancy. :detective:

SpaghettiMummy
22-05-2007, 11:45 AM
hi Nicole,
what's normal for you is not necessarily normal for someone else and every pregnancy is different this is my 3rd and I only started feeling this bub move late last week.

Also don't worry too much about when bub is sleeping as it's much easier to tell later on in your pregnancy and to note when they are awake also.

K1W1
22-05-2007, 11:48 AM
yip i've been feeling kicks for a few weeks now, and have been feeling them on the outside of my tum for the past 3 weeks, when i sit at the comp I can feel bubs heaps, just kicking around in there, and doing summersaults, I love the feeling of bubs move

Pebbles
22-05-2007, 12:00 PM
I can feel Button move too, from the outside and the inside although not as regularly as I would like. My little bub seems to have a routine already. She/he moves between 10am and 11am in the morns and then sometimes early arvo and then not again until after dinner, with her most active time being late at night. Sometimes I will get a little kick or wriggle at other times but they are the most regular times she moves. Although in saying that, I still get days where I dont feel anything at all!

punkbaby
22-05-2007, 12:12 PM
i still dont feel anything but maybe this bubs is like storm ( i didnt know she was there till i was 24 weeks) i keep telling myself that its probably the same, i can feel someflutters but no subtle movements yet :) i have my US thursday so hopefully i see it moving then :)

erinp
22-05-2007, 12:25 PM
Hi Nicole,

Like you this is my first (yes we are due a day apart) and I was sort of like you when I started feeling Pea move. At first I thought it was to do with my m/s (!) and then I realised....

Once I got a bit used to it I started to really enjoy it and it is a nice way of reassuring yourself that everything is going ok in there. I feel bubs move at least every 2 hrs if not more regularly.

I am sure you will get to love the feeling!!

abeckaj
22-05-2007, 03:21 PM
I've been felling the twins heaps! Yesterday at work they were both doing somersaults at the same time and i thought my belly was going to split open! Sooo painful.

michblb
22-05-2007, 05:59 PM
I'm getting continual movements and kicks - don't know if its cause I'm rusing around at work most days. Even at night I got up at 3 this morning to go to the toilet and she was somersaulting away!

Does anyone else get this?

spotsmum
23-05-2007, 08:41 AM
our little boy is really active too.. I jumped up out of bed the other morning thinking WTH?? but it was just him giving me a big kick.:o I love it its so reassuring.. but he particularly likes my left side and will push his head? bum? something into it., my tummy bulges out on one side and it can be a little uncomfortable:rolleyes: