View Full Version : Sooo over this heat

Elfin
29-12-2005, 09:52
Just having a massive whinge here. Am so sick of this heat, we have heat rash, we are sweaty, the cold water is even too hot, it is too hot to cook. Where are the summer storms?? Lets hope for some rain and a cool change soon.

melfunction
29-12-2005, 09:57
I'm with you Easterlily

It's too hot to take K for a walk and the swimming pool is like a bath :(

Anyone know a long-range forecaster???

kimmy
29-12-2005, 10:44
Yeah I'm with you too this heat is sooo horrible. i have a shower in the morning & 10 Min's after i get out I'm hot & sweaty again.
i feel so yukky.:(

29-12-2005, 10:56
It's pretty overcast. Perhaps it may rain and cool things off a bit.

Jaileth
29-12-2005, 11:02
Try dampening your shirt/top and putting it straight back on. It's been the only way I've been able to cope the last few weeks.

Oh - and if its a dark shirt, people won't even notice! :p

Can't wait for the cooler weather - but when it gets here, all we'll want is summer again!

29-12-2005, 11:04
Or we could all go and do a wet t-shirt comp and get paid for having the shirts wet! lol ;)

Only kidding sorry Shaelia! :p

kimmy
29-12-2005, 11:08
Good idea i try that (not the wet t-shirt thing) my boobs aren't as perky as they use to be lol.
Ive been giving Chloe a cold face washer to walk around with.

Refresh
29-12-2005, 11:12
It sure is hot, I just got back from a run and I feel like i might pass out..

Nah, actually today is not as bad, a bit milder:) Looking like it might rain later on....here's hoping:)

Jaileth
29-12-2005, 11:16
maybe a way to raise money for a good cause.....

.....ie - getting all our homes air conditioning!!! :D

kimmy
29-12-2005, 11:19
Oh ill do it for an air con lol

melfunction
29-12-2005, 11:21
You're keen Frenchie!! :eek:

Refresh
29-12-2005, 11:22
:rolleyes: LOL, yeah feeling a bit flabby after Christmas and havent been to the gym since Saturday:eek:

melfunction
29-12-2005, 11:25
Way to make ME feel fat!! I've never been to a gym in my life!!!! :o I did go for a swim last night though...

29-12-2005, 11:25
Oh ill do it for an air con lol

I'll get my deflated boobies our for that too! lol;)

kimmy
29-12-2005, 11:29
Lol yeah me too :p

Refresh
29-12-2005, 11:30
I did go for a swim last night though

Oooh, now Im jealous....you got a pool?

29-12-2005, 11:31
Kaidensmum you have a pool, :)

did i mention that I was coming over! lol;)

kimmy
29-12-2005, 11:32
Alright where does she live lets go lol. :eek:
I haven't even got much of a back yard your lucky.

melfunction
Yes, but its not covered so can't swim during day...and air-con :D

Refresh
;) LOL oscarsmum, I'll pick you up in 5 minutes and we'll head on over to Carseldine:D

Refresh
29-12-2005, 11:33
Air con too???

29-12-2005, 11:34
lol, I'll be ready Frenchie ;) :p

melfunction
29-12-2005, 11:35
Yes and its been cranked for two weeks now..My power bill is gonna hurt!!

kimmy
29-12-2005, 11:36
Yep ill be ready too.

29-12-2005, 11:36
Yes and its been cranked for two weeks now..My power bill is gonna hurt!!

But oh so worth it I bet! :p

melfunction
29-12-2005, 11:37
It is worth every cent!!! Might have to start charging an entry fee :p

Refresh
29-12-2005, 11:38
OK seeya soon, OM, K and KM:D

we could have a virtual pool party and then virtual lunch in KM's AC:p

kimmy
29-12-2005, 11:40
Ill bring the icy cold drinks. lol

melfunction
29-12-2005, 11:40
I got pav :o

Refresh
29-12-2005, 11:42
Oh yum, icy cold drinks, pav......mmmmm. I'll bring the cocktails....fruit tingles or midori splice everyone?

29-12-2005, 11:42
Umm I got Diet coke! :) :p yummy

Refresh
29-12-2005, 11:43
Oooh diet coke, I could go one right now - horrible, nasty, poisonous stuff...but oh so addicitve and refreshing:D

29-12-2005, 11:45
*(Hands Frenichie a icy cold diet coke can*)

Enjoy:) :D

melfunction
29-12-2005, 11:46
I like the real coke..no diet here :o Water is much better for you..

kimmy
29-12-2005, 11:48
this coming from the tim tam addict lol:D

29-12-2005, 11:48
Ah so you only like the hardstuff then Kaidensmum! :p

kimmy
29-12-2005, 11:51
Yeah no diet coke for me either.
So where is this wet t-shirt comp hay lol

melfunction
29-12-2005, 11:52
Lol..yes bit contradictory I know :D Now I have to get ready, because I'm going out for lunch..getting outta da house!!! Yay..

Have a good day girls :)

29-12-2005, 11:54
Kimmy at Kaidensmum's house! :D

All we need now is judges, perhaps they can judge who has the saggiest boobs not the perkiest. I think I may have a chance in winning! lol:)

kimmy
29-12-2005, 11:58
Nah i'm going to win for sure.
Well if it wasn't for the milk filling them up all the time.
Cant wait for them to be back to there normal size lol

29-12-2005, 11:59
Same problem here Kimmy. I think I might feed DS before the comp starts just to ensure they are extra deflated! lol

kimmy
29-12-2005, 12:05
Same. lol:D :D :D

kimmy
29-12-2005, 12:21
As long as we don't have that guy from American idol we should be fine lol :D

29-12-2005, 12:22
Or the one from Australian Idol either!

kimmy
29-12-2005, 12:24
Yeah they are both butt heads lol:D

melfunction
29-12-2005, 21:39
Well girls, its still steaming outside..Yuck! Where is that rain Frenchie :confused:

Refresh
29-12-2005, 21:50
Um yeahl....the rain.
Well, I hope it stays away now as we are going camping tomorrow!

Thanks for the swim today KM! It was beaut!

draught
29-12-2005, 21:52
Where is the rain indeed! Our study is hot and humid and I am way too addicted to bubhub - I should be in a cool room!

We have aircon - installed it last year and hardly used it. This year am very grateful (but am dreading the power bill!) I did find a cool place to hang out with the kids this morning though - took xkwzit's tip about the Art Gallery and dropped in for an hour - aircon, free, and things for kids to do. DDs loved putting stickers on chairs and walls (and taking them off) and we sat and enjoyed the cool, cool air - blissful!

Back to melting......

melfunction
29-12-2005, 21:55
Thanks for the swim today KM! It was beaut!

No problem..:D Anytime..Who won the wet t-shirt comp????

kimmy
29-12-2005, 23:22
Ill let OM have this one lol. :D :D :D
And the award goes to Yummy Mummy lol

whatwasithinking
29-12-2005, 23:30
I know I'm not in Brisbane but by crikeys it was blooming hot down here in Melbourne too. Tommorrow going to be another 37degree day. :mad:

I tried to be a nice mummy and get Hannah's little pool up and running so she could cool off under the tree. But we only had a foot pump and it took ages (like 40minutes!) to pump just one side so I gave up and packed it away again!! Not so nice mummy now! :eek:

Back to the old cold bath poor Hannah!

Elfin
30-12-2005, 09:15
That's ok Donna you are welcome to complain here:)

Another hot night gahhhhhh. Am going mad. Itching from the heat.

You girls can count me out of that wet t-shirt contest, unfortunately after children, I have discovered gravity. Want that perk back:D

Refresh
30-12-2005, 09:20
Ahhh, I am going camping to Mt Tamborine today! Should be a bit cooler there:D

melfunction
30-12-2005, 09:29
Suppose to storm down there Frenchie..take an umbrella :p

onabreak
30-12-2005, 09:39
I live out Beaudesert way and it is ridicuously hot out here. We live on an acre block and when we moved in the grass was lovely and green over the last week it has now turned brown. It is too hot to get on the ride on lawn mower to mow aswell, it would be a cartons worth of beer for my husband to get the whole lot down.

We are lucky though we have air-conditioning in our lounge and in our bedroom, lucky though I am married to a man who is a fridgey and installs them for a living, so we will always have the cold air.

Remember years ago when we were kids and we could play under the sprinkler and hose, no more now. I wish I could turn on the sprinkler and let DD have play and cool down but that would end up with a $150 fine.

melfunction
30-12-2005, 09:42
Last time I did a rain dance it rained for a week....maybe I should pull out my feathers and do another :p

Shelly68
30-12-2005, 10:14
We went for a swim last night down at Suttons Beach (at 6pm), it was soooooo nice, all the people had gone home by that time and we practically had the whole beach to ourselves.

Afterward we went and got fish n chips (the best biggest juiciest piece of flake I've ever had) from Fish Bits in Scarborough.

Highly recommend doing that, (the swim) late afternoon.

What do do during the day? hmmmm, I guess the wet t-shirt contest wins, we have air con but to be honest it's not coping real well in this constant barrage of heat.

draught
30-12-2005, 10:25
Kaiden's mum - get those bl**dy feathers out woman!
It is not the heat so much but the 150% humidity (okay - maybe I am exaggerating a little). I want a swimming pool. I want it now. I am hot and cranky. I am on holiday and I need a holiday!!:eek:
Whinge over.

Shelly - I wish we lived nearer Suttons Beach - it is great for doing those sort of outings isn't it?

drewid
30-12-2005, 10:26
We moved house a month ago, from a luscious air-conditioned (albeit it tiny) townhouse, to a huuuuuge house with NO air con! Arrgh! Summer is torturing us this year.

We have invested in a handful of wall-mounted fans ($50 from Bunnings) that are remote-controlled - bliss! Its much more bearable today than it was the day before yesterday.

We have a pool, but its in full sun all day so I don't like to go out there with Andrew during the day. But we all jump in at about 4.30 when Dad gets home - its sooooo nice at that time of day, the water is nicely warm, the sun is starting to set...

I too miss the days of putting the sprinkler on and running through it....I feel really sad that our kids can't enjoy that anymore. It was the quintessential summer thing to do. *sigh*

I REALLY REALLY REALLY miss my air con.

drewid
30-12-2005, 10:37
I just wanted to add that if any of you Brissie chickies are nearby and want to 'borrow' my pool, just give a holler and we could have a mum's meet :)

tickle
30-12-2005, 10:46
Oh Ffrenchie, if I'd known you could have come and visited me.
Not much cooler down the bottom here but I'm sure it is up the top!

melfunction
30-12-2005, 10:58
Mental note *must do rain dance at sunset* :p

From what I have read, they don't really work any other time or maybe I just made that bit up and secretly don't want Charlie (who lives across the road) to be staring at me out the window :eek:

draught
30-12-2005, 11:14
Nicole - thanks for the pool offer. I just may take you up on it if I can summons the energy to load the girls into the car one day!

drewid
30-12-2005, 11:24
Draught - you are more than welcome, fellow owner of superpowers, just a word of warning for your girls - my little man has already developed any eye for the ladies....:D

littlepickle
30-12-2005, 11:26
Is another hot one today!!! Last night felt quite hot too prbably due to the 87% humidity!! aaaaarrgghh!!
We managed to escape some of the heat over Christmas, we stayed at the mouses house up in Springbrook for 4 days over Christmas - it was bliss, we wvwn got to light the fire on 2 of the nights, really cosy, Wednesday we came back down from the mountain and oh my gaawd! Hot!!! The first thing I did was crank up the aircon! You would think I would be ok with the heat being from Far North Queensland originally, but its the humidity that gets you, and its definitely not good when you are suffering from morning sickness!!! Anyway, I will stop winging now, I might even venture out to the Southbank today for a swim

kimmy
30-12-2005, 14:20
I would love to come over Nicole but i have no car.
Man it is hot when are we going to get some rain.

melfunction
30-12-2005, 14:23
Don't stress Kimmy..I'm doing a rain dance later..gotta find my feathers....

kimmy
30-12-2005, 14:27
Go for it Kaidensmum, can i do anything to help lol :D

melfunction
30-12-2005, 14:30
Just keep that wet t-shirt ON kimmy..don't want me to lose concentration now do we :p

kimmy
30-12-2005, 14:47
Lol I'm not the one that you have to watch its OM who won the best boobies lol

Elfin
30-12-2005, 14:51
ooohh raindance that is a great idea. I will get my dd to do one. She normally does one just before she throws herself on the floor and has a tantrum. Maybe some good could come from one of her tanties you never know :D

melfunction
30-12-2005, 15:28
Maybe I don't have to do one after all. There is a severe thunderstorm warning for SE Qld, Darling Downs and Granite Belt, with large hailstones. Next update is at 5pm. Will keep you posted :D .

We could get some rain out of that..

melfunction
30-12-2005, 18:11
B*gger..have to do a rain dance after all..:o Thunderstorm warning has been cancelled :(

Shelly68
30-12-2005, 18:53
They did the same thing yesterday with the severe thunderstorm warning for Qld, then cancelled it.

I think they like toying with us,

More than likely the storm will come tomorrow night at 9pm just when the fireworks are going off in the city for the kids.

kimmy
30-12-2005, 19:52
Yeah probably, so what are you all doing for new years???
I'm just sitting here having a couple of drinks with the inlaws.

draught
30-12-2005, 21:13
Kimmy - for NY I suspect we will all still be doing rain dances!!!

We did make it to a friend's place for a swim this afternoon but the pool felt like a warm bath - not exactly refreshing! There was a cool change predicted but I think that has gone away too.:(

melfunction
30-12-2005, 21:16
I know Draught, I was very disappointed.. Rain dances all round!!!!! We might even have the whole of Brisvegas covered if we all do one :o

30-12-2005, 21:20
KM I guess I will put my name down for inner north brissie! lol

Just gotta find some feathers now! ;)

melfunction
30-12-2005, 21:24
Just no wet t-shirts ok promise????:p

draught
30-12-2005, 21:37
Ok - I have inner south-east covered and I can guarantee no wet t-shirts - three years of pregnancy and breastfeeding combined with gravity and age have not been kind - there is a reason I am still feeding DD2 at 15 months - I am scared what will happen when I stop completely!!:eek:

30-12-2005, 21:38
oh alright KM if you insist! :(

melfunction
30-12-2005, 21:50
I insist..its for the greater good :p I'm sure as h*ll not going to flash my bits around :eek: :eek:

30-12-2005, 21:54
your probably right, the neighbours won't appreciate it! ;)

Shelly68
30-12-2005, 22:08
Well, I posted previously that I was not going anywhere but I'm thinking I might try and get hold of a car and do something (don't know what, maybe drive somewhere to watch the fireworks with the kids) DH is working

How about everybody else?

melfunction
30-12-2005, 22:16
We are going out to friends house at Delaney's Creek out near Woodford..I am the sober driver :( Our friends have just come back from the UK for a lovely white xmas with their families and they have announced they are expecting bub number 4!!!! So very exciting for them.....

drewid
30-12-2005, 22:17
No plans AT ALL for New Years here. Its our first with a bub, and the first that DH hasn't been at work! :eek: So I imagine that all 3 of us will be snoring away in bed when the clock strikes 12! How dull...

I remember way back in my youth (hmm...4 years ago?) going into Southbank with a group of friends...those were the days...

Shelly68
30-12-2005, 22:33
Miss Understood,

Why don't you put your DDs pool in the car (if it will fit) and drive to the servo and blow it up there (just a suggestion) they won't mind, prob won't even notice what you're doing.

30-12-2005, 22:37
I remember way back in my youth (hmm...4 years ago?) going into Southbank with a group of friends...those were the days...

I remember doing that too, and sneaking in the bottle of alcohol past security! ;)

But this new year I won't be doing anything.

kimmy
30-12-2005, 23:11
Well i hope you all have a good one even if we are all sweating our bums off

WeThree
30-12-2005, 23:15
im sooooo hot!!!!!!:eek: it must still be like 30 something degrees here atm!!!

drewid
30-12-2005, 23:17
Tis very erky here too. I have a gazillion fans on and I'm still sweating like a pink farm animal :eek:

I am hearing lovely crackly noises over the baby monitor every time Andrews fan blows by the monitor on his end - what a lovely nights sleep I am going to have listenign to that!

onabreak
30-12-2005, 23:21
I too am feeling the heat at this time of night after doing a few house chores while hubby is out with the mates consuming beer.

Don't want to rub it in but I have just turned on my air-con in the bedroom so when I get off here it will be "As cold as ice"......

Can't wait.

So what time should we all do a rain dance tomorrow???

30-12-2005, 23:23
I have the aircon on and it still isn't doing anything!:(

kimmy
30-12-2005, 23:25
I don't even have an air con just a stupid fan lol.

drewid
30-12-2005, 23:29
I have 5 "stupid" fans LOL

and thats just the lounge room!

lets see...i have another....4....and thats not counting ceiling fans! Argh....I am fan-obsessed!

kimmy
30-12-2005, 23:32
Well you could pass a few this way you now lol.
No way you will need them if this heat keeps up hay.

melfunction
31-12-2005, 07:21
Wasn't it a steaming night!!

Woke up about 2am and cranked K was all sweaty and gross..Yuck..Still warm now at 6am..Only going to get hotter!:D Its the humidity that sh*ts me...I tend to get a stuffy nose and its soooooo annoying.

Bring on winter in NZ!!!!!!

kimmy
31-12-2005, 08:36
It actualy wasnt that bad here last night we had a bit of a briss so that cooled things down a lil bit but not much.
So what is forcast supost to be today does any body now ???

tickle
31-12-2005, 08:49
No idea about the forecast today.
But my prediction is hot.:rolleyes:
Oh and I heard something about a storm, but they're always lying.:mad:
All I can say is I'm glad we brought our cheapy bedroom air conditioner about 4 years ago, the best thing we have ever purchased. We make it like an arctic freeze in there every night.:D Too bad about the day time huh?!:eek:

melfunction
31-12-2005, 08:52
Suppose to be 31 deg. Bollocks! Add the humidity and it'll feel like 40. Storm my a**e! They have been saying that for days now and we never get one.

kimmy
31-12-2005, 08:55
Yeah i now is sucks hay, so when is this rain dance happening lol :p

melfunction
31-12-2005, 08:57
I did one in my dreams last night. Woke up very achy and no blankets on :o