View Full Version : Equity Scolarships.... anyone had one??
Hi all those studiers or one time students....
I was just wondering whether anyone has previously been awarded an Equity scholarship??? Was it hard to get???
I am going to apply for one with my mid year uni application, but not sure whether to get my hopes up or not.... I am a single stay at home mum.... so :fingerscrossed: I'm in with a chance.... would definitely make the return to uni a LOT easier financially....
How embarrassing I spelt the thread title wrong!!!
18-04-2007, 15:39
I'm on one at the moment Kaz :yes:
It wasn't hard to get, I didn't think I would get it but I did.
I'm sure you're in with a really good chance if you apply :thumbsup:
I'm on one at the moment Kaz :yes:
It wasn't hard to get, I didn't think I would get it but I did.
I'm sure you're in with a really good chance if you apply :thumbsup:
Thanks Zoe....
The fact that the application has a question on sole parents is definitely encouraging!! :fingerscrossed:
If you don't mind me asking, what are you permitted to spend the money on??
18-04-2007, 18:55
You can spend it on anything you like :yes:
It is supposed to help with the cost of going to Uni and hopefully cut back hours you work so that you can study more. So basically you spend it on whatever you need to to get by, eg. bills, rent, groceries, clothing, even a holiday if you wanted to I suppose :D
You aren't required to say what you spend it on or keep a record or anything like that.
Thanks mate... of course it would be uni related... though a holiday sounds nice... lol... just kidding!!
Would definitely help with child care costs etc, will definitely send off my application tomorrow!!
18-04-2007, 19:05
Last semester I when I received it I was up to date with all my bills etc... so I put the whole lot on the childcare fees :yes:
It was great, I didn't have to pay any fees for so long so each week I got to buy extra things or didn't struggle so much with bills as I had the money I usually would have spent on childcare fees :thumbsup:
Zara and Evie go to one of the childcare centres on campus - it's great - is Piper into a daycare yet?
Starts one day a week tomorrow... with my Aunty who is a family day care lady... would love to be able to get her into 1 day a week at the Montessori Long day care eventually too.... :fingerscrossed:
MCNmummyof2
19-04-2007, 07:41
Think they are very hard to get. I applied for 1st semester, and both me and my hubby are on centrelink payments with 2 kids, but it only asks about dependents if you are single :S. We didnt get it this time,and I doubt we'll get it.
Phyllis Stein
19-04-2007, 16:42
I'm on one, and found it really easy to get, just being on Centrelink payments. In the submission, I had to justify why I needed one, and I wrote general comments about the high costs of studying. If you also have children, that'll definitely count in your favour. Someone in university admin told me they never get enough suitable applicants, and that's at the Uni of QLD, with 50,000 students!
Wow :fingerscrossed: then... here's hoping!!!
19-04-2007, 22:11
Kaz, they say the same at Newie - they need more applicants :smiliedance:
Fantastic Phin!!!! I sent off my application today!
MCNmummyof2
20-04-2007, 07:21
Bugger! Wish I was at one of those unis. And of course my uni isnt offering scholarships for 2nd semester!
oh oh oh........can someone tell me about this.
Im also a single mummy and want to study, but it is very expensive. Ive been trying to find another affordable avenue to be able to for quite a while.
Is this one particular uni? Is there a website with infor etc?
I would love some more information.
MCNmummyof2
20-04-2007, 10:15
google commonwealth learning scholarships. I assume all uni's offer them. Some just dont offer them in the 2nd semester. Its for full time study so you must be doing a minimum of 3 units per semester.
hi babyboo.... I got all the info I needed from the UAC website.... www.uac.edu.au....
Best of luck!
Hi Karrie - thanks for that link. :thumbsup:
Ive PM'd you.
Pobblebonk
26-04-2007, 13:46
Hidey-hi! How are you?
Kaz - I applied for both a Commonwealth Learning Scholarship (did ya know about those?) and an Equity Scholarship at my uni.
I've just received my letter saying I was successful wit hthe Commonwealth Learning Scholarship, but they send out letters separately so I wont know until the latest Monday if I got the other one.
In my application, I wrote about how I was a single mother, paying for childcare, and why I want to do the degree, and I also included any community volunteer work etc that I had done (which for me, is heaps), and I also talked about the award I won for my community involvement.
I cant remember how much the Equity Scholarship is, but the Commonwealth Learning Scholarship is $1060 each semester.
Kaz - I applied for both a Commonwealth Learning Scholarship (did ya know about those?) and an Equity Scholarship at my uni.
I've just received my letter saying I was successful wit hthe Commonwealth Learning Scholarship, but they send out letters separately so I wont know until the latest Monday if I got the other one.
Congrats hun...
Yeah the application I filled out was for both IES & CLS.... so fingers crossed I'll be lucky enough to land one too...
Won't find out til end of June when offers are released!! :fingerscrossed: