View Full Version : Nuchal Translucency

Hoping
17-04-2007, 10:18 AM

Had my nuchal translucency scan yesterday and all looks AOK. Bub is now 5 cm and looks like a baby (instead of the blob I saw 4 weeks ago hahahaha). The nuchal fold was 1.48 mm which was good and all I have to do is wait for the blood test results to come back tomorrow. Hopefully we will be in the low risk category.

I can't believe how much bub has come along....poor thing looked like it had a case of the hiccups though as it would flip every 5 to 10 seconds. Sonographer told me to cough to make the baby move into a better position and it was funny to see it bop after my cough. Bub is now about 11 weeks and 4 days along. All seems to be going well.

Hope you are all going well (aside from the ms)...and maybe in another couple of months we can start a thread with baby scans on it.

Kittylou
17-04-2007, 11:06 AM
Hi there Hoping

Good news about your scan. I'm sure your blood test results will be perfectly fine too.

I think I must be the only pregnant person in the world who opted not to have an early ultrasound. I didn't have one with my first, in fact I don't even remember being given the option - I guess because I was very young and in the public system. Is anyone else not having one???

EcstaticEm
17-04-2007, 11:20 AM
Oh YAY hoping!!!! :yelclap: :smiliedance: So so happy to hear!! and love the fact that it looks like a baby now!!!
Those Numbers sound great!

I had my dating scan at 5 weeks so we literally saw a sac and tiny little grain of rice, so am really looking forward to seeing how much they grow!! So so exciting!!! We are all getting that much closer to the 12 week mark:yelclap: LOVE the idea of a scans thread!!

Rianna
17-04-2007, 12:32 PM
:yelclap: Yay Hoping, that's fantastic news! I can't wait to get to that stage but mine is AGES away (May 16th). I really want to go to sleep and wake up on that day but no such luck.

Kittylou, I decided to have the scan with this pregnancy only because I thought it might reduce my anxiety over the pregnancy given my past miscarriages. Last time we decided not to have the scan and then I miscarried at 12 1/2 weeks so it's more for peace of mind reallly but I know plenty of gals who are happy not to have it.

krisash
17-04-2007, 02:42 PM
is this the scan where they check for down syndrome??? if it is i didn't have it with DD and i opted not to have it for this one too.

hopeing - i am glad all went ok for you and your partner. it's amazing how quick they grow.
Kristin

MrsX
18-04-2007, 06:42 AM
I didnt have one with DD, but am having one with this bub. Already booked in for 9th May. I also had a dating scan last week. Will start a scan pic thread now, any pics we have we can post :D

Hoping
18-04-2007, 07:40 AM
Hi ladies. I understand that there are a lot of ladies out there that opt not to have the nuchal translucency (for downs synrome) test done. I think it is a couples decision what tests they want to have done and totally respect everyone's decision.

For DH and I, we opted to have it done as this will be our first child and we are both over 30. For me, I just think that it'll prepare us for whatever eventuates. We will love our child no matter what, especially seeings it was so hard to get to this point in the first place (more that 1 year ttc naturally and half a year through IVF).

I also find it reassuring to see bub's heartbeat on screen. That's pretty much all that I was looking for when we went for the scan on Monday. Anything else I felt would be a bonus.

We'll find out the test results this afternoon.

EcstaticEm
18-04-2007, 07:56 AM
Can fully understand Hoping, Chris and I opted to have it for the same reasons, to prepare ourselves phycically and emotionally, if something is wrong with our beautiful beany, and to get to see him/her again :yes:

Kizmet
18-04-2007, 07:58 AM
I was told by the hospital last time that it wasnt an option for me as i'm young (22 in may) so there is no point but im booked into a different hospital this time so :fingerscrossed: i can have one! I just love seeing our little jelly bean as much as possible:o

jaasssy82
18-04-2007, 08:21 AM
im with u kizmet... i had it done anyways as i suppose u never know.. and it is a good chance to see bubba again

tally
18-04-2007, 09:01 AM
I'll probably have it done considering I'm 36...

I'm too suprised at the amount of younger (too me anyway lol) mums who have it done. I was never offered it with any of my other children, only the blood test with the last bub and I was 33 at the time.

Our biggest decision is to whether to go ahead with the amnio or not.. thats a toughie.

kaybee
18-04-2007, 10:32 AM
Yeh, I'm surprised at the number of younger mum's that seem to have it done. I'm wondering if my doctor will suggest it as I will be 32 tomorrow (how did I get to be this old?:( )

Hoping
18-04-2007, 12:39 PM
Just got my nuchal results back and am over the moon. For my age it was 1 in 584 births would be downs. But after combining the nuchal fold measurement and blood test the odds are a wopping 1 in 11,655 births!!!!

I am over the moon. The lady had to remind me that it is only 90% acurate as i was so excited about the results. I reckon that if I do end up having a downs syndrome baby, then it is fate.

We can start telling our friends now about the coming arrival of our Bub!! YAY!!!

krisash
18-04-2007, 12:47 PM
i am so happy you got good result hoping. we were offered the test but as i was 25 when DD was born the doc told me me because i was in a low risk catagory the govnment wouldn't subsidise it either. but we decided to take the chance and if the bubs do have something wrong then we will deal with it when the time comes.
but i am so happy you got great results. good luck with the rest of your pregnancy.
Kristin

Hoping
18-04-2007, 01:03 PM
It was quite expensive for us to do the nuchal translucency testing. The actual scan cost us $200 and then the blood test will cost us another $41....all up $241....Pretty expensive considering that medicare only gave us $59.50 back on just the scan. I am waiting for the invoice for the bloods to come back, but think that the money I spent was well worth it cause I not only got to see bub, but also have piece of mind about bub's well being.

EcstaticEm
18-04-2007, 01:09 PM
Well worth the money like you said hoping! And BTW CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!
:yelclap: :smiliedance: :yelclap: :smiliedance: Shout it from the rooftops!

Kittylou
18-04-2007, 01:35 PM
Great news Hoping!!

And thanks to everyone else who has replied about having/not having the test. I was really beginning to doubt my decision but am feeling a lot better about it now.

AliyahBlake
22-04-2007, 06:38 PM
I'm booked in for my 12 week NT scan on 10th May. We didn't bother with it when I was pregnant with Aliyah, and she was fine, but hubby and I thought that now I'm over 30 it'd be a good idea. I agree it's expensive, but I think worth it to make sure nothings wrong (and a good chance to see bubs!!)

23-04-2007, 05:59 AM
I wasnt told there was a cost with it :confused: Will have to give them a call me thinks.

We are booked in for the 9th May, which will make me 12 weeks to the day :D

mummy2sophie
23-04-2007, 06:55 AM
I had one last time (doc recommended it) even though I was 29. Will have it again this time - I'm 30. Just good for peace of mind....even though that peace of mind costs a bit!! Also good excuse to see bubs in 4D. This time in-laws will be having a peek too. :)
Congrats Hoping :smiliedance:
That's fantastic news!!!

23-04-2007, 07:35 AM
I just called the scan place & they bulk bill everything :smiliedance: Such a relief :)

Kizmet
23-04-2007, 09:25 AM
huzzah for bulk billing!!! :smiliedance:

23-04-2007, 09:38 AM
I went to have mine done last monday as I was 12 wks 1 day and they said that it was to early and that bubs was 11wks 2 days and only 4cm's. So I am off for another scan tomorrow.

Hoping
23-04-2007, 11:08 AM
Good luck to all the ladies that are going for their NTs. Hope you gals see a lovely bub, with strong heart beat and faliling limbs!!! :yelclap:

It will be so exciting to see your bubs move and wriggle!!

Can't believe that we are starting to pass from the first trimester into the second...

Hope you are all doing well and that if you have being having ms that it will soon disappear. Me I have got the beginnings of a cold :thumbsdown: Thank goodness most of bubs organs, heart and circulatory system is formed by now. Can't do much except wait out this cold and hope that my coughing doesn't disrupt bubs too much...what a time to get it!!!

Roxy76
30-04-2007, 12:37 PM
I can't wait for the bub's 12 week scan!! so exciting!

is everyone having the DS blood test as well as the NT scan? or just the scan?

thanks girls! :hugs:

goose
30-04-2007, 01:03 PM
I have had it done both times regardless of my age.. I was 19 first time and 21 this time..
I enjoy the peace of mind and seeing my baby on the screen..

It only cost me $105 and thats with nothing back from medicare as its not covered..

I dont mind paying..

NicPow01
30-04-2007, 01:13 PM
Hi Everyone :wave: ,

I just got back my NT scan results and it was all good news. They said i had a Really low risk pregnancy so that was great!!!! PHEWF.....it was like a 1 in 15,400 chance (really low!!!).

I was on a great big high that whole day and ever since!!!

Good luck everyone else...all should be fine!!!:fingerscrossed:

Cheers :smiliedance:

Rianna
30-04-2007, 01:30 PM
:yelclap: Yay NicPow01!!! That is the best news! I can't wait to have mine done.

salt water
03-05-2007, 08:53 AM
I just booked mine this morning for 16 May and my costs are covered by medicare due to my age. But I would pay for it anyway regardless.

Moops
03-05-2007, 06:49 PM
It's free in the UK! Actually pretty much everything is, all prescriptions during pg are free and all dentistry is free during pg and for a year afterwards!

tally
03-05-2007, 06:59 PM
It's free in the UK! Actually pretty much everything is, all prescriptions during pg are free and all dentistry is free during pg and for a year afterwards!

How rude lol... dentistry over here is sooo expensive.

Is anyone else nervous about the Nuchal Scan, I'm not really even looking forward to it at all, spose because I'm in the high risk category theres a good chance its not going to come back ok....

Apparently mine is fully covered too.. and I'm getting it done at a private clinic.

salt water
03-05-2007, 07:12 PM
Tally - I am older than you :o In fact I might be the oldest pregnant woman on bubhub :detective:

I had one last year and it came back with great results so don't stress.

Noosamum XX

Hoping
04-05-2007, 11:03 AM
NicPow01: Congrats on such a fantastic result. Give you piece of mind that bubs is OK.

tally and noonasmum: Good luck with your scans. My mum had my little sis when she was about 35 to 36 and my sis turned out AOK. My friend had a DS girl when she was 26, so you can never tell. Just because you are older doesn't mean your bub will have DS. You have a higher chance, but I guess its best to wait until you get the results before worrying. My DH always says that you can start worrying when there is something to worry about....Good philosophy, but harder to put into practice (I know from experience :laughing:)

Good luck to everyone else. I hope your results come back low risk!

salt water
04-05-2007, 11:14 AM
Thanks Hoping.

When this baby is born I will be 40 so I am in the higher end of the risk category anyway. I had my third child last year when I was 38 turning 39 and my results came back low risk so I am hoping for the same again :)

Noosamum XX

KatieKitten
06-05-2007, 09:49 AM
hi guys
- congrats to all the gals with the great results..

is it too late for me to have the nuchal test - im 12 weeks on tuesday....

also whats the minimum test you can do, eg. can you just do a blood test, or do you have to do a scan as well?? and is it dangerous to the baby at all?

xoxoxo

4tiggers
06-05-2007, 11:55 AM
katiekitten, I am 14 weeks tomorrow and am having a nuchal scan on Tuesday. The local hospital only does them till 12 weeks and I couldnt get in there but my ob can do them till 14 weeks and no bt. It is just like a normal over the belly scan. My other choice was to drive to a larger city like brissie and they do them till 13 or 14 weeks as well.

Kizmet
06-05-2007, 12:52 PM
I'm getting mine done when I will be 13 weeks 4 days-Not sure if you can do just the blood tests or anything i'm just keen to see our little jelly bean again and admire how much JB has grown :smiliedance:

kaybee
07-05-2007, 01:38 PM
Can you have the scan after 14 weeks? Why not? I am 13 weeks tomorrow and I'm not seeing my Dr for a week and I imagined that she would refer me then. Is it something they can do at a nromal ultrasound place, i.e. there isn't a long wait. I'm confused!!

Hoping
08-05-2007, 09:08 AM
I thought that they recommended that you do the nuchal translucency scan between 11 and 13 weeks..... Not sure why though. I had my blood taken on the same day and they rang back within 2 days with the results.

i asked for the referral slip when I went to see my OB when I was 8 weeks along.

kaybee
08-05-2007, 10:09 AM
Okay I have done some googling, and it seems that B4 11 weeks the baby is too small to be able to see clearly, and after 14 weeks the excess fluid that they are measuring can be absorbed away by the baby's developing lymphatic system.

I'm a little concerned now, so I think I need to speak to my Dr ASAP and see about getting a referral. I can't seem to find out though, if it is a normal ultrasound, or a specialised test.

The silly thing is I'm actually not all that keen on having the test at all and at 32 I don't see myself as being in the high risk catergory yet, it's just that DH is insisting that I have it done. If the result came back as high risk, I don't think I would like to have an ammnio (the risk of m/c freaks me out) and I don't think I could terminate either! I don't know what to do!!!

EcstaticEm
08-05-2007, 10:13 AM
it is scary Kaybee.. Do you know why DH is so insistant on you having it done?

I know I just want to be prepared if there is a problem.. We have a strong family history on Mums side for Downs. I would not terminate, but would want to reasearch and be more prepared if we are expecting a child with extra special needs I guess..

BIG :hugs: :hugs: to you.

kaybee
08-05-2007, 10:23 AM
Hi Em, I'm not sure, he has a workmate who has a disabled daughter (not Downs). so I don't know if this has scared him, and if the test came back as high risk if he would want us to terminate! I don't think I could do that, I really want this baby! We have no history of Down's on either side of the family. If I was over 35 I would be more concerned.....

I really think I need to have a chat about this with my Dr. I just don't know when I will get to see her, as I am going way interstate tomorrow for 2 days, so if I can't get in this arvo, it will have to be Friday arvo, as i have meetings all morning Friday. I should have thought of this earlier!!!:confused:

salt water
08-05-2007, 12:31 PM
Kaybee - it is a specialised scan (requires special training), there are only a few places on the coast here that do it (so not every ultrasound place) and the one I am booked in for has only one girl trained to do it and she only works part time. Worth a few phone calls I think!
Best of luck :thumbsup:

Roxy76
08-05-2007, 06:46 PM
did everyone have a blood test as well as ultrasound, or did u just have the ultrasound?

4tiggers
08-05-2007, 06:54 PM
Roxy, today I just had the ultrasound, no bt. I know other clinics though that require the bt as well as u/s.

mini_me
08-05-2007, 07:25 PM
Hi girls im having my NT scan exactly week from today. Ive been told im having bt with scan. :fingerscrossed: goes well, anything to get another glimps at bub :D so far ive had a scan every 2 weeks :yelclap:

melbryan
08-05-2007, 07:40 PM
I had my bloods done when I found out at 6wks and one U/S at 8 weeks. No nore until 20 wk ultrasound. Trust me you'll have your share of tests in the coming months, glucose (diabetes), bts( diabetes) I had about 4 lots last time because they feared that I had gestational diabetes I just had a big baby.

09-05-2007, 06:23 AM
I have my scan today :o So scared, nervous, excited etc.

Wish me luck ladies :o

Tinydancer
09-05-2007, 06:49 AM
Good luck RB...... :hugs: everything will be fine!!

Roxy76
09-05-2007, 08:40 AM

YAY! :smiliedance: that is exciting!!! good luck! all will be good! u get to see your bubs!!! :party:

salt water
09-05-2007, 09:00 AM
Good luck :yelclap:

Mine is a week from today and I am having the blood test as well (2 days before).

Kizmet
09-05-2007, 09:01 AM
Good luck RB everything will be fine!! :hugs: :hugs:

tally
09-05-2007, 09:06 AM

All the best, and make sure you show us some picys if you get them :D .

I've always been told that its a waste of time having the scan unless you have the Blood tests and they have to be done within window of about 2 days (I think).

I'm a bit like Melbyran, I'm so over having tests done, being an ivf bub I'd had enough of running to and fro having multitudes of tests, scans bt's, not to mention the rest that are coming up lol..

09-05-2007, 05:23 PM
Thanks for all the well wishes. All went well, except for bub being a pain :p Kept moving when she tried to get measurements. So I went to the toilet, jumped around & tried again, but again no luck. So then went off, had the blood tests & back again to have more scans & finally bub behaved :p Will post a pic asap :yes:

Roxy76
09-05-2007, 06:48 PM
All the best, and make sure you show us some picys if you get them :D .

I've always been told that its a waste of time having the scan unless you have the Blood tests and they have to be done within window of about 2 days (I think).

actually the best time for the DS blood tests is during week 10 of pregnancy! which is about 2 weeks before the nuchal ultrasound! told from the OB and in the literature I have read, so interesting huh!

EcstaticEm
16-05-2007, 10:23 AM
did everyone get a result/risk from the U/S?? Or did you have to go to the Dr for result??

We have our DR results app this arvo, starting to worry cause it seems like you were all given measurments on the day..

tally
16-05-2007, 10:32 AM
did everyone get a result/risk from the U/S?? Or did you have to go to the Dr for result??

We have our DR results app this arvo, starting to worry cause it seems like you were all given measurments on the day..

They cant actually give you the results at the time of the scan because they need the blood tests to work it out properly if you're at risk, the scan on its own cannot tell you...... when I had mine done yesterday she said the baby looks fine but will have to wait till I see my doc.

HTH

EcstaticEm
16-05-2007, 10:33 AM
Oh thanks Tally :hugs: Helps a lot! and makes sense. Thanks heaps. :yes:

Rianna
16-05-2007, 12:55 PM
I got my risk today after the ultrasound, they had the blood results faxed through and I am at a decreased risk of 1 in 1700 (or something like that!) :yelclap:

16-05-2007, 06:32 PM
Got my risk results today. They are as follows;

Pre test risk Trisomy 21 due to maternal age alone = 1:850
Adjusted risk Trisomy 21 by three marker program = 1:15070

Pre test risk Trisomy 18 due to maternal age alone = 1:1506
Adjusted risk Trisomy 18 by three marker program = 1:30097

I must say, I am feeling very good at the moment with these results, very relieved :D

AliyahBlake
16-05-2007, 09:57 PM
Woo hoo! I'm back after 6 weeks of m/s......the nausea's gone!!! Yay! Anyway....back to the topic. I had my NT scan last week, and everything came back low risk so :fingerscrossed: it stays that way! Bubby looks fine and it was a relief to see one heartbeat (I was stressing it might be twins!). Looking forward to the next scan at 19 weeks now!

EcstaticEm
18-05-2007, 12:39 PM
:gloomy: For me.. We came back at very high risk with a 1 in 59 chance.. Took yesterday off work, should have taken today too.. Just cant stop :crying: .. I feel so guilty.. I know this is not the end of the world.. But am so so scared..
We have a specialist app to talk about amnio or CVS? To know for sure... We dont want to terminate, but Chris feels like he has to know (so he can accept) where as i feel like I want to celebrate our pregnancy.. I want to be happy about this.. I just dont know If I can be if the results come back as Def + for downs.. Plus.. I am scared of the amnio risks.. Im just plain scared...

kaybee
18-05-2007, 12:45 PM
Oh Em :hugs: I'm so sorry!

We ended up decided not to have the NT scan, bacause I'm too scared of having an amnio and then, I couldn't terminate anyway. DH was for the NT scan at first but we talked it through. I hope everything works out for you honey! :fingerscrossed: My thoughts will be with you!:hugs:

Vespera
18-05-2007, 01:03 PM
Oh Em I am so sorry

Just try and remember that the tests are only 70% conclusive so there is a whole lot more chance in there that Beany will be fine.

Thoughts are with you guys :hugs:

EcstaticEm
18-05-2007, 01:07 PM
Thanks kaybee and vespera.. Really needed those hugs today.. Its hard, because I dont want to talk to anyone in R/L about this.. I could not stand to see the sadness/pity on their faces.. so feeling very alone. :hugs: :hugs:

Would you guys have further testing done?? (I know you decided against the NT test kaybee, but if you had done it and got my result?)

Thanks for a reminder on the accuracy of teh test vespera :hugs:

Femme la Phoenix
18-05-2007, 01:26 PM
:wave: Em
I just wanted to give you some cyber:hugs: :hugs:
and to know that I'm thinking of you

for an 'outsider's pespective'...
if i had the same results as you have,
then I would have a CVS
reason: it has far fewer complications than an amino,
it's done ealier, so there for you get your results earlier too.

there are genetic counsellors who look into and can help with risk factors and maybe worth looking into depending on what your next step is....you can both talk through your genetic concerns and they help you by giving you options for you to consider. I am pretty sure you'd need a refferal but this should be easily obtained through your GP; it might be worth starting with one that can follow you through this and help with beany's brother's and sister (when the time comes)...

keep your strength and courage your doing so well

Rianna
18-05-2007, 01:27 PM
:hugs: Big big hugs Em, I'm so sorry. Like Vespera says, I'm sure Beany will be fine, I have a good feeling. I don't really know how to advise you as to whether to have the amnio or not. My hubby and I always agreed that even if we had a high risk result we would not have the amnio but it's a very personal choice and a really tough one. I can see why someone would get one so that they could be well prepared but on the other hand I see your point about the risks involved and feeling positive about your pregnancy. :hugs: Sorry, I don't know if I was much help but I'm sending you huge hugs.

kaybee
18-05-2007, 01:41 PM
Em, maybe you could talk to your Dr about the risks of Amnio and CVS. I don't know much about CVS but if you can have it earllier than the Amnio and the risks are lower that would be good, better to know and deal with it than to wait another month or however long it is till you can have an Amnio. This is probably what I would do if I got a result like yours.

Like Rianna, I have a good feeling that your beany will be fine!:hugs:

EcstaticEm
18-05-2007, 02:26 PM
:hugs: :hugs: Thank you all so much.. Your thoughts and +++ feelings help more than you know. I feel like Beany is going to be just fine too, but I thought that about this test, so hard to trust my feelings..

At least I dont have to wait too long to see the specialist. So we should find out more concrete risks and options Monday night..

Femme - you have given me some very good things to ask about.. thanks. :hugs:

4tiggers
18-05-2007, 02:35 PM
Em, there have been quite a few ladies on here who have been in a similar situation. There nt showed a high risk of downs, they had further testing and bubs was perfect. Another lady had a 1 in 250,000 chance of downs so no further testing, she gave birth to a beautiful downs child. I just want to say dont stress because beany could be perfect, the tests are not accurate, they are only looking at soft markers for downs. It doesnt mean anything is wrong with him. :hugs:

EcstaticEm
18-05-2007, 02:38 PM
Em, there have been quite a few ladies on here who have been in a similar situation. There nt showed a high risk of downs, they had further testing and bubs was perfect. Another lady had a 1 in 250,000 chance of downs so no further testing, she gave birth to a beautiful downs child. I just want to say dont stress because beany could be perfect, the tests are not accurate, they are only looking at soft markers for downs. It doesnt mean anything is wrong with him.

:hugs: :hugs: :hugs: Thanks 4tiggers. Have just searched bubhub for threads simmilar, Looks promising. I know Our Beany will be beautiful no mater how many chromosomes he has:yes: .. Just shocked, and scared.. and pregnant so overly emotional I guess.

Kittylou
18-05-2007, 02:49 PM
Em, I'm so sorry!! As others have said though, this doesn't mean anything is wrong with Beany at all. I can understand you must be in shock at the moment and don't think it's my place to offer advice but I'll be thinking lots of positive thoughts for you :hugs:

Femme la Phoenix
18-05-2007, 04:07 PM
Femme - you have given me some very good things to ask about.. thanks. :hugs:
:hugs: your welcome Em and I am really hoping for the best possible outcome......that beany is 100% perfect :hugs:

4tiggers
18-05-2007, 05:17 PM
Em, there is a thread going at the moment by tummybug. She has been told high risk and is having the amnio. Some of the ladies on there have been told high risk and bubs are perfect, they have a few good stats as well.

4tiggers
18-05-2007, 05:20 PM
Em, the thread is called, waiting to take the amnio.

Vespera
18-05-2007, 06:34 PM
Bless my mathmatically enriched Hubby

He has worked out that with a 1 in 59 chance that it is a 2% chance that there MAY be something to worry about

BUT that leaves a *drum roll please*

98% chance that everything will be hunky dory! Awesome odds for Beany if you ask me.

And as for your question - we didnt get the scan done either because I dont like the fact its not 100% positive and I didnt want to worry about something that might not happen. We knew we wouldnt get the amnio done and we wouldnt terminate so if Cletus comes out with Downs at least I have enjoyed the 9 months pregnancy without thinking about what could go wrong.

What ever you guys decide everyone here will support you 110% and in the mean time have some more hugs from me :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

EcstaticEm
21-05-2007, 07:29 AM
Thank you all so much. :hugs: Specailly your mathamatic hubby vespera:yes: 2% sounds a heck of a lot better than 1-59! (thanks for the link too 4tiggers)

After many a tears and just as many a "my god, we are so lucky" moments over the weekend. We will still see the specialist tonight, but I do not think I will be getting further tests.. I know Chris will be a little dissapointed, but I just cant get past the misscarrige risk.. no matter how small the risk, I dont see the point of doing it just to know.. We will find out in 6-7 months. I am happy to be carrying our miracle. And I guess this test has taught me a bloody huge parenting lesson.. Dont expect your child to be everything you dream/want them to be.. They are who they are! Beany is who he is meant to be.. I dont get to decide anything. We are expecting an emotional wait, but I am very hopeful that Beany will be a beautiful talented important member of our family and the human race. I just know it.:yes: :hugs:

Thanks for understanding my fears, and for the support and hugs. Means more than I can say.

Roxy76
31-05-2007, 11:10 AM
Had my ob appointment today and he let me know the scan combined with blood tests gives me a very low chance of DS. it was 1 in 16,000, so I happy!! :smiliedance:

EcstaticEm
31-05-2007, 11:59 AM
:smiliedance: :smiliedance: YAY Roxy!!! Happy for you hon!!!

Kizmet
31-05-2007, 02:39 PM
Congratulations Roxy!! :smiliedance:

BellasBub
23-05-2008, 10:27 PM
Hi EcstaticEm

I had my first scan at 6 weeks (to confirm age) and have just had my 12 week one. I think I was in shock during the first one as the pregnancy was unexpected and I certainly didn't know the blob would have a heart beat already!!!!

The 12 week one was brilliant and you'll love it! You can see a bub instead of 'sand' - legs, arms, face the works! My bub had its legs crossed (takes after mum already) and was squirming around lots. Can't wait for the next one!

Good luck and enjoy - it goes so fast.