View Full Version : Circumcision

chantalp
17-04-2007, 10:52
Just wondering how you all feel about it?. We are having a boy and getting him circumcised with no hesitation. I have been hearing that at the moment most people arent getting their boys done.
I have heard a few bad stories from people who haven't had their sons done and ended up regretting it due to medical problems.

the_queen
17-04-2007, 10:54
I would feel like a bad mother if I willingly let somebody near my child's genitals with a scalpel.

JMO :hugs:

~rambox~
17-04-2007, 10:56
I have no problems with it at all. I have 3 boys done :thumbsup:

stellarella
17-04-2007, 11:16
I think you are better off closing this thread now and checking out the other threads (there are many) on this topic.

Everyone has stated their opinion a hundred times, there are those who are against and those who are for it.

These threads just turn into all in brawls usually :laughing:

I love giving my opinion though...ask me for my opinion on something and you will get it straight down the line, brutally honest and no mucking around...

I think it is an outdated, ********, disgusting procedure, I think people who have it done to their sons need to do some serious soul searching and research.

That is my opinion.

mum2my4
17-04-2007, 11:24
Just wondering how you all feel about it?. We are having a boy and getting him circumcised with no hesitation.

I am wondering why it matters what everyone else thinks if you are doing it with no hesitation?

Mister Noodle
17-04-2007, 11:37
There's lots of threads in this section that I recommend you check out.

Basically:

The foreskin contains many thousands of sensitive nerve endings that contribute hugely to sex.

The frenulum (the 'banjo string' connecting the foreskin to the glans) is extremely sensitive and a major source of sexual pleasure. Infant circumcision usually destroys the frenulum altogether - and even if it is preserved, destroys the stretching action that stimulates it.

The foreskin provides a zero-friction gliding mechanism that (optionally) allows for a completely different sexual experience. If you don't understand exactly how this works, you need to. It's not 'just a flap of skin'. I'm sure MotherNurture will be on in a second to provide a link to a very instructional video explaining it.

The foreskin protects the surface of the glans, keeping it soft and sensitive, secreting natural emolients and providing useful immunological functions.

The foreskin takes all of two seconds in the shower to keep clean - it's as easy as looking at your watch.

The foreskin is a normal, healthy and very useful body part. There's no good or compelling reason to remove it.

Infants cannot be provided with any kind of adequate pain relief for the operation. Adults who want it done have the option of general anaesthesia or even a nerve block - neither of which are appropriate for infants.

There are quite high risks of everything from necrotising fasciitis to skin tags to adhesions - ranging from the devastating to the painful to the ugly.

Infant penises are tiny, leaving almost no room for error, and very little precision. A quarter of a millimetre now could be half a centimetre in an adult. Would you want that margin for error, if your own genitals were being operated on? (specifically, your clitoral hood - which is the equivalent structure in females)

Infant circumcision takes away the choice from the owner of the penis. If you leave it, and as an adult he decids he wants it done - no dramas! He can get it done any time, exactly how he wants. If you do it and he didn't want it done... he's a bit stuffed, isn't he?

I don't know about you, but for me, the idea of having parts of my body missing is standard nightmare material. The idea of amputaing a part of a child's body, without extreme medical necessity, leaving an ugly scar where there used to be normal, healthy tissue... makes me ill just to think of it.

Having all of your body, with all of its natural functions, is something I'd consider a basic human right. If anyone gets to decide on genital body modification (especially the destructive, irreversible kind), it should be the owner of the genitals and nobody else.

As an intact male, I can safely say that I'd happily sacrifice a couple of fingers rather than lose my foreskin. Given that the rate of elective adult circumcisions is well below 5%, it follows that by circumcising as an infant, you have a greater than 95% certainty that you're going against your son's future wishes.

Infant circumcision is painful, destructive and completely unnecessary.

RedPanda
17-04-2007, 11:45
My son is not circumcised. If he has a medical condition and circumcision is required, it will be done. However, I would no more remove his foreskin without medical need that I would his tonsils, appendix etc.

It is getting rarer these days. It is mainly done now for medical reasons and religious reasons.

Congratulations on your pregnancy, and hope the birth goes well :hugs:

melfunction
17-04-2007, 11:54
Just wondering how you all feel about it?.Hmmm, this describes how I feel about circumcision well...

I think it is an outdated, ********, disgusting procedure, I think people who have it done to their sons need to do some serious soul searching and research.And so does this...

I would feel like a bad mother if I willingly let somebody near my child's genitals with a scalpel.Yet, I still feel the need to add that is is a totally unnecessary procedure which is proven to have cause excruciating pain and discomfort to the newborn.

Over my dead body would either of my boys be done.

I have heard a few bad stories from people who haven't had their sons done and ended up regretting it due to medical problems.So you'd also cut his ear off 'in case' of an ear infection?

Bewitched
17-04-2007, 11:57
hehehe nice to see Mister Noodle is never far away to break down the fatcs :thumbsup:

As others have said, i suggest you close this thread, it could get too heated sweets :(

Lirael
17-04-2007, 11:59
well said MR N.

i just couldnt bring myself to do that to my son.

SorenLorensen
17-04-2007, 12:48
i will be getting any son i have done, but thats my choice.
but for me i would not be bothered asking how people feel about it, only because i dont really care, i am making the choice for my child.
people who are against it have every right to be against it, and they will always think that my choice was wrong, and to me thats fine. they have very strong opinions about it and have every right to voice it if someone asks.
i dont feel bad about making the choice as i am a different person to them and no one ever has to agree on everything.
i have my reasons that i want my child done but i also dont feel the need to explain them as it really has nothing to do with every tom, **** and harry

chantalp
17-04-2007, 12:59
Sorry I'm new here. I should have looked further to find other threads. I didn't realise it would get so heated. my mistake.

Mister Noodle
17-04-2007, 13:20
Hey, no worries - this isn't heated at all.

~rambox~
17-04-2007, 13:41
Hey, no worries - this isn't heated at all.

:yes: And as long as people remember that we will never all agree on this subject it will be fine :thumbsup:

Livy
17-04-2007, 15:47
I think people go a bit overboard on this topic.

My DH and his entire family have been done and so have all the men in my family .... not one of them would have it any other way. My brother had to be done for medical reasons when he was 6 - my parents then regretted not having him done as a baby.

I think it's a personal choice and it does not make people bad parents either way.

Bewitched
17-04-2007, 15:57
Sorry I'm new here. I should have looked further to find other threads. I didn't realise it would get so heated. my mistake.

No worries presh, this didnt turn out heated thankfully, but it had the potential to be due to other similar threads, so was just looking out for ya coz your a newbie :D

Mister Noodle
17-04-2007, 16:26
I think it's a personal choice and it does not make people bad parents either way.

Well, and that's where the heat creeps in.

The pro-circ crowd feel that it's morally neutral, like choosing a hairstyle. They don't see the harm, and/or they think that being a parent gives them the right to do it regardless. As such, they consider it none of anyone's business but their own. A reasonable position, if you accept the premises.

The anti-circ crowd, on the other hand, think it's morally very bad, like ... well, like unnecessary amputation. They do see a great deal of harm, and feel that being a parent does not give anyone, either themselves or other people, the right to do it. As such, they consider themselves obliged to speak out against it, at the very least.

That's the thing about things you consider morally wrong. You can't consider them a personal choice - if you did, you wouldn't think they were that bad in the first place.

To say "I think X is bad, evil and wicked - but you go right ahead, so long as you're happy with it" would be utter hypocrisy.

Ferinstance, most people would consider mugging little old ladies to be morally wrong. But what would it say about someone's ethics if they happily watched someone else doing it, and didn't even express mild disapproval?

You have to stand up for what you think is right.

Things you don't consider important, on the other hand, are entirely optional.

Livy
17-04-2007, 16:32

The pro-circ crowd feel that it's morally neutral, like choosing a hairstyle. They don't see the harm, and/or they think that being a parent gives them the right to do it regardless. As such, they consider it none of anyone's business but their own. A reasonable position, if you accept the premises.

The anti-circ crowd, on the other hand, think it's morally very bad, like ... well, like unnecessary amputation. They do see a great deal of harm, and feel that being a parent does not give anyone, either themselves or other people, the right to do it. As such, they consider themselves obliged to speak out against it, at the very least.

That's the thing about things you consider morally wrong. You can't consider them a personal choice - if you did, you wouldn't think they were that bad in the first place.

To say "I think X is bad, evil and wicked - but you go right ahead, so long as you're happy with it" would be utter hypocrisy.

Ferinstance, most people would consider mugging little old ladies to be morally wrong. But what would it say about someone's ethics if they happily watched someone else doing it, and didn't even express mild disapproval?

As I said before I think this topic can go a bit overboard. I also have my own judgements at what I believe is wrong in our society that others may not agree with - doesn't mean I shove my opionions down everyone elses throats. How can you compare it to mugging an old lady ???

And I am not wanting to start an argument here - just think we are all entitled to our own opinion that's all.

17-04-2007, 16:34
I love giving my opinion though...ask me for my opinion on something and you will get it straight down the line, brutally honest and no mucking around...

I think it is an outdated, ********, disgusting procedure, I think people who have it done to their sons need to do some serious soul searching and research.

That is my opinion.

I feel the same. There is no need to get it done. It's just for the parents really.

I would feel like a bad mother if I willingly let somebody near my child's genitals with a scalpel.

JMO :hugs:

Oh so would I!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i just couldnt bring myself to do that to my son.

Me too! How could you.

ziggie
17-04-2007, 16:44
I don't agree with it.... for all the above stated reasons. And you'll find that it won't even be offered to you when your son is born either... It wasn't even mentioned to us at all. Don't you want to keep your little man intact? As he was meant to be? JMO :)

mumx3littlies
17-04-2007, 16:51
Hmmm, this describes how I feel about circumcision well...

And so does this...

Yet, I still feel the need to add that is is a totally unnecessary procedure which is proven to have cause excruciating pain and discomfort to the newborn.

Over my dead body would either of my boys be done.

So you'd also cut his ear off 'in case' of an ear infection?

I agree with you totally! We have 2 boys and I'd never let anyone do that to them.:no:

Mister Noodle
17-04-2007, 16:59
As I said before I think this topic can go a bit overboard. I also have my own judgements at what I believe is wrong in our society that others may not agree with - doesn't mean I shove my opionions down everyone elses throats. How can you compare it to mugging an old lady ??? WTF.

The point was about immoral acts in general.

That's why I chose something so completely unrelated to the topic.

If you find X bad and wrong, you just don't smile and nod at someone doing X, as though they're doing nothing wrong.

The very idea would be self-contradictory. Do you see the conflict there? "Something bad and wrong" is the exact opposite of "nothing wrong".

That was my point.

(also, I'd personally reckon that pinning someone down and taking a knife to their genitals would actually be worse than a simple mugging... but that's neither here nor there)

SorenLorensen
17-04-2007, 17:00

it is your choice to feel that way, and as i said in my post befor you have every right to feel so strong about the issue and yes i even say you have a right to voice it, but it still comes down to the choice, and no it does not make us a bad parent, it just mens that we have a different view on it..

i am not someone that will explain my reason for it because i dont have to, but if i wanted to i would have a right to as do you.

this is something no one is ever going to argee on and i love the fact that you dont step down from it (i may not agree with you but at least you stay true to your word), but i dont think because everyone does not agree, meant that there is either bad parents or good ones........

as a parent who will circ, i think the conversations about this could go so much better if everyone did not attack eachother (it goes both ways). i know most anti-circ dont think we are bad parents, most just think we have or are going to make a bad choice. but there are some out there that really do consider us bad because of a circ....but then again there are pro-circ who will bite back at the drop of a hat.....its never going to end really. i guess i like to accept that everyone has an opinion and they have a right to it

Ashleigh<3
17-04-2007, 17:00
Why I wont be ordering the surgeon to remove my future sons?
For the same reason I didn't order the surgeon to remove my daughters private parts.

have heard a few bad stories from people who haven't had their sons done and ended up regretting it due to medical problems.

We have quite a few Mothers on this website that have cured their little fellas problems by resorting to alternative methods, rather then just chopping it off to make it easier for 'them', the 'parents'.

I think you'll find pro circers choice based on what's beneficial for them, as in, what's better for them in the long run, "I don't want to have to deal with an infected little man, so we'll just chop it".

Whereas, anti-circers are informed, do their research in depth and realise how ridiculous and unnecessary it is. :)

I suggest you do your homework too before following the crowd.

There really isn't a crowd IMO.

Ashleigh<3
17-04-2007, 17:09
I'm not being cruel when I say this, but.
Why is it that the ones that actually do research information about circumcision, end up choosing against it?

The majority anyway. I'm still lost as to why the minority would still go through with it if they actually researched.

:confused:

*hides*

17-04-2007, 17:11
Why is it that the ones that actually do research information about circumcision, end up choosing against it?

The majority anyway. I'm still lost as to why the minority would still go through with it if they actually researched.

*hides*

Good point. :thumbsup: :confused:

Ashleigh<3
17-04-2007, 17:20
Good point. :thumbsup: :confused:

Where is MotherNurture and Guv'nor with their statistics?

SorenLorensen
17-04-2007, 17:21

*hides*

dont hide :p , you have no reason too.

im just wondering where you got the majority and minority stats from ?
im not saying this to debate but it is interesting.
i know there are alot of anti-circ people and they do there research but there are people who do circ that do research too.
***not saying all, but alot do ***

i would love a link that has the stats available for people who do circ and dont research..not one that has "most dont and :ecomcity: " one that has researched this point and has stat results

ziggie
17-04-2007, 17:23
Where is MotherNurture and Guv'nor with their statistics?

They'll be here soon.... :fingerscrossed: :D

Pippi Longstocking
17-04-2007, 17:39
Somebody call me? :D
oh look, I have been part of these discussions so many times. I have offered facts, statistics, cons, more cons...etc. But tonight I am tired so I shall summarise.

Circumcision = bad
Intact = good.

For further info, please refer to Mister Noodle's posts :D

Ashleigh<3
17-04-2007, 17:42
dont hide :p , you have no reason too.

im just wondering where you got the majority and minority stats from ?
im not saying this to debate but it is interesting.
i know there are alot of anti-circ people and they do there research but there are people who do circ that do research too.
***not saying all, but alot do ***

i would love a link that has the stats available for people who do circ and dont research..not one that has "most dont and :ecomcity: " one that has researched this point and has stat results

I know you're not looking for a fight.
Sorry If I came off like that.:)

Can I pm you something that changed my view on circing? I was initially misinformed but after research I am now sooooo verrry glad I changed my decision.

EDA:
write down the reasons you want to have this skin removed..and then think about each reason..research each reason and then see where you stand.

This is a great idea Soph, I did this last year and I all I could come up with on the pro side was...

"Um, it will.....prevent.....ultimate infection???".
"Um...I think he won't be left out...".
"Um...Isn't it compulsory? Doesn't everyone do it these days? I really have no idea because I haven't researched".

lol.

SorenLorensen
17-04-2007, 17:49
I know you're not looking for a fight.
Sorry If I came off like that.:)

Can I pm you something that changed my view on circing? I was initially misinformed but after research I am now sooooo verrry glad I changed my decision.

nop you never came across like that at all :)

see you and i are living proof that two people who have different views on "THIS" topic CAN talk to eachother and not fight about it :thumbsup:

im always up for reading anything about it, i like to know why everyone has their point of view. i know my choice at the end of the day, but will read you PM anyway :yes:

xkwzit
17-04-2007, 21:25
Just to give you an idea of how hubbers view circumcision, check out these older polls on circumcision:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=60528&highlight=poll
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=31252&highlight=poll

In both of these (which were the only ones I could find in the library) about 3 out of 4 respondents were against routine infant circumcision.

Thanks to everyone for contributing positively to this thread, allowing us to have a great exchange of views, without getting personal.

17-04-2007, 22:14

*hides*

I researched very well into our decision.

We still chose to circ, just because your view is different doesnt meant i havent researched just as much. Its not an easy decision & not one i chose lightly.

I think research is such a a loose term.

You can research with just your family..or you can re search with the internet..

Seeing one specialist you agree with coudl be all your research.
When it comes down to it is peopel need to be open minded and really think about things.

write down the reasons you want to have this skin removed..and then think about each reason..research each reason and then see where you stand.

Well said PN !

We researched, we looked into all our options etc & we still came to the decision to circ.

This isnt for everyone i get that & i will never berate anyone who doesnt circ but again we made the best decision we could for our son.

I believe it has to be something you look into & something that you both agree on because i certainly dont think allowing one half to have a greater say is the best option. You both need to stand strong on the decision that needs to be made.

Ashleigh<3
17-04-2007, 22:18
I researched very well into our decision.

We still chose to circ, just because your view is different doesnt meant i havent researched just as much. Its not an easy decision & not one i chose lightly.

I was speaking in terms of how these circ threads eventuate.
The majority vs. minority is quite obvious but that doesn't mean I'm looking for a fight.
I'm not here to argue with you if you think so.

SassyMummy
17-04-2007, 22:31
Entering this thread a little late, but I'm responding purely to the OP and no other post.

What is my opinion on the issue?

I think it is utterly appauling that it's even legal. To remove a part of another human's body where there is no real reason to do so, is a disgrace. I find it difficult to easily accept someone who would choose to do that to their child. I am here to protect my child from pain... not to inflict it upon them for cosmetic reasons (because let's face it, that and religion are the only REAL reasons to choose to have a circumcision when there is no medical reason to do so).

17-04-2007, 22:36
I was speaking in terms of how these circ threads eventuate.
The majority vs. minority is quite obvious but that doesn't mean I'm looking for a fight.
I'm not here to argue with you if you think so.

Im not looking for a fight im just stating that many still do circ after researching.
Many are too afraid to speak due to what happens in these threads so im speaking up for those who wont.

Again the last thing i want is an argument because its always what happens & its tiring.

V8
17-04-2007, 22:38
TBH, as with anything as long as the parents research and make an educated decision as to how they want to parent their child and make decisions that they feel are in the child's best interests, then that's enough for me. I would prefer someome to say, i did this because of these reasons... rather than i just did it cause that's what everyone else does... IYKWIM.

I left my little boy's intact as i don't believe in it and i would rather my son make his own choice when it comes to his genitals.

Duchessa
17-04-2007, 22:41
I used to have fairly unformed opinions on this particular topic, fortunately it is clearer for me now. Each to their own pen*s - if it ain't yours, don't chop it off.

prideNJoy
17-04-2007, 22:45
SassyMummy, the thing is, is alot of people im sure are still concerned about the medical reasons and that's why they do so. Not because of cosmetic reasons or religious. I know so many guys that have HAD to be circ'd as a young boy due to very common problems. Let me tell you this has scarred most of them for life....yet if they had of had it done when THEY were babies they would not be left with the emotional trauma they now deal with.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion though, and i respect that you feel so strongly towards the topic. :)

Ange&Seth
17-04-2007, 22:56
Many are too afraid to speak due to what happens in these threads so im speaking up for those who wont.

:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

SassyMummy, the thing is, is alot of people im sure are still concerned about the medical reasons and that's why they do so. Not because of cosmetic reasons or religious. I know so many guys that have HAD to be circ'd as a young boy due to very common problems. Let me tell you this has scarred most of them for life....yet if they had of had it done when THEY were babies they would not be left with the emotional trauma they now deal with.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion though, and i respect that you feel so strongly towards the topic.

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: I agree with both of you.

the_queen
17-04-2007, 22:57
Mel, with respect - that argument doesn't hold any water....... I know lots of kids who have had terrible ear infections - surely if they'd gotten grommets at birth, those infections could have been prevented? And I also know lots of people who have had horrible ingrown toenails - surely if they'd had their toes amputated at birth, those infections could have been prevented? One of my cousins had aggressive breast cancer, she had to have a double mastectomy and heaps of chemo... if only her parents had opted for the removal of her breast tissue at birth, all that pain could have been prevented....

If it comes to a point where medically sanctioned circumcision is required, that is the point when it should be considered. Why remove a piece of genitalia as a "just in case"?

Phoenix's Mum
17-04-2007, 23:01
Just wondering how you all feel about it?. We are having a boy and getting him circumcised with no hesitation. I have been hearing that at the moment most people arent getting their boys done.
I have heard a few bad stories from people who haven't had their sons done and ended up regretting it due to medical problems.

I was considering circumcising my son when I was pregnant, because I thought that it was normal, and looked neater, he would look like his dad in the shower- and well.... Why not?

But after researching it, and reading statistics like this:

A sensitivity study of the adult penis in circumcised and uncircumcised men shows that the uncircumcised penis is significantly more sensitive. The most sensitive location on the circumcised penis is the circumcision scar on the ventral surface. Five locations on the uncircumcised penis that are routinely removed at circumcision are significantly more sensitive than the most sensitive location on the circumcised penis.

In addition, the glans (head) of the circumcised penis is less sensitive to fine touch than the glans of the uncircumcised penis. The tip of the foreskin is the most sensitive region of the uncircumcised penis, and it is significantly more sensitive than the most sensitive area of the circumcised penis. Circumcision removes the most sensitive parts of the penis.

I started to wonder why I would ever consider doing it. I was appalled when I thought about female genital mutilation, why would I consider male genital mutilation??? Because honestly, that is what non-medical circumcision is.

Why would I remove part of my son's erogenous tissue, so that his future sex life- and his penis- is irreparably damaged?

*text removed by moderator*

I think this should be an operation that should only be performed for medical reasons. If your son decides to be curcumcised later in life, under the effects of an aneasthetic, fine. But to cut off part of your son's genitalia because it suits you? WHY???

Phoenix's Mum
17-04-2007, 23:03
Each to their own pen*s - if it ain't yours, don't chop it off.

Hear hear! :yes:

Ange&Seth
17-04-2007, 23:08
Ok, I WAS in the room when my boy was done, and he was not strapped to anything. Please don't put horror images like these into people minds as a generalisation.

I'm not trying to start an argument here, because I'm really happy that this thread has continued thus far on such a civil level. Congrats to everyone :yelclap:

Can I just say, respectfully, that I don't consider scare tactics to be a fair and informed way of persuading people not to circumcise.

17-04-2007, 23:13
Ok, I WAS in the room when my boy was done, and he was not strapped to anything. Please don't put horror images like these into people minds as a generalisation.

I'm not trying to start an argument here, because I'm really happy that this thread has continued thus far on such a civil level. Congrats to everyone :yelclap:

Can I just say, respectfully, that I don't consider scare tactics to be a fair and informed way of persuading people not to circumcise.

Yes thats what worries me is that most people are seeing all the "horror" type stories on the net etc.

Being told of a strapped, screaming child when infact this is far from the truth in many cases.

Anyways im out !

the_queen
17-04-2007, 23:15
How is it done, then? Genuine question - how is the baby restrained?

Ange&Seth
17-04-2007, 23:17
How is it done, then? Genuine question - how is the baby restrained?

I held my boy.

Honestly, we're not monsters. If my baby was going to be 'strapped' to anything, I'd have been out of there so fast the doctor wouldn't have even seen us leave.

the_queen
17-04-2007, 23:20
You held him, while they circumcised him?

Ange&Seth
17-04-2007, 23:22
Yes I did. I also hold him while he's being immunised :thumbsup:

the_queen
17-04-2007, 23:29
I just cannot imagine ever being OK with that being done to my son. JMO :hugs: etc

mummade3
17-04-2007, 23:31
my cousin had had her baby boy done at her family drs... she wasnt allowed to watch but could hear him screaming from outside..

if that isn't a horror story , then what is???

17-04-2007, 23:32
And here we go again.

Always lovely ladies :wave:

Btw for your information my son was never strapped nor was he held he was kept amused with a toy by DP & a nurse. Oh & while it wasnt something i felt comfortable watching the reason my DP was there was so he was with a loved one, its not something i would pass onto a stranger.

We havent said the full reasons as to why we have circ'ed our son but then hey whats the use when we get judged no matter what each & every time this comes up.

Ange&Seth
17-04-2007, 23:33
I just cannot imagine ever being OK with that being done to my son. JMO :hugs: etc

Thanks for that Queenie. As we've said before, we may not always agree, but respect is always present :hugs:

Phoenix's Mum
17-04-2007, 23:37
I was not asking you to justify it- obviously it makes sense to you to do this to your son- I was just wondering why aloud? Because I can't come up with an answer to that question that would sit ok with me. But everyone has different opinions....

Parenting is about making choices, and there are lots of contentious issues which we can agree or disagree on. I was just giving my opinion, just as you did.

Ange&Seth
17-04-2007, 23:44
But everyone has different opinions....

Parenting is about making choices, and there are lots of contentious issues which we can agree or disagree on. I was just giving my opinion, just as you did.

:thumbsup: Well said Chic. You're quite right too - everyone has different opinions, and parenting is all about making the choices that you are comfortable with.

Personally, if a medical procedure was to be done on my child, whether it be getting stitches or anything else, if I am allowed to be present - I WILL BE. I don't want my boy to be scared because he's left with strangers.

Phoenix's Mum
17-04-2007, 23:56
Let's not get nasty here!

Back to the original question...

angcaltam
18-04-2007, 00:17
I have to say that I do wish I got both my boys done when they were bubs, then I wouldn't have had to put DS1 through what he went through at the age that he did, and now we have to wait and see what happens with DS2 to see if he has to get done, I would rather of had done it to him when he was a bub.

rynosmum
18-04-2007, 00:24
This thread has had substantial cleaning due to issues caused when a poster in this thread decided to login under a different username to cause trouble.

Under these circumstances in future, please simply report the offensive posts to moderators by using the 'alert' triangle in the top right of the post. Retaliation is unnecessary and will only cause further issues.

Please respect the opinions of others, even if it is not the same as your own. Please respond the the OP's question as well without bringing this back into a debate.

This thread is now reopened. Any further personal attacks will force the thread to be closed permanently.

Pippi Longstocking
18-04-2007, 06:49
I see another circ thread got heated. :shame: *assumes air of superiority for not having been involved* :D

Ok, firstly a disclaimer: I am in a hilarious mood due to lack of sleep so I accept no responsibility for anything I may post.

Back to being serious.

This isnt for everyone i get that & i will never berate anyone who doesnt circ but again we made the best decision we could for our son.

These kind of comments frequently crop up in circ debates. I'd like to ask the pro circumcisers a question that Mister Noodle already touched on. Imagine if you will, a society that condoned for example routinely cutting off tonsils to prevent possible infections. It was the closest comparison that I could think of, although the tonsils aren't as nerve-rich as the foreskin and the tonsillectomy procedure is done under general anaesthetic so it is actually a cr@p example. Hmm...next. Ok, imagine the skin on the end of toes was peeled off to prevent ingrown toenails. Still not quite as nerve-filled but it sounds pretty intensely owie to me. yeah, that'll do! So imagine people around you willingly taking their kids in to have their toes peeled, either allowing them to be restrained or cuddling them on mummy's lap etc. I am sure that you'd find the practice appalling yeah? You'd want to speak up and say hey! That's not cool! And if a toe-peeling parent said to you "look, it's my kid and I would never tell you you had to get your kid's toes peeled so mind your own business" you'd want to shake them gently by the shoulders and suggest they really think about what they are saying yeah? If somebody said "This isnt for everyone i get that & i will never berate anyone who doesnt get their child's toes peeled but again we made the best decision we could for our son" you would want to point out to them that that is a silly argument because the parents leaving their kids toes intact aren't harming their children.

People feel strongly about the issue because it involves causing great pain and trauma to children. We have an obligation to speak up about it. I am not here to berate parents that have already made the choice to circumcise their boys, it's too late for them anyway. The reason I am frequently vocal about the wrongs of circumcision is because if even one mum reads these threads and consequently decides against inflicting the procedure on her son, then I feel that it is worth it. :yelclap:

chantalp
18-04-2007, 08:21
I was considering circumcising my son when I was pregnant, because I thought that it was normal, and looked neater, he would look like his dad in the shower- and well.... Why not?

But after researching it, and reading statistics like this:

I started to wonder why I would ever consider doing it. I was appalled when I thought about female genital mutilation, why would I consider male genital mutilation??? Because honestly, that is what non-medical circumcision is.

Why would I remove part of my son's erogenous tissue, so that his future sex life- and his penis- is irreparably damaged?

*text removed by moderator*

I think this should be an operation that should only be performed for medical reasons. If your son decides to be curcumcised later in life, under the effects of an aneasthetic, fine. But to cut off part of your son's genitalia because it suits you? WHY???

Well that is definatley not true in my husbands case. HE has been done and is overly sensative. Research I have found it that uncirc boys more prone to uti in 1st year of life. They may have to have it done later as the skin does not grow with the penis. Its has shown that men are more prone to catch and spread std's ( including aids). And more likely to develope penis cancer. I was listening to a Dr speak the other day about it and he said he is not sure why it is not being done much these days with what all the scientific research has shown. maybe the research is still to new.

hayleylea
18-04-2007, 08:22
I was the same as AngeandSeth and held my son whilst he got circumcised - he barely even cried.

Im not going to get into the ins and out because frankly every circ thread is the same. Unfortunatley the person who posted wasnt familar with circ threads on bubhub. Now thanks for everyone who has a wealth of information....and facts and figures. I have read them time after time after time after time on each circ thread and in my PERSONAL opinion it still doesnt make change my mind or make me feel like a bad mother for circumcising my son. He is my son and I did what I feel is right and if people want to criticise me and tell me Im a horrible person then go right ahead because i know im not.

Just for the record, I dont have a problem with people that dont circumcise, i just wish that their could be a bit of a decorum on these circ threads. I know people feel strongly about it but really whats this is going to scare away new members from bubhub...JMO.

chantalp
18-04-2007, 08:29
Thanks for that Queenie. As we've said before, we may not always agree, but respect is always present :hugs:

When my friends sons were done. It was not horrible at all the put a rubber ring just under their foreskin and over time the skin dropped off.

draught
18-04-2007, 08:30
This thread will now be closed. The original poster has plenty of information with which to make their decision. Thank you to all those who contributed in a positive fashion.