View Full Version : Hamish Andrew Has Arrived!!!

Funkychicken
27-12-2005, 08:31 AM
As some of you may have read in the Dec mums thread, I was becoming anxious that our babe wouldn't arrive before christmas and after two previous early arrivals I had fully expected another early one-but not to be. I had been feeling odd for a couple of days and had had a show on Thurs arvo, so was making some progress. Friday evening around 7pm, I had about an hour of contractions 6 mins apart, so DH rang his mum (who was in the city at Carols) and also our support friend who was coming to the birth. Of course all contractions stopped after this so I went to bed resigned to another false alarm. I had a last phone call to my friend telling her don't worry, I think you'll be having a quiet night. 10.45pm and I woke to a very bitey contraction followed within 5 mins another and another and etc... Action stations and phone calls and a five minute ride to hospital that included my water breaking and about five more contractions. Another three or four between the carpark and the birth room and it was all on! I spent about ten minutes trying to find a headspace to cope as it was pretty intense then got in the shower with DH and friend who kept up the hot water on my aching belly for about half an hour by which time I was professing loudly I am never going to do this again-in between wailing like an opera singer and howling like a banshee, which by the way got me through each contraction. I made it to the bed and flopped over the bedhead stuffed with pillows and the pushing began in earnest. Actually I wasn't trying very hard, my body was pushing despite my trying to slow it down. The head emerged and very quickly the rest of our babe, who was presented between my legs where I scooped him up in wet ball and cried along with DH and friend. The whole labour was about 3 hrs with the pushing stage about 14 mins. We eventually looked to see what sex baby was and got excited all over again. A very intense drug-free, tear-free, stitch-free birth! Cuddles with daddy while I had a shower and then mummy and baby crawled into bed for a feed and rest.
Hamish and I came home that afternoon to spend christmas eve as a new family of five.

HAMISH ANDREW
24th DEC, 2005 AT 2.19am
8 lb 2 oz 51cms
ABSOLUTELY PERFECT IN EVERY WAY
------------------------------------------------
Sal-Me
Darryl-DH
Tristan-DS 7yo
Ella-DD 5yo
HAMISH-DS 24-12-05

StormAngel
27-12-2005, 08:47 AM
Congratulations :p What a great Xmas present :D

moonblossom
27-12-2005, 08:50 AM
CONGRATULATIONS,

what a wonderful birthing story. And what fabulous timing :)

Best wishes to your family and to Hamish, welcome Hamish :)

kimmy
27-12-2005, 09:03 AM
Wow Congratulation's that is great.
what a Chrissy present hay...:D :D :D

JenNT
27-12-2005, 09:16 AM
Santa arrived early for you! Wonderful, congrats Sal:D
cheers Jen

Nickster
27-12-2005, 10:44 AM
Congratulations Sal and Darryl & welcome little Hamish, a beautiful baby boy for you and a little brother for Tristan and Ella!! Enjoy your special Christmas together!:)

JanetF
27-12-2005, 10:51 AM
Congratulations! What a powerful birthing mama you are! Welcome earthside, wee boy :)

mummycloud
27-12-2005, 11:02 AM
Congratulations!!!!

So, did he come home with a big bow and tinsel on him? :D What a perfect Chrissi prezzy.

You did great coping with such a fast, strong labour, well done!

Rockett
27-12-2005, 11:44 AM
Congratulations on the birth of Hamish!!!!
:) :)

Elfin
27-12-2005, 11:46 AM
Congratulations. Hamish is a great name:)

Blessed Mum
27-12-2005, 01:06 PM
Congratulations - a beautiful baby boy and I love the name Hamish sounds very masculine and handsome all at once.

27-12-2005, 03:20 PM
Congratulations on the arrival of Hamish, and what a fabulous birth story! An excellent chrissy present too!

I love his name too, cute but manly as well.....

Jaileth
27-12-2005, 03:30 PM
Wow. Really inspiring!

Congratulations! Welcome Hamish. What a great day Christmas must have been for you and your family!!! :D

zenifa
27-12-2005, 04:52 PM
Congratulations and welcome Hamish Andrew!!
Fantastic birth story and cute name!! All the best Z :)

27-12-2005, 07:49 PM
[FONT="Comic Sans MS"] I spent about ten minutes trying to find a headspace to cope as it was pretty intense then got in the shower with DH and friend who kept up the hot water on my aching belly for about half an hour by which time I was professing loudly I am never going to do this again-in between wailing like an opera singer and howling like a banshee, which by the way got me through each contraction.
LOL!! I love the way yoy put it!!! It sounds like you coped the same as me!!! He he he.... The wailing helps outlet some of that pain eh!!!:D LOL LOL LOL!!

Well Done Sal!!

Congratulations on your new baby boy!!!
I'm so glad to hear he has finally graced us with his presence!!!
YAY YAY YAY
:D :D :D

WeThree
27-12-2005, 07:57 PM
WOW Sal!!!! what a wonderful birth story, made me all warm and fuzzy:)
CONGRATULATIONS!~
Hamish is a beautiful name as well, and what a wonderful Christmas present:)

draught
27-12-2005, 08:15 PM
Welcome to our world Hamish - and well done Mum!

W & T's sleepy mummy
27-12-2005, 11:16 PM
Congratulations!:D :D

It sounds like a wonderful birth, and what a great chrissie pressie.

Welcome to the world lil Hamish:)

HoopDeeDoo
28-12-2005, 10:45 AM
Congratulations!!!

What an awesome birth story!!

OopsieDaisy
03-01-2006, 11:28 AM
Awwww congrats and what a great birth story!