View Full Version : Questions Spot
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 02:40 PM
I figured we could do with a spot just for questions about preparing for babies and birth (ie clothes, nursery, as well as the physical preparations needed)
Fire away!:D
bigglet
13-04-2007, 02:41 PM
:thumbsup: Good idea!!
ok i'll ask the first question
when will my bleeding stop, it starts it stops it starts it stops, its bright red then brown then red then brown, it seams like its going to be never ending :banghead:
well that wasn't really a question, cause I knwo no one can answer that, but its very frustraining
BTW Jude, goo idea about this questions thread, it will come in very helpfull :thumbsup:
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 03:24 PM
Oh Jo - I hate that you are having such a sh!tty time at the moment!!! I wish the hospy would get their heads out of their rectums and do something to help you!
bigglet
13-04-2007, 03:27 PM
ahh Gizmo - sorry to hear that but if it makes you feel better I've read a lot of people have had that happen to them all during their pregnancy - even my SIL. I guess just keep an eye on how heavy it gets and keep the OB/hospital informed so they know.
All the best...
My question is..... is anyone else finding out what they are having? (I know it's not a nursery/baby question but I'm more than happy to help in that area! :D )
Oh Jo - I hate that you are having such a sh!tty time at the moment!!! I wish the hospy would get their heads out of their rectums and do something to help you!
hmm now that would be a good idea
bigglet yip I will be finding out, hopefully in the next few weeks :yes:
i'm guessing this one will be a boy,
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 03:39 PM
I am finding out too. I have a feeling it's a girl - but don't really gives a rats clacker either way.
Pebbles
13-04-2007, 03:40 PM
Bigglet - We got a Thread here that Jude started to see if we are finding out and what we think we are having. It is here :
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=74101
bigglet
13-04-2007, 03:48 PM
ahhh thanks Pebbles....
ok... any more questions ?!?!
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 03:48 PM
ROFL - you know I forgot I started that........
blame it on the placenta brain :laughing:
goose
13-04-2007, 03:51 PM
Its the pregnancy jude... :yes: :rolleyes: :laughing:
Thats what i keep telling myself and thats the story im sticking with...
Im not going crazy.... Honest :p
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 03:57 PM
Yeah the pregnancy...that's it...cos I was never this forgetful before.....:laughing:
mel79
13-04-2007, 05:12 PM
Hey there ladies
I have a question for you ladies who are having #2 or more....(or anyone whose already felt something....)
When did you start feeling flutters with #1 bubs?
Think i may have felt something but not sure if its too early (also may have been gas.... :o )
I never felt flutters with #1
didn't with #2 till about 16wks
#3 I felt flutters at 10 wks
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 05:27 PM
I first felt Brion at about 15 weeks. But it was more of a squirmy feeling - which is how I knew it was him and not "bubbles" like gas.
This time much earlier 11 weeks I think. Same feelings as Brion, squirms not flutters.
Being small in build - cahnces are high that you will feel it sooner - unless your placenta lies at the front.
zenifa
13-04-2007, 05:31 PM
Hi ladies!! Great idea for a thread.
I am definately finding out the gender of this baby, did last time too with DD. I have a feeling its a boy, but don't mind either way!!
I felt flutters with DD around 16 weeks (although she's only 20 mths, its so hard to remember!!) and this time it was around 11 weeks.
I also think for those of us who already have a child, we can also give our impressions of what stuff we felt we definately did or didn't need!! I found the whole 'baby products' stuff quite overwhelming 1st time round and thought I needed to get everything, but we found that we didn't and we were glad that we held off on some things.
mel79
13-04-2007, 05:33 PM
OK - with the placenta at the front thing - does that mean that flutters are usually felt at the front of your tum rather than the back?
with a anterior placenter you usually can't feel bubs so early on, as the placenta cussions most movements, you may not feel bubs kick on the outside till closer to 22 or so weeks
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 08:29 PM
Mel - you ususally feel your baby move from the front. So with your hand outside your tummy . Like Jo said an anterior placenta is at the front of your tummy, so it cushions the flutters. You will then most likely only feel the stronger movements and kick, then the earlier flutters. This is why some women dont know they are pregnant, especially if they don't expect a pregnancy to occur. The feelings are muffled, so can be explained as other things.
Zenifa - I totally agree with you! We NEARLY bought some expensive and or useless stuff and are so glad we waited!
zenifa
13-04-2007, 08:40 PM
What products did you find you didn't need or wouldn't recommend a first time mum buying?
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 08:46 PM
We very nearly bought a baby swing. But fortunately friends of ours had their baby 6 months before us, and their baby became addicted to being swung to sleep. So we kiboshed that idea.
Buying a capsule and then a forward facing seat. We ended up hiring a capsule for 6 months off the KidSafe place here in Perth, which cost us $40 for the 6 months. But if we returned it early you got refunded for the time you didn't use. Which was good because Brion outgrew it at 3 months, so we couldnt use it anymore.
Thats all I can remember for now.
zenifa
13-04-2007, 09:05 PM
This is just my experience and by no means a recommendation of what anyone else should do.
We also hired a capsule and from memory DD was in it for 5 mths, it cost $50 or so to hire for 6mths, free installation, great service, will definately do that again. Although we had a car seat that could take a baby from birth, rear-facing I felt that the capsule seemed safer.
I also didn't feel that we needed a cradle, basinette or moses basket...... our DD went straight into her cot from hospital and we did occasionally co-sleep if she was unwell or really unsettled.
We also didn't need a baby bath. DD was bathed in our laundry tub (for practical reasons there was a bench next to it where I could put the change mat to dry/dress her, without having to bend and lift, those baby baths get heavy once full of water and ones with stands take up a lot of room) and once she outgrew that we started taking baths with her in the big bath and later showers.
We didn't get a change table. Instead we got a chest of drawers where you could put a change mat on top (with some non-slip mat between the surface and mat), and I kept the nappy change stuff in the top drawer and DD's clothes in the bottom 3 drawers. Once the nappy days are over, we just get rid of the change mat!!
We didn't get a baby monitor, even though the nursery was at the other end of the house (our house is a small 3 bed place). DD made a lot of noise while she was asleep so we never needed a monitor, we just had her bedroom door and ours open and we could hear her little cooing/snoring/breathing.
Will try to think of what else - oh yeah we didn't get a baby rocker.
Pebbles
13-04-2007, 09:18 PM
Mel - I felt DS at 16 weeks exactly. They reckon that the thinner women feel their bubs earlier.
bigglet
13-04-2007, 09:33 PM
We have a baby bath but when we first brought our baby home we ended up washing her in the bathroom sink! We now also bathe her in the laundry sink and she's 14 months old :D
Oh... and even though it's really tempting to get lots of toys etc I find a lot of toys don't get used or played with because they end up finding more amusement from things like empty boxes, your tupperware/plastic containers and things they shouldn't be playing with like your car keys, mobile phone and the remote control :D
I found wraps (all sorts from light cotton for summer and thicker ones for winter) very useful mainly because my little one LOVED being wrapped up and helped her sleep better.
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 09:34 PM
Also toys for little babies. Not worth it. Brion wasn't interested in most of his - like many babies, he was more interested by people.
zenifa
13-04-2007, 09:35 PM
Mel - I felt DS at 16 weeks exactly. They reckon that the thinner women feel their bubs earlier.
I must disprove that theory, as I felt DD at 16 weeks and was a little overweight then, and now with bubs no 2, I'm a little more overweight and felt bubs around 11/12 weeks.
zenifa
13-04-2007, 09:38 PM
Its funny, despite being a winter baby my DD hated being wrapped and was a little houdini, even in hospital in those early days, I did persist for a couple of weeks but soon gave up, as it didn't help her sleep. She hated having a blanket on her, despite being born in winter, so we invested in a baby sleeping bag and even now 20mths later she still sleeps in one (obviously a bigger size though)
Oh and I also agree about the toys, aside from a mobile I wouldn't bother with toys until they are older (ie 3mths +), as they are very fascinated with mirrors, faces, keys, phones, fingers, remote controls......but we did get her a fisher price aquarium that we attached to her cot for going to sleep at night, which even now she still loves to watch.
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 09:41 PM
Brion still has his fisher price aquarium too! I am going to get him one of those egglites to wean him off it for the next baby. He isn't so interested in the music anymore, but the lights and movement.
Brion liked to be wrapped when he was very little, but was a thrasher, so it never stayed on. He also only liked to have one arm wrapped in. Strange child!
Pebbles
14-04-2007, 09:14 AM
Bigglet – I agree about the wraps, my little man loved being wrapped. I went through all our wraps, baby blankets and stuff last night after reading this post and I have sooooo many!
Jude – Yep I agree with this as well. Jamie wasn’t really that interested in toys.
Zenifa – Sorry mate, I didn’t mean to offend if I did with the thinner girls statement. I just said it coz I read those exact words here :
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/2872.html
Tigercub
14-04-2007, 11:02 AM
Brilliant idea for a thread.
Are there many out there who are still suffering from morning sickness.
I've had it for 7 weeks, where I throw up almost every morning - it's made me lose about 3kg which is scary.
I've now had two good sick-free days in a row but I'm still afraid to hope that it is coming to an end.
Has anyone else had/having the same problem. (This will be my first bub so I'm absolutely clueless!)
Pebbles
14-04-2007, 11:26 AM
Tigercub - Yep I still got terrible m/s. I throw up every morning and sometimes all through the day too! I had it for 4 months with DS but I am hoping it might ease off around 14 weeks with this one :fingerscrossed: .
Tigercub
14-04-2007, 11:39 AM
It's amazing how much there is to buy for the bub! We are hoping to get a lot of it second hand when we can.
I had one other question - at what point do you start to show? I've always been a slim person but not very toned. My stomach seems too big for just 13 wks. I know some of it is bloating but it can't all be!
I don't think people can see it but I can! Did anyone else pop out really early?
Pebbles
14-04-2007, 01:21 PM
I didnt show until I was over 5 mths with DS and even then people didnt really notice, but I did! This time I have an impressive little bump but it is still easy to hide if I want to. Not that I want to though, I couldnt wait to get a bump! Go have a look at the Belly Pics Thread, you can see some impressive belly pics in there and compare them to yours. You might find your not as big as you think you are.
You should put a belly pic in there too. I love looking at everyones little bellies! :D
Feral
14-04-2007, 02:26 PM
Hi guys, great thread, I have a feeling I may be visiting this one often, but I restrict myself to only one question at a time!
Where do I start, I have so many things in my head at the moment, this is all new to me!
Can I prepare mentally and emotionally for breastfeeding ?(I have read other thread on phisically preparing) if so what worked for you, please tell
sam's mum
14-04-2007, 04:09 PM
Definately wraps, DS loved to be wrapped.
Our dirty clothes bin is a cardboard nappy box that I painted with left over paint from his bedroom, so it matches. (el cheapo)
I couldn't live without the change table. Dad built it for us and it is the right height (two tall parents here) and has plenty of space on top and drawers and cupboard space underneath.
I agree about the toys. People buy them toys as gifts, and our local library has a toy library so this was cheaper and easier.
I am still throwing up - so sick of feeling sick.
I have felt the baby move in the last day or so.
I will find out what it is when it is born (I love surprises).
14-04-2007, 05:33 PM
Feral - I really don't think that there is anything that you can do to physically prepare your self (ie nipples) I think thats a bit of an old wives tale. As for Mentally and emotionally, I think if it's something that you really want to do just go with it. It does hurt for the first few days to weeks but then your nipples get used to it and baby begins to suck better. It can seem overwhelming to begin with but everything gets better with time.
If you are having issues I would suggest to call the ABA, you can even call them before the birth and they would be more than happy to answer your questions.
I new that I wanted to Bf and didn't think anything of it, it was just natural for me to pop in on the boob. It's alot easier at night than getting up and making a bottle lol.
HTH
Abi'smum
14-04-2007, 06:29 PM
Hey feral
On the breastfeeding thing. I don't think there is anything you can do to prepare, i have been told that nipple scrubbing etc is not a good idea anyway. I did attempt to breastfeed for short while when DD (very long story.....I am one of those ppl who just didn't supply milk, (and yes I took drugs and pumped to help it) DD ended in hospy NICU for week). This next part is by no means meant to scare ppl (especially ist timers), but breast feeding is not the be all and end all. I thought i was doing the right thing by going to an ABA meeting when bubbs was not putting on weight when she was born, but all it gave me was guilt because I thought I was subhuman (no milk). they all said everyone can do this blah blah blah, you can only comp feed (formula) as a LAST resort. Don't get me wrong, they were extremely supportive, but trust in yourself as well, if you don't think things are working, there are other ppl you can see. Lactation consultants, tressillian (we did both of these in DD first few weeks of life). If it doesn't work, it doesn't work. I will definately be attempting breastfeeding again, I would dearly love for it to work this time for lots of reasons, but I am keeping my options open.
Again, I will reiterate, this post is not to scare ppl or make them run screaming for ABA (they were lovely ppl), I just want ppl to avoid what I went thru with DD. I wish everyone the best success for happy healthy bubbas:smiliedance:
Grizabella
14-04-2007, 11:01 PM
Yep - my advice is that whilst breast is a great option. It is not the be all and end all. I oversupplied, and Brion had attachment problems and a weak jaw. So he lost way too much weight (got put back into hospt.) too quickly and I decided that I would formula feed as he was losing too much weight for me to keep pushing breastfeeding to make myself feel better.
Abi'smum
15-04-2007, 07:55 AM
On the bonds suits thing. I had the same throuble with all the buttons as mrs green. we were given a gorgeous nightie by a friend that was warm but had minimal button, but it just had a pullcord at the bottom to close it up(looked kind of like a sleeping bag), which meant no fiddling with buttons on the middle of the night which was fantastic. I have tried on many occasions to find a replica (as I used this one almost everynight for months), but so far i have not been able to. When bubs started sleeping though, I just used regular bonds suits which worked just fine.
Feral
15-04-2007, 09:45 AM
Hi everyone, just a quick question, does anyone know where I look to hire a capsule for bub, Im in north QLD, can you suggest the name of a company, cost, any details etc, or pm me web address?
Any help appreciated, thanks in advance
MeAndMy2kids
15-04-2007, 10:32 AM
About the capsule hire, with my DS I hired a capsule at Queensland Ambulance for $56 for 6 months (i think or it could be 3months - I cant remember). They will install it for you and show you how to use it. You will need to book a couple months in advance. I also went a bought a capsule cover from my local markets so I would be using other peoples cover.
I hope this helps!
Abi's mum you can get thoes at lots of places, i always see them on ebay, PP usually sell them, and also JK does, i've seen them at kmart and target and I think Big W, I think they are a great idea too, just undo the bottom and whip them up,
zenifa
15-04-2007, 03:13 PM
Feral - I really don't think that there is anything that you can do to physically prepare your self (ie nipples) I think thats a bit of an old wives tale. As for Mentally and emotionally, I think if it's something that you really want to do just go with it. It does hurt for the first few days to weeks but then your nipples get used to it and baby begins to suck better. It can seem overwhelming to begin with but everything gets better with time.
If you are having issues I would suggest to call the ABA, you can even call them before the birth and they would be more than happy to answer your questions.
I new that I wanted to Bf and didn't think anything of it, it was just natural for me to pop in on the boob. It's alot easier at night than getting up and making a bottle lol.
HTH
I agree with a lot of what Milliner said. I don't think there is any way that you can really prepare for breastfeeding, aside from contacting ABA and even a lactaction consultant (LC) soon after the baby is born.
My experience was that in the beginning, it did hurt and took a while for both DD and I to learn how to do it, get the position and attachment correct. At hospital, I did have some help from midwives and thought we were doing okay - but they weren't there all the time, had different one telling me different things at each shift, so it did get a little confusing. Once we got home, it was very painful, my nipples were sore, cracked and I was getting quite emotional and wanting to give up. Once I called a lactaction consultant, she came over within 30 mins and she fixed our bf problems and we never looked back. It was the most worthwhile $$ spent and after 90 mins I was bf without pain and both DD and I were happy. 20mths later I am still bf, but DD is starting to self wean.
In summary, if you want to bf, its important to know where to get help, advice and support to do so.
This time round I'm organising my LC to visit me in hospital (my hospital has midwifes but not qualified LCs) and once I'm home too, to ensure that i'm on the right track bf this second baby.
nicoleE
16-04-2007, 07:28 AM
Hey.. on the breastfeeding thing... I was not breastfed and I turned out ok! :D
Im certainly not going to stress if I cant BF but I will give it a go. I cant see myself doing it past 6 months though, its not something I have a deep desire to do IYKWIM... but who knows this is my 1st so my thoughts may change.
The store owner where we bought our bulk order from talked me out of buying a breast pump (a $200 one I might add!) because he said he recommends to wait until after the baby is born incase for some reason you cant BF. Makes sence to me. I know what model etc I want so if i need it i will just go out and buy it then (or get DH to anyway!). Got my steriliser as I figured I will want that in any case so can learn how to use that pre birth!
Grizabella
16-04-2007, 12:21 PM
I used a steriliser until Brion was a few months old and had his first lot of jabs. I agree with CAss though - the more you shelter kids from germs, the less resistant they become.
But they are handy just in case they do what Brion does, and decides to drop his dummy into the toilet. LOL
zenifa
17-04-2007, 04:20 PM
Although I breastfed, I did use a manual breast pump (Advent Isis), so that I could have DH give her a feed at night (so I could get some more sleep) or if we did have the rare night out on our own (which we tried to do once/month til she was 6mths and once/fortnight after that), and my mum/MIL could feed her.
In terms of sterilising, I was just putting everything in a big pot and boiling it for 10 minutes, but later I did get a micowave steriliser ($30) that did the same thing only took 4 minutes. I can understand the theory behind not sterilising too much, but when they are so little and vulnerable you do want to protect them and you do want to avoid getting them sick if you can in the first 3mths at least (ideally 6 mths). I got my breast pump 2nd hand at a baby's market and only cost $20 including pump, all parts and bottles/teats. Even if you can't bf, you can try expressing and giving baby bottled expressed breastmilk, but you can hire an electric pump from hospitals/chemists, so you can try before you buy.
At my hospital, you can attend 'refresher' antenatal classes for people having their 2nd or subsequent baby. As I'm having a c/s, I doubt we'll go, but we did 1st time around, even though I had to have a c/s. There was lots of talk about bf, and how having a baby changes your relationship with your spouse and how to cope with a new baby once you are home, so it didn't just focus on the birth, although there were some very graphic v/b and c/s birth videos!!
robinson
19-04-2007, 08:56 PM
So who is starting to get nervous?
jolennie
19-04-2007, 09:35 PM
I'm getting nervous!! It's starting to become a bit more real now I'm not so focused on vomiting and feeling sorry for myself.
Hiring a capsule is such a fantastic idea!! Thank you for the suggestion! I am going to call Kidsafe on Moday to find out what else I can arrange too.
I've got a question; does anyone know of a place that stocks Australiana themed cot/nursery bedding? Silly me, I decided before looking around, that 'Possum Magic' (one of my fav children's books) would be a great nursery theme. Only trouble is, I cannot find a single piece of manchester/nursery item that even comes close (I've tried google/ebay/different baby stores). I even looked for 'Blinky Bill' & 'Snugglepot & Cuddlepie' stuff but came up with nothing:no:
Even to find someone willing to make me a quilt and a nappy stacker...sniff sniff
Okay, enough dribble:ecomcity:
Hope you are all well,
Jo
Jolennie, if you find some fabric on ebay or in a fabric store like spotlight or something, if you look up craft clubs and stuff, and even spotlight have these, you'll find people willing to make stuff up for you, for a price though
as for the nervous bit, i'm not really nervous, far from it really, probably cause i'm quite on edge at the mo
nicoleE
20-04-2007, 07:22 AM
Jo you might have to just find soft toys, ceramic ornaments and pictures (to put in frames on the wall) to decorate the room and have plain/coloured sheets... unless as Gizmo said try and find some material.
Im not getting nervous at all, just more excited :smiliedance: . Im not scared of labour or anything (not yet anyway!). Im looking at it as a challenge! I cant wait!! :yelclap:
Feral
20-04-2007, 08:15 AM
Just wondering if anyone would like to volunteer a list of the basic baby things needed for first bub, and mum on a budget or the things you found the most useful, neccesary, or just couldnt live without, I know you can get lists everywhere but just interested in comparing different ones before settling on my own list.
Thanks for any info in advance.
Grizabella
20-04-2007, 10:11 AM
Feral - Brion wasnt planned - so we were very much on a budget.
Things you will need ( I am cutting out extras like bassinets etc.)
Cot (whether a wooden one, or a portacot for now - portacots are cheaper)
bedding: bottom sheet would do for early stages, as too young for a blanket, and all you really need to do is cover a mattress. Use baby clothes to keep baby warm at night. Like a very warm grow suit or sleeping bag.
pram or sling - again slings are cheaper, and could do you til you get the baby bonus and buy a pram.
car seat - is essential - about the only thing you will really need straight away. Unless you dont drive anywhere. But you can hire carseats for a few months til you save to get one for yourself. This is what we did. Hired a capsule til the bonus came in and bought a seat.
clothes - cos it will be cooler, growsuits are a god send, you can get cheaper versions of the Bonds suits from Target and Best N Less. Also about 7 singlets, again cheap from Best N Less, or hand me downs. A few warmer growsuits for night times, and cple of cooler ones for when the weather warms up. Buy 000 for now - and maybe a cple of 00. 000 May be a bit bigger at first, but they will grow very quickly. Also have a babay shower and you will get HEAPS of clothes.
Baby baths - not essential as you can use a laundry tub., or shower, They arent expensive though, so you can buy one, with or without stand is up to you and where you will be bathing them. I used to put Brions on his change table.
Change Table - again not essential, you can change them on your bed. But you can get cheap ones second hand or at Target etc.
Thats all I can think of for the moment. Will get back to you if anything else comes to me.
Also remember that LAYBY is your freind.
AnD05
29-04-2007, 12:30 PM
Has anyone had any experience with grobags? If so what are your thoughts?
Thanks for any replies :)
A
Grizabella
29-04-2007, 12:53 PM
I love em! Really great when it is colder, or if your bub like to kick their blankets off. You don't have to worry about blankets getting wrapped around them, and you know they are warrm enough. Excellent for piece of mind.
Grizabella
29-04-2007, 01:13 PM
I didn't buy the grobag brands,m just the cheaper ones from best and less. Much echeaper, and just as good.
AnD05
29-04-2007, 01:34 PM
Thanks ladies good ideas!
lotsababies
29-04-2007, 01:44 PM
:idea: How many of you all gave away your baby items feeling you wouldn't have any more babies and now have to purchase it all over again?
yip we have no baby stuff, well I only have a couple of things from my first, which is a couple of blankets and some cot sheets, and singlets, other than that i'm having to buy everything else again
robinson
29-04-2007, 07:15 PM
Didnt have much time to sell my stuff but started to think about it.. then decided not too.. am waiting for my 19week scan to find out the sex and if its a boy i'm gonna sell all my girl stuff... time will tell
Grizabella
29-04-2007, 09:39 PM
I love BEst N Less - so affordable, clothes don't fall apart and they come in the smaller sizes.
Only thing is there aren't as much all in ones there as there had been in previous seasons.
I did get rid of a few things, mainly because we got the cheaper option with Brion. But now we are far better off financially, I can look at getting slightly better items. (Though not going overboard, there is really no point in that at all.)
Kyahli
30-04-2007, 05:44 AM
hey everyone,
yeah i am one of the ones that has to go and buy EVERYTHING!!! lucki that its a summer bub and wont have to buy TOO many clothes and blankets...
Any hints??
still pondering if it is worth finding out the sex as i would love a surprise, and being my last bub(:fingerscrossed: its PINK!!!)
zenifa
30-04-2007, 06:48 AM
My DD never liked being wrapped, despite being a winter baby, in fact she was a real houdini, so we have invested in a few sleeping bags, that we use all year round. I bought the 'sleepytime' range from picknpay/ kmart and they are good quality, and not too expensive ($18 for summer, $30 for winter) and I usually get them one size bigger than their clothes size, so they last longer (in 20 mths I've only had to buy 3 sleeping bags 2 winter and 1 summer). Although I live in Brisbane, I still found that for spring/autumn the summer sleeping bag suffices and only use the winter one when it gets really cold!! We don't use any other bed coverings (aside from having a waterproof fitted sheet and a fitted cot sheet on the mattress), as DD just kicks off any blankets/quilts etc. For us its been a worthwhile investment and I'll use sleeping bags with this baby too.
We haven't sold our baby stuff as yet,which was lucky, but if we have a boy (we find out the sex hopefully on may 23rd :fingerscrossed: ), then there will be some shopping to do. I will probably sell/give away my DD's clothes as this will be my last baby, we have lots of lovely things, so I will save a few keepsakes.
We were pretty cautious when it came to buying stuff for DD, and we didn't go overboard, and doubt we will this time. Instead of buying cots etc, we need to look into a bed for DD, as bubs will sleep in her sleigh cot and we already have a 2nd car seat.
I haven't been clothes shopping for this bub (all the baby clothes I have bought this year have gone to my 3 friends who have had their 2nd babies!!) but in the past I have gotten a few things from best and less, but mostly from target (especially their sales) and big w, as most of the clothes are cheap and good quality. They grow so fast, so its not worth investing in expensive clothes imo.
robinson
30-04-2007, 10:01 AM
So has anyone NOT bought anything yet for this bubs??
I havent bought a thing yet and by this time with DD i'd bought a few things??
Grizabella
30-04-2007, 10:04 AM
I haven't bought anything yet. As I mainly need clothes if it's a girl. If it's a boy - then I only need a new pram and car seat - which I will layby soonish.
zenifa
30-04-2007, 11:45 AM
I also haven't bought anything yet for this new baby.
In fact I've only bought 2 maternity items for me (jeans and a shirt)!!
Not sure about the pram issue, DD will be 2 and I am loathe to get a double pram (I'm fussy too), plus I already have a stroller and a pram. Maybe I might put bubs in a sling and DD in the stroller? Who knows??
I think once I know the sex of the baby and will be past the 20 week mark then I'll feel more comfortable buying stuff for the baby!!
bigglet
30-04-2007, 01:04 PM
I haven't bought anything either - I pretty much have what I need already courtesy of bub number 1... however since Emily is a girl most of the stuff she has is pink..... now hypothetically speaking.... if I _were_ to have a boy would it be ok to dress him in pink? The other day Emily was wearing boy socks (blue socks with planes on them) and someone commented on them - I have no problem with my DD wearing "boy" clothes but is it therefore ok to dress a boy in pink? I only ask this because when Emily was a baby and clearly wearing pink clothes I still got asked "ohhhh girl or boy?" :D
Grizabella
30-04-2007, 06:37 PM
I wouldn't - but only cos I love buying baby clothes lately (have resisted so far) so if I were to dress a girl in Brions clothes -then I would hvae no excuse to shop!:D
Pebbles
30-04-2007, 07:40 PM
I agree with what Jude says. Although I reckon its ok to use the girly clothes when ya at home. Buy a few newbies for when you go out. Thats if you have a little boy of course. You may still have a little girl.
Pebbles
30-04-2007, 07:55 PM
I had no hair either until I was like 2 and a half and my DS was the same! He didnt have his first hair cut until he was almost 3!
AnD05
05-05-2007, 07:57 PM
Hey ladies just a quick question....roughly what age are children when they are in size 00? I know its really hard but Im just after an average....
Thanks for any help!
A
Grizabella
05-05-2007, 08:19 PM
Ummmm average weight range for baby clothes:
000 Newborn to 3 months 62cm up to 6kg 44cm
00 3-6 months 68cm up to 8kg 47cm
0 6-12 months 76cm up to 10kg 50cm
1 12-18 months 84cm up to 12kg 53cm
Keep in mind though all babies are different. Brion was in size 1's at 9 months
sam's mum
06-05-2007, 06:46 AM
and Sam has just gone into size 0 about two to three months ago (about 15 months).
Pebbles
31-05-2007, 04:29 PM
I have a question... Are cakes that have custard and cream ok to have during pregnancy? I know they are sitting there in those display things but does custard and cream have listeria..? I ask coz I have this craving for a "Bee Sting" and I have had it for a couple weeks but have been reluctant to have one just in case....
31-05-2007, 04:36 PM
Bee sting YUM!!!! I would eat it but thats just me.
Pebbles
31-05-2007, 06:30 PM
Hehe, thanks girls! I am gonna go buy one tomorrow. Almost bought one today and then I thought "Nah I will wait one more day and see if the craving goes away..." :D
I wouldn't eat one, just cause its a type of dairy thats been sitting on the shelf for a while, if it was made fresh as then it should be alright to eat
robinson
31-05-2007, 08:56 PM
I'd definately eat it! But I'd ask the shop assistant first how fresh... Tell them your pregnant and that it needs to be as fresh as possible..
nicoleE
01-06-2007, 07:07 AM
As for the Bee Sting (or Beesteing or however they are actually spelt!) we went to Handorf (a German town in the hills here in SA) who make the best ones (of course!) and bought one but were concerned as we didnt have an esky for the drive home. They advised that it was fine because it wasnt actually cream or dairy in/on it or something and didnt actually need to be kept that cold.
Might pay to just ask them and see what they say. May depend on if its a 'ridgy-didge' one of just a honey flavoured cake! :D
What is everyone's thoughts on peanut butter?
I used to live on the stuff. Hubby seems to think by eating it, the baby will be allergic!
as far as I know there is no evidence of you eating peanut butter while preg will cause a allergy with bubs
on the other hand, if there is a hystory of allergies in either your or your partners families then would pay to be carefull with it, as in eat it in moderation if you really want it
SpaghettiMummy
05-06-2007, 06:18 PM
There is only advice to avoid them if either family has nut allergies.
I lived on peanut butter and honey on toast with my DD but then we don't have any allergies in our families to it.
erinp
05-06-2007, 06:54 PM
I have heard that you should avoid peanut butter during pregnancy but I'm pretty sure it's only if there is allergies in your family (which seems to be what everyone else is saying).
It feels like there is so much panic about allergies nowadays and I have to wonder if it's because people are so much more concerned about restricitng diets and also being more paranoid about germs. JMO. But that said, I think those trolley thingos (you know, made out of material where you put it in the trolley to protect your little one - sorry, can't think what they are called) are great so maybe I am one of those paranoid people!!
Grizabella
05-06-2007, 08:03 PM
I was told by my obs and docs NOT to eat peanut butter, or anything with peanuts in it, as we have a strong history of asthma, and if that's the case and you eat peanuts, then you increase the chances of peanut allergy in your child. It's not a definate. But I don't want to increase the risk, so don't just to be safe. It's like giving a child peanuts before 12 months, and fishg and honey. It's not a definate cause of the allergy or reaction, but the risks are still raised significantly enough for them to recommend not doing it.
It's more of a case of weighing it up in your own head, and deciding whether or not your are willing to take that risk.
Pebbles
05-06-2007, 08:06 PM
I ate Peanut butter and nuts all the way through my pregnancy with DS. There is no nut allergies in our family. I have just eaten 3 peices of toast with peanut butter on, I hope my bub will be ok! :D
Looks like there opinions on both sides of the fence here - like I didnt expect that :D
I will get the final word from the obs next week. If she gives the okay then i'm getting a kilo of crunchy peanut butter on the way home.
zenifa
09-06-2007, 06:37 PM
We don't have any nut allergies and I had a lovely home made satay with gourmet peanut butter from the chiller section at the supermarket a couple of weeks ago..........hmmm never heard anything about the peanut thing.
DH wants us to go to cheese carnivale tomorrow (its a gourmet foodie festival), now i know I can't have unpasteurised cheese but I wonder if I will be okay to taste test some of the others???
sam's mum
10-06-2007, 06:32 AM
any of the hard cheeses should be fine. I would just steer clear of any soft cheeses.
hmmm thats a tough one with going to a cheese festival, I would probably stear clear of them all, unless they have been stored properly during the day, which I can't really see happening,
just make your decision when you get there
zenifa
18-06-2007, 09:27 AM
We went when it started, and did our tastings before the crowds and queues started. I stayed well clear of all the soft and unpasteurised cheeses, and tried a few cheddars. I made sure I saw them cut them up in front of me, so they were still chilled. I didn't have much anyway, only tasted a couple. DH really enjoyed it and DD enjoyed the kids entertainment/rides and playground. Its a shame it had to be on when I'm pregnant. I remember when I had DD, DH brought me some lovely brie and crackers, as I really missed that during my pregnancy.
Okay, another question and probably TMI, but have you noticed a change in your libido during the pregnancy or that of your DP/DH?
The reason I ask, is that during my last pregnancy, our sex life didn't change if anything it probably increased but this time, both with DH and I our libidos have gone AWOL. Its weird, we've been together for nearly 14 years and its never been this infrequent......even with a newborn!!!Hmmmm
SpaghettiMummy
18-06-2007, 09:54 AM
Hi Zenifa-
My Libido with DS was normal too (only stopped at 37 weeks cos I had some regular BH after BDing one night and didn't want to induce DS early.)
DD was basically non existant and this one well DH isn't home enough to take advantage of what libido I do have this time but I have also come to realise my body shuts down after birth to give me a chance to recuperate (sp?) so he won't be getting any for a bit after the birth anyways.
At this stage in my pregnancy in comparison to my last one I am sleepingmore/better and so far not had sciatica which I had the last half of DD's pregnancy which was really a dampner on the libido.
Pebbles
18-06-2007, 10:45 AM
My libido was non-existant when I was pregnant with DS and that lasted until he was about 6 mths old! Its been pretty much the same with this one. I think its got alot to do with the terrible m/s I had with both DS and this bub. I have noticed that I have been feeling a bit more like being 'intimate' lately but I wouldnt say that I am feeling overly 'sexy' or anything like that.
erinp
18-06-2007, 06:54 PM
My libido has been non-existent since I was about 4 and a half weeks pregnant....but that's also probably got a lot to do with throwing up all day every day! I'm not so sick now but still nauseous which is enough to put anyone off.....DH has been very deprived :laughing: but he has been nice about it at least :)
michblb
18-06-2007, 08:40 PM
I'm the same as you guys - it's been along time between pleasure, poor DH is hanging, I'm too tired, uncomfortable, crampy or god knows what else! :laughing:
zenifa
21-06-2007, 09:01 PM
Thanks for sharing ladies. Last time we had regular BD until I was 37 weeks (had DD at 39 weeks) and then we resumed BDing 2 weeks post c/s. We had a rare moment of return of libido on the weekend, but is been very rare in the last 4-5mths. I'm thinking, if we're not in the mood now, how will we be with a 2yo and a newborn? Oh well, I guess it will be a contraceptive at least. The weird thing is, neither he nor I seem to be that bothered by it.
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.