View Full Version : how old was your baby when you first went out without them?
new_mummy82
11-04-2007, 12:53
just wondering how old your bubs was when you first went out without them? my SIL and her partner a coming to visit in a few weeks and we are going out on a dive boat for a day (about 8 hours) and i'm not sure about taking dd (who will be about 3 and half months old) and was thinking of leaving her with my cousin who has a nearly 2 yo dd and my brother who is 23. my mum suggested not taking her as i haven't really done anything without dd since she was born. i'm not sure about not taking dd as i know i will be thinking about her all day, i know i have to leave her sometime just thought i'd see how others went.
tootiredtosleep
11-04-2007, 12:58
My bub was 10 months before I left her that long, but only because I didn't have anyone to look after her before that.
Try a few hours first and see how you go. I think its a great thing to get away for a few hours and do some grow up stuff!
I still am yet to leave dd for that length! But I would leave her for a few hours from around 4 months.
She would be fine on a dive boat if you were well prepared and had everything you needed, the water was calm, you had a bassinet or something you could take for her to sleep in, and you had a life jacket. DD was out in a boat at around 6 weeks and she actually enjoyed it!
11-04-2007, 13:03
I think Ella was about 3 months. I cant remember with Connor. It was too long ago :o
mama2cierra
11-04-2007, 13:07
Cierra was about 4 months when we out for dinner without her , only for a few hours
I still havn't left Azalea & she is 18 months:o
DD2 has had 2 sleep overs (once at my mums and once at MILs) I think the first time she was about 4 months????
The 1st time I left DS he was 7 weeks and I left him with my mum for about 4 hours or so. I didn't have a choice though as was a friends wedding (and my DH's best mate was the groom) and she decided no chn (yep, even a 7 week old). I wanted to stay home instead but DH's best mate begged as not many of his friends where invited (didn't pick his own groomsmen either) so I ended up going. I cried half the way there after leaving DS but once I got there I had an ok time.
1st time I left him longer than that was overnight with MIL and he was about 9 months or so
I left ds2 for the first time for 2.5hrs when he was 7mnths.. He was asleep the whole time and MIL just sat here watching tv lol.. I havent gone anywhere without him since though.
Dd was a week old when i went to the footy all day. Wasn't a prob. I didn't really think about it too much.
We started taking her out to dinner with us the week she came home. I was breast feeding so that helped.
DS was 9 months old and it was only for about 2 hours while DH and I went out to dinner for our wedding anniversary. I cried my eyes out in the car when we left but a couple of glasses of champagne helped me to relax :D
We have only gone out one other time about 3 weeks after that as it was our best friends wedding, DS cried for ages apparently :crying:
I don't think we will do it again for a while, I can't bear it. Main problem is we don't have any family at all here in Adelaide so have to ask friends and it's just not the same!
I don't really care though, I would rather a quiet night at home with DH anyway.
I left DD for a bit longer than that just before she was 3 months old. I hated having to do it (was a bridesmaid in a wedding and previously said I was fine with leaving her at home, not knowing how hard it was going to be). I cried 3 times and didn't leave her for that long again until after she was 12 months old.
mumofcaleb
11-04-2007, 17:39
The first time I left DS for 8 hours was about 2 months ago when he was 15 months old (for work). The first time I left him for 4 hours (for work) was when he was 5 months old.
The longest so far is maybe 2 hrs while I shopped for her cot as we had to put it in back of the wagon seat down so no room for her or she probably would have come as well. Im not ready to leave her just yet
Well, TJ has had her first day at daycare today (13 weeks). I left DD1 with FIL for a couple of hours when she was a few weeks old while MIL and I went shopping.
I'd say leave bub at home and got out and enjoy yourself for the day. As long as you are confident that the person you leave them with can cope (the've had kids themselves) then all will be ok.
*Sparkles*
11-04-2007, 17:56
I left bubs with my parents when he was 4 weeks old to attend a Sleep and Settling class, but only for 2 hours and at that stage I enjoyed the break.
Then I was away from him for a whole night at 7 weeks as I had to go into hospital, but that wasn't my choice, it was just necessary and I missed him like crazy.
However, I think at 3.5 months it's time for you to go out and enjoy yourself though.
11-04-2007, 19:15
Hayley was a few days old.
our little treasures
11-04-2007, 19:34
14mnths for dd we went for anniversary dinner mum was at my house.. DS was 20mnths for our anniversary!!
DS was about 1 1/2 weeks old when i went out with my mum for about 5-6 hours
i left DS with his father n my stepfather
I went to a Ball when Sammy was 3.5 weeks old. I wasn't keen to go but really had a good night (even though I missed him). If you trust the carer, go for it. My little man has stayed at Granny's 3 times now and always behaves and sleeps through while he is there.
(You can always check in with a phone call to make sure everything is OK :yes: )
Personally, I think time with other member's of the family (I use that term loosely) is a good thing! Sammy loves his Granny but still wants mummy when she rocks up to take him home.
Hmm, I think it was when DD was about 3 weeks old. My MIL was over to stay and help me for a month. Me and DH went about 200 yards down the road to the local pub.:p We ended up coming back after about an hour.:D
TeganRheana
11-04-2007, 20:51
Ummm 4 days old hahahahaha I took Taj to the shops the day after I got home from the hospital. He had his injections etc...he was fine:)
Heath was about 6 weeks old when he stayed at my mum & dad in laws over night. Me and my DF decided to have a night out. Ended up being a crappy night, I couldn't stopped thinking about Heath, missed him so much. But we have learnt to enjoy our free time now.