View Full Version : Shocking week
I just need to share the shocking week we have had with DD2 who is 14 months old.
On Saturday night she woke with a raging temp - 39 and her body felt like it was on fire. Some nurofen and cuddles and she went back to sleep. Sunday she was pretty happy but had extra sleeps during the day. Sunday night/Monday morning she woke with a temp again at 2.30am and I got her back to sleep at 4.30 after more nurofen and cuddles etc. Monday night she would not go to sleep - screamed for hours. So a trip up to the Mater kids emergency confirmed teething and a virus. So lots of panadol and nurofen and upset baby and broken sleep. This morning finally she returned to normal - no whinging, no temp, eating food again and drinking. (And of course in the middle of all this as some of you know, DH misbehaved and got drunk when he was meant to look after the kids).
Then at about 11.15 this morning she climbed up a stepping stool and fell head first onto the bathroom tiles. She cried out then went limp, her eyes rolled back in her head and she was grey. The phone is outside the bathroom so I rang 000 (DH was out with DD1 and the car). She started screaming then went limp again and was dazed and going in and out of being alert. My normally very active baby lay very still in my arms for what seemed like hours. The ambos came - minutes after DH arrived home and she had started smiling and moving again. She is fine. A bruise on the head. She ate lunch, is playing with DH in her room while I type and is happy.
I am a wreck! What a week!
Just needed to unload.
OMG draught!!!
You're right - that is a shocking week! I hope that this next week is brilliant for you and your family - especially Christmas Day!
omg theresa, you must be a frazzled mess!!!! how terrifying, i couldnt imagine anything much more scarier than thinking something terrible has happened to your bubs. arent they amazing though? they bounce back and have forgotten about everything in like, 2 mins, whilst your sitting in a corner rocking back and forth!!!:o i hope you get a chance for some quiet time and a nice stiff drink :) and im so pleased that she is now ok :)
Chickadee
22-12-2005, 13:36
Oh poor baby! Ouch. And poor mum :( I'd be in a huge panic if DD passed out after a bump to the head. Luckily so far she seems to have a hard one, like her dad.
Do you have to be on watch with her for the next day?
I hope you have a calm quiet night. No more bumps, bruises, drunks or accidents in your house. You've definitely filled your quota for 2005!
I'm sending some cyber scotch your way......
You poor thing, I can't even imagine how terrifying that was.
Everything should be out of the way now for you guys to have a wonderful Chrissy.
Thanks guys.
We do need to keep an eye on her but she is back to normal. DH has played with her for the last hour - I was too frazzled so he has given me some "me time" (aka bubhub time). They have just gone to refill the helium balloons that she loves playing with - a daddy and daughter outing.
God bless DH though - he has refrained from blaming me, gave me a big hug when I collapsed crying after the ambos had gone, and has looked after the girls ever since when he realised that I was a shaking mess. He is well and truly making up for Tuesday night.
Tonight I am wishing for sleep, sleep and more sleep. DH had a sleep in this morning and has promised me mine tomorrow - I think I will need it!
Peaceangels
22-12-2005, 13:49
Sorry to hear about your week from hell!
Glad all is ok with DD2.
YOu know what this means? - next week is gonna be one fantastic week and that includes Chrissy - yippee!
Hope you get a well deserved good nights rest soon. :)
Hi Theresa
I am so glad to hear that Chloe is ok, I can only imagine how frightening that must have been for you. Well done on keeping it together and ringing 000 so quickly. Sounds like you've both had a terrible week, I havnt been on bubhub for a while so not sure what DH has been up too (but I can imagine).
Hopefully all sickness and accidents are over and done with and the coming week will be a happy & healthy one for all your crew.
22-12-2005, 14:11
Oh that must have been scary for you... glad to hear all is ok!!
also glad to hear that dh has been so awesome, sounds like he has definetly made up for the other night! :)
Supermum
22-12-2005, 14:23
Oh that's horrible Theresa ... what a shocking week indeed.
This parenting business is enough to give you ulcers!
Pleased to hear everything is back to normal ... with the exception of your blood pressure.
Crazy Monkey
22-12-2005, 14:34
So glad that everything is OK...
Now that the horrible week has pasted I am sure you are in for a fantastic christmas and new year.
All the best
Nickster
22-12-2005, 15:09
Oh Therese, what an ordeal! As if it wasn't bad enough your little one having a virus (I recently went through almost exactly the same one), but the unconscious slumping business would do my head in!
I'm glad she's on the road to recovery - now what about mum?
Hope your frazzled nerves return to normal sometime soon.:)
Draught
I'm speechless (and that takes some doing). How absolutely AWFUL. I freak out everytime a DD falls over, but they've not ever gone odd colours and passed out. Share a bottle of wine (the non-two legged variety) with DH tonight, you both deserve a bit of chill out time.
Cheers to you
Theresa how awful this whole ordeal must have been for you..
I can only say this new week coming, and lets start it from tommorrow, is going to be just great .. it has to be after what you've just been through !! :o
I hope you get heaps of sleep tonight and have a great, great few days leading up to Christmas and then an AWESOME Christmas day.. you sure do deserve it !!
She is well and truly recovered - thank goodness - and I am okay now too. I was literally shaking until about 4pm. I ended up going and doing the grocery shopping and wandered around in a daze - I think I suffered more shock than she did!
We have just been out to look at Christmas lights, DD2 is asleep, DD1 is getting ready for bed, I am about to make a great thai beef salad for dinner and there is a bottle of wine (of the glassed sort) with our names on it! Phew!
I was literally shaking until about 4pm. I ended up going and doing the grocery shopping and wandered around in a daze - I think I suffered more shock than she did!
Theresa i know how you feel !! My DS had a choking scare when he was about 7 months old, we had to ring the ambos but we got it out before they came..he burst all the blood vessels around his eyes due to struggling to breath ... after it happened i reckon i shook and cried on and off for about 4 days and i still have nightmares!!(this happened just over a year ago)
when really scary stuff happens to the most precious things in the world to you its just horrible :(
i am glad she is ok
take a deep breath and enjoy your wine
Oh Theresa you poor thing, and poor little DD! What a horrible thing to happen, I would have been scared witless.
I hope you're enjoying your wine and no more scary things happen!!
OK lets hope the next week is far better as that sounds like a nightmare!!
Glad to here your little one is OK, I can't imagine how frightning that must of been!
rynosmum
23-12-2005, 20:17
Theresa,
I feel for you and of course DD2. What a week!
Many hugs for you both - some of this stuff is just way too scary.
K and little Ry.