View Full Version : What do you miss..?
Pebbles
05-04-2007, 03:23 PM
Well I saw this in one of the other months and thought it was a great idea. Thought we could have a moan about what we miss...
I miss :
* Coke
* Chilli Philly
* Ham
* Energy!
* Waking up in the morn and not :barf:
What do you guys miss..?
punkbaby
05-04-2007, 03:27 PM
Being able to eat without having the fear of the smell making me dry reach
Mushrooms!! I cannot stomach them
Energy too i second that :)
out of all that you listed Tammy
Just the ham, I still eat chilly philly and I still drink the odd coke (maybe once a week or even less)
i'm not really missing anything, apart from i'm really craving for some juicy fatty KFC chicken, going to stay away from that though
Pebbles
05-04-2007, 04:14 PM
Oooooh yeah KFC.... I forgot about that and I so miss KFC! Thats my fav takeaway. I wish I could have some now!
I dont eat chilly philly coz I got told its not good to have while preg... was this person wrong...? Can I eat it still...? Listen to me getting all excited about chilly philly! :o
I have coke sometimes (usually when I think that burping might help my nauseousness) but it always gives me a belly ache so I try to avoid it. But I used to drink it every day before I was pregnant and I really miss it.
Mmmm mushrooms...
I dont eat chilly philly coz I got told its not good to have while preg... was this person wrong...? Can I eat it still...? Listen to me getting all excited about chilly philly! :o
I have coke sometimes (usually when I think that burping might help my nauseousness) but it always gives me a belly ache so I try to avoid it. But I used to drink it every day before I was pregnant and I really miss it.
Mmmm mushrooms...
:laughing: :laughing: you crack me up, of course you can eat philly, don't know why you can't, its pastorised cream cheese, so safe as, just eat it in one go right after opening thats all lol, well thats what I do pmsl
so go and get yourself some chilly philly :thumbsup:
sam's mum
05-04-2007, 06:31 PM
soft serve ice cream - I want a sundae!!!! :yes:
brie, camembert. mmmm cheese.
being able to use a spa. we were at a holiday unit last weekend and I had to watch DH and the little man frolic in the spa.
having enough sleep. It doesn't matter if I sleep ten hours, it isn't enough.
Believer
05-04-2007, 08:00 PM
I haven't really missed much yet. Although I went to a wedding last weekend and the wine looked so good. I really missed wine at that point! I also miss having mochas, but I have decaf mochas so they still taste the same. I just miss the caffeine boost when I feel tired.. which is often!
Pebbles... You can by caffeine free coke that tastes the same as the real thing. That might help out.
We have an 8 man spa that I know I'll miss once it starts getting cold and my DH starts using it again. We emptied it for the summer but he's been talking about filling it up. :crying:
sam's mum
05-04-2007, 08:25 PM
I forgot the wine. I went out for lunch with my sister the other day and she had a glass of red with her steak. I kept smelling it, I was almost getting the taste from the smell...
missb
05-04-2007, 08:25 PM
I miss sleeping, sleeping on my tummy and sleeping on my back. :sleeping:
Pebbles
06-04-2007, 11:40 AM
Oooh yeah the spa. I recently went away to a lovely hotel where we had a private spa and DH used it without me :( . How rude!
Mmmm chilly philly! I am gonna get some today... Oh hang on its a Public Holiday. Ok I am gonna get some tomorrow! :D
Hey speaking of coke, my MIL told me that drinking Diet Coke is safer than drinking normal coke. What do you girls reckon...?
I had a dream about a Zinger Burger from KFC last night. Mmmmm zinger burger.... :o
sam's mum
06-04-2007, 05:50 PM
I don't think that diet coke is better than regular coke. I avoid them both even when not pregnant. If its a choice though, diet coke has got aspartame in it and regular coke doesn't. I would rather not have the aspartame, especially while pregnant.
nicoleE
06-04-2007, 06:42 PM
Not that I ever had allot but I do miss Coke a bit - I promised my naturopath/nutritionist that I would not have any soft drinks while pregnant, he made me swear not to 'for him'! :laughing: Made me stick to it though! An alternative is Carbonated water with some Bickfords cordial in it but it isnt the same... :rolleyes:
The thing i miss the most is not being able to flog myself in the gym :mad: silly I know but I really enjoyed pushing myself and a couple of classes that are too high impact that I cant do now.
Food wise there is nothing really that I miss although I have gone off my favourite chickpea burgers and sausages... cant stand even the smell of the burgers at all :barf:
michblb
06-04-2007, 07:14 PM
What a great thread.:yelclap: Yes to everything you've mentioned. God I miss wine and soft cheese the most....and smoked salmon.
I had KFC last week, I couldn't resist the temptation, is that bad?
oohhh the spa too, we have one in the back yard, it teases me....:devil6:
sam's mum
06-04-2007, 08:08 PM
oohhh the spa too, we have one in the back yard, it teases me....:devil6:
I am pretty sure (someone confirm) that the two problems with a spa are that it isn't fresh water (two people in Qld actually got legionnaire's from spas, it was in the Thursday paper :eek: ) and that the water is heated. sooo, if you put fresh water in, and don't heat it, spa away! of course I am not sure where you are, and with water restrictions in so many places this may not be an option.
zenifa
07-04-2007, 06:08 AM
I miss Brie, the odd glass of Shiraz, and ham!!
Pebbles
07-04-2007, 10:14 AM
Hmmm all this talk about KFC is making me miss it even more! Might be naughty and have some today... :devil6:
Sometimes I drink Soda water instead of coke, is Soda Water bad...?
Nicole - I hear ya bout the gym! My bro is a personal trainer and he reckons I can do most of what I used to do but he advised me to stay away from any ab machines, any high impact classes and the rower. The rower only coz I tend to really push myself on that one, I miss doing that.
I am pretty sure (someone confirm) that the two problems with a spa are that it isn't fresh water (two people in Qld actually got legionnaire's from spas, it was in the Thursday paper :eek: ) and that the water is heated. sooo, if you put fresh water in, and don't heat it, spa away! of course I am not sure where you are, and with water restrictions in so many places this may not be an option.
yip fresh water and having the temp of it down and it will be fine, you don't really have to put fresh water in every time, just make sure you treat it properly to kill all the bugs
07-04-2007, 01:15 PM
I miss wine and soft cheese. hmmm yum
I am still having ham sometimes, toasted
luckie_me
07-04-2007, 01:24 PM
im missing those few strands of hair that have fallen out and have seemed to clog up the shower drain lol~
other than that all good here
michblb
07-04-2007, 01:26 PM
Hey guys
Thanks for the tips about the spa, we use ozone so it kills everything in site. Its raning this weekend (in Sydney) so will give it a try on a warmer day!:smiliedance:
I wasn't even thinking about KFC until I came back to this thread....hhhmmm.
Mich
im missing those few strands of hair that have fallen out and have seemed to clog up the shower drain lol~
other than that all good here
:laughing: :laughing: yeah i'm missing lots of that too lol
Hey guys
Thanks for the tips about the spa, we use ozone so it kills everything in site. Its raning this weekend (in Sydney) so will give it a try on a warmer day!:smiliedance:
yip just be carefull of the temp (only have it no more than the temp you would have a bath in) and make sure you clean it regulary and treat it good to kill the bugs
Feral
08-04-2007, 09:56 AM
I miss energy, salami, wine, good satisfying sleep, feeling well, brie, coke, ..oh ...you know all the usual
After all this I will not miss m/s, indegestion, feeling fat, doctor appointments, constipation, yucky acne, oh...you know what I mean.
Abi'smum
10-04-2007, 07:40 AM
Hey pebbles
On the diet coke thing, it's bollocks. the artificial sweetners in DC are twice as bad as reg coke. By the way on the ham thing you mentioned at the beginning. You actually can have ham, it just has to be prepacked and correctly stored ie straight from the fridge at the supermarket to your fridge, and dont wait too long to eat it. What you can't have is deli ham (or anything from a deli really), because it has been exposed to air too much and potentially to bacteria/listeria/ take your pick. Im not making this up, I checked on the food services website, her is the link if you are interested.
http://www.foodstandards.gov.au/_srcfiles/Listeria.pdf
enjoy the chilli philly,
What i miss the most is sushi and soft cheese, castello mostly and of course wine. Im going out for a sushi meal as soon as the bub is born (well maybe a while after :)
bigglet
10-04-2007, 09:05 AM
Ah bugger....
Just read this thread and realised.... that um.... hmmm.... ooooops..... I totally forgot I was pregnant!!! :laughing:
Just came back from Easter break after enjoying ham and cheese sandwiches (well they were easy to make!!), pigging out at the bistro's salad bars including all that coleslaw, potato salad etc - and they lie in the open area for ages!! :eek:
and...... hmmmm..... just had a soft serve ice cream from Hungry Jacks.
ok.... BIG OOPS eh? :rolleyes:
whoopsy daisy bigglet lol
oh well whats done is done,
I bet they all taste good too :thumbsup:
nicoleE
10-04-2007, 12:31 PM
my Ob says you have more of a chance of getting hit by a bus than contracting anything from food like that.. we are just stressers and avoid them generally anyway... Im sure you will be fine!
bigglet
10-04-2007, 05:39 PM
You're probably right.... actually has ANYONE contracted listeria or the like or know anyone who did while pregnant?!?! I know it is really uncommon but they have to tell you the risks I guess.
sam's mum
10-04-2007, 06:11 PM
my sister did :crying: . It was terrifying, I was only 17 at the time. Her husband was out on training with army reserve and so she came to visit in Bundaberg. On the weekend the whole extended family went to the beach house, of course this meant sitting around, talking, playing cards, eating fresh seafood (anything better than caught yourself) and .... copious amounts of brie and camembert. Monday morning I am back at work, Mum and Dad go away for a couple of days, sis at home with the 1 y/o. I get a call at my desk from the neighbour, sis has just been taken away by the ambos in labour, she was only 21 weeks. Luckily with the use of oxygen they were able to stop the labour and then they identified that listeria was the problem and they fixed that. My niece is now 14 years old, has size 11 feet, stands about 172cm and plays on the U16 and U18 basketball squads (including rep). :smiliedance: this is one of the reasons that I am sooo paranoid. There was a happy ending, but I am going to dodge all the bullets that I can.
oh and mum and dad were really p%ssed when they got back on the Wednesday because we didn't tell them because we didn't want to spoil their trip, they don't get them very often.
yeah just because you havnt' heard of anyone catching listeria, doesn't mean that people out there that havn't
my last pregnancy didn't end well, so i'm not taking any chances, i'm being super strict this time round, just like I was with DS2, he turned out fine and I can handly missing out on certain foods for 8mths, the time goes real fast and then I can just pig out after that to my hearts content :thumbsup:
bigglet
10-04-2007, 06:28 PM
Oh I am so sorry to hear that :crying: but am glad that your niece turned out alright.
I hear stories of people that did everything right in their pregnancy (as in kept to a strict diet, kept off alcohol etc, looked after themselves etc) and their babies weren't 100% yet someone else can do everything wrong and not care and yet have a healthy baby.
With my first pregnancy my OB wasn't overly concerned with listeria - she said it wasn't a common thing and as long as I was sensible in what I ate then I shouldn't stress out too much.
MeAndMy2kids
11-04-2007, 10:31 AM
Im also being extra careful in what I eat, but I did forget about seafood on good friday, I had some calamari and prawns. They were so yummy I forgot I couldnt eat them until the I finished the plate. But they were battered - its that fine? Is it just fresh seafood that's not good? Unsure about the seafood stuff, I usually stay away.
I also miss soft serve icecream , ummmm, I could go for one now. And I miss salami from the deli and pasta salad, i love pasta salad.
Now I'm hungry :banghead:
sam's mum
11-04-2007, 05:38 PM
the only seafood that I avoid is sushi. Anything else I eat. I generally don't buy seafood at retail outlets though. Anything we eat we catch ourselves or buy from a friend who has a boat. As long as it is cooked thoroughly it should be fine.
oops, the only other problem that I know of is mercury in fish.
Believer
12-04-2007, 07:03 PM
rachelandevan... I've heard that shellfish is a no-no but the rest is OK if it's cooked. The callamari is apparently OK to eat.
Pebbles
13-04-2007, 09:03 AM
* Pies from Brumby's - I smelt one yesterday and it smelt sooo good :(
oh yummy
I brought some pies from the supermarket yesterday, just frozen ones, they should do me till Oct, when I can eat out more :thumbsup:
Grizabella
13-04-2007, 04:09 PM
Seafood is OK. Just best if it is either cooked fresh or you do it yourself.
I miss Salamis and Cabanossi and Polish Kranski. YUMMMMM
OOh ooh and medium rare steak
jolennie
13-04-2007, 08:03 PM
Stop it....I'm getting all sad..I miss:
1. Red Wine
2. Camembert, Brie and Smoked cheese
3. Yummy Yummy Haaaam
4. Thai Food (Too rich atm):barf:
5. Indian Food (Too spicy atm):barf:
6. Energy (How many naps a day should one person need to take?)
7. My brain (every little detail....gone in 3 seconds. I'm a speech pathologist and now um, can't um, string a um......sentence together hmm)
8. My friends -Whilst I'm spewing into a bucket in the morning, afternoon and nighttime, they are happily working, going out to concerts, dinner etc. It feels like noone wants to be around a sick pregnant person...they might catch it :eek:
9. This one might be too much info but...SEXValentine ! I get motion sickness, if I wasn't already vomiting in the first place. Poor, poor DP.
Too much info? Sorry!!
Jo
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.