View Full Version : Australia V UK
Haha Nat. You know how it goes, you can take the bloke out of Australia but you can't take Australia out of the bloke.
I was at my wit's end last night, too. Like I said, up till well past 2am. Wander bleary eyed into the bedroom to change yet again after more spew and there's Noodle lying on the bed, completely content reading a book.
Luckily (for his genitalia ... ) he did take note of my no-nonsense look and general frazzledness and came out to look after Asher.
And you shouldn't be jealous, Nat! Yours are working boosies! And you know they do indeed work .. unlike the ones in Hooters that were most likely of the Made in Taiwan variety.
Londonmum
26-04-2007, 16:31
Last night I think if you had given me adoption papers I would signed them, I got so sick of not going to the toilet on my own, having her hang off me, her not napping and breastfeeding being sheer pain, and over tired. DP was so helpful and said "maybe you need to see a DR" to which I responded with "no I need a fcuking day off and more support your w@nker"
ahh that feels better
:laughing: I feel ya hun, I've had days like that myself and really had to bite my tongue or rip DH another hole :D
I was at my wit's end last night, too. Like I said, up till well past 2am. Wander bleary eyed into the bedroom to change yet again after more spew and there's Noodle lying on the bed, completely content reading a book.
Luckily (for his genitalia ... ) he did take note of my no-nonsense look and general frazzledness and came out to look after Asher.
I'm luckier then most I guess in that DH does a lot with DD, he always get her up and gives her breaky (except when he has to go away), weekends he lets me have a lay in and he also helps see to DD in the night if/when she calls out.
And you shouldn't be jealous, Nat! Yours are working boosies! And you know they do indeed work .. unlike the ones in Hooters that were most likely of the Made in Taiwan variety.
:laughing: Good one, though I did go to a Hooters myself with some male friends and took carefull note the the waitresses (no I'm not that way inclined, I was just morbidly curious to see what they had that I didn't) and there were only a few who had large boobs, the rest were 'normal' to 'handfull' sized.
Which reminds me of something my DH said to me before we started dating............we were on a tube with some other friends (4 guys and another girl) and the topic got onto breasts, now me and the other girl were having a joke about it and I looked down my top and said "What boobs I don't have any" to which he replied "anything more then a handfull or a mouthfull is a waste......and I have small hands".....he held his hand up in front of me in line with my boob. Did I blush....you betcha and almost got off at the wrong tube stop :laughing:
millymoo
26-04-2007, 16:51
That is hilarious! Cheeky chap...is he still LM ?
Londonmum
26-04-2007, 21:03
Still cheeky ? You betcha and a bigger kid then our DD :laughing:
I am going to take some time out guys, would appear I need it from everything xx
millymoo
27-04-2007, 09:00
Hi Pixie
Hoping you are ok...feel the need to do something to help as you were so helpful in my little query a few weeks ago.
Always here for a chat if you need...don`t be a stranger...
:hugs: for you.
Missing you already.
Nat: Hope you're okay - let me know if there's anything I can do :hugs:
Londonmum
27-04-2007, 11:53
Pixie - Ditto to what the other ladies have said :hugs: we're here if you need us.
PunkyDiva
27-04-2007, 11:56
Hiya lovlies, hope everyone's well.
Nat, huge :hugs: for you sweet and anything we can send you to cheer you up let us know huh.
Still working on the photos of me thingy.
But in the meantime I'm really interested as to what sort pf picture I have painted of myself with my ramblings??:eek: As my imaginings of others have been sooo way off from reality.
Don't be too mean though please:D I am soft on the inside and bruise easily.
Hope all having a good day, I am despite having my head stuck down loos and grumbling my way through all those other nasty housework jobs. DD4 has just been following me around playing houses and mummies but isn't too keen to have some real practise. Usually can be enticed to dust or polish but not today she must be a royal princess and housework beneath her.:laughing:
Londonmum
27-04-2007, 12:16
Ahhhh the rain, it's times like this that makes me a little homesick. The sun was great, like being on hols but now the rain has come and it brings my mind back to the UK. Had a chat with a mum friend in the UK over MSN yesterday. She was having a rough time, her bub (not quite 1 yr old yest) has been keeping her up screaming every night for over a week, I really felt sorry for her and had I been in UK i'd have taken her DD off her hands for a few hours so she could get some sleep (esp as we lived close by each other)......sigh.....ah well back to work I guess, that should keep my mind destracted for a bit.
PD - I don't have any real pics in my mind of what your like, I try not to judge esp when using this kind of medium....very difficult to suss people out over the internet.
But from your pic....that is you isn't it? You look very nice and kinda like one of those Goth dolls....in a good way though (bit of a goth at heart myself) :D
It's cold today. I'm sitting here in a tracksuit and Tote socks. I really want some porridge for breaky (I know, breakfast at 12:30pm ... I've been up for hours but the boy won't let me eat unless he can have some of it and he can't have anything with cows milk. Except, you know, THIS cow's milk :laughing: ). He's down for his nap now and I've realised that the milk has gone off.
Stupid milk.
It's true, cold grey days do induce homesickness but stinking hot muggy days make me homesick too - longing for the cold!
PD: I assumed that was you in your avatar - isn't it?
PunkyDiva
27-04-2007, 12:45
:laughing: That's my DD16, she hated the photo so I put it here for all to see as revenge:o She did leave it in my phone camera(which she took without asking and I spent hours searching for it) so technically not her property anymore:rolleyes:
I hear what your saying LM but like when I'm reading a book hard not to get an image in your head of different characters. I hated the Lord of Rings movies for this reason as the images I'd had since 10/11 years of age were nothing like the movie and the movie seemed so much more violent IMO. I didn't finish watching the first, left in despair and haven't seen any of the others. Harry Potter though was as exactly as I imagined maybe cause of pictures on front cover.
Londonmum
27-04-2007, 12:56
Ah see now how wrong was I about that pic....good one though :D
Yeh I do get images in my head when reading books tbh, I didn't read LotR's myself, never got round to it and still haven't but have watched all 3 films and the extended releases...at least 3 times each :laughing: I thought the films were fantastic but I went in without any preconcieved ideas of what it should be like.
I was disapointed with the first Harry Potter film cause they took out (mental block, can't hink of his name) the nasty ghost who was played by Rik Mayal (?sp) because he was so good at it he overshined everyone else.....his scenes didn't even make the extended DVD version :thumbsdown:
See now you have said a couple of the films you have watched....well I like you already :D
PunkyDiva
27-04-2007, 13:14
I lurve any movies with Melanie Griffiths or Meg Ryan, yes girly stuff. Recently watched The Butterfly Effect,very weird. My DH makes me watch all sorts of movies as he's trying to broaden my horizons. I'm not a movie theatre goer preferring my comfy bed, lotsa pillows, doona and some chocolates or a cheese platter as my viewing pleasures.
I LOVED the LoTR films ... because I hated the books :p
I'm a huge fantasy literature fan and, blasphemous though it may be, I hated those books. They were long winded, poorly written and just bleh. The films took the longwindedness out of it. Much better :D
Besides, Sean Bean ... phwaor!
Londonmum
27-04-2007, 14:16
I lurve any movies with Melanie Griffiths or Meg Ryan, yes girly stuff. Recently watched The Butterfly Effect,very weird. My DH makes me watch all sorts of movies as he's trying to broaden my horizons. I'm not a movie theatre goer preferring my comfy bed, lotsa pillows, doona and some chocolates or a cheese platter as my viewing pleasures.
And why not enjoy your creature comforts :thumbsup: I like most films too, but I'm just a movie kinda gal. Love anything fantasy/fiction or Sci-fi oh and action flicks......so yeh pretty much everything :laughing:
Love watching stuff at home on DVD cause then I can pause it to get another cuppa or pop to loo, but then I like going out too....just to get out IYKWIM
I LOVED the LoTR films ... because I hated the books
I'm a huge fantasy literature fan and, blasphemous though it may be, I hated those books. They were long winded, poorly written and just bleh. The films took the longwindedness out of it. Much better
Besides, Sean Bean ... phwaor!
:laughing: I like Sean Bean but he doesn't have that effect on me......now Jason Statham (?sp) (known mostly from the Transporter films) now he's a hotty :thumbsup:
I watched every last one of the Sharpe series because of Seany boy ... *drool*
Londonmum
27-04-2007, 14:41
Ah now Sharpe....that was/is an excellent series. Have you seen the new'ish one? set several years after last one ? Came out about a year ago.
No I haven't! Does it have him in it?
Londonmum
27-04-2007, 14:55
Of course it does :D I can't remember title of it but it shouldn't be too hard to find out if you look up one of the DVD sites, otherwise I'll look it up when I get home (got all the Sharpe DVDs) :thumbsup:
millymoo
27-04-2007, 15:46
:eek::eek: Feel left out ...you have all been chatting. I have been ransacking the girls rooms as they come back on Monday!I had a great time actually laughing at the things they stash away.
Hope we hear from Pixie soon and hope she is ok!
Talk of Seans reminded me of Sean Penn in I am Sam. Has anyone seen that...I have never cried so much in my life!
Also Sean Slater in Eastenders...what a weirdo character he is! Love that show. Loving that new character Denise and Kevin...makes me laugh!
Milly and the Cat (fi Fi) have found eachother this week and are inseparable. Cute.
Beany bit nasty on solid thread werent it! Am sure there is more to come.
Love this weather as can wrap Milly all snuggly.
H x
I am back :rolleyes: well who else am I going to whinge to.
I had bad news last night after a few hard days with Eliza and not sleeping, news that my little half brother who is on full life support, crashed they got him back twice but not sure if they can do it again, needless to say many tears where shed :( so so sad that any child has to go through this.
millymoo
27-04-2007, 16:00
Oh my heart goes out to you and your family at this time.:hugs:
Glad you couldn`t stay away long.
H x
Thanks Helen
Beany I can't believe you hate the books!!
PD I guess I think you are similar to your daughter lookswise, but more of a hippy lol
millymoo
27-04-2007, 16:09
PD I watched that film whilst pregnant. DD1 wanted us to see it and borrowed it from a mate.she didn`t think and it really upset me...the end that is.....needs a warning on not to be watched by preg women.Horrible.DD2 is animal mad and a vege and was freaking out about the dog scene. Not one for us that night!
Oh Nat, I'm sorry about your brother :( I hope you're all holding up okay :hugs:
Helen: Is that solids thread still going? Yeah, they do have a tendency to get rather riled up in here. As do I on occasion :o
Sean Slater is a bit of alright ... I don't even mind that he's taking Ruby for a ride - I HATE her! Silly little annoying moaning whinging baby. Oh my daddy doesn't love me. Oh poor me I have to go to college. Oh poor me I have no friends. Oh poor me I'm so dumb that I didn't realise I was being taken for a mug by Juley. Oh poor me my daddy is a gangster (seriously how dumb would you have to be to not figure that one out?). Oh poor me, I flashed my cash at an East End boozer and got mugged. Dumb bint. Johnny should have left her in that burning house.
Can you tell I don't like her? :laughing:
It's okay, I have a major dislike for Pepper off Neighbours, too.
I watched The Butterfly Effect when it came out in the cinemas. Thought it was great! Very strange but very interesting. Not great viewing for children, though, I agree.
Nat: I thought I was the only fantasy fan that disliked the LotR books but, as it turns out, a lot of people dislike them. I appreciate the existence of the books as it brought fantasy into the mainstream by a well respected academic but the books themselves are poor fare in comparison to modern works. His essays are very interesting, though.
I could never read the books to long and boring lol love the movies as well, DP on the other hand studied all the maps lol
See, all the books of that type come with maps at the front. They are so detailed, obviously had masses of thought and time gone into them ... I completely ignore them. The way I see it, if the writer needs me to look at maps, they ain't writing well enough :p
Just wanted to pop into say how awful it is about your brother pixie! I cant beleive I missed finding out for so long! Sorry...:o I hope your'e keeping it together hun.:hugs:
PunkyDiva
27-04-2007, 20:36
:hugs: for you Pixie and sending thoughts and prayers for your bro and family.
We saw the directors cut of B/Effect so had quite distressing ending to it. Def not a movie for kids though.
As a child I loved Swallows & Amazons series by Arthur Ransome and whilst in UK as young teenager went to the Lake District, hired a boat and rowed out to the wee island I imagine he was writing about. Beatrice Potter's house is down the other end of the lake too and was just magical.
I also loved the CS Lewis Narnia chronicles and actually enjoyed The Lion The Witch & The Wardrobe.
Movies from books I read as a child leave me feeling all tingly in a nice way as they were my escape from realities of my life where lived people who had what I imagined were normal lives with these fantastical adventures. Although brought up in Australia most of my reading was about the UK so going there and experiencing these places is something I treasure. Guess it also allows me to see/remember a positive aspect of my parents too rather then dwelling on the bad.
I bought a wardrobe in Scotland at an auction because to me it looked like The Wardrobe. Too big to bring back:crying: but went to a lady who felt about it the same as I did.
PunkyDiva
27-04-2007, 21:07
This poem touched me and reminded me of so many BubHubbers, so thought I would share.
A Friend Is...
A friend is someone who walks into your life,
when the whole world walks out.
A friend is someone who can make you smiles,
beyond all circumstances.
A friend is someone who listens.
A friend is someone who gives you the best advice.
A friend is someone who will never pass
judgment on you, no matter what you've done.
A friend is someone who believes in you when
you have ceased to believe in yourself.
A friend is someone who knows exactly what you're saying,
when you haven't even said anything.
A friend is someone who is there with you every step of the way.
But, most of all, a friend is someone that you can
grow, cry, laugh, learn, love and live with.
Sarah Palmer
Londonmum
27-04-2007, 21:15
PD - So sorry to hear about you little Bro, we are here for you as you know :hugs:
I'm a nurse so if you do have any questions then please feel free to PM/email me and I'll try to answer them as best I can.
Butterfly Effect, finally got round to watching that myself a while back and your all right. It's an excellent movie but not good for a pregnant woman for sure.
Books, a couple of very good writers of fantasy/fiction are........J.V.Jones, David Eddings, David Gemmell (sadly now deceased) and Savatore to name but a few. Again some of them have maps at the front of their books but honestly I have never bothered looking at them myself as I felt I didn't need to as they were well described :D
PunkyDiva
27-04-2007, 21:32
PD I guess I think you are similar to your daughter lookswise, but more of a hippy lol
:laughing: Not even close sweet.
It hilarious to most people that I came from England to Australia and I studying English literature :D
Everything I did in the early units seemed to be based around London. Goodness was that ever homesickness inducing! Even now, a goodly portion of the material is in some way connected to London. Except last term when I deliberately chose a unit about American authors. Being pregnant, emotional and already homesick, I thought it was a safer bet :D
Londonmum: never mind all of that lot, look into George R. R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" series. It's still incomplete but absolutely riveting! Love it! And Steven Erikson's "Malazan Book of the Fallen". Also unfinished but also awesome.
Everything else fades in comparison.
Londonmum
27-04-2007, 23:37
Londonmum: never mind all of that lot, look into George R. R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" series. It's still incomplete but absolutely riveting! Love it! And Steven Erikson's "Malazan Book of the Fallen". Also unfinished but also awesome.
Everything else fades in comparison.
:laughing: :laughing: I believe you, in fact I've heard of the ice and fire series but have you tried J.V.Jones's Sword of Shadows trilogy (only 2 books out at mo but 3rd due out this year) I tell you what, her description of the snow and ice in the first book had me physically cold and wrapping up.......in summer :D
But yeh, there are loads of great authors out there.....and not enough time to read them all, I think I managed to read 1 book in 6 months......being on here probably doesn't help :p
Thanks LM I worked in an OR for 7 years my best friend is a nurse in fact a few of my friends are lol I think it's kinda worse knowing IYKWIM I don't knowing everything that is going on but enough to know it's not looking good.
I came here earlier wrote this huge rant about DP and deleted it. Do you ever have those days where you think it all might be easier alone? Well I am he drives me to the limit some times. :banghead:
2 of my friends have had babies in the last 10 days I am so jealous lol I saw a 9 week old at storytime today and she is the same size Eliza was when she was born lol that urge to have another is so, so strong remind me of this when I am 35 weeks pregnant thanks lol xx
I was waiting for a lift in the QVB today and Asher was wailing a bit. He wanted his toy but didn't want his toy but wanted his toy but didn't want his toy but ... you get the picture :D
Anyway, I hear a couple more wails joining in and turn around to see a woman and her grumpy 5 year old and two under 2.
Two sets of twins under 2.
:eek:
I think my uterus has shrivelled up in horrified sympathy.
Londonmum
28-04-2007, 11:37
Thanks LM I worked in an OR for 7 years my best friend is a nurse in fact a few of my friends are lol I think it's kinda worse knowing IYKWIM I don't knowing everything that is going on but enough to know it's not looking good.
I came here earlier wrote this huge rant about DP and deleted it. Do you ever have those days where you think it all might be easier alone? Well I am he drives me to the limit some times.
2 of my friends have had babies in the last 10 days I am so jealous lol I saw a 9 week old at storytime today and she is the same size Eliza was when she was born lol that urge to have another is so, so strong remind me of this when I am 35 weeks pregnant thanks lol xx
Yeh, understand completly re the knowing too much thing. When my hubby had to have an op I was fretting so much (had just found out I was pregnant which made me worse) that I had to call a friend to talk to me the whole time he was in theatres. I just had to have someone take my mind off of it cause all I was doing was thinking 'What if something goes wrong' you know how it is.
So yes, a little knowledge can make things worse then not knowing....why else do Dr's and nurse make the worst patients ;)
Understand re DH as well, best thing I found is to just rant a bit and then you feel heaps better. Men unfortunatly (unless they are gay) can be inconsiderate, they can't help it but in fairness we don't make life easy either :p
As for baby's, we are trying for no. 2 now. At first I was doing it just cause DH wants another but now I know 2 friends who are pregnant and I'm getting broody myself and wanting to get PG NOW!!! :D
I was waiting for a lift in the QVB today and Asher was wailing a bit. He wanted his toy but didn't want his toy but wanted his toy but didn't want his toy but ... you get the picture
Anyway, I hear a couple more wails joining in and turn around to see a woman and her grumpy 5 year old and two under 2.
Two sets of twins under 2.
I think my uterus has shrivelled up in horrified sympathy.
:laughing: You do make me laugh.
millymoo
28-04-2007, 14:11
PD we need a picture!! Although I have tried to conjure up a picture of LM too??
All these books sound very Deep too me!I did read A mIllion Little Pieces whilst pregnant, infact read alot while pregnant. That was a good book and made me realise what **** people can get into.Made me feel rather angelic!!
Hope all is well Pixie with everything going on at the moment.
My Ex leaves for the UK on Monday after a two week hol here with the girls...they will be back Monday and it always leaves them in a mess emotionally and I feel so bad for taking them away from him, even though he is an ****.
Beany a friend of mine has a DS, twin boys and expecting twins again...no IVF etc...that must be flukey. She is 29.
I haven`t been to the QVB yet despite many visits to Sydney.Looks good in hotel brochures.
The twin things gets mixed reactions from me. A part of me thinks its lovely: oh so cute and they will always have someone that knows exactly where they are coming from. Another part of me recoils in terror.
One teething 8 month old is testing me. Two ... :eek: Hand me the noose!
millymoo
28-04-2007, 14:24
milly is now attached so excuse the one handed typing and no grammar!
where are you studying beany and when did you come over from the uk?
no sign of teething yet here! she is 7 mth today and 7.1 kg!
the solid debate seems to have slowed as that woman hasn`t come back, perhaps she had a warning??
I came over here in 2000. Worked temp jobs here and there for 2 years and then started back at uni.
I'm at the University of Sydney part way through a masters degree. Meant to be going back to study next semester ... dreading it what with the Swiss cheesiness of the post baby brain.
Londonmum
28-04-2007, 16:40
PD we need a picture!! Although I have tried to conjure up a picture of LM too??
All these books sound very Deep too me!I did read A mIllion Little Pieces whilst pregnant, infact read alot while pregnant. That was a good book and made me realise what **** people can get into.Made me feel rather angelic!!
Hope all is well Pixie with everything going on at the moment.
My Ex leaves for the UK on Monday after a two week hol here with the girls...they will be back Monday and it always leaves them in a mess emotionally and I feel so bad for taking them away from him, even though he is an ****.
Beany a friend of mine has a DS, twin boys and expecting twins again...no IVF etc...that must be flukey. She is 29.
I haven`t been to the QVB yet despite many visits to Sydney.Looks good in hotel brochures.
Just to stop you wondering, I'll put a pic of me and DD up, I hate my pic being taken but for you ladies I'll put one on public display.....but only for a couple days.
I wouldn't say these books are very deep, they are well written and very good escapism though ;)
One non fiction book I read was called 'Emergency Sex' and no it's not really that kinda book :laughing: It's actually short stories written by 3 people who were in the United Nations and working abroad during things like the Tutsi war and the stuff that went on post Sarajevo, it's very good and riveting reading.
Sorry to hear you kids are going to be feeling emotionaly wrung out, it must be hard for them to have their dad on the overside of the ocean but then you have to do whats best for them. They'll like it more when they are older cause they will be able to go to the UK to see him and travel, so they will love it then.
Twins :eek: not for me, can you imagine trying to breast feed 2 at the same time, possible but not something i'd like to experience.
The twin things gets mixed reactions from me. A part of me thinks its lovely: oh so cute and they will always have someone that knows exactly where they are coming from. Another part of me recoils in terror.
One teething 8 month old is testing me. Two ... Hand me the noose!
:hugs: Teething seems to go on forever doesn't it, DD started when she was 6 weeks old and got her first 2 through when she was 5 months old. She now has all through bar bottom 2 molers, 2 premolers and 1 canine....but then again some of them may be in there and I can't see cause madam wont let me in there long enough.
Teething ughh can't stand it they should just come out with a full set already cut through!! Eliza is very tiresome when teething she has 6 now 14 to go LOL
Helen I hope your kids cheer up quickly, I have to say though impressive he came over to visit that is something those girls can really treasure. I have always said if we break up the kids can come and go as much as they want. My mother made dam sure I never saw my dad when they got divorced, it must of come round to bite her a$$ as now I don't speak to her but speak to my father lol
Twins how on earth do people cope? I have dreamt of twin girls since I was 12 and have had to psychics tell me I would have a set of twin girls (doo do doo do) and then a boy poor lad out numbered big time hehe....not sure I believe in all that and having had one child can't even begin to imagine how hard it will be with two the same age. Our next baby DP's mum is coming over for 3-6 mths to help me. She's quite good although she has done some wacky things in the past LOL
Well we're off to buy George a present today I want to put something in the coffin and also get my birth mum a present so morbid, my DP has not experienced death much and said it was freaky to put something in the coffin, but he now thinks it's a good idea. I am worried about him though He cried so much he fell asleep last night I don't think I have seen him ever cry that much. I cried a little bit weird normally I would be a mess. But I don't want Eliza to see me sad, she saw DP all sad and kept saying "ohh" and hugging him poor little lass.
Take care guys give your little people lots of hugs:hugs::hugs:
millymoo
28-04-2007, 17:27
I came over here in 2000. Worked temp jobs here and there for 2 years and then started back at uni.
I'm at the University of Sydney part way through a masters degree. Meant to be going back to study next semester ... dreading it what with the Swiss cheesiness of the post baby brain.
That brain fuzz has happened to me with all mine. I was a straight A student once!! You sound pretty intelligent to me so sure you will be fine. It`s a big thing to be doing with a baby. I was doing a degree through the OU (having dropped out of Reading Uni ) when Fran was young but gave up in the second yr when I had Rosie as it was too hard to keep up with a baby and a toddler. Wish i hadn`t sometimes now.
Just to stop you wondering, I'll put a pic of me and DD up, I hate my pic being taken but for you ladies I'll put one on public display.....but only for a couple days.
Sorry to hear you kids are going to be feeling emotionaly wrung out, it must be hard for them to have their dad on the overside of the ocean but then you have to do whats best for them. They'll like it more when they are older cause they will be able to go to the UK to see him and travel, so they will love it then.
Thank you thank you!! Great to see you even though you are small. It`s a lovely picture> Leave it up. Big fan of long hair. Lost most of mine through a over zealous cutter recently!
Yes I am so happy for all our kids that they can travel the world pretty freely when older. All our hard work to get here will be all worth it !
[quote=Pixie;1392734
Take care guys give your little people lots of hugs:hugs::hugs:[/quote]
You too...has something happened with George? Sorry if I have missed it but I thought he was still in hospital. I think the idea of something in the coffin is lovely.Also the present for your Bm too. I am making progress and will PM you anything exciting.
H Xx
Yes Helen he passed away yesterday afternoon in my BM's arms it was very peaceful. I am happy to hear your news! PM away!
oh and sorry guys not excluding anything exciting just adoption chatter lol
millymoo
28-04-2007, 19:14
I am sorry to hear that news.
Many :hugs:. When is the funeral?
That's OK I am not sure when it is I am not going to ring my birth mum today she is at the hospice where he spent a lot of time they are having a celebration of his life I assume it won't be long though.
She kept saying to me "I don't know what to say to make you feel better" I felt so sorry for her even in desperate times she thinks of others she is so selfless. I think my heart breaks for her and my other siblings more than George He is at peace and what ever he had to do here with us has been done, but it makes it no easier on her. I just pray she will get through this and there is nothing I can really do but be there for her, I told her yesterday she can talk my ears off with her pain and joys about anything.
whew sorry I tend to type very quickly and don't realise how much I have yacked on lol :o
OK bewdiful day here were going to take Eliza to the Natural history museum she is very into animals and stuff like that she is chatting so much wassat, wass dis, this week alone she has said 5 new words!!
ok going lol
Londonmum
28-04-2007, 21:29
Pixie - So sorry to hear the news big :hugs: to your family. I can't imagine what it must be like to loose a child, must be devistating and frankly is something of a nightmare for me.
You probably didn't cry as much as you thought because your DH did, I found that my DH and I are like that. When one of us is upset then the other is strong and visa versa.
Natural History museum, excellent place. I much prefer it over the science museum, so much to see and do and you can go several times and still not see everything. The only down side is they don't have a decent cafe/resturant.
Good for Eliza and saying lots of words. My DD is 14 months old and still wont talk, it's not that she can't, she has said the odd word here and there but once she has said a word she wont say it again :rolleyes:
MM - My DH loves long hair too, I think it was one of the things that he liked about me. Most people have phobias of dentists......with me it's hairdressers. They get that gleam in their eyes when they have a pair of sissors in their hand and see long hair :laughing:
I can't believe you let them cut your hair....how short is it now? Got a before and after piccy ?
Adoption? Someone is adopting? Good for them/you whoever it is and how exciting :thumbsup:
LM myself and Helen are adopted, personally I don't think I could adopt. so many reasons why I wouldn't weird I know!
millymoo
29-04-2007, 10:36
Pixie a tough week ahead for you all so keep popping on here and we can all cheer you up.I can`t imagine what it must be like for you all and your BM. Losing a child must be the worst experience.
Very Cute sounding words Eliza is saying.Hope you have had gd day at the Museum.
LM don`t worry Rosie didn`t speak til she was nearly 3 and my god she is just:ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity: all the time now. poor kid no one ever listens to her!! I try but sometimes it is mentally draining! They all speak so fast ....her and her mates too. WTF is that all about.Every other word is "like" and "awesome"!
See my profile and hair now:crying: and pic of me and DH in Sydney for how long it was! I shan`t be having a cut anytime soon.
Londonmum
29-04-2007, 11:15
Pixie - sorry, I should have guessed with the comments about BM's......just give me a good slapping :o I shouldn't be allowed to post after a certain time of the day :laughing:
Anyway, not wierd that you would not adopt, I'm sure you have lots of experiences both good and bad about being an adoptee yourself.
I met a mum in the UK who had adopted a beautiful little boy from a young mum (who still has contact) and she was very warey about telling other mums about her having adopted because of their reactions. I didn't have a problem with it myself, she is a lovely lady and the child has a good and loving home to be in but she did get it thrown in her face by another mum and cause of that she dropped out of the mum meet ups which is a real shame.
MM - Thats shocking !!!.....still at least it's shoulder length, I was thinking you'd got it all chopped off :eek: Definatly grow it again, it looked lovely longer :thumbsup: but then i'm biased.
As for my DD and talking.....she makes lots of noises 'ticka ticka' and stuff like that which can be cute, should have heard her going chattering away when I was trying to listen to a voice mail....LOL so yeh, I think she'll be a real chatterbox once she finally finds her 'words'.
millymoo
29-04-2007, 11:53
Rosie and I developed a language that only her and I could understand!! Very cute.
Being adopted has it`s ups and downs. I used to brag as a kid thet i was special until one day from the back of the dinner queue at school (when I was about 8) came a chant of " Helen`s Mum didin`t want her". The boy got severly told off and I didn`t tell anyone again for about 12 yrs! People can be cruel but a grown woman upsetting yr friend should know better and is obviously very very ignorant! Rant over!!
I don`t know what to do with myself...Milly the catnapper is still asleep after 2.5 hrs! Keep checking her but she has got a runny nose this morning so maybe a cold coming...her first:thumbsdown:
Asher doesn't shut up :laughing:
He's always been a babbler, right from the early days. He's sitting by my feet at the moment and chattering to them. In between bites. Ouch!
This morning, while he was in bed with us, he decided to exorcise his father: had him by an ear and the bottom lip and was chanting "dada GAGA aaaaaaaaaoooooooooooorrrrrrrr poff nananananana!"
We've yet to see if the demon has left. He's still crawling over and eyeing him up suspiciously.
He understands his name, mummy and daddy. He also gets "come here" or "come away" and "peekaboo" (the beginning of a game that had me crawling around like a mad woman, hiding under bean bags and behind cushions the size of a piece of paper). But for all the (very loud - especially at 3am) noises he makes, they don't actually mean anything. Even when they sound hilariously like something real ... Like when he chucked up all over himself and "said" "I'msorry".
How funny sorry just gotta mention this first hehe
My old boss sent me a text message if we were OK after the earthquake, I am like huh must be for someone else, get on the net and see Kent had a 4.7 earthquake yesterday LOL didn't feel a thing yet buildings were damaged and a woman is in hospital, bit annoyed I missed it to be honest LOL
LM that's OK not your fault with the Birth mother chatter lol I also can't believe a woman would get those sort of comments as an adult, the way I see it is as long as the child is looked after well and given a home and education then all is good!
Helen that is something I never really experienced, I wasn't sent to school until I was 13 I did still think it was so cool to be adopted and then like you one girl did ask "was it cause you mum didn't want you" but she asked out of curiosity not nastiness but still it starts the cogs turning and you think, maybe that was why, I now know that was not true and if time was turned back it would all be different but then I wouldn't have my brother and sister who I grew up with in that case. Can't imagine my life without them!
Beany I always use to think Asher is so chatty as Eliza was a mute until about 6 months lol I remember that day at my unit and he was on the floor yacking away so freakin cute and I was thinking wonder why Eliza never did that lol
Too funny about the demons I hope Noodle recovers maybe a bath in some holy water will help flush it away :D
never made it to the museum but ended up in Harrods lol and when we were leaving there was loads of people outside and cameras were flashing so we assumed it was someone famous so went down to look didn't see anyone we recognised did see a hunky guy (I love indian men) this is him http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shah_Rukh_Khan
And these are his cars which is what everyone was there looking at the Rolls is a one off
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a285/Bosister/cexi2.jpg
This is the back of the car!
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a285/Bosister/Cexi.jpg (http://http//i13.photobucket.com/albums/a285/Bosister/Cexi.jpg)
And this is the Porsche GT which my DP was all over like a bad rash
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a285/Bosister/PorscheGT.jpg (http://http//i13.photobucket.com/albums/a285/Bosister/PorscheGT.jpg)
Both extremely expensive I went and asked the doorman who he was lol he said he comes to Harrods a lot and spends a lot of money, to bad he didn't want to take me shopping I could of helped him I saw a fridge I like lol
millymoo
29-04-2007, 17:20
Nice car!! Not so keen on him! Think my half Indian DH is better. (but don`t tell him!)
When I was 16 my brother had a yummy Indian flat mate they are still friends now, he was my first love :o we never really dated but he certainly had benefits which I took advantage of in my school holidays and then college holidays lol gosh what a floozy :D He even came to Sydney when I was on holiday there and we did naughty things under the harbour bridge :eek:
OK moving on lol
Funeral is this Friday, is it wrong to say I am looking forward to it? It just sounds like it's going to be a wonderful celebration of his life lots of music and singing and we're releasing Balloons.
I am so ****ed off I sent Eliza's birth cert off to claim my child benefit and now they can't find it.
Well I am off to a great card shop here in Hayes the lady makes all the cards herself going to see if she has any nice ones for George if not might ask her to make one for him.
millymoo
30-04-2007, 19:25
Unfortunately with yr Child Benefit drama, welcome to the UK system!! Centrelink are so quick. I put it down to less people!
You little:devil6:! Will never look at the Harb Br the same again.
Yes with friday it would be nice to look on it as a celebration of life. i have never really gone to a funeral with that frame of mind but will from now on. It sounds like they have it all planned to do just that and it will be lovely. He will then be able to look down on you all as an :angel: in the sky.
:hugs: this week
H x
Londonmum
30-04-2007, 20:09
I love the New Orleans way of doing funerals. No one wears black, they all wear white or bright colours and play music and dance. The Irish have a wake, very like a celebration of life only with lots of food and esp alcohol involved :D
So don't feel bad about wanting to celebrate his life no matter how short it was. I also think the handmade card idea would be lovely, which brings me to mind......do you do any of that 'scrap booking' stuff (not something I can get into...not artistic enough for it) ? I ask because if you do then maybe you could get some photos and some cards (b-day, bereavement, ect), some scraps/pieces of fav clothing/blanket ect and make a scrapbook keepsake for your BM.
And I don't think I'll look at Harbour Bridge the same again either :p
As for child benefit people, I never had a prob with them and they were very quick organising stuff for us but then maybe it takes longer if your not originally from UK.
As for Centrelink I spent over an hour waiting to be seen, got seen by someone who was not familier with paperwork and had to keep going off to ask someone else. I took all the paperwork I needed according to forms, she only took a copy of DD's passport and so I got a letter a couple weeks later saying they needed DH's and my passports :banghead: so had to go in again. All in all it took about 3 hrs sitting and waiting time for both visits and about a month to get payments for daycare.
But with regards to your missing birth cert, I'd tell them if they don't find it pronto then they will have to pay for you to get new one. I don't know how much it would cost you to get one from here (I assume your girl was born in Aus?) but I know birth certs in UK are about £20......but yes very annoying.
shell1985
01-05-2007, 14:01
OK had to respond while Eliza feeds baby born lol
I had the black grime, the water runs black when you shower and wash your hair.
Devon Cream, being from Devon myself I hate the stuff, well I lie I hate the amount they serve you with, of course you don't have to eat it all :D
Bron the fruit here isn't so bad but the selection is so um what shall I say minimal lol Loving the cheese here, trying to lose 10 kilos the chedder is not helping.
MKF Thanks for the compliment, and ya it's so annoying at the checkouts!
Manxie, sorry lol I love how you can grab the wine at the supermarket, me drink noo I breastfeed,:o I always got let in when driving in Aus, have you tried driving with your boobs out, always worked for me lol, sorry just trying to cheer you up
Too funny about "how you going" here I was the same as you when people would say "you right" and I would be like ...well actually, and tell them how my throat hurts etc lol
ah dear OK said child at feet with baby born, off to the playpark for us xx
OMG just seen you are from Devon, may I ask where abouts?? I am too, grew up near barnstaple. :D
shell1985
01-05-2007, 14:09
Ok it seems here that most people have a huge downer on the UK. I have lived here in Oz for over 2 years now, love it but it isnt perfect. I left UK with my family to live here, have a better way of life. It's a given that Australia is a better palce to bring your children up and you can buy a house easier here than the UK and obviously the weather is better (melbourne pretty much the same ad UK) My partner is Aussie and met him in Sydney but he moved to melbourne to be with me as to be honest sydney isnt a place i could live, holidays yes but not live. It reminds me of london in a way!!
There are sooooo many things I miss about home though, Chocolate for one, Aussie choc does not even compare and my df even prefers english choc now. Roast dinners at my nans, a cold christmas, polite drivers, I could go on. I do love australia snd wouldn't be here if I didn't I jsut hate this 'UK is ****' that most people have over here. If you havent lived there and seen it, done it then you'll never know!! Maybe its coz I am english or a 'POM' should I say but its home in my heart.:o
I am off to Barnstaple tomorrow actually lol no I am not joking! I have a family funeral and the first celebration is there!
I am from Dartmoor, little town called Bovey Tracey I am sure no one has heard of it!
I left in 98 to Sydney and now I am back here again, was dreading it but now enjoying it mostly the shopping :D
I am missing Sydney a lot right now, just a few things we can't do together ah well
millymoo
01-05-2007, 16:06
:wave:Michelle
I am a big fan of the UK as most of my posts show and why I come on here. Most Aussies get sick of me moaning about it here...one actually told me I should go back if it was that bad. It isn`t but I tend to compare too much. We miss it very much. This forum is mainly for UK people but a few Aussies in the Uk came on too and I guess they miss their home like we do!
Londonmum
01-05-2007, 20:24
Ok it seems here that most people have a huge downer on the UK. home though, Chocolate for one, Aussie choc does not even compare and my df even prefers english choc now.
If you havent lived there and seen it, done it then you'll never know!! Maybe its coz I am english or a 'POM' should I say but its home in my heart.:o
I've lived in the Uk most of my life (bar 5 years in Germany....dad was in the Army) and yes it's in my heart as well, but as I said....some time back on this or another simular thread......the UK is a great place to live if you have the money and 'if' I had the money then I'd be living there and not here.
Yes the weather is way better here (I live in Adelaide), but I didn't move over here for the weather.....thats just been a bonus :D
So Michelle and Pixie....Small world huh :thumbsup:
I'm not from Devon but I was born in Tidworth so only a stones throw away ;)
haha, this all makes interesting reading by me who landed here to live just three months ago.
Not everyone has carpets in the bathroom in Uk, in fact, hardly anyone anymore.
I too am loving the fact that my bags get packed at the suprmarket but I miss the English supermarkets. Waitrose, Sainsburys, M&S i miss them lots. I miss Boots - what is the good Boots alternative?????
As for a lot of the downsides to England, London has the majority of them, but there is a lot to miss about the New Forest. There are views to match any Australian scenery and there are even beaches to match many aussie beaches too. There is sun too - which dumbfounds many Australians and lots of people do watersports too on the south coast - can you imagine??? an Englishman having a watersport for a hobby?? Aussies can't get their head round it.
Tv here is pretty rubbish. UK tv is pretty good.
In the UK you don't have to stress about the UV rays etc and that really is a good thing. In England, i could take my son for a walk most times of the day because the weather was generally nice in summer, wet in autumn (good fun for toddlers) and in mid winter you can put a thick coat on and gloves and it's fab to walk out and watch your breath in the cold and then look forward to coming into a warm house. Brilliant!!! Here is Australia i have never walked so little and feel inside as much as i was in England for different reasons.
That said Public Holidays are better in Australia as people actually enjoy them more and you can enjoy the space to do things, England gets rammed!!!
Going to the beach for fish and chips is easier here too!!
Banking is harder and more expensive - charging for direct debits is pretty bad i think.
Customer service in Australia is even more shocking and poor than in England and i wasn't prepared for that. nearly everything has had to be fixed, re-ordered as it was never done initially, too much money taken, and everything takes ages.
Dogs, dogs sleep inside and out in each country dont they? that's a personal thing.
London is like a different world - good and bad and it's not always a true representative of all of England.
Great debate - i love it!!:thumbsup:
Janine x
millymoo
08-05-2007, 14:11
Welcome Janine! I have been here since Aug 2004 and amin The Hunter region. Glad you liked our ramblings and hope you settle in well.
H x
The Boots alternative here would be Priceline, I suppose.
millymoo
09-05-2007, 08:19
Nothing comes close to Boots....such a great shop. By time I left they were doing great lunch deals too...used to pop in in my lunch hour from the office for sarnie, crisps and a drink and come back with make up, smellies etc. Tooooo tempting.
I miss Boots:crying:
Londonmum
10-05-2007, 15:19
Welcome Janine....come join us on the other thread.... titled "Where are all the UK people". Anyway, the other thread is a general gossip thread so come join us if you like.
Only got here in Auz nearly 6 months ago myself and loving the sun and warm temps, maybe i'll get away without a coat this year......hmmm....probably not, i'd have an elec blanket in it if I could :laughing:
Boots is great for sure, esp the big stores where you can get just about everything from kids clothes, to make up, to food and pharmacy stuff and all good stuff not cheap rubbish but also not expensive......hmmm, I wonder if they ship to Auz...probably not.
Your right about London, but unfortunatly it's the same for most places in the south (have lived in the south most of my life) except maybe Cornwall. I have'nt been to the New Forest myself but have heard it's very beautiful so perhaps all the scenic places are up north....well north of Watford ;)