View Full Version : pains in the boob :(
ok guys -
I haven't been breastfeeding for awhile now (that is a whole other thread.. please dont get sidetracked!! ) - but have been expressing milk - and doing the odd supplimentary (sp) formula feed. Jack is working well with this system - and is a happy little man...
this morning when I expressed - my right breast had an odd sensation - it was like a very tight painful pull- it felt deep ... but from near my armpit... I had a look (no redness) and a feel (could't FEEL any lumps) - but it hurt again when I was out today - for no reason??? and Jack bumped it with his elbow and it hurt then too??!! is this the start of mastitis???(sp) /? I massaged it with a warm washer at the next express... but I really want to fix it before it gets worse..
what are the symptoms of mastitis?? (I'm a little sniffly this arvo too??)
what can I do to elieviate the pain??
Jen
Imogensmum
20-12-2005, 17:30
It sounds a little like nipple thrush- well at least it sounds like the symptoms i had when i had thrush!
Not nice at all- I got a cream from the chemist and also some drops for Imogens mouth called NILSTAT, cream was DAKTARIN.
Either way (thrush or mastitis) I'd just pop to the GP to get it checked- esspecially with Xmas this weekend!1
Best of luck,
Shannan
Go to www.kellymom.com and look for your symptoms. She has the most complete info on anything boob related that I've ever seen. A blocked duct is more likely than mastitis unless you have massive flu symptoms and a temp as well. I hope you get some relief soon!
whatwasithinking
20-12-2005, 19:20
You poor bugger - this bf is not being kind to you (been following your threads in the past).
Can't help with any suggestions. Just want to send you big big hugs.
I can't give you any advice but I too wanted to send a big hugz your way.
Perhaps you may want to see the GP if it is really painful though.
Crazy Monkey
20-12-2005, 20:38
I recently thought I was getting mastitis but I think it was just a blocked ducted... I had similiar symptons to you but I had a massive lump... I tried to express it out but DS did a better job and within 24 hours it was gone, but it did hurt a lot...
I have also had thrush in the past and my pain was more shooting pains thru the breast, especially between feeds...
If you are worried I would head off to the GP just to be sure...
hey all :)
thanks for all your help - it isn't thrush as I have already been checked for that by my GP (who I now love dearly!!! she has been wonderful) - she really checked me out to see why Bfeeding has been so hard??!! but there is no physical reason..:confused:
and I am now putting it down to Jack being a chewer rather than a sucker - as the Dr could see bruising... (the pain started in hospital- so it isn't any kind of nipple confusion... he is just SO enthusiastic???! even back when he was fed every two hours) - I am a MUCH happier mummy expressing (I have regained my sanity)- but I did put him on the boob for a feed today - and I think that has moved things around abit ... babies really are efficient!! :D there are still twinges... but much more bareable...
thank you sooo much for all your warm thoughts... :)
motherhood is SUCH a learning curve!!
mummycloud
21-12-2005, 00:46
I'm glad things are getting sorted for you :)
I have a stinging pulling feeling when I have a let down. There are also glands there that can swell a little and get sore when you get a cold.
If your baby's attachment is a problem make sure you see a lactation consultant to sort it out. Pumping isn't going to be a longterm way to feed your baby as, as you note yourself, it doesn't stimulate the breast like a feeding baby does. Get it sorted out and have a simple bf relationship!
Hey Janet - :( I HAVE seen a lac consultant.. and several middies AND my GP - all have seen him attach (as well as several bfeeding friends!!! ) - and his attachment is PERFECT ... his lips are positioned beautifully... - he just bruises me horribly when I put him on...
I have found that I can do the occasional feed (then let my bits calm for a day between feeds) - and there is no pain... but if I do too many feeds too close together I am in agony... I figure its better than nothing - and as long as my bubs continues to grow at his incredible rate and his belly is full I'm a happy mummy..
Jen
Sounds painful. Are you really sure you don't have an underlying condition of some kind? Perfect latch should lead to no pain at all eventually, the stretching etc of the early weeks passes fairly quickly. Continuing pain can occur but it really needs to be reassessed just so you're comfortable. I can give you the name of another mama who had constant pain and how she dealt with it if you like. You deserve to be comfy when you're feeding.
mummycloud
21-12-2005, 15:28
Come to think of it, the first 5 weeks with Aiden I got a full on stinging sensation when attaching him. He was attaching perfectly, but nipples hadn't toughened up yet :o Doesn't hurt at all now :)
You're nipnips are prolly just still sensative, but they will get used to it and the pain will go away on it's own. It only hurts for a few seconds when atttaching, then it's painless. You're nearly over the worst of it I reckon ;)
The first few weeks it felt like someone pinching sunburn really hard when ds attached. If the feeling continued I took him off and reattached him. It went away after about 8 weeks or so, I think. Of course feeding while pregnant it's back, but what can you do? ;)
3TinLids
21-12-2005, 16:20
Hey Veve, I found it very painful to feed my first son. I spoke to numerous midwives while in hospital and they all told me it would get better. It didn't so when Will was 6-8 weeks old I went and saw the lactation conultant at the hospital where he was born. It was the best thing I could have done. Will had a tongue-tie which made things difficult for him and me. We had it "snipped" and didn't look back. He thrived after this and it was no longer painful. I fed him until he was 10 months, my 2nd son until he was 13 months and am currently still feeding my youngest son at 12 months. Had I not seen the Lactation Consultant I would have given up and probably not breastfed my 2 younger sons. My advice would be to see a lactation consultant. They are fantastic.
Rebecca
Aprilsmum
21-12-2005, 18:20
Just a thought - you're nipples may not get a chance to toughen up if you're expressing.
I really feel for you though. The first few weeks are soooo hard. The emotions, the pain, the "I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE HELL I'M DOING". Hang in there - we all get through it.