View Full Version : The Blue Bubble has popped!

BlueGin
04-04-2007, 05:04 PM
Here goes, finally have a birth story to share! :D

I arrived at the hospital, being 3cm dilated (I discovered at my Monday appointment) 7am on Tuesday to have my waters broken, then had the syntocinin drip an hour later as nothing had
started.

At 12midday I was 3-4cm dilated after 3 hours of apparently good contractions... grrr... drip put up to higher level.

At 4pm I was 4, maybe 5cm... drip up again...
I was getting pretty over done by now as the contractions were pretty hardcore, so agreed to consider pethidine. Still on gas.

At 8pm I was 5cm, needed the pethidine as I was just destroyed, the contractions had started overlapping! I had one hideous 10 minute one where all I did was squeeze DH's hand and say "please stop it, please stop the contraction!" over and over. They turned off the drip and gave me a drug to reverse it, I think
someone got in a bit of trouble for having it too high!

Contractions still full on without drip but all this time Bubble's head was still a little above the bone, so not fully engaged.

At this point a doctor came in to discuss a c-section, as they realised that something was stopping this baby! I was happy to go ahead after a chat with DH, so said yes.
5 minutes later (9:30pm) another doc came in and said no c-section, they'd try a "new" technique where I'd have an epidural (which didn't bother me any more as I'd need something for surgery anyway) and leave me to labour on the drip, as she thought my body was fighting the contractions. I agreed, feeling I'd better give the baby as much chance for a natural delivery as possible, I never wanted to feel like I hadn't done my best to avoid the surgery.

A midwife later confided that one reason (among many other better reasons) for trying this was that they'd booked out the operating theatre and had nowhere to put me.

Original doc from the morning (Mr. Pointy Fingers) came back and said I'd have to labour till 3am till they'd assess me to see if it worked. I wanted them to check earlier but he wouldn't, I
really didn't think it was wise to wait so long but the epi was in by then so not much I could do! (Except plan to harrass them as much as possible!)

So, 4 hours to wait, with my legs nearly numb from the epi, just not numb enough to stop the pins and needles! I let DH sleep as he was pretty exhausted by this point and didn't want to get dinner as he felt guilty (misguided but very sweet, he hadn't eaten since the night before!).

At 2am the baby's heartrate started dropping with each contraction, this had happened earlier and they had decided the reading was faulty. So the drip was turned off but they decided
to wait 15 minutes to see if it normalised. Not very happy at this point as with the epidural I couldn't feel the baby at all to see if it was feeling OK.
The heartrate kept dropping so finally got the go ahead from the doc for a c-section at about 2:45, in the the theatre by 3am.

Lovely team, my midwife came with me and the horrible doc stayed behind!!! They made sure they knew what we wanted to happen with the baby, and DH's involvement, and away we went!

I thought they were being a bit rough prodding around finding the baby's position... apparently they were already pulling it out! DH looked behind the screen and announced the wonderful
news:

"It's a boy!" And he was lifted up above the screen for me to see, when he promptly started weeing (aiming at me I'm sure!) but they had quick reflexes luckily! He had been stuck with the cord tightly twice around his neck, so my theory on something stopping his descent was true it seems, so lucky it ended well, very scary.

He was swung past for me to kiss, then taken screaming to the little table to be wiped down, DH in attendance. Then brought back to me. My gown was pulled down a bit so he could lie on my chest, and when I spoke he stopped screaming and just stared at me, beautiful little dark eyes!

He had a feed, very eager, then he and Dad went off together while I was sorted out.

Wow, a long birth story! I am so happy with how everything turned out, even with the hurdles along the way. I was able to be up and about within 10 hours (begging to be up from 4!) And discharged myself in 2 days, so a great recovery so far. My sweet little man is growing up super fast, 1 week old today!

He was born 9lb 2oz, 52cm long, head circumference of 36cm, Apgar's of 9 and 9.

Melo
04-04-2007, 05:08 PM
Congratulations!!

Does he have a name?

BlueGin
04-04-2007, 05:12 PM
Oops! Thanks Melo...

The Bubble has been named:

Kestrel

luckymama
04-04-2007, 05:13 PM
YAY congrats Gin, i have been hanging out to hear how everything went, i even started a thread asking if anyone had heard from you lol :p (btw its WFM here)

cmd'smum
04-04-2007, 05:44 PM
oh ginny, I have tears of joy in my eyes :D What a beautiful story! WOW you're a mummy!!!!!!!!!

I love the pic in your av! What a big gorgeous little man!:D So happy you have him healthy and safe in your arms!:hugs:

BigGeorge
04-04-2007, 05:52 PM
Fantastic Gin!!! What a great story :D . Hurry up and post us some pics to ooh and ahh over. Well done, and huge congrats to you and your DH :hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

defaipe
04-04-2007, 06:00 PM
WOOHOOO congrats BG! we missed you :hugs:

welcome to the world Kestrel :D

Elfin
04-04-2007, 06:14 PM
Blue Gin amazing birth story. I am so glad your little guy arrived safely. Congratulations:)

TwoBlue
04-04-2007, 06:43 PM
CONGRATS BG on the safe arrival of Kestrel :smiliedance:
What a great story.. you did an awesome job !!

Cant wait to meet him and have a cuddle :D

Oh and a boy (we were right after all :thumbsup: )

Bubble*Crazy
04-04-2007, 06:46 PM
Congratulations on the arrival of Kestrel ... you did so well :yelclap: :smiliedance: :party:

BTW - LOVE the avatar :yes:

04-04-2007, 06:54 PM
Congratulations!! You done so well!!

Bit scary knowing what was happening but I'm glad everything turned out well.

Your avatar is just beautiful!

WELCOME TO THE WORLD LIL' MAN! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

LMenz
04-04-2007, 07:24 PM
Congratulations BlueGin :yelclap: Welcome to your son Kestrel!

Hope all went well during your hospital stay

Grizabella
04-04-2007, 07:27 PM
Congratulatioons Sweet!! Welcomne to the world Kestrel!!!

BlueGin
04-04-2007, 07:27 PM
Thank you all! It has been lovely reading your replies. Hehe, I love my avi too, my little mumma's boy :D

Flexing those hugging arms eh Melbourne Mums? :p;)

*EDIT: yes, that ultrasound was the real deal!!! LOL

Tea Lady
04-04-2007, 07:45 PM
Oh, I'm so excited for you BG!!! Well done and congratulations :D

Elmopalooza
04-04-2007, 07:47 PM
Congrats to you and your Dh, BG!!! Welcome to the world Kestrel! Its about time mr!!

*Chels*
04-04-2007, 07:52 PM
Congrats:hugs: Very unusual name,I like it!!And your avatar is goregeous

shed
04-04-2007, 07:52 PM
Hi Kestrel!!! :wave:

Congratulations mummy!! Little boys are awesome, you are gonna LOVE being a boy mummy!!

Break out that blue wool!!

HoopDeeDoo
04-04-2007, 09:46 PM
Go team blue!!! :laughing:

Congratulations!! Glad you are both safe and well!!!

Can't wait to see that teeny tiny fluffy bum :p

Funkychicken
04-04-2007, 10:00 PM
:yelclap: :smiliedance: :yelclap:

That's fantastic news, Gin!
I am so pleased that you have your little man with you now.
Congratulations to you and your DH.
Now, just need to organise a meet so we can meet him! :D

Lisa&Davey
05-04-2007, 10:39 AM
Congratulations! Thanks for sharing your story. I hope your recovery continues to go so fantastically.

Welcome Kestrel!:smiliedance:

stellaj
05-04-2007, 07:50 PM
Awww Gin, I'm so proud of you girl :) It seems like forever ago that I was TTCing with you (well not with you!)and now my bub is turning 1 and your little guy is finally here. Welcome earthside beautiful Kestrel.

Pebbles
06-04-2007, 12:14 PM
CONGRATULATIONS BlueGin. That is wonderful news! Wht a gorgeous little bub. I was just wandering about you this morning, I figured you had to have had that baby by now!

06-04-2007, 12:23 PM
Congrats Blue! I was thinking about you just last night and thought I would have to come one ans see what had happend.
Well done!! :hugs:

06-04-2007, 02:16 PM
Oh hun ive been dying to know how you went :smiliedance:

Congrats & can i say that name is freakin awesome heheheheh :D

BlueGin
06-04-2007, 02:40 PM
Congrats & can i say that name is freakin awesome heheheheh :D

Yep, you can sing it from the rooftops! Hehe, thanks mate :D

By the time he finally came out I was nearly ready with a search party to go in and get him, seems I would have had some willing volunteers :p
Mel, I've always had a soft spot for little Connor, being the result of those threads, so now you get to be a surrogate Aunty to another graduate ;)

Thanks all X

06-04-2007, 02:47 PM
Oh i know that feeling i was ready to get out of the bed & find myself a knife to get Boof out. After 2.5hrs of pushing i was wondering what he was waiting for ?!?!? Christmas ?!?!?!?!?! :p

Love the piccie too btw !

Awww im getting all clucky & im already pg hahahah.

06-04-2007, 02:59 PM
Oops! Thanks Melo...

The Bubble has been named:

Kestrel

Congrats hun you did great!

Now tell me what does Kestrel mean? knowing you it will mean something beautiful :D

He looks heaps like your dh huh;) thats always the way we do all the work and they get all the credit:rolleyes: :D hahahaha

Love from S and O and I
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

H&B'sMum
06-04-2007, 08:43 PM
Congratulations BG, welcome earthside little Kestrel.

ikis84
06-04-2007, 08:48 PM
Congrats!! :Smiledance:

06-04-2007, 09:04 PM
Well done Gin!!! :hugs:

Welcome Kestrel!

Bambaloo
06-04-2007, 09:11 PM
Gin you did so well! I didn't post my birth story here, only a quickie in March so I think I will write mine properly in here now!

BlueGin
07-04-2007, 05:59 PM
Yes, you'll have to Carrie!
Thanks Sarah, yep... all that work and he is just like his Dad! LOL, actually, he has my chin :D

A Kestrel is a type of falcon, it seemed a good strong name for a boy, and they're beautiful birds!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kestrel

H&B'sMum
07-04-2007, 06:46 PM
BG I just noticed Kestrel was born the day before Harry's 3rd birthday. A great time to be born.

08-04-2007, 07:32 AM
Yes, you'll have to Carrie!
Thanks Sarah, yep... all that work and he is just like his Dad! LOL, actually, he has my chin

A Kestrel is a type of falcon, it seemed a good strong name for a boy, and they're beautiful birds!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kestrel

See i thought it was a falcon but wanted to be sure:o :D

Its a very good name for him:yelclap:

See im lucky when it comes to the look department as my genes are stronger then dh's lol both my kids have my nose, hands, toes and cheeks:laughing:

nats
17-04-2007, 09:21 AM
What a great story BlueGin. Funny about him weeing... DH said that James wee'd right back inside me as they were pulling him out :D

maybe1more
27-04-2007, 12:29 PM
Excellent news!!!! WELCOME TO THE WORLD KESTREL:yelclap:
A Fantastic job well done Bluegin, im so happy for you and you man to finally have your much awaited baby now in your arms. :smiliedance:
All the best Jenn:hugs: