View Full Version : SAHM.......How on earth to fill days?????

babyboo
04-04-2007, 13:49
Im a SAHM at the moment until I find some more work.

I get so BORED!!!!!

I have one dd who is quite independant, but how are you supposed to fill your days. I can only go to the park so many times and I dont want dd watching too much tele.

Can also only clean so much.........what do you guys do all day????

:confused: :confused:

Aquamarine
04-04-2007, 13:55
Clean, Shop, Go to the Park, Sell things on Ebay, go to Drs appts, Pick up JJ from Kindy, change nappies, put bub down for a nap, entertain Ty, Hang out clothes, put clothes away and then have a break and a look on BubHub.

Then cook dinner, then clean up the mess again.....:rolleyes:

babyboo
04-04-2007, 14:00
yep know that routine :D

dd is just over 3.5 so minus the nappies :laughing: its now - 'im finished on the toilet mummy':laughing:

I spend alot of time on the net filling time but feel guilty that im not spending time with dd constantly - she soooo needs a brother or sister. Maybe one day :yelclap:

I guess i just need some insight as to what other do throughout their days?

OJandMe
04-04-2007, 14:02
I'm studying. Just 2 subjects, but it's great.

and the rest of the time I create as many activities as I can for the boys.

we cook, paint, make things, go on treasure hunts, race cars down the hill and crash them, see friends.

I try to have something different ever day.. so at the moment our week looks like this.

Monday: park in the morning, home, morning tea, play outside, lunch , nap, afternoon tea and TV (playschool) play outside some more, or do art activity.

Tuesday: Kindy :smiliedance:

Wednesday: Shopping, lunch, nap, play date with Poodysmum

Thursday: housework (they LOVE vaccuming), play outside, lunch, nap, activity

Friday: Kindy :smiliedance:

Sat: Morning with Dad. Afternoon with me, (usually about nap time)

Sunday: family day- outing, or visiting family.

bekkyboo
04-04-2007, 14:08
Our daily routine is something like this.

Wake up, bottle, play around (while i fully wake up), breakfast, morning nap, Gym (he goes into their child care while im there, so he has some playtime with other kids), back home for lunch, bottle, play time, nap, daddy gets home play time, dinner, bath, play and bed.

G is very much an independant playtime child. I try and do lots with him, but he isnt all that interested (although as he gets older it should be easier)....

millymoo
04-04-2007, 14:40
:wave:I found in my early 20`s was an SAHM and got very bored , always seemed to be waiting for someone to come round or ex to come home, I don`t know why but now I am 37:eek::eek: I am not the same and fill my days easier. Maybe it`s an age thing for me.

Sorry not to be much help. Have you looked on mothers group or playgroup websites?

H x

filmgirlgail
04-04-2007, 18:12
dd is just over 3.5 so minus the nappies :laughing: its now - 'im finished on the toilet mummy':laughing:

Yep I know that one!!!

Mondays - usually shopping.
Tuesdays and Thursdays - DD goes to kindy, I go to gym, DS goes to creche at the gym. I have a cuppa by myself after my class :smiliedance:
Wednesday and Friday - DD has swimming and music so usually go shopping before or after.

After lunch every day we have quiet time when DD sleeps or plays in her room for about 2 hours and I try to get DS down and have a nap myself.

Then the rest of the day seems to fill - DD and I play memory and dominoes, tickle little boys, drawing, painting, etc. Now DS is on food that doubles his feeding times :D as he has 4 bottles and 3 meals a day.

Then there's always the washing, etc

04-04-2007, 18:39
Hmm I am never bored...... ANd if I am I enjoy it :laughing:

Jo9999
04-04-2007, 19:10
Our days are always so busy we are never bored (and if i were I'd read a book or do something equally selfish...).
We go for a 30 minute walk every morning, then get ready to go out (playgroup, meeting friends, library storytime, park etc), we are normally out till lunchtime, then in the afternoon dd has her nap, sometimes I rest with her :), otherwise I do housework, cook dinner, organise finances, go grocery shopping (after she wakes of course), we do art or play outside together.
And then the day is pretty much over. My house never seems to be clean though!

Niki
06-04-2007, 08:04
we go for a walk in the morning and usually go out visiting a few times a week

holdenangel
06-04-2007, 12:14
If I get some time to myself when my DS decides to sleep for more than 20 mins, I tend to fill my time with scrapbooking. I am lucky enough to have my own 'craft' room that I can go and do a little and then leave it and come back to it later.

If not, I do an exercise DVD, I tend to jump on Ebay and have a look or email photos to out of state relatives, go through the cookbooks and plan meals for the next week etc

Kangaskippy
19-04-2007, 09:33
I don't find much time to be bored these days...although there are days...

I chase J around the house alot and do the odd load of washing so it doesn't build up..tidy up after bub and DH...cook breaky/lunch/dinner...walk on occation...and visit my girlfriend for DVD days...and her little girl plays with my little man...

I also have 2 brothers that drop by a lot to see their nephew which keeps me entertained...

nope, not much time to get bored these days...but if I am then I also have Ebay to sell stuff on or checking out the Hub...:D

Manz
20-04-2007, 09:06
Hmm I am never bored...... ANd if I am I enjoy it :laughing:

I'm with you on this one Becky....

Our days are soooooooo so full - if we aren't out doing bits & pieces, we are at home cleaning, washing, dealing with kids, more washing, more tantrums etc....

But..... I do spend a bit of time on msn - thats my "time out"
I love to veg in front of 'Ready Steady Cook' at 2pm with a little snack while the kiddlies are sleeping!! :smiliedance:

k2ma
21-04-2007, 00:56
I get so BORED!!!!!

:confused: :confused:

Snap. And added to that my house is never tidy, nor clean.

We have recently tried to schedule the week...not just a list of things per day but timetable it and that seems to work. I try to have one job to accomplish per hour...doesn't alwyas work but it helps.

Getting out of the house is also good. Even just a walk around the block.

DJWebb
30-04-2007, 20:25
I dont ever get bored. I do all the cooking, cleaning, shopping, taking kids to school and picking them up. taking them to all their after school activities, helping with their homework, making sure they get baths every night and I have my mothers group on tuesdays. My life is very busy. I love it.

vanillabean
30-04-2007, 20:35
I am pleased there are others that say they are bored. I used to feel guilty that I was bored! We have a few days that are empty and sometimes I struggle to find things for the kids to do, which results in them arguing:banghead: Some days are really good having said that.

Nowhere
01-05-2007, 01:14
i wish i had time to be bored i only have one child she needs pretty ful on care, i would love to be bored the only way i get time to my self is if i stay up at night after she goes to bed for the first time for the evening

make the most of your bordem im so jelous lol

cgaunt01
01-05-2007, 08:59
what about doing a class?? or taking up a hobby like scrapbooking, or getting involved in party plan?? or somehting like that?? that would fill your days a bit more plus give you something non kiddish to focus on....

KandDsmummy
05-05-2007, 00:06
I'm a SAHM in Rockahmpton and i don't have my license, i feel like i'm cheating my DD (2yo) out of stuff to do, she gets soooo bored, but i have no idea what to do, just gave birth to DS 8 weeks ago, so still trying to get into some kind of routine with him. i feel sooo guilty, i'm only 20 and have no friends my age and in similar circumstances, What to do??:fingerscrossed:

PLEASE HELP...!:banghead:

our little treasures
05-05-2007, 00:20
I can honestly say I have never been a BORED SAHM!!

We read, sing, dance, have craft time, make lots of yummy treats and just play. When I out the odd dvd on it's to pay bills or make a phone call SOMETHING i NEED TO NOT BE INTERRUPTED.

I do bubhub a bit but I am also a mummy who will get up mid post and do what the kids need doing or if they come over to me I cuddle them and chat with them while doing it. I am lucky as DS loves the smileys and talks to me about them. Sometimes a post can take me 30mns to finish.

We also go on a lot of play dates, have lunch with daddy and go shopping! I use to take them to the park but I can't at the moment due to my pelvis I can hardly walk so all physical activity is on hold for mummy!

I start dinner at about 3-4pm as I have realised my 2 settle better in the nights if they are fed a little earlier.

My dd loves helping with all meals but she has also learnt how to play dress ups and that means every piece of clothing is taken out of her wardrobe.

Maybe you need another to keep you entertained:D , if I only had DD I might get bored but my gorgeous boy loves keeping me busy!!:rolleyes:

Ruby Slippers
05-05-2007, 00:39
I'm a SAHM in Rockahmpton and i don't have my license, i feel like i'm cheating my DD (2yo) out of stuff to do, she gets soooo bored, but i have no idea what to do, just gave birth to DS 8 weeks ago, so still trying to get into some kind of routine with him. i feel sooo guilty, i'm only 20 and have no friends my age and in similar circumstances, What to do??:fingerscrossed:

PLEASE HELP...!:banghead:

well bubhub is a great place to start ,
maybe when your Ds is sleeping , try to have an inside picnic with your Dd with her favourite toys ,
arts and crafts might be a nightmare ,
as if your little one wakes up while you are both finger painting ,
hands full of paint , Dd eating paint LOL,
I wish you good luck , and Congratulations! on the birth of your Ds:D

KandDsmummy
05-05-2007, 09:01
Thanx , that sounds like a great idea.
Maybe not the paint though :rolleyes:
Just put up one of those plastic gazebos downstairs so might keep craft stuff there and do painting downstairs.

thanx, he sleeps well during the day, but when awake he's forever wanting to be picked up:confused: .
I'm sure i will work something out.

Ruby Slippers
05-05-2007, 09:10
Thanx , that sounds like a great idea.
Maybe not the paint though :rolleyes:
Just put up one of those plastic gazebos downstairs so might keep craft stuff there and do painting downstairs.

thanx, he sleeps well during the day, but when awake he's forever wanting to be picked up:confused: .
I'm sure i will work something out.

I hope you have fun :thumbsup:

kiah
05-05-2007, 09:15
These are some of the things i do

- Houseclening every morning (doesn't everyone)
- Heaps of dinner and lunch prep, baking etc.
- Park
- Library
- Beach
- Playgroup
- Karate lessons
- Help out on roster at prep
- Exercise for at least and hour a day
- Read for at least an hour a day
- Take care of your chickens and vege garden
- Walk the dog

And when my dd is awake i do different activities each day with her.

We have been painting and drawing since she was a couple of months old. I do puppet shows, sign language songs, obstacle courses inside and outside etc. I luv it.

For my ds i take him on bike rides some arvos, swimming and we practise ball skills in the back yard.

millymoo
05-05-2007, 12:52
Hi Kiah

Bit of a tangent but are you ok after yesterday and the stars?

On this one...I`m afraid I wish there were more hours in the day as I have no problem filling them with 5 of us to look after.

H x

kiah
07-05-2007, 20:53
Hi Kiah

Bit of a tangent but are you ok after yesterday and the stars?

On this one...I`m afraid I wish there were more hours in the day as I have no problem filling them with 5 of us to look after.

H x

Sorry it took me so long to get back to this thread Always so busy and sometimes i forget to check back.

Stars actually dont bother me. It's just whats behind me that worries me. [Text deleted by moderator]

Anyways:D I know what u mean about the hrs of the day. I always wish there was more hrs in the day. Particularly with my hub. A thousad hrs is not enought with him.

07-05-2007, 21:33
definitely no time to be bored here..daily routine is:
get up get kids dressed while toast is in toaster
kids eat breakfast and I get dressed/pack lunches etc
Kids brush teeth and have bout 5 min play time while I finish getting things organised for the day
School Run
Kinder run
home for girls names around 10am
usually do the breakfast dishes while they nap and then start on the washing
girls get up at noon in time for lunch
play for a cpl of hours / go out etc
home for quick nap around 2pm and I start preparing dinner at this time or leave for school run at 3pm
home from school run just before 4pm, if girls didnt nap earlier they do now and I start on dinner
dinner starts cooking between 4:30 - 5pm
dinner served between 5 - 5:30pm
kids finish dinner and we do there readers
bath time
another story or two
bed time
MY time + My and DF time + the rest of the house work....

and then we repeat each day lol :D

Spare time I - bake.. a lot!! Scrapbooking... bubhbubbing... having friends over, usually have at least one friend and there kids over each day

MonkeyMum05
07-05-2007, 21:52
I find that if I give my boy my full attention and don't bother trying to do anything other than play with and entertain him, then I don't get bored... I am in the moment with him and enjoy my day...
On days where I wish I was doing somehting else, or try to do stuff on the computer... or read or do anything other than join in toddler activities, I get bored and frustrated.

If I want to wash up, I turn it into a game... etc.
If I feel boredom setting in, I change what we are doing... go out for a walk... cook... set up some paints... read some books... sing along to some kiddie songs... dance... kick and throw a ball... collect interesting things from outside... play tickley games... go down to the shops and share a smoothie... go to the park... etc etc.

I hope that was of some help :)

KandDsmummy
08-05-2007, 08:47
All the stuff to do at home sounds good, but i don'y have my license so i can't go anywhere but out to the back yard, would love to take DD to the park or something, but taxis are soo expensive.
Will have to work harder at getting my license :fingerscrossed: