View Full Version : Housework- Can u get it done in 1 day?
03-04-2007, 14:56
Because I can't :banghead:
I spend nearly the entire day cleaning and never seem to get anywhere. We live in a 2 story house so that makes it harder as we have 2 bathrooms, 2 lounges, 2 kitchens. The washing seems endless.. I feel like I am washing for 20 people a day.
So tell me your tips please on how to get it done quicker! I'm desperate :o
Ok I thought I was the only one who cant keep up with the housework...Any secrets to getting caught up with be greatly appreciated...
The only time i can do it all is when all my kids aren't here. We have a two story too and it seems the work just goes on.
Don't they say you should break it all up and do bits and pieces everyday instead of trying to do it all in one day?
I always fill my machine at night then set it to come on early in the morning so it's ready to be hung out first thing.
Other than that I really don't know how to make it easier:confused:
Yes and I luv it. I get up at 5am or earlier each morning to do my housecleaning, lunches and dinner prep.
I do a massive scrub of the whole house on Sunday's, declutter everything etc. So the week starts off easy. The housecleaning then for the week just becomes basic stuff really coz we a re pretty organised here.
I like to have most or all of it done before i drop Jayce off to school so i have the whole day to do whatever i like.
I wash once a day, 1st thing in the morning a load goes on. We don't wear many clothes so that helps i guess.
There is never alot of kitchen clutter or mess because we mainly eat raw foods or use a health grill.
And in between everything that i do whether it is bubhubbing, exercising, walking up the hallway to go tot he toilet i am cleaning but not even realising it. Putting things away, straigtening up.
Hope that helps.
SamanthaJane
03-04-2007, 15:50
Can't get it done either.... tho... i do have to blame bubhub, and food... :o :p
vanillabean
03-04-2007, 15:53
I did about 5 loads of washing yesterday (sheets, clothes etc.) and folded and ironed them, then today did more washing, folding , ironing. It never ends and I have yet to do my housework.:banghead:
I do a huge clean on Saturdays when Matt is home to babysit. I sort though all that weeks mail, do the dishes (are done daily though), clean the bathroom, toilet, dust, wash sheets, towels, mop and vaccum.. During the week I might pull out the vaccum cleaner a few times and do other jobs.
Ashleigh<3
03-04-2007, 16:04
It is so hard! Especially when you have a clingy baby that cries bloody murder everytime you're out of site.
I can polish the room spottless that she is with me in sight. But it would be a quick job anywhere else with her in the background balling her eyes out in order for me to get anything else done.
I take her out side with me in her car when I hang washing up!
This is how I work out the cleaning.
Monday I do a huge clean up after the weekend, so dusting, hoovering, clean all the dishes. Clean the bathroom and Kitchen, do two loads of washing Every two weeks I change the sheets on our beds.
Tuesday I have nothing to do as I worked my @ss off yesterday! Sometimes I do some ironing if I have any.
Wednesday I do more ironing, I like to spread it out and it's often hard with the LO's grabbing the cord so gotta do it when they are asleep! I also do another quick tidy up, empty the bins, do some dusting, clean bathroom
Thursday I do two loads of washing, and go do some grocery shopping! Sometimes it's really hard to shop with the kids so if it's not possible I leave her with my DH and go very early Saturday mornings and I am home by 8am.
Friday I repeat Monday except the washing clothes part! I like to do a huge clean on Friday's so everything is clean and done for the weekend and I don't have to do anything,
Saturday Fun day do nothing but family stuff of course I do the washing up and cook lol
Sunday Another family day like Saturday, maybe a load of washing depending on what we have been up to and how dirty everything is!
I hope that helps, I am very anal and love cleaning and tidying up so it's no biggy for me I work it around everything else we start tumble Gym on Mondays so I will have to change things around and wed/frid I have kiddy activities as well so you have to work it around your life as best you can!
katherine
03-04-2007, 16:24
tend not to do it all in ONE day, monday is a big clean up as everyone has been home over the weekend and messed it up.
but i write a list on the bench (even things i do every day like clothes washing) and work through it when i can, so dont panic over what has to be done :)
tend not to do it all in ONE day, monday is a big clean up as everyone has been home over the weekend and messed it up.
but i write a list on the bench (even things i do every day like clothes washing) and work through it when i can, so dont panic over what has to be done :)
I like lists:yes:
It is so hard! Especially when you have a clingy baby that cries bloody murder everytime you're out of site.
I can polish the room spottless that she is with me in sight. But it would be a quick job anywhere else with her in the background balling her eyes out in order for me to get anything else done.
I take her out side with me in her car when I hang washing up!
I am so glad its not just Tyler that does that!! Thats exactly what I do Ash!!
I get what I can done..... i it doesn't get done oh well!!.... i gets done eventually!! lol
04-04-2007, 09:23
Can't get it done either.... tho... i do have to blame bubhub, and food... :o :p
So THATS why I can't seem to keep up!!!
grrr bubhub... and food.... :laughing:
Littletreasures
04-04-2007, 09:25
Monday is my cleaning day i do ALL my housework in the one day bathrooms, beds, floors, dusting, washing, and everything else and then i can relax all week.... I normally do 1 load of washing on a Saturday just so DH has clean work clothes for Monday
i suck at house work we have to move in 5 days and everything is still a huge mess i have about 6 loads of washing and just discovered the cats got into one of the linen boxes and did their naughty business all over my sheets and blankies so make that about 8 loads now, so cant help ya much but when i do clean i lock the boys in their room to watch a movie they ually fall asleep so i get a few hour peace but there is really no point to that cause when the wake up they trash the house in 5 mins:rolleyes:
katherine
04-04-2007, 09:45
I like lists:yes:
i'm a list maniac! hahahaha
but yes.. grr to bubhub!
Mummy2Noah
04-04-2007, 09:48
Nope:no: Im lucky to get the floors vacumed and mopped in one day everytime i decide to do it Noah starts screaming for my Attention or he is hungry!!! I used to be so organised and have a spotless house when i worked Full Time now im a SAHM and its friggin hard hehe!!!
Mummaof2
04-04-2007, 09:59
Im not a SAHM but I am a single mum who works full time and is studying to different courses.
During the week I wash up straight after dinner and just before the kids go to bed I put DS toys away and DD puts her toys away and vacuum. I make sure that the kitchen, loungeroom and bathroom stay clean through the week. I usually do a load of washing in the middle of the week and a load on a saturday. On a sunday afternoon I go through an do a proper clean right through the house. When I need to mop the kitchen or bathroom i do it after the kids have gone to bed so I dont have to try and keep them off the wet floors.
yep i can usually get it done, i do it everyday when ds goes down for his nap, i run around like a headless chook and then i just straighten up before dh gets home
EskimoMumma
04-04-2007, 10:11
I can dot it
But i make sure i have two days of not stressing/being anal.
OnceAMereHumanNowAMum
04-04-2007, 10:25
My bub is extra extra clingy at the moment, so I try to sneak in some cleaning or cheat whenever the opportunity presents itself.
I clean the shower when I'm in it.
I let the dishes drain so I don't have to dry them.
I cook double batches whenever I can.
Before I start cooking, I run a sink. I wash up everything as I use it.. by the time the cooking is done, so are the dishes.
I make sure the laundry doesn't pile up and become a big task.. as soon as there's enough for a load, in it goes.
I use the dryer so I don't have to iron (much)
I fold while watching tv during his naps.. our house is so small you can't do anything noisy or it wakes him.
I used to just wait till the weekend and do it all in one go while hubby watched bubs, but it was too depressing to see it all messy by the next day. Now I do a couple of minutes here, a couple there, and the house is constantly clean. Perfect for when those inconsiderate people just pop in without phoning first. :laughing:
Angelmist♥
04-04-2007, 10:26
After realising that my kids will trash a room as quickly as look at it, I've found I'm a lot less anal about housework.
I do the major things like, washing, dishes, floors (ok not every day;)) but other things take awhile around here! Like cleaning out cupboards or washing walls and windows.
Lately I'd much prefer the house to be trashed because we've (as in all 3 kids and I :laughing:) have been baking, playing with playdoh or colouring in.
Who cares what the house looks like?
millymoo
04-04-2007, 11:59
I am a huge list maker and find it helps and makes me fell more in control. I find being a SAHM for 5 of us much more demanding than when it was 4 and am abit obsessive over the house being clean which drives them all nuts!
Monday is my main day and then I try to keep on top all week so the weekend is free to be with the family.
The older girls are pretty good with their rooms due to years of nagging from me!
Occasionally I am heard to scream.. "Right Shimmy Everyone" and we all have a mad hr getting things done.Shimmy is our code word!
It is hard and is never really done I find.
I envy people who don`t let a little mess bother them. i am a real fussy Virgo"
Helen x
EskimoMumma
04-04-2007, 12:06
"Yup. I always see something tht needs to be done. I have an attached 16month old but thats no excuse :). Keeping tidy is easy,its just hard getting into a routine
I don't do it all in one day.
I tidy up constantly so the house always looks clean and then have set days for everything else. Each room doesn't take the long when you break it down to just one room. The house always looks clean, and I never have to stress. Even after a bad day with DD, once she's down for the night I spend half an hour doing my cleaning and it's done. I don't use chemicals so I can have DD in the room with me when I'm cleaning.
I always feel like I'm washing too...it's just one of those things. Thankfully DD loves helping so that's not a hard job here.
We wipe down the kitchen every night...cupboards, sweep and mop the floors etc. It's always easy, cause there's never a grime build up and it's one less job I have to do.
We have two bathrooms but only use one. The other is for guests, and when we need the second toilet. It means I'm not cleaning two showers every week, there's only three of us so we just utilise our ensuite, as it has the bath in it.
ETA - I don't do any big cleaning of a weekend (except the usual tidying up, washing, and wiping down the kitchen) cause I deserve a break too! Weekends are my time off, and I don't really get time off, but it's family time, not cleaning time!
borntobemummy
04-04-2007, 12:15
it takes about 2 hours of solid work to get it all done. But on a day to day basis, I just do washing and dishes and tidying. I do floors and bathroom/toilet when I see they need it.
allengirl4
04-04-2007, 12:22
I know I haven't tried it with kids yet, but my Mum bought me the "Speedcleaning" book for Christmas (much to DH's joy!).
It has revolutionised how I clean - and with little or no chemicals.
It's by Shannon Lush & Jennifer Fleming (of ABC fame if you're familiar with them).
Blessed Mum
04-04-2007, 12:25
gosh I wish lol. Some days are better than others tho, I seem to get heaps done & other days well I know there is stuff to do but I just don't get it done :rolleyes: & DD is just at the age now where she can pull apart a room in about 10secs lol so thats fun too :D
Harlequin
04-04-2007, 12:52
Haha same here. Though she is good sometimes and will sit by herself for half an hour or so and I can get some stuff done.
We are kind of messy. I think because our house is small it gets cluttered really easily and just looks messy. It really annoys me.
I wish I had a bigger house so it would be easier keeping it looking fairly neat.
I tend to do a big clean and then say "ok this time I won't let it get out of control" but it always does :D
Ana Gram
04-04-2007, 13:15
Nope, DD requires so much attention that I am lucky to get dinner cooked most nights!
sugar n spice
04-04-2007, 13:53
PIXIE i used to be so good at house work until i had my third and now i have very little time so i do most of it at night but atm im studying so thats even harder. Im going to print out your list i think and maybe make a rule no bubhub until cleaning is done when bubs asleep. hmmm bubs asleep now maybe i should get off here:rolleyes:
OneBabyBoy
04-04-2007, 14:05
My DS is like this. I put him in the pram and wheel him around the house with me while I clean and then I dance and sing and act like a fool while I'm cleaning to keep him entertained lol.
But mostly I just believe in clean as you go (learnt this when I worked at maccas :laughing: ) So always put things away after you use them, if you're walking past something untidy pick it up as you go etc. I do maybe 30 mins of housework a day plus vaccuming because clean as you go and there isn't much that needs doing.
Also put the washing machine on just before you go to sleep at night and it will finish while you're asleep then hang it out in the morning.
Sugar and Spice, I am sure things will change once #2 comes along, I hope to study as well. Time for hired help at that point lol
PIXIE i used to be so good at house work until i had my third and now i have very little time so i do most of it at night but atm im studying so thats even harder. Im going to print out your list i think and maybe make a rule no bubhub until cleaning is done when bubs asleep. hmmm bubs asleep now maybe i should get off here:rolleyes:
My hat goes off to anyone who can study and get their household organised. I was going to start my masters while on mat leave but decided against it, a bit tricky for me.
So u should be real proud of yourself hun.:yes:
I don't do all my housework in one day :no: . I don't even try! I'll do at least one thing a day. Today I vaccuumed... Yesterday I cleaned the loo... The day before I dusted etc. etc. :thumbsup: Works best for me that way.
millymoo
04-04-2007, 19:20
Sarah ....Just noticed your :bfp:!! If I haven`t said already...congratulations hun. well done.
What will the age gap be?
Helen
danielle13
05-04-2007, 08:14
I think there's been one day ever that I've got everything done, I was in "cleaning mode" and was absolutely exhausted at the end of it.
I usually don't even try to do everything in one day, it works much better for me if I spread it out through the week.
I always clean as I go so nothing piles up, though my DP's yet to adopt this philosophy :banghead:.
I clean the bathroom and kitchen on one day, dust and vacuum another day, and do general room clean-ups every day as I go. I do 1 load of washing a day, and wait til my DD's happily entertaining herself before I fold and put away.
I find it alot easier to just do a little bit here and there, and that gives me more time to spend with DD.