View Full Version : Jan Mums - April chat

Pages : 1 2 [3]

jacstar31
24-04-2007, 14:17
Geoffrey has been in 00's for a while, now getting into a lot of 0!!!
he has not started solids and is exclusively b/f. he is over 8 kgs now and is 4mths 3 wks.

Cat13
24-04-2007, 14:20
Still in 000's here as well. My boy sounds very similar in size to your DD Pices_79. He is chubbing up nicely now too :) . And no rolling here either. The first time it happens I think it will just be in a rage over tummy time which he still doesn't like although he lasts about 30 secs now before a tanty - it used to be immediate.

Out of interest, does anyone know if it's too early to tell what bubs' handedness is? DH is sure C is lefthanded because he seems to have more control over that hand and it's the one he most uses to reach out for things. Or too early to tell yet?

SammyG
24-04-2007, 14:28
Cat13, I think it is way to early to tell yet. At Gymbaroo they have always encouraged all the kids to use both hands to stimulate brain development. DS1 is 2&1/2 and they still encourage it even though I'm pretty sure is a righty.

2s'nuff
24-04-2007, 16:15
Hi-ya girlies,

Another wet day in Perth today, the gardens going to love it.

Bath...TJ has a bath daily with her big sister. Definately needs one with the exploding poos at the moment
Rolling...No sign of a roll here. Though she did a half turn (like the hands on a clock) around on her mat just then.
Clothes sizes... We're in 00's here. 0's for Bonds suits. Shes got her mothers thighs and looks a bit strangled in the 00 Bonds suits:laughing: .
Handedness...saw on a tv program a couple of months ago, that the direction they turn their head most is an indication. While on her back TJ turns mostly to the right.

Our nights are a bit sparodic at the moment. Had one 7.30-4.45 night, but mostly one night feed still. The night feeds down to about 15mins most nights so it's not too bad.

Keep well,
Lisa

Pices_79
24-04-2007, 19:42
I just LOVE seeing all the photos of your Jan bubs - soooo cute!! I wish I knew how to do it!!

Its so interesting to hear what your bubs are up to!!

I heard that Huggies are starting their own TV program next week in the mornings...cant wait!!!

LadyLou
24-04-2007, 19:57
HI

Well had a bad morning - went to the CHN for the first time (and last time!) and was promptly told by her that I wasn't bf my baby right... WTF?

Apparantly I wasn't holding her correctly.... don't know how she's survived the past 14 weeks??? For starters I didn't go for her to analyze my feeding of the baby I went to get her weighed and answer some questions I had - she couldn't even do that. Her response to my startle reflex question was "I don't know" - didn't bother to find out though for me. And with regard to head size, even though she is now down on the 50th percentil line - she said the baby is not going down cause I haven't plotted her head size every four weeks so you can't see the gradual decrease.... again WTF? If it was on the 75th line 8 wks ago and is now on the 50th line - I'd say thats a decrease, I think she just wanted to make me feel bad for not bringing baby in regulary. She also didn't understand that I was concerned about baby's headshape - just kept telling wm that a flat spot was normal - my baby doesn't have a flat spot - that's part of my concern..... grrrr!

She made another appointment for 4 wks time - we aren't going! I'll go and see my Dr instead - as least he talks sense! This was the whole reason I had been avoiding the CHN :banghead: .

Anyway - just needed a vent *deep breath*

Clothe size - we are in 00 (went and layby'd some 0 clothes today - retail therapy after CHN visit).

Bath - daily bath before DS, now using dermaveen as water was a bit harsh on her skin.

Ummm - can't remember what else I read - sorry.

Anyone off to the march tommorrow?

Strawberry_Shortcake
24-04-2007, 20:20

2cutekidz – :hugs: to you, The chn can be so rude. I got told that Talon’s neck was to floppy at 8 weeks. I wasn’t happy when I got told that. Never went back. I just take T to the chemist now and get him weighed.

Pices_79 – Talon is into 00’s and some 0’s depending on the make. T has been on farex for a couple of weeks now. He doesn’t like it on it’s own so I usually put in some puree pear and banana with it and he LOVES it. He also has egg custard and that’s a winner with him aswell.

Bath - We give T a bath every night around 7pm, then he usually has a bottle and off to bed for roughly 10 to 12 hours.

Rolling – T been rolling for a while now, he gets get frustrated when he can’t move...

Cheers Kel

Pices_79
24-04-2007, 20:22
Thanks so much for comments Kel :):)

LadyLou
24-04-2007, 20:37
just catching up

no solids here yet - going to hold off for as long as i can - bf is just soooo convenient lol.

rolling - only by mistake :laughing:

on the subject of moving though she tends to do circles with her body - only moves to the left though :confused: I often find her upside down under her play gym, tonight we got wee on the floor with nappy off time as she's moved of the wee catching cloth nappy and had her bottom on the cold floor :laughing:

strawberry - good idea - might try the chemist, head too floppy at 8 wks??? aren't they meant to be floppy?? they are babys after all!! you feel like saying "sorry we don't fit into your little textbook of rules" grrrrr

LadyLou
24-04-2007, 20:44
pieces_79 - huggies tv program! wow! do you know what channel, time etc? what's gunna be on it? I'm a sunrise junkie - just love it, don't get to watch much else, DS comenderes the TV for Nick Jr viewing most of the day - hmmmm!

Flicka
24-04-2007, 20:54
Hi ladies....

Bath - I know 2 baths a day does sound a bit extreme but I find it easy to pop Kelsey in when DS is having a bath. He loves to wash her and she loves being a rudie nudie and having a kick in the bath. We also have the exploding poo problem so regular baths are the go. I also find I can adjust her naps during the day by when I bath her. If I need to head out early and want her to have a nap first I just give her a bath as soon as she gets out of bed in the morning and then feed her and she has a nap. Again in the evening, if I bath her and feed her she usually goes to bed. For kelsey bath=boobies=sleepy time.

Clothes - kelsey is in 00 at the moment. I have some 00 and some 0 for winter. There can be such a huge difference between makes though. Some 00's are looking tight while others (like pants/jeans) are still too big. I found with DS that I had to avoid buying 'sets' (top & bottom together) as he would often fit into the top but the pants would be too big. But the little sets at Target are sooooo cute. Got Kelsey a gorgeous dress and shrug set the other day and bought some little pink tights from pumpkin patch. Am in the process of knitting Kelsey and DS matching jumpers for winter (one pink, one blue) so I can't wait to dress them up together.

Can't beleive it is almost needle time again. Am really dreading it as the last lot left a hard lump on her leg that took a few weeks to go down. Plus the sister kept on saying "It's not my fault you are crying - your mummy and daddy brought you here". A bit of a weird comment - like I didn't already feel awful...
:hugs: to those bubbas having theirs soon and also hugs for mums.

take care
Flicka

Flicka
24-04-2007, 21:04
2cutekidz - Also meant to say sorry you had a rough time with the CHN. What is the go with some of these women? You'd think they would be considerate with regard to your feelings.....And agree - WTF about the b/feeding incorrectly??? You have only been feeding her for the last 3 months of her life and she is doing really well. Besides, I bet half of us aren't positioning bub 100% correctly at the breast all of the time. I am pretty lazy and let kelsey sprawl all over the place. Plus, who can be relaxed and comfortable and feed normally when some CHN is there watching - that would make me feel really weird.
Without turning this into a 'me' post - just want to say I can relate. I went to clininc about 1 month ago and kelsey screamed and screamed. Finally got her weighed and midwife asks why i don't just shove a boob in her mouth to keep her quiet.....like I was so stupid I hadn't TRIED to feed her already to calm her down. Then CHN assumes I am having problems with b/feeding. Another WTF moment!!!

LadyLou
24-04-2007, 21:11
just want to say I can relate. I went to clininc about 1 month ago and kelsey screamed and screamed. Finally got her weighed and midwife asks why i don't just shove a boob in her mouth to keep her quiet.....like I was so stupid I hadn't TRIED to feed her already to calm her down. Then CHN assumes I am having problems with b/feeding. Another WTF moment!!!

Yep - I am just about ready to stand out the front of the clinic in protest with a "WTF??" sign lol :laughing:

Good thing we don't have to pay for the privlage..... I've learnt my lesson, not going back! Half these women have never had babies anyway...... gunna stop now before I get too nasty!

Off to watch TV - we have episode 20 of Greys Anatomy to watch - DH has downloaded them from USA - woohoo!

Sweet dreams all..........

Strawberry_Shortcake
24-04-2007, 21:40
on the subject of moving though she tends to do circles with her body - only moves to the left though :confused:

Talon does this aswell. The first time i saw him do that i asked him how he did it lol. The little man gave me the biggest giggle and talked back. It was so cute.

strawberry - good idea - might try the chemist, head too floppy at 8 wks??? aren't they meant to be floppy?? they are babys after all!! you feel like saying "sorry we don't fit into your little textbook of rules" grrrrr

Apparently Talon didn’t have good head control, due to him not liking tummy time. So I took him to physio last week and got told there isn’t anything wrong with his neck…

Tabby
24-04-2007, 22:06
argh dont get me started CHN's lol! They should just allow for the fact that all bubs are different and throw away their damn text books. Mine made me feel like an idiot most of the time so now we weigh and length at the chemist and if any other issues arise Ill go my gp.

Katie has been doing the circles this week too, heh nappy free time is the best for it, same here she moved off the cloth nappy to pee on the matt lol

Pices_79: Katie has farex for brekkie and custards or milk arrowroot bickies mixed with formula for dinner. Started her early for reflux.
Like the idea to add taste to the farex..Is rather bland isnt it?

mim1
25-04-2007, 09:40
Josh is in 00's. I had to put his 000's away a week ago and it was really hard. He's just too long for 000's, but the 00's are a bit big still. He's starting to chub up too, instead of just getting longer.

Flicka ... I'd bathe Josh more often if I could find the time. He's quite unpredictable and can fall asleep 45 minutes after waking up, so once you take out time for a feed, nappy change and little play on my lap that means when I'm ready for his bath he's going to sleep already and grumpy. Other times he'll stay awake for 2 hours. Basically, I need to get more organised so that I can quickly run a bath after a feed.

I spoke WAY TOO SOON yesterday about it being a good day. He woke up 45 minutes into his afternoon nap and didn't go back to sleep for 4 or 5 hours and was unhappy the WHOLE TIME, including 2 episodes of inconsolable screaming. I was SO drained by the end of the afternoon. Unfortunately he was just getting warmed up. He didn't really sleep for long and kept screaming and grizzling on and off. Then at 8:30 til 9:45pm he screamed almost constantly. Dh & I couldn't settle him despite our best efforts. I fed him eventually and that worked for about 10 minutes. So, at 10:30pm he was screaming again just as dh & I decided to go to bed cause we were tired. We moved him into his cot at that time cause he seemed to not want to be in his bassinette anymore. After that things get a little fuzzy, but dh had to look after him from 10:30pm cause I'd been to the physio earlier in the evening and was sore all over and couldn't pick Josh up (what timing! grrr!). Dh got up to Josh heaps over the next 2 hours and ended up putting him in a sleeping bag for the first time cause he thought that wrapping was also setting him off.

Josh did sleep from 12:30am til 3:15am, then fed at 3:30am and went back to sleep at 4:10am, finally waking at 9am. He's now asleep again, under his blankets, no sleeping bag ... we're definitely praying for a better day and night today cause we're exhausted.

Does screaming/unsettled behaviour get better? I've blamed reflux (which may have been an issue yesterday, but he was happy to lie flat, just not in his bassinette or wrapped). I've blamed going out too much (but he's barely been out in recent days). I've blamed food I've eaten (but I didn't eat anything unusual). I've blamed his new room (but the screaming happens whatever room he is in and whether he is in our arms or not). Basically the screaming in the evenings for the last 10 days is seriously draining us and I'm very ready for it to stop for good.

Charis
25-04-2007, 10:02
Oh Mim1, what a hard night! You poor thing and yr DH and Josh too. Just when we think unexplained crying is over! Maybe he was just having a sooky day and night. Not what you want to hear in retrospect, of course. As long as it doesn't continue! Of course you've crossed off all the other factors. Adding in cold weather or teeth could be factors??Itchy clothes?? But prob nothing you or your DH could fix, as you did do you darnest to. Poor you! Good you got some shut-eye. Yep timing about the physio! They sure are hard on the back!! H after weeks of sleeping at the same time, took 2hrs to go down! Any change to their 'routine' really throws one, doesn't it!

Gosh v damaging comments from some CHNs, these are the kind of comments we remember. Sorry you got bad ones 2cutekids and Flicka + Tabby! Was it Freddie who wrote, a while ago, when we know our bubs better than anyone else (and of course we certainly do now!!) then we are truly their Mums. Paraphasing, but that nice confidence in oneself. Even my Mum did the 'he must be hungry' thing the other day, I was incredulous! :)

To stand up for some CHNs, mine is a complete fruitloop, well in a caring/casual way, if that makes sense. No judging or this is the way to do it..nothing like that. She does have strict views on alcohol,coffee,dummies and formula..but besides all that she's very casual. Things like 'little bubs sometimes like being wrapped up like this' and then showed me, rather than 'don't you know how to wrap'. Certainly made a difference to my life :smiliedance:

H and I are now part of a playgroup formed from the Parents Group. Only 2nd week so far and I think worthwhile, hard to know yet, but nice socialisation for single/only bubs.

Aries, am missing our usual Wednesday physio!!! Might have to do the BAS I think..hmm great use of a public holiday.

Mousebrown, yah a short week for you !!

H is just into 00s since the last week. Not v chubby but LONG. I tried stretching his 000 wondersuit but it wasn't going anywhere and was constricting his hammies.

No turning in circles yet!

He does love tummy time (on his change mat) on the kitchen bench. With one eye and hand near him at all times! But he learnt about eggplants and read the massmam (sp!) curry container..smelt some onion and coriander. I recommend it!

Pices 79, just register at putfile.com or another free photo hosting place, even Rabbit have one, and upload your shots. We;d love to see Sophie :)

Was nice this morning, hearing all the traffic for our 4.30am feed all heading to the dawn service. We weren't the only ones up:smiliedance:

Special day to all. Lots of calm bubs and sleep to those who need it (all of us!!)

Tabby
25-04-2007, 10:57
LOL Charis, cooking lessons for H already? :D
May have missed my post but said got your barcodes, again thanks! And is that a roll of ribbon in there???

Mim: Sorry to hear such a **** day/night for yous, hope it solves soon xx

Really wish I could work out wtf is up with this on the dot 4am stirring! Last night we went from 4 am till 530, ended up lounge in my arms as I had gotten up a good 20 times already. After she nodded off I put her pram and she slept till 8am.
Shes not cold, cant be teeth as always 4 am. Have changed nappy and only once that let her go back to sleep, other times it made no difference, always without a doubt 4/430am it starts...shes not crying so no pain, very very weird.
Sometimes right back to sleep with dummy, sometimes takes 6 times, last night was the worst

aries_moon
25-04-2007, 13:01
CHARIS: good thing you weren't going to physio on the first place....I went all the way there only to find out it's not on!! GRRR I felt so stupid, didn't realize pub. hols apply to hospitals:o

Is anyone else wanting huggies barcodes still?? I have 2 I can pass on........

Mim1: So sorry about the bad nite, can totally relate as X sometimes play up like that again for whatever reason, nearly justifies throwing them out the window at that point doesn't it.............speaking of, my lil cherub is screaming his head off now, must go

wild at heart
25-04-2007, 13:40
Mim I completely understand where you are coming from, Alexander has decided that night time feeds are def the way to go..

He was having a good sleeping pattern where he would BF every three hours during day and then go to bed at about 7pm and not wake until 2am for a feed then would wake somewhere between 5am and 6:30am for another feed.

BUT after reading a bit I decided I was going to try to change his sleeping so that I could feed him before I went to bed to try to prevent the 2am feed (i think it's called a roll over feed) so I started feeding him at around 10:30pm (sometimes it was a dream feed).

That was fine for a few nights and he woke at 4am and I was thinking "great, he will learn to stretch out until 5-6am", but he soon started waking up every three hours for feeds.

For a while he did not gain weight so CHN suggested he was trying to feed more to gain weight, but now he is feeding 8 times per day and often pukes up the excess milk... !!

So now I feel like I have a newborn again. Any advice or suggestions on this one...:banghead:I am sooo over it. It only started a week or so ago, but by yesterday morning I had had enough and was in tears from sheer tiredness.

sorry for the me me me post :ecomcity:

Cat13
25-04-2007, 14:21
Mim & Wild at heart, sorry to hear about the nighttime waking. Hopefully a shortlived phase. Wild at heart, I found that a roll-over or dream feed always made for a worse night for us

C woke for a night feed (2.30am) for the first time in ages but not too bad as he settled back to sleep after his 45min feed and then slept an extra hour longer than usual so I got to sleep until almost 7am instead of 5.30/6. And he has had 2 2hour naps today :yelclap: - the second he still hasn't woken from so could be even longer. He has stirred but a few rocks of the pram or strokes along his body have sent him back to dreamland - don't know what I'm going to do when he outgroes the bassinet of is pram!

I hope he wakes at 2.30 every morning for a feed if it means he is a good by for mum during the day. Also means I enjoyed my sleep a bit better without the sore full (.)(.) :thumbsup:

SammyG
25-04-2007, 19:27
Mim1 & Wild at Heart, hope things improve soon and you are managing to get some rest! I can't offer any advice as it sounds like you have covered everything. These little guys just have minds of their own.

As soon as M stirs at around 9 or 10pm I unwrap him and encourage him to wake up for a feed. He's usually screaming by the time I have heated up the EBM, skulls it with DH and back to bed till around 4-5am, 25mins up before back to bed and start of 3hrly feedsfor therest of the day. He is stretching one or two of his daily feeds to 3.5 or 4 hrs now which is nice!

I'm exhausted, we just had friends with their DD same age as DS1 over for the afternoon and early pizza for dinner. The kids were extremely rowdy together but had a great time. I'm tired from tidying up and shopping today, at least the unit doesn't need much doing for a few days besides the necessary day to day stuff. Must go wash up and get ready to pump, sorry for the ramble :sleeping:

Flicka
25-04-2007, 20:13
yes sorry to hear about the bad nights Mim and wild at heart. i agree with Sammy - you do sound like you have it all covered. I suppose we just have to remember that they are little people with feelings and moods - maybe just having a blah day??? i think we can torture ourselves with questioning about 'was it something I/we did'. Was going to say wild at heart that could be a growth spurt for Alexander????

We had a bit of a difficult evening with Kelsey. I really count on my few hours of housework/tidy up/DH time and me time after the kids go to bed. It is the only thing keeping me sane. Well, tonight Kelsey wanted to go to bed at 6pm. I ususally stretch her out til about 7pm but DH was home and talked me into putting her down. What a mistake. She had a power nap of 45mins, woke, then screamed and screamed and grizzled for the next couple of hours for no reason at all and only stopped a few times to catch her breath and have a booby snack. The 'little princess' (I'm being sarcastic) has finally gone to bed and I feel totally drained. I really need those few kid free hours to recharge my batteries every night.

Off to bed now and silly me will probably be up reading and knitting half the night and complain about being tired tomorrow!!!!

sugar n spice
25-04-2007, 20:14
mim1 i hope things improve with josh for you. Well its quiet here all the boys are in bed and dh left for perth this arvo with his boss as they have a meeting first thing tomorrow morning.

i keep looking at my belly which the weight is slowly going back on and i really think i need to hit the gym the only thing holding me back is the worry of putting the boys in the creche for an hr. i know thats so silly hey.

*Sparkles*
25-04-2007, 20:18
They told us at my Mothers Group that we could change MHN if we want to. I am going to do this as I don't like my one, she is very abrupt. I have another one in mind who has been recommended to me. Apparently the bubs have to see them until school age so I want one who is more understanding and not so routine.
Just thought I would share this at it might also be an option for some of you to change?

I'll be back to post personals tomorrow, I am so tired tonight, these 5-6am starts are killing me.

wild at heart
25-04-2007, 20:21
Thanks for everyone's advice. Don't think I'll wake Alexander- but he will probably wake himself... i just got so envious of all of the bubs who are sleeping all through the night I thought that giving him a feed at 10pm would work. It's all trial and error and it's hard to know how long to try these things out for. I wonder how long it take for something to become a routine?

My MIL only suggestion since DS has been born when we have any issues with tiredness, sleeping, wind, vomiting, growth or anything is to put him on the bottle (i'm not against it, it's just not what I want to do..) but I don't think she understands.. she actually said the other day.. "if you squeeze your breast can you get some more milk to come out?"

mim1
25-04-2007, 21:00
wild at heart ... if he is gaining weight (which of course you'd know by now) then you've got enough milk. Changing to bottle feeding rarely fixes crying babies or babies who wake frequently.

I feel better after reading Robin Barkers Baby Love again tonight. In the crying baby chapter low sensory threshold is mentioned and I think that sums up Josh. It says that if baby's have a traumatic birth they are more likely to have a low sensory threshold and so will wake when they poo, burp, hear a slight noise, etc. Joshua has slept through noise well up until a week or two ago when he suddenly got this low sensory threshold from noise and visual stimulation. He'd always had a low sensory threshold in relation to bodily functions (sorry TMI). So, I feel like this period will improve as he learns to cope with the world around him, hopefully within weeks. There is also the suggestion that with a crying baby it's good to get out of the house a lot. I stopped going out much last week and now I realise this is probably not a good idea. So, I'm going to take him shopping tomorrow. I need to go out anyway cause I need to find a chemist that has zantac for Josh.

bossoflatch
25-04-2007, 22:28
wow - i know everyone says it - but this thread moves fast...

firstly - thanks everyone for you thoughts... dh and i have sat down a lot over the last few days.... we haven't had a computer - so we had to do something.. .. no seriously... we have has a few long chats about the lack of 'friendship' in the relationship and that the kids need a father who wants to be here - not someone whos helps out with money ...:eek: .... as i have said earlier the kids love their father - but sometimes he is just so stressed that he has no time for them and lately with the ex gf issues i think i just doubted the sincerity of our r'ship.... iykwim....

so things have been going really well over the last few days... we actually have been having a few laughs together and talking to each other about the good ol' days... i weakened and got him a cartoon of beer. as since bubs has been here i admit i kind of forgot that i need to show him that i love him and he really enjoys his beer.... and i think he needs it to relax from work pressures....

but onto tayla...:rolleyes:

well - things haven't been too good with her lately - her reflux is really bad again - they had to increase her meds again - and we go back monday to discuss if we need to do tests.... i just wish there was sometihing i could do for her - she seems to be in so much pain.... having said that - her meds kicked in over the last 2 days and she has been my little angel again - smiling and starting to laugh now... wow it is hard to think that they don't come with a laugh button and that they have to learn to laugh...

i posted several weeks ago that she was rolling from front to back - now she has mastered fromo back to front .... we have been having her in the jolly jumper a little bit each day... and reading to her everynight - which she has started to talk back with now... so cute...

over the last few nights when we go to put her to sleep -she gets really cranky and i tried to just leave her to settle in her bed.. and funny enough she has just turned her head and gone straight to sleep/.... :crying: because i feel like she doesn't need me to get to sleep anymore...

also another thing i found - for all the mumies bf,,, she punches my boobie and even tries to scratch me - but i found that giving her a security blanket has stopped that... she loves holding onto the satin edges and will settle on the boob better as well...

on the bathing issues - i bath her everyda - only coz all my kids share the same bath - i bath her first and then one of the kids get in and help 'wash her hair' (their bonding time with her - they love it ) and then the others will get in and wash .... she loves her bath ... i think she knows now that bath time means that bedtime is coming up.... and she settles almost straight away now... and now she sleeps from about 8pm thru to 6.30am...:smiliedance: i might learn to go to bed earlier so i can make use of her sleeping so well...

wow this is a long post for me - better go get some sleep..

Cat13
26-04-2007, 07:04
I should be careful what I wish for LOL.

After our good day yesterday C did wake at 2.30am, which wouldn't have been so bad but he also woke at 8.30pm, 11.30 pm, 3.30 am and 4.30am. Poor little fella really did seem to be trying to stay asleep but was being bothered by wind and tummy aches. He'd scream, I'd go in and rub his belly or stroke his arm and he'd settle and smile at me then start falling back asleep :thumbsup: - until that wind started moving around again upsetting him :( . It did help immensely that I knew there was a reason but was confused as to why so much wind as not normally a problem.

Anyway, the answer presented itself this morning while I slept a bit longer and DH attended to C before going to work. Poor DH was a bit confused to find his hand damp as he lifted a happy C out of the cot until he saw the stain on the sheets. C had done his BIGGEST poo ever - filled front and back of nappy completely and then out the sides into his sleeping bad and through to the sheet. DH said he was gagging (men!). But to his credit, he took care of it himself and brought a clean happy bub to me in bed for his morning feed.

Still not sure why the poo explosion, plenty of dirty nappies yesterday so not like he was saving it up. Although maybe the extra feeds during the night to try and settle him had something to do with it. But then why the extra wind in the first place. Something I ate?? (TMI - have been experiencing similar symptoms myself!). Maybe fatty fish & chips for tea the night before last? When feeding yesterday didn't notice my usually strong letdown so maybe he was getting a different mix of milk from what he's used to? Who knows, always more questions than answers!

Off for our morning walk now to try and get at least that part of our routine back on track and :fingerscrossed: C has a happier tummy today.

Hope everyone had better nights last night and best wishes for a good day.

*Sparkles*
26-04-2007, 07:49
I feel better after reading Robin Barkers Baby Love again tonight. In the crying baby chapter low sensory threshold is mentioned and I think that sums up Josh. It says that if baby's have a traumatic birth they are more likely to have a low sensory threshold and so will wake when they poo, burp, hear a slight noise, etc. Joshua has slept through noise well up until a week or two ago when he suddenly got this low sensory threshold from noise and visual stimulation. He'd always had a low sensory threshold in relation to bodily functions (sorry TMI). So, I feel like this period will improve as he learns to cope with the world around him, hopefully within weeks. There is also the suggestion that with a crying baby it's good to get out of the house a lot. I stopped going out much last week and now I realise this is probably not a good idea. So, I'm going to take him shopping tomorrow. I need to go out anyway cause I need to find a chemist that has zantac for Josh.

:yes: I can relate to all this. I try to take R out everyday as he really enjoys this and it seems to help him sleep and settle better. He also likes a routine and is cranky if I break it so we try to do the same things at the same times every day. It's funny 'coz my cats are the same way :laughing:

We still have arsenic hour at night but not as bad as it used to be and for not as long. We found that bringing his bedtime earlier has helped and he feeds at 6pm and then 9-9.30pm. He also drinks 200mls before bed and sleeps for 8-10 hours now at night.

Question - How often do your bubs feed during the day and how much? I have been giving Reece 180 mls every 3.5 hours, otherwise I can't fit all his feeds in! (so he has 5 feeds a day, a total of 920 mls)

Cat13
26-04-2007, 08:05
Hi Hels, not quite the same since we are BF but I know what you mean about trying to fit feeds in. If C doesn't wake for a night feed (he goes to bed at 7ish, wakes up 6ish), 4 hourly feeds would mean only 4 feeds a day so I find I try and squeeze in a few extra feeds at the end of the day eg may feed at 6.30am, 10.30am, 2.30pm 5pm & 6.30pm. But each day is different!

Cat13
26-04-2007, 08:07
Hels, my cats are the same too. Such particular creature. Speaking of which, I'm late with their brekky!

Tabby
26-04-2007, 09:17
Hels: Katie was every 3 hrs up until 2 days ago, shes been stretching the feed to 4hrly sometimes 4 h a half. Consisting of 200mils, still doesnt allways have that though, like this morning she only had 150 of it.

worst night ever!!!
From 730 bedtime to 230 am, awake every hr or less. Wind pain as she was farting like a trooper.
Finally onto the lounge to settle and into the pram same as the night before.
She amazes me though no matter how owie the tummy pain she smiles through it when holding her to cuddle to sleep..

Quite a few of us having the same issues it seems..
Suppose to go jabs today but will do tomorrow instead, we are both too tired

Tabby
26-04-2007, 09:21
They told us at my Mothers Group that we could change MHN if we want to. I am going to do this as I don't like my one, she is very abrupt. I have another one in mind who has been recommended to me. Apparently the bubs have to see them until school age so I want one who is more understanding and not so routine.
Just thought I would share this at it might also be an option for some of you to change?

Didnt realise was a "have to" see CHN. Is that new ( as in last few yrs) ? Never did ds2 after first few either and never got told had to..
Im still going to stick with my gp for checkups as hes just up the road and we can get to him easier too. Plus weigh ins and length at chemist CHN. Other CHN is miles away!

sugar n spice
26-04-2007, 09:27
ashton has 180 mls and usually 4 or 5 feeds a day. he usually has 1 gap of about 6 hrs and then an 8 - 10 hr gap

mim1
26-04-2007, 09:32
Thanks everyone for your comments. Amazingly we had a better night, I think he was worn out from all the screaming (finally!). He went to sleep at 8pm (fed at 6:45pm), needing resettling at 9pm but was asleep quickly. Then slept til 2:30am, going back to sleep on his own in his cot by 3:15am, he stirred at 5:45am but went back to sleep when I put the dummy back in. Unfortunately that was it for me and I've been up since then. BUT, he didn't wake up til 8:45am! AND he was asleep again by 10am and he's still asleep. I need to take him out now - I've found a chemist with Zantac - yeah! Oh well, hopefully he'll sleep this afternoon.

Oops, spoke too soon, he's awake. Sounds like a good time to go out afterall!

freddie
26-04-2007, 09:33
morning all,

I'm so excited I had to tell everyone. We put up Hamish's new cot yesterday and I've put him in it this morning for the first time. He went straight to sleep no dramas whatsoever! Hope we can keep this up!!

We had a couple of nights back to 8 hour sleeps but then the last two nights were back to waking around 12/1am and then 5/6am. Been up since 6.10 this morning :rolleyes: .

Hels, we're exclusively BF still and have 6 feeds a day usually - about 7am, 10am, 1pm, 4pm, 7pm and 4am if all goes well. This of course can vary wildly! Usually we've stretched out to 3 hourly but often there is a 2 1/2 hour in there and lately there have been a few 4 hour stretches in the afternoon.

BTW Tabby you're into Winnie the Pooh? I've been given a cot set I don't want. Do you want it if I bring it on Monday to the Perth meet?

Good news blossoflatch about you and DH - hope the improvements continue. I agree about having to remember that DH has needs and wants too - its easy to forget them and they can be so easily pleased (carton of beer for eg!).

that's it for now - got to finish the BAS before H wakes up.
kx

victoria75
26-04-2007, 09:42
Morning all,

In regards to the MCHN you dont have to see them is my understanding. However we recently moved and to get DS1 in to Kinder we MUST have a 3 year assessment with the MCHN. That is only this council though. worth a check for later.

Feeding, we only have 150ml here and I'm lucky if she drinks 100ml of it. She feed 5 - 6 times in 24 hours. Still up at least once at night if not 2.

We try to go out and I find she sleeps better also after a trip somewhere. We usually walk to the shops to get dinner supplies. Keeps the bigger 2 sane as well.

Us - we had a great day yesterday, went up to the hills and found this great shop called (whatever the puppet guy is from pinochio) It was just gorgeous. I bought S her first doll. Its an old fashioned type rag doll. I was so excited after 2 boys I finally get to buy girly stuff. Also bought a wooden bright red fire truck with a ladder that winds up. So cute. Little S was so excited in the shop. All the puppets were hanging from the roof and she was just captivated. As you can tell I was really excited. Anyway hope all is well and everyone has a good day. Take care.

Tabby
26-04-2007, 09:47
BTW Tabby you're into Winnie the Pooh? I've been given a cot set I don't want. Do you want it if I bring it on Monday to the Perth meet?

OH my yes! We would love it!! Thanks! Will see you there Monday.

Strawberry_Shortcake
26-04-2007, 10:18

Gees after that public holiday yesterday it feels like a Monday for me lol.. Talon has 5 to 6 feeds a day (usually 200ml per feed, depends if he has solids with his formula).

Rang Queensland Health today and asked if I had to continue seeing the CHN and she said I didn’t have to its personal choice. That’s alright I haven’t been to see the CHN for ages lol. I just go to my local chemist for weigh ins and for any other concerns I go straight to my gp. T is booked in for his 4 month needles on Monday:eek: . So not looking forward to that.

Anyway Talon has been sleeping (with his pooh bear) for almost 2 hours now, so I best be going and hanging out a load of nappies.

Kel

Tabby
26-04-2007, 11:03
Argh went to get jabs but couldnt get in till tomorrow, ah well the walk was nice.
So tomorrow it is :crying:

Hugs for Talons and you on monday Strawberry

Strawberry_Shortcake
26-04-2007, 11:24
:hugs: to you vicki and little Kaitlyn for tomorrow. The reason why Talon's having his needles on Monday, so daddy can come too :D .

Tabby
26-04-2007, 11:32
I couldnt get DP to come, he had a day off tuesday and I suggested it but he wouldnt budge lol, say hes doesnt wanna see his little girl hurt if he can avoid it awwww

Strawberry_Shortcake
26-04-2007, 11:43
Argh speaking of Drs. Just got a phone call.
Have to change to next Wednesday for bub's needles. My dr isnt going to be there Monday/ Tuesday :banghead: Glad they rang me and told me in advance, nothing worse then turning up and then being told your dr isnt in today.

2s'nuff
26-04-2007, 13:46
Hi-ya,

Just a quick one as I'm at work and nearly finished my lunch break.

Cheeki...In our house some nights dinner is whatever DD1 will eat:laughing: . Eggs are popular and something she will eat even when extreemly tired.
Hels...I couldn't tell you how many feeds TJ has, I just go with the flow. Don't worry so much about how many feeds of how many mls, R will regulate his bottles. When he's hungry he'll eat. As long as he continues to put on weight, then he's getting what he needs.
Tabby...yep, the CHN is optional. We may have had our last visit with ours as fitting it all in at the moment is too hard.

TJ's tummy seems to be settleing. No poos on Tuesday and a relatively normal one yesterday. :smiliedance: Isn't it sad how exciting pooing or not can be:laughing: .

Got a 6 hour meeting with clients tomorrow...will need the toothpicks to keep me awake and interested.

Have a great day!
Lisa

Pices_79
26-04-2007, 19:53

DD is having 5 feeds a day - 7am, 11am, 3pm, 6.30pm & 10.30pm.....she feeds at these times every day - our routine seems to be working well so far...

The amount she drinks varies at each feed normally around the 180ml mark...sometimes she has 220ml sometimes around 140ml

Hope this helps

Charis
26-04-2007, 20:00
Hunter is just having a pre dinner sleep, I know a really BAD idea..as he'll prob sleep through till midnight now..! oh well.

happybirthday cheeki28 for tomorrow and sorry it's coinciding with the sore legs for Z and L!! V V cute photos. Also of your DS, lovely looking boy!

All the best to Katie too! Sore legs and poor Mummy! YES it was a roll of antique pink ribbon for a special little girl :) Oh and one of those barcodes was from 'swimmers' I really hope that is kosher..If not I have another already!

Cordelia how're you going? Panic attacks gone? Hope so.. and we get to see you and C again on Monday :smiliedance:

Mim1 glad your night was much much better!

Freddie! Pays me to read this first lol! Great about the COT!! Does this mean tonight is the first big cot night? Or are you just day sleeping in there? ThisH normally up 2/3ish..?? Hels also B-Fing and we're on 6 or so feeds a day, no idea how much. 2.5-3-4hrly during the day. Hels, how was your second Parents Group? Ours has/had 12 bubs and two Dads with 10 Mums. That sounds like a harem, but you know what I mean..I hope!

I night feed on the couch, but for first feed of the morning, usually 6.30, but this morning 5.30!! I take him back to bed like a little hot water bottle..he he and then we both doze after it. Gosh but they're sometimes not v restful to sleep next to!!!

Happy nights all. Not much gos here. Looking forward to Monday meet. Getting some work done..yes I've also finished my BAS and had 2 site meetings this morning, all good. We go out at least once a day for work/shop combined and usually have a late arvo walk too.Need to go swimmng again..but playgroup Mondays, Nana Tues and Thurs.. Physio Wednes..the weeks have begun to have a pattern. Amazing isn't it, only 15wks heheh.

Hi Pices_79 again!! Great you've got such regularity, makes it much easier!!We don't, he just sleeps every 1.5hrs of getting up all day.. arh the luxury.

xxS

*Sparkles*
26-04-2007, 20:19
Tabby - Re MHN, sorry, bad choice of words when I said "have to" I was referring to the duration, as in they see them until school age. It's nice to know that it's voluntary though as I didn't realise that. But I think I will still switch MHN's and keep seeing her though, as I don't have a regular GP yet.

Charis - My parents group was ok, the leader isn't as good though so I'm glad I got one session with the last one. The mums seem to be a bit "keep up with the Jones's" so it will be interesting to see how it pans out. I wish I could turn up at the next meet with a Bugaboo pram and driving a mercedes :laughing:
That's good that you have a couple of blokes attending yours :thumbsup: .

Better go, R is ready for his jammys, feed and bed. Me too for that matter!

Flicka
26-04-2007, 20:24

on the subject of needles - we were going to get kelsey's done next week while DH is on days off but just had a letter from the hospital (finally) for kelsey's cardiologist appointment. I had all but forgotten about it and now the scary reality is back that we will find out what they (doctors) want to do about the hole in her heart. Fingers crossed they will leave it until she is older if they have to operate. Whatever they decide i should be glad that she is happy and developing and gaining weight so far. Still no rolling over but she seems to be trying and gets very frustrated when her arms get caught!!

once again tonight we had a bit of a scream session. Not sure what is going on - but feel alot better that quite a few of us seems to be going thru this stage.

better go - watching the end of biggest loser

Tabby
26-04-2007, 20:51
happybirthday for tomorrow cheeky! and hugs all round for yous tomorrow needles as well.

Charis: heh yep didnt realise one was swimmers, have those so need the one more nappy barcode, if you have can grab monday? Can then post on the way home :thumbsup: And thanks for the ribbon, cant wait to see it in her hair, the rate its going wont be long at all!

MouseB: Glad TJ is back to a settled tummy and pooping better!

Hels; oh my bad thought meant had to, glad its not so no repercussions for us later lol

Flicka: :fingerscrossed: for the best news possible at that app!

Sleep vibes to all the bubbas and extra ones for those needing more for the unsettled of late!

Nothing new here, Katies just gone to bed so hope we get our normal sleep tonight.

freddie
26-04-2007, 21:37
happybirthday tomorrow Cheeki

two morning sleeps in the new cot and two arvo sleeps in the pram with the stroller seat instead of the bassinet. :smiliedance: :yelclap: Hamish went down in the cot tonight as well with long contented groans so I think it was well overdue. night all :wave:

sugar n spice
26-04-2007, 22:35
ashton has rolled over 5 times today and i got it on the camera on my digital camera. the video thing so that dh could see he really is rolling as he always misses it. its great.

bought ash some custard so i will try that tomorrow. i had him weighed today at the chemist and he weighs 7.35 kgs. he is in the 90th percentile.

mim1
27-04-2007, 06:53
happybirthday cheeki! Hope you have a great day!

Josh had two 45 minute naps during the day yesterday, but went down at 4pm and ended up sleeping for 2 1/2 hours. Charis I think that keeping babies up when they are tired is a bad move, no matter what the time of day, so don't feel guilty about a late arvo nap. Josh was up again at 6:30pm. He was tired by 8pm but after 1/2 hour of trying to settle unsuccessfully I put him to sleep in my arms and let him stay there while I watched missing persons unit (I couldn't be bothered to get up and down for the whole hour). Of course he woke up shortly after I put him down, and was tired but squirmy. I ended up feeding him (yep, he was hungry again) and then it took about an hour to settle him. Then he slept and slept ... yep, he fed at 10pm and didn't feed again til 6:45am! Yeah! Of course I had milk leaking everywhere this morning, but oh well.

In Baby Love Robin Barker mentions that babies typically start out having a feed between 8pm - 11pm and again between 2am - 5am. At some point, usually after 6 weeks they drop one or both of those feeds. BUT, some babies never drop both of those feeds and some drop them, but at a later stage start up again. I found this information helpful. Josh drops the late evening feed every now and again and the early morning feed every now and again. I don't think he's dropped both of them for more than a couple of nights.

Acacia
27-04-2007, 08:33
Sorry to hear about the CHN dramas. Mine is lovely but she gives me advice that just doesnt sit right a fair bit so i just go with my gut feeling. The nicest thing that happened to me was when i went to the nurse the second time and she called in the other nurses to look at how bright Toms eyes were...i felt like super mum after that!

2 days ago i had the first day in ages where i had to pass Tom over to someone else ecause of his crying. He was settled until i walked into the room then just screamed and screamed and i was so upset so thankfully my housemate took him for a walk. Tom has started to be really settled with everyone but me. He seems to want all my attention all the time when he can see me. It wears me down sometimes because i just dont understand why he is doing it to just me.

Yesterday i went house hunting with my house mates for 3 1/2 hours without Tom. It was the longest stretch he has done with his dad. I felt pretty weird but it was nice to have a bit of freedom!

Im not sure how often Tom eats. Probably 5-6 times a day. I am BF and co sleeping so i dont have to get up to him in the night, i just roll over and he usually drinks and goes straight back to sleep, although last night he had a lot of wind and was up nearly every hour farting.

Sorry for lack of personaly...Karrina if you get this good luck. My ex DP and i have been seperated on and off since i was about 5 months pregnant. We kept trying to give it a go but we have now decided that the fighting cant happen in front of Tom so we cant be together even on and off anymore.

Acacia
27-04-2007, 08:34
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! happybirthday

Cat13
27-04-2007, 09:22
OMG! :eek: C had his biggest spew ever this morning. I know some of u deal with this daily but he's only ever even spit up a total of about 5 times so don't even usually bother with a cloth when burping. He'd been sucking for a solid 5 mins when he came off and seemed to choke a little then his whole brekky came gushing out. Poor little guy didn't know what had happened and burst into tears. Couldn't believe so much milk in 5 mins, won't be so worried about length of feeds from now on. I know they say it looks like more than it really is but seriously, everything was soaked - his clothes, my clothes, the couch, the feeding pillow & cloth and even splashed on the floor (tiles luckily!). Then followed it up with an explosive poo. Excellent! I know it's normal but couldn't help worrying a little because not like him at all but his second (smaller) feed has stayed down fine. :thumbsup:

Flicka - hope u get the news u want from the cardiologist. Surgery a scary thought for such little ones. Hoping for same news when C has next US at 5 months to check on blockage in his left ureter.

Acacia - good luck with the house hunting and hope Tom starts settling better for you soon. Sometimes C can be happy playing with DH and then gets upset when I come & join - Sometimes I think maybe it's because seeing me has reminded him he was hungry and wants his feed NOW! Lucky it seems you have some very nice housemates happy to help you out when it gets rough. Hang on to friends like those!

Rolling over - to my surprise C actually rolled over yesterday :smiliedance: . Accidently I think and probably helped by being on the very edge of his rug when it happened but still very exciting for mum! He'd turned about a quarter circle on his tum and next thing was over on his back. He had no reaction, just a contenetd look at being on his back again so not sure that his effort will be repeated soon. Think it helped he was nappy free.

Unsettled Bubs - seems to be a common theme for alot of us. Maybe something going on at this age? C's usual bedtime is 7 but didn't go down until 9.30 last night, fell asleep over my shoulder while I was rocking side to side trying to watch final of the biggest loser. Seemed troubled by wind again. Was fine once he was finally down though and slept through till 6.30.

CHN - we don't have an allocated one (think I fell out of the loop by moving interstate after the birth?), have just been seeing the nurse at the GP or Amcal Baby Clinic. But have found both to be lovely and openminded. Was pleasantly surprised after preparing for the worst!

Mothers Groups - how do you find one?? Something else I fell out of the loop on by moving interstate?

Stilll a couple of weeks till we go back for C's needles but best wishes for all bubs (and their mummies & daddies!) having theirs soon.

Cordelia
27-04-2007, 09:35
CHN: I love ours... they are SO nice. Really supportive but I can imagine that if you went against their advice they'd get a bit narky. I know a lady in our mother's group was told by her GP to start solids so rang CHN to discuss how to start it and the CHN said that she was to under no circumstances to start solids and refused to help her. So far, so good with me!

Mother's Group: Cat, we got our mothers group from the classes at the child health clinic. We met there formally for 4 weeks at the beginning and now we meet for coffee once a week and do other things like picnics, mum and bubs movies, mother goose etc... It might be worth contacting your child health centre and joining one of the classes? I think they all work differently.

Acacia: I find the same (re: other ppl settling babies)... even when my mum is holding her and caitlin looks over me she starts to sook a little. Mum says it's because she wants the attention from me or thinking about her stomach again. It's wierd. OH AND... I'm over all the smiles and laughs DH gets when he gets home. I still get smiles but not to that extent.. nice for DH I guess.

Rolling over - well done bubs who are doing this!!! Caitlin is only half sort of going over - she haaaaates tummy time which is probably a reason. I'm hoping gymbaroo will give us some ideas (and motivation) to overcome this.

Charis - i'm feeling lots better thanks for asking :) and yes! will see you Monday!

mim1
27-04-2007, 10:23
Acacia ... Josh does the settling easily with others thing too. My mum says that he can smell milk on me, but I don't think it's as simple as that. Sometimes though I take him from dh and find he's suddenly really unsettled ... then I realise it's actually time for a feed :idea: oopsies, how quickly 3 hours will fly sometimes.

Josh put himself back to sleep this morning! I didn't even realise! Yep, he was up for 90 minutes, then I put him down in his cot awake and came out to do things. 15 minutes later I still hadn't heard a peep out of him and I remembered that he had been wide awake. I went in and sure enough he was sound asleep! He stayed that way for 1 1/2 hours! He's about to go down again, let's see what happens this time!

Tabby
27-04-2007, 11:41
Cheeki: Hope you have a great day! xx

Just back from needles, oh boy was that a heartbeaking experience! I was fine till she looked at me and tears ran down her face.
Sure hope the next 2 months go a bit slower!

Shes a bit unsettled still, only had 40mils and off to sleep so unsure what the day will bring. Gave her some panadol as she was moving her leg and crying so hope shes better when wakes.

Had a bad night again, waking constantly from 230am, ended up our bed at 430 as I had gotten up so many times to resettle, she then slept till 630.

*Sparkles*
27-04-2007, 14:46
:hugs: to those who had or are having needles and to those with unsettled bubs. We still have arsenic hour at night but it varies alot now. I think half of the time he could just be over tired.

happybirthday to Cheeki.

Well we had a fun day. I entered R into his first baby comp at the local shopping centre. I was surprised at how many mums and bubs were there. I nearly didn't make it though as R was quite unsettled last night so I was in and out of bed a few times settling him. He was up quite early this morning too but thankfully he slept for another hour on my bed with me.

The baby comp was fun and R won 3 prizes, including 2 trophies for 1st place (prince of babyland and champion of babyland) and a 3rd place sash (loveliest eyes). I was a proud mumma! I could only enter him into half of it as he fell asleep for a while and then started crying for a feed!
Here is a photo of him showing off his prizes when we got home :p

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i60/Hels-b/Reece/Champion.jpg

sugar n spice
27-04-2007, 14:56
hels that is great well done in the photo comp for R. well was just checking in and ash is just waking for a feed then its off to pick ethan up from pre school.

Tabby
27-04-2007, 16:06
Hels: How wonderful! Huge congrats to Reece!
Lovely trophies.

Katie is quite unsettled still. looks like being affected more than last. Shes grizzly so lots of cuddles from Mum and Dad for the day/night :D

sugar n spice
27-04-2007, 16:15
tabby sorry to hear katie is unsettled. she will be better within no time. i found ash was a little unsettled more than usual for nearly a wk but now he's back to his old self

Tabby
27-04-2007, 17:07
Thanks Sugar. :hugs:

Cheeki, lol youve no idea how close I came to putting it off for that same reason! Katie was exceptionally happy before it, I even commented to DP how she was even happier than normal if that was possible lol.
Thats what broke my heart to see her ever so happy right up to the last second. Smiling at everyone in the waiting room and all.
ah well, am glad went as its all over now for another 2 months.
Have fun movies!

Ellembee
27-04-2007, 18:23

i haven't posted for a couple of weeks as i have been staying with my mum while DH away. Was nice having company through the day but missed him so much.

Anyway, am feeling a bit down. My DD still waking twice through the night and she is 13 weeks. She also hates tummy time and doesn't look like rolling nor is she batting toys let alone holding them. Is there anything I should be doing to assist her physical development? On the positive side, she does chat away lots - so I think her speech development is going ok.

We also changed her over to her cot this week. She hates it. Everyone else's transition seems to have been fine!!! I feel like I have a newborn again - spending all that time settling her to sleep, whereas before, I put her in her bassinet and she snuggled in and went to sleep straight away.

My MIL also giving me the pips. Went over to her house the other night for dinner. Usually fine as DD usually falls asleep in the capsule on the way over and sleeps through, but she didn't this time and we just had to eat and run. MIL just carried on about how I have spent 2 weeks with my mum and that DD doesn't know her and like her etc. She was crying cause she was tired for pete's sake, not 'cause she doesn't like her Grandma. When MIL picked DD up, DD passed wind and MIL said "oh, she has a pain in the tummy, thats why she is crying" - for goodness sake, it was 2 hours after her bed time, she was bloody tired - thats why she was crying!!!! Not my problem that MIL too busy during the day to visit and hates driving at night so won't come to our house for dinner - therefore can't see her granddaughter except when she is asleep or grumpy because she is overtired. Anyway, rant rant rant.

Hope you had a lovely birthday Cheeki. Gorgy trophys hels. Thinking of you Karrina. Good luck with the house hunting Acacia. Hugs to all up for needles. Am not looking forward to the next lot. I was one of those pathetic mums who cried more than their baby at the first lot.

Anyway, long boring post for you all. Apologies!

E xxx

Charis
27-04-2007, 18:52
Hi hi!!
Hugs to poor little Katie, Tabby. She wont remember tomorrow.. Or when she's big. But I know it makes no difference to how you feel now.. so hugs!!

Oh yes and I just cut up another Huggies box :) Will bring on Monday.Sorry!!
Aries..don't forget to re-pm me :) Oh yes and I so know that window you were trying to throw X out :o Completely normal. Looking forward to Monday (and Wednesday too!!!pity you drove out there, I hope it co-incided with shopping..or a cafe somewhere)

Hels your lovely Reece swept the trophy table clean!! Wow. Congratulations!! You need a trophy shelf.V beautiful boy! I will check out the Melb meet photo, Freddie told me about it!!

Freddie happy Birthday for your Grandmother for her 92nd!! Lucky Hamish having a Great Grandmother!!! I like that 'Great' is before these special people!!

On why they smile more at others..because we are a part of them.. we are almost completely omniscient, (I'm sure I used to be able to spell!) to them and I find only when we're singing or I'm doing something completely silly will H just beam..or singimg with a deep voice, or being just about to feed... or first thing in the morning.. Hmm maybe C just packs the same number of smiles in each day, in a shorter time, to her Dad, Cordelia.

Sugar v v cute piccie of Ashton.

Cat13 that spew sounded amazing :yes:

Ellembee hugs you poor thing. Yrv MIL is sounding a bit unreasonable.. I mean of course you'd stay with yr Mum for 2 wks!

H WAS v v hard to settle last night, after sleeping a bit late before dinner.. oh well. Was trying to stretch it out so his Dad could bath him when over, but should have used my better judgement in retrospect. Oh he did sleep from 10.30-6.30 no night feed in the early hours. Maybe we should start the 'roll-over', was it Mim1 or Flicka who started this last week? He 'normally' is asleep from 8-6.30 with a 2am or 3am or 4.30am feed. V regular, not!

Happy nights all, yah FRIDAY

Tabby
27-04-2007, 20:26
Thanks Charis, for the hugs and the new barcode xx

Katies affected a lot more than last time, off feeds and very sleepy, shes only had about 40mils of each bottle since jabs, but she still scoffed down her dinner fine lol. bathed her then a play with grizzles in between so lots of cuddles still, on to bedtime with 150ml bottle but fell soundly asleep after some panadol and only drank 40mls. Sometimes off feeds with jabs?
Anyhow hope the sleepiness sees her through the night and a better tomorrow.

Cordelia: Katies like that now, no matter who has her she is constantly keeping me in eye sight. Just a stage really where I think Mum is their world. realization of who we are maybe? I find it quite endearing but figure give it a bit longer my thinking will change when she wants no-one but me lol
Also have the total excitement when daddy gets home. someone else she loves yet hasnt seen all day maybe..

Off to relax, been a long long day
Good sleeps to all

2s'nuff
27-04-2007, 21:45
Yah, I've made it through another working week:smiliedance: .
Cheeki...happybirthday for today. LOL at DS singing HB so many times, something my DD would do.
Acacia...TJ has been going through the "I don't want anyone but mum" thing for a few weeks. She had a rude shock the first day I dropped her off at daycare, but she's happy to have the carers handle her now. I've found the more you share them around, the quicker they get over it.
Tabby...Hugs for Katie, hope she sleeps well for you.
Hels...Yah for R. He's certainly a charmer!
Ellembee...:hugs: don't panic about what bub is or isn't doing. Babies all do things at different stages. TJ isn't showing any signs of rolling over yet and isn't interested in grabbing anything other than my finger (any maybe DD1's hair if she leans too close). Hope tonight in the cot goes better. There were a few of the Jan mums who also had problems transitioning into the cot, so don't feel disheartened.

TJ is still waking for a night feed, sometimes having a ood feed, others just 50ml or so. Tried farex again this week, but she had a really unsettled night. Don't know if it was the upset tummy, the fact she hadn't poo'd for a day or the rice. I needed (half) decent sleep before work, so haven't tried again, will try tomorrow night.

Good sleeps everyone,
Lisa

mim1
28-04-2007, 06:21
ellembee ... josh's cot transition has been horrible. He moved into his room a week ago, firstly in the bassinette, then 2 days later into his cot. It's been a really horrid week. I've had to rock him to sleep nearly every time, including every 45 minutes during the day when he wakes up screaming. He was also feeding at 9 - 10pm and 2 - 4am again and I was getting tired. Then in the last day we've suddenly got an improvement. He went 9 hours between feeds on Thursday night and last night he did it again! Yeah!! He even slept for 8 hours last night, so we're all happy again.

One thing I really noticed in recent days is that Josh wants to be awake for a lot more of the day. It seems that the days of 2 - 4 hour sleeps during the daytime are gone :(. Last night he was up for a total of 2 hours, then slept for 45 minutes and woke up again wanting more milk.

re: rolling - it's 'meant' to happen at about 6 months, not 3 months, so don't worry if it's not happening yet. Josh rolled from his tummy to his back at 2 weeks, but doesn't do it much anymore. He now readily rolls from his back to his side, but not all the way to his tummy.

Last night I gave Josh some nappy free floor time (I've been bad at finding time for this). He loved it. He also wriggled about 80cm from where I put him down! Yep, he was on his back in the middle of the mat, then he dug his heels in and pushed himself back and back til his top half was off the mat and he could reach his normal play mat. It made me realise that I always put his toys within reach and although he loves that I need to put him a little bit away from them sometimes to encourage him to move.

wild at heart
28-04-2007, 11:27
Hi everyone. Just a quick post..

I have been going into Alexander when he wakes and have been soooo flabbergastered to see that after me putting him in his cot with his feet facing the bottom of the cot, he was been waking up with his feet facing the head of the cot. :eek: On numerous occasions in the last few days he has been waking up with his feet hanging out the sides of his cot (through the rails). :eek: Has anyone found a good solution to this problem?? I don't really want to put cut bumpers or anything in cot due to SIDS risk etc.. hmmm

Cat13
28-04-2007, 11:39
Another little milestone for C - he started blowing raspberries this morning (why is it called that??).

Cordelia, my DH gets the biggest smiles as well. I figure he sees mum all day so a new face is extra exciting. Not that it stops me from trying!

Ellembee, lots of unsettled Jan bubs lately and, although it may seem like it, not all are rolling & holding toys etc. Plus some of the Jan bubs are closer to 4 months now than 3 and those few weeks can make a BIG difference. I'm in no rush for my little man to grow up too fast anyway - want him to be my baby as long as possible!

Charis, good judgement always easier to determine in hindsight LOL :D . Have also learnt the hard way that late afternoon naps are a no no. Seem to have moved to two 1.5/2 hr naps a day with a long awake period in the arvo(3-4 hrs). Narky towards the end but bath relaxes him and much easier to feed & settle him for the night. Getting longer naps by rushing to resettle as soon as he starts to stir (often right on that magic 40min mark).

Tabby, hope Katie is herself again soon and Hels, congrats to Reece on sweeping the prizes at the baby comp :yelclap: .Mousebrown, Congrats on surviving a working week. Don't know how you do it! Wild at heart, C does cot gymnastics too. Sometimes I think I must have forgotten which direction I put him down in the cot in.....

A good weekend to all,

Cat13
28-04-2007, 11:50
Mim, I've been bad about fitting in nappy free time too, have only just started.

Just wondering, do any other bubs 'wake' with a heartbreaking cry only to be :sleeping: by the time you reach them. C does this and also just now he 'woke' screaming/crying as if in pain, didn't stop until I picked him up and over my shoulder (where he is :sleeping: right now) and I'm pretty sure he was actually asleep the whole time?

Tabby
28-04-2007, 22:22

Mouse: Hope your getting some much needed sleep over the w.e.

mim: Katie is also now awake much more during the day.

wild at heart: you could try a sleeping bag? I noticed that the one time we didnt put Katie in hers she did exactly that and ended up sideways with feet near the slats. The sleeping bag seems to keep her in the one spot. so far....

Cat: Sorry no help here re: waking like that. would have been quite distressing am sure, hope it stops soon xx

Hi to everyone else! Hope all having a good w.e
we are off out tomorrow for a much needed break, am visiting a bh member to buy some clothes for katie and is out the beach way so we are making a day of it, am really looking forward to it. Been a hard couple of days, She has a temp/diarrhea and very clingy and grizzly..she does amaze me though as no matter how she feels she can still throw that smile at me and cuddles turn into chats in my arms..very cute indeed.
Had a funny moment earlier, she was grizzly and needed cuddles before bed and I was talking to her about Mondays Perth meet and I said " Monday were going see all the bubbies!" and she laughed so loud , turned out it was every time I said Bubbies and she cracked up. Makes you wonder what goes on in that beautiful head of theirs hahha
anyhow am off for a nice hot shower and a early night

Charis
29-04-2007, 11:37
cat13 awesome about the raspberries! H doesn't do those yet, but yes does give heart rending single scream every now and then, when asleep and yes is still asleep like C when I rush in thinking he's impaled (by the fercocity of the cry!) ?? Hope not a bad dream :(

Contractions..but nothing like THOSE contractions of course..are they still happening when feeding?? Something is moving around in there!!

Yah Aries, thanks for the PM..imagine its you :)

More later.. H is getting a bit fussy feeding. Hmm that kind of bash bash bash with top arm. ok..:wave:

aries_moon
29-04-2007, 13:11
hello all, hope everyone's having a lovely sunday! Strange weather...sunny then raining...managed to go for a walk while it was still nice. Got a new pram so had to test it out. BTW HELS, got same pram as you as it sounded (and looked) so good!! It is great, so much better than my other one..........

well we're going very well, X rolled for the first time this morning, I knew it was coming soon as tummy time all this week he kept nearly doing it then would balance himself at the last minute. Very cute when he actually did it, and smiled after so must have enjoyed it!! Daddy got it on video for the second one, but there were no more after that, oh well.

And yes, about that loud, sudden scream in the middles of sleep, X does that nearly every sleep! It really is sad hey, hope it's not a dream, but don't care what is really as it means he's still asleep :laughing:

Looking forward to catching up with the Perth mummies tomorrow and seeing how the bubs have grown and changed. managed to actually vaccum the place this morning so my house will have a bit of order to it when you come around:laughing:

well i'm off, gonna watch the footy later on...GO FREO! have a great day ladies, and bubs!:wave:

Tabby
29-04-2007, 13:17
Did anyone else get diarrhea as a side effect of immunisation? Doesn't say on any of the sites that it can be but Katie has had it since Fridays needles..
Shes very very unhappy still. Up at 4 am unsettled and been a even worse day than yesterday, so hard to help her, given panadol and fluids for the temp but still cries.

Hopefully will still be there for tomorrows meet, if do just unsure how long can stay if shes the same, as is had to cancel our day out to pickup some clothes for her, doubt she would have sat carseat a hr each way.

2s'nuff
29-04-2007, 13:32
Tabby...:hugs: for Katie. Hope she starts to feel better soon.

TJ hasn't had her needles yet, she's 4 months tomorrow, but until we get her tummy problem sorted, I'm not going to get them done. Maybe by next week she'll be ready. Started the LF formula last night, so far she's taken to it ok, will just have to see how it effects her poos and wind over the next couple of days.

Tried farex again last night but TJ was too tired by the time I remembered, so it wasn't a great success. She had another 6 hour sleep followed by a 4 hour sleep.

Hope every in Perth is enjoying the rain. I know my garden is. Have a great day! Will see the Perthies tomorrow:yelclap: !

Lisa

*Sparkles*
29-04-2007, 19:17
Tabby - Hope you had a nice day out and that the weather stayed nice.

Aries Moon - That's great that you got the Strider, which colour did you get? Are you and X happy with it? I just love mine and so does R.

I had another migraine today, I seem to be getting them every couple of weeks now :thumbsdown: I think it could be my hormones returning to normal (or not!) but I have got a referral from my Dr to see a Neurologist anyway. I have been suffering with them for too long now so hopefully something can be done.

Last night we ventured out to dinner for the first time (just the 3 of us). R was an angel and slept the whole time. The ironic thing was that a baby at another table screamed throughout the whole meal! Typical hey?

Reece still isn't rolling, infact he's showing no signs of anything like that yet.
We have fed him and put him to bed early tonight as a trial. He protested a bit but seems to be settled now. It will be interesting to see what time he wakes up :rolleyes: .

Have a nice time at your meet tomorrow Perthies :) .

LadyLou
29-04-2007, 20:01
Its been a quiet few days in here - hope everyone is enjoying their weekends.

Belated happybirthday Cheeki, hope you had a great day.

Rolling - nup not happening here.

Toy grasping - nup not happening here (only if toy put into hand - but then is promptly dropped).

Talking and giggling - yep lots of that, v v cute! We have such serious conversations. Trying to teach her "mumma" before "dadda".

Contractions while feeding - yes, not painful though, but do seem to lose a bit of blood still when they happen - sorry if TMI. On subject of blood - sorry sorry sorry - I am getting spotting (?? a lot more then just spots ??) in between what I thought was AF. I have NEVER had this - is this normal. I am so over it atm. Might go back to Dr (again) and pay my $60 and be told that it's all normal :laughing:.

Well I had my second day at "work" yesterday. It's not my real work, my aunty has a shop and I worked last Saturday, yesterday and then doing Saturday/Sunday next week. I take bub with me (and will take DS when DH at work). It's harder to juggle bub and serving customers then I thought. I don't like to put her aside to serve people. It's especially hard to stay customer foucused when changing her nappy. Working with baby sadly is just not for me - funny cause I always thought it would be ideal :confused:.

On the subject of work I have 9 job applications on the go atm, desperate not to go back to my old job. It has taken me all day to compose one application with only 6 criteria - I am so out of practice!

Is anyone finding baby clothes are long enough but far too wide for baby? Most of the 00's that I put on E are the right length but make her look like a little hobo cause they're too wide...

Enough rambling (not enough human contact today - been in front of the computer too long :shame: ).

Hope you Perth girlies havea great meet-up. Are there any mummies close to Canberra?

Flicka
29-04-2007, 20:09
Charis - yes I still get some twinges in my belly every now and again and especially after a big long feed. Was a bit crampy during and after feeds last week and actually thought I was going to get my period but nothing yet. Might just be some sort of hormone surge or something.

I have had a few very draining days. DH is on nightwork which makes it hard to keep the kids quiet for him to sleep. DH is an angel tho and doesn't complain about the noise and he even gets up if he hears the kids crying (like when I have to abandon Kelsey to take DS to the loo - toilet training is such a pain!!). I have also been tucking Kelsey into bed with him while I have a shower and she just snuggles down while he sleeps.
DS has been really difficult the last few nights. he goes to bed without any dramas but has been getting up about 4-6 times a night. He has never done this before and I can't figure it out. I have just been taking him straight back to bed but the broken sleep is killing me.

After a few unsettled days with kelsey I had enough of her grizzles last night and just put her to bed and guess what? She just went off to sleep. Did it again today every time she got cranky and she just squirmed in her cot until she fell asleep. Obviously I was reading her tired signs a bit wrong the last few days...maybe because I have been tired too.

Although she hates tummy time I have been presisting and she is finally propping herself up on her elbows to look around. She was pretty proud of herself when she did it as she got to look at herself in the mirror. her happiness quicly turned to tears when she was frightened of her own face in the mirror.......she put on one of those big frowns where her chin was all wrinkled and even had tears running down her cheeks.

Well off to bed now as I am sure DS will have me up every hour or so......Any of you with toddlers have any suggestions to explain the wake ups???

LadyLou
29-04-2007, 20:21
How old is DS Flicka?

Flicka
29-04-2007, 20:24
He is 2 and a half - I just also posted in the parents general chat - this broken sleep is killing me!!

LadyLou
29-04-2007, 20:48
Just wrote this huge reply and the window shut down on me :banghead:

Anyway in summary this is what I wrote;

DS did this from as early as I can remember. It was worse or more noticeable (sp?) when he was learning a new skill, ie crawling, walking, talking, self feeding and yes toilet training!

We did what you are doing and that is marching him straight back to bed (do not pass go, do not collect $200 attitude :laughing:). It usually settles down within a week.

I don't have any hard fast solutions - sorry. But what you're doing by taking him back to bed is good, you're not rewarding him by offering him a warm spot in your bed.

Sometimes when DS does this now (he's over 4 years) I think he wakes cause he's cold, he wriggles out of his blankets in his sleep and gets cold then wakes, unsure of why he's awake he comes to our room. Same thing, we march him back to bed, tuck him in and go back to bed (I usually make DH do this as I have to feed bub - it's a tradeoff :kiss:).

Sorry I don't have any answers/solutions for you, :hugs: hope it settles down for you soon and you get some much needed unbroken sleep.

Lukeandmattsmum
29-04-2007, 21:24
Warning Long Post!!!!!!!

It is getting a bit quiet in here lately. Everyone must of had a busy weekend.

Matthew can now roll from his belly to his back and almost from his back to his belly. He just about twist himself in a knot trying:D .

Loves playing with his toys on his play mat, i find rotating them frequently he doesn't get to bored.

He also loves to talk and has just learnt to blow raspberries this weekend. It is so cute. Could just do without the dribble though:laughing:

I haven't had any cramping whilst feeding since about week one or two. I have however had my AF back, but not regular yet which is frustrating not knowing when they will come.

Matthew is booked in for his needles after May long weekend I hope he doesn't have any reactions. So not looking forward to them.

Went to CHN the other day and mentioned Matt and his fussy feeding of late, she suggested that maybe my milk supply had dropped a little due to changes in life style. Just keep feeding every 2hrs if possible and take rasberry leaf tablets to help boost supply. All i feel like i do already is feed all day. I did try it for most of the weekend and he is a bit better not fussing as much which is good as it was driving me mental. She also mentioned at this age they can effeciantly (sp?) get what they want in 5mins if the want to.

Anyway will stop:ecomcity: now and will try to post more frequently.
Sleepy dreams to all

Cordelia
29-04-2007, 21:57
Exciting to hear about everyone's rolls and rasberries and all those other clever things!!

DH came home raving about gymbaroo yesterday - he has all these special things now that he and Caitlin do together so i think that's really nice. Honestly, I think it's a waste of money and stuff you can do at home - but if it gets DH and Caitlin some special time together - and make DH feel more involved then by all means!! still no signs of rolling (alto we've had a couple of half rolls) and she still hates tummy time but i think she's starting to improve - she went for 11 minutes without crying today and that is definitely a record!! a very intense 11 minutes trying to keep her distracted from crying!

Having a really busy term i think - I've joined MOPS - another Mums' group from church and am going to go Mother Goose on Thursdays (plus normal mothe'rs group and gymbaroo - poor Caitlin!) Caitlin's social life is so much more eventful than mine these days.

Fussy Feeding - it seems like it's the age.. maybe the change of season as well?!? Caitlin has started to improve now fortunately but i was really starting to hate to feed her. You feel so rejected when they cry in such pain and desperation feeding from you!

Anyway see you Perth ppl tomorrow! I had big plans to make some muffins but nah.... might be able to scrape up some mouldy old hot cross buns i found behind the fridge... j/k.

sugar n spice
29-04-2007, 23:10
ash is great, dribbling heaps. im lucky to have such a great bub. he is in the 90th percentile for height and just a smidge above average for weight. He will be the tallest out of all my boys. i think im going to have to get some size 0 bonds suits as the 00 arent long enough now

Charis
29-04-2007, 23:17
Just dropping in to say, eeck what a weekend..well what a Friday night. Have only just recovered :eek: Well not quite..but H was awake from 1-3.30am on Friday night and I was a complete zombie the next day. It is the only time for a long long long v long time and have know idea why! It is a difficult thing. 2Cutekidz I feel for you with yout toilet training DS..but not excellent to know we all have this to look forward to!

I hope he settles within the week like Flicka suggested.

That is so sad Flicka about Kelsey and the mirror. it would have made it so much worse, the sad face then becoming a crying face. Poor little bubby!! :crying: You feel so sad for them, don't you. Have found on occasion if I look sad or grumpy or frown or look different from normal then recently H will burst into tears. Only a few times, but enough to know not to mock pout! Oh the funniest, was coming back from a long run with his Dad (now weeks ago at Easter) my cheeks were that overexerted PINK and I had salt all over..anyhow missed him so and got back and said 'HI BEAUTIFUL HUNTER' or whatever I usually say and he just saw me but all PINK and sweaty and screamed! Poor thing.

2cutekids, are you on mini-pill, spotting is completely normal with it. Not that I'm on it, no need here :) I guess the usual if you're worried see your Doc. You can ring them also!! Free!!Or Health Direct.

Hope Katie is feeling much better Tabby. Looking forward to seeing her and you, tomorrow! 'They' list diorrhea (sp) as one of 7 possible side effects on that immunisation sheet (i'll bring tomorrow) but to see Dr or call health direct if seems severe or symptoms persist.

Well better get some shut eye too. :wave:

Tabby
29-04-2007, 23:41
Thanks for that Charis, I did a search but found nothing saying diarrhea but knew had read it somewhere , and no idea WHERE my immo sheet is atm, probably tiredness all round for us.
Have only just got Katie to sleep about half hr ago after being awake since 5 and even then that was only after a cat nap.
Another dose panadol at 8 = no success.. So cuddles till bottle and finally sleep 10.30ish. Shes all sweaty now, soaked my arm and she was all clammy & sweaty ALL over so have stripped her off, temp is now back to normal but a bad night ahead am sure..Cant sleep as dont want her to get cold but also need watch that temp..argh So shes in the pram in here and lots of foxtel and dozing for me.

Flicka
30-04-2007, 07:00
2cutekidz - thanks for the words of wisdom/encouragement. I feel better knowing i am doing the right thing. I have just been questioning myself in the middle of the night when exhausted - the wrong time of night to be rational. Thanks again and yes we are toilet training here which could be part of it all. Had a bit of a better night last night anyhow.

Tabby - so sorry about Katie. Obviously she has a temp etc but I wondered if the loose poos were actually due to the panadol??? My 2 always get loose poos when taking panadol. Hope she is feeling better soon :hugs:

Tabby
30-04-2007, 08:55
Possibly Flicka, but dont think so as last imm had 2 doses of panadol and dont recall runny poos...
Then again may have, am very very tired cant think at the mo.

Really bad night, am totally exhausted! Feels like week 1 all over again! Still a temp and poos same, speaking of such think I can smell another!

Anyhow..Sorry to say we wont be Perth meet obviously, am so disappointed as I was soooo looking forward to it and thought needles friday would allow enough time recover, how wrong was I.
Two reasons, shes ok still happy moments but come nap time shes hard to settle and very fussy at the mo
also am concerned if temp/poos not needle related we will spread whatever it is?.
ah well allways next time
Better go shes cranky again

Have fun today Perth lovlies!!!!

*Sparkles*
30-04-2007, 09:29
No rolling or raspberries here yet lol. I am going to make it my goal this week to focus on tummy time.
We do play the "poke your tongue out" game which R loves.

Tabby - :hugs: So sorry to hear about K, is she any better today? what a shame that you have to miss out on the meet aswell. Is it definitely a side effect of the needles, do you think?

We had a good night, R went down at 8.30pm and woke at 7am. I was playing around on the puter until midnight designing my BH profile. Thanks to those who have joined my network too :thumbsup:

I am having a quiet day at home today, I have heaps of housework and things to do. It's the first time I have stayed at home all day for about 2 weeks!

Looking forward to hearing about the meet today, hopefully we will see some photos this time?
We have a Melb meet this thursday so I'll take some photos this time too.

SammyG
30-04-2007, 10:06

Tabby, hope Katie gets better quickly.

Charis, hope you don't have any repeats of fri night, they are too much of a shock to the system.

Flicka, our DS's are similar in age and he is waking up crying or calling Mummy a couple of times a night. Last night it was like something out of a horror movie, his voice had an eery quality, then it turned out he was talking in his sleep. I have noticed he calls out about stuff that happened that day, he was calling for Imogen after her and her family were over for dinner. Maybe so much is happening in their world they need to process some of it at night, just like babies with feral hour!

Cordelia, I agree that you can do gymba stuff at home but it's nice to know it gets done at the same time each week and you do learn some new tricks at each lesson. DS1 still loves it!

Over here, well I did 3hrs of market research on Fri for $150 and had a ball. Mum came down and babysat. M took his EBM bottle no worries and settled for her easily. He punished me though by feeding every 2 hrs for the rest of the day (something he didn't even do as a newborn) Needless to say the milk supply has gone through the roof, while expressing from one side I hold a bottle at the other so I don't waste it.

I finally gave M his rotavirus vaccine today, it is pretty scary looking, a vial and syringe to be shaken, mixed etc. Went without a hitch straight into the cheek and promptly swallowed with lots of face pulling, it smelt vile! He will have final dose in 5wks or so!

Hope you have fun at the Perth meet today ladies, looking forward to hearing about it!

Did anyone watch the new Huggies show on Channel 7 at 9:30am this morning? I couldn't concentrate as was busy but will tune in again tomorrow.

Tabby
30-04-2007, 11:07
Hels: Yep I think it is just reactions to it, started Friday night ( needles am ) and just got worse as w.e went on. Of course am keeping a eye on it and will take gp if at all concerned but at the moment shes keeping up her fluids and still happy moments as usual, is just when shes tired, hard to settle and doesnt sleep well and is very clingy.
Shes in our bed now as always sleeps better and longer in there, so hopefully a lovely good long nap will make her feel much better. Oh and no panadol as yet today as seems temp pretty much over and only slightly up!:fingerscrossed:

cate
30-04-2007, 12:14
Hi everyone, have been so busy I haven't been on in ages...didn't even get to catch up on the thread; it's far too long.

Audrey is now rolling front to back which is the perfect way out of tummytime which she dislikes greatly. Lots of giggling and squealing but no raspberries yet.

I have finally bit the bullet after 16 weeks of persisting and stopped expressing, so she's now on formula 100% when I finish off the stocks of milk i have. It was just driving me insane expressing all the time. I feel much better now; though my boobs are going to explode!!!! Any hints on how to manage these fews days while my body adjusts?? Still no AF here which is surprising given that I haven't been fully bf since 4 weeks.

How are everyone's babies heads looking? Audrey's got a really big flat spot on the right side...we're trying to get her off it but it's really hard! Any hints?

Got to go....hope to get on more often.

Brisbane mummies don't forget 16th may is our next meet up.

Cat13
30-04-2007, 13:07
Thanks Charis & Aries_Moon, good to know C is not the only one who screams in his sleep. Scared me the first few times but like you said Aries, at least I know it means he is still asleep.

Hope Katie is feeling better Tabby and hope DS starts sleeping better at night for you soon Flicka.

Cate, C's head doesn't seem to have any flat spots (he doesn't have a favourite side) but he has developed a big bald spot on the back of his head. Makes his mohawke look even funnier! :D

aries_moon
30-04-2007, 14:01
TABBY-:hugs: for little Katie, maybe she is improving now though? sorry you couldn't make it today, but yes there will always be another one to look forward to. Also I have here the WTP cot set for you from the lovely FREDDIE! Feel free to drop in whenever to get it and have a cuppa.

Thanks mousebrown,freddie,charis and cordelia for coming today, was great to catch up and to see how these little bubs are growing/changing

Here is a photo......
from the left- Tierney, Xavier, Caitlin, Hamish and Hunter

http://i161.photobucket.com/albums/t226/kathryn_peter/P4300109.jpg

SammyG
30-04-2007, 14:12
Fantastic pic Aries, gosh you are on the ball!:thumbsup: I love seeing all the bubs together, so sorry we live in Syd, no-one over here wants to play!:no:

Strawberry_Shortcake
30-04-2007, 15:13

Tabby – I hope Kaitlyn is feeling better.

Flicka – I hope DS starts sleeping better at night for you.

Cate – Cant make the brissy meet again. Talon has a hearing appointment that day. Hoping to get to one of these meet soon.

2cutekidz – We are heading to Wagga at the end of the year. Hubby is posted there with the defence. I'll only be a couple of hours from Canberra. So you never know we could meet up somewhere.

Aries_moon – Thanks for posting a pic of the bubs. They are all cuties.

Us – :yes: we have the rolling and the raspberries here and a little chatterbox lol aswell. Received some sad news today. I picked my bestfriend to be Talon’s godmother for his christening in a couple of weeks, she rang me today and told me that she can’t make it :mad: , so now back to the drawing board. Have to find someone soon. Only 2 weeks till his christening.

Anyway he’s awake, so its play time now.

Kel

Tabby
30-04-2007, 15:31
Awww Aries , lovely pic! Wish I had been there.
Will probably come over for that chat and coffee later in week, will pm you when alls well and choose a day suits you.

Katie has improved somewhat, Temps gone so should all be up and up from now! :smiliedance:
Shes even chatting away & laughing much more like her usual self. Still a bit clingy and odd grizzle but no where near as much as up till last night.
She has had 2 good naps and probably another later, all helps am sure. Grabbed the last one with her as well, i was pooped!

Strawberry: bugger news on the late change godmother, hope you find another choice soon.

Thanks everyone for the hugs and well wishes for Katie, must have worked xxxxx

*Sparkles*
30-04-2007, 15:45
I have finally bit the bullet after 16 weeks of persisting and stopped expressing, so she's now on formula 100% when I finish off the stocks of milk i have. It was just driving me insane expressing all the time. I feel much better now; though my boobs are going to explode!!!! Any hints on how to manage these fews days while my body adjusts??

I espressed for comfort in the end and used cabbage leaves and breast pads! thankfully, it doesn't take long to dry up.

Tabby - Glad to hear K is on the mend :thumbsup:

Nice to see the perth bubbies, how about a photo of the mums aswell nest time?

Ellembee
30-04-2007, 15:59
Thanks for the words of support Cat13 and mim1. I am feeling lots better about everything now - I think I posted that last post when I was just too tired!

G's transition to the cot has now settled down. Question - how many of you have mobiles over the cot? I am in two minds about them. Should the cot just be for sleep without the playtime distraction? Or will the playtime distraction aid in sleep???? I have noticed today when I have been leaving G on her change table just before bed, she has been looking at her mobile and nodding off. So maybe a good thing????

G's routine has changed a lot the last 3 days - she is now awake for over 2 hours at a time. Before, she was ready to go down at the 90 min mark, like clockwork. Its funny how they change, isn't it???

I am going out for the first time tomorrow night. DH is coming home from work early (ie 6.30 - which is early for him) to be in charge. If she wakes up while I am out, he will have to give her a bottle of formula. She has taken one a few times. So fingers crossed!!!

tabby - glad Katie is getting better. Soooo not looking forward to the 4 month needles!

All the Perth bubs are absolutely gorgeous. Anyway, I hear G calling - so speak to you all soon.

E xx

Tabby
30-04-2007, 16:57
Thanks hels, ellembee, shes improved even more, has been on the play mat for ages quite happily!

cate: I also expressed for comfort on change to formula, just enough to relieve the tightness though.

Ellembee: Katie has a mobile but I only use it once at bed time, after that she has the side lights and ocean music to soothe to sleep.
I find she wakes to look at the mobile and talk to it even though its not moving lol.
oh and at night ive gone in to see her watching the shadows on the wall from the mobile.
Glad to hear the cot move has settled some.

oh spoke too soon, Katie calls lol

sugar n spice
30-04-2007, 17:22
that picture of the perth bubs is so cute

Flicka
30-04-2007, 18:36
Such a cute picture of the Perth bubs!! And I agree - one of the mums next time would be great - would be nice to know what you all look like.

Hels - Absolutely LOVE what you have done with your profile. You are such a computer whizz (no wonder Reece is already wearing glasses and surfing the net!!).
Tabby - Glad to hear Katie is on the improve. Hope the reaction is just a one off thing.

Has anyone elses bubs had a reaction to the 2nd lot of needles?

Sammy - Thanks also for your advice regarding DS and sleeping. Thankfully he only had a few wake ups last night so I actually feel part human again today. I know what you mean about the calling out being eerie. DS says "Muuummmyyy" in this far-off voice. It wakes me out of a deep sleep and actually sometimes scares me for a second. I was also wondering (like you) if DS is actually awake as I have just been putting him back to bed with no dramas.

Kelsey has been such a cutie at the moment. She is really tickely when I nibble on her ribs and her feet. She is trying to roll over but gets onto her side and her arm gets stuck and she gets frustrated.

Happy sleeps everyone.

Cordelia
30-04-2007, 19:24
Thanks aries for hosting the meet today :) My photos are the same so I won't bother posting them - except i have one of Hamish "falling" on Caitlin (I think he was just trying it on!) j/k

sorry you couldn't make it tabby - hope Kaitlyn is better SOON.

Fortunately Caitlin didnt' have a reaction really - just some crying with pain where the needle went.

Anyway, Hels has hyped me up to play with my Zoints profile! Fun fun :) (altho i can guarantee a cry from a special someone as soon as I start...)

victoria75
30-04-2007, 19:50
Love the picture of the Perth bubs. What happened to the mums???? Its always the way.

Tabby: Glad to hear that Katie is doing better.

Flicka: I know with DS1 he gets up at night if we let him rest during the day and he also has "dreams" if we let him watch anything to stimulating just before bed. Who would have thought Chicken Little would cause so many problems!!!!

Us we have been really lucky with the transfer from the basinet to the cot. No problems at all. I cant remember if I posted this allready but we were told to do it at night to start with b/c they are so tired its to hard to complain. we have done this with all three and the transition has been great. Just thought it might help some that are having problems.

No rolling or raspberies here, just lots of giggling and smiles.

Off for a early night :wizard: for a good nights sleep to all.

Tabby
30-04-2007, 20:47
Thanks everyone,
A big improvement since posting. Shes even gone to bed quite happily YAY.
Am now wondering if teething has also started, while feeding she cried when the spoon touched her bottom gum and as long as kept it above she was fine.. never bothered her before so maybe the temp and/or diarrhea is from that as well! The temp is still there though not as bad, shes a bit clammy/sweaty in bed at the moment.
Time will tell I spose.

Rasberries: Had only just said to DP other day how others were but Katies not but today she is starting to do it, plus has found her tounge again it seems, hanging it out the side and rubbing it around in and out lol.

Cordelia: haha yep I was all hyped up to do same re the profile but keep getting off for Katie so hopefully can do mine over the w.e

Sleep vibes to all!
:fingerscrossed: We have ours sleep pattern back as need to go out tomorrow and cant postpone, drivers license pic :eek: lol hate doing it!

2s'nuff
30-04-2007, 21:11
Great to hear Katie is doing better Tabby. Thanks for the great morning Aries.

2cute....we've got a few clothes that are wider than they are longer. Often it's the cheaper ones. I figure it doesn't really matter what bub looks like when going to bed, the extra fabric around the middle is just extra bedding.
Flicka...hope you ahve a better night tonight. DD1 often goes through nights where she's up every hour. If my brain functions correctly I give her some nurofen - seems to help settle for the rest of the night. If it continues, maybe your DS needs a dose of worm medicine? Having worms can wake kids up throughout the night.

TJ and DD1 had a great time today (DD1 didn't want to come home). TJ seems to be settling with the new formula and has had two almost normal poos, so hopefully thats a good sign that we are on the right track:fingerscrossed: .

Go to go DD1 putting on a performance about going to sleep:banghead: .

Lisa

freddie
30-04-2007, 21:25
Just a quick one as there's something on telly I want to watch...
thanks so much for today Aries. The photos are great too - Charis pointed out to me that Hunter has actually pushed Hamish into the gap in the middle (left for Katie)...:thumbsup:
Hamish had a great day meeting the bub hub bubs and then swimming class. He went straight to sleep tonight without a whisper. Hopefully he'll stay asleep after a couple of nights getting up much more than usual.
night all,
kx

Tabby
30-04-2007, 21:28
Charis pointed out to me that Hunter has actually pushed Hamish into the gap in the middle (left for Katie)...:thumbsup:

:laughing::laughing:

Tabby
30-04-2007, 23:00
Cheeki, I actually posted a bit back in the general section regards hair loss and hormones, i knew it happened but didnt realise just how much! That was about a month ago and still handfuls every day.:eek:

Katies woken twice so far :(. Asleep but grizzly, easy back to sleep but still not looking like a nice night ahead.

Lukeandmattsmum
01-05-2007, 07:29
question : Is anyone else losing lots of hair after the birth of ur babies ?? mines thinned out so much since i've had the twins much more then usual ...

Hi Cheeki,

I was just about to post the exact same question:D
I am lucky that i have really thick hair or else i would be bald at the moment. I go through a hair tie a day because that much hair gets caught in it. It is really starting to annoy me.

Matt is cracking it better go:wave:

Strawberry_Shortcake
01-05-2007, 08:30
question: Is anyone else losing lots of hair after the birth of ur babies ?

:yes: I was going to ask the same question. I get so much hair in my brush its not funny. Every day i've gotta clean out the shower drain. It always full of loose hair and :yes: it's really starting to annoy me too.

Well this date last year, was when i got my first :bfp:. Gee time flys. Tomorrow is needle day for us, so not looking forward to it. Better go have nappies to wash and hubby and I are heading out for a nice lunch at the local tavern ( buy 1 meal get 1 free)

Have a great Tuesday
Kel

Chickadee
01-05-2007, 08:44
A new thread has been started for May: http://bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=87940