View Full Version : How many day sleeps
joshiesmum
17-12-2005, 16:51
I am just wondering how many sleeps and for how long babies of about nine months should be having? My son goes to bed at about 8pm sleeps to 6.30am then bottle and straight back down until about nine. For about a month now he has been having a 2-2.5 hour sleep at about 11.30am then a catnap of about 45min at about 3.30pm. This week thought it has gone abit pear shaped he is only having 1 hour at 12 noon and wont go back untill 4pm then has only 45 mins does this mean mabey he is ready for one sleep?
18-12-2005, 01:08
What you said was your routine sounds pretty much like mine although i have noticed lately that if i keep him up now from 6am thru till around 10am he sleeps for a good 2hrs then is quite happy to have another 2hrs in the afternoon.
Id possibly try doing this as in keeping him awake a little longer so he gets not only his bottle but then his brekky a little while later then put him down but thats me & sometimes its easier said than done. Maybe he is ready to only have one nap or maybe he is just a little off this week ? i find my bubs is dreadful when teething sleep only exists as naps during the day of 20mins if im lucky & he wakes continuously through the nite screaming in pain which continues all the way through till dawn :(
Tonite is one of them :rolleyes:
Id give it this week & see how he goes as he may just fall back into his routine but otherwise maybe you will have to swap something around but do it slowly or ive found they refuse to do it heh.
My bub is 11 months and he really only has one proper nap a day (usually between 930am and 11am, sometimes slightly longer). He used to have a late afternoon nap but then he wouldn't go down at night until about 9pm. Now he doesn't nap but goes down for the night at about 8pm. I think they really only need one nap at this stage so if you're getting 2 count your blessings!;)
sugar n spice
18-12-2005, 01:50
My boy is 11mnths old and has two sleeps a day one long and one short at the end of the day. He usually wakes up and 7 and goes down at 10 - 10.30 and sleeps for about 2 hrs. He then has about half an hour - 1 hr sleep between 3-30 and 5. most of the time he is awake by 4 depending on when he goes down and then he goes down for the night at about 7 or 7.30. I sought of work on the up for three hrs and then down for a nap and so on. Once they start protesting they are starting to out grow that second sleep. My 4 yr old was still having about a 2hr sleep sometimes 3hr sleep in the arvo till he was 3 1/2.
hope this helps
joshiesmum
18-12-2005, 12:26
Thanks for the replies think ill just leave it for the moment he does seem to be cutting another tooth so mabey that is the prob! If it continues i think i will try one sleep as by the time i get him down for a late arvo sleep it means sometimes he doesnt get to bed untill about nine thanks again
kate
DH 26
me 24
DS nine months christmas day