View Full Version : Do HPTs always turn into faint BFPs after a while?

Lirael
29-03-2007, 14:47
is this just an evap line? like if I tested and it appeared as a :bfn: but i wandered off and didnt check it between 5 and 10 mins, then an hour later looked at it and it had a faint :bfp: would it just be the evap? do they all do this after a while, or do they usually stay as a :bfn: no matter the time?

Lisa C
29-03-2007, 14:52
In my experience (and i have done many hpt - LOL!) all my negatives have stayed negative. That is just my experience - i have read a lot about people getting evap lines. (And so when i got BFPs last week, i was totally paranoid that they were just evap lines!)

I have used Fortel Ultra, Fortel Extra, Confirm and First Response and i never got an evap line with any of them (and i would leave them lying around for days, just in case one of them wanted to turn positive late!! :laughing: )

Hope things turn out the way you want.

L

Mummy2my5
29-03-2007, 15:15
Some tests are proned to evap lines but I have done others that stay a negative!!!! What sort of test did you use?

Lirael
29-03-2007, 15:20
pregnow from ebay

Mrs J
29-03-2007, 15:21
I just did one then and within 3 minutes it came up a faint :bfp: im jsut praying its correct.

29-03-2007, 15:23
I just did one then and within 3 minutes it came up a faint :bfp: im jsut praying its correct.

3 minutes and you have a line? I would say that your preggers!!! :smiliedance:

Lirael
29-03-2007, 15:24

:fingerscrossed: for you

im going to do another in the mornig i didnt use FMU

oleander
29-03-2007, 15:24
I would take it as a :bfp: but go to the docs to make sure with the blood test.

Is there any chance you can go and buy a different brand of test from the supermarket and double check?

:fingerscrossed: for you!

V8
29-03-2007, 15:26
Ohh Emevity, i hope so, and same to you Mrs J :D

SorenLorensen
29-03-2007, 15:28
:fingerscrossed: for you.

i hope you are then think of all the money you were going to save for 2008, you can spen on a new bub instead

leomeo
29-03-2007, 15:33
I have been known to rummage through the rubbish bin an hour or two after testing to make doubly-sure :o and have had evap lines on Pregnow that look remarkably like a light BFP, but alas... no BFP. I get the same with the OPK's after a couple of hours - must be something about them that gives them a stronger evap line than others.

Regardless, I believe they are just as accurate as the next test - I have never had a false negative (or a false positive for that matter!) and I've been peeing on sticks for years now. God bless cheap HPT/OPK's! :thumbsup:

I'd check again in the morning with your FMU... if it's within the timeframe, even if it's light, you're probably looking at a BFP. :fingerscrossed: you get the result you're looking for!

Femme la Phoenix
29-03-2007, 16:10
for comparison sake, I've still got the test I did at the doctor's to confirm I was pregnant with DS and that is nearly 12 years old now....it hasn't faded one bit since then!!

I've done the weirdest things with current testing POAS...I've re-used them lol just to make certain
I've gotten DP to use them, just to make sure that they do do what they say they will....I've used morning, noon and night urine and even kept it in the fridge for 12 hours just to see if it would make a difference.........................I haven't gotten the dogs or kittens to use them, yet.....nope don't think I'd try that...but alas it still hasn't worked :p

melbryan
29-03-2007, 16:36
That is so funny:laughing: :laughing:

29-03-2007, 16:42
Each time I got a bfn it was always a bfn. When i got my bfp it took about 8 mins to come up and it was only very faint.
Good luck and good luck to you Mrs J

HelenHasTwins
29-03-2007, 16:57
:fingerscrossed: for you

im going to do another in the mornig i didnt use FMU

Hi Emevity.....I am a bit confused:confused:
Didn't you have a thread the other day about how you are going to TTC in 2008 with a donor?

Lirael
30-03-2007, 10:49
yep but i was seeing someone a little while ago...

marcelsmum
30-03-2007, 11:21
So did you test again?

Tell us all

Lirael
30-03-2007, 11:24
same thing as yesterday. really faint BFP. might just be a fluke or something. i didnt get BFPs til 6 weeks with my other two, and i would only be about 4 weeks if I was..

AF is showing no signs, and I even did 2 step classes(she always turns up in the middle of them)

singa06
30-03-2007, 11:26
I had two evap lines after 40-60 minutes with Crystal Clear. This was two months ago.

kimbo
30-03-2007, 11:28
I have had this happen and I was pregnant.

It was Friday & AF was 6 days late, I thought I would test because if I wasn't pregnant I would have a few drinks over the weekend. It came up negative. I just put it in the box and then forgot about it.

On Sunday night I was still not feeling myself and got the test back out and there was a second line. I thought maybe it was because too much time had elapsed but no definate :bfp:

All the best. :)

V8
30-03-2007, 11:29
same thing as yesterday. really faint BFP. might just be a fluke or something. i didnt get BFPs til 6 weeks with my other two, and i would only be about 4 weeks if I was..

AF is showing no signs, and I even did 2 step classes(she always turns up in the middle of them)

I'd be going to the doc, how late are you? Sounds like it could be... a BFP!

tickle
30-03-2007, 11:38
My experience with pregnow tests is mixed. They work very well to pick up BFP's, but if I have a BFN I always get an evap line after the test time. I'm pretty sure almost all of my BFN have done it.
I've got my fingers crossed for you though. Did you get this latest BFP within the test time?

Lirael
30-03-2007, 11:44
yeah after about 8 mins, is that within?
AF is 9 days late but i reckon its more a case of my body playing games :(
I usually get preg symptoms when AF is coming and I have none...(i didnt get actual preg symptoms when preg til about 8 weeks+)

Ashleigh<3
30-03-2007, 11:45
:hugs: I am over 5 weeks late, mine usually comes every 23 days! Lasting for 7-10 days!

I am still waiting, tests are all negative.

With Chloe it tooke me 6.5 weeks to get a positive test!

Lirael
30-03-2007, 11:47
Ash, 5 weeks late means you would be 9 weeks pregnant!!!! that 6.5 weeks, was that after AF was late?

sniper wolf
30-03-2007, 11:48
i used pregnow recently

twice got BFNs - and stayed that way

foretl ultra - with this i got BFNs within the time, then came back a few mins later and there was a very faint line. later in the week i got a BFP with another test.

so in my experience - no, all BFNs stayed BFNs

30-03-2007, 12:03
i only get faint lines with chemical pg, i concieve alot, just dont stick. they didnt get darker either....

Lirael
30-03-2007, 12:04
whats a chemical preg??

marcelsmum
30-03-2007, 12:17
yeah after about 8 mins, is that within?
AF is 9 days late but i reckon its more a case of my body playing games :(
I usually get preg symptoms when AF is coming and I have none...(i didnt get actual preg symptoms when preg til about 8 weeks+)

I thought if they appeared within 10 mins it is a positive....

Go and get a BD...

Do you want to be PG?

Lirael
30-03-2007, 12:21
um, yes and no.... If I am obviously the father will have something to say. I would love to be pregnant to be honest, im just not sure he would be happy about it..going to see doc next week, so if AF does not turn up Ill ask for a blood test.

marcelsmum
30-03-2007, 12:30
Hmm I hear you, I felt the same when I found out I was PG with DS. DP and I had split up at the time and the mixed emotions are very hard..

On one hand I was terrified of what he would say on the other I was ecstatic as I was going to have a gorgeous bub..

:hugs: to you,

You are obviously a strong woman. but if you need someone to talk to.... I'm here

iluvmeboyz
30-03-2007, 12:40
i hope for the best i hope you get the results you want

Lirael
31-03-2007, 07:15
another faint :bfp:

I had a dream last night I tested and it came up dark straightaway.. i was so happy.

if AF doesnt get here by monday im going to the docs and will get different brands of tests, i used my last one today:o

I hate testing...it gets me worked up, Im really wanting a :bfp: now, and I know Ill be sad if its neg.

if its meant ot happen it will.:)

tickle
31-03-2007, 07:58
Wow! 8 minutes is within the time frame too! Congratulations.:D

Mrs J
31-03-2007, 13:06
hey darl get a clearblue digital it will cleary tell you. Oh and it turns out i am pregnant im 4 weeks so still very very early. Good Luck for you :wizard: This is my test the morning of AF due http://i144.photobucket.com/albums/r187/ash_n_tim/LJ/pregtest.jpg , the day before that was fainter i couldn't get it to show in the picture but i didnt have to tilt it etc to see it, it was there IYKWIM ? aslong as they come up in the time frame they are usually right.

Lirael
31-03-2007, 13:14
i used the bubhub calculator and it said I would be 5 weeks...

congrats on yur BFP hun :hugs:

Mrs J
31-03-2007, 13:19
thanks, with my DD i didnt show a faint BFP till i was a week late and i was 5 weeks so there is hope. Go and get a digital one :fingerscrossed: and like i said with mine all the BFP cannot be wrong. Oh and i still can't get a BFP with Pregnow even with FMU. but all the others show up instantly i think they can take a while.

Lirael
31-03-2007, 13:23
im gonna try other brands on monday, i dont get paid til then. weird that you dont get anything on the pregnows though.

I am finding myself REALLY wanting this to be it for me KWIM?

Mrs J
31-03-2007, 13:33
yeh i understand where your comming from. If you have msn add me ashlea_tim_jackson@hotmail.com if you wanna chat.

plumptobump
01-04-2007, 08:40
emevity, with 3 bfps, I would start to think pregnant. I have had lines show up after the time frame and they were BFNs, BUT, thats not the norm. With the pregnows though, I THINK the instructions say not to read it after 5 mins? I cant remember as Ive been taking those and lullabyconceptions ones and I know the lullabyconceptions ones say dont read after 5 mins, so I could be mistaken. I have gotten ONE false + with the pregnow, but certainly not 3! Also, I have read that those who get BFPs on the Pregnows tend to only get a faint line for a long time, when other tests are quite dark. I would get another test - First Response or the Clearblue Digital. Course, you could always get a free bt as well! :) Keep us updated!!!

Lirael
01-04-2007, 11:39
no AF yet. no sign at all. going to get tests tomorrow. I cant use FMU cos I will pee myself before i get home lol(no car so gotta walk)

unless i go at the chemist :laughing:

gosh I really hope its a BFP for me

Mrs J
01-04-2007, 12:14
Hey darl i finally got a faint BFP 3 days after AF is due with a pregnow:laughing: all the rest showed up a day before AF. So i would deff try another brand, im playing for you and i have everything :fingerscrossed:

Ashleigh<3
01-04-2007, 12:25
no AF yet. no sign at all. going to get tests tomorrow. I cant use FMU cos I will pee myself before i get home lol(no car so gotta walk)

unless i go at the chemist :laughing:

gosh I really hope its a BFP for me

I hope so tooo!!!

Lirael
01-04-2007, 12:29
for you or me? lol both hey? :D

Lirael
02-04-2007, 08:40
well, two :bfn:s on confirm and crystal clear didnt use FMU.

gonna test again FMU wednesday morning got a crystal clear and first response left...

i feel funny to be honest. no AF or any signs of her. I so want this :bfp: its really been growing on me:(

luckymama
02-04-2007, 08:43
confirm are very sensitive tests, i got BFP on them without FMU at 10 DPO.
Goodluck though :fingerscrossed:

Lirael
02-04-2007, 08:45
dont tell me that!!! i cant believe how much I actually want this...

i didnt wee on either stick BTW i used a cup, cos im useless at aiming lol could that have affected it?

luckymama
02-04-2007, 08:47
no it shouldnt have, thats what i did too, always, i never actually POAS :no:
What test brand did you get your first BFP on?

Maybe you should just go for a BT, that will be much easier on you, and you wont have to wonder anymore :fingerscrossed: you get your BFP

Pebbles
02-04-2007, 09:06
Hehe, just had to pop in here and say that I never actually POAS either! I used to pee in a cup and dip the stick into it. DH used to think it was gross seeing the cup full of urine every time I tested! But I was useless at aiming too! Anyways when I got my 2 BFP's it was done that way so no it shouldnt have affected it at all. :D
Good Luck Emevity!

Lirael
02-04-2007, 09:12
thanks. I think its gonna be a BFN... going to get blood forms this arvo so i should know by tomorrow arvo hopefully. what the heck is going on with AF?

and why on earth do I want this so bad?

SorenLorensen
02-04-2007, 09:13
i did a confirm for my last preg at the start of feb well i did about 6 tests :o (lets just say i new from the start something was wrong and kept on testing)

i did 2 of a different brand BFP
did 2 confirms :bfn:
then 2 more yet another brand :bfp:

and i was about a week late so they did not work for me this time

got my :fingerscrossed: for you

p.s yes i was pregnant

Lirael
02-04-2007, 09:17
i went to 3 diff chemists, and IGA noone had the digitals so i got 2 crystal clears a first response and a confirm. when i go to docs this arvo i will get him to do one as well as bloods.
I think this is really taking over me. i have wanted bub#3 for so long now and I feel like it will NEVER happen.

oleander
05-04-2007, 00:20
Any news yet?:)

Ashleigh<3
05-04-2007, 01:00
i went to 3 diff chemists, and IGA noone had the digitals so i got 2 crystal clears a first response and a confirm. when i go to docs this arvo i will get him to do one as well as bloods.
I think this is really taking over me. i have wanted bub#3 for so long now and I feel like it will NEVER happen.

:hugs: This may be it hun, if it isn't, I know how hard it will be for you to grasp it but I know you know there will be other opportunities, you are so wonderful.:hugs:

Keep us all updated beautiful!

Lirael
05-04-2007, 11:17
the doctor said its a m/c.
they did more bloods today, will know by 230 ish.
then a scan to see if I need a D&C
still no bleeding, had cramping last night.

shonie
05-04-2007, 11:22
ohhhh sweetie!! i'm so sorry :hugs:
God is horrible sometimes!!
keep your chin up hun, it WILL get better, i promise :yes: and you will have your :bfp: before you know it!!

Thinking of you!

Shona xxxooo

Lirael
05-04-2007, 13:27
they didnt tell me the levels. just said test again in two weeks....
the nurse told me to just wait to bleed. :(

shonie
05-04-2007, 13:33
Lots and Lots and Lots of :hugs: for you!!!

Go and run yourself a nice bath with lots of bubbles and a bottle of wine, it always cheers me up :( I hope it helps you a little bit too even though your probably feeling like nothing could help right now...

Just remember we're thinking of you ok :hugs:

Shona xxxooo

Lirael
05-04-2007, 13:42
thank you Shona, and everyone else :hugs: the ex has taken the kids for tonight. at least i can have some time to myself.

V8
05-04-2007, 13:44
I'm sorry emevity, is there really no hope? I'll be thinking of you and praying it all turns out positive, if that's possible.

:hugs: :hugs:

Lirael
05-04-2007, 13:49
I dont know. its a waiting game. unless i bleed really heavy etc and go to the emergency they wont do a scan. she said it was probably small enough that i wont need a D&C.

V8
05-04-2007, 13:55
:( :( :( Sorry hun...

scorpio83
05-04-2007, 14:30
they didnt tell me the levels. just said test again in two weeks....

If you had a m/c why would you need to test again in 2 weeks? Sorry, I don't mean to upset you, but it seems kinda strange......

Lirael
05-04-2007, 14:39
i dont know. there is no bleeding yet. she said it can take a while. she said I would have been pregnant but had an early miscarriage. im confused myself. she said she has seen women who think they are pregnant, go for a scan at 18 weeks and there is only a 5 week sac.
she said I just have to wait.
the lab actually said to test again in two weeks, the doctor said just wait to bleed. I am really really not understanding this

Lirael
05-04-2007, 14:43
i keep thinking maybe the levels were low, and they dont want me to get my hopes up... i feel like i am being kept in the dark

scorpio83
05-04-2007, 14:45
Hopefully things turn out well. Who know, there might be a chance yet. You should pamper youself while you've got a night alone and have a good cry if you need to. That always helps. and good luck.

scorpio83
05-04-2007, 14:46
i keep thinking maybe the levels were low, and they dont want me to get my hopes up... i feel like i am being kept in the dark
Maybe they can't give you an answer either way.....

Lirael
05-04-2007, 14:49
but why? I dont understand. its a yes or no isnt it?

V8
05-04-2007, 14:57
Did you do any more HPT's did they come up neg or pos?

Lirael
05-04-2007, 14:59
negative this morning

scorpio83
05-04-2007, 15:01
Maybe cos the levels are low....they should be at a certain level for pregnancy shouldn't they? I'm not sure, cos I only have one child but the hormones are supposed to increase during pregnancy right? if they are low, it might mean you were pregnant but you've had a m/c or it might mean you are so early on that the levels are still too low to determine if the pregnancy is viable.....like I said though, i'm no expert.

Lirael
05-04-2007, 15:03
maybe. thanks scorpio, that actually makes sense. I dont know about this, with my two kids it was just, BFP, then be pregnant and have baby. KWIM? I dont feel pregnant. and they were faint BFPs. thats why I kept testing. with DD and DS they were dark lines straight away.

scorpio83
05-04-2007, 15:07
some people don't get BFP's til like 8 weeks and such. I guess those people have low levels of hormone in the first few weeks, but are indeed pregnant. You'll know either way soon enough, but waiting always sux!

scorpio83
05-04-2007, 15:09
what do you feel? I know when I was pregnant, I could tell, but kept getting BFN....sure enough I was BFP, just took a while to get a positive result. Usually, you'll know, cos you know your body best.

scorpio83
05-04-2007, 15:10
ok, you've already answered this...sorry!

Lirael
05-04-2007, 15:10
thats just it I dont feel anything, except something is not right.

scorpio83
05-04-2007, 15:12
don't wanna freak you out, but if you are pregnant and it doesn't feel right, I'd be getting checked for an eptopic (sp?) pregnancy.....

Lirael
05-04-2007, 15:18
ok yeh that freaks me out. I asked for a scan but she said wait. i guess unless i am in alot of pain or bleeding really heavy(as i said before) they wont do a scan. all the clinics are booked 2 weeks ahead. or I could go sit up at the hospital for a few hours

scorpio83
05-04-2007, 15:34
You'd think they'd just do it! Doctors for ya! Like I said, don't freak out....it could be nothing. Just you said you had bad cramping and nausea.....mind you, that probably occurs during m/c and you did say the test was BFN this morning. Just would hate for this to be a worst case scenario and for you to have difficulty in having bub #3 in the future! Good luck anyway, and hope you get some answers soon. :hugs:

Jeez, I sound like such a negative nancy in these posts!:thumbsdown:

Lirael
06-04-2007, 16:01
nothing today. no cramps no bleeding nothing.
had some cramping last night though.

06-04-2007, 16:12
whats a chemical preg??

well i just read through... its when the egg is fertilized, but doesnt implant... early mc.... i hope there wrong:fingerscrossed:

Lirael
07-04-2007, 11:32
hi everyone, I just wanted to thank you all for coming in here and being so supportive :hugs: and I wanted to let you know I started bleeding today, its very painful and well, Im not going into details but I know its over now. :crying: