View Full Version : Late 20s thread

kiah
28-03-2007, 16:01
Helloooooooooooooooooooo. Is anyone out there? I'm in my late twenties....anyone else????

It's worth a shot, late 20s can't be all extinct...surely not:detective:

kiah
28-03-2007, 16:13
I guess late 20s people are extinct:crying: . I must be the last.:cool:

mytwolilprinces
28-03-2007, 16:15
I only just scrape in - I'll be 30 in 3 weeks :eek:

perrywinkle
28-03-2007, 16:16
G'day I'm definately in my late 20's! 10 mths and I'll be in the 30's!!!

twistwantsabub
28-03-2007, 16:25
Hi there.... i'm 26, will be 27 in june, so i'm heading towards late 20's i guess.... sounds strange when i feel like i was just 21 a year ago. Gee time goes fast when you're having fun.

I'm pregnant with my first bub, am 7 weeks... it still feels weird to say "I'm Pregnant", but i love saying it.

Would love to get to know you lvely ladies and share our experiences,

Krissy

kiah
28-03-2007, 16:31
Welcome!!!! I thought i was the last...hehehe...we do exist!!!:idea:

Beany
28-03-2007, 16:31
28 in July ... and then running for 30 at a dead sprint, it seems.

Where did my youth go?! :crying:

mum2my4
28-03-2007, 16:33
Hi:wave:

I'm 28 turning 29 in a few weeks:eek: and in bad denial that 30 is just around the corner

kiah
28-03-2007, 16:34
Welcome!!!! I thought i was the last...hehehe...we do exist!!!:idea:

RedPanda
28-03-2007, 16:35
I'm 28, but I feel 21 :smiliedance:

mum2my4
28-03-2007, 16:45
I feel about 25

Mummita
28-03-2007, 16:45
yep 27 here too. when i turned 27 i had several people tell me that 27 was the best year of their life. Am feeling a little pressure to make it the 'best' but so far it has been nice (touch wood!)

the_queen
28-03-2007, 16:55
I turn 28 very soon.
I feel about 16! Emotionally I mean :rolleyes: Physically I feel about 80 :laughing:

allengirl4
28-03-2007, 16:58
Can't have you feeling like you're the last of a species can we!

I am just going to scrape into the Late 20's - 30 in August (ahhh eeek eekk!):mad:

I don't feel anything like 30 though - more like 24.

Becteria
28-03-2007, 17:32
I had never thought of myself as late 20s till i read this thread!

I am also 27!

Argh!!!!

mum33
28-03-2007, 17:43
gosh, when do you become late twenties???

i will be 26 in december.....*groan*

mum2peanut
28-03-2007, 19:14
I'm part of this group for a couple more monthsm then I'm the big 3 0 :eek:

JumpingBean
28-03-2007, 19:19
I'm 29 next month, so I'm in! Don't wanna leave the 20's tho next year!!!!

mz sv6
28-03-2007, 19:21
i just turn 27 years old about a month ago

oleander
29-03-2007, 00:03
I turned 28 last December.

I feel that I have wasted my 20's and could have done more.

So that's why I'm doing something about it now and am quite happy with my life at the moment. Having my DD has made me wake up to reality. How can I not be happy looking at her precious little smile everyday:)

Ekoorb
29-03-2007, 07:13
Im 26, but I fell so much younger. Helps that I look young though. In the last few weeks Ive been mistaken for a 16 year old. Some one at the shops even asked if I was my sons sister:laughing: :laughing:

she_rambles
29-03-2007, 08:28
I'm 25 ... so kinda pushing towards late 20s! I haven't found anyone else that's 25 here, it's wigging me out!

I'd love to talk with other women in their mid-to-late 20s. I'm the only person out of my friends with a baby (he came as a lovely surprise and gets spoilt rotten by everyone, which is great and I love how supportive my friends have been, but...) so I think a lot of them don't really understand a lot of the things I'm going through. I feel like I've just left the workforce right when I was really about to get into the swing of it, and I also sort of feel like I'm missing out on some really formative years as far as working goes. Do any other stay at home mums here worry what it's going to be like trying to go back to work in a couple of years time?

I'm a single mum and lucky that my parents are willing to help me out, and I want to stay at home with my son to give him as much love and attention as I can (feel like I have to make up for the fact that he doesn't have a father ... plus I just love being with him :D) for at least three years ... but I'm terrified I won't be able to get a decent job at the end of this!

kiah
29-03-2007, 10:59
Hooray, the thread has grown! There are heaps of us late 20 somethings! Cool. Well I'm gonna keep coming back and checking on this thread and seeing who hangs about.

I luv being in my late 20s and am looking forward to my thirties. Never thought i would say that.

I feel like i have learnt alot and feel good about my bod and mind. I've gotten to the stage where i feel like I'm sorting myself out. I've finally grown up (a bit) hehehe:fingerscrossed:

Beany
29-03-2007, 11:08
While part of me is sad about the idea of losing my youth, most of me is really looking forward to being old. I don't mean 30, I mean old. White hair, woolly cardigans, always sucking on a boiled sweetie old.

I can't wait to be a grandmother and mortify my child/ren/ren grandchild/ren/ren.

Scratch that, I can wait. For at least 25 years. You hear that kid? No nothin' for a quarter of a century!

jordy&steph'smumma
29-03-2007, 20:50
I'm a late 20's too.
I will be 29 in July yipe!!! I always give dh **** about being nearly 30 (dec this year) but really I'm not that far behind.:yes:

I don't really feel old I mean when I'm mucking around with the kids and playing the xbox I can feel like a 12 year old (or should I say I may act like one):laughing:

Kylie

Mum2Bug
29-03-2007, 21:04
I'm 27 (28 in may):eek:

Noooooo im getting old:( :D

mum33
29-03-2007, 21:04
I'm 25 ... so kinda pushing towards late 20s! I haven't found anyone else that's 25 here, it's wigging me out!

me!! you missed me!! i posted earlier in this thread... i am 25 :D

~rambox~
29-03-2007, 21:05
I fit in here for a few more months i am 29 til october :(

mumofcaleb
29-03-2007, 21:05
I'll be 27 in June :smiliedance:

vanillabean
29-03-2007, 21:06
Oh Dear! I am in my early 30's. 31 actually. I really feel like I am getting old now, especially since I turned 30. Where has the time gone, it only feels like yesterday that I was still at school/uni:eek:

kiah
29-03-2007, 21:07
I am older, a tiny bit wiser and a hell of a lot more gorgeouser...is that even a word. Thank God for age. I like myslef alot better as i get older. and i like that peeps have joined the thread!

Laksa
29-03-2007, 21:11
i'm another one turning 30 this year (1977 was a good year, huh?)
i have enjoyed my late 20s. why? i'm finally secure financially, i've finished my degree and have a job i love (tho i love maternity leave more), we've got a great house, i'm a newlywed with a newborn - its all good!

MyFab4
29-03-2007, 21:13
Another almost 30 here. I'll be 30 in July.:eek:

~rambox~
29-03-2007, 21:15
There is a few of us 77 babies here :smiliedance:

merlottes
29-03-2007, 21:22
Hi Ladies.
I hope it ok if i join in here. I've just turned 29 not that i feel it :laughing:

~rambox~
29-03-2007, 21:25
Hello Mel I am Bec :wave:

she_rambles
29-03-2007, 21:31
me!! you missed me!! i posted earlier in this thread... i am 25 :D

Yay!!!

Someone responded to one of my comments today (she's still at school I think ... well she's a teen), and said something like "You're that lady who...". I was like, yes, I am that female ... wah! Lady?! She made me feel so old!!!

mum33
30-03-2007, 05:35
Yay!!!

Someone responded to one of my comments today (she's still at school I think ... well she's a teen), and said something like "You're that lady who...". I was like, yes, I am that female ... wah! Lady?! She made me feel so old!!!

haha!! dont worry about it...i call myself lady sometimes too.... i think i am just used to it coz when out shopping i get lady from other mothers and kids.....does make me feel kinda old though, especially when i look younger than i actually am.:D

Feral
30-03-2007, 09:24
G'day everyone I m 28 and preg with my first,
It feels strange to be starting at this age like so many have theirs in early 20s and I felt like I was getting old and barren and pushing 30, also a lot of women wait alot longer still anyway I always said at about 28 I will have a baby and unexpectedly just after my birthday surprise, wishful thinking. I feel I will have more life experience and maturity to give my child at this age, how many others are having their first in late 20s? and how do you feel about it

mom2jake
30-03-2007, 09:32
Hello...I'm 27, turning 28 in May:thumbsup: and having our first baby in August...:yelclap:

I've always wanted to be a young mum, but I can honestly say I am finally ready...I'm with the man I want to spend the rest of my life with and we're ready (although it was a complete surprise) to have a baby...

she_rambles
30-03-2007, 10:01
G'day everyone I m 28 and preg with my first,
It feels strange to be starting at this age like so many have theirs in early 20s and I felt like I was getting old and barren and pushing 30, also a lot of women wait alot longer still anyway I always said at about 28 I will have a baby and unexpectedly just after my birthday surprise, wishful thinking. I feel I will have more life experience and maturity to give my child at this age, how many others are having their first in late 20s? and how do you feel about it

I'd actually always said that if I had kids, it wouldn't be til I was in my thirties. Preferably married, halfway through paying off a house, and having paid off any other major loans (HECS, car, etc).

But then I fell pregnant about 11 days before my 24th birthday, while I was working overseas, being an all round party animal, and just generally being as irresponsible* and independent as I could be. In other words, just enjoying being young and with no immediate plans to settle down!

Once I knew I was pregnant that obviously all stopped, and now I'm 25, back in Aus, single and a stay at home mum. Not exactly what I'd ever wanted or planned.

I love my son and I'll do anything for him, but my biggest concern is how I'm going to go about getting back into the workforce. I want to wait until bub is at least 3 years old, possibly older, but I've never worked in Australia and I'm just worried that by the time I'm ready to start working again, I'll be considered unemployable.

Minke
30-03-2007, 10:15
Another one here - 27 (and refusing to turn 28 :p ).

Funny you started this Kiah - was thinking about it last night - does anyone else think they are now too old for certain things??? I feel strange walking into surf shops - most of the customers are half my age :eek:... (and they all give you that look of your too ancient to be in here unless you're buying for your kids) But I have always been a nth qlder and love my surfie shirts, thongs and shorts... Even the music I listen to... Am i just growing old ungracefully??? ;)

Really not looking forward to turning 30 - will have to become all growd up and mature :laughing:

Beany
30-03-2007, 11:13
Oh people look at me funny when I walk into those shops for a whole different reason, I'm sure. After all, they don't stock Billabigbum ...

Sometimes I do feel too old to do something. Like dye my hair purple. But to be honest, I think that's less because of my age and more because I have a baby now. Funny how it's changed bits of me.

Minke
30-03-2007, 11:18
I took my nose ring out for that reason - I am a mummy now and have to be respectable looking (well that's what my mother/DH says... :rolleyes: )

Billabigbum :laughing: :laughing: - maybe you could suggest that to Billabong???

Don't even look at the shorts/jeans in surf shops - they don't quite cater for that expanded hip/baby belly thing :D (but i still love the tees)

iluvmeboyz
30-03-2007, 12:26
im 26 so im heading that way to late 20s

polony
30-03-2007, 12:36
I turned 27 at the beginning of January.

I am actually quite enjoying this age as I am not considered too young or too old, plus people don't believe me when I tell them I am 27. Most think I am 22. Yep, I like this age!

mum2my4
31-03-2007, 07:24
So, what did everyone want to do when they grew up and are you doing that now?

I never knew what kind of career I wanted, I always wanted 4 kids and here I am with my 4 kids.

Are you where you thought you'd be by this age?

I kind of am.

iluvmeboyz
31-03-2007, 07:34
when i was grwing up i wanted to be a hairdresser or a air hostie

but im happy where i am with me job and family

mum2my4
31-03-2007, 07:42
but im happy where i am with me job and family

That's great to hear

she_rambles
31-03-2007, 08:48
That's a great question!

I always wanted to be a historian or something academic, and figured if I had kids at all, it wouldn't be til I was in my 30s. I made it to postgrad studies and had a position on a research team lined up in Perth (I'm in Adelaide) for my PhD, but I missed out on a scholarship and wouldn't have been able to support myself in Perth without that financial support so I couldn't do it. I moved to Japan instead and worked as an English teacher for two and a half years, I only came back to Aus when I was six/seven months pregnant.

I've been back in Aus for less than a year ... I love my boy and wouldn't change that I have him, but sometimes it does bother me that I missed out on that chance to follow my dream just because of something like money. Particularly as yesterday I found out that I probably could have done it, but for a glitch on the university's computers which meant some documents were sent to me four years later than they should have been!!

caz
31-03-2007, 09:06

I've only just found this thread, I didn't realise it existed. I turn 28 in August so i'm definitely Late 20s :o

I honestly don't feel like i'm 27, I feel more like i'm 22 - 23

I little about me. I'm a SAHM to DS who is 19 months and I love being at home with him, watching him grow.

As to what did I want to be when I grew up..... a teacher or a hairdresser

iluvmeboyz
31-03-2007, 09:17
That's great to hear

yeah well its better then it was b4

Beany
31-03-2007, 10:18
My dreams when I was younger changed with my underpants :laughing:

I wanted to be a doctor. Then a teacher. Then a lawyer. Then a psychologist. Then a journalist. Then a computer programmer. Then back to journalism ...

I completed a degree majoring in media and communications and decided that what I wanted to do was be an academic. I'm on that path now, halfway through a masters degree in English Literature and with plans to do a PhD once that is done.

That's the plan. But, as they say, life happens when you're busy making plans. I had a little surprise baby and who knows what that will mean in the grand scheme of things.

Minke
31-03-2007, 16:12
I was always going to do law, from about 8 years old... Actually went to uni and started, deferred after the first year (had to move back home) and then a big belly appeared :D. I don't want to go back, but i guess that's okay cause i'm still not a growd up... :p

Pebbles
31-03-2007, 16:15
Hi I am in my late 20's. I will be 28 in May.
I have a 6 year old son and I am expecting my second bub in Oct.

blueangel
31-03-2007, 16:34

I am just a few weeks away from my 28th Birthday :eek: I can't believe I am nearly 30!!!!

A short run down of ME:

Got married when I was 18,finished my teaching degree, pregnant at 22 and my husband and I seperated when I was 6 months preggy. Was a single mummy to my DS for a while til I met my new DP .................. and we now have a 6 month old and are getting married in 14 days :smiliedance:

Life is great for me now, I am extremely happy and living life just how I always wanted I feel as though I have really grown into the person I am today and have no real regrets.

Late twenties is a GREAT time of life

Refresh
31-03-2007, 21:53
Hey...count me in!! Rapidly heading out of the 20's though:eek: 10 months until I'm 30:wave:

iluvmeboyz
01-04-2007, 10:00
im dredding the big 30 thats scary

kellieanne08
02-04-2007, 08:38
How are you all?. Nice to meet everyone.
I'm due to hit 29 this year.... Not far away from the big scary 30!!.
It's funny how things change isn't it?. What I wanted to do when I grew up (nurse) and what I ended up doing (management for optus) and now I am a SAHM of one, Liam, 11 months. I love it!!!
Wouldn't change it for anything.

Zeal
02-04-2007, 08:54
Hi to all the other late twenty somethings!!

I'm 27 and will be 28 in July. I feel more comfortable within myself than I did 10 years ago, which is great. I admire those who age gracefully (i.e those aged 50 and above).

iluvmeboyz
02-04-2007, 10:33
so whats everyone up to today?

wel im working and cleaning and having luch soon hope use ladies have a nice day

mum2my4
02-04-2007, 10:53
I am doing general housework and caring for my three bubba's who have chickenpox.

Zeal
02-04-2007, 11:00
Study, cleaning, shopping, playing with DD.

merlottes
02-04-2007, 11:04
Housework then off to do some shopping.

she_rambles
02-04-2007, 11:04
I've just put my 6month son to bed, and at the moment I'm trying to study/complete an assignment for my journalism course ... but largely procrastinating by cruising the bubhub forums. :P

caz
02-04-2007, 12:06
I've just finished watching the wrestling :o Now i'm waiting on DS to wake up so we can buy easter presents :D

10-04-2007, 07:36
:laughing: its funny reading this thread..lost youth:D
im 26...not 27 till december.....
why is 30 so scary..... are you still allowed to wear skate shoes and cargo pants at 30....and tank tops...

kiah
10-04-2007, 07:44
:laughing: its funny reading this thread..lost youth:D
im 26...not 27 till december.....
why is 30 so scary..... are you still allowed to wear skate shoes and cargo pants at 30....and tank tops...

I hope so coz otherwise I'm in a bit of trub.:D

And I hope bikinis and glitter sunscreen are still permitted:detective:

10-04-2007, 07:55
I hope so coz otherwise I'm in a bit of trub.:D

And I hope bikinis and glitter sunscreen are still permitted:detective:

oh yeah, and silver or black nail polish.... and glitter eye make up...and lip gloss:laughing:

blessedmummy
10-04-2007, 12:52
hey all, im 25, will be 26 on the 26thmay....hope i can join in too....:D

joshiesmum
10-04-2007, 13:41
hey all im 25 turning 26 on the 14th May hope i can join in too! cant believe i am now in my late twenties in saying that i still get offened when i am asked for ID at shops! and when my mum gets mistaken for my sons mother!:laughing: OK maybe i will start to like that!

Me 25
DH 28
DS Josh Terrrible 2 :devil6:
TTC#2 Jan 07

10-04-2007, 15:06
we can all console each other on our birthdays:laughing:

Beany
10-04-2007, 16:23
Will the consolation involve chocolate? If so, I'm in!

11-04-2007, 05:27
Will the consolation involve chocolate? If so, I'm in!

yeah of course, but seeing were old, it would probably have to contain fruit and nuts:D

Becteria
11-04-2007, 06:43
And be of the dark variety!

Ha ha ha ha

I still wear hair clips, and piggy tails. And of course you can wear skate shoes and cargoes BJ! I have seen REEEEEEEEALLY OLD people in skate shoes...................

They are the comfiest shoes in the world. (Plus my BIL keeps us all in really good supply - my daughter had the smallest pair of DC's ever. Hee hee hee)

Beany
11-04-2007, 10:15
Gosh, I must be old before my time - I lurve dark chocolate. That new Club Mild and Creamy Dark chocolate is just heavenly!

:o what are skate shoes?

11-04-2007, 11:40
:o what are skate shoes?

are you serious:eek:
http://www.dogfunk.com/dogfunk/group/100000099/s40/c12/Womens-Skate-Shoes.html?id=o4yPnFVM
feels like your walking on air

Beany
11-04-2007, 11:45
Ah THOSE things. I didn't realise they had a name.

They aren't dissimilar to the Sketchers I bought earlier on in the year. Maybe I'm all trendy after all!

11-04-2007, 11:58
i love sketchers:D

Beany
11-04-2007, 12:07
You realise, of course, Sketchers are going to be this generation's version of Hush Puppies. Our kids will mock our height of fashion shoes ...

Stupid kids.

Tut tut.

Becteria
11-04-2007, 12:11
I dont think skechers where ever trendy - britney spears was their model!

hee he ehee

Beany
11-04-2007, 12:14
You mean they took pictures of her below the infamous camel-toe?

Becteria
11-04-2007, 12:25
Yeah it was around the Hit me Baby one More time stage so she was still playing the innocent virgin card! They followed with lawsuits and Britneys Mate Christina Aguilera took over.

How sad am i for know ing this ****!

http://www.epinions.com/kifm-Toys-All-Skechers_Britney_Spears_4-Wheelers_-_Size_2

jolennie
11-04-2007, 12:33
Hehe,
Hi I'm 27, turning 28 in Dec.
Feel 55 atm!!! Damn morning sickness :no:
Bubby Due October 2007
Jo :wave:

11-04-2007, 12:51
Yeah it was around the Hit me Baby one More time stage so she was still playing the innocent virgin card!

its ok, she's a skank like us :D

kiah
11-04-2007, 12:55

cool im in:thumbsup:

mum2my4
11-04-2007, 13:08
speaking of shoes, if you are truly in your late 20's you may remember Reebok Pumps, the tongue had a little ball in it that you could pump up, Nike Air Max's when they first came out with the see through air bubble, Dance Reebok's which had lots of sparkly laces, what other one's can you remember from teenage years?

kiah
11-04-2007, 13:12
speaking of shoes, if you are truly in your late 20's you may remember Reebok Pumps, the tongue had a little ball in it that you could pump up, Nike Air Max's when they first came out with the see through air bubble, Dance Reebok's which had lots of sparkly laces, what other one's can you remember from teenage years?

I wanted them:mad: . But mum said no coz my foot just apparently kept growing.

A girl at my school had a purple pair of reebok pumps. She let me wear them once for a day coz i bought her a choccy donut at the tuckshop. That was a great day for me.:D

mum2my4
11-04-2007, 13:14
I wanted them all too, never got them, I bet that one day of wearing them was great:yes:

kiah
11-04-2007, 13:19
I wanted them all too, never got them, I bet that one day of wearing them was great:yes:

That was in Grade 6...what fond memories i still have of that day. I thought i was so cool. I remember on the oval i kept pumping them up all the time:D .

And crimped hair...does anyone remember the crimpers...guess what...I still have one:yes:

mum2my4
11-04-2007, 13:20
I might have a few photo's of me somewhere with crimped hair, and maybe a crimper hiding away in a bathroom cupboard with a few scrunchies :D

kiah
11-04-2007, 13:23
I might have a few photo's of me somewhere with crimped hair, and maybe a crimper hiding away in a bathroom cupboard with a few scrunchies :D

I still crimp sections of my hair and pin it with bobby pins, i like crimped hair...its cute

Beany
11-04-2007, 13:23
Ah Bec, that you know so much about the Spears/Aguilera (and even knew how to spell that last one!) makes me feel ancient. Perhaps I'm more suited to the Old Cantankerous Sea Cows thread.

And I knew nothing about that. I know she claimed virginity at some point. It just put me in mind of the whole Monica Lewinski saga ...

Reebok pumps ... I remember them, never had them. I was always more into Kickers than sports shoes. They looked better with jeans :D

iluvmeboyz
11-04-2007, 13:34
i used to crimp my hair alot to and i used to put my hair in pigtails and put alot of clourful hair bands in to my ponytail was stiff

mum2my4
11-04-2007, 13:41
Ok who used to hairspray their fringe so it would stick up, remember BIG fringes?

I can admit I did it:yes:

mum2my4
11-04-2007, 13:43
alot of clourful hair bands in to my ponytail was stiff

Where they the fluffy type ones, that are thick?

Beany
11-04-2007, 13:44

I just saw this

:eek:

Speak for yourself! I'm not a skank!

I'm a hussy :D

kiah
11-04-2007, 13:46
Ok who used to hairspray their fringe so it would stick up, remember BIG fringes?

I can admit I did it:yes:

*hand slowly goes up*

caz
11-04-2007, 14:40
I'm pretty sure I still have my crimping irons :o

I never did the BIG fringe thing but my best friend in high school did, everytime i tried, by recess my hair was flat again

My brother had a pair of pump reeboks. I had a purple pair of Nike Air Max's.

Does anyone remember hypercolor t-shirts??? I had one that went from orange to pink :o

iluvmeboyz
11-04-2007, 14:54
Where they the fluffy type ones, that are thick?

i think they where ,and i used to wear white socks half way up me calf i think the schools where them these days.

kylie80
11-04-2007, 15:37
Hi Everyone, Just thought I would join in. I hope that is ok. I am 27 with 2 kiddies DD 9.5m and DS 3years. I live in Perth. Hi to all:wave:

iluvmeboyz
11-04-2007, 16:39
hi Kylie
welcome what is everyone up to tomorrow?

we are going to kmart to find a woody doll as my eldest ds wants one i got one for my younger ds but they fight over it lol.
Then going out for tea as it is MIL bday wel ltoday is but going out tomorrow for tea.

11-04-2007, 17:03
Does anyone remember hypercolor t-shirts??? I had one that went from orange to pink :o

yeah they used to show up sweaty under arms real easy.... so who was a salt and pepper fan..the group.

hey kylie:wave:

11-04-2007, 17:04
Speak for yourself! I'm not a skank!

I'm a hussy :D

hussy is the old peoples word for skank:D

Beany
11-04-2007, 17:09
Told you I was old before my time.

iluvmeboyz
11-04-2007, 18:46
hussy is the old peoples word for skank:D

:laughing: :laughing:

Becteria
11-04-2007, 19:17

I had LA Gears, they were sooooooo cool, purple and turquise with four differnt colour laces and the biggest tongues ever!

The cooler you where, the higher you scrunched your socks - two pairs of old man walking socks seemed to make it easier. And the higher your fringe, the prettier you where. I used to have soooo many scrucnhies on my super sized hair spray can. Sad but true!

Who remembers slap sticks?

And which NKOTB did you have the hots for? Mine was Donnie.

I loved Salt and Pepa. Still do.

And i am with you Kiah crimped hair is still cool, and i own a black ra ra skirt that i still wear!

Minke
11-04-2007, 19:45
I had LA Gears, they were sooooooo cool, purple and turquise with four differnt colour laces and the biggest tongues ever!

The cooler you where, the higher you scrunched your socks - two pairs of old man walking socks seemed to make it easier. And the higher your fringe, the prettier you where. I used to have soooo many scrucnhies on my super sized hair spray can. Sad but true!

And i am with you Kiah crimped hair is still cool, and i own a black ra ra skirt that i still wear!

OMG - I used to steal my dad's socks :laughing: AHhhh, tube socks... Scrunched to perfection

Yep I remember slap sticks, before they were banned... and the hypercolour. A friend and i were talking about it the other day - she still got an orange and white stripe fanta shirt (off the shoulder of course) that she's keeping for when it comes back in...

What about collette and her bike pants - i had some exactly the same :o even had the stripes up the side... You can ring my bell..ell...elll.....

Never did the fringe thing - think i was too scared of my sisters :D

The eighties were bad, and now they're back. THEY WEREN'T COOL THEN AND THEY NEVER WILL BEEEEE!!!!

kiah
11-04-2007, 19:50
Did someone say hypercolour tshirts.

I got one on my 12th bday. It was the coolest.

Welcome to the late 20s thread!!!! YEAH!

iluvmeboyz
11-04-2007, 19:58

i had those shoes to i thought they where so kool :laughing:

caz
11-04-2007, 20:16

I loved Donnie too only because his birthday is the same as mine :o

and i own a black ra ra skirt that i still wear!

My DSD came here the other day wearing a ra ra skirt, i had an instant 80's flashback and it wasn't a pleasant experience:no: :laughing:

Becteria
11-04-2007, 20:30
I love the 80's the music, the "fashions" I think it was cool the first time round and am loving it this time. However i dont wear alot of the clothes. it feels like dressups....

I remember when the

mummoss
11-04-2007, 20:40
Hey all, Im 27 will be 28 in november talk about reminising i still have a NKOTB CD!!!! and Girlfriend OMG My DH is younger then me and just looks at me funny when I talk about the music I was into he thinks its a scream that I was born in the 70's even if it was 79 lol:laughing:

iluvmeboyz
11-04-2007, 20:49
Hey all, Im 27 will be 28 in november talk about reminising i still have a NKOTB CD!!!! and Girlfriend OMG My DH is younger then me and just looks at me funny when I talk about the music I was into he thinks its a scream that I was born in the 70's even if it was 79 lol:laughing:

:laughing: :laughing:

and welcome

mum2my4
12-04-2007, 05:56
I went to a salt n pepa concert:smiliedance:

I was trying to remember what year it was I think early 90's.

NKOTB - I loved them

LA Gears - that's the other one's I was trying to think of but couldn't remember the name

My bestie and I used to watch Degrassi every afternoon, I love that show, anyone else a fan?

mummoss
12-04-2007, 08:02
Degrassi yep :yes: I was mad for that show and heart break high

kiah
12-04-2007, 08:07
Excuse me late 20s lovelies.....but i just have to know....

Who else liked the band.....The Bangles?:o

iluvmeboyz
12-04-2007, 08:09

i remember them to i thought they were ok back then

lucyrose9
12-04-2007, 08:10
Hi i am 26 and i have a beautifull 16 month old little girl would love a good chat:ecomcity:

caz
12-04-2007, 08:15

I loved them, I used to walk around dancing like an egyptian :o :laughing:

kiah
12-04-2007, 08:17
Hi i am 26 and i have a beautifull 16 month old little girl would love a good chat:ecomcity:

Hi lucy and welcome I'm really good at :ecomcity: so chat away:hugs:

merlottes
12-04-2007, 10:31
:wave: Ladies,
I havn't been in for a while how is everyone ??
Me just been really busy i can't wait untill next week swimming and kinder start back for DD3

OMG making me think back to all the music i had lol

iluvmeboyz
12-04-2007, 10:33
I loved them, I used to walk around dancing like an egyptian :o :laughing:

ha ha ha what about punky bruster lol

merlottes
12-04-2007, 10:43

:o lol i used to dress like her :o

iluvmeboyz
12-04-2007, 11:22
i luved he socks how she had them ,i remember i used to where to kinder those pinstriped dresses that had the big safety pin well looked like one at the bottom on the dress.

caz
12-04-2007, 12:42

I totally forgot about punky brewster. I always wanted a golden retriever and call it Brandon :o

Look at Punky now, hasn't she just grown up (http://www.imdb.com/gallery/granitz/1090/Events/1090/frye_soleil_moon5.html?path=pgallery&path_key=Frye,%20Soleil%20Moon)

iluvmeboyz
12-04-2007, 13:28
yeah she has grown up has'nt she

mum2my4
13-04-2007, 05:40
Who remembers

ALF
E Street
A Country Practice
Home and Away when it first started?

This thread is fun.

:wave: Welcome to all the fabulous people in their late 20's.

mummoss
13-04-2007, 06:29
Who remembers

ALF
E Street
A Country Practice
Home and Away when it first started?

Yep they were great we had a dog as kids we named after Alf cause he only chased cats lol and we wanted a wombat like fatso from A Country Practice for a pet, and then there was the Flying Doctors I think that was on around the same time as A Country Practice

mum2my4
13-04-2007, 06:51
I loved Flying Doctors that was a great show.

iluvmeboyz
13-04-2007, 07:48
i luv a country practice i still watch it on cable

jordy&steph'smumma
13-04-2007, 07:50
Hi all:wave:

Haven't been in here for a while.

I sooooo loved punky brewster too and use to wear a rolled up bandana on my leg.

The old Alfer was one of my favs too. Must I admit that???:laughing:

The bangles and bananarama still know the words to those songs.
I also loved indecent obsession does anyone remember them??? I went to their concert.
I wasn't a real big fan of new skids in your jocks.:laughing:

What about the food???? Muncheros(sp?) chips and when you could get a big bag of lollies for 20c not $2. With each sunnyboy you brought you had the chance to win a free one.

The good old atari was the best game system around back then:yes: .....space invaders.

Soooooo many memories, it wasn't that long ago now was it?

Kylie

iluvmeboyz
13-04-2007, 08:11
i remember the sunny boys i used to get free one's all the time

caz
13-04-2007, 08:32
The good old atari was the best game system around back then:yes: .....space invaders.

We had a commodore 64 :thumbsup:

mummoss
13-04-2007, 08:34
Yep the good old days how old do I sound (I sound Like My Nanna:laughing:) but I remember when I was little and $2.50 could buy you a soft drink and a bag of chips with change good luck now lol

merlottes
13-04-2007, 15:05
I have to say i love country practice and Flying Doctors but another show i used to watch was family ties. And the sunday movie at 6:30

iluvmeboyz
13-04-2007, 19:08
remember full house i luved that to

caz
13-04-2007, 20:47
remember full house i luved that to

I have Seasons 1, 2, and 3 on DVD:)

I loved most 80's sitcoms though

Hey Dad
Full House
Family Ties
Charles In Charge
Doogie Howser M.D.
Growing Pains
Diff'rent Strokes
Bloosom (Was more early 90's, but I loved it anyway)

14-04-2007, 04:53
caz what about the fresh prince, will smith:laughing:

Becteria
14-04-2007, 05:48
Who knows all the words to the Bart man

iluvmeboyz
14-04-2007, 07:00
oh i remember that bart song lol

Beany
14-04-2007, 10:56
I know the Bart man but don't remember the words. I DO remember the words to Big Big Trouble, though.

Oh and I remember all the words to the Fresh Prince of Bel Air, too ...

iluvmeboyz
14-04-2007, 12:01
I know the Bart man but don't remember the words. I DO remember the words to Big Big Trouble, though.

Oh and I remember all the words to the Fresh Prince of Bel Air, too ...

:laughing: :laughing: what about that show
saved by the bell

TinyStar
14-04-2007, 12:11
I had no idea this thread existed........

the things you find when seriously procrastinating.

hehehehehe.

Saved by the Bell, a hallmark of our micro generation!

A true measure is can you remember the words to "Ice Ice baby" and if you can dance to it to........

The soundtrack to "Baz Lurhmans Romeo and Juliet" was background music for year 12 and most of uni. I ended up with multiple copies cos they'd get left in my cd player.

Beany
14-04-2007, 12:50
Ah Saved by the Bell ... I hated the new class. It really annoyed me. Apart from anything else, who on earth would hire Screech as a teacher?!

iluvmeboyz
14-04-2007, 13:14
not me i would not hire him ,i remember the so called spice girl shoes lol with the anourmous heel on em lol

kiwibird27
14-04-2007, 13:16
I'm 29, 30 is a couple of months, Your not alone!!!!!

I love the fresh prince!!!!

iluvmeboyz
14-04-2007, 21:50
welcome Kiwibird27

i used to watch 21 jump street ages ago

caz
16-04-2007, 11:51
i used to watch 21 jump street ages ago

I used to be so in love with Johnny Depp Valentine

Who remembers the words to Ice Ice Baby???

Beany
16-04-2007, 11:57
Oh Mr one-hit-wonder!

And of course it wasn't a rip off of that Queen intro! There's one whole beat missing!

Having said all that, alright stop, collaborate and LISTEN!

:o

iluvmeboyz
16-04-2007, 13:46
I used to be so in love with Johnny Depp Valentine

Who remembers the words to Ice Ice Baby???

he he he who doesnt remember that song vanilla ice lol

caz
16-04-2007, 14:16
he he he who doesnt remember that song vanilla ice lol

very true. Ok then.... how about.... Informer by Snow?

Mum2Bug
16-04-2007, 14:18
very true. Ok then.... how about.... Informer by Snow?

Someone shoot me, i used to love that song:banghead: :eek:

Mum2Bug
16-04-2007, 14:22
Ok just to really annoy some people.....

Yo VIP let's kick it

Ice ice baby (x2)
All right stop collaborate and listen
Ice is back with my brand new invention
Something grabs a hold of me tightly
Flow like a harpoon daily and nightly
Will it ever stop yo I don't know
Turn off the lights and I'll glow
To the extreme I rock a mic like a vandal
Light up a stage and wax a chump like a candle
Dance go rush to the speaker that booms
I'm killing your brain like a poisonous mushroom
Deadly when I play a dope melody
Anything less than the best is a felony
Love it or leave it you better gain weight
You better hit bull's eye the kid don't play
If there was a problem yo I'll solve it
Check out the hook while my DJ revolves it

CHORUS
Ice ice baby vanillla (x4)

Now that the party is jumping
With the bass kicked in and the vegas are pumpin'
Quick to the point to the point no faking
I'm cooking MC's like a pound of bacon
Burning them if you ain't quick and nimble
I go crazy when I hear a cymbal
And a hi-hat with a souped up tempo
I'm on a roll and it's time to go solo
Rollin' in my 5.0
With my rag-top down so my hair can blow
The girlies on standby waving just to say hi
Did you stop no I just drove by
Kept on pursuing to the next stop
I busted a left and I'm heading to the next block
The block was dead
Yo so I continued to A1A Beachfront Avenue
Girls were hot wearing less than bikinis
Rockman lovers driving Lamborghinis
Jealous 'cause I'm out getting mine
Shay with a guage and Vanilla with a nine
Reading for the chumps on the wall
The chumps acting ill because they're so full of eight balls
Gunshots rang out like a bell
I grabbed my nine all I heard were shells
Falling on the concrete real fast
Jumped in my car slammed on the gas
Bumpet to bumper the avenue's packed
I'm trying to get away before the jackers jack
Police on the scene you know what I mean
They passed me up confronted all the dope fiends
Check out the hook while my DJ revolves it

REPEAT CHORUS

Take heed 'cause I'm a lyrical poet
Miami's on the scene just in case you didn't know it
My town that created all the bass sound
Enough to shake and kick holes in the ground
'Cause my style's like a chemical spill
Feasible rhymes that you can vision and feel
Conducted and formed
This is a hell of a concept
We make it hype and you want to step with this
Shay plays on the fade slice like a ninja
Cut like a razor blade so fast other DJs say damn
If my rhyme was a drug I'd sell it by the gram
Keep my composure when it's time to get loose
Magnetized by the mic while I kick my juice
Check out the hook while Shay revolves it

Ice ice baby vanilla
Ice ice baby (oh-oh) vanilla
Ice ice baby vanilla
Ice ice baby vanilla ice
Yo man let's get out of here
Word to your mother
Ice ice baby too cold
Ice ice baby too cold too cold (x2)
Ice ice baby

caz
16-04-2007, 14:23
Thanks for that, now i'm going to have that song in my head for the whole day :banghead: :p

iluvmeboyz
16-04-2007, 19:20
now use have both of those songs in me head:banghead: :laughing:

Chrini
17-04-2007, 04:24
Ok.. so I am a bit slow off the mark & have only just found this thread... LOL... I am in my late 20's..(OMG.. I am almost 30!!) and hubby has just only hit 1/4 of a century in February

mum2my4
17-04-2007, 05:48
I can't believe nobody has bought this one up. Who used to watch Beverley Hills 90210? I did and I loved it. I used to like bad boy Dylan.:laughing:

Melrose Place was a fav too.

Hi Chrini:wave:

caz
17-04-2007, 06:48
I have 90210 Seaon 1 on DVD, i'm waiting on Season 2, should be out next month :fingerscrossed:

Welcome Chrini :wave:

iluvmeboyz
17-04-2007, 06:54
i have that to lol when does the next season come out?

merlottes
17-04-2007, 12:49
:eek: i forgot all about 90210 i watched it all the time lol

iluvmeboyz
17-04-2007, 14:29
i just luved brenda and kelly on that

and what about luke perry i used to like him:laughing:

caz
17-04-2007, 16:09
i have that to lol when does the next season come out?

3rd of May :smiliedance:

iluvmeboyz
17-04-2007, 16:43
3rd of May :smiliedance:

thanxs Chickie

18-04-2007, 11:35
heres a non tv related question :D
do you feel like a young mum or an old mum?

i had dd1 when i was 22 and to be honest thats considered old in this small country town:laughing:

mum2my4
18-04-2007, 11:38
I feel like an old mum now, when I had my first I was 23 and felt young then.

18-04-2007, 11:57
i dont feel like im either....

iluvmeboyz
18-04-2007, 12:03
i dont know i feel like a young mum still i guess

mum2my4
18-04-2007, 12:03
It really does depend where you live, when I had my first we lived in the northern beaches of Sydney and I was the youngest in my mothers group by 10 years, where I live now most are younger or the same age.

mum2my4
18-04-2007, 12:04
26 is young, just think you could be 29 like me, I have to grow up soon and be a woman.:laughing:

iluvmeboyz
18-04-2007, 12:41
26 is young, just think you could be 29 like me, I have to grow up soon and be a woman.:laughing:

:laughing: :laughing: i dont feel old or look it lol

merlottes
18-04-2007, 20:20
I didn't feel like an old mum when i had DD1 at 25 but i feel old now just having DD2 at 29

caz
18-04-2007, 21:02
I don't feel like an old mum, but then again, I don't feel like i'm THAT old yet :p

singa06
18-04-2007, 21:10
I am 27 and TTC, so glad i found this thread! All the other age related threads I find are either for young mums or over 34 and TTC !
DH will be 30 soon (even through he is down as 30 already!)
I was so excited about turning 27, i dont know why! Maybe cause i knew we going to TTC. :yelclap:

iluvmeboyz
18-04-2007, 21:27
Singa06 and welcome goodlcuk with the ttc

18-04-2007, 21:35
I am 29 so on the edge of late 20's.

I don't feel old til I see a group of teens and realise that isn't me any more.

motherlylove
18-04-2007, 21:44
SORRY early 2o's here thankgod lol

19-04-2007, 05:46
I am 29 so on the edge of late 20's.

I don't feel old til I see a group of teens and realise that isn't me any more.

:laughing: yeah me too...ive lost my youth somewhere...i havent been into a funky shop for years..ive been blaming it on my weight...but maybe its cause ...im getting too old:laughing:

caz
19-04-2007, 09:03
Welcome singa06, good luck with TTC :fingerscrossed:

I know exactly what you mean BJ :laughing: :laughing:

iluvmeboyz
19-04-2007, 10:25
:laughing: yeah me too...ive lost my youth somewhere...i havent been into a funky shop for years..ive been blaming it on my weight...but maybe its cause ...im getting too old:laughing:

i know how ya feel and im the same age as you:hugs:

singa06
19-04-2007, 10:27
Day 19 today, so excited cant wait to test in 12 days!. :fingerscrossed: (Will test early though!!)

kiah
19-04-2007, 10:29
heres a non tv related question :D
do you feel like a young mum or an old mum?

i had dd1 when i was 22 and to be honest thats considered old in this small country town:laughing:

I was 22 also when i had Jayce. I know I'm older and I've learnt alot of things but physically i feel young and very energetic.

iluvmeboyz
19-04-2007, 13:37
I was 22 also when i had Jayce. I know I'm older and I've learnt alot of things but physically i feel young and very energetic.

i was 21 when i had bailey but at times i feel old but other days i feel like im 21 again.

squiglet
21-04-2007, 11:08
Hi everyone. I just had my bub 2 weeks ago, thought I would come and joine in here.:wave:

Beany
21-04-2007, 11:13
Hiya Starbell :)

caz
21-04-2007, 11:53
Hi starbell :wave: Congratulations on the new addition :yelclap:

iluvmeboyz
21-04-2007, 13:07
Hi everyone. I just had my bub 2 weeks ago, thought I would come and joine in here.:wave:

hi Starbell congrats on your baby

colourfulsunshine
21-04-2007, 13:16
I only just found this thread and i hope its not too late to join in the fun!! :smiliedance:
Im 25 will be 26 in August, so I guess thats mid rather than late 20's huh, hoping that doesnt matter...:confused:
I have loved reading back over all the things from the eighties, like hypercolour tshirts and new kids on the block!! :laughing:

21-04-2007, 13:20
25's still old:D
heres another question..... am i too old to wear tops that say "rock chick" on the front?.... cause im wearing it now.... am i grasping at the short straws of youth before they all get taken:D

colourfulsunshine
21-04-2007, 13:23
[quote=bronny-jane;1366161]25's still old:D
thanks bronny-jane!!!! :laughing: :laughing:

Beany
21-04-2007, 13:34
BJ: I hope not. I'm wearing a "Bad Girls Rock" t-shirt.

Granted, it was demoted to pyjamas a few years ago but never mind that!

21-04-2007, 13:35
thanks bronny-jane!!!! :laughing: :laughing:

:D no worries...you can tell if your old..... if you walk by some young funky looking people...and they either ignore you... raise their eyebrow...or giggle when you walk past your old.... or just really ugly:D

21-04-2007, 13:37
i want to order this shirt i saw a while ago but im worried im too old.... it said..
you dont need a c#ck to rock:D
too cool

Beany
21-04-2007, 13:41
Did it say "but you do need one to jiggle" on the back? :D

Get it get it get it! There's life in the old girl yet!

21-04-2007, 13:53
Did it say "but you do need one to jiggle" on the back? :D

Get it get it get it! There's life in the old girl yet!

:eek: :laughing: :laughing:

iluvmeboyz
21-04-2007, 14:01
25's still old:D
heres another question..... am i too old to wear tops that say "rock chick" on the front?.... cause im wearing it now.... am i grasping at the short straws of youth before they all get taken:D

nah you are never to old for that