View Full Version : I did it...

26-03-2007, 12:16
I have finally REALLY accepted that I'm having a c/sect. I called the birthing centre and took my name off the list for a waterbirth in June.

I had been dreading making that phone call; but the girl on the other end was really lovely and very helpful. She asked who my obs is and as soon as I told her she said that she respects him most of all the obs at the hospital and that he is usually one who advocates for natural birth. So if he is also saying that a c/sect is the safest option then to trust him 100%.

It was great to hear that reassurance from someone who is working in an area that is quite obviously pro-natural birth and has made me feel a lot more content that this decision is definitely the best option for both myself and Little Pod.

So its all done! I'm having a c/sect! The date will be set at my next appointment with my obs which is in 2 weeks - not long now til I know when my little boy will be entering the world :hugs:

AM
26-03-2007, 12:45
:hugs: :hugs: :hugs:

26-03-2007, 12:48
Hun just rememeber you can make this experience just as beautiful !

There is a birth plan somewhere around here in regards to making a c/s exactly what you want !

I can imagine how hard this is for you :hugs: :hugs:

kiah
26-03-2007, 12:56
Good for u hun.:thumbsup: I had 2 postive c-sections. Second one they played cool music and in both got some great photos.

Good luck luv kiah

Mamaduke
26-03-2007, 13:05
I've had a look and found this birth plan Ally...
could give you some ideas for yours!

In the event of a Planned Caesarean Section:

· I would like to still go into spontaneous labour or 14 days post EDD which ever happens first, with extra monitoring after 7 days post EDD.
· I would like the screen to be lowered as the baby is delivered.
· I wish for the cord to stop pulsating completely before it is clamped.
· I wish to view the placenta.
· I would like the baby placed directly, via the peadiatrician (for sterility purposes, onto me and checks done there unless otherwise medically indicated.
· If I am unable to do this I wish for my husband to hold the baby at this time.
· I will provide blankets/wraps for the baby and would like only these to be used.
· I would like the baby to stay with me whilst I am being stitched up etc. and to initiate breast feeding at this time. If staffing levels permit I would also like my husband and baby to be with me in recovery.
· I DO NOT want any procedure ie weighing, bathing etc to be done until I am present after recovery.

stellarella
26-03-2007, 13:08
How exciting! What a beautiful precious day you are about to experience. Meeting your little creation for the first time.

Im so excited for you :smiliedance:

sueliz
26-03-2007, 13:08
Congratulations PL! What a lovely lady to give you that reassurance - it must make you feel much more comfortable with what is happening.

I had a c-section and was lucky enough that it was a very postive experience. I sincerely hope yours is the same!!

lukaelmo
26-03-2007, 13:11
I had an emergency c/s for Luka and a VBAC for Felix... c/s was fine, to tell you the truth I am sitting here on my stitches a week after my VBAC and it's killing, whereas I recovered pretty much immediately from the c/s...

As long as you are confident you are doing your best for the little pod, then it will just all fall into place...

26-03-2007, 13:11
They're fantastic! Thanks MD! :thumbsup:

Now that I've actually ACCEPTED that I'm having a c/sect I'm getting really excited about it. I can plan and prepare a little bit better, I know that my baby will be here somewhere between the 17th & 25th of May :eek:, and I can check out heaps of positive c/sect stories and articles.

Its daunting - but exciting!

Mamaduke
26-03-2007, 13:14
and just quietly...
you get up in the morning, casually walk to the car, get in, calmly & pleasantly drive to the hospital in an orderly fashion, have a bit of a rest on the bed while people come in, introduce themselves, have a chat, then hop onto a bed for a ride to theatre...
such a civilised way to behave! :D

26-03-2007, 13:16
and just quietly...
you get up in the morning, casually walk to the car, get in, calmly & pleasantly drive to the hospital in an orderly fashion, have a bit of a rest on the bed while people come in, introduce themselves, have a chat, then hop onto a bed for a ride to theatre...

Absolutely!!! Plus I can put on my makeup and do my hair and know that both Mum and Bub are gonna look fantastic in their first photos together! :laughing:

(okay - a lil vain there, but its a positive, right?? LOL)

Elfin
26-03-2007, 13:21
Congratulations PL, I have had 3 c/s and I think they were all positive. At least when you know it is coming you are prepared and you can make it positive.

All the best with it:hugs:

DQ
26-03-2007, 13:32
I too have today just finally made the decision to have a c/s! I also feel a little at ease about the decision now, I am happy about it, finally. :smiliedance:

Congratulations Pink Lady! Now everything can be organised, peaceful and calm!!! :thumbsup:

JATS
26-03-2007, 13:48
Have a wonderful birth! I had all of 12 hours to come to terms with the fact I was going to have one, time enough to get completly freaked out and cry alot!:o In the end I loved it!

It's scarey as hell going in but just like with a natural birth, as soon as you see bubs everything is fantastic and you just don't care!:D

I too was thrilled that everything was so calm and relaxed and I was able to get up in the morning and shower, shave, do my hair etc. Still looked bloated and drowsey (didn't sleep the night before) in the photos though. No screaming, pooing, vomiting, swearing, sweating, no hours of pain, just into the O.R. and 20 min later there's bub!

nut
26-03-2007, 14:09
:hugs: Good on you Ally.

I know you've wrestled with this and it sounds as if you have made the best decision.

Blessings for the birth of your much loved and wanted baby.:hugs:

Peaceangels
26-03-2007, 14:29
Hard decision to make PL, but it sounds like you made the right one.

I had a very positive emergency c/s delivery with E and then went on to have a Vbac with L.
I always say, the method of delivery is irrelevant, as long as the end result means mum and baby are healthy (& happy).

MumsieMel
26-03-2007, 14:31
Congrats hun,

hope all goes smoothly! :hugs:

V8
26-03-2007, 14:37
Good on you for making a decision and i'm sure it's the best for you and bubs. :) Not long now till you meet him!

SamanthaJane
26-03-2007, 14:39
All the best Ally! :hugs: Just make it the most positive experience for yourself! :yelclap:

allysophia
26-03-2007, 15:03
and just quietly...

lol - was my vaginal birth uncivilised?

tootiredtosleep
26-03-2007, 15:30
Congratulations!! Its great that you decided after considering all options.

Enjoy your birth and don't forget to buy granny undies, the bigger the better!

03-04-2007, 17:46
I went to buy the granny undies today - but I couldn't do it!!! I seriously just couldn't pick them up and take them to the register - they're sooo... BIG!!! :eek:

Minke
03-04-2007, 19:36
I had an em c/s - so I didn't have any granny undies, only bonds hipsters. They didn't annoy me at all (or the cut) - maybe go for something a bit higher cut but i don't think you'd need granny undies :eek: :laughing:

babyella
05-04-2007, 18:49
i swear by the granny undies!!!! i was so glad i had them with my last C/S and it took me 8 months to get up the courage to buy them this time :laughing: but for me they are a must have!!!!

Jess

Africamum
05-04-2007, 20:46
I agree granny undies are the best. My cut is really low and below my hair line (but it looked high and huge at the time)

Also I was given a tubular thing to put over my belly (to hold it all it) it was the best stuff ever.

My C section was a very positive experience, I hope your is too.

Kizmet
05-04-2007, 20:58
just found this thread I am so happy that you have made it a beautiful positive experience!!! Well you will do :laughing: you know what i mean! Wow not logn to go now! I am so excited for you hun!

tootiredtosleep
05-04-2007, 21:08
Buy the granny undies in a packet - Target have them in packs that are all nicely folded and make them look small.
They sound terrible but you probably won't be thinking about undies once bub arrives. I also found them good to cover all my stretchies when DH was around.

lilpearl
06-04-2007, 14:41
Yes, I had an emergency caesarean and only had small undies....my mum had to go out and buy my a couple of packets of the 'granny' ones, as the normal ones were hurting me. Target have great, big, comfortable, very stretchy undies that are so comfortable and not as daggy as cottontails. They are one's you buy individually, so they're a little more expensive, but they are very worth it.

Minke
06-04-2007, 14:55
:o Obviously i am a freak... don't listen to me and go and buy some granny undies... :p

tickle
06-04-2007, 14:57
I didn't use my granny undies at all. My regulars were much more comfortable even though they sat on my scar. There was that much thick tape there it didn't irritate at all.

Anyway, great news. I'm sure the birth will be wonderful.:thumbsup:

Lissbee
06-04-2007, 21:07
Hi - just wanted to add that there is an example of a Positive Caesarean Birth Plan on the Caesarean Awareness Network Australia (CANA) website. The link is www.canaustralia.net/csbirthplan.htm. This birth plan was actually used, and resulted in a positive, empowering birth for this woman's second child.

Take care,
Melissa from Birthtalk
www.birthtalk.org