View Full Version : August 2006 Mums & Bubs #7

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

Mrs Potts
25-03-2007, 08:09
Hi everyone! Hope it's OK that I started the new thread, since the other one was taken away from us ;) I feel special!

I have a miserable girl here today. She had a gooey eye yesterday and has woken today (after an unsettled night) all snotty and sad. She's now gone back to bed with the vaporiser in her room, while Dough has gone out to get some Demazin in case she needs it.

Hope everyone else is well, or getting better, and enjoying their weekend!

Great to see you Muchkin, too.

MountainGirl
25-03-2007, 08:49
Hi Everyone **waves wearily**,..... we are back from our trip to the Gold Coast,.. I say trip,..not holiday,...sigh,..... Scarlett and I went to visit my girlfriend and her two little boys,.....one is Scarletts age and her baby was born the same day as Jasper,..... She has recently made the giant leap of becomming a single mum and moving to GC with her babies,...... I hate to say this, but her eldest is totally out of control,..I have never seen anything like it,...he is agressive, mean, malicious, spiteful, full of rage and just a horribly little person,... He spent the entire time screaming, pushing Scarlett, attacking the baby and literally being a brat,.. My poor friend lost it at one stage and was screaming and shouting at him and all hell broke loose,. Poor Scarlett was petrified,..she has never seen anything like it,...... Then when we finally got back to Sydney they closed the airport just as we landed,..so we couldn't get our bags,... We sat at the baggage console for an hour waiting for the bags to appear,..Squidg was exhausted,... So,..I was concerned that she may have taken on some nasty traits after the trip,..and my fears have been confirmed this morning,... she pushed jasper over on the ground, stole his toys,...had a massive tantrum and threw her breakfast,...great,....hopefully she is just tired,...:mad:

Munchkin - great to hear about your job! Oh,...and woo hoo about the shoes!!!!!!

Wattle - have I missed something? What is this pink bizzo?

Mrs Potts - sorry to hear about your sick bubba,....... :hugs:

MissieM - Blah to voting! I decided not to vote this year as I didn't like any of my options,.. I am quite happy to pay the fine if it comes to that - it won't though...as I decided not to vote last time either,..and nothing happened,.....

Gotta go,... have a lovely day everyone else,...... xxx

cheekypossum
25-03-2007, 08:50
Morning all

Yes Erica, we have a misarable girl here today too.

Not much sleep at all last night. Chloe is sick with the flu now too, she woke every hour. But because I am sick too, every time it would take me ages to get back to sleep then I would wake up thinking i had been asleep for hours and it would only be 30 minutes.

She was pretty good though as majority of the time she would self settle so that was alright. But with me being sick as well, today I just feel TERRIBLE.

Did all I had to do at 4 am this morning, so planning a lazy day today

Hello to everyone...hope you all have a great day

Bye

MountainGirl
25-03-2007, 08:52
Oh,... I forgot,.. Shed - are you serious about the Aldi nappies? I bought some the other day and I think they are crapola,.. I used one and chucked the rest out,..I hated them,.. I am now in love with nappies called Ecobots,. they are biodegradable, environmentally friendly disposies,..and are soft and beautiful,. you can buy them at coles,..check em out!!!!!

cheekypossum
25-03-2007, 08:52
Hi Jane....nice to see you back from your time away.........

OK my turn

Chloe just did a poo :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :

and DH is changing her HAHAHAHA

Jane, don't you feel special to be acknowledged with a Poo story :D

Beany
25-03-2007, 10:12
Poor Keeley and poor Chloe! I hope they feel better soon.

Welcome back from your trip away, Jane. What a lovely cold and grey day to be returning to! How do you deal with a Toddler Gone Wild? I hope Scarlett settles down soon. And I hope your friend finds something to work for her ... must be horrendous to deal with a toddler with issues, a 7 month old and being single all in one fell swoop. Poor old thing.

Moving along ...

Asher attempted some "finger food" yesterday. I bought him a scone and tore off little bits, held them on my palm and let him attempt to get them. He was quite successful and ever so proud of himself. He jiggled up and down every time some scone made it into his mouth. Which resulted, of course, in the scone falling out of his mouth.

His teeth are through even more and he's a vicious little sod with them. He plays with my hands as he's lying on the floor next to me. I very foolishly just get distracted and watch TV. Waggle hands waggle hands waggles hands OUCH! The hands remained exactly where they were but the little monster raises himself up and bites me!

He was on his hands and knees a fair bit yesterday, crawling around only for short spurts like that, still preferring his gecko stance. He's mostly doing the hands and knees thing for perspective, I think. Also, he's starting to try to lever himself upright using things ... so far it's just his toys or a person sitting on the floor. I think the cube will be next. He just can't quite reach to the top of that yet.

biscotti
25-03-2007, 10:31
Oh Jane - that doesn't sound like the relaxing mini break I thought you were off to have :no:

Keely and Chloe - poor bubbas....:kiss:

cheekypossum
25-03-2007, 10:48
Yes definately poor bubbas

Way to go Asher....there will be no stopping him shortly.....How are you feeling these days Beany?

I am off to go and get some lunch.....feel like Junk food today..........I will regret it no doubt after I eat it

mumstar
25-03-2007, 11:33
Hello All

sorry i have been MIA for a couple of days! i have missed you all!

Thanks for all your kind thoughts about my aunt... i saw her on friday and i have to day i was shocked. She has put on about 40 kgs since i saw her last due to her meds... i almost didnt reconise her. She is starting to lose muscle control and she cant see because of the cancer in her eyes. she also is having trouble breathing as she has embelisms on her lungs. they have taen her for mri cat scans xrays blodd test and she even has had a lumbar puncture and she knows they wont find anything different... she is in a encology ward at the moment but they are now looking at moving her to a pallitive care ward just to make her comfortable... she is still being very strong in her thoughts though and i am going to try and see her as much as i possibly can this week. i just need to get a baby sitter!

we have been very busy too... it as troys nannas belated 80th bday yesterday... her birthday was actually last year but they forgot it so they threw her a surprise belated 80th at the park yesterday... we were there for like 8 hours it was a very long day....

I also have a baby shower to go to today that im am throwing for my bst mate and also find some time to see my sisters boyfriend and my mum as it there bdays as well!!! busy busy busy!

i had a couple of pages of post to catch up on and cant remember much right now...

chat later

Beany
25-03-2007, 13:17
Tash: I'm doing a little better, thanks :) Still got a big case of 'the blahs' and still quite homesick (the drizzly, grey and cold of Sydney is making me feel a little closer to home, though :D ) This weekend has made things a little easier.

Noodle took Friday off work because I wasn't feeling well and took Asher off my hands for 3 hours. I got a few errands done with both hands free. I was supposed to be resiting but the opportunity of a weekday afternoon by myself was just too good to miss.

Does it make me a bad person that I really didn't miss either of them? :o Noodle called me while I was in Coles and said "right, we'll come meet you there!" and part of me wanted to say "no you bloody won't!" and run in the opposite direction. When Asher clapped eyes on me, though, he just laughed and laughed ... I suppose my time off ending like that wasn't such a bad thing :D

wattle
25-03-2007, 18:24
Hi Everyone. :wave:

Super quick post - thanks for the congrats. The pink reference is next to my name in my signature.

I'll be back soon.....

jessi
25-03-2007, 20:08
Evening ladies... awe a new thread!!

Tegs, thats so sad to hear about your Aunt. Was good to get that message from you today- was being dragged about furniture shops with a very cranky DF.
Seriously, who whinges and whines about having a nice picture taken of your family?! He just would NOT SHUT UP because I was making him sit and have a picture taken with Elsha and I. I seriously wanted to smack him upside the head. And afterwards, he was like "NEVER AGAIN... NEVER AGAIN!! STUPID PHOTOS" and then yelled at Elsh because she was tired and cranky from being out all day. :mad:

Anyways, we headed out to the Caboolture markets this morning to check them out and see if my jewellery would do ok there... OMG, we left after 15mins- Im never going back there again. That place is disgusting. I thought perhaps I could do a market on the Gold Coast, but they all require you to be making your own stuff to sell there. WTH- Sure, I make some of my stuff but im also importing stuff now. How am I supposed to sell anything if no markets will take me because alot of the stuff I have is 'imported'?! Im so FRUSTRATED!!!! The online selling is NOT doing good... I have NO idea what to do!! Anyone have any experience with business and want to help me out with selling and getting my stuff out there and making a catalogue??

Poor little Elsh, I think she has abit of a cold atm... She has had a snotty nose today and abit yesterday. First time she has ever had anything like this so I feel abit helpless... Im not very good with Elsh when she isnt her usual smiling self. Poor Kid... I hope she still loves me.

Anyways... I dont really have anything else to say I dont think... Might go have a nice cup of calming tea and a bubble bath. :sleeping:

Peace

mum2anthony
25-03-2007, 20:22
Hey there all... Just wondering if I could join in on this thread for the August bubs... It'd be nice to see how far along our babies are going... gives me an idea on how my little tyke is doing...

Right now he's sitting beautifully and rolling great. Eats food like any normal baby... Says Mama, dada and ta and babbles NON stop!!

He's doing the backward crawl so I assume he'll be crawling soon... But we did get him a walker and he's loving the mobility and being able to follow mummy and daddy around...

but I must admit the thing I love the most... Is when he's been with dad for a while or nanna and I have been out somewhere and I come to pick him up.. It's like I am the best person in the world to him... He'll be sooking, see me and instantly have a smile on his beautiful face... I just melt... cheeky little sod, hehe :)

Beany
25-03-2007, 22:45
Hi Lisa-Marie :)

I left Asher alone with his dad this afternoon, just to go for a wander around the shops. He was asleep when I left and I called an hour or so later to see if everything was okay. It was all fine, he was eating a banana apparently. No tears. Didn't even realise I was absent. Goodo ... carry on shopping :D

I walked in and he was standing on his father's lap babbling cheerily right until he saw me. The moment he clapped his eyes on me, he started bawling - the kind of cry he usually reserves for bumped heads. No smiles, no hi mum, just arms outstretched and all out howls. It seems he only misses me when he realises that I am now present after being missing. Retrospective loneliness.

His "talking" is hilarious. He says things. He doesn't mean to but he does. Like last night, when I was in the bathroom and he was crying I said "it's okay, I didn't go anywhere" and clear as day he responded with "yeahyoudid". Noodle and I both looked at each other and cracked up. Earlier tonight, after spewing all over himself, he was having a whinge about being changed by his father ... "nnnggghhhnnneeei'msorry."

jessi
26-03-2007, 07:07
Welcome Lisa Marie!

:laughing: Beany... thats hilarious.

Elsh spoke last night too... She was crying and crying and then I said "Awe, your so tired bub bub.." and she goes "yeahtired... Dadadadad..."

So, I didnt get to bath. Or sleep. The moment I got off the computer- Elsh started screaming. When I went in to get her- she had the hugest snotty nose and was struggling to breath and was coughing... sounded like croup so I freaked out.
Anyways, so I tried getting her back to sleep but HA, that WASNT going to happen... 2am came and she FINALLY went off to sleep. But, it was broken up alot- she woke up 4 or 5 times between 2am and 6.30am... so I may as well have not gone to sleep at all.

:sleeping: My head hurts, Im so tired.

mum2anthony
26-03-2007, 08:25
Its funny hey... I know the words he is saying he doesn't realise... Apart from mumma, dadda and ta... If he wants something he says Ta, ta, ta... and if someone trys to take something from him he screams but if you say Ta Mummy (or whoever wants what he has) he gives it to them. It's amazing how smart our little creatures are... :)

Oh thankyou for the welcome. :)

I went to a 1 year old party on Saturday and I was thinking to myself, Anthony will be one in August... Spun me out!! Like this year hasn't gone fast enough.. It's amazing the transition from new born to now has been and gone... :) I just make sure I take happy snaps at every opportunity cause I dont notice the change and when he's walking around and talking back I want to remember his beautiful innocence, haha :)

biscotti
26-03-2007, 08:50
Morning *wave*

Oh Beany - that Asher is such a smart little cookie - so is Elsha. No words here apart from ayah ayah, I'm sure that means something in hebrew or something.

Jessi - what about the fabulous Eumundi markets?? I think they would be much more your sort of market, really I do. There is a big one on Saturdays and a smaller one Wednesday mornings. Absolutely NOTHING like those feral Caboolture markets. Come up here on Saturday and have a look :yes:

Welcome to mymtoanthony - mumstar will be delighted to see you, up until now she was our only WA mummy (apart from the long lost MIA neneales).

Have a great day everyone - I am off to clean the house. BLERK We have decided to put it on the market soon so am having some agents in for appraisal.
As much as I love it, its big and all open space, and the position is fantastic, we are going to need another bedroom and a bit more living space. We have a block of land nearby that we bought as an investment but we are going to build on it instead.
Oh fun fun fun :rolleyes:

Noosamum XX

mumstar
26-03-2007, 09:33
hello everyone!!!

very long weekend over here... im so tired now... and my kids both seem to have got my cold now that im over it! troy has nightshift all this week so it would be great if we could get out of the house so he can get some sleep but with 2 snotty kids i cant really go visiting anyone :(

jessi y dont u look at even doing some swapmeets or something... do u sell ur stuff on ebay at all??? i betcha even with all his nats wingeing the photos will come out great!!!

WELCOME mum2anthony noosa is right im hell pleased to see a WA mummy on here!!! just a shame u are SOR!!! hehehe!

cheekypossum
26-03-2007, 09:53
Morning all

Well a good night sleep was had by all last night and I feel on top of the world....even though we are all sick with the flu still.

Noodle took Friday off work because I wasn't feeling well and took Asher off my hands for 3 hours. I got a few errands done with both hands free. I was supposed to be resiting but the opportunity of a weekday afternoon by myself was just too good to miss.

Does it make me a bad person that I really didn't miss either of them? :o Noodle called me while I was in Coles and said "right, we'll come meet you there!" and part of me wanted to say "no you bloody won't!" and run in the opposite direction. When Asher clapped eyes on me, though, he just laughed and laughed ... I suppose my time off ending like that wasn't such a bad thing :D

Beany, that is wonderful that he did that for you....of course it does not make you a bad mother for not missing them....sometimes you just need some me time

Anyone have any experience with business and want to help me out with selling and getting my stuff out there and making a catalogue??

Peace

Sorry Jess, can't help there....the markets do seem the best option for that type of business....Hope Elsha feels better soon

Have a great day everyone - I am off to clean the house. BLERK We have decided to put it on the market soon so am having some agents in for appraisal.
As much as I love it, its big and all open space, and the position is fantastic, we are going to need another bedroom and a bit more living space. We have a block of land nearby that we bought as an investment but we are going to build on it instead.
Oh fun fun fun
Noosamum XX

Wow Noosa, that is a big decision. Have fun cleaning....

Mumtoanthony - WELCOME!!! WELCOME!!! Yes can't believe how big our August bubs are getting

Tegan - Sorry to hear your Aunt is in such a bad way.....hope your boys feel better soon

Does any one else finding feeding time quite frustrating....solids I mean not BF. It takes me ages to feed Chloe. She will find anything on her high chair to play with and will not take the food. This can happen only after 2 spoons of food. I usually have to whistle of make a noise to get her attention.....it is not that she does not want to eat...it is just like she gets bored or something...anyone else finding this?

Well I am off to have a look around

mumstar
26-03-2007, 10:27
jessi when you see this if i havent spoke to you already please ring me!

wattle
26-03-2007, 11:12
Hi Everyone.

Welcome Mum2anthony, good to have you join our little crazy party here.:party:

Tash - hope you feel better soon. You'd think someone could have created a cold remedy by now!

Does anyone elses bub talk very loudly? I think Steph is going to be a town crier one day :laughing: . If I take her out, I'm sure everyone in the whole shopping centre can hear her..."baababababaaaaaaaaababababa". She just looks at me with a silly grin then starts again..."daaaadadadadadawwabababawabwbaaaaaa grunt grunt aagh". :rolleyes:

Beany
26-03-2007, 11:33
Wattle: I think you gave birth to Asher's twin.

mum2anthony
26-03-2007, 11:48
SOR Chicky here thats for sure... :)
But we are still in Perth though, its awesome here... Although its cold today... :)

its so good to have a support network. :)

wattle
26-03-2007, 12:00
Beany I'm dreading the day she asks for her own mobile phone. :eek: Lets make sure they never get eachothers phone numbers. :laughing:

Beany
26-03-2007, 13:03
Beany I'm dreading the day she asks for her own mobile phone. :eek: Lets make sure they never get eachothers phone numbers. :laughing:

:eek:

My ears are bleeding at the very thought!

mum_I'm_hungry
26-03-2007, 14:30
Hey mum2anthony :wave:. Nice to see a few new people lately!

Just ducking in and out. Went to Bunnings today. I despise Bunnings with a passion. Had to get some rope, however (no, not one of those days -- to hang a swing for Teddy with!). Might go and faint now. Bunnings is just too big and too full of things I have no idea what to do with. I come from a family where if a tile falls off the wall, we all run about shrieking for a good half hour and then one of us does a #$%* job of fixing it, gluing it on the wrong way up or something.

mumstar
26-03-2007, 16:58
yeah mum2anthony it is cold today... perfect weather to curl up on the couch with a doona and watch some movies

hey jessi i hope everything is ok and you got my other messages earlier...

us well both the kids have my cold and are really sick... noah didnt sleep at all last night... aiden at least had a pretty decent sleep today so thats good i just hope he isnt gonna be up all night coz troy is on night shift...

alli i finished one of your books and have started another... i have been loving them by the way!

noosa any morning sickness yet???

well we are having a early tea tonight coz troy has to leave for work soon so i better go and finish that off

probably be on here a bit this week... providing the kids go to sleep early enough ok!!!

cheekypossum
26-03-2007, 19:03
Evening all

Speaking of them growing up......random thought....wouldn't it be really strange if say 25 years from now (scary thought) Chloe got together with one of the August boys and us mums were talking at the wedding....and wham....we realise we know each other...... :laughing: I definately think too much

here are some more random questions

Where is lottiesmum?

Fairy Floss - How is Elena doing with her swimming lessons? How is it going leaving her with your MIL?

Rachel - How is little Dean going?

I definately have been thinking too much today

shed
26-03-2007, 19:15
I walked in and he was standing on his father's lap babbling cheerily right until he saw me. The moment he clapped his eyes on me, he started bawling - the kind of cry he usually reserves for bumped heads. No smiles, no hi mum, just arms outstretched and all out howls. It seems he only misses me when he realises that I am now present after being missing. Retrospective loneliness.

This is exactly what Baden does. He is crushed when he sees me. Its kinda weird. When I get home I have to sneak into the loo quickly before he sees me because if I greet him first and then pop out of the room it devastates him even more.

I am SO tired tonight, I fell asleep during the Biggest Loser and had a dream that I was asleep in my school uniform at my auntys house, where I used to live when I wore a school uniform.

Anyway, I have been meaning to ask our resident preggo, what names are you thinking of noosamum? I know its early days, but you can muse over them with us can't you? I am dying to know!!!

cheekypossum
26-03-2007, 19:27
I am SO tired tonight, I fell asleep during the Biggest Loser and had a dream that I was asleep in my school uniform at my auntys house, where I used to live when I wore a school uniform.

!!!

mum_I'm_hungry
26-03-2007, 19:44
:wave: thanks for reading, Mumstar! You guys have all been lovely about reading my books. My husband and I have always been a bit :confused: as most of our friends never buy or read them. The ones in Brissie never read my column, either. Even the ones with kids! Not that I think everyone should stop what they're doing and read my stuff or anything, but I just know I'd read theirs if the tables were turned. If only because I thought I might make an appearance!!!

Tash, I was thinking a bit too much today too. I was wondering how the wedding planning is going, Shed. Or are you going to elope? Hard to make a quick getaway with all the baby gear in tow, though! I know it takes us about a day and a half to pack the car for a half day trip! :D

And SJ, how is Scarlett's pre-school going now? How many days does she go?

Craziness here tonight. Teddy poo'd through his wondersuit, right onto our bed! :eek: Naturally, he managed to miss the doona cover, go straight for the sheet, through the bottom sheet and through the mattress protector. Meanwhile, Ivy slammed her foot in the door and made her toe bleed. It took us about an hour to recover!!!

wattle
26-03-2007, 19:54
Crikey AlliJB, sounds like you all need a cup of chamomile tea you poor things.....er um maybe not Teddy or he might poop some more. :eek: I hope things improve for you.

Steph is doing the bawling when she sees me thing too!! It's bizarre. Then when she settles, she doesn't want me to leave her. How odd.

It's quite funny to watch the two kids together though, especially in the evenings when Max is being a complete twit. He trots around like he's a horse and she squeals with delight. Then he quietly goes over to her, smiles sweetly, then suddenly goes "BLAAAGH" really loudly in her face.....so she cries. :rolleyes: Then he's sent to his room for bad behaviour, and she cries more because she wants him back. Hmmm go figure. :confused:

biscotti
26-03-2007, 20:00
Anyway, I have been meaning to ask our resident preggo, what names are you thinking of noosamum? I know its early days, but you can muse over them with us can't you? I am dying to know!!!

I have started thinking!!! - I really really like Theo for a boy but Clio and Theo ?? - :laughing: I don't think so! I also like Thea for a girl, and of course still like Tilly and Charlotte, oh and Charlie all from last time around. I think also quite like Tom, Joe and Will (just nice solid names), but ahhh early days yet, you guys have got months and months of this to listen to :laughing: :o

Shed - Like Alli, I was wondering about your wedding too - what's happening???

Noosamum XX

shed
26-03-2007, 20:03
oh the wedding. Bliddy thing that it is.

I am currently trying to plan a bit of a "Bogan Do" which I am a bit more excited about than I was about the whole receptiony thing, although DP is hesitant - due to the bogan factor of it, heh.

Just hire a hall, a caterer, a DJ, whack on a whitish dress and get married and parteeee. I think that sounds like fun and much more manageable than the other way of doing it. So I will keep you posted on developments.

Oh and by the way, I LOVE Bunnings. I walk around dreaming about all the lovely projects I am going to do. I bought a jigsaw from there and some MDF wood sheets and had a lovely old time cutting out shapes. That was my last foray into Bunnings, a while ago now. I love it nearly as much as I love Spotlight.

mum_I'm_hungry
26-03-2007, 20:05
:thumbsup: Well, I think Theo is pretty good. Obviously! That's funny, though, noosamum, as Cleo was on my list for a girl!

wattle
26-03-2007, 20:06
Oooh Shed I'm a Spotlight addict too. I love it :

Do you mostly hang around the wool isle? :laughing:

shed
26-03-2007, 20:06
I LOVE the name Thea.

I am a 80's teenager remember, and I distinctly remember a baby called Thea on one of Molly Ringwalds movies. It was short for Theadosia, but we can just stick with Thea!!

I love Theo too.

shed
26-03-2007, 20:09
Yes, the wool, always the wool.

Except if I am on a sewing phase, then its the material, or painting phase - the paints.

but yeah, mostly the wool.

Baden HATES the wool section at Spotlight. He always protests when we go there. After about ONE minute he starts b!tching about it. Because he knows mummy just stands there staring, not moving and not talking to him or looking at him, just staring straight ahead, looking at the wool, for ages and ages and ages

mum_I'm_hungry
26-03-2007, 20:09
Ha ha. One of my friends totalled his car because he loves Bunnings so much he forgot to watch the road as he passed one. He was fine. The car... um, no.

A bogan do sounds fun! We went to an engagement party a few years ago that had to be seen to be believed. It was not even tounge-in-cheek bogan! It was in the cleared out garage of his parent's double storey brick house and the chairs were lined up in a semi-circle. Punch and chip and dip, baby! All the doctors were a bit shocked, but I LOVED it! I was like a pig in mud! I wanted to go out into the back yard and run around the Hills Hoist like a crazy thing -- like I was ten years old again and allowed to stay up past my bedtime!:laughing:

mum_I'm_hungry
26-03-2007, 20:11
The weird thing is, Teddy was meant to be a Theo, but when he popped out, he just... wasn't. We tried calling him that for the first few days, but before we left the hospital, he was a firm Teddy.

wattle
26-03-2007, 20:14
Hahahaha, thats hilarious Shed. It's exactly what Steph does. She gets all excited thinking we're going shopping and then when she realises we're in Spotlight she suddenly gets all grumpy and fidgety.

I wheel her up to the rolls of material now so she can try and unroll them all, while I gaze at everything in the one spot for ages.

Its hard work getting a pram down those aisles though, especially when there's rolls of material lying on the floor!!

biscotti
26-03-2007, 20:22
I LOVE the name Thea.

I am a 80's teenager remember, and I distinctly remember a baby called Thea on one of Molly Ringwalds movies. It was short for Theadosia, but we can just stick with Thea!!

I love Theo too.

It was "Maybe Baby "!!

God I'm sad - I really need to get a life :laughing:

Noosamum XX

biscotti
26-03-2007, 20:27
Remember Sixteen candles Shed? And The Breakfast Club???

biscotti
26-03-2007, 20:28
Oh and Pretty in Pink!!

Quality films :thumbsup: :D

biscotti
26-03-2007, 20:33
Back to the name discussion for a sec - Really love Theo, I mean I love it, but I just think Clio and Theo is a bit over the top iykwim :D .

There isn't a boys name I like as much as that one, but early days, early days :yes:

And Thea is on the top of my list :thumbsup:

Must go to bed, C woke up at 5 am and it has taken it out of me tonight.

:sleeping:

Noosamum XX

Beany
26-03-2007, 21:34
Noodle picked Althea as a girl's name. Didn't like it. Vetoed it. If Asher had been a girl, she'd be called Aria. Though Sara and Zaina made the shortlist, too.

We also agreed on Adam for a boy. I liked Nathanial and Mikael (yes, as in old Gorby) but he hated those. He liked dodgyarse names that I can't remember now. Must have blocked them out.

Uniquey
26-03-2007, 22:08
I LOVE the name Thea.

I love Theo too.

Me too Shed! Brings back good memories of my 80's movies day, Valley Girl, 16 Candles, Pretty in Pink, Breakfast Club, Less than Zero, St Elmos Fire, aahhhh the memories!:D

missie_mack
26-03-2007, 22:16
Ha my husband always always wanted a daughter named Aphrael. I told him from go he will have to wait for his next wife :laughing: We had agreed on Lorelei but no girl. We have it reserved for future babies though. I too really like the old fashioned masculine names. Im a big fan of Hugh. Really old fashioned I know but I just like it. DH cant stand it.

Shed what about a surf club? It would give you a nice background and Ive seen some nice things done in surf clubs. Botannical Gardens could be nice too. You could do a posh champagne luncheon type thing. Mount Annan is meant to have a nice botannical gardens never been there but its a thought. Weddings do tend to get expensive especially if there ceremony will be there.

Noosa- I loved Breakfast Club. One of my favourites along with Footloose.

Alli- Funny what you said about your friends etc being in your books. When you were talking about your cat the other day... or was it week? I remembered you had a neurotic cat in one of your books....

Welcome MumofAnthony your son is a cutie!

DS has learnt a horrific trick in the last two days. He puts both of his feet flat on the ground with straight legs and starts walking his hands backward as far as he can get. It started with only 1 straight leg today its 2. Im not happy :( what happened to the widdle baby who I gave birth to just over 6 months ago. I dont like standing or walking. I dont like it being this early. I dont like this starting early thing. I dont want to hold him back but cant he please please be much more considerate and start at 12 months??

Well Im another year older tommorrow :banghead: I dont like birthdays they mark another year to grow a few more wrinkles. Despite what Ive been told they do not add character, they just remind me I need to save more money for my face lift. I have also realised that having a baby makes you feel older again. Blah! Prebaby I could have considered having a few too many drinks waking at midday having a few more and forgetting the day existed :D Ah the good old days....

Fairyfloss
26-03-2007, 22:19
If Asher had been a girl, she'd be called Aria...
Hang on a sec, isn't that a boy name? :confused:
noosamum:I love Theo, it is the kind of name that does not age
Cathy: Congrats, better watch my word from now on :D !!!

AlliJB:cyber hugs coming your way:hugs:
shed: I only had 20 people in my wedding and we had it in my parents back yard, the only thing I spend large money on was the photos, cause I bought the copyright. just because it is simple doesn't mean it is not fun , good luck

Welome to all the new comers, it is lovely to have you join us.

Us:
last night I found black dots of teflon in DD's food, must have come from the scratch in the pot, so they all got thrown out, and DD had to have baby food out a jar, but she would not touch it, it is so strange, I would have thought sice they have a whole lot more stuff in them bubs would like it taste, and it was n't like she was having something new, it was pumpkin and corn, which she loves (we I cook), is this normal, are there any other bubs out there who are refusing to eat commercial food, and will only eat home made?
what will happen if we are out and I ran out food for her, this is so not fair!!!!.

well at least MIL took good care of her and cooked her a bit of potato and rice. So glad she is not going to child care. does that make me a bad mum, the fact that MIL had to cook for her?.
Hopefully it won't happen again, got a new pot, got new veggies, so she will have yummy vegies in no time:D

God I am blabbering, night night

Fairyfloss
26-03-2007, 22:22
:smiliedance: :party: Happy Birthday Missie :party: :smiliedance:
oh have the drink then hide the mirrors, remember out of sight out of mind

Uniquey
26-03-2007, 22:28
Erica and Tash:hugs: to your sick little girls, I hope they get better soon.

Tash Scarey about that shooting incident in Cairns huh!

Jane I have been meaning to ask.. did you ever find out what, if anything, Scarlett was allergic too? I seem to remember you had a bit of a wait to see a Specialist.

Noosamum I like the names you chosen thus far, especially Theo and Thea, but can see your point with the ryhming! I wish your SIL had never said 'silly Tilly' to you that time, as I think it's a lovely name. I had so much fun choosing names, and to this day still try and think up names. My DH always watches the movie credits for inspiration, mind you, he is the same guy whom named one of our Cats, Bok Choy!

US Today I spent a good few hours traipsing around the shops convincing my DH how much we 'needed' a Bugaboo, so we went off to test try some, and instead bought a video camera:detective: I think I will layby the Boo or at least take out a small mortage to buy one:laughing:
Has anyone else's baby found the stereo/tv controls yet? Our little terror tot has found the various knobs and buttons a real play area. I didn't think I'd have to worry about that sort of thing for ages, how wrong was I!

missie_mack
26-03-2007, 22:30
are there any other bubs out there who are refusing to eat commercial food, and will only eat home made?

Try Only Organic jar food. DS really seems to like these and I like the fact they are organic :yes: they smell ok too. Today DS had the fruit muesli. For baby food it wasnt the worst taste (I attempt to taste all of DS's food except for when it looks gross where I make DH taste it :D )

I will take on the tip about the mirrors BTW

Fairyfloss
26-03-2007, 22:45
one of them was "only Organic" the other two were hienz organic. I am so confused she loves commercial yoghurt, that just does not make sense, I still have a whole heap left though so will keep trying:fingerscrossed:

Uniquey:
Has anyone else's baby found the stereo/tv controls yet? according to my DD they are very yummy too:D I ended up giving her an old remote that no longer worked just to chew on !!!!

mum_I'm_hungry
27-03-2007, 05:54
Happy b'day Missie! happybirthday Eat some cake for me! Two slices!

How weird, Parisa. I was just going to post and say Teddy will only eat food from a jar! I've made him yummy sweet potato and stock, apple and blueberry, apple and raspberry (he kind of liked this one), plain apple, apple custard (loved that), but he prefers jars of food, the little tyke! He likes those organic ones as well. Not sure what to do? :confused: I don't suppose it really matters...?

MountainGirl
27-03-2007, 06:45
HI All,... A quick one as I am buggered and have to get Scarlett to preschool,... Which by the way, she now hates going to,..so I have to peel her off my leg kicking and screaming,.. she starts the day at 6:00 saying "No preschool Jack Mummy,..' Arrrggghhhh,... the upside is that as soon as I am out of sight she is fine,........

Just had to say that I am totally scared and befuddled by Spotlight,. there is so much stuff there that I would have no idea in hell what to do with! Jasper and I went there the other day in some vague search for material dye,.....we escaped when I realised I was in way over my head! There are isles and isles filled with different sorts of pieces of paper and stickers and little bits of stuff!??!?!? What the hell for??????:detective: I don;t get it,........

Happy Birthday Ellen!! Hope you have a lovely day, and get some beautiful jewellery,.... Cartier has a store in Mildura, yes????!!!!

Names - I really like Tilly, Noos,..... Not too sure about Theo,.... that;s only cause I knew a very hairy man called Theo and it makes me shiver!

Mon - Go the Boo!!!!! You are right,...you do NEED one!!!!!

Off to make school lunch,... jeez that is a boring thing to do,.. And to think,..I have to do it every week day now for the next 18years,.....arrrgghhhhhhhh,.....

Oh,.....here's something funny,... I put Jasper in his highchair this morning and placed him next to the kitchen bench, upon which was a large slice of banana bread for Scarlett's brekkie,... turned my back,...and it had GONE!! The little blighter had reached over for it, grabbed and eaten in the space of a couple of mins!! Then smiled a big cakey smile at me!

And Parisa,......Jasper will not eat commercial food,..and I can hardly blame him.....they are so bland,.. Last night for dinner I made him pumpkin and potato mash with sour cream and coriander,...boy did he eat that!!!!

biscotti
27-03-2007, 08:15
are there any other bubs out there who are refusing to eat commercial food, and will only eat home made?
what will happen if we are out and I ran out food for her, this is so not fair!!!!.

Fairyfloss - have you tried the Baby Boost range (near the yoghurts in the supermarket) - it is the only commercial food that I buy and they actually taste like real food that you would make yourself. C only has them once a week or so, except for the fruit ones and she has one of those every day if I don't have something fresh handy.

None of my three have ever eaten the commercial baby food in the jars like the Heinz ones or the Golden Circle etc, not that there is anything wrong with them, I just don't expect my kids to eat something that I wouldn't eat myself, but we are foodies here, we just like the real stuff :)

BTW - just so you know - there is a dead rat (or giant mouse) on my front doorstep :barf: Aren't you glad I shared that - :barf: I have never seen a rat in Noosa before and now there's a dead one, I can't even go out to get the paper, had to go out through the garage. BLERK.

Back with more soon.............

Noosamum XX

mumstar
27-03-2007, 08:19
:party: :party: Happy Birthday Ellen:party: :party:

biscotti
27-03-2007, 08:24
happybirthday happybirthday

Happy Birthday Missie_Mack

:party:

I hope you have a wonderful day.

Noosamum XX

biscotti
27-03-2007, 08:25
ooooh mumstar - that was pretty !! :yes:

Beany
27-03-2007, 08:33
Happy birthday Ellen! :party:

biscotti
27-03-2007, 08:34
Me too Shed! Brings back good memories of my 80's movies day, Valley Girl, 16 Candles, Pretty in Pink, Breakfast Club, Less than Zero, St Elmos Fire, aahhhh the memories!:D

Oh I loved St Emos Fire - saw that about 6 times I think! I had a bit of a thing for Rob Lowe and that Andrew (McCarthy??).

Noosamum I like the names you chosen thus far, especially Theo and Thea, but can see your point with the ryhming! I wish your SIL had never said 'silly Tilly' to you that time, as I think it's a lovely name.

Ahhh she's a goose but I was a bigger one to take any notice of her. I still Like Tilly - I don't think it suits Clio though, funny that. Like Alli was going to called Teddy Theo but he turned out to be a Teddy.

Names - I really like Tilly, Noos,..... Not too sure about Theo,.... that;s only cause I knew a very hairy man called Theo and it makes me shiver!

Noosamum XX

Uniquey
27-03-2007, 08:39
Noosamum It's not me that doesn't like the name Theo, I like it, honest. Can't say I know any hairy Theo's:laughing:

biscotti
27-03-2007, 08:39
:thumbsup: Well, I think Theo is pretty good. Obviously! That's funny, though, noosamum, as Cleo was on my list for a girl!

Well we have excellent taste :D

biscotti
27-03-2007, 08:40
Noosamum It's not me that doesn't like the name Theo, I like it, honest. Can't say I know any hairy Theo's:laughing:

:laughing: - something happened with the multiquote thing there - I think it was Jane who knows the hairy Theo :laughing:

Uniquey
27-03-2007, 08:41
Oh.....but I DO, DO, DO like Andrew McCarthy:yes: my walls were plastered with his face all through the 80's . He was vying with Morten Harket for wall space, believe me:D

biscotti
27-03-2007, 08:43
Shed - come and get married on the beach here in Noosa and have a do at the surf club or Season (two entirely different options there!! Both great venues, but entirely different iykwim)
I will supply the flower girl, frangipanis to throw at your feet and the tealights to mark your path up the sand :D

Noosamum XX

Uniquey
27-03-2007, 08:45
Happy birthday to you, Happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear MissieMack, Happy birthday to you. Hip, hip hooray, hip, hip hooray *insert claps here*:yelclap:

Have a good'n and make sure you forget about those wrinkles and eat lot's of yummy cake and drink lot's of yummy Vino.happybirthday

Love Monique:smiliedance: and Co x

biscotti
27-03-2007, 08:46
Oh.....but I DO, DO, DO like Andrew McCarthy:yes:

I was in lurve with him, even in his very bad movies, I still loved him. Actually I still like him, he was on Law and Order last year and I nearly fell off my chair - he looked/sounded the same!! Ah, be still my beating heart :laughing:

Uniquey - how old are you that you rememeber Andrew McCarthy :detective: :D

lottiesmum
27-03-2007, 09:03
hello all,

been too tired and busy of late to get on here...sadly the cleaner we found turned out to lack cleaning skills (well IMO anyway) which at $35 an hour i expect hotel grade cleanliness! back to square one.

congrats Noosamum!! wonderful news and how very very very exciting. wish i could copycat your family with 2 lots of 2, but i've yet to convince DH to consider a 3rd... i think that is so marvellous. i hope you have a peaceful and enjoyable pregnancy...btw love the name thea...but clio and theo does have a touch of hollywood about it!

Missy mack belated happybirthday! hope you celebrated with lovely cake and bubbles.

molly ringwald...now there's a blast from the past. yep - right up my teenage alley.

shed
27-03-2007, 10:08
Happy Birthday Ellen.

Noosamum stop throwing in other options or I will have to start the whole planning process over again! No, its decided, a hall somewhere round here will do.

I never liked Andrew McCarthy. Too wishy washy for me.

I was in the loo this morning, at work, and it was so peaceful, no whingeing from the other room, no rushing, no TV blaring or toys making their toy sounds, it was so peaceful, so I got to thinking about this and that, and all of a sudden it all hit me. Wherever I go now, whatever I do, Baden has to come too. If I really want to move to Adelaide I have to convince DP. If I want to do anything I have to convince DP, I can’t just up stakes and go.

We have been together three years and sometimes it still feels like we are still getting to know each other. And now we have this baby. Its kind of strange really to think that such a short time ago I was swanning around Europe on my own, picking the next country to go to, and now I am all grown up, shacked up and have a son named Baden.

Holy sheeite When did this all happen??????

missie_mack
27-03-2007, 10:53
Yes I know how you feel Shed.... babies mean you will have to look at your partner one way or another for the rest of your life. This should make the marriage thing less scary because its easier to end a marriage IYKWIM

Andrew McCarthy- I was just wondering what ever happened to him he did all those Mannequins on the move movies. He sorta just dropped off the face of the earth..... As for 80's heart throbs I will always have a soft spot for the bad boys I use to like Judd Nelson but um looking back Im not sure why. Who was that bloke who played Booker on 21 Jump Street? and whatever happened to him?

missie_mack
27-03-2007, 11:45
Oh thanks everyone for the birthday wishes :o

wattle
27-03-2007, 12:37
Happy Birthday Missie_Mack. Congratulations on reaching the ripe old age of......hang on, how old are you???? (Probably not as old as me, I think I'm the geriatric of the august mums :o )

Anyway, cheers and hope have a lovely day full of lovely bubby cuddles.

SJ - ooh Shed and I need to take you to a Spotlight party. I reckon I could just move in there. They even have beds and linen! (and no snoring husbands:smiliedance: )...hang on, there's no food there. Oh well, ditch that idea.

Noosa, that sounds lovely. I could do with some frangipanis and tealight candles on the sand. ah bliss.

Jess - hows things going with you today?

shed
27-03-2007, 12:43
wattle, you are younger than me. by a month or so!

and I am younger than noosamum :yes: .

Well I am!! :p :laughing:

biscotti
27-03-2007, 12:55
(Probably not as old as me, I think I'm the geriatric of the august mums )

No - that would be me :o
wattle - I am 40 this year.

wattle, you are younger than me. by a month or so!

and I am younger than noosamum

OI!! Duck and weave shed, duck and weave...

And I am younger than....than....than...:confused: - pfffffttttttt :rolleyes: :laughing:

Noosamum XX

wattle
27-03-2007, 13:04
Good gracious Noos, only 20 years until you can apply for your seniors card :laughing: I know, horribly cruel aren't I.
Remember - with age comes wisdom. :yes:

biscotti
27-03-2007, 13:06
Oh gee thanks wattle - that's something to look forward to.

wattle
27-03-2007, 13:11
Well at least you can get a cheap bus fare to Clio's 21st :D ......ok, sorry, I'll stop now.

mumstar
27-03-2007, 13:27
Hahaha you guys are funny... i suppose i can have a giggle coz im still a spring chicken...

oh by the way missie u share the same bday as my mummy!!!

missie_mack
27-03-2007, 14:06
Well at least you can get a cheap bus fare to Clio's 21st

:eek: Come on Wattle thats a low blow! But you know Noosa you might get a seniors discount on hiring the function room..... :p
Funny how we think of that being old my Grandmother was 45 when she had my Mum (and that wasnt considered unusual!) and my Mum has a younger sister....

oh by the way missie u share the same bday as my mummy!!!

Yes people born on this day are a interesting breed. If I remember rightly I also share a birthday with Hugh Heffner. Answers a lot of things really :detective:

Oh Wattle I am 28 today my brother kindly reminded me today that my youth was lived last century :(

wattle
27-03-2007, 14:12
Thats right Missie Mac. I saw Hef shaking his booty this morning on telly with his 3 girlfriends :eek: He's 81 today!!!!!!!!!! Go get 'em tiger. grrrrr. :laughing:

wattle
27-03-2007, 14:18
Just thought I'd share this with you all.

I put Steph in her chair this morning after she woke up. Max was in the lounge and I left them alone for about 2 minutes. I returned to find this... :eek:
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/hardhat.jpg

(No guessing who put the hat there!)

Beany
27-03-2007, 14:23
Missie: tell your brother to bog off. 28 is a fantastic age!

Guess how old I'll be in July? :D

Wattle: oh poor helmet head Steph. Could be worse ... imagine the stuff that Max could do to her and she wasn't wearing a helmet :eek:

By the way, I am terribly envious of all these footsie clothing wearing babies. I keep looking at jumpsuits and having to reject them because they have enclosed feet. Asher's feet are HUGE. No, really. Really, really. Ask shed.

wattle
27-03-2007, 14:26
I was wondering where you were today Beany. :D
Bigfoot eh? Perhaps Shed can knit him some nice sock shoes?

Mrs Potts
27-03-2007, 14:42
Happy birthday Missie! Hope your day was fabulous!

Just passing through today. I have read everything but I'm feeling like cr@p so not up to much at all. Miss K is still sick too, so she's home from daycare, which means that I'm home from work. Probably just as well considering how rotten I'm feeling. At this rate I think we'll both be home again tomorrow too.

Sorry for no personals. Stay happy everyone! :wave:

missie_mack
27-03-2007, 15:10
By the way, I am terribly envious of all these footsie clothing wearing babies. I keep looking at jumpsuits and having to reject them because they have enclosed feet. Asher's feet are HUGE. No, really. Really, really. Ask shed.

Yeah they were last time I seen him :yes: Maybe Shed can knit him those really trendy sock slippers that old grannies use to make. You know they are all knitted sock except for the little leather sole. He may well start a trend ??
Not to worry Beany James is soo skinny in the middle that if I put him in pants long enough for his legs and fit his feet he cant hold em up. He is still wearing 000 shorts. Someone in DHs family tried to tell me I should be putting him in braces. I had images of my baby looking like a grandpa with his singlet braces and pants :no:

I meant to give you all the download on those girls who glued their chins together. Apparently there is this website where you submit videos and everytime someone downloads them to their mobiles you get paid for it.... weird huh

Beany
27-03-2007, 15:14
I was wondering where you were today Beany. :D
Bigfoot eh? Perhaps Shed can knit him some nice sock shoes?

Perhaps she could ... except Baden would do his nut as she stands there in Spotlight, piling more and more wool into the basket ...

He's really out of sorts again today. Was up six times last night. Six!! I thought the newborn days were behind us! Well, some of us ( :wave: Noosamum! hehehe!).

His poos are lumpy again. Maybe he's teething again. Already? Weren't we meant to get a break? And some nights of him sleeping through? (I can dream!)

Beany
27-03-2007, 15:16
I meant to give you all the download on those girls who glued their chins together. Apparently there is this website where you submit videos and everytime someone downloads them to their mobiles you get paid for it.... weird huh

I wonder if they were downloaded enough to cover medical expenses ...

Silly girls.

biscotti
27-03-2007, 16:24
Hahaha you guys are funny... !!!

Oh yeah - they're hilarious :rolleyes:

:p :D

biscotti
27-03-2007, 16:26

:confused: Silly silly girls :yes:

Missie_mack - love the new avatar. :)

wattle
27-03-2007, 17:34
Mrs Potts - love your new avatar too, terrific grin!

Fairyfloss
27-03-2007, 17:51
Fairyfloss - have you tried the Baby Boost range (near the yoghurts in the supermarket) - it is the only commercial food that I buy and they actually taste like real food that you would make yourself.
Thanks for that I will try it next time I am running short on food.:thumbsup:

sorry Got to go more personals later:o

missie_mack
27-03-2007, 19:33
Thanks Noosa :D I do think my little James is becoming a little Junior Spunk ....

*munchkin*
27-03-2007, 20:32
Ohmygoodness! I've finally, FINALLY caught up on all the posts. Now it's my bedtime!

Thanks for the laughs throughout...you really are a funny lot (as in ha ha funny, not weird funny:D ).

A couple of quick personals...
Missie Mack - happybirthday

Alli - I really hope little Teddy is on the mend. Poor little tyke - and poor you with the worry of it.

Wattle - LOVE the avatar. That Steph makes me go all gooshy and clucky and I want to reach in and give her a big cuddle.

Noosamum - congrats again a million times. So exciting. Makes me all clucky (and slightly nauseous remembering the 2.5 months of incapacitation due to morning sickness).
Oh...and I loved Thailand. I've travelled lots of places...Africa, Nepal, Indo, Malaysia, Canada, Europe, Turkey and Thailand would be my choice for a short luxurious holiday. I did it on the cheap, but the islands are so beautiful and if you go upmarket, they are very hygenic etc. I don't know about Bangkok though...the smell would have made me morning sick 24 hrs a day. Mind you, I couldn't even walk out my front door until 20 weeks without vomitting!

Mumstar...that peg on the willie story made me laugh!

Shed...ooooh...an Astra! I LOVE them. Used to have one supplied by my work, and I miss it so much.

BEany...that Asher is a little smartie!

Jess - Riverside MArkets will let you sell imported stuff. My ex had an opal jewellery stand there where I spent many Sundays of my pregnancy.

:wave: Mrs Potts, LittlePickle, Amanda, Marcy, SJ, Uniquey, Littlejoy...and...and....sorry, brain has stopped :o

Em is becoming such a little character of late. Just FULL of beans - wriggling everywhere, hitting things, throwing things, chattering away (no words though), and laughing all day long. She's the happiest little soul. It makes me glad as I think her life will be easier if she has a happy nature.

She's up on all fours as of yesterday, so all of a sudden crawling is on the horizon. Still pooing like a poo-making machine. About 5 a day, but hopefully less as her system gets used to the MASSIVE amounts of food she is inhaling.

She's almost too long for size 0 now. But her waist is a 00. So she'll be swimming in baggy clothes that are tight on the crutch! I bought her size 1 jeans, and they are already 3/4 length on her. Long and lean, that girl.

She just makes me so happy - she looks at me and gives me the biggest grin, then just gurgles with laughter. Then I start laughing and we both carry on and on making each other laugh.

I miss her during the day, but feel so comfortable that she is with Mum. I'll probably fret when she's in daycare. I'm also enjoying having a conversation with Mum when I get home. I have been really really really struggling with loneliness at nights of late...just looking down a loooooong, seemingly endless tunnel of loneliness.

Anyway, enough of that. Lovely to catch up on all your news.

Sorry for another of my gas-bagging long posts!

mumstar
27-03-2007, 21:36
Jessi I Really Hope You Are Reading This Even Just Lurking... Please Chat With Us Soon... I Hope Everything Is Ok!!!

Fairyfloss
28-03-2007, 09:00
you guys are so funny, oh and the new avatars are so cute.
Munchkin: Glad your mum is taking good care of EM. come ver here and share your lonely night with us. cyber hugs coming your way:hugs:

ok, Feel free to skip this post but this is what I came home to after work yesterday, Elena's new hair cut.
[/URL]http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w287/parisakamali/100_2223.jpg[URL="http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w287/parisakamali/100_2223.jpg"] (http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w287/parisakamali/100_2223.jpg)
(http://i179.photobucket.com/albums/w287/parisakamali/100_2223.jpg)
MIL decided to cut her hair with out my permission, and she did a mightly job in turning my litlle flower into a clown:mad: . I mean what was she thinking, would you look at that uneven fringe :mad:. I was waiting for her hair to grow so I could tie it up with tiny cute clips and hair bands. and she officially rubbed me!!!! . Even worse she did not keep the hair, she throw it out.:banghead: NOT HAPPY JAN!!!!!!!!!!

I am sorry I know it was last night but every tim I catch a glimse of DD's hair I fumigate. I really should go and do something distracting . see ya

missie_mack
28-03-2007, 09:09
Oh Parisa.... :eek: ..... Im lost for words........... :no: :eek: what did your husband say?

wattle
28-03-2007, 09:24
NOOOOOOOOOO Flossy. :no:

Right now we need to give you a group August Mummies hug. :hugs: You poor thing. We're here for you, vent as much as you like.

:crying:

biscotti
28-03-2007, 09:28
Oh Parisa, OMG >>>>>>> :eek: :(

On a positive note - it is hair and it will grow but OMG - she had no right and OMG, a hairdresser she is NOT :no:

biscotti
28-03-2007, 09:31
Noosamum - congrats again a million times. So exciting. Makes me all clucky (and slightly nauseous remembering the 2.5 months of incapacitation due to morning sickness).
Oh...and I loved Thailand. I've travelled lots of places...Africa, Nepal, Indo, Malaysia, Canada, Europe, Turkey and Thailand would be my choice for a short luxurious holiday. I did it on the cheap, but the islands are so beautiful and if you go upmarket, they are very hygenic etc.

Thanks munchkin :hugs: for you though, you sound not so peachy with your looooong tunnel of loneliness. Ahhh munchkin - you are doing a great job! A GREAT job.

Noosamum XX

MRS P - hope your week has picked up :)

wattle
28-03-2007, 09:33
Hey there Noos. How are you feeling? Any m/s?

biscotti
28-03-2007, 09:37
Hiya Wattle -

I'm not sure if it is M/S or just general life catching up with me. Yesterday afternoon I felt decidedly blerghy when I was cleaning out the kids lunchboxes and this morning I was cleaning out the cat bowl and I had to almost do it with my eyes closed and my hand over my nose. Actually just thinking about that again has made me feel a bit :barf: :o

missie_mack
28-03-2007, 09:42
I'm not sure if it is M/S or just general life catching up with me. Yesterday afternoon I felt decidedly blerghy when I was cleaning out the kids lunchboxes and this morning I was cleaning out the cat bowl and I had to almost do it with my eyes closed and my hand over my nose. Actually just thinking about that again has made me feel a bit :barf: :o

Umm I feel blerghy just thinking about it too- Ive seen kids lunch boxes!

Beany
28-03-2007, 09:58
Munchkin: The loneliness will pass. You'll meet some gorgeous guy (that doesn't live in a hole), get married, and have a playmate for Em. Or get another dirty possum killer. Who you could name Cober.

It will happen. You're still young. Sort of :p

Flossy: :eek: at the nerve of the woman! I hope you gave her a piece of your mind! Elena still looks adorable, though, so don't worry about her looking "like a clown". But ooooh I'd still be spitting at the grandmother! The NERVE!

Noosamum: I gag and heave at the smell of kitty litter, too. I became sensitised to the smell when I was pregnant and still can't tolerate the smell. There are a few things like that ... I went off a number of things during pregnancy and still can't stand them now.

Asher is currently surrounded by masses of toys: rattles and rings, small critters, large Elmo and Cookie Monster toys, a duck, a toy cube thing with handles and pictures, the play mat with it's various activities. There's some kiddy show on TV. So what do you think he's doing?

Having a whale of a time with an empty nappy box.

wattle
28-03-2007, 11:42
Ugh Noos, the icky jobs. Hopefully the nausea passes, it's so horrible. I was lucky to find a great homeopath who made me up a miracle non-nausea remedy. I still use it if I ever feel unwell. Actually let me know if you want his details, he does consultations over the phone as well as in person :thumbsup:

My parents just came to visit and mum helped me thread the overlocker. (I'm too dyslexic to work it out), so now its ready......what can I make????? Um..... aaaaagh if only I knew how to use it. They live 4 hours away so I don't see them that often. It'd be nice to have parents close by though. The inlaws are just around the corner, but it's not quite the same :rolleyes: . I'm really looking forward to doing mother daughter stuff one day, if Steph doesn't think I'm toooooo dorky and embarrassing. :o

shed
28-03-2007, 11:51
Munchkin: sometimes I envy you. I know that makes me sound very ungrateful for what I have, but its true. I used to be such a free spirit and I loved being able to do whatever I liked. I was single for most of my life, with the occasional hobby boyfriend thrown in here and there. I moved around and made snap decisions and my whole life is a patchwork of hair-brained schemes and experiences, right up until I met DP and since then its been pretty ….settled. I am still adjusting to it too.

Ah, ignore me. I am so annoying at the moment. Even I can’t stand me. DP is absolutely bewildered by me.

I’m pretty sure I have PND. Somebody please diagnose me. Either that or I am just an ungrateful cow who is determined to be miserable no matter what.

I love my DP, but sometimes I feel like he is a wall of opposition between me and my half-ar*ed ideas. And I always liked that about me. It made me quirky and interesting :laughing: . I was on my way to being a crazy old lady, just like I always wanted to be. But now I am just a fiancé and a mother. Settled down in the suburbs. In a house that I don’t even like.

If it was just me and Bade I would be gone from there in a shot. It would be so easy. A crazy old lady and her crazy little baby.

Sigh.

I should hit delete really…

Mrs Potts
28-03-2007, 12:07
Shed - firstly :hugs:. Secondly, please PM me or add me to msn if you want to chat seriously about the pnd thing. BTDT myself, and in fact have just started back on meds.

Noosa - thanks for thinking of me. Miss K is much happier today, albeit still a bit snotty, but nevertheless on the mend. Me, I'm getting there. As I just said I've started back on anti depressants and I'm having horrid side effects that I don't remember having last time I took them (although Dough tells me that I did). So amongst the incredible fatigue, nausea, light headedness and horrid taste in my mouth
things are looking up!

As for your morning sickness, have you tried seabands? They work an absolute treat, even though they might not be the most stylish fashion accessory. Get them from any chemist.

mumstar
28-03-2007, 12:13
hello everybody!

busy again today so just a quick line to say hi!!!

flossy: OMG i would be so angry! My sis cut noahs hair for me (it needed it and she is a hairdresser and she saved the hair) but i saw so upset that i missed it... by the looks of it it will grow back in no time!

got to go clean my house! stupid rent inspection... i cant wait till our house is built!

missie_mack
28-03-2007, 13:11
Shed- We all get cold feet and that thought of how-the-hell-did-I-get-here? I guess you need to decide the cause and what you can do now to improve the situation IYKWIM If the house is such a big issue maybe other options need to be looked into?? Even if your DH is the one with the cash that doesnt mean that your feelings and opinions arent valid. :hugs:

MrsP- If the side effects arent pleasant maybe go back and see the Dr and see what other options you have... :hugs: Yes you need a hug too

Munchkin- I cant imagine what its like to feel that way :hugs: I think I would feel so cheated as 12 months ago it doesnt seem that this wouldve been where you thought you would be.

I have a couple of spare hugs available if anyone is silently having one of those days too :hugs:

My Mum arrives tommorrow for the night. Um err family bring issues...... too much to discuss here and way too complicated to express in any detail. My Grandmothers estate has been finalised today and it has brought a lot of things to the surface for everyone. I will never understand how things became so complicated. I use to have such a wonderfully close family. My grandparents were like my own parents. We always went on holidays with them and seen them every weekend my whole life. I seen my Aunts and Uncles 3 or 4 times a week and my cousins are probably more like brothers and sisters. As someone said after my Grandmother passed. Its the end of a era and family as we knew it. People get so greedy/selfish over money and possessions........

MountainGirl
28-03-2007, 14:51
Parisa,....that is terrible!! Stupid woman!!! I wouldn't let my MIL anywhere near either of my kids with a pair of scissors!!!! But,..and sorry to write this,...I did have a bit of a giggle at the thought of you "Fumigating" at the thought of her!! heheehhehe!!!!!!

amandaw
28-03-2007, 15:34
He's really out of sorts again today. Was up six times last night. Six!! I thought the newborn days were behind us! Well, some of us ( :wave: Noosamum! hehehe!).

His poos are lumpy again. Maybe he's teething again. Already? Weren't we meant to get a break? And some nights of him sleeping through? (I can dream!)

Beany if it makes you feel any better (which of couse it doesn't really), this has been us of late too, but it's just starting to get to the point of lack of sleep really affecting us...we're both snipy at each other (and DH at Charlotte...even though we know she's not doing it on purpose)....the newborn comment and getting a break are uttered in this house regularly (and we're up to 6 teeth out, but it looks like the next 2 are already on the way...ARGGGG!!!)

sorry for lack of other personals...have read all, but way too tired to concentrate....sorry - will be back again soon

mum_I'm_hungry
28-03-2007, 18:34
OMG, Parisa. I do feel sorry for you -- this happened to me, too. I went to a conference and came back three days later to the airport, looking around everywhere in arrivals for my little girl... eyes kept glancing past this little boy who was about her size....

Um, no.

That little boy was my little girl. My little shorn girl. My husband did feel bad about it. He said he started giving her a haircut and then one side was uneven, so he cut it shorter, then the other side was uneven... and so on. I've never forgiven him!

My eyes were very wide thinking about a MIL with a pair of scissors, but that's probably just because if my MIL had scissors I'd be running in the opposite direction. She's crazy. Literally.

Hope you're feeling a bit better tonight, Shed. Have you seen anyone to see if it really is PND? I kind of envy you your free years, actually. I never had any of those. My husband and I have been together since we were 15 and 16, so... 16 years. Yikes. I regret never working overseas and things like that. I'd really love for Ivy and Teddy to have a gap year and do something like that. Or work overseas for a while. I have a British passport, too. What a waste! I could have worked there for as long as I wanted... Are you thinking of moving soon? Your house really seems to be a big weight on your shoulders...

Ooohhh, noosamum. Morning sickness. Yeurch. Hope it passes soon...

mum_I'm_hungry
28-03-2007, 18:37
Oops, forgot... Sydney gals, a favour to ask of you.

I have a friend with a little boy (4 months) who will be coming over from San Fran to go to a Sydney wedding 19 March. She needs a babysitter for her little boy from about midday till 6pm-ish. I was wondering if any of you have a good babysitter you could recommend? I think she's staying at an apartment in Darlinghurst, so they would probably want the babysitter there... :thumbsup:

*munchkin*
28-03-2007, 19:36
Sounds like a few of you need some of these :hugs: . I have lots to spare, cause I missed my little girl like crazy today, and still feel the need to hug her. But she's asleep!!
Flossy - OMG!!!! I can't BELIEVE she would do that! What was she thinking? Baby's first haircut is a big event (poor Alli...!!). I would be FURIOUS.

Noosa...YOU HAVE A LITTLE PERSON GROWING INSIDE YOU!!! Tee hee! Just had to say that.

Mrs Potts...:hugs: for you. I think you need hugs more than you are saying. You strong chicky you.

Missie Mack...families can be so silly sometimes. We love them more than anyone, but we can also **** each other off more than anyone.

Amanda...SIX TEETH!!! WOW! That's some impressive work! Munchy still only has 2 big toofy pegs on the bottom. And she's now giving big toofy grins and scrunching up her nose.

Alli...you made me think...we always want what we can't have. I was always so relieved that I didn't meet my true love when I was young, as I needed to explore the world and Australia before I felt like I could settle down. Lately I've been thinking...gee I wish I'd met my true love when I was young, then I wouldn't have had all this heartache and loneliness. :rolleyes: We never have it all, do we!

Munchkin: The loneliness will pass. You'll meet some gorgeous guy (that doesn't live in a hole), get married, and have a playmate for Em. Or get another dirty possum killer. Who you could name Cober.

It will happen. You're still young. Sort of

You always make me laugh Beany! I did get told I was 'beautiful' today. And it felt good. Which is pretty funny as he was a middle aged, paunchy, balding, unattractive old man. I've still got it...still attractive to the freaks :thumbsup:

WARNING...some Munchkin Babbling follows, so feel free to skip ahead...

Shed...dear Shed...I think you have a serious case of the Blahs. You know, funnily enough I am more tied down and 'un'free than ever before in my life. In fact, until I started this job I felt like I was wading through mud, I was so chained up and unable to do anything. Regardless of our situations, have a baby does make you feel tied down sometimes. But you know, you can still be the Crazy Old Lady (I was always going to be the Crazy Old Dog Lady with 50 Jack Russells...looking much more like a reality now!), but in a different way. Once our bubs are up and mobile and doing their poos in the toilet, we can start rolling down hills with them, and having water fights (ok..not in Brissie) and food fights, and sing and dance in public, and doing spur of the moment things that make them go "oh mum...you're so embarrassing".

I used to be a traveller...alway on the move. Hey, when I fell preggers I was in NT tour guiding! Now I plan to one day take Em bushwalking and camping, and to Nepal trekking with me. Even though that world of possibility is limited for me, I hope to open it up for her. I'm sure you too will do that for Badey. After all, he has half your Crazy genes!

I had a revelation yesterday - that this time in my life is just a phase. And it too will pass. So the good things will become cherished memories. But the bad things will pass and fade away so that you can barely remember them.

Sorry. Babbling. Again.

mumstar
28-03-2007, 19:45
one thing i have learnt with my kids is that they are hardy.. easy to please and love change. i got them very used to this early on... holidays, plane flights, we are even planing a camping trip ... they are better equiped than we think sometimes to adjust!

mum_I'm_hungry
28-03-2007, 19:58
That's so true, Munchkin, about the grass always being greener! I know both my husband and I think it would have been good for us to date other people (and um... sleep with them!!! :o), but it was never worth breaking up over. I know I'm lucky to have skipped the dating heartache. Especially because I've been hearing a lot about it lately. For some reason, I seem to be the person people call when they break up. :confused: One of my old uni friends got in touch with me yesterday. I haven't spoken to her on the phone in about four years, only a couple of intermittent emails. But yesterday she called because she'd broken up with her partner of ten years. I feel kind of honoured I'm the person they all turn to when they're down, but it would be really nice to hear from them when things are good, too! :rolleyes: This has happend to me three times this year already with old friends!

Oh dear. Got my new publicity photos today. Um... hmmm. Not much I can complain about, though. It's not the photographer, it's me! I really don't photograph well. And not just whingeing. I have a dodgy jaw (because I have a cross-bite) and it always looks weird in photos. My dentist wants to fix it, but braces, surgery and then more braces? No thanks. I will be whacking braces on my kids at the first opportunity if they need them...

missie_mack
28-03-2007, 20:24
I did get told I was 'beautiful' today. And it felt good. Which is pretty funny as he was a middle aged, paunchy, balding, unattractive old man. I've still got it...still attractive to the freaks :thumbsup:

Well I think you are a very Yummy Mummy with a gem of a daughter myself. Last time I checked I wasnt a freak... well not entirely a freak anyhow.
Balding, unattractive old men usually lavish their girlfriends with lots of love and affection... well they might :p You know what they say everyones looks fade its whats inside that counts and all that :ecomcity:

mumstar
28-03-2007, 21:38
im really excited i just got a message that one of my 2 friends that is preggers has just had her baby.... its a girl and she called it katie ann!!!

Uniquey
28-03-2007, 22:44
I was in lurve with him, even in his very bad movies, I still loved him. Actually I still like him, he was on Law and Order last year and I nearly fell off my chair - he looked/sounded the same!! Ah, be still my beating heart :laughing:

Uniquey - how old are you that you rememeber Andrew McCarthy :detective: :D

Nossamum I'm 32. I am a mass eighties addict, love 80's music and movies etc, such a fun time in my life. I really bummed actually, as Howard Jones was here in concert at a Leagues Club, but I don't have anyone here to babysit. I also am a HUGE New Romantics music girl:yes:

Uniquey
28-03-2007, 23:13
I believe a lot of these:hugs: and these:kiss: are needed in our lovely little group.

Lovely to see Munchkin and Amandaw back:wave:

Hello to everyone else missing in action, hope you and your babies are all well

Missie_Mack In answer to your question, 'Booker' on 21 Jump Street was Richard Grieco. He's only ever been in b-grade movies shows ever since. As for his sidekick Johnny Depp:D

wattle
29-03-2007, 05:13
Uniquey - love the new avatar.

Daylight savings changing has been a bit difficult.....the kids are up and wide awake at 5am each morning.... :sleeping: . Ds has a new fascination with the moon and stars, so we have to rug up and go outside while he goes "moon moon moon moon moon moon" for about half an hour, even if it's not there. Kinda cute really.

lottiesmum
29-03-2007, 07:02
my poor little DD has been very sick with an ear infection...she's been whinging for about a week...i thought it was a new (unpleasant!) phase but yesterday she really unravelled until at 4pm she started screaming and wouldnt stop crying...i gave her a cuddle and she was burning up. so I called the GP and they said to come down and our doc would squeeze us in. Poor little girl had a raging ear infection in one ear - and the other one was infected too - and a fever of 39. our GP said she'd probably been unwell for sometime - so i feel a bit rotten about that. her first time on antibiotics...you'd think i was giving her poison she carries on terribly and we have to hold her down to take it. i hate it. :thumbsdown: even bribery with assorted lollies doesnt seem to work...

AlliJB - any tips on medicine administering (sorry for asking the doctors partner!) oh and i also meant to say i read about you in an article in the Sun Herald magazine a week or 2 back. it was about modern love and marriage...nice to have a famous Augustian!
oh and i might be able to help with a babysitter in teh east - but what is the date? 19 march 2008??

wattle - congrats on your new status...hope we all behave for you :laughing: unlike you i'm loving daylight saving...my mornings now start at 6am rather than 5am! hope they settle down for you soon.

Parisa - :eek: what a shock for you...

Munchkin - :hugs: you know i think you are a remarkable woman. i try to be a person who sees what is good about the place I find myself in - not in a closed eye, saccharine, dorris day way. but in an acknowledge the hard bits, but move through it back into positivity kind of attitude i guess. you seem to do this and i admire it greatly.

shed - maybe if you start looking seriously at finding a new house you will see whether this will make you feel better...proximity to DH's work is not the only consideration and life quality is so important.

wattle
29-03-2007, 07:10
Flossy, I hope you're recovering from the hair incident. Luckily it won't take too long to grow again.

If this helps at all, here's a photo of ds after dh decided to give him his first haircut while I was out. :eek: I was NOT impressed. At all.
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/hair3a.jpg

*munchkin*
29-03-2007, 07:37
Well I think you are a very Yummy Mummy with a gem of a daughter myself. Last time I checked I wasnt a freak... well not entirely a freak anyhow.
Balding, unattractive old men usually lavish their girlfriends with lots of love and affection... well they might :p You know what they say everyones looks fade its whats inside that counts and all that

Shucks...thanks MM :o .
BTW: I probably came across as superficial...but that guy was just joking. I'm well into the attractive on the inside bit. Em's Dad weren't no oil painting!! He was a crusty old bachelor. But boy he had good genes :D .

Also...I'm SO not interested in meeting anyone. Ever. I think my whole life until now has been preparing me for being a single mum. I've never been one of those women who "need" a man. And to be honest, I've never really thought I'd meet "The One". I'm a bit of an odd mix of traits, and I can't imagine who would match that. Plus now add in a baby, and it's just not going to happen.

Despite my whingeing on here, I'm well equipped to be on my own and to deal with the emotional, mental and physical challenges. My friends have all said if they know anyone who could do it, it would be me.

Alli...I was amazed when a friend of mine got engaged. She was strongly Christian, a virgin and proud of it. Then when she got engaged she suddenly came out with "I wish I'd just slept around...what a waste of all those years"!!!!!!! I was flabbergasted!

I'm also the person people call when they break up, or are thinking of breaking up, funnily enough. Cause I'm known as the 'strong' one who can tell them how great it can be being on your own :rolleyes: .

But I don't think I'd have the guts to call someone after 4 years of no contact, just because I'd broken up with someone! That's a bit rude!

Lotties mum...hope your bub is on the mend.

*munchkin*
29-03-2007, 07:42
:laughing: :laughing: Wattle that cracked me up! What a hack job! And you're still married???!!!!!

mum_I'm_hungry
29-03-2007, 08:05
Whoah! That's some haircut! It actually looks like the poor child has some kind of strange hair disease. What's it called? Alopecia or something? Husband alopecia!!!

my poor little DD has been very sick with an ear infection..AlliJB - any tips on medicine administering (sorry for asking the doctors partner!) oh and i also meant to say i read about you in an article in the Sun Herald magazine a week or 2 back. it was about modern love and marriage...nice to have a famous Augustian!
oh and i might be able to help with a babysitter in teh east - but what is the date? 19 march 2008??

Oh, that's terrible. I hope she feels better soon. Make sure you watch out for those ears of hers and get in early with the grommets if you need to. I wish we'd realised with Ivy sooner, as she now has a speech delay we really have to keep on top of so it doesn't affect her long-term. Hmmm. Not sure about the medicine. Ivy is a complete hypochondriac who loves medicine/band aids etc.. When the medicine is really vile, like prednisone, I sometimes mix it in a bit of juice and then syringe it into her mouth (with something like the Nurofen/Panadol syringes), so you know it's still getting in. Too dicey to mix up in a larger amount of juice, milk etc. that they then may not drink and you don't know how much of the medicine they've taken in. Hope this helps a bit! If that fails, I'd go the treats. A mini easter egg or something? Bribery is my middle name!

Oh, and I'm such an idiot! I meant 19 May. Doh! Must go find my brain...

Alli...I was amazed when a friend of mine got engaged. She was strongly Christian, a virgin and proud of it. Then when she got engaged she suddenly came out with "I wish I'd just slept around...what a waste of all those years"!!!!!!! I was flabbergasted!

Man, and I'm not even slightly Christian! I only have myself to blame!

Well, both kids at daycare today, so off to do some work...

mama2one
29-03-2007, 08:23
Hello :wave:
I’m new to this site & Just wanted to introduce myself. I’m 21yr old single mummy to a beautiful little girl called phoenix. I hope to get to know all of you.. :smiliedance:

biscotti
29-03-2007, 08:52
Shed (and everyone :) ) - I think (and this is my opinion only) that when you have your first baby, your whole identity changes and that takes a while to get used to, you are no longer who you were and sometimes you don't know who you are going to be.

It takes time to adjust to this new normal and to find your place and your role in it and where you fit iykwim, but for most people it comes together eventually (maybe after a little bit of angst).

[I have just deleted a whole lot of waffle here]

This too will pass.

Noosamum XX

biscotti
29-03-2007, 09:03
....and moving on....

Welcome to mama2one :)

Lottiesmum - I have found when my kids were little that a syringe was the easiest way. Poor little Lottie.

wattle - love the new avatar, meant to say that yesterday! And that haircut on Max, oh dear!

But wait you guys (insert evil laugh here - bwwahahaah) until your children start cutting their own hair :eek: . When Miss 7 was Miss 2 she found a pair of scissors and cut herself a fringe......it was about 3 mm long. Lovely. :D

Uniquey - Howard Jones - OMG!!!!! Doing the rounds of the Leagues Clubs no less, my best friend in high school was in luuuurvee with him, even copied his hairstyle.

Munchkin - I loved reading how you were going to open up the world for Em through travel. Our kids are well travelled (and so is Ivy I think from what alliJB has said) - a benefit I have found travelling with kids is that they see things that you may not, I mean they see things differently and open your eyes up to different ways of interpreting experiences.

Gotta run, back soon,

Shed - I would have done excactly what you did yesterday re work, good for you, hope it works out!

Noosamum XX

missie_mack
29-03-2007, 09:12
Munchkin- Umm What the ??? is that pink thing in your avatar????????????? :confused: :confused:

Beany
29-03-2007, 09:34
Munchkin- Umm What the ??? is that pink thing in your avatar????????????? :confused: :confused:

It's a Booh Bah - a creature from a creepy as hell TV show of the same name.

Asher loves it. It freaks me out.

missie_mack
29-03-2007, 09:50
It looks likesomething that could turn evil like chucky or a gremlin thingo.....

Beany
29-03-2007, 09:52
Which is why it freaks me out.

They bounce around doing weird dances and things. And they have just eyes! No nose or mouth! and they are completely bald except for that body hair ...

Creeeeeeepy!

MountainGirl
29-03-2007, 10:16
Jasper is just about to crawl,...the suspense is killing me!!!!! He swivels his leg around so that he looks like a hurdler mid-hurdle then plants his hands down,...and the big bum goes in the air!! Arrrgghhhhhhh!!! Just do the next step boyo!!!!!

We were just at our playgroup at the park and were filmed for ABC's Compass program,.....thank god the kids looked spunky!!!!

Shed, Munchkin,.and everyone else who is feeling flat, confused,..stuck,...etc,..:hugs: :hugs: It is a horrible feeling,..but I think Munchy summed it up well,..this is just a stage in your life and will pass,...will either get better or worse,.;or just different,..... so use it as research!!!!!!

Noos! How you doing today??? How is the little one going? I am reading Jools Olivers book atm and she got pregnant with Daisy when Poppy was just 12weeks old!!! Mental!!!! I am still so excited for you!

Wattle - that haircut looks like he has been eaten by moths!!!!!! Ha!!!

Welcome to all our new mums!! We seem to have a lot of new ones recently,..cool!

Lottiesmum - sorry to hear about DD;s ear,.... youch,.... re medicine,.. Scarlett loves it,...we make it into a game and syringe it into her mouth,.. she likes holding the syringe and trying to do it herself,........ :hugs:

Ummmm,........can;t remember the rest,..gotta go,..Jasper has started to go Mummummummumm which means he is either tired or hungry,.. knowing him it is both!

Mrs Potts
29-03-2007, 11:07
Hi everyone. Sorry for no personals again - I seem to be doing that a lot lately :o I just like to pop in and see what everyone is up to, but don't have much to say. If I'm not feeling 100% all the chatter is comforting IYKWIM?

I promise I'll try not to become one of those people who only ever posts about themselves and ignores everyone else :)

:wave: & :hugs: to everyone!

biscotti
29-03-2007, 11:14
I just sprayed coffee across my screen hahahaa

I was over lurking in the November When are You Due thread and in my usual pressed for time style started reading posts backwards (from newest back) and there was a

..."Congratulations BEANY :smiliedance: Way to go.." post

*mouthful of coffee sprays across screen from my gaping mouth*

And then another "Yay Beany :smiliedance: ".

Beany??? What the?? Going to keep me company???? OMG, Beany OMG!

But no, no, no - I kept scrolling back and a girl in there refers to her bubba to be as Beany and she had just had a scan and they found the heartbeat which she was a bit concerned about and the November girls were congratulating her and her Beany.

Anyone know how to clean coffee off an LCD screen?

Noosamum XX

Hi Mrs P - *wave*

mumstar
29-03-2007, 11:24
hi all

a big welcome to mam2one! we have had quite a few newbies lately!!!

well both the boys are still sick with colds but thank god they have been sleeping heaps!

troy finally put the alarm in my car and now i have central locking but while he was installing it kept going off all day! it was driving me mad... the reason troy has been home is coz he was supposed to be on night shift all this week... sleeping dueing the day and at about 5 pm each night they have been calling him telling him the job has been postponed... this means he is put on paid stand down... he didnt mind that at all getting paid for sleeping basically but i have to say he was driving me insane!!! well he thought he would have to work so was being really slack around the house and then not going to work... im really glad he is there today i think i would have throttled him if he stayed annoying me any longer... im just so used to our routine him being home and stuffing up mine drove me nuts... i havent really done anything i wanted to do this week :(

i think i will be spending a lot of time in hopsitals in the next couple of months... my aunty is still in there and my friend had her baby yesterday and my other friend is due in about 7 weeks so hospitals get used to me!!!

anyway better go and have a shower and get motivated got to get to the shops to pick up a present for my cousin! its his second bday tomorrow!!!

chat soon

biscotti
29-03-2007, 11:25
Noos! How you doing today??? How is the little one going? I am reading Jools Olivers book atm and she got pregnant with Daisy when Poppy was just 12weeks old!!! Mental!!!! I am still so excited for you!

Hi Jane - I'm great today, :) thanks for asking!

How are you finding that book btw - I'm looking for something to read atm, let me know what you think :)

mumstar
29-03-2007, 11:25
OMG i nearly jumped off my seat reading your thread noosa! hehehe beany is there something your not telling us... haha good one noosa!!

MountainGirl
29-03-2007, 11:26
:eek: And hazelnut latte off a laptop screen! You freaked me out too Noos!!!

Beany
29-03-2007, 11:31
I just sprayed coffee across my screen hahahaa

I was over lurking in the November When are You Due thread and in my usual pressed for time style started reading posts backwards (from newest back) and there was a

..."Congratulations BEANY :smiliedance: Way to go.." post

*mouthful of coffee sprays across screen from my gaping mouth*

And then another "Yay Beany :smiliedance: ".

Beany??? What the?? Going to keep me company???? OMG, Beany OMG!

But no, no, no - I kept scrolling back and a girl in there refers to her bubba to be as Beany and she had just had a scan and they found the heartbeat which she was a bit concerned about and the November girls were congratulating her and her Beany.

Anyone know how to clean coffee off an LCD screen?

Noosamum XX

Hi Mrs P - *wave*

Gosh reading that made ME do a double take!

MountainGirl
29-03-2007, 11:32
Hi Noos,..;:wave: Book is ok,.... she isn't much of a writer though,....... Funny thing is that their little one Poppy has curly hair, and there are photos of the kids throughout the book,..Scarlett was looking at them and was convinced that the photos were of her!!! She looked at one with Poppy and Jamie Oliver and she said "Squidgy,...and,...not daddy?!",.... funny! I sad "No..not Daddy,..Spunky Jamie',...so she responded with "Yes,..Squidgy and Spunky Jamie!" She never even questioned it!! HA!!!

Want me to mail it up to you when I have finished it? I had to order it,..apparently it is out of stock everywhere,..... there must be lots of mummies who have nothing baby related to read,.. I can also send you 'The yummy mummys handbook' and 'Buddhism for mothers',... both interesting in different ways,... let me know!

biscotti
29-03-2007, 11:42
Want me to mail it up to you when I have finished it? I had to order it,..apparently it is out of stock everywhere,..... there must be lots of mummies who have nothing baby related to read,.. I can also send you 'The yummy mummys handbook' and 'Buddhism for mothers',... both interesting in different ways,... let me know!

Oh thanks Jane, how kind of you, if I can't track a copy down in the meantime, then, great, I'd love it if it is not too much trouble :) I've got nothing to read *wail*.
Noosamum XX

biscotti
29-03-2007, 11:43
Oh and Beany ?? ....I was slightly offended you hadn't told us first :laughing: :D

Noosamum XX

wattle
29-03-2007, 11:48
Welcome mam2one. Phoenix - what a beautiful name. What is she like?

Noos - you almost had me choking on my freddo frog there for a moment... How does it feel joining the nov group?

Jasper - go go go, you can do it. :D Isn't it the cutest thing watching them concentrate so hard. When are you going to be on telly?

Boo bah's, I love them. Are they still on telly? I haven't seen them for a while. I reckon they're all on some serious mind altering substances, but it's pretty adventurous stuff from the ABC.

Glad you all like Max's haircut, it's a day we'll never forget! So what do you do after such a butchering? There was no option really. http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/Aug3007.jpg
Fortunately it grows like lightening, because 7 months later it looked like this :eek:
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/play1.jpg

Beany
29-03-2007, 12:01
Oh and Beany ?? ....I was slightly offended you hadn't told us first :laughing: :D

Hey I'm offended that I didn't tell ME first!

And don't worry, if I should ever find myself up the duff, the Augustians will be the ... second to know :p

biscotti
29-03-2007, 12:08
Noos - How does it feel joining the nov group?

Like the new girl in school :laughing:

I have hardly posted there, maybe 5 times?? I don't know, it just doesn't feel right :laughing: Like something's missing....like all the augustians, you lot, come and crash the Nov thread so I feel more at home!

Noosamum XX

missie_mack
29-03-2007, 12:36
Hey you know Noosa you could always start a thread somewhere congradulating the Beany might be enough to make Mr Noodle run away from Bubhub so Beany no longer has to share??

We will have to be careful not to sit too close to Noosa, Ive heard pregnancy pheromones are meant to make women around the pregnant one more fertile :eek: (another pearl of wisdom from my DH :rolleyes: ...)

Ive been naughty today. I bought a big chunky gold bangle and the handbag from Devil wears Prada. Now Ive just got to hide the proof of purchase and try and convince DH Ive always had these "Oh this old thing... " ;)

Beany
29-03-2007, 13:30
Hey you know Noosa you could always start a thread somewhere congradulating the Beany might be enough to make Mr Noodle run away from Bubhub so Beany no longer has to share??

Hah! This would be the best time to play such a prank, too ... I've been a little off lately: slight nausea, headaches, tummy pain, smell sensitivity, sore breasts ...

I'm sure I'm not pregnant but Noodle did very worriedly suggest it the other night :laughing:

Now if only I knew how to make a home pregnancy test give a fake positive ...:devil6:

Question for breast feeders: does it make you feel hot? It was quite cool the other night and I was propped up feeding Asher in bed and couldn't bear to have the sheet over me. Noodle was snuggled back in under the sheet and, being the kindly though slightly dense man, he is kept trying to put the sheet over my legs to keep me warm. I kept kicking it away. He'd rouse from a snooze and put the sheet over me again ...

It's been happening for a while now. During the summer, I would inevitably need the air-con on while feeding him but not at any other point.

In other developments, Asher is trying to stand up. I'm trying to prevent this :laughing: He pulls himself into a kneeling position using the sofa, the bookshelf and, more disturbingly, his cot rail. Well that's a surefire way to make mum jump out of bed in the morning!

Beany
29-03-2007, 13:38
Missie what is THE handbag?

I've never really been one for designer handbags. The closest I got were a couple of Oroton ones. Which I bought at DFO type places.

When I have spare cash, I look towards iPods or laptops things of that ilk. Right now, I'm eyeing those DVD recorders ...

mum_I'm_hungry
29-03-2007, 14:10
:wave: mum2one! Definitely lots of new people, which is great. I kind of feel like I'm finally starting to pop my head out of my little baby mole hole, so maybe it's that!

I am all coming over to your houses. Coffee and freddos and things going splat on the computer screen? What have I got... a peanut butter sandwich. I think I need to go grocery shopping! Good to hear Beany isn't cheating on us! :D

That must be weird hanging out with the Novembers, Noosamum. I know a couple of times I've clicked on a wrong link somewhere and have accidentally been in September 2005. It's like a different planet! All the wrong names... weird.

What a flashback about that Jools Oliver book. I finished mine (library copy) just as my contractions started. Feels like a million years ago! I kind of liked its chatty, homey feel, but thought she was a bit of a nutter. If you were that loaded, why would you want to do all your own cleaning, chores etc. just to prove that you're a 'real' mummy. I'd rather be a 'fake' mummy any day! Especially when you have a three month old and are pregnant again. No shame in paying for all the help you can get then. Especially if your husband is always halfway around the world cooking for everyone else! I totally get the not wanting a nanny, but sweetie, get someone to clean the oven for you...:yes:

mum_I'm_hungry
29-03-2007, 14:14
Hello! Wattle! How cute is Max with his shaved head. I LOVE it!!! :thumbsup:

I am cracking up at these haircut stories. At least now we know why we have to hide the scissors -- not so the kids can't get at them, but to keep them from the haircut-happy dads!

missie_mack
29-03-2007, 15:30
Oh um if you have seen the movie its the one the assistant girl (I think her name was Andy??) has on her shoulder when a designer comments on what a great bag it is... because he designed it. Fortunately it really wasnt designer/ expensive (it was under $200) as the designer in real life was the chickie who does the sex in the city stuff (but it is sold out all over the world hence my excitement!). I just like the versatility of it. It folds into several bags. It was be a big bag on your shoulder or a messenger bag or a little handbag style.

missie_mack
29-03-2007, 15:33
Alli- I just LOVE your little house... :D

mumstar
29-03-2007, 16:21
OMG i think Aiden just broke my nose.... We were mucking around building a cubby house and he crashed into me making my nose bleed... thats just great considering i have a wedding to go to on sat!!!

littlejoy
29-03-2007, 17:41
Hello all!!!
I have been lurking for the last few days but did not have alot to write.... not feeling very well today.. :gloomy: Dh had to come home from work to look after Riley!!!

I can't believe how many broken (or near broken) noses we have had lately!! First Adele, the Jessi and now Mumstar!!! :thumbsdown:

Sorry for the lack of personals.. I just wanted to say :wave: Take care all!! DH is back with dinner no cooking tonight!!!

MountainGirl
29-03-2007, 17:45
Hmmm,...Mumstar - OUCH! Broken noses and Weddings seem to go hand in hand,... I have been to a wedding with a very broken nose,..stitches across my head and 2 lovely black eyes,..... not a good look,...

Missiemack - is there a picture of this bag? It sounds fab!

mumstar
29-03-2007, 18:24
well it stopped bleeding but i have one cracker of a headache!!!
it might not be broken but omg it hurt really bad... i couldnt get in to see a doctor till tomorrow anyways so i will just wait and see how it goes!

i was just wondering if you could keep my friend hayley in your thoughts and prayers at the moment... as i mentioned she had her baby girl yesterday and she was premmie by about 6 weeks... she was ok after they put her in an incubator for about 30 mins but last night had some difficulty breathing so she was rush to the childrens hospital in perth... hayley is quite upset as she cant hold her little girl and hasnt even been able to breastfeed her yet. its also difficult as the babys hospital is in the city and her hospital is about 45mins away from there... thanks in advance guys

biscotti
29-03-2007, 18:39

:devil6:

Is that a dare I hear????

biscotti
29-03-2007, 18:45
Missie_mack - oooh, I want to see the bag too, I'll have to go and put the dvd on. Is it like an Angel bag ?? :laughing: (.....for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Shopaholic books :o )

Hi Little joy - glad you are popping in :wave: and I agree with you about the noses, wear protective safety gear girls!!

Mumstar - :fingerscrossed: for your friend's little bubba

Noosamum XX

mama anne
29-03-2007, 19:15
evening girls :)

i'm not going to lurk anymore, dammit i'm going to post. even if i think i have nothing interesting to say!!

haircuts have been having a little giggle to myself at everyone's bubbas new (well, some new, some old) hair ...... except for parisa's MIL's effort - OMG I would have been absolutely SHAKING with anger if my MIL did that to b. Perhaps you should accidently drop your keys down the side of her car?

theblahs yeah ............ sometimes here its the blahs, sometimes i wonder if its worse than that ..... and other times I'm fine. Its definately a weird stage this motherhood thing. Well, not a stage ...... but this part of it is a weird stage emotionally, well, for me anyway. I don't know if I'm arthur or martha half the time, let alone anne

beany congrats on the pregnancy (if i hadve been drinking when i read that i would also be cleaning my laptop screen!) ..... for your present i will give you ..... a cloth nappy :devil6: teeeheehee.

noosa hey chicken, have been enjoying sharing your journey again. You'll always be welcome here though - i mean really, why would you want to talk about pre-labour bowel movements with anyone else :laughing:

new people to the thread welcome! post away, don't be shy ....... we're a talkative bunch but i can honestly say there isn't too many bad eggs here :D

dh is at soccer training .... his first game's on sunday. When we were first going out (a million years ago!) he used to play, and I sat through 3-4 cold cold soccer seasons on the sidelines cheering for his team. He's had the last few years off ..... and now back to it. oh well, at least bella will keep me company!

Off to watch saving babies ........... now where are those tissues .....

biscotti
29-03-2007, 19:23
noosa hey chicken, have been enjoying sharing your journey again. You'll always be welcome here though - i mean really, why would you want to talk about pre-labour bowel movements with anyone else

Ah yes, that's the thing, I don't think I can... remember those midnight rendezvous you and I and Beany used to have - keeping the midnight watch :laughing: - how can I do that with anybody else :laughing:

So I'm staying put - you will all have to relive it all again through me if that's ok :o

mum_I'm_hungry
29-03-2007, 19:27
Oh, yeah. The cold, hard, wet ground of the soccer sideline. I know it all too well! I once got in trouble because I didn't see my husband (do? make? shoot? Can you tell I hate any and all sports?!) kick this fantastic goal. Why not? Because I was too busy watching a duck at the other end of the field.

So sue me. It was a cute duck. :laughing:

Good to see you're up to posting, Anne. That's a good sign!

Would go and watch saving babies except my own babies are still hyped up and roaming the house while my husband is off saving bloody babies. Nothing as spectacular as will be on the teev, though. A girl with a tumour, a kid with a splinter in his eye (ow!) and a 16 year old with an appendix that needs to come out. I liked one he had the other day -- a toddler with a gumnut in his ear. :laughing: I bet he won't do that again! I think he is currently spending most of his working hours trying to keep away from the fundraising easter choccies! I've noticed a few empty caramello egg bags in his work bag lately!!! :rolleyes:

biscotti
29-03-2007, 19:28
Now one of you, anyone....do the right thing by me and fall pregnant ok.

NOW.

Thank you.

Who is watching Saving Babies - did I just hear that right - that one of those twins dies in the womb :(

shed
29-03-2007, 19:31
Melbryan is preggernant. But she don't post here no more.

Don't look at me. I'm still in the spare room.

mama anne
29-03-2007, 19:36
ohhhhh my goodness just had a blubber at the two twins getting put in a cot together ....... :gloomy: :o

i'm actually thinking of going to make a milo noosa - want one?

alli i completely understand about the cute duck. It's the dogs that people bring to the soccer ground that distract me ...... the puppies especially. DH has all these plans for bella to yell at the other team to distract them (we're having a yelling phase atm) ....... she's so going to sleep through the games, i bet.

mama anne
29-03-2007, 19:38
yeah, sorry noosa .... you did hear that right :gloomy:

biscotti
29-03-2007, 19:42
i'm actually thinking of going to make a milo noosa - want one?

Thank you, I will .....*passes cup over *

Oh that was sooo sad :crying:

*munchkin*
29-03-2007, 19:44
Can I just say....

I love this thread. Love it.

OK. Wine-fueled love-fest over. On to the personals.

:wave: Mumma2one. Welcome! This is a very friendly (if slightly loopy) thread. I love the name Phoenix!!

Munchkin- Umm What the ??? is that pink thing in your avatar?????????????
Tee hee! I wondered if anyone would notice. My mum bought it for Em, and she's in love with it. Coos to it and chews its head.
It's so way out psychadelic it cracks me up..

It's a Booh Bah - a creature from a creepy as hell TV show of the same name.
Aha! Thanks for explaining where it came from! Mehinks the creator was dropping acid.

Mrs Potts...please do drop in and post just about yourself. Why not. We all love you and understand.

Now one of you, anyone....do the right thing by me and fall pregnant ok.

NOW.

Thank you.

OK. I've put in an order to God, and he said he'll consider whether I'm worthy of immaculate conception. Wouldn't want you to be lonely :D . BTW I love hearing about your pregnancy. Share all!

Mumstar...my thoughts are with your friend.

mama anne
29-03-2007, 19:44
*pours noosa a delicious milo and hands cup back*

anyone else?

mumstar
29-03-2007, 19:48
wine one night (attack of the possum) then someone has to get knocked up (hehe) and were all back on the milo!!!

well im sorry noosa but until by some miraculous miracle my iud doesnt work there will be no more babies from mumstar anytime in the future near or far!! work on some one else hehehehe

biscotti
29-03-2007, 19:48
*takes cup gratefully and puts other hand out for chockie bickie*

Noosamum XX

biscotti
29-03-2007, 19:49
OK. I've put in an order to God, and he said he'll consider whether I'm worthy of immaculate conception. Wouldn't want you to be lonely :D .

:laughing: :laughing:

Your current singledom (did I just make up a word) is no excuse by the way :D

ETA - and you Shed, ...being in the spare room is not helping!!

mama anne
29-03-2007, 19:52
*takes cup gratefully and outs other hand out for chockie bickie*

well ..... only cause you're eating for two :laughing:

*hands noosa a chocolate wheaten*
that'll help clear up the insides :D

biscotti
29-03-2007, 19:56
well ..... only cause you're eating for two :laughing:

*hands noosa a chocolate wheaten*
that'll help clear up the insides :D

:laughing: :p

mama anne
29-03-2007, 19:59
oh alright .... life's too short to eat digestive choccie bikkies

*hands noosa a tim tam, a mini cherry ripe, and six oreos*

there ya go love. but if anyone else wants any, you have to share :)

biscotti
29-03-2007, 20:03
oh alright .... life's too short to eat digestive choccie bikkies

*hands noosa a tim tam, a mini cherry ripe, and six oreos*
)

Ahhh - now that's more like it :yes: :D

And yes, I'll share.....with any other pregnant August mummies...no? Well all for me then :D

ok, time for me to toddle off to bed.

:sleeping:

Noosamum XX

mum_I'm_hungry
29-03-2007, 20:38
Go the Mirena, Mumstar! I'm keeping mine in too. Am typing with my :fingerscrossed: for your friend and her baby. Six weeks early must have been a real scare for her.

And Noosamum, I really hope your baby comes as fast as Izzy's did on Neighbours tonight. That baby popped out in about a minute and a half and two moans! If I ever have another, sign me up for one of those water births like Izzy had (that is, a boat on the Thames...!). :yes:

mumstar
29-03-2007, 20:57
oh i missed neighbours tonight!!

sounds like you all had a nice warm stay at home with the doona milo and bickies kind evening!

i had my folks come over for a visit and it was nice as apart from posting on here to you wonderful ladies i havent actually had any kind of adult contact today!

missie_mack
29-03-2007, 21:01
I have a no pregnancies wanted sign on my bedroom door. My Dh would be willing but you know.... ok Im greedy I want more paid maternity leave and I still dont go back to work until July 2008. However you arent alone in the time frames. A girl I work with is expecting another one and she gave birth about a month after me....

Um Shed- I dont think you need to be sleeping in the same room to make babies you know.

ETA- Im actually going to start one of those new Nuva rings. I considered the IUD but found the whole thing a little daunting:o

Beany
29-03-2007, 21:23
Noosa: love you though I do, I ain't getting knocked up for ya! :laughing:

Don't worry, though, I'll no doubt be around for the midnight watch this time around, too. Asher's sleeping habits aren't all that different than when he was in the womb ...

What's a Nuva ring? IUDs freak me out a bit so I'm on the mini-pill. So far so good but they would be so easy to forget one day. Not that it would matter right now, really. Asher is fantastic birth control ... every 90 minutes, he's awake and attached. After that sort of thing, I'm too knackered for anything more than a quick peck and falling dead on the pillow.

Beany
29-03-2007, 21:25
Oh I was watching Neighbours tonight and Izzy's birthing experience was outrageous. Even Asher was took offence and yelled at the TV: "Aaa? AAAAHHHGGAAAHHHMAAA!!" *jump jump jump*

missie_mack
29-03-2007, 22:05
What's a Nuva ring? IUDs freak me out a bit so I'm on the mini-pill. So far so good but they would be so easy to forget one day.
Its only just be approved for release in Australia but its been available in the US for a while. From what I understand its a rubber ring about 2cm wide and its inserted into your vagina. As long as the ring is touching the walls of your vagina it places the hormone into your system like the IUD does- which is smaller doses than the pill. But the great thing is you insert this yourself and remove it yourself. It gets replaced every 3 weeks and you can remove it for 3 hours at a time inbetween. Meant to be suprisingly confortable even in sex is what I heard on the TV :confused:

I always worry Im going to forget my pill and Im just too chicken to get a IUD. I also like the fact if it upsets me or anything I can remove it myself. I was told there about $28 but someone else told me (don't you love BH!) they got one for free from Family planning....
Heres some info anyhow if your interested.

Australian Info (http://www.fpahealth.org.au/sex-matters/faq/ring_20030514.html)
Nuva Ring Info (http://www.nuvaring.com/Consumer/switch/aboutNuvaRing/index_flash.asp)

Actually I seen on oprah the other week they have a similar style hormone style one for menopause later too. Not that I think any of us will be needing that in the near future.

MountainGirl
30-03-2007, 05:59
Noos,..after Saving Babies every week I say to Mike (who is crying on the couch - gotta love a sensitive man!) 'One-a more baby',.. and he says 'Not yet',... so,...sorry,.... a couple of years away from one-amore,.....:o

And that neighbours birth was amazing,... I love the fact that she did the entire thing without a spot of blood on the white minkish blanket she was lying on,.....She still had her overcoat on and belted up,.... and where the hell was the placenta!?!?!?!??!?!?!? Im up for that birth next time round,..... not too sure about having my ex deliver the baby though,...specially with his wife standing guard,..... I have had nightmares about that situation! :laughing:

Jasper is currently pulling all of Mikes collectable CD's out of the drawers in the coffee table,.... should go and rescue them,......yeah,....but he is having so much fun,.. as long as they are away by the time Mike gets home none will be the wiser! ;)

Oh,.....and jasper slept through last night,.... but I dont want him to hear this unless he never does it again,..:D

Ah ****,....Scarlett is throwing the CD's now,..gotta go!

lottiesmum
30-03-2007, 06:24
dont know how you guys stomach saving babies...i can barely cope with the ads. i found an old newborn nappy in my ''other'' baby bag and burst into tears. tad emotional around these parts...

question about razer sharp baby nails. it seems im forever cutting DS' nails but after i do they are so sharp and he scratches himself terribly....how do i stop this? hmmm maybe i'll try filing them...

also a thx for the medicine via syringe...i was using the syringe to measure the dose, then squeezing it into a cup :banghead: Its still a trial but easier!

also i found these nappy liners from a company called eenee and they are flushable!! sensational - doesnt take much to get me excited...:p

lottiesmum
30-03-2007, 06:26
oh and :yelclap: for jasper...keep it up big fella!

Uniquey
30-03-2007, 09:18
[QUOTE=lottiesmum;1276175]dont know how you guys stomach saving babies...i can barely cope with the ads. i found an old newborn nappy in my ''other'' baby bag and burst into tears. tad emotional around these parts...

question about razer sharp baby nails. it seems im forever cutting DS' nails but after i do they are so sharp and he scratches himself terribly....how do i stop this? hmmm maybe i'll try filing them...

Lottiesmum, I just file the nails. I've
got these tiny little files that came with the baby scissors.

mum_I'm_hungry
30-03-2007, 09:37
I know someone who used to bite her baby's nails off -- the midwives told her to do it. I couldn't face doing that myself, though, as I hate nail-biting. Yeurch! I just use nail scissors on both of my kids...

Uniquey
30-03-2007, 09:37
Noosamum I had better not tell DH your asking for fellow Augustian mummies to follow suit with a pregnancy! He has been suggesting a pregnancy ever since Miss A was 6 weeks old:eek: I'll probably try again at the end of the year I think.....

Mumstar Youch for the nose!

Tash where are you? Hope you and gorgeous Miss C are well

Missie_Mack Is 'the bag' the Belanciaga? I love those bags.

Wattle That's our new swing-swing, it provides hours of fun:D

US Well Like Jane's Jasper, crawling here is soooo close I can't stand it. I will have to start putting up gates, as we are here, there and everywhere and the stereo, cds, newspapers and magazines are all fair game.

http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP0061.jpg

http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q162/fashionistasista74/IMGP1269.jpg

Today My DH is putting in my Bugaboo order, I think I wore him down with my justifications a thousand times a day as to why we 'needed' a new pram and why the pram is worth every cent even if it doesn't come with a motor:p
Not much else to report, just the same ol same ol really. Hope everyone else is well and happy:yes:

Beany
30-03-2007, 09:45
Must have been the night for it ...

Asher slept from 11:30pm until 6am ...

What? I didn't say anything! I was just commenting on the weather! Lovely and sunny, like ... !

I'm with Lottiesmum - I can't bear to watch Saving Babies. When I was childless perhaps I could have stomached it but now :no: Too sad. Cuts right in.

What are you cutting his nails with, Lottiesmum? I've got the baby Manicare clippers and they work well. Must remember to cut the side bits, though - those are lethal.

Oh dear ... I suppose I'd better go rescue Noodle's books. Asher is having a whale of a time with them ...

Beany
30-03-2007, 09:47
Good job with the Boo, Uniquey :D You won't regret it!

missie_mack
30-03-2007, 09:54
Uniquey- Its a La rue bag made by Patricia Field (the Sex in the city designer)
Here check this out Bag (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/images/B000EW9YF6/ref=dp_image_text_z_0/102-6591607-0629714?ie=UTF8&n=1036592&s=apparel)

Oh Dh didnt even think anything of the handbag but didnt quiet get away with the new gold bangle. I had to pull out my weapon of mass destruction AKA a pout (in real princess style which is shameful I know ;) ) And put on a sob story about how they sold it for less than half price retail and how it was my birthday and some other sob stories :ecomcity: Didnt really matter in the end as he likes it
Bag and Bangle (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/mybirthdaypresents.jpg)

missie_mack
30-03-2007, 09:57
Oh speaking of books has anyone read This little Piggy went to Prada? Ive read a review on it but Im not sure about buying it to read...

lottiesmum
30-03-2007, 10:42
I cut his nails with tommy tipee baby scissors...i think beanys right about the end bits. will try the file.

all these mummies getting lovely things...:smiliedance: but am most jealous of the sleeping through the night boys

Mrs Potts
30-03-2007, 10:50
Monique - you know I won't be seen out in public with you once you've crossed to "the other side" (aka become a Boo owner) :laughing:;)
Also, according to her MSN Tash an Co have been sick. Hopefully they're on the mend now though.

Missie - love the bangle. The bag isn't my cup of tea though. I'm more a little leather backpack kind of girl.

Baby nails - I won't touch 'em. To this day I haven't cut DS's nails ever. That's Dough's job - it terrifies me! He just uses normal adult nail clippers, but the keyring size ones not the huge man-size ones. He used the baby clippers on DS once and clipped him so they promptly went in the bin.

I have folding to do.... but so don't wanna....

Beany
30-03-2007, 11:04
Oh the first nail cut a day or so after we got back from hospital ... god that was scary! Every time he moved, I jumped back with terror.

I can't bear the idea of chewing the nails off. Apart from the "ick ick I'm biting nails!", I can't see what I'm doing and don't feel like I have any control. Too scary. I have the nail clippers because I can't handle scissors. To this day I stare in wonder at people cutting their nails with scissors. Just can't do it.

I think it's the missed corners that are causing the scratches. Just snip those off so the nail is rounded and you should be fine. Having said that, if Harry is anything like Asher, the nails will grow in the space of a couple of hours and you'll find fresh scratches ...

Fairyfloss
30-03-2007, 11:47
Hi every one just popping in to say hi, and let you know I was not kidnaped by Aliens, HAve load of things to do so no reading posts (apart from this page:D ) and no personals sorry. I have heaps of cool thing to say though when I come back.
Take care:hugs: every one

lottiesmum
30-03-2007, 12:14
what is it about boys and their rate of nail growing :eek: i have to cut DS's nails every other day just about...DD was nothing like that. I hate doing it but it gets better with practice. am going to inspect the corner bits now ;)

mum_I'm_hungry
30-03-2007, 12:59
Ooohhh, Mrs Potts! Am cracking up laughing. I just imagined your poor baby trying to crawl around the floor held back by his nails. Like one of those crazy Ripley's guys who hasn't cut his for decades and they're all curly and traily!!! Nice to know he's getting his manis and pedis elsewhere!

Uh oh. A girlfriend told me yesterday that there is now a denim bugaboo. Big problem. I am a denim fiend. We have had some pram experiments, but keep coming back to our Mountain Buggy Breeze (fits all shopping aisles, can run with it etc.). But denim. Oh dear. I may yet have to do the boo.

wattle
30-03-2007, 13:04
Sorry Noos, two is enough for us. I'm quite happy though to hear all about your aches and pains, it's quite amazing how quickly I've forgotten all that stuff. (Well actually I forget almost everything these days so maybe it's not that amazing.)

Uniquey so you're moving into the world of elitism in prams! Every time I see a mum with a boo I think of you lot with your 'quick 'n easy turn on a 10c piece' prams, while I struggle along with my dinosaur, or the stroller with the wheels that go in four different directions all at the same time. :rolleyes:

Actually I haven't worked out what to do when we're out and I'm pushing Steph in the stroller and Max suddenly decides to run off at top speed hoping that I'll chase him. aaaaaaagh I suppose chaining him to the stroller would be wrong? Maybe one of those things they put on horses.....um... a hobble. :laughing:

Beany - glad Asher slept well. What's the trick? I'm jealous. Steph was up at 4am today. Wide awake, big grins and there was no way she was going back to sleep. Ds was up at 5am, so another early start here.

I'm off to chinese dinner tonight with all the local aug/sept mums, dads and bubs. Should be interesting. There's room for prams and we're having a big blanket on the floor. Hopefully the waiters don't spill soy sauce all over them when they clear the table. :laughing:

Beany
30-03-2007, 13:50
Alli: Alas the denim Boo is only available overseas or off the 'net. I've been trying to find the covers somewhere - anywhere! No luck as yet but I'm not giving up ... It'll match my nappy bag!

I'm a bit of a denim nut, too :D

MountainGirl
30-03-2007, 13:50
Mon - Gosh that Avalon is scrummy,.....I think we need to arrange a marriage here!!!! And woo hoo on the noo boo! What colour are you getting???

Wattle - very jealous of your chinese dinner tonight,...have a lovely time,..!!!!

Beany - yay on the sleep,.......

Nails - I bite them,....easier than taking clippers or scissors (god forbid) to grabby little hands,......

Alli - yep - a denim boo,...you can get them from ebay for $1300 or so,.........get one!!!!

MMack - love the bag and bangle! It is your birthday,..you should be spoilt,. I have convinced Mike that he needs to get me a cartier love bangle for my birthday,. afterall,.I was pregnant for my 30th,.so my 31st is going to be HUGE!! Ha!! We are going to Melbourne to stay in the Windsor for 3 baby free nights filled with shopping, beautiful dinners and expensive red wine,.. pity I have to wait till july! Oh,..and we will be down your way in September,..we are off to a wedding in the Clare Valley,....Annies Lane winery actually,...so will be staying at Tatums in Clare for a couple of days,...should we pop by for tea and cake?!?!?!?? :D :D

I spent the morning with my closest girlfriend and she is 5weeks pregnant!!! I am so excited for her,..and a little jealous,... I came home and told Mike that I would like to be pregnant by this time next year,.so that I can have a Summer baby,.... yay!!!!! Means we will have to extend the house though,.....so will have to start looking into builders,...bleugh,.....

Beany
30-03-2007, 13:59
Wattle: if I knew the secret, I'd have tried it all day today ... He had a 30 minute nap at around 11 and has been up and crying since. Nothing seemed to get him down even thought he was obviously tired.

4 hours of fighting later, he's finally in the cot ... one eye still vaguely open.

3 baby free days is sounding mighty good right now.

A summer baby? The thought gives me the jitters! The idea of going through the most uncomfortable part of the pregnancy at the most uncomfortable time of the year ... If I have another, I'm aiming for May/June. 2011.

mum_I'm_hungry
30-03-2007, 14:00
Ah, Beany. Denim. It is the king of fabrics, is it not? Goes with everything. Can dress it up, down and 'round about. My husband thinks I'm weird. I seriously have a closet full of the stuff. And now I can have a pram, too! Won't he just love that! :yes:

With all this talk of lovely bangles and bags and things, I've just realised I've yet to put in my 'I pushed out another baby, where's my jewellery, sunshine?' order. Finally got some luvverly Tiffany diamond studs for pushing out the older one. Will have to think about something for this time around. I might get my grandma's engagement ring re-made or something.

Wattle, your dinner sounds like fun! I can just imagine all these babies gurgling around on the rug and begging for spring rolls! Hope you have fun!

wattle
30-03-2007, 14:33
Beany, I swear they're twins. She's been fighting sleep too, driving me nuts. Hi5 keeps her entertained for a few minutes. phew.

I think she's going through a growth spurt. I don't have enought milk for her, and she won't take the bottle. Why??? She's hungry, it's in her mouth, nice and warm, she sucks it but won't swallow....grrrrrrr. How hard can it be?

It's FREEZING here and I just realised I have no winter clothes that fit. Cant really wear a maternity top to dinner now can I? Agh. Steph only has size 0000 winter clothes....:rolleyes: how disorganised am I. Well, it was 37 degrees last week. Crazy crazy crazy.
(Geez I just re-read my post, sounds like I'm the one going crazy! ha)

missie_mack
30-03-2007, 14:50
Alli- A eternity/maternity ring and matching braclet to go with the earrings sounds like a great idea :D

S_J- Your driving to Adelaide?? With kids?? Dont do it if you can help it seriously. But if you drive you are more than welcome to stop at Mildura. I will introduce you to the wonderful world of Mildura fine cruisine. Im serious about the wonderful bit. We did italian last night with my mum and stepdad (they are holidaying in Adelaide arrived there this arvo) Im feeling lazy tonite. Ive told DH we need a catch up night. Im thinking souvlaki and a DVD.

OH BTW I love Annies Lane! They make a great Charddy :yes: Im hoping to get to Zilzie next week and visit the yabbie farm. Yabbies on the BBQ and great wine :chef: yummo. School Holidays have officially started and I have a hubby again!! :smiliedance:

missie_mack
30-03-2007, 14:57
It's FREEZING here and I just realised I have no winter clothes that fit. Cant really wear a maternity top to dinner now can I? Agh. Steph only has size 0000 winter clothes....:rolleyes: how disorganised am I.

Take a jacket Cathy. Its bound to be warm in the restaurant! You can always get away with a jackets thats a little too small /too big if you dont do it up.

Kids winter clothes- I did a scan on Kmart today (Never been a fan) Can you believe that some of their two piece outfits are as expensive as the better quality stuff you can buy the Myer :eek: I was stunned!

*munchkin*
30-03-2007, 14:57
Good job with the Boo, Uniquey You won't regret it!
Yes...apparently they turn on a dime ;) :p

All the talk of denim Boos made me laugh! Do they do stonewash? (Just kidding!).

We are going to Melbourne to stay in the Windsor for 3 baby free nights filled with shopping, beautiful dinners and expensive red wine,.. pity I have to wait till july! Oh,..and we will be down your way in September,..we are off to a wedding in the Clare Valley,....Annies Lane winery actually,...so will be staying at Tatums in Clare for a couple of days.

Oooh!!! Sounds LOVELY! Where's the green with envy icon?!!!!! You will have to tell us all about it SJ -I'm big on living vicariously these days :D

Went to the paedeatrician this morning, and unfortunately Em has to have an MCU ultrasound thingy with die injected up her whatsit to check she doesn't have renal reflux. But...like the Dr said...she'll probably smile all the way through it. Em charmed him like crazy. Am such a proud mumma. :D

Mrs Potts
30-03-2007, 15:05
LOL Alli, about my DS's nails. Guess I didn't word that very well!

Jewellery - It's our 10th wedding anniversary this April and I've been promised diamonds (although I won't actually get them until later in the year). I wanted pink diamonds until we found out what they're worth :eek::eek::eek::eek: (and 4 eeeks isn't enough!), so will go with white diamonds and probably pale pink sapphires instead. I already have an eternity ring so this one will be a special ring for the right hand. Would really, really love something from Tiffany though.....

Munchkin - really hope everything turns out to be OK for Em!!

*munchkin*
30-03-2007, 15:07

Your current singledom (did I just make up a word) is no excuse by the way :D

You know, I just can't work out why I don't pick up like I used to. Is it the baby on the hip? Or the dribble stain on the shoulder?

Mrs Potts
30-03-2007, 15:18
You know, I just can't work out why I don't pick up like I used to. Is it the baby on the hip? Or the dribble stain on the shoulder?
It's the vomit down the back....

:laughing::laughing:;)

mama anne
30-03-2007, 15:22
The vomit down your back maybe?:D

mama anne
teeheehee, great minds mrs potts :) :) :)

Mrs Potts
SNAP!!!

:laughing::laughing::laughing::laughing:

Beany
30-03-2007, 15:30

Perhaps it's that freaky pink testicle-with-eyes in your avatar ... :D

mama anne
30-03-2007, 15:47

good call :idea: :laughing:

missie_mack
30-03-2007, 16:21

You made me choke on my water! :laughing: :laughing:

*munchkin*
30-03-2007, 17:25
It's the vomit down the back....

The vomit down your back maybe?
:idea: That's it!

Perhaps it's that freaky pink testicle-with-eyes in your avatar ...
:laughing: Poor Booh Bah! I'll never look at him as just an innocent psychadelic pink furry skivvy wearing freaky thing anymore. Now I'll think of Scrotum. Thanks Beany!

*munchkin*
30-03-2007, 17:36
Shouldn't they look past my Vomit-back to see my great personality? Men are SO shallow :rolleyes: :D

Cue Audio: Justin Timberlake singing...
"I'm bringing Vomit-baaaack, you shallow men just don't know where it's aaaaat...uh..ah...chik-a-chikaaaaah"

MountainGirl
30-03-2007, 17:55
Luuurrrve a song with Chick-a Chick-a in it! timeless,........

mum_I'm_hungry
30-03-2007, 18:50
Alli- A eternity/maternity ring and matching braclet to go with the earrings sounds like a great idea

Hey! No-one told me there were maternity rings! Where's mine? You sound like a gal who knows her shopping, MissieM!

All the talk of denim Boos made me laugh! Do they do stonewash? (Just kidding!).

Went to the paedeatrician this morning, and unfortunately Em has to have an MCU ultrasound thingy with die injected up her whatsit to check she doesn't have renal reflux. But...like the Dr said...she'll probably smile all the way through it. Em charmed him like crazy. Am such a proud mumma. :D

Yeah, but the stonewash only looks really good if your baby has a mullet. Poor hairless Ted... it just wouldn't be right. :D

Poor Em! I hope it all turns out okay. She's such a good girl. I think she'll be the prefect of the bunch! :yes:

Would really, really love something from Tiffany though.....

Secretly, Mrs P, I think Tiffany is a bit overrated. That said, I didn't return the earrings! I'm not much of a jewellery girl. I like the chunky stuff -- like Dinosaur Designs -- myself.

Mrs Potts
30-03-2007, 19:04
Hey! No-one told me there were maternity rings! Where's mine? You sound like a gal who knows her shopping, MissieM!
Yep, I know about maternity rings too! :D

Secretly, Mrs P, I think Tiffany is a bit overrated. That said, I didn't return the earrings! I'm not much of a jewellery girl. I like the chunky stuff -- like Dinosaur Designs -- myself.
You blaspheme!! :eek:

PMSL @ Munchkin's rendition of "Vomit Back"....
Maybe you're more of a "Vomit-back Girl"?? :laughing::laughing:

mum2anthony
30-03-2007, 19:14
Luuurrrve a song with Chick-a Chick-a in it! timeless,........

I agree... I was singing it as I read it - Chicka Chick ha LOL

Any mums here got the whinging teething bubs? Mines got the cute red rosy cheeks and knawing on EVERYTHING!!! Poor little man!

shed
30-03-2007, 19:27
I got my maternity ring :D

Well, feeling much better these days loveys. Don't quite know what happened there, was a bit bluuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuue for a couple of days but I seem to have bounced back.

I finished work at 2pm, yesterday and today but not sure about ongoing, will hear on Monday. Today I raced to the daycare lady ready for bubby to launch himself at me in a heartfelt reunion. I walked into the daycare lady's house and bubby was sitting on the floor with the kids around him clapping their hands and singing to him. He was sitting there like Little Lord Fauntleroy, reigning over his subjects.

When he saw me he gave me a bit of a half-smile and went back to the singing! :eek:

So I sat on the couch and was talking to the daycare lady and then bubby noticed that his TWO favourite girls were there, me and her (he loves her!), so he looked from one to the other with a little frown and smiled at me and then smiled at her and then back at me. It was very cute. Almost as though he didn't want to hurt anyones feelings by playing favourites.

Anyway, thats my little daycare story :laughing:

munchkin, I love this thread too. I so wish you had found us earlier, where WERE you???

Nails: I used to bite them but now I cut them. I have to cut them every second day. Yesterday he scratched himself quite deeply on the arm.

Bugaboo: I was going to get one but I haven't done so yet. I was in the mood and cashed up one day and went to get one but they don't stock the 'frog' anymore and that's the one I like. So now I have to wait for the next cashed up 'boo mood'.

mum_I'm_hungry
30-03-2007, 19:31
Ha ha! Love it, Shed! Apparently 18 month old Bella at Teddy's family daycare is obsessed with Teddy's toes. She likes to play with them whenever she can! Maybe this was what Fergie was like as a child? :confused: :D

mum_I'm_hungry
30-03-2007, 19:33
Why did no-one tell me about maternity rings? Must research those. :detective:

I guess the next ring we should all be getting is that Nuva ring. :laughing:

missie_mack
30-03-2007, 19:45
I guess the next ring we should all be getting is that Nuva ring. :laughing:

Aww how romantic can one hubby be lol When I use to date my hubby he would ring telling me he had a present to give me after work. I would get all excited and be busting to see him..... and it would be a dog wash he made at work or something that he stole from the stationary cupboard :confused: I stopped being excited after it happened a couple of times. Last of the big spenders :laughing:

Munchkin- Imagine your RSVP profile. You could tell them about your friend the hairy pink testicle with eyes and how your an accomplished in possum evictions/ exercisms and how they will know you when they see you as you will have the vomit stains down your back!

mum_I'm_hungry
30-03-2007, 20:12
When I use to date my hubby he would ring telling me he had a present to give me after work. I would get all excited and be busting to see him..... and it would be a dog wash he made at work or something that he stole from the stationary cupboard :confused:

:laughing: I would get excited by something like this. All we get is surgical gloves. Oh, and some rectal panadol for Teddy when he was sick (which my husband got caught nicking by a nurse... bet that looked good!!!).

*munchkin*
30-03-2007, 20:22
Poor Em! I hope it all turns out okay. She's such a good girl. I think she'll be the prefect of the bunch!
:laughing: Yes...until she turns 19, and then she'll go a bit wayward :rolleyes:

Maybe you're more of a "Vomit-back Girl"??
Now I'm singing that in my head! But I.....
"AIN'T NO VOMIT-BACK GIRRRRLL, YEH....."

So glad you are feeling more on the up and up Shed. And hopefully you too Mrs Potts. Those side effects sound a bit yukko...hope they wear off soon?

LOVED the story of Baden being sung to at daycare. That's just gorgeous. Bet it made you feel good to see that (after you got over the offence at being ignored!)

"munchkin, I love this thread too. I so wish you had found us earlier, where WERE you??? "
Hmmm...where was I? I have to think. well...laid horizontal by morning sickness until Week 19...then moving back to Brisbane...then house sitting 4 different houses till mine became free...then in the land of heartache...
Am so glad I'm on this thread now and in a land of (mostly) happiness.

Alli - So Teddy has a girlfriend! Hmmfff. I kind of thought him and Em would make a good pair, what with their non-crawling similarities and all :laughing: .

Munchkin- Imagine your RSVP profile. You could tell them about your friend the hairy pink testicle with eyes and how your an accomplished in possum evictions/ exercisms and how they will know you when they see you as you will have the vomit stains down your back!
MM you're hubby sounds like a darling. A hopeless blokey no-idea about women darling.

SJ...your 2 little kiddies are just edible in that avatar. So cute.

*munchkin*
30-03-2007, 20:25
:laughing: I would get excited by something like this. All we get is surgical gloves. Oh, and some rectal panadol for Teddy when he was sick (which my husband got caught nicking by a nurse... bet that looked good!!!).

Yowzer! Poor Teddy!

Reminds me of my dad (a vet) bringing home horse antibiotics to give us kids.

mumstar
30-03-2007, 20:42
OMG i was trying to do a multi quote to have a laugh at all the funny things u have been talking about but it was to much effort!! just know i was sitting here PMSL !!!

well noah is asleep and aiden is running a muck... troy is just about to watch the footbal as seens as he was so nice and watched the boys while i had a 3 hour nap today i really should let him watch it!!! also due to the 3 hour nap im really not that tired now so io thought i could make a post or 2 on here!!!

mum_I'm_hungry
30-03-2007, 20:43
I know! There's a little too much focus on rectums around here lately. I wasn't going to do that to poor Teddy and there was NO WAY I was helping my husband out with his painkillers after his appendix came out. Some things you just gotta do yourself!

Tee hee. Ivy is sleep-talking to herself. Something about potties. Very cute.

Munchkin, does Em have teeth yet? Is there anyone else out there still only just sitting (can't leave him -- he'll fall over), with no teeth and no words? My poor little slowflakes. What is wrong with our genes?! :confused: :o

Have had a breakthrough. Ivy is now pooing in the toilet. You know how the most exciting moment is supposed to be when they're born? It's not. It's when they start pooing in the toilet...! :D

mum_I'm_hungry
30-03-2007, 20:46
Munchkin, horse antibiotics are probably the only kind that would kill the stuff Ivy brings home from kindy!

Right. Off to swat the cats (currently climbing the venetian blinds right to the ceiling to get to a gecko!) and then to bed...

Nighty night... :sleeping:

mumstar
30-03-2007, 21:20
Munchkin, does Em have teeth yet? Is there anyone else out there still only just sitting (can't leave him -- he'll fall over), with no teeth and no words? My poor little slowflakes. What is wrong with our genes?! :confused: :o

noah has no teeth yet! he can sit up but only in the last week more confidently with no falling over! he can only say 3 words mum, dad and aiden!!! im going to get him weighted tomoorow i havent done that since he was about 4 months old!! i know when i first had aiden i weighed him like every couple of weeks... i keep forgetting with noah... it must be 2nd child syndrome! whoops :o

mumstar
30-03-2007, 21:22
i think im going to go and read some more of my book! thanks alli! im really enjoying it!

mumstar
30-03-2007, 21:23
good night all augustians!

Beany
30-03-2007, 23:59
Missie: I'm with Alli - those early day presents sound fun! I remember being dead excited every weekend when my father in law got home. It was like Christmas with all the stuff from drug reps ... post it pads splashed with the word "VIAGRA" in enormous lettering, stuffed toys from the asthma inhaler people (I had about 6 stuffed purple dragons at one stage), glasses with some urinary tract infection medication name on it ... It was great!

Noodle is hopeless with presents. Of course he wouldn't nick office supplies (I've got a thing for stationary :o ) and impromptu "I saw this so I bought it for you" has never happened. Ever. I only get presents for my birthday and Christmas. And even then he comes back with things like an electric keyboard (which I can't play) and jewellery that he thinks I ought to wear not that I do/would wear. One Christmas he had me opening a gift box that contained a studded dog-collar choker thing. Mmmmm .... yeah. Right.

shed
31-03-2007, 06:29
Presents: I tell DP what to buy and he goes and gets it.

The christmas before last I wanted Gucci Envy perfume. Christmas day comes and I open my "lovingly wrapped by Myer" parcel and its Gucci Rush. Okay, so he tries again, takes it back and brings home another beautifully wrapped parcel and its Gucci Envy this time...FOR MEN.

So I take it back and get my Gucci Envy. :rolleyes:

Baden is VERY mobile now. In the last week he has learned to crawl properly and is pulling himself up to standing position. erm, I am SO not ready for a mobile baby. He wanders off and comes back 'chewing'. :eek:

This house needs a mobile-baby makeover. Seriously. So that's what I will be doing today. I knew this day would come but I thought I had a few more months.

Alli: I always thought I would be relaxed about potty training, but since DS has moved on to solids I am far LESS relaxed and we will be working on getting out of nappies A.S.A.P. I can't STAND the smell of this new poo, you can smell it across the room. blech.

Noosa, you are a stronger woman than I, there is no way I could change one of those nappies and have any form or prior queasiness. blech again.

*munchkin*
31-03-2007, 07:14
:laughing: to all the hubby present stories. Love the Gucci for men one!!

I know! There's a little too much focus on rectums around here lately. I wasn't going to do that to poor Teddy and there was NO WAY I was helping my husband out with his painkillers after his appendix came out. Some things you just gotta do yourself!

Munchkin, does Em have teeth yet? Is there anyone else out there still only just sitting (can't leave him -- he'll fall over), with no teeth and no words? My poor little slowflakes. What is wrong with our genes?!

LOL!!!! I wouldn't be helping out with the painkillers either!!! Love DOES have boundaries!

Em does have 2 toofy pegs on the bottom. Apparently we are good teethers, but slow at all else. We famously mature late...I kept growing until I was about 21. Em can only kind of sit on her own for a little while before toppling over. And definitely no talking, just lots of babbling and a growling concentrating noise. Maybe your babies are too busy developing their super-brains inherited from smart-cookie parents? They don't have time to concentrate on the physical side of things?

Oh...Lisa-Marie...meant to say on and off teething rosy cheeks...then nothing happens. And your little boy is just a cutie!!

Uniquey
31-03-2007, 08:44
Uniquey- Its a La rue bag made by Patricia Field (the Sex in the city designer)
Here check this out Bag (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/images/B000EW9YF6/ref=dp_image_text_z_0/102-6591607-0629714?ie=UTF8&n=1036592&s=apparel)

Oh Dh didnt even think anything of the handbag but didnt quiet get away with the new gold bangle. I had to pull out my weapon of mass destruction AKA a pout (in real princess style which is shameful I know ;) ) And put on a sob story about how they sold it for less than half price retail and how it was my birthday and some other sob stories :ecomcity: Didnt really matter in the end as he likes it
Bag and Bangle (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r34/missie_mack/mybirthdaypresents.jpg)

OOOWEEEE veeerry nice, and I forgot to tell you how much I cracked up laughing when you had you r plan all worked out to tell DH 'Oh this old thing', I LMAO!:laughing:

Uniquey
31-03-2007, 08:49
Monique - you know I won't be seen out in public with you once you've crossed to "the other side" (aka become a Boo owner) :laughing:;)
Also, according to her MSN Tash an Co have been sick. Hopefully they're on the mend now though.
Missie - love the bangle. The bag isn't my cup of tea though. I'm more a little leather backpack kind of girl.

Baby nails - I won't touch 'em. To this day I haven't cut DS's nails ever. That's Dough's job - it terrifies me! He just uses normal adult nail clippers, but the keyring size ones not the huge man-size ones. He used the baby clippers on DS once and clipped him so they promptly went in the bin.

I have folding to do.... but so don't wanna....

Erica Just for you, I will bring my trusty current pram out, hahha. Thanks for the info on Tash, if you speak to her again, can you please give her my best wishes.
P.S/ I have officially got my 'winter' jammies on now, brrrrr it's cold!!!

Uniquey
31-03-2007, 08:52
Alli: Alas the denim Boo is only available overseas or off the 'net. I've been trying to find the covers somewhere - anywhere! No luck as yet but I'm not giving up ... It'll match my nappy bag!

I'm a bit of a denim nut, too :D

A lady on Ebay is selling the denim Boos and I believe the covers too.

Uniquey
31-03-2007, 09:06
Aww how romantic can one hubby be lol When I use to date my hubby he would ring telling me he had a present to give me after work. I would get all excited and be busting to see him..... and it would be a dog wash he made at work or something that he stole from the stationary cupboard :confused: I stopped being excited after it happened a couple of times. Last of the big spenders :laughing:

My DH does the same thing.... yesterday it was, 'I've got a pressie for you' with his hands behind his back... and alas, it turns out to be dental floss! He visited the dental section at work yesterday.!

Uniquey
31-03-2007, 09:25
Jane 'Jasper and Avalon' does sound rather uber cool doesn't it:D
Seeing that DH was so accomodating with my Boo wishes, I let him choose the colour and he chose Red which I'm really happy about, as I like the bright colours and it's nice and unisex.

Wattle I could just picture the Chinese Restaurant with all the little babes on the floor, so cute. DH's work has organised a lunch get-together in a few weeks time at a Vietnamese Restaurant, and DH was concerned DD and I wouldn't be able to go. When I asked him 'why', he's like, do you think they will fit a pram in! They better fit a pram in I say!

Munchkin I could imagine little Em would be a darling with a Mummy as lovely as you are, not to mention patient and understanding, a la your ex:yes:

How funny is 'Japlish', My Mum sent DD a parecel down from brisbane and some of the wording on the clothes is so funny. One reads, 'when I was a little girl I am fond of faint amiles'.:laughing: :laughing:
It's almost as funny as the electric scooter I had that said on the instructions, 'do not attempt acrobatic stunts in the aerial':LOL!

biscotti
31-03-2007, 10:13
Morning!

Giggling at all your "presents". I am starting to think all men are the same. Last week my DH came home and said "I've got you something, it's in the car, something you said you needed, you'll be amazed that I remembered you said you wanted it......" and what was it.........??........ A4 paper for the printer. Very exciting.

One of my husbands' sisters told us last night that her specialists have told her that she is very unlikely to ever have a child. After countless procedures for YEARS, endless treatments, hospital stays, surgeries, you name they have done it, they have closed the door on it all.
It was a very sombre converstaion and throughout I felt a bit ungrateful, you know...a bit greedy. And it certainly wasn't the time to slap our thighs and say "hey while we're talking about babies...GUESS WHAT??!!"
Not that we were going to tell them last night, but I don't know how we are ever going to tell them. I don't have much in common with this SIL, we are not great pals, but I do feel for her I do. I couldn't imagine being so desperate for a child, a baby and not being able to have one.

Off to scroll back through posts - I really must stop reading threads backwards!!

Noosamum XX

biscotti
31-03-2007, 10:20
Noosa, you are a stronger woman than I, there is no way I could change one of those nappies and have any form or prior queasiness. blech again.

Ahhhh Shed, it's not pretty. :no: As I came out of C's room this morning after a particularly nasty nappy change, Dh walked in the front door and said "oh green...., your face is green, why is your face so green?".

:barf:

missie_mack
31-03-2007, 10:35
One of my husbands' sisters told us last night that her specialists have told her that she is very unlikely to ever have a child. After countless procedures for YEARS, endless treatments, hospital stays, surgeries, you name they have done it, they have closed the door on it all.
It was a very sombre conversation and throughout I felt a bit ungrateful, you know...a bit greedy.

:no: Not good. Would've been too much for my pregnancy hormones. There wouldn't seem to be the right words to say to her.... I don't think I would wish the inability to choose whether or not you have children on anybody.
Don't let this take a shine of your blossoming Noosa :hugs: I know I would be having a guilty introspectve moment or two after that.

Beany
31-03-2007, 10:46
A lady on Ebay is selling the denim Boos and I believe the covers too.

Thanks Uniquey :) The toppings aren't available until later in April/May/June (keeps getting pushed back). I might have a Boo fetish and a denim fetish but it's not quite so advanced that I'm willing to spend a further $1400 :p

Asher has two teeth sticking out on the bottom and is trying to cut the flanking pair. He keeps chewing on me and very deliberately moving my finger next to the teeth instead of using the teeth themselves. Thank goodness!

He can sit by himself and is crawling everywhere. He pulls himself up to kneeling positions (started that yesterday :eek: not happy with this development) which he's not too stable on so falls over and knocks his head a bit. Poor silly boy. He can be propped up in a standing position using the oft mentioned cube and can maintain that for small periods of time.

He can't quite go from crawl to sit but is getting there. He goes from crawl to lounge - one arm stuck out to lean against on the floor. Very relaxed at-home celebrity look.

He doesn't really talk. He just says things that sound like real words and so are hysterical. He pulled something over the other night and as I went to rescue it/him he crawled off babbling and there were sounds that were exactly like "ididn'tdoit". Also, last night as I was trying to get him into sleep clothes, he whinged and moaned and 'said' "idontwanna!" If you ask him "where's mummy/daddy?" he'll look over at the correct person. Maybe. Or perhaps at a stuffed toy. But although he makes mama dada baba sounds, they aren't in relation to anything.

I had epiphany last night regarding his giant feet. Never mind rugby, he's be a great swimmer! Built in flippers!

Beany
31-03-2007, 10:49
Oh your poor sister-in-law, Noosa. It must be awful for her ... but it isn't your fault. You weren't getting pregnant to spite her so there's nothing for you to feel guilty about. Feel sorry, not guilty.

wattle
31-03-2007, 11:16
Noos, what sad news. Sometimes we forget how lucky we really are. I have some friends who have been trying for nearly a decade, and it just breaks my heart. They would be such wonderful parents.

Well the restaurant was fun and all the bubs were really good. But guess who didn't like chinese food in mums breast milk? :( She's been pretty ordinary since 3am - up down, crying, sobbing, won't settle etc. So no more banquets for me for a while.

Beany - just what this country needs right now, a good swimmer rising through the ranks! May as well put those hoofers to good use.