View Full Version : Looking for a job when pregnant
cupcakemafia
14-12-2005, 17:49
I'm 23yo, married and expecting our first child in May 2006.
I was recently working full time until we relocated because of my husband's work, and now we're finding it really difficult to keep on top of things financially with just one income to live on. I've tried to apply for Centrelink benefits, but my husband's income is just above the cut-off point for benefits. I'm around 19 weeks pregnant at the moment and have decided to look for a part-time/casual job. I plan on working up until I'm just about to pop :)
Will employers NOT hire me because I'm pregnant?
Will employers mind if I was at work with a huge bump in the front? I'm trying to find work in a sales/admin type field.
For experienced mothers - will I physically be able to go back to work so soon after the birth?
Remember, I'm not working full time. I'm only looking for a maximum of 20 hours per week and I really don't want to put my child in child care. I'm lucky to have a husband that is so supportive and actually WANTS to be there for the baby.
Argh, am I a bad mum for doing this? It's more of a have-to situation than a want-to.
Does anyone have any feedback/opinions on this?
Unfortunately I think she's right. I am 20 weeks pregnant and run my own business and expect to quite comfortably manage work and the baby (after a break of course) but I find that prospective new clients seem to go elsewhere when they realise I'm halfway through pregnancy. A feeling that I'm a short-term proposition? :rolleyes:
aardvark
14-12-2005, 18:10
I'm at work with a huge bump (32 weeks), but the bump has grown on my employer slowly, not been thrust upon them.
While they cannot legally refuse you employment on account of your pregnancy, if there is another equal candidate who is not expecting...........
As for returning to work quite soon after the birth, an employer can insist on a medical certificate to prove you are well enough to resume work unless it is more than 6 weeks after the birth.
Yes that's right, you fall off the end of the earth when the baby is born, never to be seen again. :rolleyes:
Hi there!
You might find locum (sp?) /at home work, typing etc.
Try a agency and see how you go. There are a few ladies around here that do that I think, I'll try and track them down. ;)
By the way welcome!! :D
I would hire cosmic because she is the best crazy person life fixeruppera that I know. :p
Though: Cosmic: from an employers point of view..Would you hire you??
Only if I was interested in a short-term proposition! I would assume that after the baby, I might decide to be off for a year or more and not just the 'couple of months' that I talk about now. And realistically I might well be... Hence I wouldn't be relying on me for the long term.
I would hire cosmic because she is the best crazy person life fixeruppera that I know. :p
sssshhhh let's not reveal all the personal details on the internet happy rady!! But just between you and me ;) I like that and think I'll put in on my new business cards! :p
Opps sorry, that's not what she does.....she's a motorbike mechanic and a damn good one too! ;)
cupcakemafia
15-12-2005, 16:51
Thank you to everyone who has replied so far. I think its the general consensus that I really don't have a hope in Hades of getting a job right now, and possibly not until a while after the baby arrives.
I agree with what everyone is saying about how employers will view "the bump in front", and although its pretty sad, it seems to be reality.
So I'm looking at work-at-home options (noone will ever..EVER... get me to do party plan or something, I swear :p ) - maybe some computer work at home or something. Any suggestions?
Wow, I feel like such a novice about all of this. I seem to be drowning, not waving. :D
aardvark
15-12-2005, 16:59
If you can stand the thought, how's the market where you are for someone who picks up and drops off ironing??
Mummy-2-2
15-12-2005, 17:05
With my last pregnancy, I ended up looking for work at 4 months.
I didnt even bother looking for permanent positions, went straight for the temping, I got longer term assignments that lasted up to me being 36 weeks and not wanting to work anymore.
Then I had my daughter and fully intended not to go back to work... then I couldnt cope at home went back to temping, but only took one 4 month assignment, and now am quite happy staying at home with her and the one in the belly.
I found it quite a good way of working, without the guidelines, ie you must work 38 hour weeks, you must be here every week till the day you pass etc. I just told them that I needed a morning a week to go to the dr, only wanted to work up to 36 weeks and they found me jobs around it. I also told them I wanted longer term assignments so there was more stability with the money situation.
angelcarmie
24-12-2005, 23:26
Unfortunately i agree that people can be judgemental when they see your are pregnant and may not hire you because they see it as only a short term basis but try pleading your case and that you wish to return to work once bubs is born and they may think otherwise. Good luck and keep us informed.
I worked until I was 38 weeks full time with Kieley. I then drove from melbourne to Adelaide and then moved into our new house 3 days before I gave birth.
I returned to work early from my maternity leave when she was just over 7mths because I was bored staying at home. (Sounds bad I know but she was a brilliant baby, and still is and never crys and would sleep the whole day and night).
When I returned to work full time straight away whcih meant we had to move from Adelaide back to Melbourne and then few months later to sydney (due to my work) so my H2B became a full time stay at home dad. He loves it and has just started his own business working from home and doesn't want to go back to work. I am lucky because over a month I work 216hrs but do it over 14 days and then have the other 14 day off. So I work 4-5 days and then have 4-5 days off.
It works really well for us and we get to spend heaps of time together. I am pregnant with number two atm and plan to work right up until its birth again and we will be moving back to Adelaide for its birth but hope to do it a month before and not a few days like last time. However this time I am going to quit my job once my maternity leave is up and I am going to do childcare from home and H2B is going to go back to work part time.