View Full Version : Cravings

mini_me
24-03-2007, 08:15 AM
I know this is bit to soon for most of us

But i thought to start with those of us who’ve been pregnant before could share their old craving stories for bit of a laugh

Mine used to be completely dominated by smells, mainly being washing powders loved doing laundry LOL and I think it will be this time too as I just washed my hands with the same kind of hand washed I used with scarlet and im feeling “pregnant” again if that makes sense

Another woman I shared hospital room with loved the smell of detol :laughing: and kept in huge bottle in her cupboard next to her bed!

jaasssy82
24-03-2007, 08:26 AM
I didnt get craving till later on last time( when i wasnt feeling like:barf: ) But this time round if i think of something i want to eat the I MUST HAVE IT.. lol put this was i had saltana bran with milo for dinner last night :)
( i had a nassty headache so incase i chucked i thought that will easily come up rather then big chunkc of meat etc gross i know)

There is one thing i disovered in my first pregnancy that tastes the same coming back up as it did going down and that is CHICKEN CRIMPY bicuits.. no lie it tastes exactly the same.. it was almost tempting to wrtie as book called to eat and what not to eat when your :barf: lol.. also Australias hosipital reviews
between traveling and moving house i got to see 6 different hospitals lol :)

mini_me
24-03-2007, 09:00 AM
PMSL sounds like something i would have brought :laughing:

Lozie
24-03-2007, 09:51 AM
with the boys it was tomatoe juice in the first trimester and this time it's orange juice not very exciting i know but thats me:D, oh and pickles and ice cream with ds1 that was yummo and mayo and muffins with ds2 ,

twistwantsabub
24-03-2007, 10:02 AM
Oh my gosh MINI-ME..... the girls name that my DP and i are thinking about it Scarlet Mae.... We love the name Scarlet, and Mae is after my sister. How cool is it, that that is your daughters name, (with MAY) love it.

ok, cravings...
I am a little over 6 weeks preg with my first bubby so this is all totally new. I can't get enough pasta (especially fresh stuff), crave garlic bread every day, and when i'm feeling my worst (around lunch time), G-Bread is all that i can stomach. Also loving anything with potato, hot chips, wedges, mashed potato etc.

Oh, and am absolutely loving sweet chilli sauce on anything i can put it on.

mini_me
24-03-2007, 11:06 AM
:laughing: thats uncanny twist great name :thumbsup: ... Scarletts name came about cos i loved the name Charlotte but have you noticed how theres far to many about these days. SO i thought about Scarlet but would only go with it if she had red hair ... and wouldnt you know it .. born with flaming red hair (just like mine) and double TT to go with the TT at the end of her surname. Everyone says it suits her but grr cos we have the same Sk/Sc ppl always getting confused Skye Scarlett :confused:

goose
25-03-2007, 08:08 AM
Well for the last 3 days i have had a tomato,cheese, and vegemite sandwich and it has been sooooooooo good... Never had it before now...

And chocolate yogo... yummo

MrsX
25-03-2007, 01:58 PM
Oh yum, tomato cheese & veg sandwhich rules. I'm also partial to lettuce & vegemite :p

One thing I have to have everytime we're out is soup. Loving BBQ Pork Wonton noodle soup :D:D

Cant stomach McDonalds chips :barf:

AliyahBlake
26-03-2007, 10:16 AM
I didn't really get cravings til the second half of my pregnancy with Aliyah.....I can remember loving cucumber, cheese and mayo sandwiches, cashew nuts (snacked on them all the time......we called Aliyah "Cashew" when she was in the womb!) and couldn't get enough chocolate in the last 4 weeks. I also drank a hell of alot more milk than usual, and went right off coffee (even though I usually love it...the smell made me feel so ill).
This time, I've started getting a couple of little cravings, cashews (again) and sour cream and chives chips from Aldi. I've started to go off coffee too in the last couple of days, but I'm still ok with tea so I have a cup of that in the mornings now.

goose
26-03-2007, 10:46 AM
Cant stomach McDonalds chips :barf:

So im not the only one... The oil tastes awful doesnt it... Like i can taste seeds and dirt... totally :barf:

But kfc ones im fine with and love.. :confused:

They must use different oil..

MrsX
26-03-2007, 02:56 PM
I managed to eat some red rooster ones yesterday :yes: Maybe they changed their oil or something....or we're just weird :laughing:

goose
26-03-2007, 06:56 PM
Yeh your probably right.... We are just weird... :laughing: :p

MrsX
27-03-2007, 06:50 AM
Have been craving Tiramisu for days, so finally got some yesterday.......sat down to eat it, took one bite & it made me feel ill :( Silly cravings :thumbsdown:

Kizmet
27-03-2007, 07:30 AM
biscuits with quince paste and camembert cheese yummmmmmmmm but i cant have it :crying:

love dried apricots but i :barf: them all up yesterday

Red rooster and Kfc chips are sooooooo yummy but maccas ones are :thumbsdown: i must be weird too mrs x and goose :laughing:

MrsX
27-03-2007, 07:43 AM
Well I know your weird :laughing: But that why I luvs ya :hugs:

Kizmet
27-03-2007, 07:48 AM
says "mrs X" :laughing: :laughing: :hugs: :hugs:

Moops
27-03-2007, 08:36 AM
I am absolutely dying for KFC chips and gravy. The problem is that the chips and gravy here in London are absolutely rubbish and dont taste anything like they do at home - how is that for torture!!!!:banghead:

Vespera
28-03-2007, 10:18 PM
I think I just had my first weird pregnancy craving.

We got some chips with dinner and when we got home I got the sauce out of the cupboard and saw the peanut butter and damn I wanted to put some on my chips!

Its all I can think about.....

Tinydancer
29-03-2007, 01:06 PM
I had a craving for peanut butter on fresh bread with fried eggs on top...... back in the beginning. Now the thought of it makes me want to spew!!

Tasted great at the time though.....

trinitylee
30-03-2007, 05:15 PM
I'm having the same as last time (another hint i was PG)

STRAWBERRY MILK & GREEN GRAPES (together)
Ummmmmmmmmm yummmm

Thank god its still grape season

Roxy76
01-04-2007, 01:30 PM
mmmmmm now this is one smell I can handle! I have just cooked up some fresh slices of apple in butter till soft and 'caramelised' - as they say in the chef world :chef: LOL they are devine!!!!

and later on going to make fluffy pancakes, and top with these apples, cinnamon sugar and dollop of extra thick cream!! and maybe even some ice cream as well! :D

OMG! it is going to be soooooooooooooo delish!!! :smiliedance::yes:

jaasssy82
01-04-2007, 02:14 PM
Freah bread roll wil colby cheese and avo on it yum yum yum bit of racked pepper on top

then when im really snackish and feeling naughty:shame: .. honey comb drumstick.... yumo had one b4 lol

SweetDreams
01-04-2007, 02:46 PM
lol Didn't realised I was craving lamb until I got to the checkout and that was the only meat I bought! LOL

MrsX
01-04-2007, 03:10 PM
Oh you are all making me so hungry :p I was naughty today and got a bbq chicken :( It was so hot & fresh....made lovely sandwiches with tomato, cheese, chicken & ceasar dressing :D Will make an even yummier baked dinner with baked potato veg & gravy ;)

NicNac72
01-04-2007, 05:58 PM
biscuits with quince paste and camembert cheese yummmmmmmmm but i cant have it :crying:

Oh my god.... That is exactly what I feel like!

I love anything to do with soft cheeses, salami etc....

At the moment I feel like a big piece of fillet steak with mushroom gravy, crunchy roast potatoes and peas and corn....

Thats what DH is making me for dinner tonight! lol

Roxy76
01-04-2007, 06:30 PM
i have already told DF, that after the bub is born, he is bringing me in brie, smoked salmon, salami etc.... all those things that are fobidden!! :laughing: spoil ourselves with a delicious buffet of lushness!! :party:

jaasssy82
02-04-2007, 10:14 AM
I AM going to turn into a walking piece of toast topped with cheese and avocado...... its my life at the moment

goose
02-04-2007, 10:17 AM
Oh you are all making me so hungry :p I was naughty today and got a bbq chicken :( It was so hot & fresh....made lovely sandwiches with tomato, cheese, chicken & ceasar dressing :D Will make an even yummier baked dinner with baked potato veg & gravy ;)

Its ok mrs X.. I love bbq chicken.. I just get one at 10:30am when red rooster opens or 9am at the shops and eat it straight away.. cos then i know its just been cooked and not sitting in the warmer for hours... Yummo...

mumof2angels
02-04-2007, 11:23 AM
I remember craving coco pops with the girls ate a 600g box in 3days! I dont know if im craving anything yet. I feel hungover everyday so i eat bad food, bacon eggs chicken schnitzels, kfc, etc.
I cant wait til it passes. Im off tea/coffee, love porridge actually, tomato sandwiches with cracked pepper and mayo.
Id have to say more than anything im just starving all the time even after i eat dinner or a huge lunch.

goose
02-04-2007, 11:52 AM
I remember craving coco pops

I have had these for breaky everyday since thurs... :o

Saw them while doing shopping and HAD to have them.. Weird since i dont usually eat cereal for breaky..
But instead of having my toast for breaky i have been having it for morning tea with some avo or fresh tomato and salt and pepper...

Moops
02-04-2007, 08:59 PM
Im not really having any 'weird' cravings but when i do want something i want it then and there and no one had better bring me a dodgy substitute either!!! (Did i mention im a little moody too?!)

I never used to like plain orange juice before but now im drinking it by the carton i cant get enough of it!!

goose
21-04-2007, 01:31 PM
mmmmmmmmm Food... :laughing:

At the moment for me olives are sooooooooo good.. Green ones with the capsicum inside.. Im eating them by the jar full, i have always loved them but not this much..

Pickled onions are pretty good to...

Frozen lasagna i want it all the time.. (cooked though ;) just not homemade.. frozen brought ones taste so much better..)

Guess what we are having for dinner tonight...
Lasagna with garlic bread and some salad with lettuce.tomato,cucumber, and olives... :smiliedance:

Pizza is :barf:

Like i think i want it but as soon as i smell the cheese melting its turns me off and i cant even think about eating it... (melted cheese on other stuff is fine though... weird)

Kristy

Kizmet
26-04-2007, 04:57 PM
i cant eat overly greasy food now as it make me :barf: so im completely different to last pregnancy! I craved KFC all the time and hot chips with gravy but now just the thought of them makes me want to :barf:

Last night i craved a fruit salad so went and bought all this beautiful fruit from woolies and made it and oh dear god it was the nicest fruit salad ive ever had! it was beautiful! why does giving into cravings feel so good :laughing:

tonight i'm craving tacos in a big way but we dont have any ingredients here and i doubt we will go get any.

Anyone elses cravings changed?

krisash
26-04-2007, 05:11 PM
i am craving sesame prawn toast. and i normally hate chinese.lol. so far that is it.

Moops
26-04-2007, 06:49 PM
For about a week the only thing that would make me feel better was 2 minute chicken noodles for lunch. It wouldnt make me :barf: and would actually settle my stomach a bit. That was until last week when i spent all day :barf: after it, even typing this is making me gag!! So me and noodles are no longer friends!!

goose
26-04-2007, 06:53 PM
So me and noodles are no longer friends!!

Porrige and i are no longer friends after an incident the other day... :barf:

TMI,
Its gross how they get stuck in your throat and come out your nose...

I loved kfc last time kate and im still loving it this time..

27-04-2007, 07:53 AM
I'm still loving soup, wonton noodle soup :D

Other than that luckily I can eat anything. Also very fond of salads lately with a can of tuna chucked in :thumbsup:

Kizmet
27-04-2007, 09:05 AM
i had to have a tuna wrap for lunch yesterday because i was craving it so bad!!!:laughing:

Lozie
27-04-2007, 10:56 AM
U are making me want tuna! I was eating heaps of Salada crackers with tomatoes and heaps of salt and pepper now we have run out and i neeeeddd it:o:laughing: might go to subway and get a tuna and salad foot long hhhmmmm........*drools*

Kizmet
27-04-2007, 11:04 AM
ooooo salada biccies are my best friends right now until DH started raving on about vita wheat biccies with marg and vegemite and then i was like ooooo need to have them!

melbryan
27-04-2007, 05:16 PM
I am craving OJ and anything with bacon and eggs in it buns, breakfast lunch.

me270880
29-04-2007, 06:18 PM
im eating at least 5 apples a day, normaly can't stand them, chicken with banana, mango and banana juice, and alcohol (odd cause i dont drink) i havent given in to that one but i'm even dreaming about it... but the list of things that i cant stand is huge; anything with oil, marg (but im loving butter), nuts, choc, biscuts, the smell of anything burning espic ciggs:barf: its killing me not having choc cause i still want it but if i eat it it makes me:barf: . with eldest i craved olives on icecream, number 2 thai food, number 3 carrots, ice, caramel.

Kizmet
23-07-2007, 06:36 PM
I am still craving quince paste and camembert cheese! I had a family lunch on the weekend and they had it there and I was dying! I finally got the quince paste though which was brilliant!:laughing:

Other than that I am craving all sweet things like chocolates, cakes, sponge with jam and cream *drools*

I often have cravings for big roast dinners too! Baked potatoes and gravy *drools*

mumof2angels
23-07-2007, 07:50 PM
Cravings!!!! What fun!! Ok these are what im craving at the moment, will leave the grossest till last.

Strawberries fresh nothing on them, I have eaten probably 6 punnets since last Monday and am all out, need to get more!!

Baked Chicken but it has to be a Steggles corn fed chook cooked in an oven bag, with baked veges and gravy mmmmmmmmmmmmm!

Ice ( had this with the girls too) yep the crunching pleasure has started:thumbsdown: I dont have enough ice trays.

And lucky last the most disgusting ( not from my point of view at the moment :p ) is the smell of fresh wet dirt straight from the garden, petrol, Bunnings love the wood smells and love the smell when you start the car with the revesre cycle air on and it blows the stale air out the vents!! EEeeWWWWWW!!! No not really!!:D

Kizmet
23-07-2007, 07:53 PM
OOOOOO I had massive dirt smell cravings with DD :laughing: how odd but it smelt sooo good

24-07-2007, 06:55 AM
I'm not having any real cravings I dont think :p Actually I did make DH go to the shops a few weeks ago to buy scones & cream :o He came back with savory scones so I made him go back, get a refund & get proper plain scones :p I'm mean :p

EcstaticEm
24-07-2007, 08:15 AM
Ive been eating Sour cream by the tub full! - and putting it on my cereal.. The idea makes me want to :barf: but I can't seem to get enough!

Vegimite Tast with a Fried egg and sourcream on top is my FAV brekky ATM - (What is the bub thinking??!!!)

goose
24-07-2007, 10:08 AM
Ive started with the ice again.. Didnt start till i was about 33 weeks last time.. Poor freezer is working overtime.. :laughing:
And more fool DP who comments when i whinge that im cold as im shoveling ice cubes into my mouth.. :devil6: :laughing: You would have thought he'd have learnt from last pregnancy..

Choc chip cookies are good too.. And tacos..

Mmmmmmmmm and Indian food.. Cant wait till our bubhub mums night out next week.. yummo

ETA - Em your weird :p lol..
The egg i can understand but cereal..

24-07-2007, 11:34 AM
Why is it that everytime someone posts an odd craving I start feeling like it :laughing:

goose
24-07-2007, 11:47 AM
Dont tell me your about to serve yourself up some cereal and sour cream RB.. :eek: :laughing:

24-07-2007, 12:50 PM
Umm.....no :p Its DH's birthday & he just made yummy garlic prawns in a tomato sauce :D AND can't forget the chocolate mud cake we have for his birthday :D:D

EcstaticEm
24-07-2007, 02:02 PM
Oh YUM RB!!! (Sour cream with Milo on it makes a great Mud Cake Topping :o )

24-07-2007, 03:08 PM
:laughing: I'll leave the sour cream creations up to you :hugs:

Kizmet
24-07-2007, 03:24 PM
oh Em I feel sick just thinking about all your sour cream creations :laughing:

Although earlier on in the pregnancy I had mass cravings for wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce:laughing: ooooo the thought is making me want them again:laughing:

Roxy76
24-07-2007, 03:47 PM
oh Em I feel sick just thinking about all your sour cream creations :laughing:

Although earlier on in the pregnancy I had mass cravings for wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce:laughing: ooooo the thought is making me want them again:laughing:

i went through a wedges with sour cream and sweet chilli sauce phase too a few weeks ago!!! mmmmm

Vespera
24-07-2007, 04:00 PM
oh you girls are strange! I'm still on my fruit fetish although I have swapped from apples to pears.

My mum was telling me on the weekend that when she was pregnant with me all she wanted was icecream with curry powder on top. Ewwww :barf:And yes she ate it regularly.

cromeo
24-07-2007, 04:09 PM
I think I'll pass on the sour cream recipes...

My cravings was for meat pies. And it came on so suddenly. I was studying during the early stages of my pregnancy. Once during an exam, all I could think about was having a meat pie with tomato sauce. I had to suppress all the meat pie urges and try to answer the exam questions without writing meat pie meat pie meat pie everywhere. Needless to say, I ended up rushing through the whole thing, driving to coles on my way home and picking up a pack of frozen meat pies. Luckily enough, I managed to scrape by with a pass. :rolleyes:

Oh, another craving was for guacamole... By itself :yes:

Roxy76
24-07-2007, 04:31 PM
at the moment i am LOVIN fruit!! strawberries and kiwi's in particular! oh and frozen berries!!!

mini_me
26-09-2007, 04:41 PM
Ive just started craving dog biskets :laughing: havent eaten any - we dont have any animals LOL but im smelling dog food everywhere

goose
26-09-2007, 04:53 PM
Ive just started craving dog biskets :laughing: havent eaten any - we dont have any animals LOL but im smelling dog food everywhere

:eek: :barf:

I hope you resist the temptation..

Roxy76
26-09-2007, 05:00 PM
i feel bit blah (haven't actually :barf:but close to it) last couple of days and only really feel like toast with things like jam, peanut butter etc, fruit and some veges

not feeling like anything heavy or stodgy! yesterday had pasta and potato and bread mostly and had stomach cramps and tight and was so sore!!

plus finding can't fit in as much food at one time anymore, so gone to grazing all day instead!

bubs is definitely growing though! can feel it!

Shana
26-09-2007, 06:17 PM
Mmmm, interesting mini_me. We have some dog buscuits here . . . I'll check them out for you . . can't say they've caught my attention as a possible snack yet though.

I pigged out on Maltesers yesterday then felt sick afterward :rolleyes: . Liking frozen coke's atm.

I'm similar Roxy - not feeling too vomit worthy, but my eye's are bigger than my stomach and I'm a bit hungry all day. My belly is aching too so maybe another growth spurt is about to happen?