View Full Version : Any Tips On Dyeing Your Own Hair?

14-12-2005, 11:35
Hey girls, I am looking at dyeing my own hair next week (for the first time ever!), and want to know if you have any tips for me.....

I only have very short hair (spiky), so i don't know why i'm stressing, i just don't want to end up with it everywhere and not even all over! I have never done my own...i normally wait for sis to come and visit to do it for me...DH won't even help! I only need help to do the back properly, and he thinks he'll stuff it up! I would go to the hairdreesers and pay, but i don't haev anyone to babysit for 2 hours

So, any idea so i don't look end up looking like a freak???? :rolleyes:

kimmy
14-12-2005, 11:51
M y mum did mine once when i was younger & man it was so bad i couldn't believe it.
Use two mirrors so you can see the back of you hair or came over here & ill do it for you but i haven't done it for a few years. :D

14-12-2005, 11:56
I can do other people's no worries, just freaking out about messing up the back of mine...

I normally run around the hairline with Vaseline, so the dye doesn't go further than it should. So maybe i'll have to hold a mirror to do the back with the vaseline and then i shouldn't have to worry too much. I'll just grease myself up!! Ugh.....

kimmy
14-12-2005, 12:01
Wow that's a good idea with the vaseline i had never thought off that before.
Sound like it would be a bit hard to do & slippery at the same time but hay good luck with it. :D

14-12-2005, 12:02
Hehehehe...i'll need it! :D

Sarie
14-12-2005, 12:05
I'm doing mine again next week too ;)
A few too many 'lighter coloured' hairs popping through :p

kimmy
14-12-2005, 12:12
Ive been wanting to dye my hair too I'm thinking about going blond see i have red hair well strawberry blond & i do not like it at all. :D

Sarie
14-12-2005, 12:21
I tried blonde once. But my hair went a very unattractive shade of orange :eek:
My hair is too dark for blonde. Back to basic Black for me!!

kimmy
14-12-2005, 12:24
Yeah i went black for a couple of years but it didn't really look good on me & my hair went orange once as well how :o is that lol.
So i try to stick to the lighter colours.

melfunction
14-12-2005, 12:49
I'm doing mine on Fri. Dh does it for me. Sensitive new ager, my dh :p

Sarie
14-12-2005, 12:50
My hubby used to do it for me too, now he gets to keep the kids out of the bathroom while I do it!

kimmariee
14-12-2005, 12:54
wow what a coincidence im dying my hair just now and am waiting for it too work so thought i would have a look on bub hub :) I'm doing blonde as i dyed it on the weekend a darker red colour and i don't like it im normally a light redhead but always do it blonde or blonde highlights. Have been dying hair for years although didn't do it much over last year its really easy if you do a colour like your own colour i just do roots first then put the rest in like i'm shampooing it i nearly always get it good although sometimes do the wrong colour(blacr and dark brown and dark red). Anyway hope you go for it don't stress too much and i tell ya it always makes me feel better when i do it (if i get it right he he).

14-12-2005, 13:08
Maybe I'll come to your place Sarah...at least you'll tell me if it looks horrible! Won't you? :o The greys in my hair are disgustin, especially at the tender age of 24! I'll be white by the time i'm 40! Methinks its DH!! ;)

My hair is naturally dark brown (my MIL had to actually ask me once, as i have always dyed it since i've known her! LOL) and this time i'm thinking a red so it stays dark but with a vibrant red tinge.

I have been like a deep flame red before, but it makes my skin look red, and my freckles stand out even more, which i hate! I've also been black, maroon, have had a hot pink fringe, but never blonde, i'd look weird, though i'd love to be able to though....

Meeting with all the fam at chrissy, and one is a hairdresser, so i'd better get it right! LOL

Sarie
14-12-2005, 13:14
I've always wanted Fire Engine Red hair to go with my green eyes, but I've never been game enough!
I was black through out most of my late teens early 20s then went back to burgandy or boring brown.
Sure Shannon you can come here!! I can do it for you if you like!!

14-12-2005, 13:17
Is that a genuine offer????? Do you mind? That would be great and i can do yours or watch the kiddies while you do......

14-12-2005, 13:18
Is that a genuine offer????? Do you mind? That would be great and i can do yours or watch the kiddies while you do......

Go on, you should be game and try red!! You can get some really nice deep reds now too.....You never know if you don't try......I was always doing stuff like that!

Sarie
14-12-2005, 13:19
Absolutely, so long as you trust me ;) ;)
Seriously though, we could make a day of it!
Wear the kids out in the pool, sit them down in front of a movie with some lunch for a rest and make ourselves look beautiful!!!
Yes to the offer bit, by the way!

14-12-2005, 13:28
Cool...as long as you don' mind i'd love to.....when would suit you then, Wednesday i have Mac's needles though....

Sarie
14-12-2005, 13:30
Can I get back to you on a day, I have to try and find a day next week to get Nat done too :eek:
I just hope he doesn't freak out on me, when I'm on my own.

14-12-2005, 13:38
Yeah, same here.....its gonna be so different this time now that they know whats going on.....not looking forward to it at all.....

There's no hurry getting back to me, whenever suits you...

Sarie
14-12-2005, 13:40
I'm s'posed to call today, but I haven't yet :rolleyes:

Sarie
16-12-2005, 08:41
Wednesday is ok for me, if it still suits you.
Actually pretty much anyday is ok now (I have the girls pressies now;) )
Wade' is going to take Nat to the doctors when he gets home on Monday arvo.
So let me know when you think, I'm free as a bird... well so far:p

16-12-2005, 08:58
Wednesday is when i get Mac's needles.....

I'm gonna try and do it myself on the weekend, or maybe tonight (i get my hair cut this arvo, the shorter it is, the easier it'll be...right?). I have to learn to do it someday! :rolleyes: But i will let you know how i go...i may need a do-over! LOL

Monday arvo i have to get the car serviced before chrissy, so thats out for me anyway. Is Tuesday alright if i pop in for shopping? If i need a do-over then we could just do it that arvo? Thanks for offering to do it too....i appreciate it.

Sarie
16-12-2005, 10:54
No worries, Michelle is interested in catching up next week too.
Also ran into SJ and her computer is playing up.

ofiona
21-12-2005, 14:29
ok girls, I am a hairdresser. I fully advocate doing your own hair unless you are made of money and can really afford to pay someone to do it for you. But my tip is get a girlfriend to do it if you can, she will see the bits at the back that you will miss. If you are going lighter this is a must. If you are going darker or just covering some of those 'natural highlights' my sister thinks she has, doing it yourself isn't too hard. Aim for the roots first and just comb it through to the ends for the last 3rd of the processing time. My DH has done mine before and it wasn't too disasterous.

So anyway, go for it and if you need any advice, I'll try to help if I can.

No one should have bad hair at Christmas. (except me coz I'm so busy doing everyone else's!)

Fi

21-12-2005, 14:36
Ok, so to update you all, i didn't do it, and my sis is doing it for me on friday when she comes over...i chickened out......:o

Sarie
21-12-2005, 14:41
Only cause you don't really trust me... I know :p

Sarie
21-12-2005, 14:42
I did mine by the way:p

Sara's Boys
27-12-2005, 09:55
Hair is an absolute confidence maker and breaker, and I have to disagree with Ofiona. I am a Professional Hairdresser have been in the industry for more than ten years and have spent loads of time and money on learning how to make you guys look fab. If you are contemplating using Professional colour and you are not a hairdresser ...Good luck, there is a actually a science behind colouring , it's not only unpredictable but extremely unsafe, you must also be careful where you rinse the colour the stuff is toxic and shouldn't be used in the same place that your kids bath or wash their hands in, etc. I understand that it can be expensive, but there are a lot of good affordable hairdressers around. AND WHY DO WE ALWAYS HAVE MONEY FOR EVERY THING ELSE AND NOT THE THING THAT MAKES US FEEL GOOD ABOUT OURSELVES!! Getting my hair done is my escape, a treat and usually quite creative. If you really are strapped try booking in at a good college, where motivated young stylists will do it for a 3rd of a salon price, (AND NO THEY ARE NOT LEARNING HAIRDRESSING SO THEY CAN CHOP OFF YOUR HAIR AND DYE IT GREEN,THEY ARE FULLY SUPERVISED AND WOULD LOVE TO PLEASE YOU)some of these good salon/schools that use modelsare Fadi Haddad,qld Biba Academy aust wide, Toni Guy aust wide, Pivot point and there are more. You can also call colour companies like loreal, scwarzkopf etc and put your name down for training course models, that where qual hairdressers to extra courses. Sorry to overload you , but it's one of the experiences in life we should have to ourselves!

27-12-2005, 12:07
Thanks for the tips Sara, but i live in a small country town that doesn't have any training colleges, etc, and i have 2 little girls who i have no babysitter for....hence doing it myself....If i could get a babysitter for 2 hours i would definitely go and get it done professionally! There's nothing i would like more!

Sara's Boys
27-12-2005, 17:05
fair enough, a lot of my clients over years have been fix up jobs! so I am passionate! Maybe you should learn and start a home hairdressing salon sounds like youe town could do with one:)

27-12-2005, 17:16
Yeah...maybe! :rolleyes: I don't think i would trust myself to do anyone else's though! I can't even do my own yet! LOL

27-12-2005, 19:34
Sorry another nosey hairdresser butting in!!! :p

You should check out the yellow pages & see if there are any mobile hairdressers in your area..... If i wasn't so far away I'd offer to do it.... well in a couple of months anyway... he he he:rolleyes: (new bub at home!!)
That way you wouldn't need a baby sitter... just work it around nap/rest time!!