View Full Version : I am being worn down lol
ok, so with my first I used cloth, just the terry towling, even though I hated it I lasted a few months, with my second however I lasted all of three days I think coming out of hospital, hated it so much, but all this talk about mnc's is starting to wear me down. I am just totally put off by the cost of them, without knowing what they are going to be like, knowing if I will like them or not.
I did find three on a garage sale, the lady swore by them, so will give them a go, but somthing tells me they are nowhere near as good as the ones you talk about on here...
Questions:
* do you still use disposable wipes? or cloth wipes as well?
*which ones would you recommend to get should I get worn down enough? is there a website? or where do you buy them?
23-03-2007, 09:02
What brand did you pick up at the garage sale?
they are called Zappy Australia...
Oh, the other question I have is size wise, how long does one size last before you have to buy a whole new lot?
23-03-2007, 09:06
I use cloth wipes - it's easy and they clean up better.
*which ones would you recommend to get should I get worn down enough?
Try one a few different types to find what works best for you. There are many different brands out there such as Green Kids, Baby Beehinds, Swaddlebees, Fuzzi Bunz, Itti's Bitti's, Honey Boy, Twins In Cloth - the list goes on:yes:
is there a website? or where do you buy them?
Check out this site for heaps of info including places to buy
Oz Cloth (http://www.ozclothnappies.org/)
jess_live_die
23-03-2007, 09:07
i use disposable wipes lol they are just easier for me
*which ones would you recommend to get should I get worn down enough? is there a website? or where do you buy them?
id buy GK's personally coz i love them and they are one size. im not of there website but ozebaby is a good site to look at
and i love BBB and BBH
23-03-2007, 09:08
they are called Zappy Australia...
Zappy's are not my favourite - not very absorbant but do work ok on a newborn (with a cover).
Oh, the other question I have is size wise, how long does one size last before you have to buy a whole new lot?
Some nappies are one size fits all (OSFA) so fit most kids from birth to toilet training. Examples are Green Kids, Baby Beehinds, Motherease, Bumgenius etc etc
I must be blind, cant see where to buy them on that site
i use disposable wipes lol they are just easier for me
id buy GK's personally coz i love them and they are one size. im not of there website but ozebaby is a good site to look at
and i love BBB and BBH
so with the wipes, I guess you would just have a small bin next to the change table to put the wipe in? and a bucket to put the nappy in?
Nuddle - check out the links for real nappy week. It is on this week and there is an event in brisbane - South Brisbane tomorrow morning - where you can go along and have a look at all sorts of different cloth nappies. I am going to go and have a look to see ones that I have heard about before I make any more buying decisions.
23-03-2007, 09:11
I must be blind, cant see where to buy them on that site
http://www.ozclothnappies.org/links.html
You will have to scroll;)
23-03-2007, 09:13
MCN is fantastic. Before my forth baby i wasn't interested in cloth at all. I thought it was soaking, pinning ect, sounded too daunting for me until i discovered MCN through BubHub and no way am i turning back.. now my forth bub is in MCN full time, it's too easy!
Anyway, i recommend getting a trial pack from baby beehinds (google it) and go from there. Everyone i have come across on BubHub can swear buy these nappies and the good thing is they are a one size fits most and they are the most absorbent nappies. If they don't work for you, sell them. There's a fantastic re-sell value on them, you'll end up losing $2-3 and if not nothing at all. If they do work for you and you are enjoying it, buy a bigger pack of them. If you are really enjoying MCN then maybe you would like to venture out and try different types of MCN. You may want to make your life a little easier by purchasing a little squirt to spray off the poop if you don't already have one.
Not sure about the Zappy nappies, never tried them before.
23-03-2007, 09:14
Nuddle - check out the links for real nappy week. It is on this week and there is an event in brisbane - South Brisbane tomorrow morning
That is a really good idea here is the link too-
http://www.modernclothnappies.org/
http://www.ozclothnappies.org/links.html
You will have to scroll;) thanks
The quality of MCNs these days is so good that it's rare to find a "bad" one IMHO, but I think you would be better off getting a starter package from any of the online stores. OzCloth is a good place to start. I also recommend trying a one-size-fits-all nappy such as Bumgenius. If your newborn is petite, you may need to get some newborn sized nappies as some MCNs are bulky, but even so, you will still get so much wear out of them before having to go up to the next size.
Everyone has a different opinion on what they like best and what suits their baby, so it comes down to your lifestyle. I chose my stash based on whether they were quick-dry, easy to use for me and for daycare, and one-size fits all so I can use them on my next baby. Climate is also a big factor - I don't use wool because it's too hot in Cairns!
I also use cloth wipes - I have a 12-pack from Baby Greens, it's organic cotton and really soft on bub's bum.
Don't worry about the cost... instead think of what you will save by not having to by sposies!
The quality of MCNs these days is so good that it's rare to find a "bad" one IMHO, but I think you would be better off getting a starter package from any of the online stores. OzCloth is a good place to start. I also recommend trying a one-size-fits-all nappy such as Bumgenius. If your newborn is petite, you may need to get some newborn sized nappies as some MCNs are bulky, but even so, you will still get so much wear out of them before having to go up to the next size.
Everyone has a different opinion on what they like best and what suits their baby, so it comes down to your lifestyle. I chose my stash based on whether they were quick-dry, easy to use for me and for daycare, and one-size fits all so I can use them on my next baby. Climate is also a big factor - I don't use wool because it's too hot in Cairns!
I also use cloth wipes - I have a 12-pack from Baby Greens, it's organic cotton and really soft on bub's bum.
Don't worry about the cost... instead think of what you will save by not having to by sposies!
thanks, the thing that scares me spending all that money upfront is what if I dont like it, and dont end up using them much, then I would have more cost, as I will still go back to the sposies... like I did with my other two. But I guess I will just have to bite the bullet and buy some and try them out...
Nuds, what you doing here?? lol!!
I have spent around the $300 mark, and have enough nappies to last for a while, mainly cause I bought alot of sized (ie, nb and small) nappies.. but I can sell them again, and buy bigger later on.. If Id bought all one size fits all, I be set for TTraining, but I love a change, lol, so I know Ill wanna swap or sell and rebuy different ones.
$300 is like 10 boxes of huggies, I reckon, what 6 months?? I dont quite remember how long a box lasts.. lol....
My nappies will last at least until he is 9 months cause of the sizing..
For $500 you can get enough nappies to last till toilet training, and never have to spend on disposibles, and the way I see it hun, is that if I have them here now, I WILL be using them, cause I cant waste that much money, iykwim..?
Ill send you that link I send Jessie yesterday, it has heaps of shops on it.. (The gdunh sponsor list, I love it)
HI i am a brand new user of mcn's and i was a bit hesitant at first on spending that much money..but guess what....IM SO ADDICTED now its not funny. I just want more and more and more. Im getting the one size fits all type so i don't have to worry about another expense down the track. DF even likes them cos he can use them too. I recommend just buying like one of the best brands as i am doing and finding out which ones you like and if you don't like them then as the others say - resell.I put princess in her first mcn overnight and it didn't leak and i was soooo impressed..
But believe me once u get one you want stop there.
jess_live_die
23-03-2007, 10:18
so with the wipes, I guess you would just have a small bin next to the change table to put the wipe in? and a bucket to put the nappy in?
yep :yes:
ok, two more questions, do you have to put those wool soakers ontop? dont they smell if they get wee on them?
and do you use the mcn's at night?
23-03-2007, 13:51
I do use MCN at night. A fitted (mostly Bamboo BabyBeehinds) teamed with a wool soaker/shorties/longies.
The thing with wool is that it is most breathable. You don't need to wash it everyday, once a month tops unless it's soiled with poop or something, which has never happened to me. All you need to do is air it out between changes. Too easy!
All you need to do is air it out between changes. Too easy!
even if it gets wee on it??
23-03-2007, 13:55
Yep even if it gets wee on it, the soaker itself won't feel wet or damp. The lanolin helps wee repel away from the soaker.
ETA : and also, the lanolin helps the soaker smelling nice.
I know it probably sounds gross not washing it for that long (i was grossed out too to begin with) but theres really no need to wash it often.
ButterflyMama
23-03-2007, 14:38
Oooh Nuddle it's so great to see you here! All clothie-newbies unite, lol.. :smiliedance:
Have you been to the BabyBeehinds (http://www.babybeehinds.com.au/) website? I just ordered a Deluxe Trial Package from there, because, like you, I am a little hesitant on forking over a lot of money for heaps of nappies and then what to do if I don't like them. The Deluxe Trial Package from BabyBeehinds gives you 2 fitted nappies (one size fits most) {1 bamboo and 1 hemp}, 2 covers (1 wool and one PUL), soakers which go into the nappies for use at night and some liners, too.
I'm going to be using terry flats with PUL covers from Bummis for the first few weeks once bubs arrives, and also trial the babybeehind nappies. Then, if I like them - I'll be buying the Fulltime Package which includes 25 nappies (you can choose either hemo or bamboo, or half and half), 8 PUL covers, 5 overnight boosters and 3 packs of baby wipes
Just the easiest and less-scary way of going cloth, in my opinion. Thought you might appreciate the info from someone who had the same initial fears/doubts of cloth. :thumbsup:
Also, check out the stickys in this forum. They're full of great info!
Jessie
thanks Jess....
everytime I think I am almost convinced, I think about all those disgusting blow out nappies, and think nope, just rather roll up the sposie and chuck it...
:smiliedance: Another convert!
I was dead against cloth while pg with Mitch... then saw all these threads on here for mcn's and voila! Here I am!
I started out with a Green Kids trial pack, and a Babybeehinds trial pack. That's what I'd recommend to anyone starting. Plus, I got a couple of packets of facewashers & a water spray bottle to use as wipes.
Have fun! It's a totally addictive experience :laughing:
tanni_83
23-03-2007, 14:49
i think its green kids, they also have a tiral pack....look at those too, ive heard nothing but good feedback about those :thumbsup:
I too am a new to MCN (will be converting in sept when bub comes along) and i will be getting baby bee hinds trial pack and a green kids (if i have the right brand, someone pls correct me if im wrong) trial pack to just get me started and to see if i like them.
And like plenty of people have already said, they will sell like hotcakes on another nappy site or here if they dont work for you. They have an awesome re-sell price, you only loose a few $
thanks Jess....
everytime I think I am almost convinced, I think about all those disgusting blow out nappies, and think nope, just rather roll up the sposie and chuck it...
It's not so bad. I don't even have a Little Squirt! I just use cut up microfleece as liners, then most of it get's caught on that. Then I'll tip it in the loo, and rinse off the rest in the trough.
(And you're meant to do that with sposies too ;) )
ButterflyMama
23-03-2007, 14:53
thanks Jess....
Understandably.. they are gross..
But I think if you have a good system.. it's no harder. Just keep a nappy bucket beside where you change bubs, use microfleece or polarfleece liners to catch most of the poo.. put the dirty one straight into there.. and then dry pail (http://www.ozclothnappies.org/info.html#drypail)..
Heh! it was the blowout poos that cemented my knowledge that cloth was best for us! I'd much, much rather deal with poo on a cover than with poo on clothes, sheets, the rug...
Lara