View Full Version : MM fleece pilling isseeeww
KapowSchazam
22-03-2007, 21:20
Uh - I washed a nappy today with mm fleece outer and it has :eek:pilled:eek: all over!!
What do I do?!?!? :crying:
22-03-2007, 21:35
Pilled? Really? It's not meant too! Mine gets covered in white fluff... acts as a lint catcher! Needs a brush to get it all off. But as rule, MM isn't meant to pill- as in, it re-groups but isn't meant to form little balls that you can pick off.. is this what you mean?
HoopDeeDoo
22-03-2007, 21:50
Malden mills fleece shouldn't pill but it does change from velour to shearling, which looks like sheep fleece. If it is 'pilling' then all you need to do is get a fabric comb, you can get them from the supermarket. I used one on mine this morning just to soften up the fleece, and it works beautifully! The first lot of microfleece (not from MM so not sure if it was MM) I bought did pill really badly, and even the combing couldn't flatten it out :thumbsdown:
But if it is Malden Mills, it shouldn't pill, but Emma's right is does collect the lint from the wash, and if thats the case a good fabric brush is what you need, also available from Woolies
What type of MM fleece is it? There are a few varieties.
The windpro, can collect fluff - and you need to brush it off with a lint brush, dark colours in particular collect lots of it - wash in a laundry bag if it bothers you.
300wt goes flatter, but doesn't pill like the fleece you get at Spotlight. Again you should be able to brush the lint of it, with a brush.
KapowSchazam
23-03-2007, 07:22
I believe it's 300wt...
Can't pick them off as such, I brushed it with my clothes brush and it does look a little better, but kinda like the fleece has separated a bit...
Before (http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r292/NayBobBianca/Other/P3230358.jpg)brushing
After (http://i147.photobucket.com/albums/r292/NayBobBianca/Other/P3230362.jpg)brushing
Do these help? Not sure how clear they'll come out!
Thanks for your help! :hugs:
Hmm...maybe I should bring it along with me tomorrow and you can tell me if it's normal or not Lesley???
The pics were a bit too close ;) , but bring them tomorrow, I can tell you what's what, and I'll bring some washed/unwashed MM fleece, and you can see the difference in types
My MM fleece is the worst at attracting lint and fluff! I try to save my fleece things (nappies, clothes, rugs) till I can do a load of them all together so that they don't collect as much fluff and lint from the fluffier things. I heard that washing them in one of those washbags can help too?
KapowSchazam
23-03-2007, 09:58
Thanks Lesley, I'll bring it in!
I was also thinking about the wash bag...but wouldn't it be a little gross if the nappy is 'soiled' - obviously rinsed, but you know...
23-03-2007, 11:35
I use the wool shaver to get all the gunk off. The MM fleece doesn't catch, only the lint.
300wt DWR fleece i find that it doesn't pill at all, and it's a lot softer. I reckon that this fleece looks heaps better than MM.
Lesley - what's the difference between them two performance wise ?
Here's a link to some details about Malden Mills
http://www.ozclothnappies.org/info.html#differentfleeces
Performance wise Windpro is the top of the line, the 300wt with DWR is still great, but you can still get some compression wicking, with bubs that sit/lay down alot, if you have insufficient absorbency on your nappy. It happens particularly in high chairs, trolley seats, wooden floors, hard surfaces particularly, because the fleece can't breathe through them.
The 300wt imo flattens out slightly, whereas the windpro - smooth or velour types don't do this. But there are so many varieties and finishes, that you really need to pick and choose to suit yourself. If you aren't sure what type you are getting, ask the maker :)
23-03-2007, 11:53
Ah ha.. makes perfect sense. Thanks Lesley!
HoopDeeDoo
26-03-2007, 14:28
So what was the problem - did you get some answers?