View Full Version : How much weight have you gained?

MeAndMy2kids
22-03-2007, 10:29 AM

I'm just wondering how much weight has everyone gained so far.

I went to the drs on Monday and I was so shocked when I have gained a total of 2kgs :banghead:
- but i guess it doesnt help when Im craving breads and pastas, and I'm not having any sickness

nicoleE
22-03-2007, 10:56 AM
i voted 1-2 but it is hard to say. I was weighing myself every week before but with body fat scales and went by body fat ratio rather than weight (as i am building muscle at the gym) but now apparently it isnt recommended to use those kind of scales (they send electrical impulses through your body) so i have not been weighing myself.
When i went to see the Ob he weighted me with normal scales and my weight was around 1-2kg heavier than i was before but it was at a different time of the day and this can make all the difference with that small amount..

gee that was a load of :ecomcity: wasnt it! Ha, ha sorry!:o

SpaghettiMummy
22-03-2007, 11:18 AM
I've actually lost weight but based on the last two pregnancies I've barely lost any (just a couple of kilos in comparison to losing up to 10.5kgs)

However both other times I went from losing weight to getting back to my 'normal weight', as in before that pregnancy, and then got up to 66kgs(previous weight was 55kgs) and then 68 kgs (previously 58-60kgs but I fell pregnant when DS was only 8 mo and I was still BFing and kept eating like I was BFing for a bit)

Everyone is individual though. A good friendof mine puts on about 20kgs no matter how little she holds down during the first trimester.

I guess it also depends on your starting weight etc.

Kewe
22-03-2007, 12:17 PM
I havn't gained a thing, might have lost a KG, will see what the scales at the doc's say next week, and see what the hosp scales say when I pop in there in a few weeks

I jumped on the scales at the doc's last week as weighed about the same, so thats all good, i'm predicting i'll probably only put on around 10kgs by the time i'm full term

angeltoes
22-03-2007, 01:15 PM
I've lost weight too, and I can afford to as my starting weight isn't great. :o (about 79kgs but I'm short so that's a lot for me)

I didn't put on much with DS, and at the rate I'm going I'll probably lose more before I start gaining with this one too...

ange27
22-03-2007, 01:23 PM

I've put on about 1 kilo. I feel like ive put on a lot more than that though because I already have a little podgy belly. I love watching it grow though makes you feel like everything is going well.

Believer
22-03-2007, 04:56 PM
I was weighed on one of the IVF procedure days and was 65kg. Then at my 10 week ob appt. the nurse weighed me at 67.5kg. I was actually suprised that I had gained weight since my weight never fluctuates. I'm not sure if it's good or bad to gain 2.5 kg so quickly. I haven't been eating too poorly though... except for not enough vegies. Oh well! :rolleyes:

Kyahli
22-03-2007, 05:12 PM
i was under weight when i fell pregnant, though i have put on a few kilos already!!! not good, i weigh 57 kilos at the moment!!

angeltoes
23-03-2007, 07:55 AM
Kyahli - How do doctors react to your being underweight? I wonder if it's different to how some of them treat overweight pregnant women. (like me)
Just think that would be an interesting comparison.

Kewe
23-03-2007, 08:12 AM
angeltoes i'm only around 47kg and I don't get treated any different

apart from my friends telling me to put some meat on my bones :laughing:

i'm not really that underweight though, just on borderline for my 160cm tall body lol (yes i'm a short ****) :laughing:

abeckaj
23-03-2007, 09:46 AM
I lost a kilo and then this week have put on 400gms!

My ob was not happy with me though when i spoke quickly to him on the phone the other day as now that i'm carrying twins i apparently am meant to have put on at least 2 kilos - oops!

But i'm not that worried as i can afford to loose some fat i reckon! :laughing:

Kyahli
23-03-2007, 09:49 AM
Gizmo, how tall are you though???

I am 5 ft 9 (175cms) and that weight, and yeah they just, well everyone really tells my to put on more weight...

Josie07
26-03-2007, 01:34 PM
If it makes you feel better I've gained 2 kgs in about 11 weeks, not happy about it but I have been craving pasta and things like that. I'm still trying to have as much fruit and veg as I can each day and I've just started aqua aerobics last week which I absolutely love !!

If anyone has access to aqua aerobics give it a go - honestly I thought there was no hope for me being pregnant and not being able to do any of my normal exercise stuff (and walking can be boring sometimes) but this has given me a new outlook and will definitely keep me fit right up until the baby comes, there is other pregnant ladies in the class and its heaps of fun. I might even manage to lose some weight (fingers crossed)

Hope this helps

xo

mel79
26-03-2007, 04:48 PM
I've put on about 3kg which I'm rapt about cos I have been underweight for ages and have never been able to put any weight on. (Might have something to do with quitting smoking before falling pregnant too....i'd so much prefer to put on weight than to put those nasty cigarette chemicals into mine and my babies bodies)

MeAndMy2kids
28-03-2007, 09:19 AM
Well I'm glad I'm not the only one who has put a little more weight than I thought.

My cravings have now stop so I hope my weight should settle down. But I do remember with my DS I put more weight on in my first and third trimester - in the middle was quite steady.

But at the end of the day as long as I have a health baby.

Kewe
28-03-2007, 09:22 AM
well I got weighed this morning, and I now weigh about 49kg, so that is 2 kgs more than when I first found out I was preg in Jan,

abeckaj
28-03-2007, 09:28 AM
I got weighed at the doctors again yesterday and apparently i have now lost 2 kilos - bue because the babies were 5.5 & 5.3cm and healthy my ob said it must be me not the babies losing weight!

Grizabella
07-04-2007, 12:00 PM
Digital scales aren't necessarily more accurate - all have a slight margin of error.

Anyhoo - I have put on 3kgs in 3 months. Not bad!:laughing:

Kewe
18-04-2007, 03:29 PM
well I got weighed today

i've gained 2kgs in less than a mth :eek:

I hate to how much i'm going to weigh by Oct at this rate :eek:

robinson
19-04-2007, 08:29 PM
When I fell pregnant I was 58kg i'm now 55.5kg.. so no weight gain here.. just weight loss.. that comes with being so sick in the start..

Kewe
22-05-2007, 08:28 AM
well I got weighed again yesterday, i've only put on about just over half a kg in a mth, bubs must have been having a growth spirt last mth, or I was lol

michblb
22-05-2007, 06:02 PM
I thought I was the only one struggling to put on weight, at 8 weeks (when I bought scales) I was 50kg and now I'm 55.

Kewe
20-07-2007, 09:27 AM
well I got weighed yesterday, and so far i've put on 8kgs, I might be right on target with gaining only 12kgs during the whole preg :smiliedance: well as long as I don't suddenly pig out lol

Pebbles
20-07-2007, 10:13 AM
I am pretty impressed with my weight gain this pregnancy. With DS I put on only 7 1/2 Kgs the whole pregnancy! This time I have already put on 7 kgs and I still have 3 months to go. My goal is to put on at least 10 kgs but I would like to put on 12 kgs.

saremc
20-07-2007, 10:26 AM
I have lost weight and am only just putting it back on. Think it might be one to two kilo oh well i dont mind i feel great and bub is going very well. And of course kick and kick untill i get my craving (iced choccie) yum!

Grizabella
21-07-2007, 12:56 AM
I had put on 12 kgs at 25 weeks. Haven't been weighed since - but I only put on 12.5kg total with Brion - I reckon I am going to go way over with this one!

SpaghettiMummy
21-07-2007, 07:35 AM
Well I lost weight due to m/s and went from 55-56kgs to 52kgs (small weight loss compared to previous 11kg and 8kg loses) and am now sitting about 60kgs which is good for me at this stage. Am interested to see how I go after the move, as I think we'll be taking out past next Wed so I don't have to do many dishes and probably mostly until we move in too as we'll be on the go once we arrive down on the coast.

21-07-2007, 01:49 PM
I was 55kg before I fell pregnant (still had 5kgs to loose from Bailey) now I am 59 kg's. So at 26 weeks I have put on 4 kg's.

I am hoping to only get to 63kg's, that's what I was when I had bails. :fingerscrossed: The more I gain the harder I have to work to get it off again.

Mammy
21-07-2007, 06:12 PM
Im normally 60kg and am now nearly 75kg :eek: Im surprised ive put on that much weight coz i cant see it. Even my Ob says 'wheres your baby'.
Im 5ft 9ins so maybe its distributed well.
At this stage ill be reaching the 30kg mark by the time im finished. Oh well, its all for a good cause!

AnD05
21-07-2007, 09:38 PM
I started off at 52kgs and now at 29weeks I'm 59kgs. Like you Moo Moo Im like where is it? I know my thighs and bum are now thicker but not sure where else it's gone! Oh the joys, the fun part will be getting it off, I've never had to really try and lose weight before so that will be interesting!

ems24
22-07-2007, 01:20 AM
i have put on alomst 2-3kg grr

Kewe
22-07-2007, 07:08 PM
I re read all my notes the other day, and i've gained more than what I had thought

10kg's already :eek: its all good though, I need to gain a little weight as I was under 50kg's to begin with, I recon i'll put on another 5 or so kg's before bubs arrives, so 15kgs all up isn't too bad

punkbaby
22-07-2007, 07:09 PM
i am usually 52 kgs now i am about 59 sometimes 61 i am happy though its all boobs and baby :D

nicoleE
23-07-2007, 07:46 AM
Im too scared to step on scales. Before becoming pregnant I worked my but off at the gym 4-5 times a week and watching what I ate and it took 2 years to get from 72 to 66kgs (im 164cm tall) and from 34% to 27% body fat (my aim was 25%), my body just didnt want to loose fat! Therefore I am very emotional about the weight gain. I know i shouldnt be and believe me I am not really watching what I eat that much anymore, Ive lost ALL willpower! (im fine with meals but its chocolate and desserts when Im out and about that are my downfall!) I know I have put extra on, I can see it in my face, but im accepting it as a part of being pregnant (and hoping i can rid it after the birth!). At the end of my pregnancy I will weight myself as Id like to know how much I put on in the end so I can compare it to next pregnancies... The Ob weighted me when I first visited him when I was about 10 weeks pregnant but has not since, perhaps he is going on how I look and not on how much I weigh..??

SpaghettiMummy
23-07-2007, 08:08 AM
Nicole- I lose a fair amount and look it which I know is why I get weighed as they want to make sure I am recovering ok I guess. My Gp once I was making sufficient gains in her eyes stopped weighing me every visit and just weighed me every other visit.

My GP with this pregnancy can see I haven't been as sick and look much healthier then when I first showed up and my FH is normal so she's not been too worried for me. My GP I am going back to probably will once again weigh me every visit or two but I guess it help them to have a good view of your overall health as well.

Your Ob sees pregnant women everyday so he'd be able to see a difference quicker then a GP probably would maybe?

kitty1kat
24-07-2007, 10:55 PM
I've put on 10kgs too, which freaked me out a bit the other day when I looked at the scaled for only the second time this pregnancy. I'm not sure if I'm fooling myself, because although I am a bit rounder around the hips, thighs, cheeks, I don't LOOK like I've put on 10kgs. Or at least, I don't feel like I do! I still fit into original pregnancy jeans, and I figure if I had ballooned massively, I wouldn't! My DH is only same height as me and I now weight more than him, which is pretty depressing! And to be honest, I would like to blame on baby etc, but i KNOW most of it is from complete lack of willpower and allowing myself to induldge in absolutely everything! I travel a lot, and have been polishing off bits of the mini bar every single night! Oink Oink. I am not THAT worried about it now, but may live to regret it!!

abeckaj
25-07-2007, 01:11 PM
I have only put on 10kgs at 30 weeks which my obs says isn't much for a twin pregnancy. Last time i put on heaps more but this time i seem to have only grown a big belly out the front and not put on weight anywhere else thankfully.

Grizabella
25-07-2007, 01:17 PM
Majority of weight gained during pregnancy is fluid - so I don't stress too much - it all vanishes after the birth :D

mel79
27-07-2007, 05:31 PM
That's such a good point Jude - fluid accounts for most of the weight gain, AND it weighs a LOT more than fat - so, ladies, next time you look at the scales, don't freak, cos 2 kilos of fluid is nothing compared to 2 kilos of fat!
(Speaking from personal experience here - i have put on 20kgs (i was only 51 kgs when i fell preg) so far, but have only gone up from a size 8 to a size 10.

Grizabella
27-07-2007, 06:21 PM
Yep apparently majority of weight is fluid, increased amount of blood, and placenta, baby and THEN the fat you put on (which is a special kind of fat only put on by pregnant women and is specially made for baby as well) - so if you diet you can actually do more damage then good.

Kewe
27-07-2007, 06:45 PM
Majority of weight gained during pregnancy is fluid - so I don't stress too much - it all vanishes after the birth :D

and the once hard tummy turns into a soft flabby one lol, can't wait :laughing:

anyways, no need to stress about weight, its all helping bub now and will be used up after bubs is born :yes:

oh and if anyone is planning on breastfeeding, its been proven to help you loose weight too :thumbsup: