View Full Version : If you had....
tanni_83
22-03-2007, 09:36
ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS souly for the use of MCN and acceceries when you were first starting out with the whole MCN stage (like i will be doing in september), what do you think you would have done!!??
When i get the money for having the baby, ive decided to allocate myself (and the baby) a whole grand of it to go towards its tooshie :smiliedance: :laughing:
Should i just spend a few hundred (say half) to get my stash going, then say buy a (or a few) new nappy every few weeks (or less if i cant help myself) after ive worked out what works for me....should i buy a lot of different sizes to start with in covers (if i get seperate covers) and wollies or wait till the baby is big enough to fit into them. If the baby is anything like elise (it will still be in medium size when its 2 (she is very slim but tall).
SO WHAT WOULD YOU DO!!! id love to know what you'd do with a $1000 dedicated to MCN!!
OMG NOW IM SO EXCITED i cant wait to get started....BRING ON SEPTEMBER! :yelclap:
Ooh, okay I would buy:
A Green Kids Starter Pack $276 (13 nappies)
A Green Kids Starter Inserts Pack $135
Part-time Baby Beehinds Package $258
And then some Berry Plushes $34.50 each
Some swaddlebees $24.95
And then save the rest for new release nappies
id buy one of everything:laughing:
tanni_83
22-03-2007, 09:53
id buy one of everything
you just wouldnt be able to help yourself would ya...you'd blow it all in one go...we all know what ur like miss zada :p :laughing: :hugs:
22-03-2007, 09:53
Hmm.. thats a hard one. 1k isn't enough for me!! :o
you just wouldnt be able to help yourself would ya...you'd blow it all in one go...we all know what ur like miss zada :p :laughing:
:laughing: u know me too well;)
tanni_83
22-03-2007, 09:58
Hmm.. thats a hard one. 1k isn't enough for me!! :o
im just starting out, imagine when you first started on MCN and you had no stash what-so-ever....to me it sounds like a LOT of money, considering we're quite broke and im relying on it for this purpose :yes:
I think its a lot :yes:. I havent been a clothie for long and dont *think* i've spent over $1000 yet and i've got enough nappies for a newborn baby to last for 2 days! :).
stellarella
22-03-2007, 10:00
I would buy one of everything...then see what worked...Id sell what I didnt like and buy more of what I did.
I wouldnt spend it all in one go though cause new nappies come out all the time and part of the fun of MCN is buying and getting fluffy mail regularly...so I would try and stretch the money out over time :yes:
22-03-2007, 10:03
In that case, i wouldn't be buying bulk packs of any kind. Start off by using trial packs and see what works for you best.
Fitteds (baby beehinds - bamboo) are awesome from newborn and above with either a woolen cover or good quality PUL covers.
tanni_83
22-03-2007, 10:04
yep, i will stretch the $$ as much as possible...and considering ill probably have 2 in cloth, coz elise will only be 2 1/2 ill just make an excuse to dh that since im not spending the $$ on sposies every week/month i can put that towards new nappies as well....he might no like the idea since ive already got the $1000, but im sure i can talk him around it :laughing:
SweetDreams
22-03-2007, 11:11
I wouldnt buy a bulk pack either... best buy one or two of those that interest you til bubs is born then you can see what style suits him/her best and go from there. It's very possible though that your bubs will be similar to your DD (that's what I'm going on for my future purchases!). The good thing is there's a good re-sale on most MCN if the nappies don't suit :)
jess_live_die
22-03-2007, 11:15
id buy Berry PLush's
wool covers
longies
yep and thats about all
22-03-2007, 11:20
Jess, why would you buy wool covers and longies if you don't have fitteds or nappies that do need covers ? (assuming that you would only buy BP's of course)
tanni_83
22-03-2007, 11:33
maybe shes just wanting those to add to her original stash
22-03-2007, 11:36
oh right, get you :thumbsup:
I thought this was a hypothetical question if we were to start over again, thats why i was confused.. never mind :o
lilBoofD
22-03-2007, 11:40
I'd buy loads more bbh, mostly bamboo and some hemp - only cause they work really well on my big boy, so hoping they will be the same for bubs.
And some woolies - the soakers I make are pretty boring with my basic knitting skills, so I would ask Kymmy really nicely to make me some more, plus shorties and longies :yes:
Hmmm, I might put some of our baby bonus money aside for more nappies - who knows how many I will need with 2 in nappies over winter - I so don't want to have to wash them every day!!! :D
tanni_83
22-03-2007, 11:56
oh right, get you :thumbsup:
I thought this was a hypothetical question if we were to start over again, thats why i was confused.. never mind :o
yes thats what i intented (starting from scratch) but i think she got it mixed up is all :thumbsup:
HoopDeeDoo
22-03-2007, 14:02
If I were you...
I'd get a little bit of everything to try and put the money aside to buy the things I really love.
If it were me....
If we had a surprise pregnancy and I had to buy enough for a new baby. I would buy 6 BBH, 6 BBB, a few GK anytimes, a few BP in M and L sizes, lots of Malden Mills fleece, minkee, hemp, bamboo, flannel fabrics to make my own nappies. Probably some Bits for Bots, Beetlebums, and all those WAHM nappies that look so gorgeous but I don't have a good enough reason to buy because I have enough nappies now :p
Oh I'd love to have a newborn to use some kissaluvs on - they look nice, and raphaels :yes:
For someone who isn't planning on anymore can you tell I've thought about what nappies would be nice on a newborn? :laughing:
Ummm I guess I would like to get Pookey pockets and Bits for Bots and a few others but considering that would take a while to accumulate I am not usre. Does it have to be instock. i would also get someone to install the little squirt. Bamboo fold ups....
And maybe a hundred or so on wool to knit up covers...well that is what i will do when i am pregnant with next bub.
22-03-2007, 15:09
Well i didnt have $1000 like you but i had quite a few hundred saved up so i brought
6 GK's and 6 inserts with a microfibre insert and a booster
6 BP's
2 Dry Bees(ok but not the best)
4 cushie tushies
another 3 GK's and 2 inserts
1 homemade flames nappy
And i have no idea what to buy next.
Oh and of course id get a little squirt and a few wet bags.
HoopDeeDoo
22-03-2007, 15:48
Oh definately a little squirt if you don't have one!!!!! :yes:
If I had to start from scratch, with $1,000 to spend, I'd get -
Cherub's Kiss fitteds (I saw these in the flesh for the first time today, and they look GREAT!!)
BBH Bamboo fitteds
TotsBots Bamboozles (when they finally come in snaps!)
Heaps of wool wraps, all different brands
Heaps of knitted soakers/shorties/longies by various wahm's
And some Happy Heiny's, Swaddlebee organic velour's & GK pockets.
Someone want to lend me some cash?!?!?! :devil6: :p
tanni_83
22-03-2007, 22:52
thanks for all your replies everyone
:yes: i had every intention on getting a little squirt too :)
ziggie use some baby money when bub comes along...dh doesnt know how much im spending yet, but guess what, i dont care what he has to say, I CHANGE THE NAPPIES :devil6: :laughing:
sarah_jane
23-03-2007, 12:09
I'd get some reaonably priced 'workhorse' nappies,
try baby beehinds
tots bots
and mandy Macs
then buy a bulk pack of your favorites, these should all go from birth to TT (tots bots size 2, with the front folded down)
Also find your fave covers, BBH, tots, motherease, WAHM..... shop around, see if you can meet people to look at theirs, or if people would lend you one to try.
Then I'd look at 'cute' nappies and out and about nappies.
I love bubblebubs, so would probably get a dozen, in medium cos this size lasts for ever on my boy (sounds the same as your kids- 20 months and still in medium) $335
Try a few AIO's though, itti bitti, Wriggleybumz, JayeBee, razzily rhino, cuddles n cloth, honeyboy, lou lou..... the list is enourmous.