View Full Version : August Mums in Brisbane/Gold Coast
deb1234
22-03-2007, 08:39 AM
hello all you lovely august mums...
hayley (hayles07) & i have decided its about time all us in Brisbane/Gold Coast meet up for a chat. I think we should have it somewhere close to the city so that you can come from the northern suburbs as well if you live up there somewhere.
If your DHs/DPs are interested as well that would be great, we could make it a dinner or something. :yes:
Let me know if you want to come :)
hayles07
22-03-2007, 03:51 PM
Thanks for making this thread - I think its a great idea! :D
I know there is more than just you and I in the Brisbane/Gold Coast area - But it'd be interesting to see exactly how many....
I think dinner or something along those lines sounds great and partners is perhaps a good idea as well..... :)
Let's see what all you other girls think.....
deb1234
22-03-2007, 04:00 PM
woohoo i've got one friend :) was getting a bit worried there....haha. anyone else want to join us? :D
hayles07
23-03-2007, 07:40 AM
doesnt look like anyone wants to join us just yet.... :D
imisschampagne
23-03-2007, 09:30 PM
Hey girls, im Nicci, i'm keen to meet up, i kno DH would be up for it 2, i live on the northside bout 20mins from the city so that would b great!!
hayles07
24-03-2007, 10:51 AM
Hey Nicci!
Sounds great - One more person to come along, yay! So far I think all of our DH/DP are up for it too! :D
deb1234
24-03-2007, 04:58 PM
sounds good! i'm in nz next week then mum is coming to stay the following week, then my DH is away....so what about some time the last week of april or first week of may? dinner in town somewhere? :)
hayles07
24-03-2007, 05:15 PM
I'm pretty much free anytime - Though I am going away the first weekend of may, which I think is the 5th? I'm sure it shouldnt be too hard to work out a time when everyone is free... :D And hopefully by then, there will be more of us! :smiliedance:
imisschampagne
24-03-2007, 08:46 PM
Yep sounds great, weekend of april 21/22 would be great or sat night 28/4, weekend 5/6 may is out for us. DHs work schedule sucks...
alena
26-03-2007, 12:12 PM
hi girls
i'm in brissie too - mt gravatt/wishart right now but funnily enough moving into our new home the week of the 23rd april.
we will probly be busy packing and unpacking those weekends, but i'm sure DH and i can tear ourselves away for dinner :yelclap:
would certainly be good to meet some other parents-to-be from the area.
alena
imisschampagne
26-03-2007, 03:04 PM
hey girls just found out 21/4 is out for me 'family thing' but 28th is still good...
deb1234
26-03-2007, 03:17 PM
hey alena :wave:
21/4 is out for me anyway because my DH is in nz.
Shall we make plans for the 28/4?
we should probably pm each other exact details since there could be some scary lurkers around here!! :yes:
anyone know a good restaurant in the city? :yelclap:
hayles07
26-03-2007, 03:32 PM
Hey Girls....
28/4 sounds pretty good to me - I will make sure I keep it free... That's 2 days before my 21st lol.. Gee I'm getting so old... :D
I cant think of any good places to go in the city, but you girls have a think - And yes, I agree deb. Itd be best to PM each other with the details.. Just to be on the safe side... :thumbsup:
deb1234
26-03-2007, 04:17 PM
haha hayley, yes you are getting old! :laughing:
i hope you can make it to dinner and your hip doesn't give out on the way :D
hayles07
26-03-2007, 04:20 PM
I should be able to make it, even if I have to hobble the whole way :laughing:
Now wouldn't that be a sight!! :D
imisschampagne
27-03-2007, 07:35 AM
Haley - That's 2 days before my 21st lol.. Gee I'm getting so old...
:crying: :crying: :crying: Im 29 on April 24
ps - how do i get my quotes in that little blue box :confused: Pregnant Brain
imisschampagne
27-03-2007, 07:38 AM
28th it is then! ill ask DH bout good places for dinner in the city...and get back this arvo!!!
imisschampagne
27-03-2007, 07:42 AM
hi girls
i'm in brissie too - mt gravatt/wishart right now but funnily enough moving into our new home the week of the 23rd april.
we will probly be busy packing and unpacking those weekends, but i'm sure DH and i can tear ourselves away for dinner :yelclap:
would certainly be good to meet some other parents-to-be from the area.
alena
Hi Alena, how is 28/4 for u guys...would be great for u to come :D
imisschampagne
27-03-2007, 07:43 AM
i did it (quote in blue box) it only seems to work sometimes??????? Weird
Opps sorry for the multiple posting!!!!
alena
27-03-2007, 08:44 AM
28/4 sounds good. will have to tear ourselves away from the joys of unpacking :yelclap:
let me know if you want any opinions on restaurants... before pregnancy and freaking out about buying a house we actually used to eat out quite a lot!
JorBai
27-03-2007, 08:50 AM
Hi Girls!
Im not an aug mummy but an end of July mum so knowing my luck Ill be over and turn into an aug mum anyway! LOL!
DH and I would have loved to come but I will be in Melbourne that weekend visiting my MIL but if you decide to do it again then count us in!!!!
Have fun!
Leanne
imisschampagne
27-03-2007, 08:53 AM
28/4 sounds good. will have to tear ourselves away from the joys of unpacking :yelclap:
let me know if you want any opinions on restaurants... before pregnancy and freaking out about buying a house we actually used to eat out quite a lot!
yeah, if you know of some good spots let us know, i always forget the names of places we go and where they are:laughing:
Amused
30-03-2007, 11:43 AM
Hey All,
I'm also an August mummy and am interested in tagging along. Could you please PM me the details?
I can't commit to anything though at the moment (sorry to be a pain) - it is too far away and I'm not sure if I will be interstate or have family up because it is very close to DS's 1st birthday!
deb1234
24-04-2007, 05:16 AM
ok, so are we still on for this saturday night?
if anyone knows of a good restaurant can you please pm everyone? :) i'm up for most kinds of restaurants but love italian :yelclap:
hayles07
24-04-2007, 05:21 AM
Damn! I completely forgot :eek:
DP was going to take me out for my birthday..... Will have a talk to him and get back to you...... How could I have forgotten :laughing:
deb1234
24-04-2007, 05:47 AM
maybe we could do saturday brunch instead?
imisschampagne
24-04-2007, 08:07 PM
Damn! I completely forgot :eek:
DP was going to take me out for my birthday..... Will have a talk to him and get back to you...... How could I have forgotten :laughing:
:laughing: mmm, a severe case of pregnancy brain i presume:laughing:
imisschampagne
24-04-2007, 08:11 PM
i'm still up for dinner...not sure of any good spots in the city the only one i know is a super expensive one called pier 9, but it's pretty much seafood, so i suggest we steer clear of that one...plus we r on a ' we're having a baby this year, cant spend a fortune, budget' i will ask DH again if he knows somewhere nice, but not OTT.
imisschampagne
25-04-2007, 07:16 PM
Hi girls, do u want to re-schedule for sometime mid-late may, give us all a little more time...im having a really busy week.
hayles07
25-04-2007, 08:13 PM
Hi girls, do u want to re-schedule for sometime mid-late may, give us all a little more time...im having a really busy week.
Yeah, good idea perhaps...... And yes, my pregnancy brain forgot... :laughing: So much to think about.. We are heading away next weekend... So anytime after that would be good! :thumbsup:
YummyMummy1
25-04-2007, 09:14 PM
I live on the gold coast but dont get to travel up to bris much anyone on the coast? the beach is still nice this time of year
deb1234
26-04-2007, 05:06 AM
I live in the middle of Brisbane & Surfers (Ormeau) so can go either way. :)
hayles07
26-04-2007, 07:04 AM
I live in the middle of Brisbane & Surfers (Ormeau) so can go either way. :)
Me too! :yes:
deb1234
26-04-2007, 07:39 AM
can you still do sat night hayley? maybe we could make it at the hyperdome (exit 28)? not too far south for those brisbane people and plenty of restaurants to choose from. :) someone needs to make a decision here!! :laughing:
hayles07
26-04-2007, 08:47 AM
Its up to you Deb... I'm more for having it in mid May, but by then we'll just be getting bigger and bigger :laughing: Not that it matters... Hopefully I'll be able to still fit through the doors!
I have a pretty big Saturday.. Mum is working so has asked Mark and I if we will take my little brother to football - Hes only 8 and its ever so cute to watch! Hes the champion of the team :yes: I guess thats what happens when your older brother is a football coach....
Saturday afternoon, I'm meeting a friend for coffee. I haven't seen her in years and then Sat night, we are meant to be going out for dinner....
LiciaSings
27-04-2007, 08:57 AM
I live on the pretty far northside of Brissy, and just found this thread. Can't believe I didn't realise it was here! anyway, if you girls do look at doing something mid-May sometime on a weekend, I'd be interested. I could go into the city or even the south side, no worries. Don't know if I'd go all the way to the gold coast (I'm sortof 1/2way btwn brissy & sunshine).
Really busy this weekend too, but do keep me in mind if you get together later, I'd love to meet a bunch of you ladies!
hayles07
27-04-2007, 09:14 AM
This Saturday night is out for me.... We have such a busy weekend ahead... But I am all for mid May if we want to organise something for then :yes:
alena
27-04-2007, 09:21 AM
hi ladies
yeah this saturday is out for us too, mid may is sounding good (although that isn't too far away now, we better get ourselves organised!)
i was going to suggest the continental cafe in new farm, good for dinner, lunch/brunch or brekkie and they have a reasonably priced menu with a good range. we have been going there for years... it's right in town, so good for people coming from north or south, and i know if you book in advance they can usually fit big groups in - sounds like we might have a few coming along, espec with partners etc. i had my hen's night dinner there and they gave us a private room and limited menu with a set price which was really good, i think there were around 20 of us there... the breakfasts are particularly good - great range.
anyway DH and i are still up to do something :)
how about saturday 19th or sunday 20th for dinner or brunch?
deb1234
27-04-2007, 09:26 AM
It seems there aren't many people who can go tomorrow night so i say we postpone until mid May. Only problem is my DH is away so the earliest we could come would be Sat 26th May. How does this suit everyone? :) I'll be 30.5 weeks! :eek: So look out for a big fatty!!
Add your name to the list below if you want to come so we can be organised! :D
1 Deb & Chris
Whoops posted at the same time as you alena. i can't do 19/20th sorry...hopefully people can do the 26th/27th? I'm up for brunch :)
alena
27-04-2007, 09:29 AM
It seems there aren't many people who can go tomorrow night so i say we postpone until mid May. Only problem is my DH is away so the earliest we could come would be Sat 26th May. How does this suit everyone? :) I'll be 30.5 weeks! :eek: So look out for a big fatty!!
Add your name to the list below if you want to come so we can be organised! :D
1 Deb & Chris
2 Alena & Chris
hayles07
27-04-2007, 11:57 AM
1 Deb & Chris
2 Alena & Chris
3 Hayley & Mark
imisschampagne
27-04-2007, 05:16 PM
1 Deb & Chris
2 Alena & Chris
3 Hayley & Mark
4 Nicci & Matt
alena
30-04-2007, 07:40 AM
I have just booked in for an ABA workshop on Sat 26th 10-3pm so can probably only make it in the afternoon or evening. Is anyone else going to this workshop - it's at Logan Hospital.
deb1234
30-04-2007, 07:44 AM
i haven't read up on all the millions of pamphlets they gave me at the hosp...so didn't know about it. but sounds good. might see you there :D
we can make it dinner on the 26th. :)
OJandMe
30-04-2007, 07:53 AM
Oh me me! *puts hand up*
I want to come :yes:
What are we doing? When is it?? It will probably be just me as I'll leave DH with the boys so I can have some time out.
What are we doing?? :D
alena
30-04-2007, 07:58 AM
i haven't read up on all the millions of pamphlets they gave me at the hosp...so didn't know about it. but sounds good. might see you there :D
we can make it dinner on the 26th. :)
cheers deb :thumbsup: i think i found the info on their website. there are still a few places left... i think :)
alena
01-05-2007, 08:03 AM
How about brunch on Sun 27th? I loooove going out for brekkie/brunch....:yes:
deb1234
01-05-2007, 08:04 AM
Yep Sunday brunch is good for me :)
hayles07
01-05-2007, 08:38 AM
Yep! Should be good for me too :thumbsup:
OJandMe
01-05-2007, 12:54 PM
Sounds nice.
Where abouts??
deb1234
01-05-2007, 12:56 PM
Gretel...as if we are that organised!! :laughing:
we've got a date, that's a good start i think! :thumbsup:
shorty_851
12-05-2007, 06:03 AM
Anyone in here from Thw wynnum area
imisschampagne
18-05-2007, 08:47 AM
Ok gals, are we still on for Dinner on the 26th?
If so we need to get it organised now before we forget again:yes:
Southbank could be an option...:confused:
alena
18-05-2007, 10:23 AM
Can't do dinner on 26th - family thing - what about brekkie/brunch on sunday 27th?:fingerscrossed:
hayles07
18-05-2007, 10:27 AM
Im going to be a pain in the butt and say that both the 26th and 27th are out for me - But you girls can still organise something..
My brother comes down on Wednesday for a week, and then my sister and nephew come down on Thursday - My sister and my mum are going to the Pink concert... So its going to be busy, busy, busy for me next weekend... I don't get to see my family all that often, so I'd better not make other arrangements...
Sorry girls....
deb1234
18-05-2007, 01:55 PM
Brunch on Sunday 27th sounds good :)
alena
19-05-2007, 04:41 PM
So who do we have still coming? Last count was:
1 Deb & Chris
2 Alena & Chris
3 Hayley & Mark
4 Nicci & Matt
But Hayley can't make it. Everyone else good? And Gretel?
vBulletin® v3.8.3, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.