View Full Version : Dizzy.....

Jaileth
13-12-2005, 10:28
Yesterday was not fun. All I wanted to do was sleep, but my IL's came over to help tidy up the house (for an inspection we have today! :eek: ) so I couldn't. Then, last night, I must have gotten up too quick or something, and I collapsed half way up the stairs.

Luckily, I knew I was going down, so was able to catch myself. But my head was spinning, and didn't stop for almost half an hour. I managed to drag myself up the stairs and call out to dh - who had headphones on (was on the puter) so didn't hear me fall. He took me off to bed and stayed with me till I fell asleep.

That's never happened to me before. My head was still spinning while I was laying down, completly still.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what could have caused this? I'd eaten well, had plenty to drink (all water) and I just can't think of anything else that would have caused it. I got up the same way as normal - and seem to be able to get up at the same rate today as I usually do, so, I'm at a loss.

HoopDeeDoo
13-12-2005, 11:08
maybe your blood pressure was going a bit strange?
Pregnancy does funny things to you, i often get dizzy spells. if you're out and about today maybe get your blood pressure checked.
glad you feel better now though, and you didn't hurt yourself :)

13-12-2005, 11:59
My blood pressure did strange things while i was pregnant. It was mostly good, but sometimes if i got up too fast i'd have happen to me what did to you. Also, if i stood still for too long, like waiting in a queue, i felt faint, and actually did once in the queue at Coles. Had to get taken to hospital by the ambos! I wasn't even preggers that time, just happened.

I'd go get your blood pressure taken, just for good measyre, but it could have just been a one off. Better to be safe and all.....Hope you're feeling better...

Sarie
13-12-2005, 12:12
Yup 100% with Shannon, I had blood pressure probs with my first pregnancy.
Also in this weather make sure you're drinking lots of water, dehydration is a nasty thing as well!

kimmy
13-12-2005, 12:15
I use to get really bad head spins like that when i was pregnant both time's, it felt like i was going to pas out & even when i laid down my head would still spin & it made me feel sick.
Are you on iron tablet's if not maybe talk to your doc about getting on some.

whatwasithinking
13-12-2005, 12:19
I fainted and collapsed at work when I was 7mths pregnant with DD#1. I was taken to hospital by ambulance. When I was checked out at the hospital they told me it was my iron levels that were down and I needed to take some supplements of some sort. Plus my blood pressure was very low too (but I always had low bp through pregnancy so it wasn't anything new.
Just keep an eye on it as it may have only been a one off, if happens again see gp or phn midwife and let them know.

13-12-2005, 12:45
I had the same prob with both pregnancies.... it's aweful!

I had anemia (sp?)- low blood count which fixed itself up with iron suppliments. Plus I have low blood pressure aswell!! I'd talk to your doc about iron tablets!!
Have a nice juicy steak for tea tonight!! :p

cosmic
13-12-2005, 13:09
Sounds like these girls have got it covered, Shaelia! I also feel dizzy and light-headed if I'm in the sun for too long - especially if I'm weeding the garden and getting up and down all the time. But I've been told to watch my BP and iron as well.

Hope you're feeling much better anyway. Take care of yourself.

Jaileth
13-12-2005, 19:12
Thanks all - I have quite low bp as a general rule - it's actually risen through pregnancy :rolleyes: :) what I find really funny is that I had steak for tea - realy meat for what felt like the first time in ages. Maybe my body just wasn't used to it?! lol.

Have a dr's appointment tomorrow - so will ask her then. :) Thanks once again for reassuring me that i'm (somewhat) normal. :p

Jaileth
14-12-2005, 18:11
dr said that my bp does drop quiet a bit when I go from sitting to standing. Getting a blood test done :eek: :( on Friday - I hate needles!!!! - so that should tell what's happening with my iron levels.

Thanks all for your help!!!

Jaileth
14-12-2005, 18:21
lol! I think that's what he's done with the stuff that's meant to control my thought centre - since becoming pg, I too am permantly ditzy!!! :D

Jaileth
14-12-2005, 18:26
And hidden it away, never to be seen again I bet!!! :D

Jaileth
14-12-2005, 18:28
I swear bubs has eaten the ones containing my short term memory. I'm just waiting to see what else he's munched through!

Jaileth
14-12-2005, 18:33
lol kb - quite a possibility - I reckon dh has it (or at the very least, slective hearing!!! :rolleyes: :p )

Jaileth
14-12-2005, 18:47
Blindness, deafness, incompetence......

Jaileth
14-12-2005, 19:32
lol! ;) :D I won't tell a soul!