View Full Version : What are you having?

M O P
21-03-2007, 16:06
Just thought this would be an interesting poll,
I'm curious anyway.

I'm having a surprise myself :)

xpress2
21-03-2007, 16:15
I'm pretty sure I'm having a boy - Well thats what they thought but I'll wait for my next scan, in less than 2 weeks, when I find out for sure before I answer the poll! :)

Kirst
21-03-2007, 22:34
I'm 'surprise' but I have a feeling it's a boy.

LiciaSings
22-03-2007, 06:40
Had my anatomy scan on Tuesday - it said we're having a girl. We had a pretty good view - it's pretty definately a girl. We're so excited! Valentine

AngelGirl
22-03-2007, 07:03
Licia - Congrats on your girl!!

A surprise for me too but I think it's a boy so we'll wait and see!

jamb
22-03-2007, 07:26
I feel girl, reckon boy tho, only one week till the mystery can be revealed:yelclap:

MammyMammy
22-03-2007, 11:29
I am in 2 minds about it

Last night I dreamed I was an archaologist and I uncovered 3 new chapters of darwin's Origin of Species...that were never revealed before....and I won the nobel prize for discovery....go figure....and in the chapters it talked about ability to conjure up the changes in species that make natural progression and selection, thus forwarding the species to a higher level....and on another chapter it talked about the harvestor (woman) of the foetus being able to influence what they were having, and if you concentrated on having a certain sex, then there you would have one!!!!

I woke up and told DH and he said "wow, at least you slept last night" (as i havent been sleeping much at all - maybe 4 hours a night max) and now I feel weird about it?

Do I really need to know NOW rather than in another 20 weeks time?

What would it offer me to know? What would it take away?

Is the greatest surprise of all the birth of a child where gender is unknown?

Can I go all the rest of my pregnancy not knowing?

and here is the scary one - what if I find out, only to feel a bit bluuurrrr about what I am actually having?

Can you help me? tell me why you are or are not finding out - what are the reasons?

I have to decide before MONDAY!!!

xxx:thumbsup:

PS - what a crazy dream eh?

Given I won the nobel prize in my dream, i think i am owed a 6 pack of KFC nuggets for lunch today!!! ha!

jamb
22-03-2007, 12:11
hey mammy,

i am from the finding out club! for me i may know the sex but i still dont know who is in me, what they will look/sound/smell like- so that is my suprise.

i found out with my first and was devastated he was to be a boy, i mean devastated, DH called MW's as i was so distressed.

by the end of that pg, i had gotten used to the idea a little, met him, fell in love and now can not imagine having a girl:rolleyes:

i truely believe that finding out gave me time to adjust and i wonder whether or not i would have bonded if i hadnt (i had a little pnd and feel this may have really sent me over the edge)

to this day i still can not believe what my son looks like, he is gorgeous, but nothing like i ever imagined. hell he has blonde curly hair and neither i nor DH are blond or curly!!

so for me finding out helps me plan (mentally and practically).

i will still have an enormous surprise when they lift him/her up onto my chest and it is the best thing EVER!!!

pixeleyes
22-03-2007, 12:53
wow mammy I want dreams like yours! lol

It never occurred to me that the whole find out or not thing was a big deal. I never thought about it - I just knew I wanted to know end of story.

I was really suprised that the first question every one asks when they find out you're pregnant is "are you gnna find out!?".

Now I've been prompted to think about it a bit.

So there are a couple of reasons:

I really want a girl (as does the whole family) and if it's a boy I want to get used to the idea before I give birth.

Also I'm not keen on the unisex colours and styles I've seen and I really like the idea of being prepared when bubs arrives.

I don't want to be out shopping a week or two after the birth when I finally know.

No matter whether it's a boy or a girl I will be over the moon to meet our first child but for me I just like to be preapred and I want to be able to go all out and shop and get his or her room ready etc.

I find out today hopefully!!!

Best of luck with your decision. Trust your first instincts I say.

MammyMammy
22-03-2007, 15:39
Dear Jamb and Pixels...

Thank you so much for your honest posts....you've helped so much already:thumbsup:

....WELL!

Finally its out - someone else has admitted to feeling not-so-over-the-moon about the idea of having a son/boy/doodle/willy/grubby little chicken! And I am sure there are women out there a bit afraid of having a girl)

So I am coming clean : I am PETRIFIED I wont know how to deal with a son, should I get one at birth, ok so not so petrified that i couldnt love him, but I have had asbolutely NO experience with boy bubs, and have tonnes of experience with girls (and there are of course people who tell you there really is no difference but...) I have this "idea" that I'm having a girl....and I would LOVE to have a girl, and I would smooch her all over when she arrived....and I am sure I would do the same with a BOY...But perhaps if I was able to know and be ready for a boy on the inside....I would be far more accepting of a beautiful lovely little BOY. (and his weird mini-pecker peeing on me)

So does it sound like I should find out?

Bugger it - maybe I just HAVE to know???

M O P
22-03-2007, 15:54
Deb
I really, really wanted a girl the first time.
We didn't find out and eventually I got over it and once we actually found a boy's name we liked I was much more comfortable with the idea of a boy.

I actually thought in my mind I was having a girl and when Hugh was born I assumed he was a girl and the Obs asked "Aren't you going to have a look what you got?"
I looked and exclaimed "Oh My God- it's a boy!"
But I was over the moon at that stage after giving birth I could have had a baby rat in my arms and I still would have been wrapped! LOL

For me knowing is like Christmas presents- you do really want to know before but you still want that surprise on the day. It is your call though so you decide for yourself. Who knows maybe they won't be able to see on your scan?

MammyMammy
22-03-2007, 16:03
True. They could put anything on my tummy after the birth and if they told me it was ours, i'd love it to bits....!

jamb
22-03-2007, 16:12
mammy you make me laugh! sound so much like me!!

we are a family of girls, heaps of them, with one token boy cousin. i thought i would not know what to do with a boy, how would i relate to them???.

well i now can tell you it all just comes to you, i now proudly aim my sons pecker into the toilet as he is learning to use the big loo- i never in my wildest dreams would have thought i'd have to do that!!!

he also has an inclination to be nude, so i might also add that never have i seen so much beans and franks as i do in my daily life:laughing:

the funniest part is, as much as i want a girl this time, i am now worried that i wont know what to do with a she! ridiculous i know.

and something someone told me before i had kids was that little boys are just as cuddly and kissy- didnt believe it, but now i know its true.

M O P
22-03-2007, 16:22
and something someone told me before i had kids was that little boys are just as cuddly and kissy- didnt believe it, but now i know its true.

I just read that Jamb and went
"ahhhh" :)

MammyMammy
22-03-2007, 17:13
Jamb, you are a life saver!

its great to hear that it can all be beeeeeeeeoooooodiful with a baby boy

I think i should find out- i mean if its a boy and i find out, I think i will start going gaaa gaaa over boys more!

franks and beans - thats classic! I have to help my little mate when i babysit him, but he is 3ish and mainly he just wants someone to come and watch/praise him as he rips out his lil man and aims it into the bowl....

I think if i do have a boy, he'll be the only one that will be "wiping" or "dabbing" his noodle - all the others will be shaking..not my boy, i'll be getting him in the dab habit!!! (is that odd!!??)

whatwasithinking
22-03-2007, 22:05
I didn't want to find out but J did and he asked before I could stop him - gggrrr

Had my 19th wk scan today.

We are having...............ANOTHER GIRL.

J not overly happy but I have told him to snap out of it as it's not healthy for him to carry on about it - after all I told him he was the one "who determined" the sex - he was not happy.

LiciaSings
23-03-2007, 07:11
This is exactly the way I feel too!

It never occurred to me that the whole find out or not thing was a big deal. I never thought about it - I just knew I wanted to know end of story.

hey mammy,

i am from the finding out club! for me i may know the sex but i still dont know who is in me, what they will look/sound/smell like- so that is my suprise.

i will still have an enormous surprise when they lift him/her up onto my chest and it is the best thing EVER!!!

Finding out the gender, for me is just one small way of getting used to the idea of this brand new person about to enter our family. There are so many surprises... the baby and the person they'll become is such a complete unknown...for me it seemed to help just to have that one known to get used to. At least I can say he or she, and it feels more like a real person - it's easier to imagine how I can love this person when they're not an "it."

Also, I want to do lots of shopping! :thumbsup:

As soon as I found out I was having a girl, I wanted to go and buy something special for her. I hung out in target for about an hour, couldnt' make up my mind about clothes...then I walked past an artsy craftsy shop, and I got a better idea.
I found a big shirt box - about the depth of a shoe box, but big enough to fit a couple of albums and memory books in it too. It's made of strong cardboard, and I got paints and pretty little girly stickers to decorate the box. So now I have a project - I'm going to make her a memory box - where we can store photos and cards and newspaper clippings and any random special thing for later. Maybe it will last for her first 5 years or so? And by the time she is born, it will have her name on it, and already have some memories in it. So that's just something little but special I can do to prepare myself to welcome her into the world. So at the moment, I'm feeling really good about finding out.
I think if I'd found bub was a boy, it might've taken a bit longer to get my head around the idea, but I'd have made some kind of artsy project for him too, and probly find other ways to get myself all sappy and ready for him to get here.

Mammy, I hope you feel good about whatever you decide to do. And boy or girl, you will love them more than anyone else, and get all the support and help that you want :hugs:

Pixeleyes - good luck with your scan today! I hope you get a nice clear view :fingerscrossed:

pixeleyes
23-03-2007, 08:46
It's a girl! Yehaaa! :smiliedance:

The main reason we wanted a girl is because hubby comes from a family of three boys who each have two sons, so a daughter would start to even out the gender imbalance! :yes: Plus I have one niece and she has heaps of boy cousins on her Dad's side ... so she was hanging out for a girl cousin to play with.

We had fun shopping last night haha :thumbsup:

The sonographer said "don't come back and sue me if it turns out to be a boy tho". If she becomes a he I guess (s)he'll be wearing pink for a few months lol.

LiciaSings
23-03-2007, 11:27
:yelclap: Congrats on your girl Pixeleyes! So exciting!!

imisschampagne
23-03-2007, 21:24
lol at Pixeleyes, I think we had the same sonographer, as mine said the same thing!!! She had a look at the genital area about 5 times and she was convinced we are having a girl but to me didnt seem 100% I felt confused at first as to what to think but DH and I are gonna go with a girl, but have decided we will make a decision on a boys name aswell just in case

neostudded
23-03-2007, 22:57
Iam hoping for a baby!! :laughing: Nah iam having a boy, thank heavens!

MammyMammy
24-03-2007, 10:20
congrats on all the GIRL news ladies!

I am going to find out! I just have to get DH to get out of the room (or not come along)!!!

yay - i dont care what it is - i just want to start getting ready!

xxx:D

Kez06
24-03-2007, 10:47
Not sure yet but hoping for a boy!!! :fingerscrossed:
Knowing my luck it will be another girl :thumbsdown:
I will find out when i can....:yes:
Kez

MammyMammy
24-03-2007, 16:03
wow that will make 5 for u!!! wow!

imisschampagne
24-03-2007, 21:09
Mammy, im so excited for u:smiliedance: I hope u go through with it and find out, it will be worth it!! For me it just made the whole experience so much more real, we have starting calling her by her name instead of it or the prawn, and just being able to have the ability to buy and plan things while we still have 2 incomes is great. Will be eagerly awaiting some news on monday, good luck:D

M O P
29-03-2007, 05:57
well those results are pretty even aren't they!

Kez06
31-03-2007, 12:51
wow that will make 5 for u!!! wow!

Yes only cause the last one was a girl....this time it better be a boy no more after this one, im not going to be like my mum im 1 of 7.
Kez

xpress2
04-04-2007, 08:06
Its a BOY for us! Yay!!

niesl_bug
05-04-2007, 17:28
GIRL for us :party:

MammyMammy
05-04-2007, 17:35
Surprise for us (although my family all say girl)

hmm

i have my nursing chair now - bring on my baby!

Kimee
07-04-2007, 09:43
We are having a BOY! woo hoo!
Can't wait to start buying lil boy things!

Ally Jane
08-04-2007, 11:24
Its a BOY for us

MammyMammy
09-04-2007, 15:45
I'm still having an unknown.

and I'm much less interested in gender than I was this time 2 weeks ago (before scan!)

Oh well, my LadyBoy will be unknown for now!

Chuckle Puss
09-04-2007, 21:19
Sorry it's been so long since my first post, but I've been so busy that I haven't had anytime to post.

We found out last month that we are having a BOY.

Milis
10-04-2007, 20:04
Found out this afternoon - another BOY for us :smiliedance:

mom2jake
12-04-2007, 08:32
We're not finding out (I'd really love to know thou)

For the first 4months I was possitive we were having a girl, now I think it's a little boy, clearly I have no idea

onabreak
12-04-2007, 08:34
We are having a boy :smiliedance:

Livy
13-04-2007, 07:24
Wow there seems to be lots of lil boys for August.

We are not finding out (though I'd love to know). I can't wait til August so I can find out :laughing:

MammyMammy
13-04-2007, 10:19
we have not found out, but i have a strange feeling now its a girl. dont know why

if its a girl : whooo hoooo

If its a boy : whoooo hoooo

M O P
13-04-2007, 10:26
I've been buying some little girl things now,
last time I was too scared to incase I jinxed myself and I had a boy so lucky I had greens and creams but this time I've gone ahead anyway. If worse come to worse I'll have heaps in my presents draw!

MammyMammy
13-04-2007, 11:05
i suppose there is always ebay for recouping some of the cost and getting rid of unworn clothing items...or even worn things, by the look of ebay baby clothes...its a free-for-all - any condition, people will go for it!!!

I will hope for you its a girl kaz...and secretly for me too...as I love PINK!!!

Areca
13-04-2007, 14:59
It's a girl for us!

M O P
14-04-2007, 16:32
I just gave this thread a 5 star rating to lift it from the 1 star rating it did have- 1 is terrible! So it's now 3 stars.
Is it really that bad? LOL Fess up who rated it!