http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/readytogo.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/back-1.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/betterfront.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/side.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/front.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/octapus.jpg
http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/octapuscloseup.jpg
Foxymoron
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0821.jpg
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0822.jpg
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0825.jpg
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0824.jpg
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0823.jpg
Shanz
http://sgibbons4.photosite.com/
Zada
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/cl018.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/cl019.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/cl020.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/alicianappy001.jpg
http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/alicianappy003.jpg
Tea Lady
http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o250/blublulu/P4110032.jpg
http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o250/blublulu/P4110051.jpg
http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o250/blublulu/P4110036.jpg
Bekkyboo
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n111/The_Lee_Family/Garrett%2010-12%20Months/Image057.jpg
http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n111/The_Lee_Family/Garrett%2010-12%20Months/Image056.jpg
Little_Toad
http://www.bizztools.net/misc/theme.jpg
http://www.bizztools.net/misc/ballet_nappy.jpg
Phineas
http://picasaweb.google.com/superstitiouspigeon/UntitledAlbum02/photo#5053539847661698290
http://picasaweb.google.com/superstitiouspigeon/UntitledAlbum02/photo#5053540397417512210
http://picasaweb.google.com/superstitiouspigeon/UntitledAlbum02/photo#5053540878453849378
http://picasaweb.google.com/superstitiouspigeon/UntitledAlbum02/photo#5053541273590840626
MumsieMel
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a76/MumsieMel/PICT0002-1.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a76/MumsieMel/aio001.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a76/MumsieMel/PICT0001.jpg
tanni_83
21-03-2007, 15:06
if only i could sew :o or owned a machine for that matter :laughing:
Id love to be making all the gorgeous nappies like you talented ladies do :yes:
I am if there is a long closing date - I am trying to knit too;)
yep i wont have my materials for at least a week neways:p
Angelmist♥
21-03-2007, 15:44
It's alright for you guys who have mastered sewing a nappy;) LOL I'm still trying to make the 2nd one decent looking:o
I've got 3 lots of pul and fleece but I'm not game enough to sew them yet:laughing:
comeon mine arent the best either lol
Yay I'm in. :smiliedance: I went to a nappy sewing workshop today and now I know (sort of) what I'm doing. Yeehaaaaa. Cant wait to make more now.
Ok, so who wants to look after my 2 year old for a while so I can sew? :laughing:
lol got my own 3 yr old to look after:laughing:
Lets make a list add ure name if interested:
*ZADA
Cloth Sew Off
Zada
Wattle
I'll give it a go!!!:D
Cloth Sew Off
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist♥
21-03-2007, 17:15
How long have we got!:o could take a while:laughing:
Cloth Sew Off
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
Tea Lady
21-03-2007, 17:57
Sign me up too :) Is there a theme or something? (other than nappies obviously!)
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
TeaLady
I have no idea! Might think of something soon hehe. Take names down until monday hopefully i'll think of something by then!
HoopDeeDoo
21-03-2007, 20:43
YAY!!! :smiliedance: This time I'm going to make something special :detective: A theme is a good idea to get the creative juices flowing :p
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
TeaLady
Hoopdeedoo
KapowSchazam
21-03-2007, 21:04
When will you be wanting to start?
What type of nappy (fitted, pocket, etc)
Can you make this into a sticky like the knitters???
Ooooh a theme, what a great idea.:idea:
When will you be wanting to start?
What type of nappy (fitted, pocket, etc)
Can you make this into a sticky like the knitters???
take names till monday, then ill post a theme. any type of nappy u like;)
OOOhhh count me in. I have done pockets already, so am trying to invent my own style of AI2. This is gunna be fun. I can't really sew,but i still love it!!
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
TeaLady
Hoopdeedoo
Shanz
Cloth Sew Off
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
TeaLady
Hoopdeedoo
Shanz
Mum21
Omg Dan I can't believe you talked me into this. You know the only thing i've made was a crappy fitted out of a terry flat! :eek:
Ohh well, at least it'll get me off my bum and use all these materials I keep buying :o
Can I attempt a cloth pad instead?
yep, as long as u stick to the theme still;)
OOh I think this is going to be popular!
thats good! Cant wait ive got a new pattern to try out :yes:
A new pattern, great. Which one is it? Or one of your own?
I love the ones you make, they always look like a such a good fit.
ive made a side fastening pocket pattern up. hopefully it will work:yelclap:
Cool, can't wait to see it. :yes:
Cloth Sew Off
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
TeaLady
Hoopdeedoo
Shanz
Mum21
*Sal*
OK I'll be it it too.
Has a theme been decided yet?
mum2littleman
22-03-2007, 10:52
im not much of a sewer but i made DS a pirate out fit for a party and it turned out great so if i could do that im sure a nappy wouldnt be to hard so can i say i might be in lol depending on how it turns out??? also where do i get the pat?
try google wee weka, thats the easiest pattern:yes:
mum2littleman
22-03-2007, 11:09
try google wee weka, thats the easiest pattern:yes:
22-03-2007, 11:18
I've got a massive pile of materials to use, just too lazy to sit down and cut out the fabric :o
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
TeaLady
Hoopdeedoo
Shanz
Mum21
*Sal*
yep, as long as u stick to the theme still;)
Have I missed the post - but what's the theme?
jess_live_die
22-03-2007, 12:01
i cnt make sew nappies but i can make baby tops lol
Tea Lady
22-03-2007, 12:49
Maybe it'll be a secret theme ...... like picking a number. Whoever's nappy is most like the theme Zada is thinking of will win! :p
LOL nice try TL;)
have you thought anymore about a theme?
:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: TL, very funny.
have you thought anymore about a theme?
im thinking, any ideas lol
nope sorry:p
Ideas......
Garden
Nature
A colour, or two colours?
Hot
Cold
Bees
Tigers
Spots
Stripes
Checks
Smilies
what about - OUTDOORS - so it could be anything that grows, lives, goes outside
22-03-2007, 13:12
Great, I can sew caterpillars onto a nappy :laughing:
:laughing: ure funny!
i dont mind just thinking of something that offers a bit of choice hehe
jess_live_die
22-03-2007, 13:56
if i could only sew :detective:
HoopDeeDoo
22-03-2007, 14:16
Jess if you can make clothes you can make a nappy - it's easy!
Outdoors sounds great! :thumbsup:
jess_live_die
22-03-2007, 14:26
Jess if you can make clothes you can make a nappy - it's easy!
i wouldnt have the 1st idea on how to make a nappy
jess, google wee weka thats a simple pattern has instructions too
jess_live_die
22-03-2007, 15:34
kool gonna do that now
MumsieMel
22-03-2007, 21:14
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
TeaLady
Hoopdeedoo
Shanz
Mum21
*Sal*
MumsieMel
Im in, i made one just yesturday and have another 7 ready to sew. Talai is just growing too fast LOL
Zada - have you come up with a fantastic theme?
Hmm, is this the excuse I need to make Katherine some more nappies :)
Zada - have you come up with a fantastic theme?
im not sure yet:p im going between easter & outdoors i reckon:yes:
I like the easter idea ;)
Bluey - I think this is the excuse you need:thumbsup:
Little_Toad
23-03-2007, 11:49
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
TeaLady
Hoopdeedoo
Shanz
Mum21
*Sal*
MumsieMel
Little_Toad
I'm hoping there isn't a theme cause I've already bought my materials and got a design in mind for it.
I'l be auctioning mine off for charity afterwards too.. it's a girly nappy.
Okay well put me down as well, though is it fair for me to enter since I sew for a living
LT - have u got material that would work for a theme?
Lesley - anyone can enter:thumbsup:
Okay well put me down as well, though is it fair for me to enter since I sew for a living
It dosn't bother me :no: Does it bother anyone else?
Little_Toad
23-03-2007, 12:34
Doesnt bother me!!
IF there was a theme.. could it be sport??
No sport, I hate sport :laughing:
And cool then, count me in :)
Doesnt bother me!!
sounds manageable:yes: I spose if u say that it technically goes with the outdoors too lol. Everyone else agree?
Doesnt bother me!!
I liked the easter theme - perhaps you could say you play sport at easter cause it's an aussie tradition:laughing:
sounds manageable:yes: I spose if u say that it technically goes with the outdoors too lol. Everyone else agree?
To be honest I am not fussed what it is;)
MumsieMel
23-03-2007, 12:48
Not fussed about you joining Lesley :D
Theme wise....????
How about just Australian..
eg. sports, outdoors, food, etc...
Little_Toad
23-03-2007, 12:48
i think no theme is bertter .. allows people to be more creative
Not fussed about you joining Lesley :D
Theme wise....????
How about just Australian..
eg. sports, outdoors, food, etc...
ure a thinker:yes:
MumsieMel
23-03-2007, 19:55
LOL thanks ;)
Aaaagh now I'm confused. Is it no theme, or Australian, sport, easter, outdoors :confused:
I know, i've told hubby about it and i'll say i'm making ......... nappy, then the next day its i'm making this nappy. keeps changing. Last night he told me to just hurry up and make my mind up!LOL So I had to explain it all!!
SO whats it gunna be ladies??
So (sew :laughing: ) who's started making their Aussie nappy?
I havesome materials ready. :smiliedance:
waiting on some money to buy materials:laughing:
hows 3 weeks time - 15th April sound for a closing date?
Tea Lady
25-03-2007, 14:56
Does it have to be a nappy, or can it be a cover? (I've got to go with materials I already have)
Can be a cover if u like:yes:
So (sew :laughing: ) who's started making their Aussie nappy?
I havesome materials ready. :smiliedance:
I have bought my materials:yes:
I've finished :smiliedance: Hooray. Now if only dd would wake up from her nap I could try it on her!
(Not sure why on earth she's having such a late nap :rolleyes: )
Here's a few photos of my Aussie KOALA AIO nappy.
It has 2 layers of fleece, flanelette inner and a flanalette covered microfibre booster that folds out.
I made the koala out of felt and sewed on the eyes (they move :D ), then zigzag stitched it on.
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/ausnap3.jpg
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/ausnap2.jpg
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/ausnap1.jpg
(dd was a bit tired and grumpy, so not the best photo!)
SorenLorensen
25-03-2007, 21:47
Here's a few photos of my Aussie KOALA AIO nappy.
It has 2 layers of fleece, flanelette inner and a flanalette covered microfibre booster that folds out.
I made the koala out of felt and sewed on the eyes (they move :D ), then zigzag stitched it on.
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/ausnap3.jpg
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/ausnap2.jpg
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o307/littlewattle/ausnap1.jpg
(dd was a bit tired and grumpy, so not the best photo!)
i just poped my head in to have a look at how you were all going was just going to have a read but i ave to say.
wattle that is sssoooo cute, i want one. i wish i could sew that well.
Thanks Flick83 :D Actually it's the first one I've made that I really am happy with. It's fits perfectly and is super soft, perfect for my little girls peachy bum! :yes:
Tea Lady
26-03-2007, 06:18
Very nice Wattle :yelclap:
well done wattle:yelclap: Reckon ive got something in mind just need to get some $$:rolleyes:
Angelmist♥
26-03-2007, 06:59
Wattle that nappy is gorgeous:thumbsup:
Umm I might have to pull out:banghead: My sewing machine has decided that it doesn't like me lately!Even DH can't fix it:(
That is gorgeous Cathy! I love the koala's eyes... soo cute! That would be gorgeous as a side snapping nappy (I have a thing for side snaps atm).
Great job!!
wow Wattle way to go! That's so cute! :D
Wattle, that nappy really is cute! Well done!
I have been sick and so has DD2, so I'm not sure if I will still be entering. Also have to have surgery next week, so I may not feel like sewing.:no:
I am feeling inspired by your creativity though :yes:
just gotta wait for some deliveries now then i can get started:smiliedance:
Wattle, that nappy really is cute! Well done!
I have been sick and so has DD2, so I'm not sure if I will still be entering. Also have to have surgery next week, so I may not feel like sewing.
I am feeling inspired by your creativity though :yes:
I hope DD2 gets better soon. :fingerscrossed:
All the best for your surgery Sal :hugs: , I hope everything's ok :(
I hope DD2 gets better soon.
All the best for your surgery Sal :hugs: , I hope everything's ok
Thank you :) We'll both be fine :fingerscrossed: I am not sick now, this surgery is more of a preventative thing....
I don't want to get too OT...........carry on with the sew off :D
*Sal* hope things go ok for you and you're back on your feet soon.
I'm really looking forward to seeing everyone elses ideas...:smiliedance:
I still have no idea what I'm doing! :eek: :o
HoopDeeDoo
28-03-2007, 14:27
good job Wattle - I'm with you mum21
Good to know I'm not alone! :laughing:
ive no idea what fabric im using yet, we will see what spotlight has to encourage me on friday:laughing:
bekkyboo
29-03-2007, 06:37
Ill join :) Not too late is it?
Oh Bekkyboo, come and join in. :yes:
How bad is this - my material is still sitting in the spotlight bag untouched:o
bekkyboo
29-03-2007, 08:40
I just ordered some more PUL on the sly from J, so shhhhhhh ;)
hmm can we make this a sticky?? mods?
anywho, after a dissapointing trip to spotlight i hope my fabric fits in the theme - if not too bad:laughing:
So who else has been sewing? Anyone??????
C'mon Aussies c'mon, c'mon. :D
ive cut my material out, just waiting on some other supplies hopefully be here wed/thurs then i can start:fingerscrossed:
02-04-2007, 07:17
I have NO idea what to do for an Aussie theme .. hopefully going to spotlight this week if my little man gets better
Foxymoron
02-04-2007, 13:59
oh is it too late to join in?
I'm totally addicted to sewing at the moment! My family is lucky to get fed!:no: But I promise not to forget them if I can join in!
join away foxy!!:smiliedance:
02-04-2007, 14:07
Can I join too?
I'm new to sewing it but really enjoying it!
I think I might try and make a nappy. Zada you said Wee Waka is the easiest?
Zada
Wattle
BiNdI86
Angelmist
TeaLady
Hoopdeedoo
Shanz
Mum21
*Sal*
MumsieMel
Bekkyboo
Foxymoron
Phineas
Yay. My little koala is feeling a bit lonely in here. We need more aussie nappies.
There's some lovely aussie material at spotlight in the quilters area, some kangas and koalas etc. I found it after I'd spent hours (and hours and hours) making mine out of felt.:rolleyes: doh!
yea wee weka :thumbsup:
hey wattle, are flowers aussie?:o
wattle flowers are :laughing:
um....what type of flowers?
i dunno lol i have daisy things or ones like this (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/Image152.jpg) or i have catterpillars - thats all spotlight had:thumbsdown:
Sorry guys,
I'm out...been away all last week and I don't have time to get materials.:(
oh well....next time
I'm sure they'll be fine zada. Or else you could smear a bit of vegemite on the nappy.:laughing:
Sorry guys,
I'm out...been away all last week and I don't have time to get materials.:(
oh well....next time
aww still got nearly 2 weeks:yes:
Foxymoron
02-04-2007, 20:52
I haven't got my materials yet or even thought of what to make in an aussie theme! 2 weeks is enuff time- join us!
Tea Lady
02-04-2007, 21:46
I wonder if sitting my baby on a big pile of uncut bamboo fabric would count as "sewing" an aussie nappy? :detective: Somehow I don't think so! Better get cracking :eek:
I might get off my big bum today and start on the nappy lol!
Okay I have done my nappy:thumbsup:
Here is Isla modelling her Australian themed nappy. It's a fleece pocket with suede inner - all fabrics bought from spotlight.
I couldn't think of anything more Australian than convicts so here it is:
Click here (http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h300/speedwayatom/other003.jpg)
now that is cute!! well done OM:yelclap:
Ohhh thats too cute.
Better go get mine finished now.
Foxymoron
03-04-2007, 12:49
aaawwwww I love it!
Gawd I'm still wondering what to sew!
HoopDeeDoo
03-04-2007, 15:05
Thats so cute!! did you applique the arrows onto the white fleece, or did you find fabric with arrows?
eep 12 days to go, hope my stuff gets here soon!!!
Doubt none will get here till tuesday next week cos of easter:thumbsdown:
did you find fabric with arrows?
I drew the arrows myself onto the black fleece then cut them out and stitched them on;)
MCNmummyof2
04-04-2007, 10:15
Foxymoron!
I love the shirt, my boy has the exact same one lol
Im thinking of entering, just gotta find something Australian!
Foxymoron
04-04-2007, 10:30
:thumbsup: What young man doesn't love boobies MCNMummy? hehehe did you get yours at rock your baby? I got heaps of stuff from there.. and I found a tee-shirt that says "I'm a tits man" at cotton on kids LOL. Bit nawdy but true, he's a boobie boy!
Back to topic- I'm having a bugger of a time thinking of the right thing to make, plus I'm waiting on more fabric.
I have some procare PUL coming and more Bamboo....
I just saw some cute little australian animal motifs in Big W, so they might be useful for anyone stuck for ideas.
i seen a good idea but i cant afford the PUL:laughing:
I do have something in mind if i can find a specific colour fabric around the house:detective:
MCNmummyof2
05-04-2007, 13:07
Well...I'm going to put one of my nappies in :), (it may not be accepted though, Ive stretched the 'australian' theme as far as it could go!!!)
Front http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q309/jadeh_album/100_0711.jpg
Back
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q309/jadeh_album/100_0712.jpg
My nappy is an 'Australian' nappy!! Australian made by an Australian mum (me!!), from Australian products bought from an Australian wahm!!! Thats the best I could come up with!!!
lol - well done:yelclap:
My nappy is an 'Australian' nappy!! Australian made by an Australian mum (me!!), from Australian products bought from an Australian wahm!!! Thats the best I could come up with!!![/QUOTE]
Good onya mate :thumbsup: It looks lovely too. What materials have you used? Is it an AIO?
MCNmummyof2
05-04-2007, 14:16
Its a pocket. Has a PUL outer and a white suedecloth inner. All bought from the beeautiful people at nappiescovered
Foxymoron
05-04-2007, 14:34
It's bewdiful! I have to get cracking on mine how many days left?
15th is closing date i think?
Ive got mine ready to sew up, have to wait till tues:fingerscrossed: for my snap press tho
bekkyboo
05-04-2007, 14:52
Yay for snap press dani, youll fall in love ;)
I have to wait till tomorrow for some pay to go through cause i spent up big yesterday at spotlight draining one account getting some other things in order and FORGOT about this... all is well tho, ill be in before closing!
HoopDeeDoo
05-04-2007, 21:41
Well here is my first entry, I think I may have a few if we have til the 15th
What and who are more Australian than the Wiggles!!! Or Iggles as Noah calls them. Even though the letters are are jumbled I asked him what it said and he said "Iggles mummy Iggles". In case you can't tell Noah is a huge Wiggles fan, so he LOVES his new Wiggles nappy and is wearing to bed right now :D
He needs some new night nappies because the BBBs are just a little too small for him. So this nappy has an outside of flannelette, a full body layer of bamboo fleece, with a hidden soaker of two more layers of bamboo fleece, and baby green Sherpa lining. It has a snap in insert with sherpa/bamboo on one side and 2 layers of bamboo on the other. So it's super soft, has got lots of growing room, and even better it was my first nappy made totally of my own design. I'm a little excited - can you tell? :laughing:
Here are the pics:
Everybody dance with everyone, everyone...... (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/05.jpg)
middle flipped out (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/flipout.jpg)
ready to wear (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/readytogo.jpg)
covers the bum (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/back-1.jpg)
roomy at the front (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/betterfront.jpg)
strike a pose (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/side.jpg)
"I'm soooo happy mummy!" (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/front.jpg)
Sorry to :ecomcity: I'm just really happy. My first snapped nappy is a success, the snaps are a bit wonky and not in a straight line, I have to refine my technique LOL, but a part from that I really love this nappy, and can't wait to make some more for Noah :smiliedance:
MCNmummyof2
05-04-2007, 23:06
Hoopdeedoo
I love it to bits!!!
What pattern did you use? Is it one sized??
Looks great!!
Foxymoron
06-04-2007, 00:04
Brilliant! Love it. Great design and well made!
Foxymoron
06-04-2007, 00:14
I've had to stop halfway tonight, but here is my work in progress:
I found some fleece the same colour as yakka overalls/shorts. Spotlight had a lil sew on aussie flag, and I've added my own lil touches.
Some of you may know it as applique, but I've raised it to a new art, that I like to call crapplique. I've never tried it before LOL
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0821.jpg
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0822.jpg
Still needs snaps and finishing around the hem.
Tis my tribute to Steve Irwin, and all things ocker :thumbsup:
wow everyones look great!! Ive got no hope now:rolleyes: :laughing:
I sooo need an over locker
Wow, they all look so fantastic and so different.:thumbsup:
This was such a great idea Zada.
You can do it :yes:
WOW they are looking great. Zada,you could post it to me,I'll overlock and send back. Hehe. My MIL gave me her u beaut sewing machine and overlocker. They are a bit older but when she got them they were top of the range. And they still go great. So I haven't had to fork out for any machine's. And DH still wont let me get a snap machine!:mad:
Well mine is just about finished. Just got a few final touches to add and I'll be done.
HoopDeeDoo
06-04-2007, 10:00
Foxy thats so cool I love it! :yes:
OK I finished another one today. It's a pocket made from 200 wt Malden Mills. It's an Octopus, so it's sort of Australian. The fleece is a gum leaf green colour :p
octopus (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/octapus.jpg)
close up (http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r25/hoopdeedoo/octapuscloseup.jpg)
MCNmummyof2 the other one was my own pattern, especially made for Noah so it's like an XL of nappies LOL. one size nappies are a bit small in the rise for Noah as of recently. I can squeeze him into a BBB but only just. So these ones should give him a bit of growing room. :p
The Ocotopus is a variation of the HoneyBoy pattern, just sewn a little differently and made in a pocket instead of AIO
Foxymoron
06-04-2007, 10:17
HoopDeeDoo that octopus nap rocks! Do you use a special machine for the applique or is there a stitch on a regular sewing machine that will do the trick? I want to learn applique, my crapplique is all well and good, but it won't stand too many washes!
HoopDeeDoo
06-04-2007, 22:05
:laughing: It's called satin stitch, but it's just the zig zag on the really tight setting. Not zero or one because you'll end up with a giant knot. Test on a bit of scrap fabric before you do it on the real thing. It can be really tricky on tight corners but you'll get the hang of it. Or if the crickey if made from fabric that won't fray like fleece then you can just do a straight stitch as close to the edge as possible. HTH :D
Foxymoron
07-04-2007, 16:47
Okay I'm done:
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0825.jpg
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0824.jpg
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o174/babesdownunder/cloth%20nappy%20addiction/100_0823.jpg
again, never appliqued before so scuse the mess!
It's an AI2 with hidden PUL, prefold snaps in (I've just used my berry plush snap in as I have no absorbent material at the moment, used all my bamboo already :o )
07-04-2007, 17:02
Oh wow love the little crocodile - how cute!!
And hoopdedoo yours looks excellent - so neat and finished!
Stick stuck for what to do here! thinking maybe a wombat butt or something on the back of a nappy.... but I'm not really the artistic type.... I'll have to see what I can do!
So we have till the 15th?
next sunday nite yep:thumbsup:
07-04-2007, 17:26
Sorry guys I have to pull out of this round. Spotlight is very inconvenient too get too (almost an hour away, urgh) and I don't think I'll be able to get there at all :(
The nappies all look so great though!
Ok here it is Finally! Its a Platypus....well its supposed to be.
It is my take of an AIO,if it works. Two layers of polar fleece,1 of flannel,a soaker of 2 layers bamboo, 2 layers microfibre and an inner layer of Fleece. Obviously it is not the first nappy in the album. That was my Broncos Pocket.....although they are australian!!!
http://sgibbons4.photosite.com/
Foxymoron
07-04-2007, 20:28
That's adorable!!:yes: Well done
Tea Lady
07-04-2007, 21:18
"craplique"...... :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
Love the nappies guys! I still haven't got near my sewing machine, so I may have to bow out till the next round. Maybe my baby will start actually SLEEPING at night for once and I might be able to still do it. :)
oh TL i wish my baby slept too:rolleyes:
Foxymoron
08-04-2007, 07:44
:yes: amen sistas:yes:
I'm all for some sleep too! I hear by the time they are 21 they sleep through no worries :thumbsup:
Little_Toad
08-04-2007, 20:48
I've had 5 night nappies sitting here ready to be made for the lat week... I WILL get mine done!
All the entries so far look fantastic.
hmm im hoping my mail will come so i can get finished tonite! getting sick of staring at unfinished stuff :rolleyes: :laughing:
HoopDeeDoo
10-04-2007, 11:07
My house is filled with unfinished projects :rolleyes:
I like the platapus, very cute! :yes:
hey hoop, did a courier bring your press or just the parcel postie?
The Australiana theme still has me stumped, and I can't justify buying more material until I finish sewing all the stuff I currently have lying around...........so to cut a long story short I'm not going to enter this time :(
Can I still vote though???
It's going to be hard to choose, cos all the nappies look amazing, you ladies are so talented.
aww com'on enter:D what sort of print materials have you got? Mine is sooo not creative
Foxymoron
10-04-2007, 11:37
Go on Sal, if I can enter my cruddy creation, you can too!
Someone suggested I make DS a "VB" nappy:laughing: that would be very aussie...
"crikey" foxy I can't beat that nappy - maybe that's the real reason I'm not entering :p
I have purple fabric with green dots and some leafy pink/purple PUL - not really Aussie!!
just make something and enter:yes: Love to see everyones creations!
Foxy - i was going to get some 'coca cola' PUL and enter but the cut wasnt big enuff:laughing:
10-04-2007, 12:03
Hey I got what I needed at Spotlight yesterday :D
It might be a bit dodgy though - have to see just how **** my crapplique skills are :laughing:
Sewing it today!!
off to work on mine, snaps here i come:smiliedance:
HoopDeeDoo
10-04-2007, 12:48
:laughing: We won't see you for a while Zada - glad your snap machine arrived safe and sound :D
Enter enter enter, we have already had an entry whose theme was made by an australian :D so just do that :yes:
Foxymoron
10-04-2007, 14:12
:yes: Crapplique a message on the bum, like "noice" or "sooo effluent" then it will be very aussie :thumbsup: or a pink tropical butterfly design...
im finished yay! Cameras flat:thumbsdown:
10-04-2007, 18:58
Charge it!
Can't wait to see it!
MCNmummyof2
10-04-2007, 19:06
Hahaha - *Sal* - did you see my entry and my reason for why it was an 'aussie' themed nappy? You can find something Im sure!
Foxymoron
10-04-2007, 20:02
Charge it baby!
Tea Lady
10-04-2007, 21:42
Well, I finally got a go on my sewing machine but I made something that's not for this..... oooops!! Unless the colour blue counts as Aussie somehow!
Where's that pic Zada????
its not the best:no:
Might enter another one when i get it made lol:D
back (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/cl018.jpg)
front on (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/cl019.jpg)
back on (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/cl020.jpg)
its a side snap pocket, fleece inner & outer hidden PUL:thumbsup:
well done Dani. that is super cute!
Tea Lady
11-04-2007, 07:46
Looks good Z!!
Foxymoron
11-04-2007, 09:53
:yelclap: how cute!
HoopDeeDoo
11-04-2007, 10:03
good work Zada!
im entering a 2nd one:p
front (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/alicianappy001.jpg)
back (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/alicianappy003.jpg)
Foxymoron
11-04-2007, 14:43
noice! are they pockets, aio's or what? love the colour!
Tea Lady
11-04-2007, 14:52
Love that 2nd one Z... is there something Aussie about it?
I actually got to sew a cover today :smiliedance: Wait till you see how lame my justification for the "Aussie" category is :o :p
Foxymoron
11-04-2007, 15:02
I want to sew too, I'm waiting on supplies...it's a pain!
11-04-2007, 15:03
im entering a 2nd one:p
front (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/alicianappy001.jpg)
back (http://i95.photobucket.com/albums/l128/dani07_05/alicianappy003.jpg)
Love it - are you selling this one? :D
its a pocket made by me an aussie:p
Phineas - that one is for mum21:D
more coming soon the same and diff;)
Tea Lady
11-04-2007, 15:06
:laughing: That's even more lame than my justification for entering mine :laughing:
11-04-2007, 15:09
Rightyo, can you put me on your list then :D
Haven't started mine yet still. Though I do have the material!! And an idea!!
:laughing: That's even more lame than my justification for entering mine :laughing:
But my 1st entry was aussie:p
Tea Lady
11-04-2007, 15:46
Ooooo you've got a point!
Tea Lady
11-04-2007, 15:59
Ok, here's my entry.... It's a side snapping nappy cover made from ice blue micro chenille (like minkee). The title of my entry is "True Blue" because the cover fits in so beautifully with the Aussie theme (not). The blue colour actually comes out pretty badly in the photos though!
front (http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o250/blublulu/P4110032.jpg)
back (http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o250/blublulu/P4110051.jpg)
side front (http://i122.photobucket.com/albums/o250/blublulu/P4110036.jpg)
11-04-2007, 16:12
ooooo that looks comfy! love it! well done TL :yelclap:
HoopDeeDoo
11-04-2007, 16:13
Looks very soft and cuddly TL :yes:
Like the pink Z
Foxymoron
11-04-2007, 16:17
yummy and cosy! Did you find that at spotlight? I saw some micro chenille there that I was going to buy, but I have minkee that has just arrived ( just waiting on some procare PUL).
Tea Lady
11-04-2007, 16:59
yes, it was from Spotlight, and i don't think I'll get it again - it's lovely and soft and everything, but my house is covered in stupid little bits of blue fluff and it's and absolute pain in the bum to sew! At least I got 2 covers done before I completely lost patience with it! :)
Phineas - that one is for mum21:D
Aren't I spesh? :hugs:
bekkyboo
12-04-2007, 20:39
I thought i better make up an entry from remenants incase i didnt get a chance to get to spotlight (I HATE not having a car at the moment!)....
So here is my Aussie themed nappy....
"our land gurt (sp?) by sea"
Aussie Aussie Aussie (http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n111/The_Lee_Family/Garrett%2010-12%20Months/Image057.jpg)
Oi Oi OI (http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n111/The_Lee_Family/Garrett%2010-12%20Months/Image056.jpg)
Aussie being the back shot, and Oi being the front. I really like the front, and really dont like the back!!! So much effort, such little satisfaction...
Its a fleece pocket, out of like 3 pieces to fit! and lots of scrap fleece... :)
Foxymoron
12-04-2007, 21:23
I love the design of your nappy, cute way of doing the snaps- very original!
Oi Oi Oi:laughing: love it
Ohh I love it Bek :yes:
I have to agree with FM, your snaps look amazing! :thumbsup:
bekkyboo
13-04-2007, 08:56
Yeah, thast part of my pattern, special Bekky tricks :D
Foxymoron
13-04-2007, 23:12
Oh my kingdom for some PUL!! I have another Aussie type AI2 snap in idea and my dang PUL is still in transit :eek:
I got some denim from spotty, and I was going to make a "workin class man" nap.
Oh well.....
Any ideas for the next theme? :detective:
13-04-2007, 23:17
Will have mine finished by Sunday.... still just sitting here staring at the materials :laughing:
Does the winner choose the next theme, or do we all choose?
jess_live_die
13-04-2007, 23:42
them pics look so cool i wish i could make nappies :crying:
first thing monday morning i will start a new thread for voting. Votes will go for 2 days So wednesday morning the winner will be announced, winner will choose next theme:D
ok com'on girls whos left?
Little_Toad
14-04-2007, 20:56
I'm left!
Toadlet has just gone down,.. got to do a load of nappy washes, steralize bottles, eat and then make my nappy!!
I'm forgoing sleep to do this.
14-04-2007, 21:42
I'm left too :D
Making mine tonight..... will have pic up by tomorrow :thumbsup:
Little_Toad
14-04-2007, 23:12
Yeah I'm finished!!
Will do the photos tomorrow when the toadlet is awake.
Little_Toad
15-04-2007, 15:51
Fistly I'd like to apologise for humiliating my son , but I had already bought the materials for the nappy and I didnt' have another baby to model it at short notice.
THeme: Australian Ballet (http://www.bizztools.net/misc/theme.jpg)
The Nappy (http://www.bizztools.net/misc/ballet_nappy.jpg)
Nappy Description
Light pink 2 mil PUL
Inside light pink malden mills fleece.
2 layers of Pink snaps
2 layers of tulle, 1 light pink, one dark pink
Foxymoron
15-04-2007, 15:54
OMG how bloody adorable... hahah your poor little bloke! hahahahahah
aww poor monty! Nappy looks great!!:D
15-04-2007, 16:37
Little Toad - I love it! He looks beautiful in it too :D
Okay I've finished mine! It's really dodgy!
Here it is:
Front (http://picasaweb.google.com/superstitiouspigeon/UntitledAlbum02/photo#5053539847661698290)
Inner (http://picasaweb.google.com/superstitiouspigeon/UntitledAlbum02/photo#5053540397417512210)
Back (http://picasaweb.google.com/superstitiouspigeon/UntitledAlbum02/photo#5053540878453849378)
Side (http://picasaweb.google.com/superstitiouspigeon/UntitledAlbum02/photo#5053541273590840626)
I wanted to do the southern cross but it was too hard so I settled for a wonky seven-pointed star!! :laughing:
It's a pocket, I followed the Wee Weka pattern but made the bit between the legs wider.
It has a fleece outer hiding a layer of nylon ripstop, and a white fleece inner.
She has it on now, and it seems to be going well!
Little_Toad
15-04-2007, 17:38
Great job phineas.
Looking forward to seeing the nappy being modelled.
btw, your little one has ginger hair like Monty!
Foxymoron
15-04-2007, 17:43
noice :thumbsup:
adorable model too!
15-04-2007, 20:59
The nappy works :smiliedance:
Was on for a few hours - no leaks and nice fit :D
MumsieMel
15-04-2007, 21:28
im left,
but mine isnt really apart of the theme.....
loading pics now
MumsieMel
15-04-2007, 21:49
Ok here is mine:
its a Cabbage patch, aio (my second ever aio!)
and im very happy with it! :D
And here are all the pockets i made for DD2 when she was a newborn :)
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a76/MumsieMel/pockets002.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a76/MumsieMel/pockets001.jpg
All 21 of them!!!!! :eek:
well done everone they look great!! Ill start a voting thread in a sec:smiliedance:
I bailed - Baby K was sick, visitors, school holidays and way too much work. Off to have a look at the entrants through. Maybe next time I'll get something done.
Foxymoron
16-04-2007, 09:15
Awww how cute. What little girl wouldn't love a cabbage patch nappy!
You've been busy- I have heaps of nappy cuts ready to sew, but I'm missing a part like, the bamboo terry for the inner, or pul for my AI2's.... darn it, I wanted to get my second entry done.. ah well such is life!
16-04-2007, 09:20
Ok here is mine:
its a Cabbage patch, aio (my second ever aio!)
and im very happy with it!
And here are all the pockets i made for DD2 when she was a newborn :)
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a76/MumsieMel/pockets002.jpg
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a76/MumsieMel/pockets001.jpg
All 21 of them!!!!! :eek:
Love it :thumbsup: So retro :D
Hey I notice one of your pockets, the one with the little tellow stars on glittery blue background - I picked some of that material up at Spotlight the other day. How did you make it a pocket? Did you have a hidden layer of PUL or something else?
HoopDeeDoo
16-04-2007, 09:24
Well done Toad and Phin. Gorgeous gorgeous models!!!
Does the tu tu come off when you wash it Toad? Just wondering cause it may not wash very well, fabulous idea though :yes:
HoopDeeDoo
16-04-2007, 09:25
Oh and what a great job on all those pockets MumsieMel! Cabbage Patch kids are awesome :yes:
Little_Toad
16-04-2007, 09:40
Mumsie the pockets look great.
Massive effort making them all.
Hoopedeedoo, the tutu is sewn on.
I figured it would just be a special occasion nappy and not go through heaps of washes. I think tulle actually washes ok. It's not the super thin stuff, middle weight.
I might wash some tulle with a load of nappies to see how it turns out.
BTW, I'l be auctioning it off afterwards with the $ going to the bubhub good deads piggy bank.
HoopDeeDoo
16-04-2007, 09:43
Oh thats lovely of you LT, what a great idea! Unfortunately I don't know a little girl who could use it. I'm already pushing it with DH putting Noah into dance classes :laughing:
Little_Toad
16-04-2007, 09:58
Greta way for Noah to meet chickies!!
My parents thought my little borther was gay when he asked to do ballroom dancing.. it wasn't for the dancing.
HoopDeeDoo
16-04-2007, 10:58
:laughing: Thats what I said - he's got the pick of all the girls in the class since he is the only boy in the tiny tots class :p
MumsieMel
16-04-2007, 12:55
Love it :thumbsup: So retro :D
Hey I notice one of your pockets, the one with the little tellow stars on glittery blue background - I picked some of that material up at Spotlight the other day. How did you make it a pocket? Did you have a hidden layer of PUL or something else?
I got it from an online shop, cant remember which one, but they are all pul pockets.
Except the cabbage patch, its an aio!
Thanks everyone.
BTW.....
LITTLETOAD
I LOVE that nappy, how is the tull attached?
could you pm, id love to make one for DD2 :)
Little_Toad
16-04-2007, 13:23
BTW.....
LITTLETOAD
I LOVE that nappy, how is the tull attached?
could you pm, id love to make one for DD2
I sewed it on.
I have lots of tulle here if you want me to send you some.
light pink, white dark pink, and purple. no charge.. I wont use it.
16-04-2007, 13:55
BTW, I'l be auctioning it off afterwards with the $ going to the bubhub good deads piggy bank.
What is this? When does it happen?
Little_Toad
16-04-2007, 14:15
Phineas, its a small nappy.. probably fit up to a year maximum if its a skinny/small baby.