View Full Version : What to wear for 80's party!!
Friends of ours are having a engagement party with an 80's theme. Does anyone have any ideas as what to wear for this. Any ideas for my husband and I will be fantastic.
Thanks in advance....
fluro socks!!! one green and one pink!!!! and crimped hair!!! :laughing:
I LOVE 80's dress ups!
Go to an op shop. Plenty to choose from!
Think fluoro, leg warmers, tight and high pants, camel toe. You get the idea.
HAVE FUN!
lachys_mama
21-03-2007, 14:51
definitely a pair of fluro pink spandex leggings with a g string bright green leotard over the top with fluro purple leg warmers, big crimped hair and ballet slippers or something!!! haha
crimped heair tied to one side with a srunchie and bright coloured clothes
LilShenanigans
21-03-2007, 14:56
...Anything with shoulder pads!!! lol
Enlarge everything by 100 - big earrings, big hair, doc martins are big lol Big bangles, necklaces etc...
But it has to be matched with a very small pair of shorts or a mini skirt lol
...If you can find Cher's outfit for Turn Back Time and pull that one off, it'd be fantastic!!
WHY I have Cher in my head like I have no idea, but it's disturbing... lol
mum2charli
21-03-2007, 14:56
Crimped hair is a must :thumbsup: with a big scrunchie of course, half tied up and on the side!
I went to one last year and wore black tights, funky pink striped leg warmers with daggy bright white sneakers, a grey animal print leather jacket that was way too small for me :laughing: and a blouse with ruffles and huge shoulder pads! All from an op-shop except for the sneakers!
Oh and don't forget the fluro oversized hoop earrings!
DF wore a bright yellow shirt with happy pants and a non-matching tie un-done!
It was so much fun!
1st Time Mummy!
21-03-2007, 15:00
I recently went to an 80's party and I wore white jeans rolled up at the bottom, an original tank dress from the "actual 80's" that I had kept for all these years which was yellow and white. Wore a big white belt round the middle with a short "acutal 80's" cropped white crochet short sleeved cardigan over the top. I had original white slip on moccasins and tied my hair on the side with a bit white scarf (also original). Also, I recommend very bright make up!! Hmmmm, if I have a photo I will post it for you for a laugh. Sad that I still had all my 80's clothes as well. I LOVED 80's music. We had a ball. Took me right back to high school.
You - Frilly white ankle socks with black high heels, black calf length leggings under a short flared skirt - preferably with braces attached. A bright pink loose shirt that falls off one shoulder with a bright green singlet top underneath. Srimped hair. Bright blue eyeshadow and lacy fingerless gloves.
Your DH - white Miami Vice type suit with open neck shirt and sunnies!
you should have no problem finding 80's clothes as all the stores now seem to stock nothing but ugly 80's clothes. well i think they are ugly... hopefully i can find something half decent to wear after bubs is born that isnt bloody 80's!!!
missie_mack
21-03-2007, 17:46
Hubby- Stonewash jeans and a flannalette shirt with a tshirt underneath or a white shirt with a skinny tie
You- Leg warmers or a skirt with bike pants underneath denim jacket with badges all over it or any in fluro. A lovely headband would add to it and big hair with crimps
:D I seen converse gym boots are coming back in fashion. I couldnt believe it when I seen them in a store window. My mother was right they were U-G-L-Y!!
MissSparkle
21-03-2007, 19:19
ive been to a few 80's partys and done 2 80's musicals.
Just some ideas
-Hotpants
-Off the shoulder jumpers n tops
-Side pony tails
-headbands
-slouch socks
-g string leotards
-big earings
-fluro
-things that DON'T match
-leggings
My fav 80's style is 80's dancer but if u go to the op shop u can get great looking 80's "prom" dresses!!
grab an 80's brides maids dress (lifeline or the likes) and either or the crimped hair, or the massive scrunchie and the fringe, this is what we did for my hens day and it was a fantastic day.
A long tube skirt, a white shirt with a paint splattered pattern and shoulder pads and a big cameo type broach at the throat, tease your fringe up and spray the roots.
Add a big wide belt slung low and a pair of low pointy flat shoes and you have just heard the exact description of what I wore to my Sixth Form formal in 1986.
I was the HEIGHT of fashion and felt like a million bucks :D
Hairspray. Lots and lots of hairspray,
Crimp your hair!!!!!! I went to an eighties party a few yrs ago nd i crimped my hair and wore bright eye shadow, it stood out.
Get your hub to carry a ghetto blaster, if u know someone with one. Soooo funny.
People were break dancing and everything at the one i went to.
We are hoping to have an eighties party for hubs 30th next yr. Will be sooooo much fun!!
mysonroger
21-03-2007, 20:01
you could take a cue from adam and the ants or boy george, or duran duran come to think of it.
Chub Chub
21-03-2007, 20:03
Or lace, lace and lace....think Madonna in her film clips!
I wore fingerless gloves, ruffle skirts with footless tights underneath with a top which sits on one shoulder. Crimped hair pulled into a side pony.
Or to be really in the scene get an original "Choose Life" t shirt from the Wham days....please tell me you know Wham????:o :D
:D I seen converse gym boots are coming back in fashion. I couldnt believe it when I seen them in a store window. My mother was right they were U-G-L-Y!!
tsk tsk :shame:
they never were out of "fashion"!!!
iluvmeboyz
22-03-2007, 09:34
lol
why dont you watch "the wedding singer" and be inspired!!!!
Friends of ours are having a engagement party with an 80's theme. Does anyone have any ideas as what to wear for this. Any ideas for my husband and I will be fantastic.
Thanks in advance....
Yep since I was a teen in the 80's (geez I feel old now) here's just a few things that spring to mind! (cringe)
Fingerless gloves
Big fluffy side parted hair including huge teased fringe
Plastic dangly earrings
Several long strings of pearls in different pastel colours
Blue eyeliner and mascara
Lace tied as a headband (think Madonna in Like a Virgin)
Black hat ala Mel and Kim
Big oversized tshirts worn hanging off one shoulder with skinny studded belt around the hips, over footless tights
Mesh shirt over singlet
Tube skirt
Bubble skirt
Ruffled skirt
Acid wash
Stretch jeans (bubblegum jeans)
Fluoro socks (good luck finding them!)
For boys all I really remember was acid wash or tightish black jeans worn with AC/DC or Guns N Roses or Metallica tshirts...pretty much the bogan uniform of today really :laughing:
PS Shed: LOL! :laughing:
RoarsomeMum
23-03-2007, 12:58
Hubby- Stonewash jeans and a flannalette shirt with a tshirt underneath
Ohhh!!! Oh YUM!!! That look was so hot! :yes:
spiritedfamily
24-03-2007, 09:36
Yep since I was a teen in the 80's (geez I feel old now) here's just a few things that spring to mind! (cringe)
You know I was walking past some shop windows lately and I really couldn't tell the difdference between the 80's and 2007...the fashions are coming back...have you seen the bubble dresses and skirts, I thought we'd left some of our bad taste back with Mel and Kim:laughing: Although finding something to wear to an 80's party won't be hard and then you can wear it after and you won't be out of date;)
30-03-2007, 10:16
Oh how fun!!!!!!!
Did you find some things?