View Full Version : Trainee Doula in the Yarra ranges
mummycloud
21-03-2007, 12:33 AM
I am nearing the end of the Optimumbirth doula course and need to attend 1 more birth to complete my training.
I am offering my services for free.
If you would like to have a doula support and pamper you free of charge, send me a private message.
mummyd
21-03-2007, 06:53 AM
Hello!
I have just finished my studies with Optimum Birth and live in Chirnside Park.
As another fellow student - I wish you all the best with the rest of your studies. I have throughly enjoyed the study and it has been an interesting challenge to get the business started.
Hope to meet you at the next Tutorial!
mummycloud
22-03-2007, 05:49 PM
Oh Thankyou :)
I am thoroughly enjoying it and have been addicted to birth and babies my whole life and am looking forward to many years of helping pregnant mummas achieve their optimum births ;)
Maybe3
23-03-2007, 08:26 AM
Hi Ladies, I have just finished with Optimum birth too - and now completing my training births. I am looking forward to hopefully meeting you girls at the tutorial - it will be my first one, so I am quite nervous! lol
emboppa
23-03-2007, 08:55 AM
Congratulations, if I was pregnant I'd definately take up our offer, but unfortuntely no bub here! :(
I'd love to be a doula and knowing their is classes so close is great to hear, I live in Heathmont. Thanks.
And good luck!!!
BigGeorge
23-03-2007, 02:50 PM
Sorry for my ignorance... Can you explain a bit more what a Doula is? I've seen the term on here before, of course, but never really found out what one does :o :D.
MammyMammy
29-03-2007, 03:41 PM
Hi -
Anyone want to attend my baby's birth for free in August or what price would it be?
I'm labouring at St Vincents though...
shelldar
08-04-2007, 01:39 PM
Sarah- a doula is someone who supports a pregnant woman and her family throuhgout the pregnancy, labour and beyond.
Can't speak for others, but I provide up to four ante-natal visits which include heaps of information and you also have access to my growing library of books, cd's and dvd's. I am on call for you two weeks before and two weeks after your EDD, and will attend the whole labour with you. I also have a backup doula (who posts on here) should I be unable to attend, or if the labour goes very long.
I then have two post-natal visits with you for cuddles, and a debreif of your birth.
Hope that has explained a little for you, if you want more info you can check out my website www.gentlebeginnings.com.au
I also offer calmbirth(r) classes aswell.
Let me know if you would like any more info :wave:
MammyMammy- I am no longer a student doula, but if you are looking for someone qualified, or to look into calmbirth(r) drop me a line:)
Julie Doula
10-04-2007, 09:31 PM
Hi Mummycloud, Mummyd & Maybe3
I am another Optimum Birth doula - just finished the course, look forward to meeting you at tutorials!
Ziggies Star, it's the best job in the world, I love it. You sure won't get rich (in the money sense) but your life sure does get enriched. It's a non-clinical role, so not like a doc or midwife - it's just providing continuous emotional and physical support throughout labour. I reckon "mothering the mother" about sums it up - the studies have shown that this focussed, continuous loving support helps women get through labour much more easily. Having a doula is not like a talisman that can make your birth magically go fine, but if you're motivated to do the work and assert your informed choices, having a doula can be a great ally to your cause and help that momentous day in your life be a lot nicer for you and your mate, all of which helps promote safety and wellbeing for parents and baby.
Yes, we're glorified hand-holders - but what a difference it makes! I think that esp. in a system where there is not continuity of care - a birthing woman might go through three changes of staff during her labour! - having that one constant, compassionate presence from a doula who is totally there for you makes a big difference. The other way to get that all-important continuity of care that works so well for birth is to have a homebirth.
Maybe3
12-04-2007, 11:58 AM
Hi Julie,
Congrats on finishing the course as well!
I hope to meet you at the next tutorial on the 22nd as well.
We are in one of the best professions aren't we! I love my job, and after being in banking for 10 years, it is so wonderful to finally LOVE what I do!
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.