View Full Version : Playcentres??
I've heard of the big indoor play centres you can go to.
Has anyone been before. How much? And are there any on the south side of Brisbane.
My DS is soooo bored at the moment and with these hot days he can't go outside.
He loves to explore outside, so I thought on a hot day the next best thing would be one of the play centres.
Any feedback would be great. ;)
Hello love!!
I hadn't been to any of the indoor play centers, but one of my friends went and I was under the impression that it was fairly expensive.
When we were still in Brissy I used to take Nat to Westfield Stathpine, cause they had a play area in the food court for the kiddies.
Depending where you are I know the Logan Hyperdome has a pretty good play area in between Woolies and the food court.
I assume Carindale would have one because it's a Westfield and Garden City may. Best of all they're free!!
sorry my dear, cant tell you if there are any near you :) but there are lots around my place, and an awesome one just opened up near us recently. they are so awesome on a hot or cold, rainy day. most of them have a section for the bigger kids, and then a toddler section, so your little one isnt getting trampled on by the bigger kids! i find most of them are free for babies under 12 mths, then about $6-7 for 1-4, then about $9 for 5-10 :) all the ones i know of are unlimited play, so you can stay as long as you want and really get your moneys worth! they all have cafes too, so you can sit and have a coffee/cold drink whilst the kids run amok! :)
Hmmmm, I think there is one at Forest Lake called Crazy Critters. Also I have heard there is one at Logan...dont know what it is called.....Lollipops maybe>? Good luck with it:D
Thanks for that!
I've been trying to avoid the shopping centres like the plague (you can't even get a car park), so the playcentres would probably be just as busy.
Thanks goodness it is overcast today and he has been able to run free. He just hates being cooped up in this little house when there is so much space outside for him to go crazy.
I'll try and search around for the Logan one.
WE normally try to go to those sort of places around 12ish....most famliies go home for a rest around that time. The busiest time seems to be 9-11ish:)
I know what you mean!! I wish we had a decent sized shopping centre to take him to, we only have a main street and a little Woolies shopping centre with a handful of little shops in. We're getting BigW soon though - so exciting!!
Sorry small things I know!!
BTW...what is "Rady"? It has been buggin me for aaaages lol:D :confused:
We're getting BigW soon though - so exciting!!
LOL:D You must be beside yourself in anticipation ;) ;)
Lollipops is at the Cannon Hill Homemaker Centre near Bunnings and is pretty big. They have a quite a good area for children under 4 and a cute little merrygo ride. It costs about $13.50 for a child 2 and over I think, not overly cheap. You are not allowed to bring outside food in and the children have to wear socks.
We were there today for ds' birthday but my advice is to avoid it during school holidays as it is pretty busy and can be a bit rough for the littlies. I have found the quieter days are Monday or Tuesday.
LOL:D You must be beside yourself in anticipation ;) ;)
It's pretty sad Katie, but I am :o
I so need a life
Thanks for that Easterlily.
I think I might try a toy library and just try and get something a bit more interesting happening around here.
There just seems to be people everywhere!!!
O tends to get a bit freaked out if other kids are rough with him, sensitive little toddler he is (until he bashes me in the head with his toy cars!! :rolleyes: ).
Katie:
Cosmic seemed to think my username sounded like some sort of Chinese Restaurant which might be pronounced "happy rady", sort of stuck. :rolleyes:
Sarie:
A Big W is a big deal, especially when there's not much else around.
We are lucky here, we are only about 20 min from a civilised shopping centre. :)
I'd have to drive an hour to Toowoomba :(
Nathan's the same, if there a rough kids around he'll move away from them and play on his own.
And to Toowoomba too!!!
(sorry no offence Toowoomba people!!)
It makes me so glad to live here. We are so far away from people but still close to Brisbane.
Want to move down here with me, all pets welcome!
E :)
O just cries and runs to me saying, 'muuuummmmmmmaaaaa'. :rolleyes:
Please can I!!!
We used to live at Loganholme - somewhere in your direction I gather??
We could also drive for over an hour in the other direction and hit Kingaroy... though not as exciting as Toowoomba, and I still haven't driven there on my own, I got lost yesterday when we went for Sunday trading :D more excitment for a small town person!!! Woohooooo!
We are 20 min south westish of Loganholme in the sticks. It's great!
I have family in Kingaroy. Would have no idea how to get there though. :rolleyes:
Nice!!! We used to live in the Devine estate near Alexander Clarke Park. One of my very good friends lives on Clarkes Rd. It's great, when we weren't working we would spend a lot of time at Lamington or Mt Tambourine
I wouldn't be able to get there on my own either!! I spend half of the trip looking in the back seat dealing with kids!! I have no idea whats a head of me!!
We moved in 03, Nat was about 4 weeks old. We'd bought a pet shop on the northside and 4 hours of driving (through peak hour) every day was not fun!
We went to the Hyperdome at the beginning of Nov, poor Nathan freaked out with all the people. Wade had to carry him and he had a death grip around Wade's neck. He's not used to big crowds anymore, poor little guy! :o
Did you have your pet shop on the Northside of Brisbane?
Yep At Keperra, 45min drive normally, but peak hour sucked!
Keperra, I have no idea where that is!!
Near Kallangur?? Was it an independant store?
No actually near Arana Hills, or Enoggera. We moved to Dakabin (which is near Kallangur) after we sold the shop last year.
And yeah we were independant.
Must have been heaps of fun (and work!!).
When the baby is in Kindy or school, I'd love to open one down here as there are none around.
Always dreaming, never really doing anything.
:rolleyes:
sopolicha
12-12-2005, 13:48
[QUOTE=Easterlily]Lollipops is at the Cannon Hill Homemaker Centre near Bunnings and is pretty big. They have a quite a good area for children under 4 and a cute little merrygo ride. It costs about $13.50 for a child 2 and over I think, not overly cheap. You are not allowed to bring outside food in and the children have to wear socks.
QUOTE]
I have been to Lollipops a couple of times and reckon it is pretty good. I was surprised how clean it was and all of the toys and equipment are in really good nick. I have taken my own food and nobody seemed to bother about it. I go early so we are waiting outside for it to open before it gets to busy. I think it costs me nearly 30 bucks for myself and two kids. A good treat!
It was a huge amount of work. I ran the shop 5 days on my own,with my little bub (he was two weeks old when I first went into the shop full time) by my side - probably why he said fish before he said mum :p and one day with DH as well.
It was pretty rewarding and heartbraking to sell. But I was pregnant again and there's no way I could have run it with two bubs
12-12-2005, 13:54
Yup...can't wait for that BigW Sarah! We'll end up like the dole bludgers of Dalby and hang out at the shopping centre all day! LOL Hope it has some other good stores, should do, i think its gonna be pretty big...(for a country town centre!)
Aren't we pathetic????!!! :rolleyes:
Ooh yeah!! That's why you need to move here!!! Then we can be obbsessed and hang out there every day!!
33 specialty shops I think :confused:
jasminesmum
12-12-2005, 14:04
Yah!!! Shopping.
Our hubbys will just have to work longer. ;)
yay! Michelle can hang out too!!
12-12-2005, 14:09
Hehehehe....i don't even want to think about turning out like that! No offense to you guys though, i love hangin' out with you both!
Ok everyone, silly me was looking in the wrong section of bubhub for details of playcentres.
If anyone is interested it is in the 'activities' section, here's a link to the info for Brisbane Playcentres:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/activitiesplaycentresqld.shtml
Thanks all for your assistance. :)
I have been to Lollipops a couple of times and reckon it is pretty good. I was surprised how clean it was and all of the toys and equipment are in really good nick. I have taken my own food and nobody seemed to bother about it. I go early so we are waiting outside for it to open before it gets to busy. I think it costs me nearly 30 bucks for myself and two kids. A good treat!
We have been to Lollipops a couple of times too - the first time we went closer to lunchtime and the noise and number of people was a little overhwhelming, but the second time we went it was earlier and quieter. Having met your gorgeous boy though, and hearing you say he gets a bit overwhelmed I wouldn't recommend it just yet - it is big and full of kids and very loud. Once he is a bit older though - it is a good treat as Sopoli said - and especially on a hot or rainy day.
Nickster
12-12-2005, 19:31
Hi Happy Lady,
I'm pretty sure there is a playcentre at Logan called "Wiggle It" - on the corner of Kingston and Queens Rds from memory - there were a couple of playdates arranged there for my ABA group, but Libby was way too young to enjoy it. She might now, but she also gets overwhelmed by too many toddlers in her face (eg the creche at my gym).
Have you tried the new play area at the Hyperdome? Is it any good? I also live around this area and am finding it hard to think of places to go in the heat. We usually just go for a swim in the afternoon, or both sit in her wading pool, endlessly pouring water out of cups and eating soggy vegemite crackers.... :p
Are all you ladies out there SO over greenants in every park you go to????!!! :mad:
Hey Nickster we should get together with our overwhelmed children. :rolleyes:
We don't often get out to the park (we live on acreage so he just roams free climbing over rocks here) Poor child!
And I have also found since he has been old enough for the 'playground' it is tooooo hot!! :eek: I really hate summer.
Hmm might leave the playcentre thing for a bit. He gets freaked out if his cousin is too in his face, so I don't know about hundreds of them. :eek:
This afternoon was great. Overcast, not too hot and he was happily scooping water out of a bucket and wetting the cat.
Maybe we should start our on 'quiet child' play centre. :rolleyes:
Nickster
12-12-2005, 19:47
Sure thing, Happy Rady, we could make a playdate for our little sensitive petals. Libby needs a new play buddy - my best girlfriend has started fulltime work, so now her little man has been whisked off to daycare land, away from his darling Libby. :(
PM me if you would like to make a time. :D