View Full Version : I will not ever...

mum23girls
17-03-2007, 21:12
I will not be hosting any party plan parties ever ever again.

This is my vow for the rest of my life.

I was supposed to have a "party" tonight, but of the twelve people I invited, only one said they would come (not to buy anything, but for bum on seat) and two gave me a reply that they could not make it. So... if my kalculations are correct... 9 people did not even acknowledge my invitation. And I was so organised and didn't leave it to the last minute, I gave plenty of notice, but nothing.

Do you attend parties if you buy things?

jess_live_die
17-03-2007, 21:16
i dnt like them but i go if i get invited i never plan to buy anything but always buy one thing or anther lol

Mamaduke
17-03-2007, 21:19
If I know I won't be buying anything I'll just tell my friend that I'm not interested.
I see it this way...the person having the party is going to the trouble of organising, shopping, preparing and catering for the event in order to obtain sales which in turn benefit her, the hostess.
If I'm not going to buy there's no point in me being there eating her food & drinking her drinks.
I've never just not replied to an invitation though...that's rude.

bigglet
17-03-2007, 21:20
I usually go to support the person/host - usually the host would be a friend of mine so even if I don't intend on buying anything I still come along and maybe get something small.

But I do think it's rude when people don't acknowledge your invite!! I hate that too!!! :thumbsdown:

Shakey
17-03-2007, 21:29
Yip that bugs the **** outta me too

I've invited people to come along to some of mine, and some just don't reply to my txt's or e-mails or pm's, what really bugs me though is the people that say they will come, but don't turn up, they don't even txt or call to say they can't make it, :mad:

when i'm invited I usually go, but I say if I can buy or not, sometime I buy others I don't, just depends on how we are money wise

xkwzit
17-03-2007, 21:29
I too live by this rule - trust me you WILL be a happier person. I can't tell you how many demonstrators I've been able to make speechless when I tell them I just don't host parties.

I will go to other ppl's parties, but I don't feel compelled to buy anything. I will if I find something I want / need, but I won't be guilted into spending money on some useless gadget. If I absoloutely knew before that I was not buying - I would be up front about that with the hostess.

17-03-2007, 21:30
if i dont plan on buying anything, then no i wont go. all depending on what sort of party it is. if its something i would consider buying yes i would go.

definitely would go if a friend wanted me there though!

17-03-2007, 21:37
I go to be a bum on a seat :/ most of the time I don't have the money for the stuff sold at Party Plans because they're normally more expensive than the store-bought stuff.

But I feel guilty when people invite me places if I don't go.

grass is always greener
17-03-2007, 21:43
As a party plan sales consultant, i can understand how you feel.
it can be very embarassing for the hostess to show up and not have anyone there to sell too.
however, as a guest to other party plan parties, i go to check out what they have to sell and if i see something i like/need/can afford then i order it and i put a deposit on it at the party and put money away each week until it is due, this lowers the overall shock to the bank account when the money is due and df is none the wiser!!

Tubbychook
18-03-2007, 17:42
I go if im not planing on buying anything just to see what is new and almost all of the time i buy something anyway. I dont mind being a bum on a seat its always a great chance to have a bit of fun.

blessedmummy
18-03-2007, 18:23
i dont usually go either, cause i usually dont have to money to buy anything, if i do go, its usually for a friends sake and support for them, i know my friends understand if i dont buy anything. :)

*Sal*
18-03-2007, 18:37
I usually go with the intention of not buying anything, then I always buy something.

Lately I don't really have the time to go to party plan things, so I just take a look at the brochure and sometimes put in an order, without having to waste a whole afternoon.

It's very rude not to reply at all though, seems to be a trend with that these days. :mad: And you have every right to be mad.

spiritedfamily
19-03-2007, 13:36
Depends on the product...I have never attended a tupperware party and not walked away with something I don't need.:rolleyes: I'm a sucker for these. I guess I only attend if I'm interested in the product. I don't host parties these days either...as I know the heartache your feeling..:hugs:

19-03-2007, 19:37
Nup, I only go if I intend to get something.

littlejoy
19-03-2007, 21:04
Ah they drive me crazy I went to one to support a friend once then got suckered into holding one so that she could get extra tuperware as her host gift. In the end I bought a huge amount of product!!!!! That I didn't really need.. and my MIL kept saying over and over that it has a lifetime warranty!!!!:banghead:

kiah
19-03-2007, 21:07
I will not be hosting any party plan parties ever ever again.

This is my vow for the rest of my life.

I was supposed to have a "party" tonight, but of the twelve people I invited, only one said they would come (not to buy anything, but for bum on seat) and two gave me a reply that they could not make it. So... if my kalculations are correct... 9 people did not even acknowledge my invitation. And I was so organised and didn't leave it to the last minute, I gave plenty of notice, but nothing.

Do you attend parties if you buy things?

Next time pm me hun I'll come. Parent s live in Briz so good excuse to visit. And i luv these sort of things. I'll help out and ring half your guests as my mates all live in briz too.

Luv Kiah:hugs:

meme
19-03-2007, 21:34
i recvently went to one where i had no intention of buying anything. i was upfront with my friend about this when i got the invite and she was happy for me to come anyway. we figured since she was being social and putting on a dinner and nibblies that i may as well come over and be social with all our other friends and some aquantances too.

call me naive but the word party seems to emote a fun time, not just a shopping experience. in fact i am naive in that the first time i got invited to a 'shoes and handbag 'party i thought i had to wear fancy shoes and bring a nice handbag:laughing:

it isn't nice that people didn't even reply. an rsvp is nice, just so youknow what to expect.

i do have a soft spot for tupperware. but party plan doesn't have a great reputation. there is a pressure and expectation associated with it.
i have found that ensuring some outside orders before the party can take that pressure off.

19-03-2007, 21:35
I'm a bum on seat kinda gal:p

Bubble*Crazy
19-03-2007, 21:42
I'm a bum on seat kinda gal:p

:laughing: Me too ... always with the intention to NOT buy anything and NOT book my own demo (but end up doing both :rolleyes:)

Becteria
19-03-2007, 21:48
I actually hate being invited to party plan. its not really a party. its a sales demo.

I dont go along unless kicking and screaming. And end up buying.

I have no self control and after a charddies or two my spend is manic!

nickalex
20-03-2007, 12:40
Hate them with a passion and will do anything to get out of going to one or hosting one! I know a lot of SAHM's and I participate in playgroup and mother's group, so I get invited to alot. To the point at one stage I didn't want to attend either of these and when I did go I wondered what I was going to be invited to that week!
A friend of mine became an enjo consultant and I did one party for her just so that she could get some practice. I always let people know when I am not intending on buying anything but there is a subtle peer pressure at work at these things. Now I just tend to say no or make up a prior arrangement. I think it is rude not to reply but I can understand why some people are just over the whole experience.

JorBai
20-03-2007, 14:31
I hate going to them because I always, regardless of how nice the person is or the sales lady, I feel pressured to buy.

I hate the feeling of being pressured to buy just for the sake of it, then if I dont buy people look at you like your scungy.

TeamAwesome
20-03-2007, 17:32
I genreally go with no intention of buying but as the last couple have been an excuse for a SAHM girls night and that was what the hostess told the party person that the mums would listen to whatever they had to say so long as it wasn't anything child related and we're all happy.

A little pamper and girly time is nice.

One was a Mary Kay hand and foot party the other a facial thing with Diva. Both parties ended up having too much girl chatter happening but a nice time was had by all. Admittedly I bought some products from Diva but it wasn't a big deal made of it by the host as it was her sister-in-law's sister-in-law and couldn't say no.

Admitedly if I like a product sometimes I will host a party but I haven't done that for a long time.

ETA: Like you I will not be hosting another party again for the same reasons as you. And not RSVPing to something is just plain rude.

kiah
20-03-2007, 17:36
I luv home parties. I espesh luv the "Undercover Wear" parties. So much fun and u get so much free stuff!

iluvmeboyz
25-03-2007, 11:57
i went to a few went to a tuppaware part yit was **** lol to expensive and the ppl there where rude

kiah
25-03-2007, 12:01
I am attending a tupperware party tomorrow to raise funds for our playgroup!!! :smiliedance: Can u tell I'm excited.

I'm booking a party for sure. I've gone thru the catalogue and picked out all the new stuff i like. Can not wait!!!!:D

Grace3
25-03-2007, 12:21
I generally go the parties. But I will only make a purchase if it is something I want.

I to have had problems with people responding to party invites.

We had my sons party a couple of years back when only 2 people replied out of 25. I was so peeeeeed off that I told my husband I was having it somewhere else, and just say "bad luck you guys didn't have the courtesy to reply" . My husband was so worried that I was actually going to do this, that he actually phoned all the people that didn't respond and ask them if they were coming. I tell you what if they had got me on a bad PMS day i probably would have done it.

It's just down right rude not to even reply to an invitation. :shame:

I was invited to a friends place, (I hardly new her but she had just had a bub and she was a nice girl), well she invited me over to her place for afternoon tea with a few of her friends. Well I was the only person who turned up, everyone else cancelled. She had organised food and everything. I really felt very sorry for her :(

Grace

Melo
25-03-2007, 12:25
I'll go if I genuinly need to buy something, otherwise i'll tell the person i'm not interested.

~rambox~
25-03-2007, 12:55
I knew we had a connection. I adore tupperware...adore it...adore it....:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

I have taught my hubby well he burps the seals and even looks under the product to see if he can use it in the microwave :laughing:

kiah
25-03-2007, 13:00
I have taught my hubby well he burps the seals and even looks under the product to see if he can use it in the microwave :laughing:

Oh my God, mine also does this. He also proudly opens his esky at smoko and arranges all his little containers in front of everyone.

At first they used to laugh as they ate their pies and breakers but when they saw the gourmet salads, speshy sandwiches in their sandwich keepers, milkshakes, fruit snack cups etc. They realised why he and his bleached esky always look so good:thumbsup:

subaruforestermum
25-03-2007, 13:08
I go occassionally.... I have been to an 'Undercover Wear', 'Tupperware' and 'Sex Toy party' (was held on a hens night)...

I dont buy things as they are sooo expensive and you can get the stuff elsewhere cheaper (generally) unless you are the host and then you get all the benefits of everyone else spending lots of money.....

I would never hold one though.....

The Tupperware lady who hosted my cousins party recently was really down to earth, and truthful about products, and she related to alot of us as she had a little girl whos mum babysits, so she understood when the kids screamed etc.....:thumbsup:

Trumpet
25-03-2007, 13:16
I'm not too fussed on them myself, I don't like hosting parties for the same reason as the op has experienced.

If I like the product I will go if and only if I have the money to spend. And I will also only go if the friend has been to one the consultants parties before and found out they are not pushy.

But everytime I am invited I will tell them upfront and honestly whether I will be there or not and if for some reason could not make it after I had said I was going would ring and apologise.

SamanthaJane
25-03-2007, 13:38
I always go! I hosted a 'body shop' party and hardly anyone turned up... i was so annoyed. But ohwell, i still enjoyed it! And everyone that did come brought lots of stuff.

I don't see the harm in not going... obviously if i can't make it, i can't make it... but otherwise i'll go definitley! You aren't obliged to buy anything. And all the ones i have been too i've got free goodies, so i cant complain :D

TJ
25-03-2007, 15:59
Yep i normally always go - 9/10 times with the intention of NOT buying anything, but usually something catches my eye and i cant resist.

I was looking forward to coming chicky - even just to be a bum & a big belly on a seat :p

mum2my4
25-03-2007, 16:19
If I'm invited I go but if I have no intentions of buying anything I let the hostess know in advance, I'm still not convinced on the Tupperware they call me the Tupperware Virgin :laughing: because I have none and they still haven't converted me

M~T~J~M
26-03-2007, 15:06
I stay well away from hosting parties too!! I think the last party plan I had at my place, only 3 people turned up, and nobody bought anything :mad:
I will go to party plan parties if invited - especially, dare I say it.........tupperware - but I'm not usually going with the intention of buying.

damien's mum
27-03-2007, 12:50
It can hard, when friends say they will come and don't! I haven't had such a bad turn out, like 1 person, but i too would be very embarrssed and angry.

I always go along, you never know when you are going to pick up a bargin, and to make up numbers for my friends!

MumsieMel
27-03-2007, 13:07
I go to nearly all the party plan parties im invited to, and only buy if i want it.
End of story.

Its up to yourself to buy or not anyway. :yes:

I think they are quite fun, and i have also hostessed heaps of these aswell and most have been a big sucess! :party:

Not to mention im a consultant for a party plan business and love it! :thumbsup:

Like anything in life, some people love it, some dont.

susiehomemaker
27-03-2007, 16:13
I only go to them if I absolutely have to or if it is a good friend throwing it and I know half the ppl invited are not going to turn up & I alwasy try to buy at least something little. The exception being tupperware! I wont even go to a Tupperware party anymore. The lady who does the tupperware in our area will not let up & I refuse to buy stuff that costs so much just for it to end up in my hubby's shed. She just kept pushing and pushing for me to buy stuff and to have a party myself for my bridal shower (which I wasnt having anyway!) and trying to convince everyone at the party that we where at to buy me stuff for bridal shower or wedding presents when I had said that I didnt want the stuff in the first place. The only reason I went to the party in the first place was because it was also my SIL's baby shower. Nothing at all against tupperware- if I had a hubby who wouldnt ruin the stuff I would be all for it. But its not worth the $ when it will be either used for something stupid by dh or left at his work. We wouldnt get the lifespan out of it.

MissSparkle
29-03-2007, 13:54
I go............often with no intention of buying anything but I always do. Ive been to lots of undercoverwear parties and each time Ive just bought a bra or some pj's.

mumma_jessy
03-04-2007, 16:28
Most of the time i juat don't go, even if they are a friend, if i want something i will go to the shop and buy it myself, i don't like having someone trying to sell me something, i can make up my own mind thanx!

wa mum of 4
06-04-2007, 17:33
I go for the food.:chef: :D

HanCh
07-04-2007, 07:13
I never have and never will have one of these parties. I go to them if a friend is having one though. I went to one the other week, and only me and another girl turned up, and she didnt buy anything, so of course I got guilted into getting something that I didnt want :rolleyes:

TreeFrog
08-04-2007, 12:59
I actually do not mind them. But I hate being nagged to have one. I have hosted two party plan events. One for cosmetics and the other for candles. Cosmetics was a pretty poor show but the candle one worked out okay (thank goodness my DH's family like their shopping) but I have been nagged to have another one as I know the girl who sells for this particular company. I'm a bit cranky about that actually:mad: . But, having said that, I am keen for Tupperware. Have you seen their sippy cups? :D

GrouchyGrover
09-04-2007, 20:14
i love party plan more for the food :thumbsup: though i'm a tupperware dealer and i have also done avon and my sister had her own party plan company for a few years that i did too so yep i get sucked in all the time i'm actually having a jewellery party on friday i hope some people turn up :party:

our little treasures
09-04-2007, 21:55
:party: Oh I love party plan parties!! I go to one every other week at least and spend $70 at least at each party unless I really don't like much and then I will just buy something small!! I don't host many parties but when I do I have good success. I have a party to go to next week a candle one followed by a naughty one in the same night. Then the following week I have one at my house for chefs tool box, I love these ones as we cook dinner!! Yummy yummy!!

I love socialising and the parties I go to are full of laughter afterwards!!

stilldreaming
09-04-2007, 22:29
I always go to them if I have nothing else on. More for a social get together....I'm always up for a natter!:ecomcity:
If I see something I like I'll buy it, unless the lady that is selling it is too pushy!
I love party plan but I'm a bit biased as I sell learning ladder.:thumbsup: I think the most annoying thing is when the host is expecting all these people who simply don't turn up and have said they would! Bad manners....if you don't want to go just say so.

jessi
30-04-2007, 08:04
Hmm... I didnt see this.

I apologize for not RSVPing, Anne Marie, as this is also a HUGE pet peeve of mine. I was planning on comming and kept reminding myself to RSVP the week before... but then had a pretty major event happen in the family and my mind was elsewhere.

Anyways... not that it matters now, the damage is done, I see.

30-04-2007, 08:27
I never go to them, I don't like them.

iluvmeboyz
01-05-2007, 00:04
i dont host them i go to them i have 2 lined up when i go to melb a tupperware one and a sex toy party one my friends are hosting cant wait.